Back to GarageBand page
GarageBand free download for Mac

GarageBand Reviews10.4.3

09 April 2021

Complete recording studio and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
metinkandiyoti82
metinkandiyoti82
Jun 11 2020
10.3.4
0.0
Jun 11 2020
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
Coll
cabosite
cabosite
Apr 26 2020
10.3.4
0.0
Apr 26 2020
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
ou peut ton trouvé le plunig accordeon ou polka accordeon pour garageband
jackierhussen
jackierhussen
Dec 20 2019
10.3.4
0.0
Dec 20 2019
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
Grange band app all use.
kensne1111
kensne1111
Oct 18 2019
10.3.3
5.0
Oct 18 2019
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
The more I use it, the more I love it. Still finding more capacity and capability with each project after almost a year and half of steady use. Would really like to see the iOS sound library also in the OS platform....please. Lol
jrlathamjr
jrlathamjr
Jun 5 2019
10.3.2
1.0
Jun 5 2019
1.0
Version: 10.3.2
It's very large and takes up a lot of space. It also seems that it is being update very frequently. Most important is that I don't use it.
june8
june8
Jun 6 2017
10.2
0.0
Jun 6 2017
0.0
Version: 10.2
MacUpdate, it is free, not $4 99.
Marko85
Marko85
Apr 21 2017
10.1.6
5.0
Apr 21 2017
5.0
Version: 10.1.6
Great app... and you should update the page, since Apple made it free for all Mac users now :) I just wish Apple included an opinion to easily uninstall selected instruments & loops separately to save space when some instruments & loops aren't needed and an option to briefly preview instruments & loops before installing (maybe if there was a way to stream some preview from Apple's servers by clicking on an instrument or a loop that is not installed... so you could choose do you want to install it or not)... sure there is a way to manually uninstall what you don't want later though Finder or Terminal after installing something you don't really want to keep, but it would just be more convenient if there was a simple way to do it from GarageBand. Still, 5 stars from me :)
Albabe
Albabe
May 31 2016
10.1.2
0.0
May 31 2016
0.0
Version: 10.1.2
So the brand newest Logic Pro works in Mavericks but GarageBand doesn't? Very odd.
freiheit
freiheit
Apr 8 2016
10.1.1
0.0
Apr 8 2016
0.0
Version: 10.1.1
I still have the old (pre-App store) version of Garage Band. Is it true that current versions can only use approved/signed loops (i.e. no free 3rd party loops obtained say 5-7 years ago) or did I misread that somewhere?
Albabe
Albabe
Apr 8 2016
10.1
0.0
Apr 8 2016
0.0
Version: 10.1
I think a newer Version is out as of yesterday... but it's a little strange in terms of D/Ling. It showed-up in the AppStore last night, but not this morning. When I try to open Garageband it says it can't be opened when it's being Updated. Very odd..
jimqara1
jimqara1
Nov 15 2014
10.0.3
5.0
Nov 15 2014
5.0
Version: 10.0.3
how can i download garageband free ??
Enk3
Enk3
Oct 16 2014
10.0.2
0.0
Oct 16 2014
0.0
Version: 10.0.2
Latest version for iLife '11 is 6.0.5, available here: http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1507
David-Price
David-Price
Aug 12 2014
10.0.2
4.5
Aug 12 2014
4.5
Version: 10.0.2
Great app for amateur musicians and recording engineers! Also great for transferring vinyl to digital. While there are much better, more expensive apps for this. You can't beat GarageBand for it's simplicity and functionality.
mandInhob5232
mandInhob5232
Jul 7 2014
10.0.2
5.0
Jul 7 2014
5.0
Version: 10.0.2
I lIke the garageband
Macinman
Macinman
Mar 20 2014
10.0.2
0.0
Mar 20 2014
0.0
Version: 10.0.2
I wanted to ask, is GarageBand a suitable starter app for someone who wants to do music professionally but doesn't have the funds or have the experience with pro audio tools, so i can start small and work up? I have a background in production but mostly audio I am a seasoned guitar player but never really invested in any software to enhance that much.
