Back to Adobe Camera Raw page
Adobe Camera Raw free download for Mac

Adobe Camera Raw Reviews

12.1
14 December 2019

Adds support for many new cameras.

Sanchai
30 October 2017

Most helpful

norpt working with OSX 10.13.1 beta 5. DNG Converter open but no app window show up. about show the version fine. Fix please Adobe. It is very shoddy app
Like (1)
Version 10.0

Read 33 Adobe Camera Raw User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sanchai
30 October 2017
norpt working with OSX 10.13.1 beta 5. DNG Converter open but no app window show up. about show the version fine. Fix please Adobe. It is very shoddy app
Like (1)
Version 10.0
Liliannaw9135
09 March 2017
I like it
Like
Version 9.9
SteveCagan1595
03 January 2017
Although you describe this as Camera Raw 9.8, the link is actually to DNG converter--which means my Adobe CS6 programs can't read the raw files from the Olympus EM-1 MarkII. Cl;early part of Adobe's attempt to force us to use the Creative Cloud versions.
Like (1)
Version 9.8
badbadger
19 June 2015
Adobe Camera Raw 9.1 (correct link: https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/multi/camera-raw-plug-in-installer.html) works with Photoshop CS6 too.
Like (1)
Version 9.1
1 answer(s)
Stainless-Steel
Stainless-Steel
18 April 2016
Thanks! The URL Badbager provided works as of April 2016. Here it is again: https://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/multi/camera-raw-plug-in-installer.html I needed for my Sony Alpha (A7ii) with the latest 2016 firmware. I believe it also works with Sony A7rii
Like
Paul-street
09 January 2015
] Will Adobe Camera Raw 7.4 or 8.7.1 work with Adobe Photoshop CS 5 version 12.1 x64 bit on a Mac OSX version 10.7.5 Lion.I am having differculty opening Raw RAF files on Camera Fuji X100s.Many thanks for your help out there.
Like
Version 8.7.1
Okuyukashī
10 December 2014
Correct link: http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/multi/camera-raw-plug-in-installer.html
Like
Version 8.7
Jcraig
10 December 2014
It appears the download link on this page is pointing to the Adobe DNG Converter.
Like (1)
Version 8.7
edwinbeavan
14 September 2014
hello all I'm at ends with my mac i had all the same problems when i got my Canon 6D but i updated my mac + iPhoto and got camera raw 8.6.0 so my CS6 would work all looked good CR2 works ????? but now I'm taking photos with the filters in the camera and different settings when i open my CR2s on the mac & in CS6 all the bright colours go from the original photo so they look flat standard setting don't loos much but the sunsets are all but crap after u open them up (great just on the folders ) anybody had this problem Eddie
Like
Version 8.6
xgman
02 August 2014
Why is the Camera Raw 8.6 link on adobe's site to DNG Converter?
Like
Version 8.6
RunTime
18 July 2014
D810 supported (and some others) by RC8.6 http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/cameraraw8-6/?tabID=details#tabTop
Like
Version 8.5
The last few versions of what is called Adobe Camera Raw on MacUpdate contain only the latest DNG Converter, not the latest Camera Raw files or plug-in. Once you click the download link you get a dmg image file called DNGConverter - and that's all it contains - I checked it with Pacifist. There is no explanation on Adobe's web site, that I can find, of this issue, not any recent download link for the actual Camera Raw plug-in. It's puzzling that MacUpdate would leave this misleading naming problem unresolved for so long. The only thing I can think of that makes any sense here is that Adobe now only provides Camera Raw updates through Adobe Photoshop of Photoshop Elements. I'm a bit leery of installing this DNG Converter update because it says it's only compatible with Photoshop CC. Which hardly seems reasonable as the main purpose of the DNGConverter is to handle backwards compatibility for Camera Raw files not supported in the user's extant version of Adobe Photoshop. Ever since Adobe moved their business to Creative Cloud they seem to be as confused about what they're doing as their users - and MacUpdate doesn't help with these misnamed updates.
Like (2)
Version 8.4
9 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
08 April 2014
Now is the time to show adobe what you think. Acorn is only $14.99 at the moment https://secure.flyingmeat.com/store/ out of little trees, etc. unlike Adobe sitting at the top of theirs laughing at us who won't sign up for the rest of our lives...
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
09 April 2014
