Back to Skype page
Skype free download for Mac

Skype Reviews

8.53.0.85
09 October 2019

Voice-over-internet phone and chat software.

DragonMaster
08 September 2019

Most helpful

A necessary piece of crap If you need to communicate with someone using the services that Skype offers Then there is little alternative. Video and audio are freakishly undependable. One moment you hear the other person, the next you don't. Constant bad connection warnings when it is Skype that is the problem. Lots of updates but zip gets better!
Like (2)
Version 8.51.0.92

Read 1042 Skype User Reviews

Rate this app:

DennyPackard
18 September 2019
WARNING! There is a SERIOUS problem with this Version 8.52.0.138!! I have Skype version 8.51.0.92, but when I click on Check for Updates, it tells me that I have the latest version. When I go directly to the Skype website, it is version 8.51.0.92 that downloads!!!! When I click on MacUpdate's Download button, Version 8.52.0.138 downloads. WHY? I am NOT installing MacUpdate's Version 8.52.0.138 when it is NOT available from Skype itself!! Could this be a counterfeit, hacked, or virus-infected version from some unknown source? WARNING!
Like
Version 8.52.0.138
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
A necessary piece of crap If you need to communicate with someone using the services that Skype offers Then there is little alternative. Video and audio are freakishly undependable. One moment you hear the other person, the next you don't. Constant bad connection warnings when it is Skype that is the problem. Lots of updates but zip gets better!
Like (2)
Version 8.51.0.92
Jer
29 August 2019
It's getting worse. Recent versions have made things smaller such as the app icon and icon text. And there are still no simple improvements to app functions that are missing since this "new version" took over. Still waiting for autocorrect to come back - it can spell check while I type, why is autocorrect missing?
Like (1)
Version 8.51.0.92
Jeff-Schlueter
13 August 2019
Skype is great
Like
Version 8.51.0.72
abc_2
04 August 2019
Too painful with microsoft logins.Jumping through hoops. Now use whatsapp and messenger for free.
Like
Version 8.50.0.38
1 answer(s)
Joe-Porter
Joe-Porter
17 September 2019
Personally, I'd have nothing at all to do with WhatsApp.
Like
Version 8.52.0.138
George6
29 June 2019
skype was once a very good application, but since years microsoft works very hard on degrading it. there are weekly upgrades but never a visible change, the experience is terrible. things are not working. removed contacts are still visible. you cant reliably see your contacts status. etc etc. it is really a shame! microsoft should fire the complete skype team without notice!
Like (1)
Version 8.48.0.51
2 answer(s)
HJRBR
HJRBR
16 July 2019
Since MS took over it is ridiculous! Nothing works. Not even to buy a credit!!! And that now for years.
Like
HJRBR
HJRBR
27 July 2019
Oops, something went wrong.
Like
Eric•Woehler
30 May 2019
It's rubbish. Has been since MS bought it. Glory days were when Skype 2.8 was the de facto app to use - great GUI and UX, small memory and screen footprint. MS contribution over the years has made Skype laughable product that is useless. So many better alternatives out there. So-called 'supporters' of Skype probably work for MS! ZERO stars if I could - it's rubbish!
Like (1)
Version 8.46.0.60
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
27 June 2019
Nothing comes even close to Skype.
Statistics reflects all the facts about these "alternatives".
Maybe too many "improvements", but still performs the best.
Just enough for me to glance at the comments and reviews of all the alternatives, and number of downloads, just laughable.
Like
zlazkow
14 May 2019
Never had any problems with Skype since its inauguration 20 yrs ago.
NOTHING to complain about.
Suits my needs just perfectly. People complain because too many people expect too many features to be implemented. If that happens, then the same people will complain why Skype is so slow, sluggish....blah blah bleh bleh.. You can't please everyone.
Skype was and still is The BEST internet video communication system for vast majority of people.
Like (1)
Version 8.45.0.43
Derekcurrie
21 March 2019
Zoom is an EXCELLENT professional alternative to faltering, blundering Skype. You can find it here on MU:
https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/52421/zoom

