Back to Firefox page
Firefox free download for Mac

Firefox Reviews

69.0.3
12 October 2019

Fast, safe Web browser.

Mac Downgrade
19 June 2009

Most helpful

Still 93/100 against acid3 test (sfari4 and latest opera are both 100/100): http://acid3.acidtests.org/
Like (20)
Version 3.5rc2

Read 1950 Firefox User Reviews

Rate this app:

calvarytabernacleinfo
14 October 2019
It's the best browser and moved out from Chrome for security reasons. Chrome is having lot of Adware and collecting too much of data leaving behind without any option to disable.
Like
Version 69.0.3
jimmymorales
08 September 2019
I am still using 61.0 because that is when the comments section in the bookmarks was removed. Does anybody know if it has been added back in yet? As much as I would love to upgrade, I find myself using Chrome a lot more, so I can keep my comments section in Firefox.
Like
Version 69.0
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
18 September 2019
This add-on may interest you: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/bookmark-notes/
Like
Version 69.0.1
Scion777
03 September 2019
Some nice additions/improvements for FF 69: For our users on macOS, battery life and download UI are both improved: macOS users on dual-graphics-card machines (like MacBook Pro) will switch back to the low-power GPU more aggressively, saving battery life. Finder on macOS now displays download progress for files being downloaded. Enhanced Tracking Protection (ETP) rolls out stronger privacy protections: The default standard setting for this feature now blocks third-party tracking cookies and cryptominers. The optional strict setting blocks fingerprinters as well as the items blocked in the standard setting. The Block Autoplay feature is enhanced to give users the option to block any video that automatically starts playing, not just those that automatically play with sound. For our users in the US or using the en-US browser, we are shipping a new “New Tab” page experience that connects you to the best of Pocket’s content. Support for receiving multiple video codecs with this release makes it easier for WebRTC conferencing services to mix video from different clients.
Like (3)
Version 69.0
Scion777
03 September 2019
MacUpdate Admins! https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/69.0/releasenotes/
Like (2)
Version 69.0
1 answer(s)
Viktor
Viktor
03 September 2019
Thank you for letting us know about this! We have now updated this page to show the most recent release notes. Unfortunately, those were not available when we originally updated our listing to 69.0. Thanks again, your help is very much appreciated!
Like (1)
Version 69.0
badbadger
03 September 2019
It is still a good browser, trying to adapt to new times. I don't know about the Windows version, but the Mac version is still slow. Consumes a lot of resources (especially when playing video). Rather, it is no longer an interesting alternative to Chrome or Safari, even though Firefox is still trying to modernize. The only plus may be that it does not belong to Apple or Google - for many people it matters.
Like
Version 69.0
4 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
03 September 2019
Utter rubbish, badbadger. If FF is not running faster than Safari or Chrome on your Mac, you have something wrong on your machine. FF is customizable with many, many more extensions than Chrome, let alone Safari.
Like (1)
Version 69.0
badbadger
badbadger
03 September 2019
@Scion777 Although you really wanted to improve reality, unfortunately firefox is slow :)
Like
Version 69.0
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
06 October 2019
@badbadger is actually right, @Scion777. Safari uses less resources to play back HTML5 video, in my tests about half. However, this seems to come at a price. This Linus tech Tips video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Po5iEqDDv3U will only show in 1080p in Safari 12.1.2 while Firefox 69.0.1 allows up to 2160p resolution.
Like (1)
Version 69.0.2
Younkint
Younkint
12 October 2019
FF is as slow as molasses for me; almost unusable. While I've followed all of Mozilla's instructions to clean it up, refresh it, etc, it's still a no go. I was forced to switch browsers and am now using the Chrome-based Vivaldi. The difference in speed is astounding – night and day. I've been with FF since the beginning, but the sloth-like performance is now a deal-breaker.
Like
Version 69.0.3
Albabe
12 August 2019
68.0.1 completely eats your CPU. Almost 400%. This is ridiculous.
Like (4)
Version 68.0.1
3 answer(s)
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
14 August 2019
The same with 68.0.2 just released. To tell the truth, Firefox has always been a memory hog. It's only getting worse.
Like (3)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
02 September 2019
Today, MacUpdate offers for download Firefox 69.0. Strangely enough, at https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/ the download is still Firefox 68.0.2, How come? Can I trust the 69.0 version when the developer still doesn't offer it?
Like (1)
Version 69.0
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
04 September 2019
I noticed today that Mozilla now offers a 69.0 version. It's slightly larger than the version MacUpdate offered two days ago.
Like
Version 69.0
TinaNaNa
29 July 2019
My favourite browser! Only thing I don't like is that it doesn't work like other mac apps. Like when I option-click on its icon in the dock, I want it to hide all other apps, not show me an option screen...
Like
Version 68.0.1
zlazkow
25 July 2019
Chrome and Firefox let users data leak thru their extensions. https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2019/07/dataspii-inside-the-debacle-that-dished-private-data-from-apple-tesla-blue-origin-and-4m-people/? This is one more reason to stop using both browsers.
Like
Version 68.0.1
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
07 August 2019
So what are the browsers that you rely on?
Like
zlazkow
zlazkow
07 August 2019
Safari is number one. No complaints.
Brave is fine, but don't really use it. Years ago liked to use Opera, but it was before I switched over to Mac back in 2008. I'm curious about Microsoft new browser. More and more reports how Windows is on par with Mac. A lot of sites with detailed comparisons. Looks like new Windows is going to make many Mac users move to Windows.
Like (2)
Macfool
20 June 2019
v.6.7.0.4 is ready.
Like (2)
Version 67.0.3
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
22 June 2019
Yup and it's URGENT: UPDATE NOW time again. There's a new Firefox zero-day flaw being actively exploited in-the-wild.. That's extremely bad.
Read all about it:

