Back to iClock page
iClock free download for Mac

iClock Reviews

5.5
23 September 2019

Customizable menu bar clock, calendar, alarms, timezones and chimes.

Grhsvo
21 November 2010

Most helpful

This piece of sh*t software ha been bad since day one. Every time they release an update, I sigh and decide to give it another try because I really really would love to have a stable, bug-free utility that does what iClock wants to do. But alas. The time checkbox refuses to remain checked. When you click "Send feedback" you even see a special note "if you are having a problem where the time menu does not appear, then try hitting the button below. Then hit the bug report button above and let us know if the alt menu worked." Did that. Now I've got TWO time menus! There are other issues I have also but this is the most annoying. I would like them to add moon phases to the calendar. I would also like more flexibility in the alarms. In fact the whole alarm are is confusing. It needs a complete redesign and new UI. If this utility were to work properly, I would recommend it. I withhold recommendation now, as an catalyst for them to fix it,.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.0

Read 161 iClock User Reviews

Rate this app:

bungle
09 August 2019
Really one of the best "little" apps I've found on a mac. Does what appears to be a simple thing (making date and time really accessible) very easy. iClock also has an excellent balance between being ridiculously over customizable vs having to just take what you get - it has a lot of little knobs and switches you can tweak to make it suit your setup perfectly without being overcomplicated. I don't use every single one of the features normally - but the joy is that I don't have to; it lets me pick what is useful to me without forcing stuff I don't need to the front. Great support as well - if you should report a bug (and to be fair, I only found 1 in the 5+ years I've been using it), you'll get an actual response and probably a fix pretty quickly. Overall, this is how software should be. :)
Like
Version 5.2.3
Aspartamemsgsuck
25 July 2019
If you deal with people or events in multiple locations around the world, without question, this is the best app out there, period. I've been using it for 17 years(!!) and have seen many useful improvements get built in over the years. (These days I find the Global Schedular is especially useful.)

Sure you can do a web search to check times make a schedule and so on, but once iClock is setup, everything you need is at your fingertips. The attention to detail that has gone into the writing of iClock is amazing, just take a look at all the possible customizations in the preferences. I should add that the author is very responsive and helpful!

If you need more functionality than Apple's default menubar clock, once you've set iClock up and used it for a while you will wonder how you ever did without it!
Like
Version 5.1.2
frank-113
05 July 2019
Tried after great experiences with CopyPaste and yKey from this publisher. iClock is also a great utility and adds a lot of features to the clock and calendar
Like
Version 5.1.2
crum-david
02 July 2019
Easy to use. I love the ability to add different cities. Plus the staff is responsive to bug reports, I get an answer within 12 hours of filing one. They give excellent customer support
Like
Version 5.1.2
Gazza12
14 June 2019
Nice app. Lots of customisations and developer responded to problems with Apple calendar sync.
Like
Version 5.0.9
zp-andres
21 May 2019
Excellent, has everything I could want for in a clock, even moon phases!
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 June 2019
THANK GOD!

I feel so dejected when I miss a waning gibbous Moon. :-(

And how could I ever live with myself were I to miss the Black Moon next month or Super New Moon in August?
Like (1)
lewis-13
16 May 2019
Great little clock and includes a countdown timer and alarm and chimes on the hour, quarter, half, and three quarters if desired as well as spoken time too.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
marcplantec
05 May 2019
dark mode and cool app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
lewis-13
16 April 2019
This is plumb amazing... So flexible with stop watch and links to Apple or google calendar, multiple time zones and ways to display the time. Much better than apple's offering. These guys have done a great job just as they did with copypaste which I have used for about 30 years.
Like (1)
Version 4.7.5
Victoriajz
17 March 2019
I have used iClock for years and think it is wonderful = gives me just the right information and how and when I want it = can set alarms that are specialized.
Like (1)
Version 4.7.1
Simply Me
09 February 2019
Very simple to use and has nice features.
Like (1)
Version 4.6.6
Skip-Reed
17 January 2019
iClock has been a Menu Bar favorite of mine for many years. Because of its continuing improvements - improvements that include flexibility for the user to adjust visual aspects - I have grown across time to appreciate what a stand out app it is! Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 4.6.2
Victoriajz
12 January 2019
I have used iClock since it first came out. Over the years it has improved greatly and has even more useful functions. I was just installing the latest version and see it has 'date difference' which is a great thing for lawyers and other people who need to know the number of days to or from another. I use it often to find timezones and relevant times, as an alarm, to know date and time precisely. Highly recommended
Like (1)
Version 4.6
frans-3
20 December 2018
Yes, Dark/Light switch in Mojave now remembers the user defined colour of the menubar clock!
Like (1)
Version 4.5.9
RJC.NJNYC
07 December 2018
v4.5.8 works better with Dark Mode, except, the New Moon Icon is all white, like a Full Moon Icon?
Like
Version 4.5.8
frans-3
25 September 2018
Looses it color settings for time in the menubar when switching from Light to dark Mode in Mojave!
Like
Version 4.5.3
6 answer(s)
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
29 October 2018
we'll check this out. you can get to us faster thru our tech support. keeping up with all the social and download sites is beyond our small team.
thanks for the feedback!
Like
frans-3
frans-3
04 December 2018
Still happens with latest version... :-(
Like
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
06 December 2018
give version 4.5.8 a try. It adds automation for light and dark mode.

