Back to Notational Velocity page
Notational Velocity free download for Mac

Notational Velocity Reviews

2.0 β5
01 April 2011

Store and retrieve notes.

.
12 September 2009

Most helpful

Great to see an update. Excellent, welcome back!
Like (3)
Version 2.0b

Read 44 Notational Velocity User Reviews

Rate this app:

Zx81
16 September 2015
Be careful : I synchronized my notes with simpleton and it works great, but it just deleted all my tags ; there was a warning about this on GitHub (https://github.com/scrod/nv/wiki/FAQ%3A-Synchronization) Same problem with NvAlt.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
1 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
16 September 2015
Obviously, not "simpleton", but Simplenote...
Like
Philosopherdog
15 December 2013
nvALT, which is a fork of NV is probably more up to date and has some extra cool features.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
J-w-
09 July 2013
Great app, but development seems to have stopped. You may be better off looking at a fork.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
1 answer(s)
normb
normb
28 October 2013
better off for what ? it works fine in ML and shortly I expect to be using it within Mavericks. One can encrypt the file if desired, use multiple files for differing purposes. It does what it does exceedingly well. I have an idea that there are indeed forks, but this does for me just fine for all sorts of uses. Its genius is its simplicity and ease of use. Get with the flow . . . ! It ain't broke
Like (1)
Vinkri
03 November 2012
I often have ideas when I'm not supposed to: when I'm writing an email, using skype or working on my website... the idea pops up in my head and I have to write it down quickly, before I forget it. And guess what? NO application allowed me to do that fast enough. Whatever I was using, I had to launch it or click on its icon somewhere. Then wait 2 seconds for it to open, then jot down my idea and save it. Then I could go back to whatever I was doing before. Until now, I was using Dovonthink's drawer... Mouse driven. And slow. In other words, a pain in the ass... Then I discovered Notational Velocity. When it"s launched (in a fraction of a second), just write your idea, then close it. Created a trigger hot key (with keyboard maestro) to launch it wherever I am on my Mac. When I want to note something, all the process takes less that 4 seconds. I take notes all the time, now. A brilliant app.
Like (2)
Version 2.0 β5
Thomas-Svendsen
24 October 2012
Love it!! Great feature set!!! Fast and easy to use.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Snappir
22 April 2012
Brilliant application!!! I love the fact that it works only with plain text, keeps it lightweight with unlimited number of notes, articles...etc...etc. and the fact that all words are magically linked - fantastic! Thank you!
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Himalayan
18 August 2011
I love NV. Have been using it for more than a year now, and it has become my go-to place to write everything down. Quick notes, important financial info, whatever. I also love the fact that the notes database is encrypted. My only wish is that I could find an iOS app that will sync with NV in some way *other* than via the cloud. All the solutions I've found sync via Dropbox, Simplenote, or Evernote. But since I have some very private information in my NV notes, I don't want to have them sitting unencrypted on some third-party server. What I'm looking for is an app that syncs with NV locally (via iTunes, Bonjour, or LAN WiFi). Any suggestions???
Like
Version 2.0 β5
4 answer(s)
Zx81
Zx81
13 October 2011
Simplenote?
Like
Zx81
Zx81
13 October 2011
Oups, wrong suggestion, I suppose...I wish we could edit our comments.
Like
El-Duderino
El-Duderino
18 December 2011
Something you said here intrigued me. What's the issue with having ones Dropbox contents be encrypted? Are encrypted volumes unsafe via Dropbox, because such sparse bundles are quite possible on there. I think.
Like
Himalayan
Himalayan
26 December 2011
El-Duderino: According to the NV instructions, synching with Dropbox only works as plaintext: https://github.com/scrod/nv/wiki/synchronizing-with-dropbox
Like
M-Wilke
26 July 2011
It just occurred to me to check for an update. Guess it's been a while since I last did that. Just to prove how great this app is, I've been using the 2003 version 1.1.1 for all these years, flawlessly. Glad to see NV is alive and well. I'll get the iPhone app next.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
EndoLab
08 June 2011
Great app. Love it !
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Cv186
09 May 2011
This is simply the finest note-pad available for Mac. Just brilliant.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Joni-Meeserman
24 April 2011