Bunnybrains
Bunnybrains
Oct 23 2013
10.0.0
2.5
Oct 23 2013
2.5
Version: 10.0.0
Dropped support of 3rd Party Plugins rendering this update useless for me. Really weird considering Apple invented the AU standard. But I'll admit its a good package for casual musicians.
waggonerwheel
waggonerwheel
Jan 3 2012
6.0.4
4.0
Jan 3 2012
4.0
Version: 6.0.4
This is a great upgrade to earlier versions. I also suggest the video lessons available through the App Store.
Steve-Frawley
Steve-Frawley
Apr 1 2011
6.0.2
4.5
Apr 1 2011
4.5
Version: 6.0.2
And ONE BIG ISSUE.Projects from IOS GarageBand can be imported
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
Mar 31 2011
6.0.2
5.0
Mar 31 2011
5.0
Version: 6.0.2
Love it. :)
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 1 2009
5.0.2
0.0
Jun 1 2009
0.0
Version: 5.0.2
Garageband 5. doesn't seem to work on a lot of people's G5s (Certainly not my 3 year old G5) even with 10.5.7. It's so slow it's completely impossible to use... and almost impossible to uninstall. If you are on a G5 and having problems, google "Uninstall Garageband" and reinstall the last version (4.1.2)
Sam5
Sam5
Apr 25 2006
3.0.2
0.0
Apr 25 2006
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
Fantastic entry level quality recording software. Managed to persuade the head of music at school to buy 6 intel imacs by showing him GB on my iBook! The podcasting studio is so simple to use. The GUI make over is well worth getting the upgrade!
Afmac
Afmac
Apr 24 2006
3.0.2
5.0
Apr 24 2006
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
This update fixed some of my performance issues on my duel 1 gig Thanks!
michael-3abn
michael-3abn
Apr 24 2006
3.0.2
4.3
Apr 24 2006
4.3
Version: 3.0.2
I was surprised that no one had commented on GB since last summer, 2005. Was the current version even out then? GB is a great app, although to use it productively you really out to have a MIDI device (like a keyboard) connected, and having a little musical ability doesn't hurt either. I think the iLife 06 version is a major improvement over the previous one.
Guest
Guest
Jul 26 2005
2.0.2
3.3
Jul 26 2005
3.3
Version: 2.0.2
Great Update!!! Best thing for being creative! sam
Guest
Guest
Jul 26 2005
2.0.2
3.3
Jul 26 2005
3.3
Version: 2.0.2
update install has rendered the Band unable to initialise on both my macs (PB 17" 1.67 GB, 1G Ram; + G4 Quicksilver). Reinstall of Band 2 and 2,0,2 updater not resolved the issue.
Guest
Guest
May 1 2005
2.0.1
3.3
May 1 2005
3.3
Version: 2.0.1
I can't install samples on another disk than the boot drive: stupid!!!!!!
Guest
Guest
Apr 26 2005
2.0.1
3.3
Apr 26 2005
3.3
Version: 2.0.1
I bought GarageBand 1 in hopes of composing my own music, but the synthesized instruments sound like smeg. Is version 2 any better?
Guest
Guest
Apr 25 2005
2.0.1
3.3
Apr 25 2005
3.3
Version: 2.0.1
i have a simple midiman interface that doesn't work with garageband in Tiger! how am i to get this thing to work again under tiger?
Guest
Guest
May 17 2004
1.1
3.3
May 17 2004
3.3
Version: 1.1
Great for quick "sketches". its nice to be able to have an idea, plug in a guitar, play against a couple simple drum loops & save the finer details for later. I still prefer something like DP or Cubase for a finished product. Garage band is sort of like my sketchbook while other apps serve as an actual canvas.
Guest
Guest
May 17 2004
1.1
3.3
May 17 2004
3.3
Version: 1.1
Says 10.3 or higher but the web site says 10.2.6. Installed it on 10.2.8 and it works...
