Back to MP3 Trimmer page
MP3 Trimmer free download for Mac

MP3 Trimmer Reviews

3.3
02 April 2019

Cut and join portions of MP3 songs.

Doug-Engelbart
14 August 2009

Most helpful

When I used this great app for the first time, it always showed CRC errors after saving a trimmed MP3 so that I thought the file is not saved at all. But it is saved! And functioning! You can ignore the CRC errors. But: For the next version I wish some more words in the error message saying that this can be ignored.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.1

Read 36 MP3 Trimmer User Reviews

Rate this app:

rob-reeves
29 September 2019
I've loved this app for many years, however, because it has never been updated to support 64-bit processors, it will not run on the new Mac OS Catalina (version 10.15), and therefore I can no longer use it on my MacBook Pro that I upgraded to the beta. I can at least still run it on my old 2009 iMac (which Apple cut off OS upgrades for after High Sierra) if needed, although I frankly don't really use MP3 Trimmer anymore since Apple took away the ability to create your own ringtones in IOS, so this post is mainly just an FYI to others reading these comments.
Like
Version 3.3
chris-com
31 March 2019
Version 3.3 has been out since June 29, 2017.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
peterbreis
05 September 2018
MP3 Trimmer is still indispensible. I use it to combine Audiobooks into longer chapters as well as trimming out snippets from longer recordings. MP3 Trimmer on my Mac is v3.3 not the v3.0 currently shown here.
Like
Version 3.0
cyrcle
03 August 2017
Useful. Edit MP3 files with no quality loss
Like
Version 3.0
Mikael-B
17 July 2017
This seem to be working in OS X El Capitan 10.11 at least and does seem highly useful for some mp3 editing. Sadly there is no automated function for removing the initial silence in mp3 encoded files (which might be hard to achieve), no zooming to speak of, no reverted polarity, no paste mixing and so on., Off little use to me unfortunately.

Nice to see it's still around.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
DIEDI
02 May 2013
It's a brilliant app unfortunately totally unsupported. No answers to repeated emails over weeks. Registered and got 1 day out of it. Can't give it stares because I can't use it.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.6
2 answer(s)
Pfackelmann
Pfackelmann
07 October 2015
In May 2015 I wrote to DeepNiner:
when using IN-point audition + or - you don’t see a result.
You have to leave this window; then you see a change when you click on Try.
Could you repair that please?
He promised to repair that but in spite of many reminders nothing till now.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
08 September 2017
From DeepNiner's FAQ

