Back to Spell Catcher X page
Spell Catcher X free download for Mac

Spell Catcher X Reviews

10.4.1
15 December 2011

Global spell checking utility for OS X 10.5-10.7.

Espiridion
08 October 2008

Most helpful

Worthy update to a great program. This version comes with a variety of improvements and added features that can be found here: http://www.rainmakerinc.com/products/spellcatcherx/whatsnew10_3.html Support is excellent, and the upgrade fee is very reasonable. For those unfamiliar with the program, in addition to being a spell checker, it can also be used to expand frequently used text, get text statistics (e.g., Fog Index and Flesch-Kincaid), manipulate text (e.g., changing case, removing multiple spaces, etc.), use Macros, and more. DirectCorrect is an important new feature. It may not work with all applications, and with some it may not be evident that it works. For example, it may appear that it's no possible to turn it on with a specific application, but when the interface has a field that supports DirectCorrect -like when typing this review or posting on a forum- it becomes possible to turn it on. It pays to read about its features and experiment with it.
Like (9)
Version 10.3

Read 82 Spell Catcher X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Andrewrodney
28 September 2018
Good news: this product still runs even under 10.14 (Mojave)! Amazing coding still works after all these years. This will be the last however as the next major update to the OS will no longer run 32-bit applications.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
4 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
26 October 2018
I have run into some quirks on 10.14 Mojave:
1) The OS keeps changing the keyboard back to the native system input source keyboard without notice. Therefore, I now have to keep checking in the menu bar what keyboard is set. Fortunately, there are system keystrokes users can set to switch to the next/previous keyboard in your list. [The defaults were taken on my system, so I chose to use Ctrl-P and Ctrl-Opt-P] Go to: System Preferences/Keyboard/Shortcuts/Input Sources.
2) Odd spelling replacement behavior crops up in various apps. I have played around with the Preferences settings, which help. But I've run into situations that are frustrating if not insolvable.
3) It still flakes out entirely from time to time. The solution is to simply quit the running process. It will reboot itself as soon as you choose it again as your input source/keyboard.

Overall: What a great program, to still be working! I wish wish wish someone would take over the code base and UPDATE IT! I also feel sorry for those who'd like to buy it. You can't. The store interface is inert. Very sad. :-(

Some developer adopt this wonderful OrphanWare! Please! it's a gem!
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
26 October 2018
Derekcurrie; I've seen the same issue you report with the Input source changing but it appears to 'stick' if set a few times. It has remained active now for about a month of use in Mojave. You may have to set it more than once with newer applications but after, it should stick.
Like
Thaiwest
Thaiwest
29 October 2018
When I install from the down-loaded disc image, the application will not open (MacOS Mojave). ?? However, when I simply drag-copied the application and related folders into the proper places, it works!
Like
harvey-kliman
harvey-kliman
04 May 2019
Thaiwest: would you mind sharing with me how you can manually install SC? I have it running on a 2015 iMac running 10.13.6 because I simply migrated from an older OS that had SC installed. However, on my newer MBPro running the same OS I don't have SC because I created it from scratch. I'd love to "install" SC as I am a registered user and should have the necessary files, but don't know where to put them.
If you don't mind, it would be easiest if you email me directly:
harvey.kliman@yale.edu
Much appreciated.
Like
Derekcurrie
21 November 2016
v10.3.7 still works on macOS 10.12.x Sierra! Amazing! What a testimony to it's developer, who passed on years ago. (^_^)

Please, someone: Pickup where the developer left off and keep this app going forever! Make this Open Source! What would I do without Spell Catcher? I can't imagine.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
5 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
28 May 2017
Note: As of the end of July, 2016 the Kagi Store closed down. This has left no method of buying/purchasing/licensing Spell Catcher X. I've dropped a note in the Rainmaker forum about it. Meanwhile, it's still possible to download the latest version. Let's hope future users don't have to resort to cracked licenses. SPX is still working well on 10.12.6beta.
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
07 August 2017
One upcoming issue will be the next major version of the OS will not support 32 bit applications and unfortunately, that may mean the end of SC running.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
07 August 2017
Andrewrodney: Yes, whatever follows macOS 10.12.13 High Sierra will run 64-bit apps only. Therefore, the main Spell Catcher app itself will not run.