fran, the color issue occurs when the custom color you choose is not used after switching from light to dark. the reason is that if you dark red or blue in light mode then when you switch to dark mode it is not visible. that creates a problem where people then ask 'why isn't it visible'. if you have suggestions on how to fix this email us direct. this is a tech support discussion. this area on macupdate is designed more for reviews. thanks

email us direct with your thoughts, suggestions, screenshots and details really help. big. thanks

https://plumamazing.com/contact-tech-support/
Like
frans-3
frans-3
07 December 2018
Will do. That said, The Istats6 menu clock can invert (from red to a light blue) and remember the color when switching back again.
Like
frans-3
frans-3
19 December 2018
latest version keeps it set color when switching Dark to Light.
They seem to have solved it ;-)
Like
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
19 December 2018
yes, we solved this problem, yay. now you can automate and manually change from light to dark mode.
Like
amarillo56
27 August 2018
Very versatile. Was gone a while but now works well and as advertised. Has many valuable features. Frequent updates
Like (1)
Version 4.5.1
Dradrienyouell
23 August 2018
Like Baron83 below, I have had iClock on my menubar since it was released. I have paid several times acknowledging continuous and persisting daily use. I depend on iClock. .Not only showing date and time they can be in different colors to catch my attention. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.1
Baron83
17 August 2018
I've had iClock on my menubar for many years. Sometimes there have been minor problems but Julian has always solved them quickly. I'm always surprised that users don't take advantage of all the preferences, e.g. the drop down of active apps, recent apps and System Preferences plus quick access to iClock Prefs (lots of them) all on the same dropdown. I always look forward to the next update. I wouldn't be without it.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.1
stembo47
30 July 2018
I've been using iClock for many years, I consider it one of my most valuable applications. However after upgrading to High Sierra I have found iClock disappears from my System Preferences Login Items each time I restart. I'm using a MacBook Pro 2.3GHz. So I have to start iClock from the dock. After some research I removed backgrounditems.btm located in Library/Application Support. I trashed this item, rebooted, but iClock still disappears from the Login items. Any suggestions on a fix for my disappearing iClock in Login items?
Like (1)
Version 4.5.1
Ppappas
25 July 2018
I am another long time iClock user since it's early days. So much better than Apple's stock clock functionality. I really like the floating clocks so I can see other time zones.
Like (1)
Version 4.5
hwgray
14 July 2018
I've used iClock since its origin in the days of System [number], before OS X. My only complaint is that I _vastly_ prefer the original icon to the current one.
Like
Version 4.4.1
lep19@mac-com
24 May 2018
I have used iClock for many years and fine it to be a perfect addition to my Mac. Over the years the app. has been updated regularly and I have never had an issue with its use. I would highly recommend its use for anyone.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.5
PhilipE5836
19 March 2018
I object to paying when forced on me out of the blue.This is an annoying app so I trashed it this morning 19/03/2018 and it closed down my computers.I have just spent 2 hours getting the dock up and running as I like..Back to the preinstalled Dock on High Sierra, with my tweeks using Onyx and Tinker Tool,I had forgotten that the Mac Dock is okay with the tweeks. Horrible candy.,not enough donations I suppose but it should not shut down your computers.
Like
Version 4.2.5
2 answer(s)
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
27 March 2018
hi philip,

sorry to hear you had a bad experience. we don't change the dock at all. we do add iclock to the menubar and at that point you can turn off the apple clock since it looks odd to have 2 clocks in the menubar. iclock exists not to duplicate what the apple clock does but to extend it’s abilities.

iclock is shareware and it continues working even if you don’t pay. there is no demand for payment. if you saw something that made you think different then i would very much like to know what it was and would like to hear from you. iclock is an app and if you want it gone all it takes is quiting the app and putting in the trash. then turn on the apple clock if you want to use that. that takes about a minute.

please contact us at info@plumamazing.com we are always trying to improve the app for everyone.

