Back to Pastor page
Pastor free download for Mac

Pastor Reviews

1.8.2
11 January 2011

Store all your passwords, and more.

Emet1
07 April 2011

Most helpful

Add my love to those before me. Being a dyed-in-the-wool Pastor user, I keep the file in my DropBox Folder so I can access it on all my Macs. Show of hands: Who would like an iOS version of Pastor for their iPad/Phone that would allow for DropBox linking? And I would pay for that.
Like (6)
Version 1.8.2

Read 67 Pastor User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dennisg
25 September 2019
This is a terrific app that I use daily. I'd give it 5 stars if the developer update it to fix the issue that requires the user to force-quit in order to quit the program. Otherwise, perfect.
Like
Version 1.8.2
Dennisg
15 September 2019
Just wondering, has anyone contacted the developer about the force-quit issue?
Like
Version 1.8.2
the-duke44
04 October 2017
I too have been using it for years and never had a problem with it. In my dock and use it every day. However on High Sierra 10.13 the app doesn't quit properly and you have to force quit it. Hope an update will be coming soon. Gtreat app.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
2 answer(s)
celr
celr
16 November 2018
Have the same problem...you're not alone.
Like
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
02 June 2019
Ditto. And when the next major macOS update removes 32-bit support, I'll have to look elsewhere.
Like
Moonraker
05 December 2012
I have been using Pastor for a number of years now and it has always proved reliable and easy to use. Happy to provide a donation for this great app.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
Jazzyguy
28 October 2012
I'm going to try it!I have been a 1Password user for years now but this looks like a great app and I think it is time to make a change. I'm a little tired of some of the problems in using 1Password.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.2
Emet1
07 April 2011
Add my love to those before me. Being a dyed-in-the-wool Pastor user, I keep the file in my DropBox Folder so I can access it on all my Macs. Show of hands: Who would like an iOS version of Pastor for their iPad/Phone that would allow for DropBox linking? And I would pay for that.
Like (6)
Version 1.8.2
Micg
04 January 2010
Pastor has made my life so much easier with it's simple UI and solid performance. It doesn't have the fancy, shmancy stuff like other PW utilities, but it's S-O-L-I-D, works well, and it's the best PW utility I could ever recommend to all Mac users. Get it, it just works! The Pastor Doc you create is portable, and I think that's incredibly useful if you use multiple Macs. Pastor gets my vote! :) -Mic
Like (4)
Version 1.8.1
sbchavel
19 October 2009
In SL Pastor files revert to txt default so that one must first launch Pastor then open the file. Get Info changes do not seem to stick. Does anyone have a way to keep Pastor files in their proper format?
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
Allanmao
15 September 2009
any one have an ideal how to save the password from Pastor? after I installed snow Leopard, i lost access to all my password.
Like
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
Allanmao
Allanmao
15 October 2009
thanks. it works!!
Like
Version 1.8.1
redfoxwebdesign
06 August 2008
Where is the search field in 1.8.1 ... !?
Like
Version 1.8.1
Thebrix
04 August 2008
Great application - in principle, what it does is duplicated by Secure Notes in Keychain or 1Password (should you own that), but it is perfectly tailored for entering registration details and nothing else. It also feels entirely Mac-like - unlike KeePassX, which is probably its nearest competitor. The randomised password generator is also worthwhile; speakable passwords, which have combinations of letters reflecting written English but are not English words, are particularly useful (and memorable, as it turns out). A couple of minor issues are that passwords are at maximum 255 characters long (one of my registered applications has a 536-character password, for some reason) and attachments are not supported - binary "passfiles", to coin a word, are occasionally used in lieu of ASCII passwords. But these are enhancements, not issues!
Like (1)
Version 1.8
Bumbleb
24 April 2008
Good to see this app being updated to a final version 1.8. Even though Pastor's encryption method isn't the most safe (RC4) it is okay for passwords and software serials. Thanks to the developer;-)
Like
Version 1.8
Alanthing
26 December 2007
I've been using Pastor for years to keep my passwords encrypted and easy to access. It's a great app- I've NEVER had a corrupted file or have the application crash or anything like that. It's just a great program!
Like (1)
Version 1.8b2
Applecrypt-Mods
07 December 2007
this has been a great app for me. I keep all passwords, receipts, etc in here. Thank you :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.7.5
G4ff3r
23 November 2007
Pastor uses RC4 = UNSAFE, easily crackable Keychain & 1Password uses TDES = virtually uncrackable (would need years and cost billions to do) Filevault & WPA2 uses AES = 100% not crackable Overall, 1Password is all you'll need imo. Once Keychain gets upgraded to FileVault standard AES, that's what 1password will start using, so I recommend that app instead. This (Pastor) on the other hand is INSECURE and easy to crack - steer well clear (it's been years since AES arrived, and the author is STILL puttering along using weak RC4, with no plans on his part to upgrade this app).......use at your own risk.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Bumbleb
28 August 2007
It has proved very stable for me over the past year or so, I've been using it. I'd like to see a search feature, and stronger encryption, but what I really like about Pastor is that is stores the passwords/serials in a file that I can move around, and store on a networked drive, and therefore open from any computer on my network, opposed to many of the other serial-storing apps that saves the data in the Application Support folder, or syncs via .Mac. Pastor's approach is much simpler, and for me, better. Thumbs up to the developer. Thanks for Pastor. It rocks!