Firefox 67.0.4 Released — Mozilla Patches Second 0-Day Flaw This Week
https://thehackernews.com/2019/06/firefox-0day-vulnerability.html

"After patching a critical actively-exploited vulnerability in Firefox 67.0.3 earlier this week, Mozilla is now warning millions of its users about a second zero-day vulnerability that attackers have been found exploiting in the wild...."
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
18 June 2019
URGENT: UPDATE NOW to 67.0.3 ! ! ! Read all about it: "Security vulnerabilities fixed in Firefox 67.0.3 and Firefox ESR 60.7.1" https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/security/advisories/mfsa2019-18/#CVE-2019-11707 "Awoogah! Awoogah! Firefox fans urged to update and patch zero-day hole exploited in the wild by miscreants Just make sure you're running the latest version" https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/06/18/firefox_zero_day_patch/ "Mozilla says it has already received reports that the flaw is being actively exploited in the wild by miscreants, making it critical for users to install the latest patched versions of the browser."
Like (1)
Version 67.0.2
ninoxhill
24 May 2019
This update is total crap: it doesn't work at all, had to go back to previous version... whoever developed this rubbish should be sacked... may have to abandon Firefox for good. Really browned off with Mozilla!
Like
Version 67.0
1 answer(s)
zsky
zsky
06 June 2019
Surely you already filed a bug with exact version infos and steps to reproduce and debug data so that Mozilla can fix the problems you are seeing?
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/home