B. Jefferson Le Blanc, here's the skinny.... Reference “Adobe Camera Raw 8 support for Photoshop CC and Photoshop CS6,” Adobe blogs, Lightroom Journal, 6 May 2013... "Today’s Photoshop CC announcement requires a modest change in our camera raw support policy. Because Adobe is still selling Photoshop CS6, those customers will continue to receive updated camera raw file format compatibility via Adobe Camera Raw 8. When we update ACR8 with new camera support, Photoshop CS6 customers can work with the new version of the Camera Raw plug-in. No new features or functionality will be available in ACR to Photoshop CS6 customers as part of those updates. (No Upright, advanced healing brush or radial filter, etc.) I don’t have a timeline for how long this camera raw support will continue for Photoshop CS6 but I want to be consistent with our past policy of providing raw support for currently shipping products." Reference “Camera Raw 8.1 and DNG Converter 8.1 Now Available,” Adobe blogs, Lightroom Journal, 9 June 2013... "Camera Raw 8.1 is now available as a final release through the update mechanism in Photoshop CS6 and Photoshop CC. This release provides support for HiDPI capable displays, new camera and lens support and address bugs that were introduced in previous versions of Camera Raw. Customers of previous versions of Photoshop can utilize DNG Converter 8.1 to receive raw file support for newly added cameras. "Photoshop CS6 customers traditionally have received camera updates through Camera Raw 7.x releases. This is the first time that we are providing camera support through a version of the camera raw plug-in that is a whole version number greater than the version of Camera Raw that shipped with a specific version of Photoshop. (Photoshop CS6 shipped with ACR7 and now we’re providing support to CS6 with ACR8.) As mentioned here, this change allows us to be consistent with our past policy of providing raw support for currently shipping products. However, when ACR8 is hosted by Photoshop CS6, it will not offer any of the new features described in Photoshop CC marketing materials for ACR8."
Like (1)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
09 April 2014
Dictionary ref for Adobe = Sun Dried Bricks ! is that cockney rhyming slang ?
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
09 April 2014
MacUpdate-Jess: Thanks for the information. However, you have not addressed the issue of the mislabeling of this update on MacUpdate as Camera Raw 8.4. Following the download link still only provides DNG Converter 8.4, not Camera Raw 8.4. I finally did install DNG Converter 8.4 without any negative side affects. I have managed to scrounge from Adobe's web site DNG Converter 8.3 and 8.4 with standalone installers. I've also found Camera Raw 8.3 as a standalone install, but not Camera Raw 8.4. Because Adobe so often mislabels these files, I had to check each one with Pacifist to see what I was actually getting. It's also important to note a compatibility issue between Camera Raw 7.x and 8.x. Camera Raw 7 still works with Photoshop CS6. Camera Raw 8.x works with PS CS6, but only on OS X 10.7 and above. It does not work properly with OS X 10.6.x. I found this out the hard way helping a friend who had inadvertently installed CR 8.3 on his Snow Leopard system and found it would no longer read Raw files that worked perfectly well before he upgraded from Camera Raw 7.3 to 8.3. I searched without success for any explanation of this issue on Adobe's web site. It may be there somewhere but is certainly not where it should be on the information and download pages for versions 7 & 8 of Camera Raw. Further adding to the confusion is the fact that pages describing Camera Raw 8 only link to the DNG Converter download. This may explain why MacUpdate has misnamed the update - because it's mislabeled by Adobe in the first place.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
09 April 2014
B. Jefferson Le Blanc, I sympathize with your friend who had to drop back a version to get Camera Raw to work under OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. It's... tough when developers don't provide you with the information you need to keep you from running into trouble, and I apologize when we, too, failed to keep you properly informed. When I updated this listing yesterday (8 April 2014), I saw that the minimum OS requirement had changed to OS X 10.7, and I updated the listing correspondingly. What I forgot to mention in the process of posting my first reply to your thread here is that--and I'm going out on a really thin limb here--the DNG Converter installer also contains the updated camera and lens profiles for Camera Raw. If you use a utility such as Pacifist to view the contents of the downloaded package file, you'll find that it contains four packages (though Adobe didn't make it a meta-package): DNG Converter, lens profiles, camera profiles, and a post-flight script. Those camera and lens profiles are accessed by both Camera Raw and DNG Converter, so, while this download may not update any of the code of Camera Raw, it is considered an "update" in that it updates those profiles accessed by Camera Raw.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
09 April 2014