Aarrrggghhh!! I have a mixed feeling with this upgrade. On one hand, I love that it adds vi style navigation with control key. I have setup my capslock to control so it's really easy to navigate in NV now (rather than use cmd+h/j/k/l). On the other hand I now can't use some of the emacs keybinding (which supported system wide in Mac OS). One of the most important and sorely missed is control+k to delete to the end of line. I've used NV to manage my to do list, and usually just put the cursor at the beginning of the line and delete/kill it. Overall though, great work by developer. And NV is still the best notetaking app out there.
Like
Version 2.0 β5
appleHQ
06 April 2011
I *need* tags, please?! Can I haz?
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Max-Roach
06 April 2011
Light, fast, clever, simple, useful…
Like
Version 2.0 β5
Poikkeus
03 April 2011
I really liked the concise layout of Memoblock - but it takes a long time to boot, and its promising sync capabilities are useless for an iPod Touch. It's no longer usable. In comparison, Notational Velocity has enviable velocity, and its vertical orientation cuts down on on-screen real estate. But I was floored by its seamless import of PDFs. Presently, I use two types of notepad applications: textual (Notational Velocity), and graphic (Notebook, VooDooPad), and both types are essential.
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β5
Stormchild
02 April 2011
The built-in updater currently doesn't work. Keeps giving "update is improperly signed" error. Looks like it has to be downloaded manually this time.
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β5
1 answer(s)
Scrod
Scrod
02 April 2011
This is indeed the case. Version 2.0B4 will be unable to upgrade via the Sparkle framework due to an oversight on my part. All earlier versions and later versions should be fine, however.
Like
Drking
01 April 2011
I love the Horizontal layout view! Also, love the way it does tags and searches for them and text. And Bookmarks, too. Very handy app in many ways! drking
Like
Version 2.0 β5
xXAkumuXx
19 March 2011
This is so cool! =D
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β4
Snappir
05 February 2011
The Very Best of the Best!
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β4
mwschmeer-2
31 January 2011
I just want to say thanks for keeping PPC Tiger support in this new release. I use NV at home on an old G4 Tower and have an iMac running Leopard at work, syncing data via DropBox, and this works flawlessly for me. I really like the new horizontal window view--it makes this much more useable for me. Now, is there anyway to officially incorporate Markdown or MultiMarkdown and a preview pane, as some Steven Franks did in his fork?
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β4
ecdltf
29 January 2011
An essential application for every mac, since many many years. Gets even 'more perfect' with the recent updates. Use it in junction with a Simplenote account, the Simplenote app on the iPhone and ResophNotes on Windows.
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β4
SickTeddyBear
19 December 2010
A code fork called "Notational Velocity Alt": http://brettterpstra.com/code/notational-velocity-alt/
Like (2)
Version 2.0 β3
2 answer(s)
Zach Sw
Zach Sw
19 December 2010
If you plan to use a fork of NV, then I won't be able to help you if you encounter any bugs. All bug-fixes and features go into the official repository at http://github.com/scrod/nv/, and unfortunately I can't guarantee that the maintainers of "forks" will stay consistent with these updates.
Like (2)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
28 December 2010
Neither fork syncs Tags with Simplenote on iOS. Any chance of seeing this feature?
Like (2)
Macinspore
17 September 2010
Thanks for the effort - love this app
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β3
cstephen87
08 April 2010
Out of all the note-taking applications that are available for OS X & the iPhone, I have to say that this one has come the nearest to meeting my fast-paced environment. All-in-all, this is a very lightweight and functional little app that does all it was meant to do: take notes... But there are a few things that should emphasized about this particular application. If you are ever in a hurry and you're reading an email, you'll sometimes realize that you missed something of great importance or you skimmed through a section that contained the point of the monstrosity that is a weekly report... It's always nice to be able to extract little tidbits for later use, and that's where this app conquers all others in functionality. Needless to say, the iPhone synchronization makes this app killer for on-the-go extractions from the computer for later use, or vice-versa. This is not a to-do app, but it can serve the purpose quite nicely, as long as you don't plan a project within it. (That's not the function of this application, nor was it intended so.) For notes, it's far superior to any "premium" or "full-featured" application due to it's condensed size and huge functionality within the field of "note-taking", but it may not fit everyone's needs. Since it's free, why not give it a try? If you don't like it, toss it. It's that simple! A+ for the functionality and lightweight environment! This is perfect for the fast-paced lifestyle such as mine!