"Q: I have written to you, but got no response...
A: Unlike big software companies, I develop MP3 Trimmer on my spare time. I have a regular fulltime job and a family as well. Be patient, or in urgent matters, send me a reminder about your email. "
Like
oklair1
06 April 2013
Simple and beautiful!
Like (1)
Version 2.9.6
1 answer(s)
DIEDI
DIEDI
18 April 2013
I bought this about three weeks ago and I agree simple and beautiful. Exactly what I was looking for. But the day you posted this, and I do remember well it was my birthday. :lol: It stopped working. When I try to open it just bounces in the dock . Have sent emails , no response :( I want it desperately!! I have spent hours trying to find something that works the way this does. If anyone has any tips I would love them. Have reloaded multiple times.
Like (2)
Jaws3
20 October 2012
v2.9.6 Caused some freezing on Lion requiring Force Quit. No data was lost however. Worth the price
Like
Version 2.9.6
Taaminator
28 August 2010
MP3 Trimmer has many features, it's very easy to use, it is excellent value, and, it's as stable as a rock. MP3 Trimmer joins multiple MP3 files. AHP2 recorded a 4.3 hour event, but it broke the recording into two parts. MP3 Trimmer has "MP3 Joiner". Open MP3 Trimmer, select "Tools">"MP3 Joiner", add files, check the order, add as much or as little info as desired (for the output file), select "Select Target Folder" and name, and, a few moments later, you have a single (joined) MP3! If you do any audio editing, MP3 Trimmer is a must have.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.5
Doug-Engelbart
14 August 2009
When I used this great app for the first time, it always showed CRC errors after saving a trimmed MP3 so that I thought the file is not saved at all. But it is saved! And functioning! You can ignore the CRC errors. But: For the next version I wish some more words in the error message saying that this can be ignored.
Like (3)
Version 2.9.1
MisterE
16 January 2009
Love this app. Works great with all the textbook audio I have to manage. The recent version 2.8.8 is shown as version 2.8.9 in the Get Info window and the About MP3 Trimmer window.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.8
Aljuk
12 November 2008
I must apologise for the inaccuracy in my review (see below). MP3 Trimmer DOES have switchable fade algorithms (I didn't realise the icons are switches). Awesome. I've been editing out the dialogue and announcements from the music podcasts I subscribe to and the app is perfect. Great drag n drop too...
Like
Version 2.8.56
Aljuk
08 November 2008
This is a very efficient app for top and tailing mp3s and adding auto-fades. It's entirely intuitive, quick in operation and a great solution. Highly recommended. As a feature request I'd like to see some switchable auto-fade algorithms. The algorithm in use is a bit linear, and not very natural (ie. the tail is too long) at short settings. That addition would make this app perfect.
Like (2)
Version 2.8.5
Thomanjones
24 September 2008
After trying a few mp3 joiners, this one is the best. Slick interface, works as advertised.
Like (1)
Version 2.8.5
Rubaiyat
20 February 2008
I've used this wonderful app since almost it first hit the Mac's desktop. It is the best utility for cropping MP3s and joining multiple MP3s into one file. Despite its quirks it is still the fastest and most straight forward method of doing this. Fission has some good features because it is more visual and handles other audio formats, but MP3 Trimmer seems less sluggish and certainly less confusing. You can never be sure where a drag and drop ends up in Fission and once it is in there is no clue as to the original file. A few draw backs. The Joiner scrambles the file order when dragged from List view, you need to drag from column view. Reordering within join is clumsy. The joiner also hides the file name whilst joining and needs to be closed and reopened for every join. There is really no way to batch process. files.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Xypher
22 October 2007
Seriously underrated app. There's nothing else like it for the Mac. I've managed to rescue many garbled MP3 downloads using the repair options. Fantastic!
Like
Version 2.7.5
Jakefh
10 March 2006
I love this program. It's perfect for cutting tracks as ringtones.
Like
Version 2.6
Khanh
26 February 2006
Trimmer 2.6 is another step up for this great app. I used it to edit my streaming radio recordings. It is a good fit in ease-of-use, interface design, and a perfect companion to my 4GB nano.
Like
Version 2.6
Corpsecorps
14 December 2005
I Like It! Does it's thing nicely, though i've found more use for it's joining capability than trimming.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Anonymous
19 November 2005
This is an excellent pro-looking and neat application, it does what's supposed to do and a little more, plus being pretty fast.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Anonymous
16 July 2005
This is a great app. A a registered user it has saved me, literally, hundreds of dollars because it has enabled me to trim the mp3 files that I have converted from the 70 or 80 cassettes that I own, as opposed to repurchasing them in CD format. Coupled with QuickVoice (to convert the cassettes to mp3 format), you have an unbeatable combination.
Like
Version 2.5
Goncalo Proenca
21 June 2005
I wanted to cut and trim some MP3 to use as sounds for my cell phone ( Sony Ericsson P910i ) . this program is wonderfull, it works like a charm, and its cheap !
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
25 April 2005
Very easy to use and full featured. And affordable!
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
12 April 2005
I miss a graphical waveform with editing functions displaying the mp3 file. Nice app though!
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
04 February 2005
really nice, simple and usefull tool... i buy it!
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
20 January 2005
Good application and a developer who listens to customer feedback. Some of my suggestions have been implemented in this latest version... :) Thanks, deepNiner!
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
06 November 2004
Overall, a very useful program. It has a simple, straightforward interface and it's a program that does what it says, namely, trim MP3's. I needed to edit and trim some files and this little jewel is well worth the price. It's a good little utility to have in one's 'toolbox'.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
03 November 2004
A great program, and I was looking forward to upgrading to v2.1, but does anyone know what has happened to "deepNiner.net"? The web site has disappeared since v2.1 was announced.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 January 2005
The url: http://www.deepniner.net/mp3trimmer/ is working (Jan 2005, probably earlier as well). The developer notes in his site info that he had an ISP change - perhaps that took place while you were checking.
Like
Version 2.3
fattyboomboom
31 October 2004
Great programme, all I wanted was something to split a large mp3 file up into smaller ones of different sizes. Mp3 Trimmer has all the features you need, and it's relatively easy to use. GOod stuff.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
21 September 2004
Trimmer 2.0 has jump to another level. Better interface, enhanced tools, and integrated help. One of the cool app residing on the Mac for sure. Now I can truly enjoy my music. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
16 September 2004
I don't know about this version, but version 1.5.6 results in a surefire system bomb on a G3 beige, OS 9.2.2. I also agree with the wave view option. That makes it a lot easier to spot the gaps in multiple tracks.
Like
Version 1.5.5
B
08 April 2004
This is a great little program. Coupled with nfinity's QuickVoice you can convert cassettes or records to mp3's, saving money on replacing them with CD's.
Like
Version 1.1.3
Anonymous
02 April 2004
Like some other users I find that Audcity (which is free) is better. The encoding for a average song (3-5 minutes) takes about one minute. I can spare two minutes, exspecially when Audacity does so much more and for free. Not to mention it supports the open source community.
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2005
Never mind the "Anonymous Communist", Felix... :) That guy has missed the point anyway, if he is RE-ENCODING his mp3 with Audacity...
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
17 December 2003
What does this do that QT Pro doesn't with all Mac compatible audio formats (and then some)?
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
17 December 2003
I've tried this out on a couple of files and it is definitely worth the $5. I've used the free Audacity editor and while that works very well and it provides a visual waveform, I've found that MP3 Trimmer is simpler and works faster. Audacity requires to to first import the MP3, make your edits and THEN export the files, wasting valuable minutes. It would be nice in future versions to provide a visual waveform to make it even easier to trim files, but as it is now it is a fine program.
Like
Version 1.1.1r2
Anonymous
05 December 2003
I registered MP3 Trimmer at version 1.1, after trying version 1.0 for a while. I have found it stable and very useful. (I had several requests, but developer implemented most before I could email. ;) I am very satisfied, and at $5, it is a good value, and is not going to break your bank. v1.1.1 is again an improvement on 1.1.0
Like
Version 1.1.1r2