Back to Firefox page
Firefox free download for Mac

Firefox Reviews

21 April 2021

Fast, safe Web browser.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
christinev594
christinev594
Apr 4 2021
87.0
4.0
Apr 4 2021
4.0
Version: 87.0
Nice. Using it for more than 7 years. But today it's more like an independent privacy isle nor bloat machine.
incrzr
incrzr
Mar 24 2021
86.0.1
1.0
Mar 24 2021
1.0
Version: 86.0.1
Why do i have to wait a whole minute after launching Firefox until something loads??????
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Mar 23 2021
86.0.1
5.0
Mar 23 2021
5.0
Version: 86.0.1
Firefox is probably still losing market share to Chrome (which is thinly disguised spyware) and Safari (which is mushy and unconfigurable) but it's still the best, safest, most adaptable browser for Mac. Although I would dearly like Mozilla to make "tabs on bottom" a preference (if not a default) and I go ballistic every time the developers plop them back on top, I would still GLADLY PAY TO SUPPORT the product. Although "Pocket" really didn't pan out, I have come to appreciate "containers." Please, Mozilla, don't let Firefox die. -SB
nicolewilson793
nicolewilson793
Mar 3 2021
86.0
5.0
Mar 3 2021
5.0
Version: 86.0
Total Cookies Protection is awesome feature! Thanks!
slaterinabus
slaterinabus
Mar 1 2021
86.0
5.0
Mar 1 2021
5.0
Version: 86.0
Total Cookie Protection in Strict Mode Privacy Settings is an awesome new feature. Actually it is how cookies should always have worked. Thanks Mozilla!
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
Feb 10 2021
85.0.2
4.0
Feb 10 2021
4.0
Version: 85.0.2
All things considered, Firefox is the best browser IMHO.
Wanted4000
Wanted4000
Feb 5 2021
85.0
4.0
Feb 5 2021
4.0
Version: 85.0
Firefox is a great browser that is fast and secure. The one thing that annoys me is the fact that it doesn't follow well the changes between dark and light mode; it always gets stuck in dark mode, even when MacOs has automatically changed to light mode. There are websites that follow this change as well (like Twitter and YouTube), and that is also not reflected. A fix would be nice.
vettester1
vettester1
Jan 7 2021
84.0.1
0.0
Jan 7 2021
0.0
Version: 84.0.1
Love firewall
vallee-blanche
vallee-blanche
Dec 17 2020
83.0
4.0
Dec 17 2020
4.0
Version: 83.0
Sandbox this properly and get 5 stars.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
83.0
4.0
Dec 7 2020
4.0
Version: 83.0
Good programme. Chrome renders faster so I hope Firefox will render just as quick in an update.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Nov 26 2020
83.0
4.0
Nov 26 2020
4.0
Version: 83.0
Firefox 83.0 appears to be causing conflicts with Instagram on macOS Big Sur. Since 83.0 update, if you click an IG link, you are directed to the IG log-in page, not the actual linked page. If you paste an IG user account address directly into the browser, Firefox again re-directs you to the IG log-in page.
Sitting-In-The-Sun
Sitting-In-The-Sun
Nov 22 2020
83.0
1.0
Nov 22 2020
1.0
Version: 83.0
Been a long term user of ff. However it constantly causing my mac to crash on launch. Mac has big sur installed.
ferdous200
ferdous200
Nov 22 2020
83.0
0.0
Nov 22 2020
0.0
Version: 83.0
I find Firefox simple and fast. Provides comfort and security on the net. Blocks all non essentials from the net.