Could you link your bug?
Like (3)
@timi
22 May 2019
In case you missed it (MacUpdate release notes is just a link) ** Firefox 67 brings support for websites that leverage dark mode CSS!
Like (1)
Version 67.0
Macfool
22 May 2019
In FF67.0 the ZombieLoad mitigation is enabled in MacOS 10.14.5 and later. Well worth the updates if paranoia is your thing. Staying off those dodgy sites also works. Enjoy.
Like
Version 67.0
Jan-rybar
09 May 2019
I am leaving Firefox for Opera. I am tired of reinstalling broken extensions with every new version. That is silly. A browser that user can not use his way? Why for? Good bye.
Like
Version 66.0.5
3 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
22 May 2019
Who writes extensions, for the most part? Mozilla? No, the extension's developer does. Who puts out beta nightly releases for developers to test and update their extensions before official release (and provide feedback for anything that Mozilla needs to fix before release)? Mozilla does.
Your complaint is wildly inappropriate.
Like (2)
@timi
@timi
22 May 2019
FF 67 restored many extensions that were disabled for no reason.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
19 June 2019
As is documented in earlier comments... Firefox v66.0.3 contained a security certificate Mozilla forgot to update. When it lapsed, it killed all extensions. Firefox v66.0.4 fixed the problem, no need to reinstall extensions.

As for Opera: It used to be Norwegian. Now it's Chinese. As such, I personally know of no reason to trust it. I have no doubt that the criminal government of China could and would compromise it for their own surveillance purposes. And anyway, it's just another branch of Chromium! For something actually secure as well as being Chromium, I'd go for the Brave Browser. It's excellent.
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
06 May 2019
√ Verified. Firefox v66.0.4 repairs the incredible boner move Mozilla pulled in version v66.0.3. IOW, now all the extensions work again. You don't have to fiddle with anything. They just work. Of interest: Mozilla screwed up v66.0.3 for Windows as well. So don't feel lonely.
Like
Version 66.0.4
3 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
07 May 2019
Readers please note, for some add-ons, including myself, some extensions had to be re-enabled after the update.. Mozilla also advises that configuration settings for SOME extensions may be reset to defaults after update 66.0.4. Just mentioning this as a PSA; folks after update you should check add-ons and settings. In some cases, you may have to quit and restart FF
Like
Aargl
Aargl
08 May 2019
My opinion: one might accept that from a dilettante developer, but frankly, from Mozilla... "LMAOWROTF" describes pretty well what I felt after a while — Lucky me, I'm still using Waterfox as my main browser. :-D
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
08 May 2019
DETAILS:
'Firefox armagg-add-on: Lapsed security cert kills all browser extensions, from website password managers to ad blockers'
https://www.theregister.co.uk/2019/05/06/mozilla_firefox_add_on_expiry/

