Back to Time Out page
Time Out free download for Mac

Time Out Reviews

2.6.1
04 September 2019

Break reminder tool with micro-breaks.

Dorkypants
24 February 2011

Most helpful

This would REALLY be much better as a Pref Pane!!! I've inadvertently quit the app lots of times by hitting cmd-Q when another app appeared to be in the foreground but it was really Time Out that was frontmost (I'm looking at what window is "on top" on the screen, not what app name is next to the Apple icon in the menubar).
Like (3)
Version 1.5.7

Read 69 Time Out User Reviews

Rate this app:

barryed
13 October 2019
Excellent, highly recommended. A free app worth supporting, which is entirely optional. Just today [Sunday) had a nice email correspondence with the developer, during which he diagnosed and solved an issue I had; even said he’ll add it to the FAQ. (I’m trying to remember the last time I had that degree of support from Apple, or Adobe, or Intuit
Like
Version 2.6.1
ocanada73
02 October 2019
This app does Exactly what I want it to do, exactly how I want it to do it. I can choose the frequency and duration of my 'stand up and move' times, I can postpone a session if I'm in the middle of something, I can skip a session if I need to. I can tell it which sites I don't want interrupted at all. How perfect is that!
Like
Version 2.6.1
kyrsquir
15 December 2018
A very well-made and customizable app. Interesting and flexible payment model.
Like
Version 2.5
henry-korman
13 December 2018
Does exactly what I want. The screen dimming feature is perfect—and the duration is adjustable. And it's easy to use.
Like
Version 2.5
goldarthur1
25 April 2018
Great app for development using pomodoro technique. It force you to get up and walk or do some eye gymnastic.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
Jimw
19 February 2018
The majority of desired features are subscription base, requiring a monthly or yearly payment. That eliminates it as a consideration for me.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
kristoffer-risanger
kristoffer-risanger
21 November 2018
That's inaccurate. It has a unusual payment model (no wonder you were confused) where you pay for a set amount of time where you get access to all previous and new features. It's not a subscription at all. If you for example become a "2 month supporter" for $2.99 you get the full app with all features currently and the next two months, forever. $2.99 is basically the price of the full app. However, if they release a new feature in 3 months you won't get access to that feature unless you support it again. If you support it for 12 months you get the full app + all features released in the next 12 months forever.

