Back to QCad page
QCad free download for Mac

QCad Reviews

09 March 2021

Easy-to-use 2D CAD app.

How would you rate QCad?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
rnosek
rnosek
Apr 17 2020
3.24.3
5.0
Apr 17 2020
5.0
Version: 3.24.3
It's a great CAD-option for mac users. Easy to learn, intuitive and stable. Works just fine. I would recommend it to everyone who needs 2D cad. I am really happy with it.
Saratxe
Saratxe
Jul 29 2019
3.23.0
4.0
Jul 29 2019
4.0
Version: 3.23.0
I looked for a cheap 2D-CAD solution for my private use. First tried LibreCAD and it was okay, so I used it for some time. But performance was not so good as I wish. So I looked again and found QCAD. Performance is much better and afaik it use the same codebase as LibreCAD, or better said, LibreCAD use the same codebase as QCAD. But QCAD has been much more often updated as LibreCAD. So I stay with QCAD. Why only four stars? At the moment I don't want to pay for the pro version. So I've to remove some plugins manually from the App, otherwise it stop working after 15 minutes. So, please make a download file that contains only the community edition, too.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Jun 21 2013
3.1.2
0.0
Jun 21 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.2
Note: The main download is NOT a demo, but rather, the free, community edition: Base Program = QCad Community Edition = Free Base Program + Proprietary Add-ons = QCad Pro = Paid The differences are outlined here: http://qcad.org/en/qcad-documentation/qcad-features
Amergin
Amergin
Apr 18 2007
2.1.3
0.0
Apr 18 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.3
Powercadd costs $995!!!!! Surely some developer can use Claris Cad as a model for a simple but inexpensive Mac app.
Vitor-Br-01
Vitor-Br-01
Jan 15 2007
2.1.0.1
4.0
Jan 15 2007
4.0
Version: 2.1.0.1
It is a very good software. Its free and works very well, when u get the sources and recompiles or get a dmg files with someone, because its is a GPL software.
Vitor-Br-01
Vitor-Br-01
Jan 15 2007
2.1.0.1
4.0
Jan 15 2007
4.0
Version: 2.1.0.1
This is a GPL software. So it is free! Is't only demo. If u go to QCAD home page u can get the source and u can recompile and then u can use without any restrintions. I use this in my computer and its is so good software. Like a AutoCAD. Download the sources and recompile them.
M-Rick
M-Rick
Apr 16 2006
2.1rc1
0.5
Apr 16 2006
0.5
Version: 2.1rc1
If it was free i wouldn't say nothing, but as a shareware, it doesn't worth the money at all, and quite a lot of softwares can do better than this for almost the same price. as said in a previous comment, Cadintosh does really better for exactly the same price, there is also Doodle Cad that is completely better than this piece of soft unstable and unusable ...
Guest
Guest
Feb 22 2005
2.0.4.7-1
1.0
Feb 22 2005
1.0
Version: 2.0.4.7-1
I just tried it. Poor! Poor! Poor! The only simple AND easy to use CAD software was Claris CAD (running under Classic). It had an inuitive menu (not that funny PC-like stuff in QCad), and all you needed for simple 2D tasks. There is no port to OSX up to day. That makes me very sad, I would pay money for it!!!!!! But not any cent for QCad.
Guest
Guest
Jan 6 2005
2.0.4.0-1
1.0
Jan 6 2005
1.0
Version: 2.0.4.0-1
An appallingly incoherent instruction manual; where it is not explained what actions one has to do on the keyboard to have what effects. Inconsistent in reactions. Keep away.
Guest
Guest
Jun 14 2004
2.0.3.3-1
1.0
Jun 14 2004
1.0
Version: 2.0.3.3-1
shareware, LOL.
Guest
Guest
Mar 3 2004
2.0.2.0-1
1.0
Mar 3 2004
1.0
Version: 2.0.2.0-1
why can no one come up with a decent mechanical CAD package for the mac? Vectorworks is mostly for architectural work, I know there is a mechanical part for it yet it's not that good. Autodesk needs to get in gear to be the first to come over to OS X so that us mac users can throw away the pc's at school and work.
Enrico
Enrico
Oct 28 2003
2.0.1.1.1
2.8
Oct 28 2003
2.8
Version: 2.0.1.1.1
A very poor software, especially if compared with Cadintosh, and also with QCad 1, which was freeware. Caditosh has less problems than QCad 2 to open a file made with QCad 1. QCad 1 was OK as a basic drafting software, QCad 2 is an expensive and poor alternative to Cadintosh
Guest
Guest
Oct 9 2003
2.0.10.1
1.0
Oct 9 2003
1.0
Version: 2.0.10.1
Typical Linux code, tons of ways to "optimize" in order to get the 0.00001% improvement in performance, but as a result works like sh*t right out of the box. (Still like linux) thinks its interface is better than anyone elses so it is all different. (Also like linux) having the ablity to adjust every little parameter is more importiant than stability. Just software for geeks, as opposed to someone who has work to get done
Guest
Guest
Oct 8 2003
2.0.0.10
1.0
Oct 8 2003
1.0
Version: 2.0.0.10
I could get by the confusing interface, but it never opened a dxf file completely and crashed a few times.- Using 1gz emac 384ram- 10.2
Guest
Guest
Oct 2 2003
2.0.0.8
1.0
Oct 2 2003
1.0
Version: 2.0.0.8
It's not there iet still hangs on startup
Guest
Guest
Oct 2 2003
2.0.0.8
0.0
Oct 2 2003
0.0
Version: 2.0.0.8
Please try 2.0.0.8. Version 2.0.0.5 had a hang on startup because it searched to many directory trees for part libraries. It worked when starting from the console.
Guest
Guest
Oct 1 2003
2.0.0.5
1.0
Oct 1 2003
1.0
Version: 2.0.0.5
Don't waist your time on this new version. It's not working. I tried to install on 2 DP macs with no lock. Version 1.5.2 is working just fine.
Guest
Guest
Jul 21 2003
1.5.4
1.0
Jul 21 2003
1.0
Version: 1.5.4
Amazing and it is free. Great job, thanks.
Guest
Guest
Jul 11 2003
1.5.4
1.0
Jul 11 2003
1.0
Version: 1.5.4
I used this application for quite some time on Linux. Now it is finally available for my beloved Mac! Great work. The Mac version works outstanding.