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Mckryak
04 January 2007
it is impossible to keep non-ASCII text (This feature is actual for Name and Comment fields).
Like
Version 1.7.4
Hagoun
18 November 2006
The best "serial keeper" I've tried : very user-friendly interface, much clearer than Steel or some other apps free best icon !
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4b10
Neutralzone
04 May 2006
What's the advantage of using Pastor over Keychain Access which is built into OS X and integrates with the password requests made by other apps such as Safari? Any advantages other than the password generator? Nothing against Pastor; it's always good to have choices and I'm just wondering.
Like
Version 1.7.2
1 answer(s)
Emet1
Emet1
11 May 2006
I've tried to use Keychain but I found the program very intimidating. I still use Keychain to store web passwords, but I really like the simplicity of Pastor for everything else. It also simplifies the instructions I put in my "in case of emergency" information that I gave to my next of kin. All they need is the password to my computer and how to access Pastor.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Macenthusiast
04 May 2006
I should add that I would like to use this app (I like the simple, and easy-to-use interface) if the options for encryption strength were broadened.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Macenthusiast
04 May 2006
Why RC4-based encryption? That was broken quite a long while ago, and it doesn't make sense now that AES 128/256 are built into OS X.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Emb
05 April 2006
I have written to Markus about including a search field and he says it is planned for version 2. I am hoping it comes a little earlier :-), but it is nice to know it is in the works. Printing directly from Pastor would also be nice. I have exported to a text file then printed that. Of course, a paper copy is not secure.
Like
Version 1.7.1
redfoxwebdesign
05 April 2006
... and a print option too!
Like
Version 1.7.1
redfoxwebdesign
05 April 2006
Great app! Wishlist: a searchfield + scalable (width) sidebar.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
27 October 2005
dear fellow users of pastor. a easy as 1-2-3 solution to the problem of pastor losing its master... just make an apple script using the script editor. 1. select your pastor data file in the finder, click once 2. ctrl-click opens the context menu, selct "open with" command > select Pastor app 3. save script as application, unselect "startup dialog" and unselect "only executable" there you go.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
21 October 2005
I am very frustrated with Pastor. I put a rather large amount of data into it only to return later to find it had lost random entries throughout! From url's to missing passwords. Thank god I don't rely soley on it otherwise I'd sure be up sh*^s creek sans a paddle.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
09 October 2005
Bobster, I have the same problem. I've been using Pastor for a long time, but now with Tiger, it has become very annoying to use. Instead of the file opening with pastor, it opens with preview. I go and reset it to open with pastor, and it works for one time, then resets itself to preview.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
29 July 2005
this is a great little app, which i have been using throughout panther and tiger. the developer is providing a great support, answered my email troubleshooting question within minutes! thank you, markus mehlau, for this great app and great support. anyway, i have been experiencing problems from tiger 10.4. to 10.4.2. the pastor file of type pastor/text loses the connection to the pastor app all the time. it is always opened by default by apple's textedit. i have always to go directly to the file and change its master to pastor manually. the command "change all" does not work. is this a tiger bug? the pator comment says "recompiled for tiger". any help is appreciated.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Very good little app. Thnaks!
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
21 March 2005
Pastor vs. Keychain #1 Well, first with Pastor you can hide ALL of the data. If they don't have the password they can't see any information at all. With keychain they can see the name of the entry, the date you created/modified it, the 'kind' of entry etc...Unless you go to the trouble to obscure this information (then making it harder to look things up later), its not nearly as secure. #2 You also have to remember to lock they keychain every time you access it, leaving open the possibility of accidently NOT locking it. Where as Pastor will ask for a password EVERY time. Keychain is much better suited to program access control.
Like
Version 1.7b4
Anonymous
21 March 2005
I read through the reviews on here and went to the developer's site to try to find out why I would use this program in addition/instead of Keychain. I didn't find any real answer... A lot of people don't seem to know you can store any kind of password you want in Keychain, you can also create secure notes, sets, etc... Someone else also wrote that Keychain is not safe because the info is always stored in the same place and a potential hacker would know where to look... apparently not aware that you can save sets wherever you want. So, anyone out there that actually knows how to use Keychain but still uses Pastor and wouldn't mind explaining its advantages? Developer maybe? Thanks! :)
Like
Version 1.7b4
Anonymous
11 March 2005
why don't you click on the lock?
Like
Version 1.7b3
Anonymous
06 March 2005
Help!!! I can't write anything in the text field!
Like
Version 1.7b3
Anonymous
05 March 2005