Basically the app is extremely cheap unless you decide to support its development.
Like (2)
cons-brian-henry1
23 November 2017
Great app - flexible, more functionality than I thought I needed. I find this makes a big difference b/w a day ending in an eye strain headache and a good day. Doesn't get in the way, if you need to skip a break (keyboard shortcut or mouse click on a button). Support is responsive and super-helpful, if you should need it. I have this on multiple machines and will install on any future ones. Quality software.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
vermeer-grange
09 November 2017
Best pomodoro app for mac IMHO. I've been using it for years already.
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Stuckfly
15 September 2017
Excellent software design, full of features yet simple to use and well documented. Does what it says for free with no ads or nags, but the extras are worth the unique in-app purchase options (innovative "subscription" method on that). Instantly one of my favorite Mac menubar apps!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
susant-macaddict
28 May 2017
Lots of Flexibility to customize breaks, great for pomodoro technique. Great customize options for break screen
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
100%MacSince1990
29 April 2017
Time Out is one of the most important applications on my computer. I have it set to remind me to stand up ever 20 min and take a 5 min break every hour. I just set it to fade out the screen 100% and display a message saying "Are you working on THE MOST IMPORTANT THING" for one second and then fade back in again. The developer replies fast, is open to suggestions, and is constantly adding features. The new Activity feature has the potential to show me how many hours I've used a particular app in a day. Can't recommend Time Out more highly.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
positivelyaligned
29 March 2017
It's incredibly important for your physical health to not stay in one position for too long. Implementing the micro breaks in this app every 10 minutes or so could literally be life-saving! The reminders are invaluable. I find the interface to be straightforward, and once it's set you just let it run. I love it.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Mr Roger
17 March 2017
Very good app! People often forget how little breaks can improve their productivity, so Time Out is a nice idea to remind them. I believe this is the necessary app for every person who works with a mac all day long. Once you try it, you will never regret.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
wickedsp1d3r
15 March 2017
Complicated and a bit messy experience. I'll pass.
Like
Version 2.2
jwritty
06 January 2017
Time Out has totally saved my bacon. I'm an old person working on a PhD dissertation, and it's all too easy for me to forget I have a body until it starts complaining. Time Out reminds me to refocus my eyes, stretch my limbs, twist my spine. When I don't do that, I have to stop working. What's more, any time I've sent in a question about the app, I've gotten an immediate, personal, and helpful response. I can't recommend this app highly enough.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
macupdate-439
02 November 2016
An indispensable tool to keep me acting in my own best interest. Flexible enough to fine-tune to the type of reminders I'll best tolerate. Every time I've turned it off (to record a podcast, or what have you) and forgotten to turn it back on, my wrists and eyes remind me why it matters; computing doesn't hurt when I use Time Out.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Citizenvern
21 October 2016
Well thought out app that helps me take breaks when I need to. I usually get annoyed, but... that's when you know you have a problem. :)
Like (1)
Version 2.1
acss21acss
09 July 2016
It is really great for improve the health of using computer!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
laukur
12 May 2016
My clipboard stopped working from time to time after installing this. A restart fixed the issue. A bug report is here http://openradar.appspot.com/25691051 . I would give it 4-5 stars if it wasn't for this bug.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Dejal
Dejal
12 May 2016
As mentioned via email, this is an OS bug that Apple says has no workaround, that affects many apps. Time Out seems to trigger it more than some others mainly because it remains running long-term. I'd be keen to find a way to work around this issue.
Like
franceska
27 April 2016
wonderful app if you work a lot at the computer!!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
krat96
20 April 2016