MacUpdate-Jess: Thanks again. That's certainly a coherent explanation so I guess I'll join you out on that limb. After wading through pages and pages of Adobe explanations that explain very little, it seems they are providing camera and lens profile updates for CS6, as you suggest, that don't require an update to the Camera Raw plug-in. Whereas, the plug-in for Photoshop CC does include enhanced features. Since you and I can explain the matter in one paragraph, it's a wonder Adobe can't do at least as well, given that they actually know, presumably, what they are talking about. it's long been typical of engineers, though, that they cannot see an issue from a user's perspective. Still, this doesn't explain why the DNG Converter has a separate update page, given that it apparently accesses the same file as the link on this page. It's also the case that this nomenclature problem arose long before Adobe split the functionality of Camera Raw 8.x between Photoshop CS6 and Photoshop CC, so our limb is fragile indeed. However, given how unlikely it is that Adobe will explain themselves any better, perhaps you can make note of the profiles only issue on the Camera Raw and DNG Converter pages. Just a thought. Now that I look at it again, another source of confusion is the note that this update is for CC and Photoshop CC and later. Yet it doesn't include the Camera Raw plug-in. Whereas, logically enough, the DNG Converter page does not include these limitations - though it downloads the same file. Curiouser and curiouser.
Like
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
09 April 2014
Thanks for trying to explain the mess guys but for a so called world class company this level of confusion caused by Adobe is pathetic.
Like
Abbott
Abbott
05 July 2014
Some time ago I read that CS6 Camera Raw updates are embedded in the DNG installer and I've been using the DNG installer ever since. Sure enough, so far I've ended up with the latest ACR update as well. Example: the DNG 8.5 installer also installs ACR 8.5 for CS6. What we're getting, which is what Adobe said we'd get, is support for additional cameras—none of the functionality provided to CC users. I'm fine with this. If you don't want DNG Converter, just toss it after installation.
Like (1)
edwinbeavan
edwinbeavan
14 September 2014
i got the camera raw 8.6.0 for my CS6 works the CR2s but look above at my problem thanks
Like
Macinen
13 December 2013
The download link is only DNGConverter 8.3! Not Camera Raw. I don't know where the problem is, because it's the same with Adobe's own page: In Adobe's page the download link says Camera Raw but still it's ONLY DNGConverter 8.3.
Like (1)
Version 8.3
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
11 November 2013
Hiss! Booo! CC only. Really? More user alienation, guaranteed.
Like (1)
Version 8.3
4 answer(s)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
12 November 2013
The MacUpdate description is incomplete. The CS6 version of this plug-in is here: http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/cameraraw8-3/
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
12 November 2013
@ Neutralzone: Thank you.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
08 April 2014
Neutralzone: That link no longer works. It leads to a description page only - no download link.
Like
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
08 April 2014
B. Jefferson Le Blanc: Link expiration was expected, based on past history. The link was for the Release Candidate which is always hosted on labs.adobe.com (test server); when the final is released it is always removed from labs.adobe.com and the final version hosted on the official servers instead. I found a download link in an Adobe blog post but like you said it only contains DNG Converter, and I don't know why either. But when I chose Help/Updates in Photoshop, I got an update notification labeled Camera Raw 8.4(CS6). If you have any qualms about installing via the menu instead of from a download, go to /Library/Application Support/Adobe/Plug-Ins/CC/File Formats/Camera Raw.plugin and back up the current Camera Raw.
Like
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
04 November 2013
Nice Improvement
Like
Version 8.2
1 answer(s)
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
Savo33bravo-The-Liar
04 November 2013
I have inherit my MacUpdate name from MacUpdate them self Savo33bravo The Liar This name was given to me because I have discovered how MacUpdate manipulate these reviews. Sweet.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
07 August 2013
I was about to complain that Adobe had now abandoned Camera Raw support for Photoshop CS6, but then I noticed the links below the requirement specs. What we're getting here is some of the new functionality available in Lightroom 5.
Like
Version 8.2
Cowicide
18 June 2013
Like most other longtime Adobe customers, I am sickened by Adobe's greed with their Creative Cloud subscription model. The petition against it is over 30,000 sigs so far... https://www.change.org/petitions/adobe-systems-incorporated-eliminate-the-mandatory-creative-cloud-subscription-model
Like (1)
Version 8.1
Aadams77
27 April 2013