Guest
Guest
Feb 20 2004
1.0.1
3.3
Feb 20 2004
3.3
Version: 1.0.1
GarageBand 1.0.1 also includes performance improvements and rewire technology. Unfortunately it still doesn't allow the creation of notes from the keyboard in either sequence or TR style stepping :-( sigh... The only reason why I still don't use it.
Guest
Guest
Feb 17 2004
1.0.1
0.0
Feb 17 2004
0.0
Version: 1.0.1
Garageband put quite simply.......is a marvellous piece of audio software, appealing to both beginners and professionals in the music industry. Extreemly user freindly, I found Garageband to be my choice for music creation on my Powermac G4. I have Allways been interested in making music since i was knee high to a grasshopper and other software is either too complicated or to simple for that professional sound genre you want to achieve. With Garageand you can just chuck in your loops, drum kits, vocals you name it they have almost everything in there. I was quite into Dance Ejay but found it to be to repetitive and had hardly any variation in what you had to choose from regarding loops. The features are GREAT, pro audi effects, doubble pass filters (no i dont know what half these are either but they sound great!) and many many more. My only problem was that sometimes my imported wave display for the voices and certain effects dissapeared while it was playing.....other than that there are no performance issues as long as you stick to their minimum requirements. With Garageband you get what you pay for and so much more. Excellent piece of somtware for fun, the familly and anybody who wants to start out in making music that sounds professional....thanks to the very high quality sampled instruments ;) ABSOLUTELY BLOOMIN MARVELLOUS!
Guest
Guest
Feb 13 2004
1.0.1
3.3
Feb 13 2004
3.3
Version: 1.0.1
Did you copy the files to the hard drive as directed by Apple? Any Cd drive will have trouble reading the data quickly enough.
Guest
Guest
Feb 10 2004
4.0
0.0
Feb 10 2004
0.0
Version: 4.0
Apple's new GarageBand, included with the iLife bundle, gives Panther-users the ability to create, edit, mix, and burn their own recordings or their synthesized creations. I was skeptical when I first heard about it, fearing that it would be geared towards heavy-duty DJ's or audio engineers. I expected to be overwhelmed by foriegn terminology, or be hindered by a hard-to-understand interface. When I started the program for the first time, however, I found none of that. Instead, I was greeted by a sleek, but to the point interface, with a (literaly) hardwood finish. Within 2 minutes of playing around with the menus, I was able to get a pretty good grasp on the way things worked. So it looked cool, and the interface was nice, but I was ready to create some music. So I added the first track, and started recording. After laying down the track I listened to it again, and was amazed at how good it sounded. I was using the built in mic of my iBook G4, and it simply sounded wonderful! After playing it back, I decided to add some effects. This is when I learned that not only does the interface look cool, it is very easy to use. Fading in and out was a matter of point and click. Finally, I wanted to mix it. I expected this to be the most difficult part, as I had no previous experience. However, after listening, common sense should tell you basicaly how to do it. Is the guitar not standing out enough over the bass? Move it some to the left speaker. Drums overpowering all the other instruments? Turn them down some. There are, on the other hand, some things that I didn't like too much. The syntesized instruments open up endless possibilites. That is, if you have a MIDI compatible keyboard. The keyboard built into the progam is point and click, and, even with a regular mouse, I still found getting the right notes out highly frustrating. Also, I recomend you have some pretty good headphones. Otherwise, the computer will record itself playing, which gives the tone a low quality sound. While I wouldn't recomend this software for professionals, this is a great start for beginers or if you just want to mess around and have fun.
Guest
Guest
Feb 3 2004
4.0
0.0
Feb 3 2004
0.0
Version: 4.0
Purchased iLife'04 after carefully considering the required hardware. I have an iMac 17inch 800MHZ G4 with IGB RAM and 80 GB hard drive. I was really keen in trying out Garageband only to be disappointed time and again when I tried playing the reflection project file supplied in the GarageBand G4-G5 Projects folder. On opening and playing the file it ground to a halt after 5seconds into play with the following error message, Hard Disk too slow The hard disk is not fast enough to deliver all audio data in time. Try muting some tracks. What more can I say but Apple has once again delivered on empty promises.