I rely on break reminder apps to periodically remind me to take a break from computer helping me prevent RSI. I used many different apps to serve this role for as long as I remember, each had its own sets of strengths and weaknesses. Among others was Time Out which I found almost perfect but lacking what I see as core feature for this type of apps - menubar mode. The original version felt neglected for years, so was excited to hear about this update. And I must say, it delivered on all fronts. Not only it brought menubar mode, but also polished the UI as well as many other improvements - too big to list here, and they're conveniently available as part of release notes on developer website anyway... One thing to consider is pricing: v1 was free to use. v2 remains free and you get fully functional break reminder with that. However many of its new features require in-app purchase to unlock. The in-app purchase is subscription based and remains valid for the selected period. However, unlocked features remain available permanently - even after subscription expires. I'm mentioning this here because it wasn't clear to me prior purchasing (the text is not very obvious so it's possible I missed it at the time, also not sure if all purchases unlock the features permanently). You can evaluate all paid-for features before purchasing too, for 1 hour at a time. After that hour, the app returns to the basic free feature set (you can manually switch them back on for another hour, as far as I can tell you can repeat this indefinitely - I think that's nice compromise; these kind of apps require some time to evaluate). All the features that require subscription are clearly marked too, so you should have no trouble evaluating whether you need to purchase or not. With that in mind, I find the price more than fair and would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone. It's obvious a lot of thought and love went into making it and it shows throughout!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
nsurrry
17 April 2016
nice app, I use it every day.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
sitecr2-2
07 April 2016
Needed something to remind to worry about myself, eyes and take breaks from using the computer as I do all day. Great reminder and has helped reduce eyestrain. Free is always good if it works well
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
ATusler
05 April 2016
Time Out has become invaluable for me. It's the key part of my strategy to not hurt myself while being at the computer all day. Great program!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
grechonline
03 April 2016
Look at the 5-star ratings, the download count, and the positive reviews. Yes, the product is clean, useful, and above all, diligently maintained by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
Diarbyrag
25 March 2016
I discovered Time Out several years ago and this latest version is excellent. The temptation of computers when you are busy is to stay glued to the screen, which is why so many people complain of eyestrain and tiredness. This app does just what you need to avoid those things and my eyes definitely felt less tired after using it on a recent project. Although it is free a lot of time and effort goes into maintaining this app to work with system changes. The small amount the dev asks is worth every penny compared to optician fees, plus the extras you get to keep are very useful. I did contact the dev to ask a question and received a really fast and polite reply. FYI. I do not know the developer but I like the way he took time to answer my question. The Mac community has gained strength because of caring third party developers and sites like MacUpdate. Honest, unbiased opinions from Macupdate members & visitors have helped me buy some of the most useful addons to my Mac and made my life easier, all Mac users should support them.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.2
Zjaaspoer
23 March 2016
Does exactly what it should do, with enough options to keep everybody happy.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
emechip
22 March 2016
Extend your life -- really! This app makes it so much easier to be a healthy human being and not a time bomb glued to chair and screen.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
nick-glab
21 March 2016
This is an essential app for anyone who spends lots of time at the computer. Every 5 minutes, I have it custom set to remind me to take a deep breath and be mindful. The options to customize this app are incredible! Customer service is also very quick to respond and help with support. Look no further...this is the best app out there to help bring some calm into your digital life!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
fcubitt
19 March 2016
Essential
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
tvdb
17 March 2016
A great app, I'd mostly like the possibility to continue typing when the break starts. With this you can finish your thinking and know it's time to break for a while.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Max108
08 March 2016
This is a great app - I'm one of those people who looks up from my Mac and is surprised to see that it's dark outside, many hours having passed since I last thought about my body, let alone the outside world!