"The source of the trouble was identified in a bug report as the expiration of an intermediate signing certificate, which is used to authenticate third-party Firefox add-ons, also known as extensions. With the cert's unanticipated demise, Firefox stopped allowing these add-ons to run or be installed."
Like (1)
Aargl
04 May 2019
Another episode in my despaired attempt to come back to FF:
Launching it today, it disabled nearly all my webextensions (regular, updated, etc.) saying they couldn't be verified, with no way to reenable or reinstall them! :-o
Just the usual message as for XUL extensions to try and find an alternative.
What kind of piece of sh.. is that? :-o
Some may say that's not a reason for a half-star, well I don't know of any other regular browser acting this way. :-( Why should I lose my time trying to cure what's supposed to be a solid browser?
Like
Version 66.0.3
2 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
04 May 2019
The explanation: https://techcrunch.com/2019/05/03/a-glitch-is-breaking-all-firefox-extensions/
Looks like Mozilla has a huge love for footguns... ;-)
Like (1)
Aargl
Aargl
05 May 2019
Looks like the cure is on its way: https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/66.0.4/
(no release notes yet)
Like
Bedaac
29 March 2019
version 66 is now fabulous. The ONLY browser that really protect your privacy from digital sharks. Hint : install "multi-account-containers" AND "Temporary Containers" AND check "automatically". All what you do will be isolated. Just perfect! Fast and lean, many thanks to the team. Safari is still faster but it is a data sieve.
Like (2)
Version 66.0.2
Macfool
28 March 2019
Version 66.0.2 is out. Rock solid. If FF blows out your eyes at night, try the Dark Reader Extension. Very pleasing.
Like (2)
Version 66.0.1
Zx81
24 March 2019
This is now 66.0.1 and much faster.
Scrolling fluid, pages load fast.
Like (2)
Version 66.0
Aargl
11 March 2019
I'd really like to come back to Firefox — that was my main browser for years before Quantum — but I still have issues, even after finding tricks for restoring a decent UI, even after finding other tricks to kinda workaround what was working before and is impossible now (loading a local file in New Tab Override, for example — while you can make it load a remote web page! Where is the security behind that stupid decision? :-o ).
It's not always Mozilla's direct guilt, but webextensions have implications for third party devs choices: 1Password webextension is unable to communicate with the 1Password app before v6.8, so I'm stuck with other browsers that won't use webextensions or must switch to a different password manager...
Speed wise, I still consider that claims for FFQ to be faster were just advertising: generally Chromium seems faster and I don't see that huge a difference compared to Waterfox or pre-Quantum versions of FF (talking about the time it takes to display a single page).
In fact, I've just tried loading Amazon on those browsers (Chromium, Waterfox and FFQ): precisely 12s for all of them!
That proves that the bottleneck is not the browser, if it was needed.
Like
Version 65.0.2
Pepper131
02 March 2019
Why can’t I import Safari book marks to Firefox?
Like
Version 65.0.2
1 answer(s)
yayt
yayt
04 March 2019
Actually you can. Open Safari > File > Export Bookmarks. Import the resulting HTML file in Firefox > Bookmarks > Manage Bookmarks. Then the bottom icon with the star > HTML Import.
Like (1)
uaiz
01 March 2019
Firefox is heading into a good direction. The recent changes are really nice. In version 66 keyboard shortcuts for addons are finally coming back after being broken for several years. Can't wait for that.
Like (1)
Version 65.0.2
Scott-Salbo
22 February 2019
Firefox is the best. It's fast enough, extendable, and widely compliant with every webpage. And it works with older hardware and doesn't spy on you like Google does. I just don't understand why people like Chrome. Even wirelessly printining from your computer to your own wireless printer requires going thru Google cloud print. Why? Firefox doesn't. No ther browser does that. It's called spying. Forget Chrome. Go Firefox.
Like (2)
Version 65.0.1
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
01 March 2019
To answer your question, at least for me: I keep Chrome around for native Google cast / Chrome Cast support. I do own a ChromeCast ultra, but the function is also built into other devices. Now with that said, I can cast from within iOS apps, and I do, but also having the option on the desktop is nice as well. Safari, only supports AirPlay, and Firefox doesn't seem to do either.
Like
David1
15 February 2019
Gave this a try the other day after ignoring it for a long time. It looks good, and I like the UI, but it doesn't play nice with my ad/malware blocker, Adguard. Sorry, Mozilla! I'm not going to turn off my protection.