Like (3)
Version 2.0 β3
Burak
14 March 2010
Most useful and simple, but it would be still better to have an option to show rulers or at least make lists.
Like
Version 2.0 β3
1 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
20 May 2010
I disagree. NV is not a page layout app, so there is no need for a ruler. You could use pretty much any other notetaking apps like VoodooPad or TextEdit for that. I don't have problems entering list like this: -Item 1 -Item 2, etc If you a referring to dynamic numbered lists, I haven't missed that feature at all. Part of NV's appeal (for me anyway), is its elegant simplicity, so I can forget about all the formatting crap and just empty my mind.
Like (2)
Version 2.0 β3
appleHQ
22 February 2010
This is a MUST HAVE application! I use it for any kind of notes I have to type in quickly. And I have the notes stored in a folder that gets synced via dropbox.com So no more .txt files on the desktop, no more lost notes because of computer crashes etc. They are always instantly saved and backed up. and now I use the SimpleNote integration to be able to access all notes via Web and via iPhone. I finally cancelled my expensive Evernote subscription for this lovely app in conjunction with SimpleNote. Try it - it´s great!
Like (3)
Version 2.0 β3
Sgmoye
09 February 2010
This is a really wonderful application. I have come to loathe Stickies. NV imported the StickiesDatabase (in ~/Library/) in a flash and perfectly. Goodbye, Stickies! My only suggestion would be to be able to use color for text. It may be possible, but I can't see how to do it...
Like
Version 2.0 β3
appleHQ
09 February 2010
BEWARE. Beta 3 is buggy, it will copy a changed note over and over again. I love this product - but stay at Beta 2 for now!
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β3
3 answer(s)
appleHQ
appleHQ
09 February 2010
Use this link to get the old Beta 2 back as long as the Beta 3 is buggy: http://cloud.github.com/downloads/scrod/nv/Notational_Velocity_2.0b2.zip
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β3
Scrod
Scrod
09 February 2010
You're incorrectly assuming that the latest beta is duplicating your notes, when in fact the problem lies with Simplenote: http://simplenoteapp.com/news/2010/2/9/note-duplication-experienced-by-some-users.html The problem is independent of any version of NV; downgrading will only subject you to bugs that have already been fixed.
Like (4)
Version 2.0 β3
appleHQ
appleHQ
09 February 2010
You are right! I just read the mail from SimpleNote. Sorry..
Like (4)
Version 2.0 β3
Jazzjohannes
31 January 2010
Marvelous I love it! I am proud of such a great development! I too needed a replacement for Stickies because its spelling check was not saved (still after 2 years of sending bug reports), the view cluttered and collapsed Stickies had too small title font. I had used myNotes before, but that took far too long to load up. This app has the biggest advantage in stability and safety of the notes as you can select the storage and export format of Plaintext/RTF/HTML. The unbelievably handy global shortcut setting makes it as indispensable as the chat-client Adium for the Apple Macintosh. The quick notes entry needs some getting used to, but is a neat feature. For people who need to store large amounts of text and are rather fond of sideway views, just use the bookmarks window (which operates notes on shortcuts as well!!!). I just love the new icon. Contra: - scrollbar position is not saved - bookmarks panel open state not saved Feature Request (optional): - FTP upload - side windows to view multiple important entries
Like (2)
Version 2.0 β2
NeostarNeko
31 January 2010
This is great for taking notes, it's quick and easy. I hope the developer adds the option to run it in the apple menu bar, this would be awesome as I can then take notes as and when without having to open the application every time.
Like
Version 2.0 β2
1 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
20 May 2010
Just leave the app open, and use the shortcut option in preferences. It's even quicker than moving your mouse to the menubar.
Like (1)
Version 2.0 β3
Ash435
03 October 2009
This is a really cool app that will definitely appeal to some people. I'm using it to replace a bunch of stickies that used to clutter my desktop. Maybe I'm missing something but I keep wishing there was an OS X 'clear' cross at the right hand side of the search/title text entry box. Is there a quick way to return to the whole list? At the moment I have to select the text in the box and press delete which seems a bit clumsy. Thanks though, I still like it a lot.
Like
Version 2.0b
1 answer(s)
Swordfish
Swordfish
21 May 2010
Oops I was mistaken, Command-D won't return to the whole list.
Like
Version 2.0 β3
.
12 September 2009
Great to see an update. Excellent, welcome back!
Like (3)