As an aside, let me quote from the page "What’s New in Spell Catcher X version 10.4.1".

http://www.rainmakerinc.com/products/spellcatcherx/whatsnew10_4.html

"Spell Catcher’s “helper” applications all run in 64-bit mode (on supporting systems). Specifically, these are the Spell Catcher SpellServer and Spell Catcher Services background applications."

That code, at least, is 64-bit. But seeing as the main app is not, unless someone leaps in to save the day, Spell Catcher will EOL (end of life) with macOS 10.14, which presumably will be circa September 2018. Very sad.
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
30 September 2017
Just installed 10.13 (High Sierra), thankfully SC is still running!
Like
paultahoe
paultahoe
23 January 2018
Spell Catcher 10.4.1 runs faster on High Sierra 10.13.2 with the APFS file system like it never has before with zero errors. I've been with this program since Thunder 7 days. Fantastic!
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
06 October 2015
Still running for me under 10.11. Slow in the app itself but otherwise, functioning.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
3 answer(s)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
28 March 2017
Update: It runs under 10.12.4 under the right settings from the input menu (was crashing).
Like (1)
Dan-Greuel
Dan-Greuel
06 April 2017
Could you please specify the settings you used to make it work under 10.12.4? I just updated and am now experiencing the crashing :'-(
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
07 August 2017
I've provided a screen capture of my input menu settings that DO NOT crash under 10.12.6 here:
http://digitaldog.net/files/Spellcatcher.jpg
Like
jeff-38
02 September 2015
Great Mac app but no longer works.
Like
Version 10.4.1
1 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
21 November 2016
No. It works really well actually! But note that I'm using 10.3.7, not 10.4.1.
Like
steph-2
11 August 2015
I miss this app! Is Linguisoft working on this now?
Like
Version 10.4.1
Derekcurrie
12 July 2015
v10.3.7 is still working on the latest version of OS X 10.11 El Capitan. Thank goodness. It remains the only spelling application I can stand using. The thing remains brilliant, despite some slight creakiness with age. Who'd have guessed?