On the one hand, I LOVE up-to-date version checking software IF well implemented and completely NON-intrusive to my privacy...on the other hand, I DO *NOT* like it when developers REQUIRE update through their update checking utility. That being said, IF you would like to stay on-top of the latest Adobe Camera Raw standalone updates, HOPEFULLY the following link will be valuable for some time to come (I would suggest BMing it, at least)… http://blogs.adobe.com/crawlspace/2011/03/keeping-photoshop-up-to-date.html#notconnected Hope that helps! ;)
Like
Version 7.4
Gslusher
27 October 2012
This appears to NOT be compatible with Photoshop Elements 9, despite what the description says.
Like
Version 7.2.0.46
Moxiesozo
04 June 2012
MacUpdate Admins: the quote in the second paragraph in the description of this product is incorrect / confusing: "The Camera Raw 6 plug-in is not compatible with versions of Photoshop earlier than Photoshop CS5..." This SHOULD BE CHANGED to say "Photoshop CS6" Camera Raw version 7.1 will ONLY work with CS6, not CS 5.5 or 5.0.
Like
Version 7.1
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
04 June 2012
Thanks for the heads up Moxiesozo, I've fixed this.
Like
MDS
MDS
16 July 2012
Would be even better if you included a link to the updater for CS5 & 5.5 (the one you have is only for PS Elements). Here is the link to the page for those needing a manual download to the latest Camera Raw updater for CS5 or 5.5: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=5370 Here is the direct link to the 6.7 Updater: http://download.adobe.com/pub/adobe/photoshop/cameraraw/mac/6.x/AdobeCameraRaw-6.7-mul-AdobeUpdate.dmg
Like (1)
MichaelJo
31 May 2012
great app raw reader
Like
Version 7.1
Holypoly
30 May 2012
"The Camera Raw 6 plug-in is not compatible with versions of Photoshop earlier than Photoshop CS5 or versions of Photoshop Elements earlier than Photoshop Elements 6 for Mac." And this is even version 7 - shock horror. Please change!
Like
Version 7.1
Stassi
13 December 2011
Please respond. Does anyone know if this resolves the problem we had with importing, with the previous release?
Like
Version 6.6
Doc-Renaud
15 September 2009
Thanks!
Like
Version 5.5
Philsharp
02 January 2009
err... updated and now have Japanese text. Will try link direct from Adobe
Like
Version 5.2
Anonymous
14 November 2005
Much faster at screen rendering than 3.1, which took so long to zoom in/out that I wanted to stop using RAW.
Like
Version 3.3b43
1 answer(s)
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
14 March 2008
How do I install this in PE 4.0?
Like
Version 4.4
Smokeonit
06 May 2005
works great, i use it with raw files from my canon eos 350d aka rebel XT... i use adobe PS CS2, my question: what are CS people supposed to do? buy/upgrade CS or be left out???
Like
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Ursamajor42
Ursamajor42
11 November 2005
This really annoying... Adobe seems to have abandoned those of us who bought CS1 while still supporting those who bought Elements 3. I'm not saying that spending £500 should get you a better level of service and support than if you spent £70 but you'd should at least get the same... Planning on buying a Nikon D50 (for my wife) and a D200 (replacing my aging D100) means I'll have to upgrade to CS2... Adobe don't seem to care... doesn't bode well for the Adobe/Macromedia merger... we'll probably get no support at all...
Like
Version 3.3b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 November 2005
You use the DNG converter to convert your files to DNG. Photoshop CS can read a DNG. That's how you do it. There's some "plumbing" in CS2 that Camera Raw needs that CS doesn't have. That's why the newest Camera Raw won't work in CS.
Like
Version 3.3b43
Anonymous
29 March 2005
Works great. Now let's hope that an update for the Canon Rebel XT / 350D will follow very soon
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
02 February 2005
According to Adobe's comprehensive list the D2X IS NOT supported in this release. Neither is the S3 which sadly means Fuji once again dropped the ball in getting Adobe the camera when they needed it.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
11 January 2005
Works great with RAW images from Sony DSC-V3
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
20 December 2004
That link didn't work, either. Here's the link I used to D/L this: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=2683 Enjoy...
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
19 December 2004
The download link didn't work for this beta version, instead try http://download.adobe.com/pub/adobe/photoshop/cameraraw/mac/Camera_Raw_2_4.sit.hqx As for Canon EOS 20D support - the 20Ds RAW files work just fine with v2.3 for those who would rather not use a beta.
Like
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 December 2004
That link did not work, either. Here's the link I used to D/L this: http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=2683
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
18 December 2004
Nice to know that this is a beta version. No rating because I haven't used it yet.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
17 February 2004
no problem to update Photoshop CS plugin and it is free.
Like
Version 2.1