Apparently, there's a bug in the MU interface such that the Zoom "cloud video conferencing solution for meetings" does NOT show up in the list when attempting to suggest software similar to Skype. It used to! I added it as a suggestion in Februrary! Now it's gone, with only the 'Zoom' game showing up in the list. Inexplicable, particularly since Skype shows up as an alternative to Zoom. Hmm.
Like (2)
Version 8.41.0.54
Jer
12 March 2019
Now that Skype 7.x has been cut off we are forced daily to use this monstrosity. It just looks terrible, like it was created for 14 year old girls. Just today I realized that there is no longer any autocorrect. It underlines misspelled words but doesn't correct them like it used to. This is a system-wide feature and Skype only has to include it in the menus but doesn't.
Like (2)
Version 8.41.0.54
gbdoc
26 February 2019
I don't understand why MacUpdate doesn't allow Zoom to be listed as Similar Software, which it is. :(
Like
Version 8.40.0.70
4 answer(s)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
27 February 2019
And I don't understand how I was able to download version 8.40.0.70 yesterday (26.feb), but… today, there is a version 8.39.0.175 (dated 27.feb) and no sign of 8.40.x mentioned anywhere in the release notes at skype.com

Did Microsoft flub their numbering, or did another MacUpdate snafu occur? (as with Firefox last year)
Like
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
27 February 2019
Wonder if they are having trouble with it like they had trouble with Onedrive before a few of us deleted it after it caused nothing but a hassle with Mojave.. So far so good with the 8.40.0.70 version not screwing up.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
Apparently, MU takes suggestions then adds apps to the Similar Software list when there are multiple suggestions for the same app. I just suggested Zoom (in addition to your suggestion) and it is now in the list.

Regarding the Microsoft withdrawal of v8.40.0.70:
A) I'm dismayed to find that Microsoft's site search is even more abysmal than Apple's.
B) Persistence resulted in this useful page of known macOS Skype issues (with Linux inexplicably thrown in):
https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA34713/faq-and-known-issues-with-skype?q=macOS

Microsoft states nothing-at-all about what versions are affected, but guestimation suggests that v8.40.0.70 for macOS:
1) Has launching problems on Mojave.
2) Has video problems on Mojave.
Therefore, Microsoft apparently withdrew v8.40.0.70 and has replaced it with v8.39.0.175 dated earlier in February.

CONCLUSION: If you've installed and are having problems Skype v8.40.0.70, then download the 'latest' Skype again, that being the older v8.39.0.175, install it over v8.40.0.70 and the problems should be gone.

NOTE that this is merely my Out-Think-The-Geeks deduction from the meagre, irritatingly inadequate information Microsoft has bothered to provide. (0_o) ?
Like (3)
Viktor
Viktor
01 March 2019
Re. the rollback we performed - after not even a full day of 8.40.0.70's release one of our users informed us that this release is not available for download anymore so we rolled back to the last release available. Later on, when .86 was released we updated it in a timely manner as per usual. Unfortunately, there was nothing we could do to prevent this, since MS most likely found a serious issue and decided to silently move the release away from general public before we were able to react.
We apologize for any confusion that happened because of this.
Like (1)
gbdoc
29 January 2019
Skype used to be the only game in town, and a wonderful thing. But it not only seems it’s not improving (sometimes even seems to be getting worse), there are better such apps. I’ve been using Zoom for over a year, and am much happier. I need group meetings for my work, so I have a paid account with Zoom, but even the free version is probably adequate for many.
Like (3)
Version 8.38.0.138
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
Agreed. Thrashing through the Skype forum, it's evident that a lot of people attempting to use Skype professionally are up-in-arms about its degradation, design and difficulties. Switching to a more responsible chat client, such as Zoom, is a logical response. I too have had success with Zoom.
Like (2)
George6
18 January 2019
LOL, by now Skype doesn't even show the online status of your contacts anymore .-) I can't understand why M$ is still working on this app. With every release it gets worse and reverting to a backup from 2010 instead would fix all problems...
Like (4)
Version 8.37.0.98
Aeschylus
18 January 2019
I used to love Skype. It was great when it was decentralized with a compact user interface. It has become ugly, bloated, inefficient, and constantly try to overrun a large part of the screen. it is the anti-Facetime. It's hard to say how much I despise what they did to a once-great program but hey, they find ways of monetizing everything and making us unhappy. They have succeeded at this and it sucks.
Like (4)
Version 8.37.0.98
davetorr44
29 December 2018
The problem is likely me. I am a senior and could not get this to work. I could see the other person but he could only see my "desk top screen". Hit every icon on the screen but no change. finally just used Face time on phone. Maybe EASY for GEEKS but not for normal people. Dave
Like (6)
Version 8.34.0.78
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
17 January 2019
The problem is not you. Skype's newest Versions are awful. The UI is crap. It's not User Friendly at all. And it lost all the Functions from the last version that made is Livable.