But just for safety's sake: I wish Spell Catcher would go open source in order to allow it to continue to have a prominent place in Mac history forever onward! Or at least someone take over the development and return it to a living future!
Like (2)
Version 10.4.1
roby2222
29 March 2015
I have loved this program for years, but it simply does not perform well under Yosemite. I had to delete it because it could not keep up with my tying (and I am not a fast typist). It was scrambling about every forth word or so. Real shame, because it simply was the best there was for a long time.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
Iain-Reilly
17 March 2015
Great app
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
Billindg
21 January 2015
Spell Catcher is still working for me under 10.10.1. I added a copy of the input menu app to the root Library /Library/Input Methods/SpellCatcherIM.app in addition to user level Library copy. Also after adding SC to the Input Sources menu in the Keyboard Prefs pane you may need to do a restart.
Like (2)
Version 10.4.1
1 answer(s)
Lightning
Lightning
25 June 2015
Adding a copy of the input menu app to the root Library /Library/Input Methods/SpellCatcherIM.app worked for me. Thanks
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
19 October 2014
So is Spell Catcher dead under Yosemite (10.10?). I'm at a loss to get it working. Had to quit just to type with two different keyboards.
Like
Version 10.4.1
4 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-826
anonymous-dingo-826
19 October 2014
For me it finally died under 10.9.5 and I totally removed it from my Mac. There was after a steady decline in SC's performance and general stability under later updates of Mavericks during which it really destabilized my Mac's performance overall as well. There is still a web site for SC (despite the developer's death in 2012) but a query I sent to Rainmaker a few months back. got no response at all. It was an excellent app while it still worked but I have had to move on.
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
19 October 2014
I think I can get Grammarian PRO2 which I also own to do 85-90% of what I need. Right now importing words to correct from SC to this product thanks to a tip from the developer. It runs fine under 10.10.
Like
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
27 November 2014
Update: after futzing around with the huge number of possible settings in SC, I am able to get it to run in 10.10.1. It’s slow in terms of configuring the application itself, but runs pretty well otherwise. I suspect that IF you can’t get SC to run in Yosemite, it might be one or more settings. Interactive spell check, replace text and so forth IS working for me under Yosemite which is fantastic! While Grammarian PRO worked pretty well, SC is really my preferred app for this and I just hope as the OS updates, SC will continue to run.
Like
supercrisp
supercrisp
29 June 2015
The developer, Evan Gross, passed away, and, from what I was able to gather, it was pretty much a one-man show on development, and they weren't able to find anyone to pick up where he left off. It's a real shame, since many of us, like me, had been using this since the late '80s, when it was called Thunder.
Like
Shipmac
20 September 2013
I have been using Spell Catcher for years, even before OS X (I even would not upgrade to OSX until Spell Catcher was ready!). Just been to check the website and I get a WEBSITE MALWARE WARNING from Google. Hope this is fixed soon (20Sep2013). Even more so I hope some developer will buy Spell Catcher and bring it into line with the latest software. It is struggling in Mountain Lion, and may well be even worse in Mavericks. Spell Catcher is (or was) leagues ahead of Typinator (which has some odd quirks and does not work with all apps). No other app had inbuilt Ghostwriter as well as the many other features Spell Catcher has. Come back soon Spell Catcher
Like
Version 10.4.1
4 answer(s)
Raven-
Raven-
13 October 2013
Aye, aye! Love this app. used it for years and I hope to have it back soon...
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
17 December 2013
It seems to run reasonably well in 10.9 with the only minor bug I see being the input menu losing focus (it can move from SC to US by itself). I have to reset then all is fine. SO SORRY to hear about Evan! I've used this product since OS9 days and it is indispensable to me. Top 10 app's on my machine since I'm awful at spelling. I do hope development can continue at least in supporting newer OSs. Don't really need new features, just keep it running, I'd gladly support upgrade fees for that!
Like
Billindg
Billindg
04 April 2014
Spell Catcher works just fine in 10.9 for me. The problem with the input menu losing focus can be fixed by adding a copy of the input menu app to the root Library /Library/Input Methods/SpellCatcherIM.app in addition to user level Library copy.
Like (1)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
04 April 2014
>>The problem with the input menu losing focus can be fixed by adding a copy of the input menu app to the root Library. Awesome, thanks for that tip!
Like
Joypebble
14 July 2013
Spell Catcher has been a worthy sidekick in my writing career. If it is possible to love an application, count me in. SC is an unbelievably easy-to-learn and bulletproof spelling helper that works cross-platform on every single writing application that live on my computer and wherever else I post. Evan Gross was relentlessly gracious in helping users like me past self-inflicted glitches. I salute him and his creativity and dedication. I hope some company with resident marketing geniuses will snatch Spell Catcher up and give it another 20 years. ---JP
