Back to Spell Catcher X page
Spell Catcher X free download for Mac

Spell Catcher X Reviews10.4.1

15 December 2011

Global spell checking utility for OS X 10.5-10.7.

How would you rate Spell Catcher X?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
gettingshorter
gettingshorter
May 3 2020
10.4.1
5.0
May 3 2020
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
Single best spell checker on the marked even if it’s generations behind. Best interactive Spell checking & easy -correctingctionary built in, thesaurus and dictionary and best of all it's the single best key-logger ("Ghost Writer") that captures all characters up until the last word (in ANY field) you typed before you lost the doc, they're all filed separately in a folder dated and named with the app and time that the disaster happened. No complicated "genius" sentence that you constructed can be lost. It's all in the folder!
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Sep 28 2018
10.4.1
0.0
Sep 28 2018
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
Good news: this product still runs even under 10.14 (Mojave)! Amazing coding still works after all these years. This will be the last however as the next major update to the OS will no longer run 32-bit applications.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 21 2016
10.4.1
4.0
Nov 21 2016
4.0
Version: 10.4.1
v10.3.7 still works on macOS 10.12.x Sierra! Amazing! What a testimony to it's developer, who passed on years ago. (^_^)

Please, someone: Pickup where the developer left off and keep this app going forever! Make this Open Source! What would I do without Spell Catcher? I can't imagine.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Oct 6 2015
10.4.1
0.0
Oct 6 2015
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
Still running for me under 10.11. Slow in the app itself but otherwise, functioning.
jeff-38
jeff-38
Sep 2 2015
10.4.1
3.0
Sep 2 2015
3.0
Version: 10.4.1
Great Mac app but no longer works.
steph-2
steph-2
Aug 11 2015
10.4.1
5.0
Aug 11 2015
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
I miss this app! Is Linguisoft working on this now?
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 12 2015
10.4.1
4.0
Jul 12 2015
4.0
Version: 10.4.1
v10.3.7 is still working on the latest version of OS X 10.11 El Capitan. Thank goodness. It remains the only spelling application I can stand using. The thing remains brilliant, despite some slight creakiness with age. Who'd have guessed?

But just for safety's sake: I wish Spell Catcher would go open source in order to allow it to continue to have a prominent place in Mac history forever onward! Or at least someone take over the development and return it to a living future!
roby2222
roby2222
Mar 29 2015
10.4.1
1.0
Mar 29 2015
1.0
Version: 10.4.1
I have loved this program for years, but it simply does not perform well under Yosemite. I had to delete it because it could not keep up with my tying (and I am not a fast typist). It was scrambling about every forth word or so. Real shame, because it simply was the best there was for a long time.
Iain-Reilly
Iain-Reilly
Mar 17 2015
10.4.1
4.5
Mar 17 2015
4.5
Version: 10.4.1
Great app
Billindg
Billindg
Jan 21 2015
10.4.1
3.5
Jan 21 2015
3.5
Version: 10.4.1
Spell Catcher is still working for me under 10.10.1. I added a copy of the input menu app to the root Library /Library/Input Methods/SpellCatcherIM.app in addition to user level Library copy. Also after adding SC to the Input Sources menu in the Keyboard Prefs pane you may need to do a restart.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Oct 19 2014
10.4.1
0.0
Oct 19 2014
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
So is Spell Catcher dead under Yosemite (10.10?). I'm at a loss to get it working. Had to quit just to type with two different keyboards.