Skype took a decent Client that, at least, worked adequately, and transformed it into this dreadful POS.
Like (4)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
15 December 2018
The link downloads Skype 3.34. Someone messed up again. Too bad we can't rate MacUpdate. One and half stars at best here.
Like (1)
Version 8.36.0.52
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
Don't be hard on MU over Skype. Microsoft has clearly not been adequately testing new versions of Skype before letting them loose on we mere humans. Microsoft has then withdrawn new versions and reverted back to old versions while they clean up their mess. This is the only explanation I can conclude from their recent withdrawal of v8.40.0.70, replacing it with the earlier v8.39.0.175. This sort of bad development confuses and infuriates everyone, including MU no doubt.
Like (1)
Slurp
12 December 2018
It happens too often here..Don't know who to blame: The System Requirements are WRONG (again)!! It is not OS X 10. 9 and above, but it is OS X 10.10 and above.........
Like
Version 8.36.0.52
3 answer(s)
rardin
rardin
17 January 2019
I'm also puzzled by the system requirements for the latest version of Skype, but this page does, indeed, suggest that the latest version (8.37.0.98 as of today) only requires OS X 10.9:

https://support.skype.com/en/faq/fa10328/what-are-the-system-requirements-for-skype

Is it possible that some earlier versions required 10.10, but they backed off that requirement more recently?
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
I've verified rardin's reply comment. As of today, Microsoft specifically states:
"Skype (version 8) on Mac requires:
Mac OS X 10.9 or higher"

Note that Microsoft has developed an unprofessional habit of releasing bad versions of their software, including Skype and several infamously blundering Windows 10 updates, without adequately testing them. Microsoft has then withdrawn each mess and reverted back to previous versions. It's apparent that Microsoft does not intend to stop macOS 10.9 support at this time.
Like (1)
rardin
rardin
28 February 2019
Case in point: Microsoft released Skype 8.40.0.70 for macOS and Windows a couple days ago, then yanked the new macOS update, reverting to the previous version. As of this morning, they're pushing out 8.40.0.86 for macOS-only.
Like
KristenS
07 December 2018
Skype 8 no longer works under Mac OS 10.14 Mojave. This is a known issue according to Skype's support site.
Like (2)
Version 8.34.0.78
2 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
And the same Microsoft blundering has evidently happened with Skype v8.40.0.70. At this time, Microsoft has reverted back to v8.39.0.175 from earlier in February. It is now the currently downloading version of Skype directly from Microsoft. As I note above, this blundering has become a bad habit at Microsoft. Then again, at this time Apple has its own problems with blundering as well. It's not the best of times for Macs or PCs. As I put it, we're still enduring the Dark Age of Computing. I hope it ends, sometime, anytime, soon please.
Like (1)
KristenS
KristenS
21 March 2019
UPDATE: Skype V. 8.41 does run in Mojave but is dead slow on older hardware.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 November 2018
Skype has many issues, but if you want to talk to someone using Windows or an Android phone, Skype is the only game in town. Problematic though it may be, it deserves more than one or two stars.
Like
Version 8.34.0.78
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 February 2019
As you'll note in later comments, some of us are now using Zoom instead. There are other alternatives as well. Microsoft's blundering with Skype deserves looking elsewhere for better chat software, IMHO.
Like
Bipou
24 October 2018
Present version is 8.32.0.44
Like
Version 8.33.0.41
Eric•Woehler
10 October 2018
Really??? People are still using Skype?? God-awful POS GUI and UX thanks to Microsoft's efforts to destroy what was once (before they bought it) an excellent product. MS software 'engineers' live in an alternative reality from us - they actually believe the product works! 0 (ZERO) stars if I could.
Like (4)
Version 8.32.0.44
LeMerlot
22 September 2018
Another example how to ruin a formerly awesome service: While the "core" – communicating – works very well – simple details like adding a new contact (not registered at Skype) or changing a contact's number don't work – or are at least "hidden". Who is responsible for UX design or quality assurance in those companies…
Like (6)
Version 8.30.0.50
Piper555
05 September 2018
Infected with the Osx.Trojan.AppleJeus virus! Thanks MacUpdate!
Like (2)
Version 8.29.0.50
1 answer(s)
iurii
iurii
06 September 2018
Hi
It`s not correct. https://www.virustotal.com/#/file/c99b8ca3a4d0dd86bb7c52c10680637efdbbc480f9c58326f1d30467f137e51e/detection
Like (1)
Albabe
31 August 2018
8.29.0.50 is crap! In Version 7 you could use Command > W to close the JUST window of the person you were talking to and leave the main App window open. Now Command > W Crashes the App. Complete POS! Does MS just monkeys to work on their Clients? Actually, I bet Monkeys would do a better job.
Like (6)
Version 8.29.0.50
philonous
29 August 2018
Skyp;e started going downhill WAY before Microsoft acquired them, but, indeed, Skype has become an abhorrent abortion of a program ever since Microsoft acquired them. Among the first stupid ideas they tried was Facebook integration, and now it is this abysmal GUI that makes the Office ribbons quaint by comparison.
Like (4)
Version 8.29.0.50
Kozzy49
29 August 2018
Every update seems to make the user experience more difficult. What was once an enjoyable experience is now a frustrating challenge of trying to remember where they hid a utility or menu option that one time was intuitive...
Like (7)
Version 8.29.0.41
Johnny-T-Dane
28 August 2018
I need Skype unfortunately to do my job. The user interface is SO BAD. It's unusable. I could luckily downgraded to version 7.59 that is way better. MS when will you fix this sh%t
Like (10)
Version 8.29.0.41
2 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
29 January 2019
I agree... but 7.59 doesn't seem to work in Mojave.
Like
gbdoc
gbdoc
26 February 2019
Same with me, But then I discovered Zoom, which is great!
Like
xcoxco
28 August 2018
Economists wonder why US productivity continues to decline despite the proliferation of IT. I would argue that IT is not inherently more productive. Indeed, one might argue that the likes of Facebook, along with increasingly poor software user interface design, makes us all less and less productive. Skype, in its Microsoft incarnation, is a good example of really poor design trumping over what used to be a pretty useful software app.

