Back to MacGourmet page
MacGourmet free download for Mac

MacGourmet Reviews

4.2.6
11 April 2016

Dynamic recipe manager.

Emet1
25 July 2009

Most helpful

I got MacGourmet as part of a bundle (Dec 2008) and it's become one of my favorite apps. I'm boosting recipes from everywhere to add to my repertoire and creating a family recipe collection so we don't fight about what goes in Bubbie's Brisket. This morning I downloaded and started playing with Pantry, a free app to track what's in your kitchen, create shopping lists, sync to the cloud and there's an iPhone app you can buy for 2.00 to download lists to your phone. I'm not going to keep it, but I can see some potential there, it's just missing some deal breaking features and it feels like a work in progress. I've also found a website: supercook.com where you create an account, add in the stuff in your pantry and it will find recipes based on those ingredients. Excellently cool, but you can bog it down by adding too much stuff like too many kinds of cheese, too many spices and condiments. You have to remove items to winnow down the results. It works best with just a basic set of items. And you can get some bizarre results: based on my ingredients, I searched for a first course and dog bones appeared as #1 in the results followed by butterscotch filling. Now anyone with any common sense knows butterscotch filling is a main course and dog bones go with the after-dinner liquors. I mean, really! Anyone see where I'm going? I have a dream. The absolute all-time, full-on, crazy cool cooking app in the entire known universe! Step 1: Food: Add in the stuff you have (ooh, with a barcode scanner that uses your iSight camera and connects to an all-knowing database in the sky, I have a dream.) Expiration dates a must. (If I believe in it, the baking powder will work on the sheer force of my will! Wait, those raisins are HOW old?) I'll add dates myself, I'm not a total slacker. Step 2: Recipes: Add your own or grab off the web. (Done. It's called MacGourmet. Dreams can come true.) Step 3: Use Step 1 with Step 2 to find recipes you do have that use the ingredients you already have or (wait, it gets better) Step 4: Search for recipes you don't have with the ingredients you do. (Galactically cool.) Step 5: Shopping lists. Two kinds: What I need to restock from Step 1 because I'm running out and/or What I need to make recipes from Step 3 or Step 4. (That's it, I can die happy.) Who's with me? Anyway, thanks to: Apple for the laptop and MacGourmet Deluxe 1.2 or MacGourmet 2.4 with Nutrition 1.3.0 Cookbook 1.1.0 Meal Plan 1.1.0 or whatever goofy nomenclature the developers use for letting me dream. And no, I'm not sharing Bubbie's Brisket recipe.
Like (3)
Version 2.4

Read 27 MacGourmet User Reviews

Rate this app:

04f780b2
12 May 2016
Functional for its purpose, but Adware which verges on Malware. Check your firewall. Simply launching the program when connected to the internet will immediately connect the user to close on 100 (yes ONE HUNDRED) monetising advertising, tagging and tracking servers. A sample of the first 15: exelator.com scanscout.com dynamicyield.com mathtag.com infolinks.com mediavoice.com viglink.com saymedia.com hotjar.com content.ad crwdcntrl.net supert.ag kargo.com eyeviewads.com gwallet.com I suggest anyone considering using this software install LittleSnitch, HandsOff, or something similar (or have some who knows what they are doing do it for you), and block those puppies. I paid for a product. To database my recipes. I did not pay for Mariner Software to be renting me out as a live product to four score and more advertisers, taggers and trackers every time I go online. Simply disgusting Mariner Software.
Like (3)
Version 4.2.6
Croberts
16 August 2015
Pretty much what you expect from Mariner - average but workable software. It does the job but pretty artlessly. Weird UI. Why does text show up in two windows when you enter it? Why is text teeny-tiny for editing with no choices for larger text entry? Why the repeated categories? It does the job, which is what expected. It doesn't do it with finesse, which I also expected.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.9
Croberts
16 August 2015
Pretty much what you expect from Mariner - average but workable software. It does the job but pretty artlessly. Weird UI. Why does text show up in two windows when you enter it? Why is text teeny-tiny for editing with no choices for larger text entry? Why the repeated categories? It does the job, which is what expected. It doesn't do it with finesse, which I also expected.
Like
Version 4.0.9
gooddogcome
26 November 2014
terrible- would give it zero stars if I could. The company I would also give zero stars. I have been raving about the old version of this product for years until I was forced to "upgrade" due to the old version no longer being supported. Now my shopping lists no longer sync. Customer service is absolutely non existent and tech support no longer responds to calls or emails since they can't figure out the problem. As far as I'm concerned it is theft for them to take money for something that doesn't work. Of course you can't reach anyone at the company to even try to get your money back. I'm so disappointed as this program was like my right hand to me. I was constantly using it and have spent thousands of hours creating the database. I have been promoting this product for years and this is the treatment I get.
Like
Version 4.0.9
alvindarkness
19 November 2013
I admit to not being an advanced user of MacGourmet. But for my uses it has proven itself to be a handy little app. Options for adding receipes is quite complete, and the process very slick. Changing units and scaling (to create more/less servings) painless also. I've also used exported recipes to share with friends and that has worked as expected. Solid app for my (non-expert) uses.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3
Warwickt
28 October 2013
Disappointing that the developer is not offering an upgrade price from MG3 to MG4 — choice is either to buy MG4 (again) for $24.95 or to upgrade to MG Deluxe 4 for, guess what, $24.95. I will stick with MG3.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Detlevski
Detlevski
03 November 2013
Same here, I am not going to "upgrade".
Like (2)
Willowdemayo
09 July 2012
The 3.2.3 update can't load the library. Just hangs there with no content.
Like
Version 3.2.3
4 answer(s)
Advenio, Inc.
Advenio, Inc.
09 July 2012
Please download the update again, there was an issue with the posted build that has now been corrected. I'd also be appreciated if the "review" were updated to a comment as this was a support issue that has now been corrected. Thanks!
Like
Willowdemayo
Willowdemayo
09 July 2012
Problem solved! Thanks. I will re-rate to my usual 4 stars!
Like
Advenio, Inc.
Advenio, Inc.
09 July 2012
Thanks! Glad that fixed it. I caught the problem right away, but it took a bit to update the server and propagate the changes. Sorry about that!
Like
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
10 July 2012
FYI: http://macgourmet.com/download/MacGourmet-3.2.3.zip is not available at the moment. error 404: not found
Like
EndoLab
12 October 2011
I ask me why in the MAS the picture of MacGourmet Deluxe is exactly the same has MacGourmet here. Is this a hoax? The devs doesn't look the same but they are. MacGourmet Deluxe coast $20 more so WITF?
Like
Version 3.1.3
2 answer(s)
Advenio, Llc
Advenio, Llc
15 October 2011
Mariner Software is redistributing MacGourmet and its plug-ins as a discounted retail bundle, all in one convenient package, at one price, called MacGourmet Deluxe. The standard version of MacGourmet, which you can add optional plug-ins to, is still available as it always has been. So, you can buy a bundle (Deluxe) with everything: Mealplan, Cookbook and Nutrition, or, if you just want a simpler product, buy MacGourmet from macgourmet.com and add a plug-in, or not, it’s up to you. http://macgourmet.com/faq/deluxe
Like (1)
EndoLab
EndoLab
28 October 2011
Thanks for the answer but for $ 50 I prefer to buy a database e.g. Devonthink which you can use for much more things than just recipes. As regards the plug-ins is very easy to do a meal plan, cookbook and nutrition, and classify it, for e.g. vegetarian dishes, starters on so on. You can also send it by mail within the app and much more. Then with all my respect, I find MacGourmet and MacGourmet Deluxe overpriced.
Like
Freedman
07 April 2011
The program no longer imports recipes from web pages. Tried it on two different Macs to no avail. I suspect that the recent MAC OS update may be the culprit, maybe a recent Safari upgrade. Worked fine until recently.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
Advenio, Llc
Advenio, Llc
07 April 2011
This is probably a good candidate for a support ticket, you can submit one at support.macgourmet.com. You'll also find information on common solutions to any Services problems you're having there as well.