Like
Version 65.0.1
2 answer(s)
joy_node
joy_node
19 February 2019
What's not working? Saw there is a Firefox plugin for Adguard. I would recommend switching to uBlock Origin add-on in Firefox.
Like (2)
David1
David1
19 February 2019
@joy_node, you probably saw the Adguard Ad Blocker, which works similarly to the uBlock Origin that you recommend. I would still have to disable Adguard Pro, which is a much more extensive and effective ad blocker than either one of these.
Like
Fishboy
30 January 2019
Version 65.0 -A few nice improvements with this version. Enhanced tracking protection and new, simplified content blocking settings And Firefox now supports Handoff on macOS.
Like (4)
Version 65.0
1 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
30 January 2019
Firefox 65.0 runs perfectly on 10.14.3.2.
Like (2)
outer
23 January 2019
Firefox 64.0.2 appears to have been broken by MacOS X v10.14.3. A box pops up "Profile Missing": "Your Firefox profile cannot be loaded. It may be missing or inaccessible." Clicking OK -> Firefox Quits without further ado or notice.
Like
Version 64.0.2
nobody2011
12 January 2019
Since FF version 62 our favorite game (i.e. miramagia.de) doesnt work anymore. After login the startup-screen shows "Loading Portal", some seconds later the game quits by FF. The same on version 63 and 64. Back to 61.0.2 that works perfectly.
Like
Version 64.0.2
1 answer(s)
sllsr
sllsr
13 January 2019
Find a new favorite game... you should not be using Adobe Flash in 2019. Quick outlook: Firefox 69 will disable Flash by default and that is a good design decision.
Like
Scion777
11 January 2019
PROBLEM. 64.0.2 broke many links with Youtube Audio and Video Downloader extension. Damn. I don't think this has happened in years. Not like this. Hopefully the FF extension(s) will be updated pronto.
Like
Version 64.0.2
Macfool
10 January 2019
v.64.0.2 YOUTUBE no longer sounds like Porky Pig.
Like
Version 64.0.2
frans-3
12 December 2018
Speedometer 2.0 index on Firefox 64 is 87.39.... Google Chrome reaches 97,85. safari still leads with a whopping 129,13. In other words: Firefox is slow on the Mac at least...
Like (1)
Version 64.0
kanarieb
03 December 2018
Firefox complaints +1 833 272 0777__Do like Firefox and the changes since version 57. The container extension allows me to work efficiently as a developer. https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/multi-account-containers/ Also this browser is OpenSource which means a great deal to me and can't be said about Chrome and Safari.
Like (1)
Version 63.0.3
Detlevski
17 November 2018
Great browser since version 57, fast and stable. Altough since version 63 I have problems with syncing my bookmarks. Password sync was great and worked very good, much better than the cumbersome password sync of Safari. Chrome is no option for me. Using a browser built by a marketing company ? I hope Mozilla fixes the sync problems.
Like (1)
Version 63.0.3
2 answer(s)
lesv
lesv
17 November 2018
You may want to add your vote to this bug or add your experience:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1508035
Like
Detlevski
Detlevski
17 November 2018
Thanks Lesv, I will put my report there.
Like
Leesa
02 November 2018
63.1 has been out for a few days.
Like
Version 63.0
Scion777
23 October 2018
Release Notes for FF 63: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/63.0/releasenotes/
Like (2)
Version 63.0
Macinman
23 October 2018
I'm doing this as a separate comment, as well as a reply to Yesterday's thread: Firefox 63.0 is officially out today. It pulled down through the auto update this morning, and it can also be downloaded from here: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=firefox-com
Like (1)
Version 63.0
Macinman
22 October 2018
I got notified that Firefox 63 was released, but the internal updater still says 62.03 is the latest. Was this miss information on MacUpdate's part, or has it just not populated to the auto updater yet?
Like (1)
Version 63.0
4 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
22 October 2018
Wanted to add, that the download at firefox.com, is also 62.03. Last time this happened, Macupdate had a hacked version,, or had wrong info.
Like (4)
Mousee
Mousee
22 October 2018
Thanks Macinman, and I can confirm that the latest version on the Mozilla site is still 62.0.3. BEWARE before updating with the links provided by Macupdate; check with the developers sites first, always.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
22 October 2018
Thanks Mousee for the confirmation. Usually MacUpdate has been accurate as when they announce a new release of Firefox, I have it already, or when I go to about Firefox, it downloads.via the auto updater, or it's on the official Firefox site. Hopefully if this was a hack these posts prevented another crypto infection like what happened before.