Let's go back to creating software and systems that solve real-world problems rather than simply focus on creating a captive customer base (ie, users have little choice) and increasing economic "rents" for their owners.

Why oh why is the current Skype user interface so bad?
Like (6)
Version 8.29.0.41
Albabe
20 August 2018
As far as I can tell 8.28 is pretty much the same as the last 8 Version. Same BS problems: Now Skype Signs you in Automatically rather than offering a Blank Sign-in Window that allows you to sign-in as any of your accounts. ...and you can't talk to anyone who's not your "Friend..." ...and there's NO WAY to TURN OFF THE DAMN' EMOTICON SUGGESTIONS!!! The Command > W to close the Current Window but Leave the Generic Window open to see you "Friend" List loss is really a pain too... ...and so much more.
Like (4)
Version 8.28.0.41
Canadianpj
19 August 2018
It just works now and the one star rating is no longer, if it ever was, a fair assessment of the product.
Like
Version 8.28.0.41
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
21 August 2018
You're correct: One Star isn't a "fair assessment of the product..." No Stars would be much more appropriate.
Like (9)
xcoxco
16 August 2018
I have downgraded to the older Skype version.

The latest interface is so poorly conceived, I find the app unusable in its current form.

In recent years I find, an understanding of effective human computer interface design principles has been cast aside by many corporate app developers. The apps seem to reflect more marketing departments' ill conceived notions than good practical design. Shame really. Skype (Microsoft) is among the worst offenders to date.

In fact, in a period long since passed - before Microsoft acquired the product - the Skype user interface was pretty good and certainly very useable. Whatever happened??
Like (5)
Version 8.28.0.41
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
17 August 2018
Agreed... and they discarded all the "Human" interface features that made 7 work decently (see below).

The Users in the MS Forums have been relentlessly bitch-slapping MS for this miscarriage of a so-called "Update," and as usual, MS doesn't really seem to give a crap.

AND 7 will no longer Function as of Next Month (September).

