Back to QCad page
QCad free download for Mac

QCad Reviews

3.23.0
19 July 2019

Easy-to-use 2D CAD app.

Amergin
18 April 2007

Most helpful

Powercadd costs $995!!!!! Surely some developer can use Claris Cad as a model for a simple but inexpensive Mac app.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3

Read 17 QCad User Reviews

Rate this app:

Saratxe
29 July 2019
I looked for a cheap 2D-CAD solution for my private use. First tried LibreCAD and it was okay, so I used it for some time. But performance was not so good as I wish. So I looked again and found QCAD. Performance is much better and afaik it use the same codebase as LibreCAD, or better said, LibreCAD use the same codebase as QCAD. But QCAD has been much more often updated as LibreCAD. So I stay with QCAD. Why only four stars? At the moment I don't want to pay for the pro version. So I've to remove some plugins manually from the App, otherwise it stop working after 15 minutes. So, please make a download file that contains only the community edition, too.
Like
Version 3.23.0
SickTeddyBear
21 June 2013
Note: The main download is NOT a demo, but rather, the free, community edition: Base Program = QCad Community Edition = Free Base Program + Proprietary Add-ons = QCad Pro = Paid The differences are outlined here: http://qcad.org/en/qcad-documentation/qcad-features
Like
Version 3.1.2
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
07 August 2013
To clarify further, from the application's download page (http://www.ribbonsoft.com/en/qcad-downloads-trial): "The packages are bundled with free trial versions of the Pro add-on and the CAM add-on. The trial versions of these add-ons are not intended for production use but give you a chance to try before you buy. The Pro and CAM add-ons terminate after 15 minutes. To continue to try these add-ons, you need to restart QCAD after this. To uninstall a trial add-on, click on the button with an 'X' beside the add-on in the 'Trial' window. To use the QCAD community edition without any proprietary add-ons, simply uninstall all trial add-ons."
Like
Amergin
18 April 2007
Powercadd costs $995!!!!! Surely some developer can use Claris Cad as a model for a simple but inexpensive Mac app.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.3
Vitor-Br-01
15 January 2007
It is a very good software. Its free and works very well, when u get the sources and recompiles or get a dmg files with someone, because its is a GPL software.
Like
Version 2.1.0.1
M-Rick
16 April 2006
If it was free i wouldn't say nothing, but as a shareware, it doesn't worth the money at all, and quite a lot of softwares can do better than this for almost the same price. as said in a previous comment, Cadintosh does really better for exactly the same price, there is also Doodle Cad that is completely better than this piece of soft unstable and unusable ...
Like
Version 2.1rc1
Anonymous
22 February 2005
I just tried it. Poor! Poor! Poor! The only simple AND easy to use CAD software was Claris CAD (running under Classic). It had an inuitive menu (not that funny PC-like stuff in QCad), and all you needed for simple 2D tasks. There is no port to OSX up to day. That makes me very sad, I would pay money for it!!!!!! But not any cent for QCad.
Like
Version 2.0.4.7-1
1 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
16 April 2006
Try PowerCadd http://www.engsw.com/
Like
Version 2.1rc1
Anonymous
06 January 2005
An appallingly incoherent instruction manual; where it is not explained what actions one has to do on the keyboard to have what effects. Inconsistent in reactions. Keep away.
Like
Version 2.0.4.0-1
Anonymous
14 June 2004
shareware, LOL.
Like
Version 2.0.3.3-1
Anonymous
03 March 2004
why can no one come up with a decent mechanical CAD package for the mac? Vectorworks is mostly for architectural work, I know there is a mechanical part for it yet it's not that good. Autodesk needs to get in gear to be the first to come over to OS X so that us mac users can throw away the pc's at school and work.
Like
Version 2.0.2.0-1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 November 2005
2D Heaven: www.engsw.com
Like
Version 2.1rc1
Enrico
28 October 2003
A very poor software, especially if compared with Cadintosh, and also with QCad 1, which was freeware. Caditosh has less problems than QCad 2 to open a file made with QCad 1. QCad 1 was OK as a basic drafting software, QCad 2 is an expensive and poor alternative to Cadintosh
Like
Version 2.0.1.1.1
Anonymous
09 October 2003
Typical Linux code, tons of ways to "optimize" in order to get the 0.00001% improvement in performance, but as a result works like sh*t right out of the box. (Still like linux) thinks its interface is better than anyone elses so it is all different. (Also like linux) having the ablity to adjust every little parameter is more importiant than stability. Just software for geeks, as opposed to someone who has work to get done
Like
Version 2.0.10.1
Anonymous
08 October 2003
I could get by the confusing interface, but it never opened a dxf file completely and crashed a few times.- Using 1gz emac 384ram- 10.2
Like
Version 2.0.0.10
Anonymous
02 October 2003
It's not there iet still hangs on startup
Like
Version 2.0.0.8
Andrew Mustun
02 October 2003
Please try 2.0.0.8. Version 2.0.0.5 had a hang on startup because it searched to many directory trees for part libraries. It worked when starting from the console.
Like
Version 2.0.0.8
Anonymous
01 October 2003
Don't waist your time on this new version. It's not working. I tried to install on 2 DP macs with no lock. Version 1.5.2 is working just fine.
Like
Version 2.0.0.5
Anonymous
21 July 2003
Amazing and it is free. Great job, thanks.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Anonymous
11 July 2003
I used this application for quite some time on Linux. Now it is finally available for my beloved Mac! Great work. The Mac version works outstanding.
Like
Version 1.5.4