thanks for the feedback
Like (3)
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
23 July 2018
hi philip, your issue had nothing to do with iclock. please contact us if you have any questions.
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
18 March 2018
MacUpdate Eds - please delete all the fictitious "reviews" below - you know, the ones that have left 4 or 5 stars for their first and only post here. MU needs to maintain credibility - bogus reviews hurt MU!
Like
Version 4.2.5
3 answer(s)
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
27 March 2018
hi eric,

i can understand your skepticism. when i look at apps here on macupdate, itunes or amazon i also wonder such things but i do know that we do not engage in such hijinks. we do encourage users to tell their friends, tweet or post a review on macupdate. that helps more people find the app. it's shareware so people then try and some buy and iClock continues. so, some of the reviews are old macupdate users and others new macupdate users. i like and have known the folks at macupdate for a long time and use the site often myself to find useful apps. it is a great resource. i think the only real mac one left that shows all mac apps so i understand your defense of the site.

have you tried iclock? if not i recommend giving it a try to see why people post such good reviews. as they say, the proof is in the pudding. the app has been around since ios 9 and updated and rewritten many times because it was and is very popular.

thanks for your feedback.
Like (1)
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
28 March 2018
Hi Eric,

MacUpdate has known and worked with Julian and Plum Amazing a long time. He has been developing Mac and iOS software since 1998. MacUpdate is working on methods to better determine if a review is authentic as we understand the value of real reviews to all of our site visitors.
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
29 August 2018
"please delete all the fictitious "reviews" below"

Don't be silly, Eric. You have no way of knowing whether "the ones that have left 4 or 5 stars for their first and only post here" are "fake" or not.
Like
Jayaii
16 March 2018
Would love to evaluate this app (v. 4.2.4) but it crashes on launch on my system (iMac 5K, 32 GB, OS 10.13.3).
Like
Version 4.2.4
1 answer(s)
Plum Amazing
Plum Amazing
16 March 2018
please contact us info@plumamazing.com and send a console log if you know how to do that. we'd like to look into this. thanks
Like (1)
gcbernstein2
12 February 2018
Clever app. Thanks
Like
Version 4.1.1
petro-semenyuk13
12 February 2018
Convenient and affordable application. I use it for a long time I am satisfied
Like
Version 4.1.1
RJC.NJNYC
06 February 2018
love the app and been using for many years, however since last update does not start upon login, no matter what I do on OS X 10.13.3
Like
Version 4.0.7
Wts
01 February 2018
From Plum Amazing: iClock Pro is a menu bar replacement clock for Apple's default clock and it has many more features.

iClock Pro is an update, total rewrite and improvement to the popular iClock. For example, have the day, date and time in different fonts and colors in the menubar.

iClock is also a kind of centrally located time hub from which many time related functions can be controlled.

iClock is an essential time utility for business people, travelers, and anyone who communicates with people in other time zones.

iClock Pro works in macOS High Sierra ( 10.13.3 ) .

The developer. promptly provides support and help when and as you need help.

Even prior to iClock Pro i have used this application for many years.

On all my Mac's this shareware software is absolutely essential !
Like
Version 4.0.7
admin-184
21 January 2018
iClock has been a fixture on my Mac for as long as I can remember. The floating clocks are really useful when I'm travelling but also when I'm working with colleagues around the world. I'm so pleased the alarm feature is back up and running, because it's enormously handy. Plus now there are a couple of new features I'm also likely to depend on: the Take Five option when I need to buckle down and get to work, and the Global Scheduler. Thanks, team, for coming up with such clever and reliable tools!
Like
Version 3.8
Legrandjulie
04 January 2018
A clever and versatile app. Over many years now I've kept the times of where my kids and grandkids live around the world in a neat corner of my desktop.
Like
Version 3.8
JoelParker
30 December 2017
I have used iClock for years. I needed a clock that provided some specific information such as the numeric day-of-year, since I work on space missions that use that rather than calendar dates. I also travel a lot internationally and work with folks from other countries, so having easy access to the current time in other timezones is essential. On top of all that, the ability to customize the look is great. I'm also very impressed at the communication and very prompt responsiveness of the development team when I have made suggestions.
Like
Version 3.8
maxwideman
28 December 2017
In case anyone gets misled, this app is now in version 3.9.9, and Julian and his team have been working diligently to further extend its capability, as well as fix a few bugs. In short, I have been using previous versions pretty well since it was first introduced and I love it. I have correspondence with people around the world and so I have several copies of the clock in the top corner of my screen, each representing a different time zone. This way I don't have to try to figure out what time it is at the other end of my telephone or web meeting. It also has many other features well worth exploring. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 3.8
NedC
27 December 2017
Julian, you just keep getting this better and better. Thanks for all of your efforts.
Like (1)
Version 3.8
amarillo56
08 December 2017
Had this app for ever. Was sorry that it wasn't updated for too long but finally it is back and as good as ever
Like (1)
Version 3.8
asimpson-2
20 October 2017
Great piece of software. I have been using it for years and it's WAY better that the standard clock in the menu bar. Being able to see times in multiple cities is very useful. The application menu is something I could not do without.
Like (1)
Version 3.8
jlhodes
10 October 2017
This is a great app -- far superior to the macOS menu bar clock.I've used iClock and iClock Pro since the dawn of time (thanks to iClock, I can even tell you what time that was) and have found it invaluable. (Please note that, MacUpdate aside, the current version is 3.72, not 3.56. That's the best part: each new version contains improvements and increased functionality. I like to think this is attributable to the attention paid by the developer to user comments. We write, he responds immediately (and, if necessessary, incorporates a fix in the next release). Bravo!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.6
RJC.NJNYC
02 September 2017
v 3.5.7 link gives v3.5.6
Like
Version 3.5.7
NedC
01 September 2017
latest doesn't work!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.7
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 September 2017
Did you tell the dev. on his website? https://goo.gl/r1DFn5