Same thing with latest MS Word. MS decided "We" no longer need "Open All Windows From Last Session," which was a feature I relied on.
Like (3)
OhEssex
14 August 2018
OMG - what an utterly disgusting and counter-intuitive UI this software has. We just finished a Skype conference and all we were trying to do was clear the screen of cruft to maximize the screen sharing space but everything was so counter-intuitive we just couldn't figure anything out. You'd click on one icon and an unexpected popup window would appear and none of us could figure out how to close it. Same thing with the huge toolbar across the top. All of us in the room (all engineers) were cursing at how awful Skype was. Before even trying to fix it, they should literally fire everybody at Microsoft who worked on it because they have proven beyond all doubt they are incapable of making a GUI usable by normal humans. This software is a complete cluster fuq...
Like (6)
Version 8.27.0.85
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
17 August 2018
"Humans" work at MS? Wow, coulda fooled me.
Like (2)
RodLai
12 August 2018
Still one of my fav apps for video calling. Thanks to recent updates, the UI is now cleaner but some features have become very unstable. Does anyone know of another app that can auto answer calls?
Like
Version 8.27.0.85
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
17 August 2018
...and you gave it 3 Stars for "Unstable?"
Like (2)
barefootguru
05 August 2018
Version 8 blows: masses of white space eating up screen real estate, every message has a distracting smily on it, only a single window, lost Away status, can’t shift-click to select multiple contacts, removing contact is buried in their profile, no setting for saving chat history, settings like view Skype contacts instead of All contacts aren’t sticky, date format doesn’t follow system preferences, emoji picker plays awful tunes, AppleScript support removed, can’t copy text out of a quoted message, no automatic spelling correction, and updates are now compulsory.
Like (4)
Version 8.27.0.85
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
06 August 2018
I agree. Suffice it to say that Skype is even crappier crap now than the crap it used to be...
Like (4)
Harv
03 August 2018
I have not used Skype for at lease 6 months, so I was very surprised when I was alerted that I must first sign-in or create a Microsoft account. At any rate, having a Microsoft account is a deal-breaker for me. Both my future actions vis-à-vis Skype and views towards Microsoft are easily predictable...
Like (2)
Version 8.27.0.85
Albabe
02 August 2018
This new Interface is crap. You can no longer use Command > W to close JUST the window you're chatting in, leaving the basic App open... ick<

Also, my "You are on the latest Version of Skype," is 8.25.0.5 and it won't automatically D/L 8.26.0.70 from within the App.
Like (2)
Version 8.26.0.70
3 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
02 August 2018
I just tried to D/l the Latest and Greatest Version and it says 8.27.0.85

It still seems to have the problem that it longer allows the User to Close the immediate Window you are chatting-in, while leaving the App Window Open.
Like (2)
Leesa
Leesa
04 August 2018
...and now Skype Signs you in Automatically rather than offering a Blank Sign-in Window that allows you to sign-in as any of your accounts.

...and you can't talk to anyone who's not your "Friend..."

...and there's NO WAY to turn off the DAMN' Emoticon Suggestions!!!

The Command > W to close the Current Window but Leave the Generic Window open to see you "Friend" List loss is really a pain too.
Like (2)
Leesa
Leesa
05 August 2018
There are LOTS of Discussions about this Technical Abortion all over MS's Forums. Many Many Many more problems than discussed here. Most of the Posts are Users who are livid at this Abomination of a Client.

MS's response, as usual, is, "We're working on i."
Like (2)
There are usability issues with Skype, but it works. Since many people use PCs, Skype is essential to talk face to face.
Like
Version 8.26.0.70
Aeschylus
23 July 2018
The added a fuqqing menu bar icon that can't seem to be removed. WHYYYYY do you clog up the menu bar after you already appropriate so much screen real estate?? WHYYY? I really can't stand what MS does to good programs.
Like (1)
Version 8.26.0.70
2 answer(s)
ronaldpr
ronaldpr
23 July 2018
The menu bar item has been there as long as I remember and it is only shown while Skype is running. At least here, High Sierra and latest Skype version, the item still disappears when I quit Skype.
Like (2)
Thomasgrr
Thomasgrr
23 July 2018
Though on Skype 7 and earlier the menu icon could be switched off in the settings, even when Skype was running.
Like (2)
cjcarton
17 July 2018
Problematic!
Like (1)
Version 8.25.0.5
zlazkow
04 July 2018
Not anymore in the dashboard. Consumes a lot of memory and CPU. I only use when I need. Is there any good alternative, among those in "similar software" ? Any recommendations ?
Like (1)
Version 8.25.0.5
Mac5
04 July 2018
Yes, this once very useful piece of software has been rendered down to almost junk software by none other than Microsoft.. the masters at creating software that have problems and bugs from day one.. Kind of shame what they have done to Skype..
Like (1)
Version 8.25.0.5
Eric•Woehler
03 July 2018
Pretty clear the verdict is in - despite all the pretty fan boys posting 5-star "reviews" on their first and only 'review' here.
App has gone from 5 stars to barely 1 over time, with the loss of ratings/reviews accelerating since Microsoft bought Skype and started tweaking/'improving' what was once great software to the point where it is irrelevant today.
Great job M$! Yet another resounding failure to your name!