Macinman
Macinman
Nov 21 2020
83.0
5.0
Nov 21 2020
5.0
Version: 83.0
Hey all, was wondering if someone could help me here. I'm having a strange issue with Firefox and Big Sur. When I launch Firefox, and I have notifications from Youtube waiting, it will show duplicates. I have only noticed this as of FF 83. 82.0.3 didn't have this behavior, and none of my other notifications act strange in Big Sur, in fact, the upgrade has been extremely solid and smooth for me with mainly cosmetic glitches from time to time. I am trying to find out if this is a Big Sur bug, a Firefox bug, or a Youtube bug. The latest chrome under Big sur also shows YT notifications correctly. The funny part is, it's only when I first start FF, this happens. If it's running and I get a YT notification about a video, etc, I see it once as expected. I've cleared all of YouTube's site data from fF, disabled notifications fir FF and YT and re enabled each, and even restarted. If anyone else has experienced this please let me know especially if you were able to resolve this. Thanks
nolen
nolen
Nov 17 2020
83.0
5.0
Nov 17 2020
5.0
Version: 83.0
Loving the new https only option. And improved speeds via SpiderMonkey is a welcome addition.
Tom-25
Tom-25
Nov 4 2020
82.0.2
2.0
Nov 4 2020
2.0
Version: 82.0.2
I'm upset with the lost of account connection. Each time I launch Firefox I have to connect, enter my name and password, wait for the confirmation code, enter it ! Each time, each time, each time :-(
Leesa
Leesa
Oct 23 2020
82.0
1.0
Oct 23 2020
1.0
Version: 82.0
Horrible Crap.... after it jumped my CPU Usage up to 400% it froze for 5 minutes... then when I tried to quit it, it froze again for 5 minutes.
fleur2metaline-1
fleur2metaline-1
Oct 21 2020
82.0
5.0
Oct 21 2020
5.0
Version: 82.0
This version is incredibly fast! As much for launching the application as for loading web pages. In addition, there are a ton of additions to customize the browser.
Tim27
Tim27
Oct 21 2020
82.0
0.0
Oct 21 2020
0.0
Version: 82.0
Who’s waiting for Firefox 100? Woohoo!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 20 2020
81.0.2
4.0
Oct 20 2020
4.0
Version: 81.0.2
Firefox is now at v82.0. That is what will download from the link.
heikkistahl
heikkistahl
Oct 19 2020
81.0.1
0.0
Oct 19 2020
0.0
Version: 81.0.1
Many, many years of using Firefox browser in Windows and Mac machines. Now I have a strange problem in my iMac Catalina machine with Firefox 81.0.2 (64-bit). I am not able to sign into my user account in some web seller's page and not able to open their responses to me. Firefox 81.0.2 just complains that I should allow cookies, which I do. By contrast I am able perform those tasks in my MacBook machine running Mojave and Firefox browser 81.0.1 (64-bit) having the same cookie settings.
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Oct 15 2020
81.0.1
1.0
Oct 15 2020
1.0
Version: 81.0.1
Slooooowwww, Very, very, very, slow .... Lots of "page timed out" / "connection timed out" / "Resend" messages constantly popping up. Why? Microsoft Edge and Epic web browsers are doing this when used on the same computer with the same internet connection. I even tried disabling my add-ons to see if that made a difference, but sadly, no ....
cas1128
cas1128
Oct 4 2020
80.0.1
0.0
Oct 4 2020
0.0
Version: 80.0.1
Hi all, I need help! I'm new to MAC and tried installing Firefox but all I see is the .dmg file. I can click and it opens but when I restart my computer I have to restart it so all my bookmarks are gone. What am I NOT doing please?
brisharionline
brisharionline
Sep 25 2020
80.0.1
5.0
Sep 25 2020
5.0
Version: 80.0.1
It the best thing since sliced bread. Especially for MAC
mrperfect
mrperfect
Sep 17 2020
80.0.1
5.0
Sep 17 2020
5.0
Version: 80.0.1
It took awhile to learn all of the features and now I love it. The debugger is better, and the sync is better. And the privacy is better. Keep up the good work.
huleabdicevic
huleabdicevic
Sep 15 2020
80.0.1
0.0
Sep 15 2020
0.0
Version: 80.0.1
Vry got
pogahhh
pogahhh
Aug 23 2020
79.0
0.0
Aug 23 2020
0.0
Version: 79.0
I have Mac OS X 10.6.8 there is nothing to update. thank you anyway.