MU users can't fix it.
Like
NedC
NedC
02 September 2017
Huh? I'm trying to let people know here as well as the developer
Like
RJC.NJNYC
29 August 2017
Love it and been using for a long time, but last 2 versions can not change colors in menu bar
Like
Version 3.5.6
Aspartamemsgsuck
17 August 2017
Without question, iClock remains indispensable if you regularly need to be aware of the time in other locations around the world. Sure you can check the time with Siri or on the web, but once iClock is set up with your favorite locations, they are all instantly just one click away. I love having a stopwatch and alarm at my fingertips too, and find myself often using them. My only wish is for it would be for an iTunes sleep timer/wake up alarm. I've been using iClock since 2003 and have found tech support excellent. Recently, when a new version was released, I had a problem with my registration code. Julian spent quite a bit of time assisting me to get it working again. Anyway, I highly recommend iClock! Give it a try!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
frans-3
04 August 2017
As I said before: Please make it 'faceless', I do not need it in the Dock or App Switcher. I tried it with editing the plist file, that worked but the it would not load at a restart/start of my Mac...
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
Wgibson648
02 August 2017
I continue to like and use iClock Pro. But, long ago (about 10 years) one included feature was for a Stock Portfolio. That has not been included since Plum Amazing has taken over the program. It would be great if that feature might be reincorporated.
Like (1)
Version 3.5
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 August 2017
I respectfully disagree.

IMO that would be bloatware.
This is a time/calendar app, not financial software.

Use the stock widget in Notifications if you need it at your fingertips.
Like
James Bl.
25 April 2017
Pretty nice clock, simple but unobtrusive. I like the option of verifying time in different cities of the world - it really makes the clock being like a pro. Appreciate these advanced features.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.9
Geric
26 January 2017
Despite it's not very sophisticated interface, the iClock is a great tool, it's convenient and helps a lot while connecting with business partners around the world. I evaluate the app with high score.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.7
frans-3
09 January 2017
Please make it 'faceless', I do not need it in the Dock. I tried it with editing the plist file, that worked but the it would not load at a restart/start of my Mac...
Like (1)
Version 3.4.6
Gary645
29 December 2016
Have been using iClock Pro for years and it keeps getting better. Recently had a "glitch" and Julian worked diligently to fix the problem I was having. Highly recommend this App.
Like
Version 3.4.5
Lvdoc
15 December 2016
I'd like to like this new version, but I can't adjust the digital format of floating clocks. Nothing happens when I click that button. And I went to their site to try to send a message inquiring about this, but no matter how many times I keep entering the "prove you're a human and type the letters you see below" stuff, it keeps taking me back to that page and giving me new numbers and letters to type. It's not like I've never had to do that routine before, but it's clear that there's no way to actual contact them for customer service via their site. I don't need this grief.
Like
Version 3.4.5
2 answer(s)
Cleser
Cleser
22 December 2016
try deleting and reinstalling, and if you used a previous version - insure you delete iclock from the system preferences

I am NOT affiliated with ICLOCK, just a user and it works fine on my mac - OS 10.2
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
23 December 2016
Cleser: I tried your suggestion, but alas, it didn't work. I appreciate your help though. Wish you were the developer.
Like
NedC
27 November 2016
I'm glad to see it is coming back and just keep getting better..
Like
Version 3.4.3