Shipmac
Shipmac
Sep 20 2013
10.4.1
5.0
Sep 20 2013
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
I have been using Spell Catcher for years, even before OS X (I even would not upgrade to OSX until Spell Catcher was ready!). Just been to check the website and I get a WEBSITE MALWARE WARNING from Google. Hope this is fixed soon (20Sep2013). Even more so I hope some developer will buy Spell Catcher and bring it into line with the latest software. It is struggling in Mountain Lion, and may well be even worse in Mavericks. Spell Catcher is (or was) leagues ahead of Typinator (which has some odd quirks and does not work with all apps). No other app had inbuilt Ghostwriter as well as the many other features Spell Catcher has. Come back soon Spell Catcher
Joypebble
Joypebble
Jul 14 2013
10.4.1
5.0
Jul 14 2013
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
Spell Catcher has been a worthy sidekick in my writing career. If it is possible to love an application, count me in. SC is an unbelievably easy-to-learn and bulletproof spelling helper that works cross-platform on every single writing application that live on my computer and wherever else I post. Evan Gross was relentlessly gracious in helping users like me past self-inflicted glitches. I salute him and his creativity and dedication. I hope some company with resident marketing geniuses will snatch Spell Catcher up and give it another 20 years. ---JP
-M-S-
-M-S-
Jul 19 2012
10.4.1
0.0
Jul 19 2012
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
From Rainmaker Research: "It is with great sadness that Rainmaker Research Inc. announces the loss of it's founder, Evan Michael Gross, who passed away suddenly at the end of June, 2012. "Evan was the author of Spell Catcher software and owner of Rainmaker Research Inc. The original version was released as Thunder! in 1986 and evolved into what we know as Spell Catcher X today. "SpellCatcher has a loyal, diverse user base. Please refer to our tribute page created to honour Evan, who was a great guy, ahead of his time, and will be sorely missed by family, friends, colleagues and Spell Catcher users. "Rainmaker Research Inc. will not be able to provide technical support at this time, until further notice." http://www.rainmakerinc.com/company/tribute.html
UNOwen
UNOwen
Jan 23 2012
10.4.1
4.0
Jan 23 2012
4.0
Version: 10.4.1
A good 'ole' application, that only improves with time.
Pengman
Pengman
Jan 7 2012
10.4.1
5.0
Jan 7 2012
5.0
Version: 10.4.1
This is simply a great app. Works on -all- my programs including Firefox. Invaluable. I work in the media and I am VERY impressed.
Jayme-Bertelli
Jayme-Bertelli
Dec 23 2011
10.4.1
1.5
Dec 23 2011
1.5
Version: 10.4.1
Does not work with Microsoft Word for Mac and is not better than the available spelling tool of the Microsoft. Poor video tutorials
Duncan-Adams
Duncan-Adams
Dec 23 2011
10.4.1
2.5
Dec 23 2011
2.5
Version: 10.4.1
This program has helped me greatly over the years ... the problem is that about every other new build is buggy .. at least for me . If you by it on deal this round ... great ... but ask for an older version ... it will work better . I had to go back to one . Every time I update I cross my fingers .
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Dec 13 2011
10.4.1
0.0
Dec 13 2011
0.0
Version: 10.4.1
The release notes say "New Special Key for use in shorthand expansions to explicitly specify the final position of the insertion point (Insert pop-up > Special Key > Position Cursor Here)." I can't find any further explanation of this feature in Spell Catcher Help or on the Spell Catcher web site. From what little they do say it's not clear to me how this feature works. The above description helps me not at all. I like Spell Catcher and have used it for many years, which makes it all the more aggravating when they do such a poor job of explaining new features like this. And I can find no easy way to contact the developer for an explanation. So I'm posting here as a last resort. If a developer is going to implement a new feature in their software the least they own their paid users is a decent explanation of how to use it.
rjsef6
rjsef6
Nov 30 2011
10.4
4.5
Nov 30 2011
4.5
Version: 10.4
This is an exceptional helper app. It has quite a few settings but that’s because it can do so much and you can control so many attributes. I’ve recently had a problem with my system and this app (not the app’s fault), and the support I got from the company was outstanding. They solved my system’s problem. I’ve become a very loyal customer because of the combination of product and support.
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Jun 17 2011
10.4
4.0
Jun 17 2011
4.0
Version: 10.4
Another upgrade and still no Polish language...:(
Tedg
Tedg
Jun 11 2011
10.4
5.0
Jun 11 2011
5.0
Version: 10.4
I’ve been using this for well over a decade. It just works and I consider it an essential application.
Sum1
Sum1
Jun 10 2011
10.4
0.5
Jun 10 2011
0.5
Version: 10.4
Overpriced piece of software with a stone age feel and looks. Please update your user interface and have a better warning system other than that annoying female voice.