So I am very fond of the original Time Out app gently nudging me to stop for a minute or 10, providing the space to wonder if there's something more important I should be doing, perhaps eat something, or just stand up and stretch to refresh my mind.

I made a couple of enhancement requests to David (the developer of Time Out) and I'm delighted to see that they are all present in Time Out 2.0 and quite a lot more besides. I like to tweak the apps on my Mac so they look and behave exactly as I want them, so I really appreciate Time Out 2.0's many customisation options.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Anotherdesign
04 March 2016
Is this a subscription app as the email I have received shows " Purchase now - 12mo for $5.99 ?
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Dejal
Dejal
04 March 2016
Actually, no, it is not a subscription. You don't have to pay more than once if you don't want to. If you become a supporter, you don't need to pay again unless you want to show your appreciation (kinda like a tip jar). After your supporter status expires, all of the advanced features that you had when you were a supporter will remain available permanently.

Of course, I hope that most people choose to renew their support in the future, but there's no need if you don't think it's worth it.
Like (2)
AshBP
03 December 2015
Great app! Kind of surprised that it still functions fine on Mavericks. Love that it dims the screen and lets you snooze the break. Great for ADHD'rs like me. It's always helpful for my hyperfocus (on non-work stuff) to get up - gets me back on track. Hmm, is the author thinking about updating it?
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
AshBP
AshBP
03 December 2015
Adding to my review... Just checked author's site, and he's now working on 2.0., awesome! If you donate now (for however much you think the app is worth), the update will be free. Awesome. Ha, Time Out just popped up... hit the 5 min snooze ;-). I hope the author has a pref setting for people like me who keep hitting the snooze, oops!
Like
ralfhum
17 June 2015
exccellent app. essential really. i first used it a few years back and was too impatient with it. now i take the breaks and it actually IMPROVES my work and attitude. its called "letting go"! it breaks the work/internet trance, where i get hypnotised. at the same time if i have a deadline i can just skip the break or defer it.... highly recommended.... especially for workaholics and internetaholics... who might initially hate it like i did. someone here suggested "start small" and that is wise! thanks to Dejal.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
toinekamps
05 December 2014
Great tool to protect your eyes from screen work.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
tacierno-jr
29 August 2014
Time Out is a necessity for anyone spending their days in front of a computer. I use Time Out to follow the 20/20/20 rule: every 20 minutes, look at something 20 feet away for 20 seconds. The trick is to start very small because the "interruptions" will seem jarring. Build the habit slowly by setting a 5 second break every hour. Over time, make the breaks more frequent and longer. Your eyes, body, and mind will thank you for it. BONUS TIP: Set the background to fully opaque or else you will keep typing. The point is to fully pause, breathe, and give yourself a break.
Like (1)
Version 1.7.1
Islandmike
03 December 2013
Nothing not to like -- you have two timeouts which you can change for duration, change color (helps me know which is which) and if you happen to need to override it is simple -- or you can postpone it. You can control the pre and exit times as well. I downloaded and thought I'd not like it but find it is very helpful to break up work sessions and remember to flex the eyes (with the short breaks) or get up and walk and get away from desk (with the longer breaks). Well worth a donation in my opinion!
Like
Version 1.7.1
CameronRoss9201
24 November 2013
Great app. Everything I want and nothing extraneous. I tried another product but Time Out's Micro and Normal breaks sold me. My optometrist said we should all take a 20 second break from the computer monitor every 20 minutes and Time Out lets me put that in as a Micro break. Then I use my Normal break to get up and move around. The only feature I'd like to see is keyboard shortcuts to Postpone a break.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Jwex
09 August 2013
This is a very useful little app. It reminds you that a work break is due, but it allows you to postpone or skip a scheduled break ea-ily. It is a good app, and when it gets the improvements promised in version 2, should rate a full 5 stars.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Godfatha
31 March 2013
Great app. I just donated to help keep up with development. I've been testing Time Out for a week or so and am very happy with the much needed reminders to take breaks. I like that it has setting for frequent short breaks for things like looking away from your screen or stretching, and then longer less frequent breaks like taking a walk or lunch break. You can set the time between breaks to however you prefer and you can choose to ignore the reminders at any time.
Like
Version 1.7.1
cemil-alyanak
15 January 2013
Sitting too long is NOT GOOD for you. Timeout IS GOOD for you. Looking forward to V2.
Like
Version 1.7.1
citizenearth
30 December 2012
Function-wise, Time Out is very good, and free too. The only annoying part is the big icon which comes out when the scheduled break is activated. Besides that, the icon cannot be changed! Not many people like the 'a person in meditation pose' picture. Hope Time Out will be improved in this aspect in near future.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Fking
26 November 2012
i downloaded this new version, wanted to see what "transparent' looked like; i expected it to at least show the icon, and/or the postpone or skip buttons. instead, NOTHING showed, but i was in a 10-minute break. tried to force-quit. i could bring up that window, but could not force-quit the app. force quit NEEDS to work!
Like
Version 1.7.1
Garlicbreath
19 July 2012
Only 10.7 & up now : - (
Like (1)
Version 1.7b2
1 answer(s)
MetalNarwhal
MetalNarwhal
07 January 2013
You can go to the developer's site and download an older version.
Like (1)
Aydin-Habibi
13 May 2012
I have found TimeOut useful between many others which meant for this task. Customization is easy and you can work around with your timings. There are couple of features such as adding custom workout, keeping track of active session and others which developer said is in process and will be available in version 2.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
astechman
24 April 2012
I have used 'Time-Out' for years now and I appreciate everything about it: easy to set up to your own preferences; can skip the scheduled break if you are 'into' something and does what it is supposed to do, i.e., get you to take a break! Great support and the developer is responsive to suggestions and recommendations. Hi "Fives" across the board!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.5
Nikihayami
24 January 2012
I'm very happy with Time out since the first day! The paradox and value of TO not only in saving your eyes, but also in increasing self-discipline factor. Thanks to micro time out option. Now i can feel how the time flies and don't let myself be distracted at work. Highly recommend!
Like (1)
Version 1.6.3
kpublik
05 December 2011
Nice app and shouldn't complain when it's free, but there are a couple of minor annoyances. First, I agree with others that have posted here about making the app faceless or, preferably, have a menu icon so that it doesn't take up dock space. One thing that bothers me is that there is absolutely no indication, nor way of determining, how close you are to your next break. Similar apps use different techniques to do this in a subtle and unobtrusive way.
Like
Version 1.6.3
1 answer(s)
Dejal
Dejal
21 February 2012
Time Out 2 will work without having to be in the Dock, and will also have a system menu with an indication of when the next break is due.
Like
Uncoy
24 April 2011
Where is the other Dejal software? Simon 3 for instance is junk. I'd like to review it for the piece of trash it is.
Like
Version 1.5.7