Version 2.0b
Bongoman1
12 September 2009
Welcome back! What a pleasant surprise to see this has been updated. Well done.
Like (2)
Version 2.0b
Cvk-b
19 June 2007
Please… Universal Binary. Please.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Billwest
09 March 2007
Notational Velocity ----Used every day --I love this free note pad. Text notes only. As reviewed --"Interface so simple you could cry." Two pane plus dual entry line for 1) it's great 'auto-complete' Search/Find and 2) creating new Title line for new note. Heart of this big and simple note keeper is the dual Compose/Search/Find. Search really can be outstanding --Comm-G will hop down thru all string occurrences --on all notes . My Not Vel has 600 notes. Everything retained and found as fast as I can type each letter key. Import will open text and RTF files. Comm-E exports a text file with our Open/Save nav dialog. Operates with brilliant vi/Unix key commands. All Word Services enabled --including the pearCalc launch, Insert, and Mail/Send Selection. Has own Services selections --search describe with selection and make new note with selection. Here is an example of Simple being incredibly adequate. :) Of the 46 note pads I demo--Reviewed --I list Notational Velocity as having one of the 20 Outstanding Search/Find features. DataBase location ---/Users/billwest/Library/Preferences/NotationalDatabase.blor Unreadable so not a simple text edit back up copy. The Notational Velocity app opens with dbl-click on this note database file. Not built with organizing notes and folders --no independent files on our HD --everything depends on it's Search/Find --and it is very good. With my 600 very large and very short notes --the Search/Find has got to be instant fast and good. myNotes and Notational Velocity are the only two note pads that appear on our nav dialog menu Open With. Every hard drive plain text or rtf file can be Opened With Notational Velocity. So Notational Velocity also serves very well as a regular text editor. OSX Menubar --and Help --filled with Mac and Unix enabled key commands.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Andy-Morikawa
02 February 2007
This is a wonderful little program, one that I've been looking for for a long time. Just didn't know how to describe it until I discovered Notational Velocity. It's quick, simple, instant and works like I think. It's become my all purpose database for information, ideas, references, notes on where I filed articles about this or that topic. All I have to do it seems is type the first word or thought that comes to mind and Notational Velocity takes me where I want to go. A great program at an unbelievable price.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
25 November 2005
Best note app for the mac, been using it forever.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Jchryss
11 February 2005
Great program. I love it. I reccommend it.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
10 October 2003
Nifty little snippet keeper! I still prefer Alepin for organizing long-term text snippets, but NV is great for coding and quick stuff.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
10 October 2003
Pretty neat and seems to work well. It doesn't do a lot but what it does, it does well. You can't ask much more than that. I would like to see it implemented as a service so it could integrate with other apps on an ad hoc basis. Very usable as it stands, though.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
24 June 2003
briliant. After pfaffing around with the like of stickbrain and stickies, an little app that does everything you need an no more. Particularly like the fact that search and desc. are same entry.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
03 May 2003
Very nice indeed! I've been using it for about a week saving Perl & MySQL code snippets. Great application/utility.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
14 April 2003
You really should try this! Simple, intuitive, and getting better with age. The concept is great. Start typing a note's description. If it exists, the search engine will find it. If it doesn't exist, keep typing. Create the note you had in mind, and the next time you look for it you'll find it. Brilliant! And every note is automatically saved AND encrypted, so all you do is type. Couldn't be easier. Plus, it's free, rock-stable and uses a miniscule amount of system resources.
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
05 March 2003
Don't let the poor name & logo trick you - this is a very slim and efficient way to store and retrieve notes. Fast, free, easy & stable!
Like
Version 1.0.3
Lagabay
06 February 2003
Am I the first to discover this thing? It's great! It's free! What are you waiting for? I have always liked the old Jot-a-Lot Classic software, and am thrilled to have found this to replace it with. While NV doesn't offer multiple note collections or styles (yet), it does what the name advertises extremely well.
Like
Version 1.0.3