Wts
Wts
Jun 10 2011
10.4
0.0
Jun 10 2011
0.0
Version: 10.4
First time ever i am not upgrading! The upgrade price not reasonable. I would pay about ten bucks but not the upgrade price @ 50% of original price.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jun 7 2011
10.4
0.0
Jun 7 2011
0.0
Version: 10.4
This is the first time I've hesitated to upgrade Spell Catcher - and I've been using it since Mac OS 7.x. I hesitate, not because it's a paid upgrade, but because I personally have no need for the new features on offer. I'm not saying others won't find them useful; no doubt some people have been jonesing for the ability to insert styled text, to sync using Mobile Me and so on. But it never occurred to me these things were missing from Spell Catcher. And money is tight these days. I can't justify paying for features I don't need. For me this is a bridge too far.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Jun 6 2011
10.4
3.0
Jun 6 2011
3.0
Version: 10.4
I love SpellCatcher when it’s running. Unfortunately it stops (not a crash) and I have to re-inable it from the menu bar 3 -4 times a day. I’ve tried all of Evan’s suggestions to fix it but none lasts for long.
Garlicbreath
Garlicbreath
Jun 6 2011
10.4
0.0
Jun 6 2011
0.0
Version: 10.4
Something left out of the long, detailed description above: this is a paid upgrade from 10.3.7. Nothing in the in-app upgrade process tells you this until after you've installed it. Most software companies would change the version from 10.x to 11.x to indicate a paid upgrade. Just so you know...
Zweetlucht
Zweetlucht
May 29 2011
10.3.7
4.5
May 29 2011
4.5
Version: 10.3.7
I use Spell Catcher X with the Dutch language file and it's working like a charm. The only reason I don't rate it with five stars is that Spell Catcher X does require some tweaking in the preferences menu, which is quit extensive with the all the features this program has to offer, and so isn't very easy to set-up for a beginner like me. Another big plus is that Spell Catcher X also handles shorthands very well, so I don't have to buy other software like TypeIt4Me, TextExpander or Typinator.
Evaluator
Evaluator
Jan 9 2011
10.3.7
2.5
Jan 9 2011
2.5
Version: 10.3.7
Simply a weak demo effort. All I experienced was a female voice questioned some of my usage. There was no self-correction and poorly worded emails went out without comment. I have used this software years ago and find is much less useful now. In a Demo mode, show your stuff! Don't hide what you can do. I have removed the app for basically being useless.
Raven-
Raven-
Dec 23 2010
10.3.7
4.5
Dec 23 2010
4.5
Version: 10.3.7
SpellCatchers works for me great... in this world of mass internet and non speaking English it is a must!!!! A great tool that WORKS for me.
Grandpa-John
Grandpa-John
Dec 22 2010
10.3.7
5.0
Dec 22 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.7
I am with Espiridion. Spell Catcher has been around since around Mac OS 8 and has been indispensable for me. It is always working in the background and has built in dictionaries and Thesauri to draw on. It can also scan the Internet for other resources. The version for Snow Leopard now works with 64bit applications and is fast and accurate. Great work Evan!
Espiridion
Espiridion
Dec 22 2010
10.3.7
5.0
Dec 22 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.7
I completely agree with Cenocre when he writes "Hard to comprehend these bad reviews" I've used Spell Catcher for about a decade, and it is an essential application for me. It has a wide range of features so initial setup may take a bit of work. For those having trouble, it has a thorough Help, a tutorial, a forum, and Evan is very responsive. If it still is complicated, Macupdate allows people to rate Ease of Use. Rating the software itself I give it 5 stars. I use it for spell checking in different languages, shorthand expansion, statistics, manipulating text, etc. Ironically, he best endorsement may come from Stevebaron not using it and typing "bad!" as a review, fitting multiple errors in only 4 characters. ;)
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Dec 13 2010
10.3.6
4.0
Dec 13 2010
4.0
Version: 10.3.6
I will not give my rating to this because for now when I get this from MacUpdate Bundle is for me totally useless...why or why there is no support for Polish language . Is Poland less important or have less mac users than Portugal ? or Russia?
Gfm1958
Gfm1958
Dec 4 2010
10.3.6
0.0
Dec 4 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.6
If one is using a couple of languages in a single document, does Spell Catcher recognize the different languages and flag misspellings as one moves through the document? Or.....does one set Spell Catcher for one language and then set it again for another language in the same document? Thks for helping me to understand this nuance.