Skype of old had excellent GUI and UX with minimal memory and screen footprints. Skype today is garbage software with poor GUI, terible UX and horrendous screen and memory footprints.

For all those Skype-devotees claiming 'no alternative' because their friends/family use Skype - move on and make the effort. Skype is a walking dead app. Start using an alternative now so that when Skype finally dies, you won't be left stranded.
Like (1)
Version 8.25.0.5
JCDunnVO
27 June 2018
Version 8.24.0.2 is missing input selection (Microphone) form Audio & Videos Settings. Switching output (Speakers) is buggy.
Like
Version 8.24.0.2
Joe-Porter
20 June 2018
Farther cartoonification. More wasted space. A messy and busy interface. It really is getting worse with every "upgrade". Microsoft, just stop it. Make it plain and functional. Get rid of the theme garbage. Stop pretending it is friendly. It isn't. It is visually annoying.
Like (1)
Version 8.24.0.2
xcoxco
20 June 2018
In my experience, Skype's user interface is getting worse and worse with each new major release. For me at least, it's now virtually unusable. Bolded text appears large and blurry, for example. And there is a lot of bolded text. Perhaps the app simply does not show up well on my speedy iMac running High Sierra, with 32GB of RAM and SSDs??

Other's having the same problems?

Recently tried to have a business conversation with someone in Asia. The latest Skype proved so problematic on both sides we reverted to using another messaging and video service, Viber.

Viber was their choice, not necessarily mine.
Like (2)
Version 8.24.0.2
Pafka
15 June 2018
where is older version of skype to download
Like
Version 8.23.0.10
1 answer(s)
nobody2011
nobody2011
21 June 2018
try out the following link:
https://skype.de.uptodown.com/mac/old
Like
LeroyMorrison
07 June 2018
I actually like the new Skype and it works fine for me. I would rather use FaceTime over Skype, but for things that I have to do at work, I have to use Skype. The new dark mode is really nice as well.
Like
Version 8.23.0.10
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
20 June 2018
I agree with you, once I got used to the new layout It doesn't seem so bad. Granted, I hardly use skype anymore, just with passage of time, people I used it with don't use it anymore. But for me, navigating around, and using it from time to time, no real complaints at this time.
Like
Trance
26 April 2018
Ok, so they have fixed two of my previous criticisms and drawbacks, Kudos. The app no longer fills the screen and remembers its size and position, and it also now remembers your password. A huge improvement that makes it useable now.
Like (1)
Version 8.19.0.1
Mac5
25 April 2018
This piece of software has become a nightmare to use. Its definitely not user friendly, and its been well and truly overtaken by better chat apps. They seem to have shot themselves in both feet with their bloated and confusing updates.
Like (1)
Version 8.19.0.1
1 answer(s)
M-Riley
M-Riley
26 April 2018
Do you have any recommendations for replacements? It seems like most people are using Skype for video chat so that means other people have to use it to connect with those people... Is there some way that you have found to break out of this cycle?
Like
FranklyFrank
01 April 2018
Are you $%^&ing kidding me with this %^&* you're putting in my mouth, Microsoft? Holy Jumping Jack Flash! You know, I had some DIM hope that Skype 8.0 on the Mac would be better because it was finally supposed to reintroduce the real time translator. Instead of true integration though they ported it all over to the translator bot, requiring you to do an awkward group conversation that is clunky and convoluted to use. What a disgrace. Every time I get angry at Apple and think of moving to Microsoft I go and see this travesty of a garbage app and I stay right where I am. In addition to a cartoonish interface, it's even more bloated and slower than before, with a notable lag from the time I send a message to the time it shows up. GIFS and other image uploads that I've generally taken for granted on other apps like iMessage and even FB Messenger are a clusterboink of epic fail on this fossilized feces of a crapola Microsoft pile of baboon anal fail. I have deleted Skype once and for all off my Apple devices and the Mac. Good bye and good riddance.
Like (1)
Version 8.18.0.6