Like (1)
Cocoanut
10 September 2010
This is a horribly meat-centric program featuring recipes from organizations like the National Beef Cook-Off and sites like Pork: The Other White Meat. Not to be disrespectful to those who think eating meat is healthy but this program should come with a discount on chemotherapy or bypass surgery to justify it's high price. How about offering the program without all the unhealthy recipes and letting people decide which is healthy and which is not. Progressive eaters, beware!
Like (3)
Version 2.4.7
1 answer(s)
Xenophile
Xenophile
07 October 2010
Have you tried adding your own recipes? Maybe delete the meat recipes so your Mac remains as pure as the driven snow?
Like (6)
Version 3.0.0
Emotpix
29 December 2009
I just purchased this program after browsing others at the mac store yesterday and I'm thrilled! I wanted ONE program that would also work with my iphone. This company seems to have their act together. And, you can decide how much more of the program you want with add ons like the recipe book maker and the nutrition or meal planners. Connect to MobileMe for publishing your recipes online is great and very fast and I'm syncing my data to iphone and seems to also be very fast. WEll worth the $$!~
Like (1)
Version 2.4.4
Corkroom
28 November 2009
A decent organisational tool, but there are several flaws. Unfortunately, the developers haven't responded to emailed feedback, which always makes me wary of future development of a paid product. Some issues are quite frustrating. The shopping list is often incapable of adding ingredients of different units correctly. For example, if one recipe calls for 200 g of flour, and another for an ounce, the shopping list totals these to 201 g. Perhaps a user-defined unit equivalence list would be useful, or at least a list of what MacGourmet's pre-defined conversions are. The chef view is useless. Many recipe instructions refer to the ingredients for quantities, but the chef view forces you to scroll up to the top. Not good when you have a handful of raw chicken. The chef view really needs a split view to allow simultaneous viewing of ingredients and instructions. The shopping lists could be formatted more intelligently, with page breaks at logical spots, such as between shops. Alternatively, user-defined page breaks would be helpful. Also, depending on the name of ingredients listed in different recipes, the shopping list can produce separate listings for flour, plain flour, and flour (plain), etc. Some other programs I have used also allow user-defined ingredients. While this is more fiddly, this option prevents this confusion. UI issues are abundant. For example, the default "OK" button is often highlighted, but pressing "return" on the keyboard does not click it, as expected under OS X. Also, command-~ normally switches windows, but this does not work in MacGourmet. This prevents comparison of recipes. Finally, I'm not really sure, but I couldn't find a way to create smart recipe lists based on preparation/cooking times. Given that this is an editable field in recipes, it would be useful to search by this! Again, since the developers do not reply to emails, I'm not sure if there is a solution.
Like (3)
Version 2.4.3
2 answer(s)
Advenio-Support
Advenio-Support
30 November 2009
"Unfortunately, the developers haven't responded to emailed feedback, which always makes me wary of future development of a paid product." I'm one person, who still does all the development and email support. The volume of email doesn't always allow me to reply to every individual feature request, but every request gets logged and evaluated for future updates. I also have to wade through the ridiculous amount of daily spam that an email address that has been around for over 5 years gets every day. If you never got a reply to your specific issues, trying to send it again and using the "Send Feedback" command in the Help menu to send the it will usually help it get through the noise.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.4
Corkroom
Corkroom
07 February 2010
Cheers, I'll keep that in mind for any additional comments I might have. Perhaps you should have an autoreply for your email, or let users know that you prefer that method of communication?
Like (3)
Version 2.4.4
Emet1
25 July 2009
I got MacGourmet as part of a bundle (Dec 2008) and it's become one of my favorite apps. I'm boosting recipes from everywhere to add to my repertoire and creating a family recipe collection so we don't fight about what goes in Bubbie's Brisket. This morning I downloaded and started playing with Pantry, a free app to track what's in your kitchen, create shopping lists, sync to the cloud and there's an iPhone app you can buy for 2.00 to download lists to your phone. I'm not going to keep it, but I can see some potential there, it's just missing some deal breaking features and it feels like a work in progress. I've also found a website: supercook.com where you create an account, add in the stuff in your pantry and it will find recipes based on those ingredients. Excellently cool, but you can bog it down by adding too much stuff like too many kinds of cheese, too many spices and condiments. You have to remove items to winnow down the results. It works best with just a basic set of items. And you can get some bizarre results: based on my ingredients, I searched for a first course and dog bones appeared as #1 in the results followed by butterscotch filling. Now anyone with any common sense knows butterscotch filling is a main course and dog bones go with the after-dinner liquors. I mean, really! Anyone see where I'm going? I have a dream. The absolute all-time, full-on, crazy cool cooking app in the entire known universe! Step 1: Food: Add in the stuff you have (ooh, with a barcode scanner that uses your iSight camera and connects to an all-knowing database in the sky, I have a dream.) Expiration dates a must. (If I believe in it, the baking powder will work on the sheer force of my will! Wait, those raisins are HOW old?) I'll add dates myself, I'm not a total slacker. Step 2: Recipes: Add your own or grab off the web. (Done. It's called MacGourmet. Dreams can come true.) Step 3: Use Step 1 with Step 2 to find recipes you do have that use the ingredients you already have or (wait, it gets better) Step 4: Search for recipes you don't have with the ingredients you do. (Galactically cool.) Step 5: Shopping lists. Two kinds: What I need to restock from Step 1 because I'm running out and/or What I need to make recipes from Step 3 or Step 4. (That's it, I can die happy.) Who's with me? Anyway, thanks to: Apple for the laptop and MacGourmet Deluxe 1.2 or MacGourmet 2.4 with Nutrition 1.3.0 Cookbook 1.1.0 Meal Plan 1.1.0 or whatever goofy nomenclature the developers use for letting me dream. And no, I'm not sharing Bubbie's Brisket recipe.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Fabulassy