Cenocre
Cenocre
Jun 6 2010
10.3.5
4.0
Jun 6 2010
4.0
Version: 10.3.5
Wow. Hard to comprehend these bad reviews. I have been using Spell Catcher for over 20 years (since it's earliest days when named Thunder), and consider it to be one of the most essential pieces of software on my Macs. It is one of the few pieces of software that I recommend it to my clients. It seems that some of the bad reviews are by people who don't understand the program. It is not just a spell checker!! It also allows you to type in shorthand with auto expansion, records keystrokes (which has saved my butt numerous times), and has easy to access references. The spell check is much better than Apple's as it has MANY more features. However, it is the shorthand is in constant use by me and I fly though writing emails, writing code, CSS, and HTML as all I have to do is type a few characters and Spell Catcher finishes it for me. As for CPU usage, most of the time it shows up as 0.0% in Activity Monitor. It will jump momentarily to something like 1.5% very briefly when doing a check. That is fine performance.
Werfblau
Werfblau
Jun 1 2010
10.3.5
5.0
Jun 1 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.5
It‘s working great for me, I'm using this nice application since a lon time. It's really easy to switch between languages (I'm writing in Englisch, French and German) - and the biggest advantage for me is: it's one spell checker for all applications, I had to learn it once and it's working for all programs I use in the same way.
Max-G
Max-G
May 27 2010
10.3.4
2.0
May 27 2010
2.0
Version: 10.3.4
I am looking for a good multi-functional, multi-language textcorrector and expander etc. Spell Catcher seemed to be the first choice, also due to the positive comments here... Downloaded it and played around with it a bit. After 20 minutes or so I gave up. Horrible interface, unintuitive, messy preference-pane, could not get several fuctions to work... And I'm not entirely a newbee to say the least... Took a look on the developers' site for more info etc.. Same messy interface... Looks like from 10 years ago or so... While more limited in their functions, TextExpander and Typinator are both much better, and spelling, well, I have to stick with Apple built-in stuff...
ososX
ososX
Apr 4 2010
10.3.4
1.0
Apr 4 2010
1.0
Version: 10.3.4
I got this shareware as a part of a “macupdate” bundle for $50 (with a bunch of other useless utilities). I installed it since I do make a lot of spelling mistakes, and I hopped that it will provide a support which is better than Apple's. After a few weeks of having this shareware installed, I still don't have a clue as for what it is good for aside for adding long useless menus all over the place (for example it added huge number of redundant “services”). The preferences menu is a M$ like menu - unclear and unintuitive as the rest of this shareware. The worst part is that it introduce to new language menus that APPEAR IN THE LANGUAGE MENU EACH AND EVRY TIME THAT S-C IS RESTARTED IN SPITE OF BEING DEACTIVATED IN THE LANGUAGE CONTROL PANNEL. This is a serious annoying bug. And it cost $40 (the entire bundle cost $50 and it includes Parallel 5). My conclusion is ABSOLUTELY USELESS !
Aladnam
Aladnam
Mar 27 2010
10.3.4
0.0
Mar 27 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
OK, I tried this app, looked like it was "free" but only trial, My bad. I am a neophyte; but fool me once shame on me.... Now I upgraded to 10.62 and the "uninstalled" spell catcher program that had previously not been an issue now causes a pop up to apppear refering to the spelling program that does not exist except for a remaining icon on the toolbar. It seems to happen randomly. Very annoying. I want to completely remove Spell Catcher, icon also. How do? The icon is on what I call the Mac toolbar in between the volume and battery indicator. Any help appreciated. I am sure this app is handy to some but I tire of businesses in general that make it easy to get in but hard to get out. The overpromising and underdelivering seems to be prevalent everywhere these days, but when it rears its head I am gone. This is a test. No response necessary; just fix it!