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
-M-S-
19 July 2012
From Rainmaker Research: "It is with great sadness that Rainmaker Research Inc. announces the loss of it's founder, Evan Michael Gross, who passed away suddenly at the end of June, 2012. "Evan was the author of Spell Catcher software and owner of Rainmaker Research Inc. The original version was released as Thunder! in 1986 and evolved into what we know as Spell Catcher X today. "SpellCatcher has a loyal, diverse user base. Please refer to our tribute page created to honour Evan, who was a great guy, ahead of his time, and will be sorely missed by family, friends, colleagues and Spell Catcher users. "Rainmaker Research Inc. will not be able to provide technical support at this time, until further notice." http://www.rainmakerinc.com/company/tribute.html
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
5 answer(s)
Odysseus
Odysseus
23 July 2012
I feared that something had happened, because there was no news from the developer Evan Gross in months. He was a great developer to work with, and he had a unique program unlike Typinator, TypeIt4Me, and TextExpander.
Like
OhEssex
OhEssex
27 July 2012
OMG!!! I've been working with Evan as a beta tester for ages and he had great things in the pipeline. He hasn't been answering emails for a while now and I just thought he was on an extended vacation. I've only ever used his SCX as a typing expander and it just totally blew away Typinator, TypeIt4Me, and TextExpander. I have over 12,000 abbreviations and those other text expanders just choke and die under that load whereas SCX NEVER misses a beat. I can't live without SCX - I really hope there is someone else out there able to carry on development of this fantastic product. RIP Evan.
Like
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
28 September 2012
Wow ... first QuicKeys and now Spell Catcher. It's ironic that as the Mac platform gets more popular, its great software choices seem to be departing due to developer attrition.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
24 October 2012
Rest in peace, Evan Gross. I've used Spell Catcher X since version 1. It was the best, had more features than any competitor. Unfortunately, with his death, Spell Catcher X has not been compatible with the latest Mac OS X operating system. So I had to move on. TextExpander is my choice as a replacement for text expansion. It even imports Spell Catcher files. It has been seamless in transition. Unfortunately, this leaves spell checking and key logging as features. I'm looking for replacements for these features. Best to everyone. And a celebration for Evan Gross's life.
Like
supercrisp
supercrisp
29 June 2015
I posted above, having missed this post. Evan e-mailed with me personally several times over the years, to help out with problems, which were really infrequent, and to take suggestions. Thunder!/SpellCatcher was a key tool for me all the way from my undergraduate through my doctorate; I'm really grateful for his work!
Like
UNOwen
23 January 2012
A good 'ole' application, that only improves with time.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
Pengman
07 January 2012
This is simply a great app. Works on -all- my programs including Firefox. Invaluable. I work in the media and I am VERY impressed.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
Jayme-Bertelli
23 December 2011
Does not work with Microsoft Word for Mac and is not better than the available spelling tool of the Microsoft. Poor video tutorials
Like
Version 10.4.1
Duncan-Adams
23 December 2011
This program has helped me greatly over the years ... the problem is that about every other new build is buggy .. at least for me . If you by it on deal this round ... great ... but ask for an older version ... it will work better . I had to go back to one . Every time I update I cross my fingers .
Like
Version 10.4.1
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
13 December 2011
The release notes say "New Special Key for use in shorthand expansions to explicitly specify the final position of the insertion point (Insert pop-up > Special Key > Position Cursor Here)." I can't find any further explanation of this feature in Spell Catcher Help or on the Spell Catcher web site. From what little they do say it's not clear to me how this feature works. The above description helps me not at all. I like Spell Catcher and have used it for many years, which makes it all the more aggravating when they do such a poor job of explaining new features like this. And I can find no easy way to contact the developer for an explanation. So I'm posting here as a last resort. If a developer is going to implement a new feature in their software the least they own their paid users is a decent explanation of how to use it.
Like (1)
Version 10.4.1
5 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
13 December 2011
Have you tried http://www.rainmakerinc.com/support/ ? Evan has always answered my questions promptly via email or through his forum. Hope this helps.
Like (3)
bobembry
bobembry
13 December 2011
Place your cursor where you want it following your expansion and then chose Position Cursor Here. Example *[ NOTE: ]* places the cursor where you'd expect
Like (1)
bobembry
bobembry
13 December 2011
My reply got mangled. Apparently it doesn't like angle brackets. The example was *[ NOTE: cursor ]*. Just try it and see.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
13 December 2011
@ Bobembry: choose from what? What's the context? If I have to manually place my cursor it's already done.
Like
TomEck
TomEck
15 December 2011