22 April 2009
BEWARE if you have a problem!!! I enjoy the program, it does have limitations, including the plug-ins for certain websites don't work all the time (Cooking Light is one). However, when my hard drive recently died and I had to replace it, I could not longer simply enter my serial number, but instead I need a key of some sort. I contacted the company and they did not respond at all. Luckily, I figured out how to get the "key" of my other hard drive but it wasn't easy. This was my LEGAL version. Customer Service is not great, if you have a problem.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Advenio-Support
Advenio-Support
22 April 2009
While I sometimes don't get to reply immediately, and I'll admit, sometimes things do fall between the cracks because of email volume, spam filters, etc, I replied to your email as soon as I received it. I'm not sure why you never received my reply. You also never asked about "Cooking Light" which has actually bee "obsoleted" because that site is now rolled into MyRecipes.com. You are able to download an optional importer for that site on the web importers page: http://macgourmet.com/website_import.html. These sites change constantly, so while there might be lag time between updates, you also need to stay current with MacGourmet versions when things are fixed. If you had received my reply, I guess we might not be having this exchange, but I do my best to supply immediate support, especially for registration issues, etc.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
Slob
30 January 2009
This company is confusing. There's an iPod touch app at $5 which I'd like which apparently requires MacGourmet 2.4 or MacGourmet deluxe 1.1. I happen to have registered the latter which says I have the latest version - 1.05. No further info on the site.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
4 answer(s)
Advenio-Support
Advenio-Support
31 January 2009
Mariner Software is redistributing MacGourmet and its optional plug-ins, Mealplan, Nutrition and Cookbook, as a discounted retail bundle, all in one convenient package, at one price, called MacGourmet Deluxe. The update to Deluxe is always just a tad behind the release of the standard version, just because of the change of hands. You'll find that Deluxe 1.1 (which includes Macgourmet 2.4) was released a day after MacGourmet 2.4 was.
Like
Version 2.4
Xenophile
Xenophile
07 February 2009
So who's developing MacGourmet now - Mariner, or Advenio? My concern is that Mariner tends to assimilate vibrant new shareware from independent developers and bloat it into dinosaurs bearing little resemblance to the original shareware. I used to use MacJournal, but finally had to stop because Mariner jacked the price and bloated it beyond all recognition. I notice Mariner already has jacked the price of MacGourmet for a "deluxe" version that loaded with bloat I don't need. Sad.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Advenio-Support
Advenio-Support
07 February 2009
@XENOPHILE: This is a only distribution deal. The product continues to be developed exactly as it was before, and ownership has not changed in any way. Mariner sells a bundle of everything, into markets I can't access on my own. The standard basic version still exists and will continue to exist, and the price hasn't changed on that since 2004.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Xenophile
Xenophile
10 October 2009
Ok, thanks, that clears things up for me. I'll be buying MacGourmet directly from you, the developer. How does Mariner get access to markets you don't? Do they put MacGourmet in a box and sell it at real stores or something?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
Dai-Yi
03 January 2008
I've been using this application for over one year and enjoy it immensely. I've imported a few thousand recipes from the developer's forum, and added many others from websites. Being able to do so from within the services menu is brilliant. Nice design and features.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.5
Ghostwriter
23 October 2007
The Related Links under "YumConverter, which allows you to convert your Yum! recipes to MacGourmet recipes, is available here" does not seem to do anything or go anywhere?
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
Mdupuis282
Mdupuis282
26 October 2007
Converting from Yum formatted files is now built into the application.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.2
Bcwinters
25 January 2007
If anyone is looking at the new screenshot for v2, please don't be scared away by the recipe display with the weird background and gold "frames" around each section. That thing looks like a Geocities page from 1997! MacGourmet also comes with several clean, modern stylesheets--I use one that makes it look a lot like NetNewsWire, for instance. And they're all customizable HTML templates so you can make your own, too.
Like
Version 2.0.1
bcwinters
25 September 2005
