Back to QCad page
QCad free download for Mac

QCad Reviews3.25.2

07 September 2020

Easy-to-use 2D CAD app.

4
Saratxe
29 July 2019
Version: 3.23.0

Most helpful

I looked for a cheap 2D-CAD solution for my private use. First tried LibreCAD and it was okay, so I used it for some time. But performance was not so good as I wish. So I looked again and found QCAD. Performance is much better and afaik it use the same codebase as LibreCAD, or better said, LibreCAD use the same codebase as QCAD. But QCAD has been much more often updated as LibreCAD. So I stay with QCAD. Why only four stars? At the moment I don't want to pay for the pro version. So I've to remove some plugins manually from the App, otherwise it stop working after 15 minutes. So, please make a download file that contains only the community edition, too.
(1)

How would you rate QCad app?

Read 18 QCad User Reviews

5
rnosek
17 April 2020
Version: 3.24.3
It's a great CAD-option for mac users. Easy to learn, intuitive and stable. Works just fine. I would recommend it to everyone who needs 2D cad. I am really happy with it.
(0)
4
Saratxe
29 July 2019
Version: 3.23.0
I looked for a cheap 2D-CAD solution for my private use. First tried LibreCAD and it was okay, so I used it for some time. But performance was not so good as I wish. So I looked again and found QCAD. Performance is much better and afaik it use the same codebase as LibreCAD, or better said, LibreCAD use the same codebase as QCAD. But QCAD has been much more often updated as LibreCAD. So I stay with QCAD. Why only four stars? At the moment I don't want to pay for the pro version. So I've to remove some plugins manually from the App, otherwise it stop working after 15 minutes. So, please make a download file that contains only the community edition, too.
(1)
SickTeddyBear
21 June 2013
Version: 3.1.2
Note: The main download is NOT a demo, but rather, the free, community edition: Base Program = QCad Community Edition = Free Base Program + Proprietary Add-ons = QCad Pro = Paid The differences are outlined here: http://qcad.org/en/qcad-documentation/qcad-features
(0)
Show comment (1)
Amergin
18 April 2007
Version: 2.1.3
Powercadd costs $995!!!!! Surely some developer can use Claris Cad as a model for a simple but inexpensive Mac app.
(2)
4
Vitor-Br-01
15 January 2007
Version: 2.1.0.1
It is a very good software. Its free and works very well, when u get the sources and recompiles or get a dmg files with someone, because its is a GPL software.
(0)
1.25
M-Rick
16 April 2006
Version: 2.1rc1
If it was free i wouldn't say nothing, but as a shareware, it doesn't worth the money at all, and quite a lot of softwares can do better than this for almost the same price. as said in a previous comment, Cadintosh does really better for exactly the same price, there is also Doodle Cad that is completely better than this piece of soft unstable and unusable ...
(0)
1
Anonymous
22 February 2005
Version: 2.0.4.7-1
I just tried it. Poor! Poor! Poor! The only simple AND easy to use CAD software was Claris CAD (running under Classic). It had an inuitive menu (not that funny PC-like stuff in QCad), and all you needed for simple 2D tasks. There is no port to OSX up to day. That makes me very sad, I would pay money for it!!!!!! But not any cent for QCad.
(0)
Show comment (1)
Anonymous
06 January 2005
Version: 2.0.4.0-1
An appallingly incoherent instruction manual; where it is not explained what actions one has to do on the keyboard to have what effects. Inconsistent in reactions. Keep away.
(0)
1.5
Anonymous
14 June 2004
Version: 2.0.3.3-1
shareware, LOL.
(0)
Anonymous
03 March 2004
Version: 2.0.2.0-1
why can no one come up with a decent mechanical CAD package for the mac? Vectorworks is mostly for architectural work, I know there is a mechanical part for it yet it's not that good. Autodesk needs to get in gear to be the first to come over to OS X so that us mac users can throw away the pc's at school and work.
(0)
Show comment (1)
2.75
Enrico
28 October 2003
Version: 2.0.1.1.1
A very poor software, especially if compared with Cadintosh, and also with QCad 1, which was freeware. Caditosh has less problems than QCad 2 to open a file made with QCad 1. QCad 1 was OK as a basic drafting software, QCad 2 is an expensive and poor alternative to Cadintosh
(0)
1.75
Anonymous
09 October 2003
Version: 2.0.10.1
Typical Linux code, tons of ways to "optimize" in order to get the 0.00001% improvement in performance, but as a result works like sh*t right out of the box. (Still like linux) thinks its interface is better than anyone elses so it is all different. (Also like linux) having the ablity to adjust every little parameter is more importiant than stability. Just software for geeks, as opposed to someone who has work to get done
(0)
1.75
Anonymous
08 October 2003
Version: 2.0.0.10
I could get by the confusing interface, but it never opened a dxf file completely and crashed a few times.- Using 1gz emac 384ram- 10.2
(0)
Anonymous
02 October 2003
Version: 2.0.0.8
It's not there iet still hangs on startup
(0)
Andrew Mustun
02 October 2003
Version: 2.0.0.8
Please try 2.0.0.8. Version 2.0.0.5 had a hang on startup because it searched to many directory trees for part libraries. It worked when starting from the console.
(0)
Anonymous
01 October 2003
Version: 2.0.0.5
Don't waist your time on this new version. It's not working. I tried to install on 2 DP macs with no lock. Version 1.5.2 is working just fine.
(0)
4.75
Anonymous
21 July 2003
Version: 1.5.4
Amazing and it is free. Great job, thanks.
(0)
4.75
Anonymous
11 July 2003
Version: 1.5.4
I used this application for quite some time on Linux. Now it is finally available for my beloved Mac! Great work. The Mac version works outstanding.
(0)