must be some sort of bug that the app opens up at the top of the screen. I found if you go to quit it after you make a change it will ask if you want to save it and the full window will come down and alow you to move it around. The next time you open it, it should open whenever you left it.
Like
Version 1.7b3
Anonymous
05 March 2005
HATE the way the new version is stuck to the menu bar. Totally sucks for such a great program.
Like
Version 1.7b3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 March 2005
To fix this behavior: 1. make a small change in any of the entries 2. choose "Quit" under the Pastor menu 3. a dialog box will open, asking if you want to save the change, and the top bar of the application window will move down, allowing you to position it lower on your screen 4. Save and Quit. When you restart Pastor, the Toolbar will be below the Finder menubar
Like
Version 1.7b3
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Simple, Reliable, Stable and the only one you will need.***********THE BEST!!!
Like
Version 1.7b2
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Don't like the way new version is affixed to the menu bar and can't be moved around. Or is it just mine?
Like
Version 1.7b2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 February 2005
select "save as" and the window should snap back in position.
Like
Version 1.7b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 February 2005
I believe it is just yours.
Like
Version 1.7b2
Anonymous
29 January 2005
Pastor is small and great ... but I would love a search function!
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
23 January 2005
Fantastic app. I love freeware, and probably shouldn't be complaining. I use this program on a daily basis and I just have one small suggestion for the developer. I think it would be wonderful if, when the left-most column is selected (where all the names of the entries are found), you could start typing the name of the entry you wanted and it would select it for you, just like any pulldown menu in OS X. Just a thought. Thank you for the free program and keep up the good work. Cheers!
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
10 January 2005
For some odd reason, I can't use the program because I cannot input anything into the text fields. Something is obviously kinky, because though I cannot write anything into Pastor 1.6 or the new 1.7b versions, I can easily type this. Any clues?
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
10 December 2004
I think the dot-pointed passwords are a great idea! I think it's a great alternative to KeyChain...
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
01 December 2004
Before I download it, tell me how it is different to Keychain?
Like
Version 1.6
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 December 2004
beats KeyChain because you can actually find stuff ! If KeyChain had decent search / filtering tools I'd be happy to dump my ATM code, my cellphone PIN and other things in there so they where safe and easy to find. But... it takes longer to find them than I can cope with ! Pastor seems like a great way to get some control. Would be nice if Pastor could like to KeyChain so websites can find their password in either
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 December 2004
The author seems really reluctant to use the keychain, instead he's got his own separate database, so you can't use Pastor for your keychain passwords. *sigh*
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 January 2005
It would be nice if it used Keychain for the password to get into Pastor. I don't like having to enter the password everytime I start it up.
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 January 2005
And I LOVE having to enter the password. There are few things on my computer that are truly private, but the information I store in Pastor is worth keeping safe. Being able to assign my Pastor data a separate password is an important feature!
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
01 December 2004
1) Please, please change the name. At first glance I thought it was some kind of app for religious purposes. 2) As far as I can tell, the app has no preferences. What ya' see is all ya' get. 3) Simple, useful app. And since I'm jobless, it meets my affordability criterion.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
01 December 2004
This is really the best among the many of this kind. It is simple, reliable and safe. Excellent work!!!!! Super!!!!! Thanks!!!!
Like
Version 1.6
schmelding
19 November 2004
This totally rawks. The interfaces in the other apps I've tried are far too complicated. This is easy, simple, and elegant. Good show. By the way, whatever happened to ChiliSafe? Did it die in a grotesque, military-style death?
Like
Version 1.6b6
Anonymous
11 October 2004
Excellent, elegant, easy to use! And in answer to my question, the developer promises that release 2.0 (no date set as yet) will include a much needed search function, which will then make it the best product of its kind, along possibly with Mikey (which already had the search function available), although I feel that one can work faster with Pastor (opening URLs, copying userwords and passwords effortlessly). And all that for free? Definitely, I will send a donation, the developer deserves it!
Like
Version 1.6b6
Anonymous
30 September 2004
Does not show passwords as bullets. (Can't find preferences) But good work!
Like
Version 1.6b6
Anonymous
16 September 2004
I understand that it is not possible to import passwords via a tab/comma delimited file. Surely this would increase utility for those with other platforms [at work, for example] or who wish to migrate from a program they like less than Pastor.
Like
Version 1.6b5
Anonymous
15 September 2004
This is a very useful program. I love the price, simplicity of use, and the overall appearance. I recommend it to everyone.
Like
Version 1.6b5
Anonymous
12 August 2004
This app just rocks. I prefer it to the KeyChain. And unlike other alternatives to it like Password Retriever, it's free.
Like
Version 1.6b4