After years and years using MasterCook, I finally got tired of being stuck in Classic every time I wanted to cook. I tried out every OS X recipe program I could get my hands on and have finally decided that MacGourmet's the one to go with. Some pros: Clean, easy to understand cocoa-y interface with iTunes-style smart lists. Uses WebKit for recipe display, "chef's view" (with huge fonts so you can keep your computer far away from your kitchen mess), and printing styles--this means you can edit these to your heart's content in your favorite HTML editor. Has great keyword & notes support. Imports and exports like a champ, including a nice plain-text email export and a wonderful integration with Services that lets you send recipes to the program from your web browser for easy integration. Some cons: I *have* found a few bugs including one that erases the quantity field in your ingredients and one that causes an application crash (I notified the developer of these bugs and he wrote back very quickly--I have no doubt they will be fixed in the next update). Lacks features that were in MasterCook a decade ago, including built-in quantity & ingredient lists (once you enter a quantity or ingredient, it does have MasterCook-like autofill, though). Uses a single-cookbook metaphor rather than a multiple-document one (personally, I like this and I think it fits in with the iTunes-like style, but for some people it just isn't the right thing). Printer stylesheets are kind of lackluster (but since I can edit them myself this is not a deal breaker--plus if users make nice ones I bet the developer will roll them into future versions). I've been putting MacGourmet through the paces for the last month and despite my minor complaints it has performed like a champ. This is a great little application that I believe will improve with time--I'd almost go so far as to say it's the NetNewsWire of recipe programs. I'm trusting it with my data from this point on.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.4
Nicecaman
19 August 2005
Don't forget to help her in the kitchen as well :-)
Like
Version 1.1.4
Jimw
17 June 2005
There are dozens of recipe programs available, some of them free. They seem to come and go like your favorite items at Trader Joes. This may be a very good product but I have no idea since I have never used it. The point of all of this is that you shop around for a recipe program. You need to find one that has the features and interface that meets your needs, before you spend any money for it. What is the "best" recipe program for someone else might be a horrible one for your needs. You also need to check as to how long a product has been around. I would hesitate to spend any significant amount of money for a product with a "b" (beta) in its version number or was just introduced., given the historic lifespan of many recipe programs. I would also make sure that it has a method of easily importing and exporting your entered data in a common format, such as ascii text, in case the program is end of life'd or fails to meet your needs. Little is more frustrating that having to copy and paste individually or reenter all of your recipes into another program all over again. When choosing a recipe program, like other products, make an informed decision, before your spend your money.
Like
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Baobab
Baobab
07 December 2005
So do you have any more "reviews" of products you have never used? I've never been on the space shuttle. I think I'll whine about the seating arrangements.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.7
Xenophile
Xenophile
05 December 2008
Wow, thanks for your most edifying lecture! It was thoroughly mind-expanding to see the mystifying process of choosing a recipe manager distilled into a few discreet steps. I really enjoyed your outside of the box thinking. Like, check how long an app has been around, and avoid paying a significant amount for beta software. Had I known this 5-10 years ago I'd have saved a small fortune. I love your rules that at first glance seem counterintuitive, yet upon further reflection their profound wisdom is revealed; the rule to make an informed decision when choosing a recipe program or any other product, before spending money, could be applied to decision-making in virtually every part of life. If only "The Decider" were so wise! As you succinctly explained, "The point of all of this is that you shop around for a recipe program." Truer words have rarely been typed at MacUpdate. Thank you for generously imparting your profound wisdom.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.6
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Better than anything else out there right now for the Mac. Wish we could have nutritional information and more import options.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2005
Hi there, Nutritional information is on the roadmap and due in a future update. What additional import options are you looking for?
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
09 April 2005
This desperately needs plain text or rich text export so your data is not locked in. Otherwise a great app.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 April 2005
You can export in both MasterCook and MasterCook Mac text formats, so how does that "lock in" the data?
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
09 April 2005
I looked at other programs, but bought this program for my wife who is very pleased with it. If they would just add an easy way to back up the data files and get nutritional information for recipes, it would be great. It is easy to use and worth every nickel.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Nicecaman
Nicecaman
19 August 2005
Don't forget to help her in the kitchen as well :-)
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
17 August 2004
This is a really nice application, especially for a 1.0 release. I've searched for a long time for a recipe management program, and this is, at long last, the one. Really nice UI and the developer seems to be responsive as well. I suspect I'll be paying for this one.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
15 August 2004
Definite a great app, but would be made even more useful with more import options, especially CookWare Deluxe and Yum! recipes. After shelling out good money for CWD I'm not very inclined to buy a replacement recipe app if I can't bring the recipes with me.
Like
Version 1.0b6
Anonymous
14 August 2004
Amazing… I was trying some cook apps when I found this one and then, end of seeking. Well done, handy, stable. All you can dream about an app integrating perfectly Mac OSX best features. Nice looking too. Love it.
Like
Version 1.0b6