Like (1)
Macinman
Macinman
23 October 2018
Fireofox 63.0 is officially out today.
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/?utm_medium=referral&utm_source=firefox-com for confirmation. Also, it pulled down from the auto update as well. So it's safe to get it from Mozilla now.
Like
kofz
15 October 2018
This https://blog.mozilla.org/security/2018/10/10/delaying-further-symantec-tls-certificate-distrust/ is a really bad decision security wise and not at all in users interest. Please re-consider and keep the planned schedule to warn about Symantec Certificates in Firefox 63. That change is more than overdue!
Like (1)
Version 62.0.3
DragonMaster
08 October 2018
The only very best alternative to Safari 12! Lets you decide what you want to do with your browser. Fast, very flexible, powerful.
Like
Version 62.0.3
smithjc1978
03 October 2018
everytime firefox auto updates it breaks itself on my mac, any idea what is going on?
Like
Version 62.0.3
1 answer(s)
kofz
kofz
15 October 2018
Have you filed a bug with Mozilla and provided all technical details to help Mozilla understand what could be going wrong on your mac?
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/enter_bug.cgi
Like
Scion777
24 September 2018
MU ADMINISTRATORS: FF 62.0.2 was released today .....
Like (1)
Version 62.0
jwfw
06 September 2018
Open Source browser and the changes in version 62 are great. Finally revamped the dialog to add bookmarks and searching via tags has now better UI in the URL bar. Loving both changes. Now if MU could update the listing to version 62 would be sweet since v62 contains a ton of relevant security fixes user would want to be sure to be running.
Like (1)
Version 61.0.2
TravelPug2
17 August 2018
Good browser. Has extensions I use often.
Like
Version 61.0.2
lcov
02 August 2018
Do like Firefox and the changes since version 57. The container extension allows me to work efficiently as a developer. https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/multi-account-containers/ Also this browser is OpenSource which means a great deal to me and can't be said about Chrome and Safari.
Like (5)
Version 61.0.1
Poetry
01 August 2018
Once again, as of version 61.0.1 Firefox is not working with Google Hangouts, so I can't make calls.
Like
Version 61.0.1
2 answer(s)
lcov
lcov
02 August 2018
Try https://meet.jit.si/ as alternative.
Like (1)
Poetry
Poetry
02 August 2018
Thanks, but I only need audio.
Like
Aargl
08 July 2018
Quite funny: Google Chrome's new design will look a lot like pre-Quantum Firefox! :-D https://www.ghacks.net/2018/04/23/first-look-at-google-chromes-ui-design-refresh/
Like (1)
Version 61.0.1
Léoren
29 June 2018
I have very mixed feelings about this browser. Since the version 57, it is much more usable than before. I'm not a developer and I don't tinker with tons of addons any way, so I'm not impacted personnally by their decision of ditching lagacy extensions. The experience is snappy and enjoyable. However, on my personal Mac, Firefox runs the hottest in the comparison against Chrome and Safari. I'm actually quite shocked by this result. The CPU temps in summer sits around 50 °C for both Chrome and Safari. However, Firefox always hits 60 °C. If they could figure out why is this, it would be a good app for me.
Like
Version 61.0
smithjc1978
08 June 2018
It breaks or corrupts itself everytime the update runs, I have to completely uninstall then sometimes it will work with a new instalation. Pretty much done with it though, same thing is happening with opera, Chrome and Safari are the only ones that runs great all the time
Like
Version 60.0.2
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
27 June 2018
Although I rarely use FF anymore, I’m still running 52.0.6 ESR because all my extensions work.

I’m unwilling to part with my session manager that’s saved me so many times. Even Safari has a session manager extension!
Like
LeMerlot
07 June 2018
Fast and extendable.
Like
Version 60.0.2
Aargl
07 June 2018
Interesting stats about browsers: https://www.stetic.com/market-share/browser/
It's noticeable how little influence Firefox Quantum has been of!
Instead, the most significant event seems each new Chrome version: people run for it in the following month, weakening the others (Safari is less impacted), then the balance is more or less restored.
It seems, though, that Chrome's growth is unavoidable, as is Firefox's decline... :-(
N.B.: of course, the data should be filtered by platform as Chrome is probably a lot more used on mobile than any other.
Like
Version 60.0.2
eglouise6
05 June 2018
Good as a second bowser
Like
Version 60.0.1