Aargl
Aargl
Aug 12 2020
79.0
3.0
Aug 12 2020
3.0
Version: 79.0
Bad bad news for FFx users! :-o https://www.zdnet.com/article/mozilla-lays-off-250-employees-while-it-refocuses-on-commercial-products/
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Jul 31 2020
79.0
2.0
Jul 31 2020
2.0
Version: 79.0
Goodbye El Capitan. Firefox > 78 is no longer compatible with macOS 10.11.
mherndz-1
mherndz-1
Jul 19 2020
78.0.2
2.0
Jul 19 2020
2.0
Version: 78.0.2
Back to Safari. Firefox has been having troubles signing in to NY unemployment site. Now it just cannot get through. Safari was able to get through without a hitch, so goodbye Firefox. Can't risk using it for important sites anymore. :( A shame…
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 4 2020
77.0
0.0
Jun 4 2020
0.0
Version: 77.0
HEADS UP, a 77.0.1 update was released in less than 24 hours after 77.0.0 was released, fixing a fairly important bug that shipped in 77.0. MU will probably take awhile to even register the 77.0.1, so if this page is still showing 77.0, you may want to go direct to Mozilla and download the .0.1 update.
Aargl
Aargl
Jun 4 2020
77.0
3.0
Jun 4 2020
3.0
Version: 77.0
MU> The FAQ here above need correcting: "What is the latest version of Firefox for Mac? Firefox 45.9.0esr is the latest running version with security fixes." ;-)
tkachenko.darija
tkachenko.darija
Jun 4 2020
77.0
5.0
Jun 4 2020
5.0
Version: 77.0
tt
mrperfect
mrperfect
Jun 3 2020
77.0
5.0
Jun 3 2020
5.0
Version: 77.0
Little bit of a re-learning curve. But after a couple months I love it. Sayonara Safari.
incrzr
incrzr
May 7 2020
75.0
1.0
May 7 2020
1.0
Version: 75.0
I don't like it. No option for custom keyboard shortcuts and it uses 10x more CPU than other browsers (Safari, Brave, Chromium).
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
May 2 2020
75.0
4.0
May 2 2020
4.0
Version: 75.0
Firefox is a browser I use on macOS Catalina, iOS 13, and Windows 10. It's been incredibly useful for the past several years, but the recently introduced privacy controls have made it exceptional. Using Sync to keep my bookmarks, passwords, and site preferences across devices is amazing. Having Lockwise on iPhone allows me to get at those to feed my information to apps carefully. The one downfall I've recently seen is that 4 GB of RAM on Catalina means that Firefox won't work correctly. Still, I'm using a mid-2012 MacBook Pro and now, with 16 GB, Firefox seems as good and quick as it did when this machine was new. It doesn't seem to work quite as well on Hulu as it should but that's because of the privacy controls not allowing some advertisers to stream their bits. I can use Safari for that because it doesn't seem to have much in the way of privacy controls.
daljeetghai
daljeetghai
May 2 2020
75.0
5.0
May 2 2020
5.0
Version: 75.0
The Browser Is quite fast and I am also happy about the Savenet site, which I presume is safe.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Apr 27 2020
75.0
5.0
Apr 27 2020
5.0
Version: 75.0
Firefox as a general browser works wonders for me on a really old 2011 machine. Safe, fast and compatible. The only letdown I feel is older add-ons have lost support. That's a good thing though as Firefox evolving means better security and it's the add-on developers that need to update their software when Firefox changes. I feel verifiably safer using FF and every media site I use Soundcloud, Spotify, Netflix, HBO, youtube, vimeo and so on works fine as do all sites. If one doesn't, I add my own controls with add-ons to adjust things like presentation or scripts.