Tfj222
Tfj222
Mar 23 2010
10.3.4
0.0
Mar 23 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
I bought this with the latest MacUpdate promo and I was very annoyed after installing this to find out that for getting support for my mother languageNorwegian, I have to pay an additional fee to get it. I'ts a scam. I will uninstall it immediately and ban it from my computer. (If I manage to uninstall it. Based on other commenters here it can be difficult)
meenno
meenno
Mar 19 2010
10.3.4
0.0
Mar 19 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.4
This is one of the ugliest apps I've ever seen on Mac OS X. The functions it provides are not as rich as I expected. The setting/preferences panel is a pure mess. The UI in general is like a mediocre Windows app. It's simply a thorn in the eye. A headache for new users like me.
mcrisci-1
mcrisci-1
Jan 20 2010
10.3.4
3.0
Jan 20 2010
3.0
Version: 10.3.4
I used to love Spell Catcher. I've owned it from the beginning. Now I just find it an annoyance. My biggest complaint is Spell Catcher opens up when I don't want it to! Every time I open some sort of word processor or even FireFox or Safari, it gets invoked. It's unnecessary for me. And it's frustrating that I have no control over it. When I posted to the forum looking for help to stop that, the reply I got was that it's a "feature." Sound like a "bug" to me. I don't want that as a feature. I want Spell Catcher to open up when I want it to. I looked all over for the manual override, but cannot find any. I'm ready to trash it off my system. Any suggestions???
No-One
No-One
Jan 15 2010
10.3.3
5.0
Jan 15 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
I love this application! very useful as well as functional. I especially like the speech command setting. One thing I would like to see added to this wonderful application is the ability to see wikipedia articles when "looking up" words. Overall, beautiful application, expect me to buy it soon.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jan 15 2010
10.3.3
0.0
Jan 15 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.3
I have to agree with the positive reviewers. Keeping up compatibility as OS X has evolved hasn't been easy, I'm sure. But I've been using Spell Catcher since the days of OS 7 and I appreciate the developer's efforts to keep the app up to date. It's great to have it working in 64 bit apps (like Safari) now. Even though many programs and the OS itself have their own dictionaries, Spell Catcher works across the board (again) and it is where I keep my most complete custom dictionary.
Robotank
Robotank
Jan 14 2010
10.3.3
0.0
Jan 14 2010
0.0
Version: 10.3.3
Great update overall.. It's nice to see this finally working across the board in Snow Leopard. I'm having some minor issues with Spell Catcher not activating when I open an application, though once it's been activated manually one time in each app, it seems to come on automatically subsequent times. Anyone else seeing this?
TomEck
TomEck
Jan 13 2010
10.3.3
5.0
Jan 13 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
A wonderful application is getting better and better. SC is a fantastic spell checker and offers a lot more functions than just spell checking (Shorthands, Ghostwriter...). It is a great time-saver for all writers, especially if you need to write in different languages. The developer is very responsive with long-time experience with spell checking software.
Cortig
Cortig
Jan 13 2010
10.3.3
5.0
Jan 13 2010
5.0
Version: 10.3.3
Considering the amount of work and the number of improvements that went into v10.3.3, I'm surprised it was only a point-point update! Great application and it now works just fine in 64 bit applications :-)
alas!
alas!
Mar 6 2009
10.3.2
0.0
Mar 6 2009
0.0
Version: 10.3.2
Purchased Spell catcher after trying it out. Worked well for a while. But found that Spell Catcher's alerts functions do not work most of the time on my machine. The developer has no explanation nor a fix. So Spell Catcher is essentially useless to me. OS 10.5 on a MacBook Pro Intel core 2 duo. If Spell Catcher works for you, go for it. It's really very good.
Semioticmonkey
Semioticmonkey
Feb 15 2009
10.3.2
0.0
Feb 15 2009
0.0
Version: 10.3.2
Ok. Here there is a Trial that doesn't let me try anything. All the Features on the Dock menu are restricted. The same popup keeps repeating that 'feature not available when Spell Catcher is unlicensed'. This is not a trial. It is a crippled version. So i'm supposed to buy a product to see if it fits my needs. Bah!
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
Feb 2 2009
10.3.2
0.0
Feb 2 2009
0.0
Version: 10.3.2
Languages available include Danish and Swedish. If my native Norwegian (the third major language of Scandinavia) had been there, too, I would have grabbed this program several years ago. I once mailed the developer about this; unfortunately he could not promise there would ever be any Norwegian language support. Please, "Look to Norway" (Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1942). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Look_to_Norway