Guest
Guest
Feb 3 2004
4.0
3.3
Feb 3 2004
3.3
Version: 4.0
There are a couple of things that come from Apple that have turned my eye, G4 1.25Ghz, Panther, iTunes, and now Garageband. What a brilliant piece of kit! 2 hours out of the sleeve, no manual, and I've created the best choon I've heard in a long time. Which is surprising because the last choon I made was over 30 years ago on a recorder in primary school. A hearty slap on the back to the developers, for making it such an easy app to use. Of course this means I'm going to have to shell out for the Jam Pack, but i've a hunch that it'll be worth it too. www.j3ff.co.uk/themp3/myfirst.mp3
Petrielm
Petrielm
Jan 28 2004
4.0
4.0
Jan 28 2004
4.0
Version: 4.0
GarageBand 4.0 is a very user friendly application (well, it is made by APPLE, so it is of course, user friendly). The interface is easy to understand and it's "vintage" look makes the person using the software comfortable enough to be creative. GarageBand 4.0 is the perfect tool to make easy music for your videos, or even for a little personal CD for your lover for valentine's Day. However, do not think that you will make a PRINCE album with GarageBand 4.0. It is not REASON 2.5 or some professional music software. You have a limited control over the sound that you might create, for there is only one nob to balance the music left or right. Also, the use of samples is made easier with the "loop browser" capability, and makes the whole experience of creating music as easy as say... MAC! Garageband 4.0 is a good application overall. We will be listening to "Reasy-home-made" music that will change the entire music industry. Thank you APPLE, once again!
Coolhandpete
Coolhandpete
Jan 27 2004
4.0
4.8
Jan 27 2004
4.8
Version: 4.0
It begins. Right on cue, it appears that Apple Computer has once again taken a hard look at its visionary priorities, and they've turned a corner that most of us never expected. If Apple's almost comically predictable history repeats itself, then the rest of the computing industry is sure to follow, and we'll soon see Wintel home music recording studios marketed as "the first" to endeavor in such a groundbreaking direction in personal computing. Garageband, despite its newness, now stands a conspicuous post as the only music production application that is accessible to anyone who has basic software-navigation skills. Apple must have heard the murmurings of users who've been complaining for years that producing an entire digital movie with sound and visuals has been easier than recording one basic song using Cubase or Protools, and on this premise, they went ahead and reinvented the wheel. I, myself, just invested in approximately $800 worth of microphones, mike stands, cables and an audio interface so I can finally realize a little dream I've had since I first bought my Powerbook G4 in July of 2002. Sure, you can cry a river about small issues with the interface or slowdown with multiple tracks, but find me another full-function application for under $50 (and I got mine for $29 'cause I'm a teacher.) Also, try to remember that this is Version 1.0; our ever-faithful Apple will surely provide us with an update soon enough. My first album should be completed shortly. It won't be available in record stores, but you might be able to catch it if you're taking your dog for a walk past my house when I happen to have the windows open. If you like it, I'll sell you a copy for the price of a blank CD-R. Regards, Peter
Guest
Guest
Jan 26 2004
4.0
0.0
Jan 26 2004
0.0
Version: 4.0
Superfun. This app is really easy to use, but at the same time powerful enough to create some great mixes. The interface is really clean. Finding loops is made easy by the thumbpad-type button layout. And because the program is laid out under a timeline, its easy to move things around and see what is going on - even while the piece is playing. I really liked how intuitive the user interface was: if you want something longer, you stretch it. Moving and changing voices is click-and-drag. My wife created a piano piece (by herself) using the loops in about an hour while I was out on on a call. I did some recording as well, which came out really clean from my Tayor guitar. The amps that ship with the app are also really nice: but I wish there were more. Combining loops with live recording also works great, except when you try to change tempo... It is processor intensive - I can't run under 'reduced performance' mode on my PowerBook, so make sure that your machine has some guts. The only other thing that I didn't like was that there weren't as my voices and loops as I would like, and the expansion set is pretty steeply priced ($100). It's well worth the money - especially since you get the other apps all for a $50 price. --John