obeyscooplaw
obeyscooplaw
Apr 22 2020
75.0
1.0
Apr 22 2020
1.0
Version: 75.0
Firefox does not run on my MacBook pro with Catalina V10.15.4 :-( I must add that Chrome will not run either... :-(
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Apr 12 2020
75.0
5.0
Apr 12 2020
5.0
Version: 75.0
Firefox is, sadly, dying a slow death, steadily losing market share (since at least 2015) mostly to "Chrome," and no doubt taking parent company Mozilla down with it. Mozilla, to avoid operating in the red, and top-heavy with clueless management, is shedding developers and is still looking for a permanent CEO. The 'Pocket' acquisition, which somehow Mozilla execs (who are largely impervious to input from actual users) thought would GENERATE revenue, is no doubt an abysmal and money-sucking failure, and is emblematic of their inability to position FF in the market. Experienced, tech-savvy FF users don't need Pocket -- it's a glorified bookmark recorder -- and no one using a different browser is going to switch to FF to use it. (BTW, you can shut down Pocket from about:config, by setting extensions.pocket.enabled to FALSE.) And while on that subject, why does FF still have hundreds, if not thousands, of obtuse preferences (that DON'T SYNC) still accessible only via the barely documented about:config? (see: (http://kb.mozillazine.org/About:config_entries#Advanced.) So very strange. And please, no more smug comments that people like me -- longtime FF users -- should use a different browser. Firefox, for all its faults, is still the BEST and SAFEST BROWSER available. Mozilla should be HAPPY that we haven't jumped ship, even as it makes FF more difficult use. It's a shame, though, that the company still really doen't "get it and simply doesn't care about customer imput -- including comments like these. Too bad. Bottom line: Enjoy Firefox while you can, people, because its days are numbered. -SB
trebron
trebron
Apr 11 2020
75.0
5.0
Apr 11 2020
5.0
Version: 75.0
Firefox 75 no remembers which space a window was on when restore session is used. This is outstanding. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. The actual bug for this is 12 years old: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=440895
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Apr 8 2020
74.0.1
5.0
Apr 8 2020
5.0
Version: 74.0.1
Firefox, with its silly insistence on incrementing version numbers every week, is now at version 75.0. There is still no support for TABS ON BOTTOM, so it's back to mucking in css code. If you peruse the Mozilla support forums, you'll see that, contrary to what some commenters here -- I call them the "5-Star Shills" -- claim (and wish), there are a number of longtime FF users who desire this simple feature, which was the DEFAULT for years. Not holding my breath. On the other hand, I did finally try Mozilla's heavily promoted "Pocket," for which it shelled out millions to buy. I don't see why experienced FF users would bother with it -- you can achieve the same functionality with bookmarks placed into a folder. Among Mozilla's extravagant claims for Pocket is that it is "built in" to FireFox. That is absolutely false and deliberately misleading. Pocket requires the user to create an account on the Pocket website and to login to it before Pocket can be used -- EVERY TIME FF is fired up. The site itself is poorly conceived. It offers a "dark mode," but that feature is evidently set in a cookie, because if you delete your cookies periodically (which you SHOULD DO if you care about PRIVACY) it's back to the default mode. Firefox strongly suggests that you use your FF login credentials with Pocket -- a practice that most security professionals say is a BAD IDEA -- so much for FF's supposed emphasis on security. And by the way, 1Password (or probably any other password manager) is blocked by default from auto-filling login credentials on Mozilla sites. This is perhaps because Mozilla is now pushing FireFox "Lockwise," evidently hoping to displace established managers like 1Password and others. Like Pocket, Lockwise is a "solution," probably an expensive one to implement, that few FF uses have likely asked for -- because they've probably already used a password manager for years. But FireFox has succumbed to what used to be known as "rampant featuritis": solutions in search of problems, all designed to keep the user in the evolving FF ecosystem. And by the way, Mozilla hopes to monetize Pocket with its "Premium" product which is -- not kidding -- a monthly or annual SUBSCRIPTION. By the way, if you want TABS ON BOTTOM: <https://github.com/Aris-t2/CustomCSSforFx/#unlock-custom-css-usage-in-firefox-69-and-newer> Best regards, -SB. And I'll look forward to incomings from you 5-Star Shills. Toodles!
trebron
trebron
Apr 8 2020
74.0.1
5.0
Apr 8 2020
5.0
Version: 74.0.1
This listing needs to be updated. Version 75 has been released: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/75.0/releasenotes/ The update is quite nice, as it immensely improves the search bar. Search suggestions now hide the https:// and www parts of an URL. I like that!