As the release notes say: "for use in shorthand expansions". Go to Preferences -> References -> My Shorthands. There is a pull-down menu right above the area for entering the text you want to expand with your shorthand. In this menu you find the menu item "Special keys" and there "Positioning cursor here". The feature let you positioning the cursor in the text of your expansion.
Like
rjsef6
30 November 2011
This is an exceptional helper app. It has quite a few settings but that’s because it can do so much and you can control so many attributes. I’ve recently had a problem with my system and this app (not the app’s fault), and the support I got from the company was outstanding. They solved my system’s problem. I’ve become a very loyal customer because of the combination of product and support.
Like (2)
Version 10.4
seba-szwarc
17 June 2011
Another upgrade and still no Polish language...:(
Like (2)
Version 10.4
Tedg
11 June 2011
I’ve been using this for well over a decade. It just works and I consider it an essential application.
Like (2)
Version 10.4
Sum1
10 June 2011
Overpriced piece of software with a stone age feel and looks. Please update your user interface and have a better warning system other than that annoying female voice.
Like (9)
Version 10.4
2 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
06 July 2011
I noticed that you received negative feedback for your insights. However, I agree with you. Spell Catcher looks and behaves like a Windows XP app. This app may get the job done, but it doesn't do it with style or grace. The voice is annoying to me too. The interface isn't Mac like. Why can't Spell Catcher be elegant? If the upgrade included a sleek interface and a new warning notification with a woman with an English accent, this upgrade would of been much better received.
Like (3)
Dialing-wand
Dialing-wand
15 August 2011
I was "forced into the 10.4" upgrade fiasco without warning. Spell Catcher X was then deleted from my system. Useless, old, ugly and cumbersome - I tried hard to like it, but it's quite poor.
Like (3)
Wts
10 June 2011
First time ever i am not upgrading! The upgrade price not reasonable. I would pay about ten bucks but not the upgrade price @ 50% of original price.
Like (4)
Version 10.4
This is the first time I've hesitated to upgrade Spell Catcher - and I've been using it since Mac OS 7.x. I hesitate, not because it's a paid upgrade, but because I personally have no need for the new features on offer. I'm not saying others won't find them useful; no doubt some people have been jonesing for the ability to insert styled text, to sync using Mobile Me and so on. But it never occurred to me these things were missing from Spell Catcher. And money is tight these days. I can't justify paying for features I don't need. For me this is a bridge too far.
Like (7)
Version 10.4
4 answer(s)
Prologos
Prologos
08 June 2011
same here.
Like (1)
Wts
Wts
10 June 2011
I am not upgrading because the upgrade price is totally unreasonable which to me means that they really do not appreciate the fact that i have supported them for all these years. A more reasonable upgrade price for me would be ten bucks.
Like (3)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
10 June 2011
I don't think the upgrade price is too steep. $15 to upgrade a $40 piece of software is not out of bounds, in my opinion. And the developers have done a good job of maintaining Spell Catcher between upgrades. It's just that I don't need the new features and, my finances being what they are right now, I can't justify paying even a reasonable price for what I won't use. That said, up till now I've found Spell Catcher to be very useful and an excellent product. I've observed that as software matures, the developers often find themselves building new features for an every smaller segment of their users. At some point this effort has to reach a point of diminishing returns. This happened a long time ago for me with CopyPaste, for instance. It grew well beyond anything I needed, so I replaced it with a less expensive and less complex clipboard utility. I don't expect to replace Spell Catcher (there is no real competitor for it), but, for the time being at least, I won't be upgrading it.
Like (2)
Wts
Wts
10 June 2011
If i pay the upgrade price i will have a piece of software costing me 65 bucks. These developers ( and others ) should make upgrade pricing acknowledge loyalty. My budget these days is too tight so will just live the old version.
Like (2)
Kitmos
06 June 2011
I love SpellCatcher when it’s running. Unfortunately it stops (not a crash) and I have to re-inable it from the menu bar 3 -4 times a day. I’ve tried all of Evan’s suggestions to fix it but none lasts for long.
Like (1)
Version 10.4
6 answer(s)
Jimblue
Jimblue
07 June 2011
many of the things Spell Catcher does from the menu bar icon it also does from the dock icon also. you can also edit/create macros of your most used functions — making combo macros from the built in ones or creating other ones from Spell Catcher/ Preferences/Shortcuts — so they’ll be in the macros list from the dock icon. in the System Preferences/Language and Text/Text/Spelling do you have U.S. English (Spell Catcher) as your preference? in System Preferences/Language and Text/Input Sources/ do you have Spell Catcher and the three other ones below it in the indented row checked as well as U.S. turned on? and i personally don’t turn on Keyboard and Character Viewer. Most importantly do you have “Show Input menu in menu bar” checked? is everything ok in System Preferences/Keyboard/Keyboard Shortcuts/Services? — i had to uncheck “Search with Google” so it wouldn’t conflict with “Modify Selection” if all else fails you could uninstall Spell Catcher with the “Uninstall Spell Catcher X” app from the Spell Catcher X dmg and then reinstall it and see if that helps. in all fairness to Rainmaker if you bought or upgraded Spell Catcher 10.3.x in the last 13 months (since May 1, 2010), this upgrade is free. one last thought, in System Preferences/Accounts/Login Items/ is Spell Catcher not checked — so it won’t be hidden? if your language is not English i guess disregard everything i said.