DistrictDawg
DistrictDawg
Apr 5 2020
74.0.1
5.0
Apr 5 2020
5.0
Version: 74.0.1
Use this browser daily and love it. Loads faster than Chrome and is more stable than Safari.
cirrus-cirrus
cirrus-cirrus
Feb 24 2020
73.0.1
0.0
Feb 24 2020
0.0
Version: 73.0.1
Latest update to 53.0.1 wiped out several parts of my High Sierra system - contacts, calendar etc - tread very carefully
anonymous-meadowlark-4859
anonymous-meadowlark-4859
Feb 19 2020
73.0
5.0
Feb 19 2020
5.0
Version: 73.0
Excellent browser and love all it's features; yes I have used others; Vivaldi, Safari, Chrome, Opera; all have something to offer, but Firefox hit me with a brick, after I learned how to sync my account, so I will lose nothing. The 'Generic forks; Cliqz, Waterfox, Pale Moon and others do not present the needed security updates and new versions as quick as Firefox. Firefox is at 73.01, and is rock solid. I do not have a cell phone, so my data is synced with Firefox. I read the complaints by choice, reviews; that will not stand in my way. If you are not a fan of FF, please use another browser that floats your boat; that is using a "moral compass"
slaterinabus
slaterinabus
Feb 16 2020
73.0
5.0
Feb 16 2020
5.0
Version: 73.0
Great Update. Mozilla also just updated the Firefox Multi-Account Containers add-on to version 6.2 which now supports syncing. This is incredibly useful and has been one of the most common feature requests.
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Feb 16 2020
73.0
5.0
Feb 16 2020
5.0
Version: 73.0
Ah, another week, another FireFox version update. Last week: 72. This week: 73. I just can't wait for version 125 a year from now. Of course, 72 broke 71's "tabs on bottom" CSS code. Will some brave soul check to see if 73 breaks 72's code? I'm sure it will. And adding a simple "tabs on bottom" preference (which tens, if not hundreds, of thousands of FireFox jockeys want) is not going to happen, not while Mozilla's top executives are busy making multi-million dollar acquisitions of things like "Pocket," which nobody wants. What happened to you, FireFox?
winchester-419
winchester-419
Feb 13 2020
73.0
4.0
Feb 13 2020
4.0
Version: 73.0
Basially ok but had trouble with the Password collecting and then completing the information when logging onto websites, Unable to get any help from Firefox or find help on the internet - very frustrating for a so called benefit for joining in the first place - Has occured after an update
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Jan 9 2020
72.0.1
5.0
Jan 9 2020
5.0
Version: 72.0.1
Ah, a new year, 2020, a new Firefox, and time to vent. I've always hated Safari, such a "mushy" browser, with that slick and nauseating Apple sheen. Ugh. And Chrome -- if you want to sell your soul to Google's brand of "surveillance capitalism," be my guest. So we're stuck with Firefox. Firefox was OK, functional if a bit homely, up until they began to up their version numbers every week or 10 days. Soon we'll be up to version 172. Firefox now piles features upon features and options upon options with every new release, more than anyone could use. And "Mozilla" (who ever dreamed up that dumb name?) is so proud of their megabucks "Pocket" acquisition (neither wanted nor used by rank and file users) but -- God forbid -- if you're a knuckle-dragger who still wants "tabs on bottom" they make you muck endlessly around in CSS code for a fix, and break it with every new release. No amount of begging influences the high flying execs at Mozilla, cruising comfortably at 40,000 feet. So instead of a light, tight, kickass browser we end up with a piece of overcooked corporate bloatware. Swell. Anyway, thanks for listening folks. I owe you one. -SB