Like
Doug-Hoiles
Doug-Hoiles
07 June 2011
I had the same problem for a long time until a few weeks ago when all got well and SpellCatcher stays on like it should all the time. I’m not sure what I did to fix it, but my guess is that was about the time that I had major problems that I fixed by rebuilding the directory (volume repair) with Techtool Pro. Worth a try even with Apple’s Disk Utility if that’s all you have.
Like (1)
Kitmos
Kitmos
08 June 2011
Thanks for all the suggestions. Unfortunately I’ve done all these things (and more) and still don’t get a permanent solution.
Like
Sigil
Sigil
06 July 2011
I had the same issue. I finally just removed it. I assumed the issue was either my Mac or just me. That said, I'm not upgrading, because my usage was minimal. When Spell Catcher did work, I found it very useful.
Like
Kitmos
Kitmos
14 December 2011
Tried the newest version released today and it crashes within a few minutes. At least b4 it would last a few hours.
Like
Jimblue
Jimblue
18 December 2011
i don't know what to suggest anymore, kitmos. you obviously have some sort of conflict going on. whenever i find myself in your situation (which is hardly ever because i am very particular about the software i install), i try reading the related website for any information they might have about other software that doesn't play well with theirs or any other info that might help remedy the problem -- support and knowledge bases. it really is not good you have paid for spell catcher and been having an issue for so long. i don't see any other posts here like yours, so the problem/s you are having are unique to you. assuming you are a paying a customer, i would contact rainmaker and have them walk me through a complete uninstall and then reinstall, after trying real hard to the fix the problem myself first of course. i have no problems whatsoever with spell catcher and it runs great for me. i see many other posts complaining about spell catcher's many preferences but after working with the program for awhile they don't seem so daunting. anyway, i hope this helps and i hope you find a solution soon.
Like
Garlicbreath
06 June 2011
Something left out of the long, detailed description above: this is a paid upgrade from 10.3.7. Nothing in the in-app upgrade process tells you this until after you've installed it. Most software companies would change the version from 10.x to 11.x to indicate a paid upgrade. Just so you know...
Like (2)
Version 10.4
5 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
06 June 2011
Thanks, we've added this.
Like
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
06 June 2011
The installation disk's Finder window states this in red text, the Downloads page of our website as well, and the tooltip you see when you hover the mouse over the update in the Get Updates and Languages window does as well. Same with the entry in our blog, our News page, and in our forums. We're really not trying to "hide" this fact, sorry you missed it.
Like (2)
mwab
mwab
06 June 2011
I agree! Not until after the upgrade, did I realize it was a paid, upgrade.
Like
Strob
Strob
07 June 2011
The upgrade warning needs to be more obvious in the installer. I "missed" it too. This upgade cycle, from 10.3 to 10.4, goes against convention so it needs a better disclosure, thank you.
Like (1)
Dialing-wand
Dialing-wand
15 August 2011
Yes! I felt tricked and duped - not to mention Spell Catcher X 10.3 was part of macupdate bundle. I upgraded, and was then told I needed to pay as my license had expired. Imagine if Adobe did that with Creative Suite. Highway robbery really.
Like
Zweetlucht
29 May 2011
I use Spell Catcher X with the Dutch language file and it's working like a charm. The only reason I don't rate it with five stars is that Spell Catcher X does require some tweaking in the preferences menu, which is quit extensive with the all the features this program has to offer, and so isn't very easy to set-up for a beginner like me. Another big plus is that Spell Catcher X also handles shorthands very well, so I don't have to buy other software like TypeIt4Me, TextExpander or Typinator.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.7
Evaluator
09 January 2011
Simply a weak demo effort. All I experienced was a female voice questioned some of my usage. There was no self-correction and poorly worded emails went out without comment. I have used this software years ago and find is much less useful now. In a Demo mode, show your stuff! Don't hide what you can do. I have removed the app for basically being useless.
Like
Version 10.3.7
1 answer(s)
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
17 January 2011
The only trial mode restrictions are: - Only two languages can be used. - Only the first 25 entries in editable Learned Words and Shorthand Glossary documents are used (but there is no such restriction with respect to editing these references). All features are available. I'm not sure what you are describing - perhaps you just weren't familiar with how Spell Catcher works. Best to watch our Video Tutorials: http://www.rainmakerinc.com/tutorials/ And then follow the Crash Course Tutorial in the Help Book (Spell Catcher application, Help > Spell Catcher Help): http://www.rainmakerinc.com/products/spellcatcherx/spellcatcherhelp/en/pgs/intro/crashcourse.html Feel free to post on our forums, or send email to our support address if you have questions. And again, trial mode restrictions are minimal. All "stuff" is shown. Nothing that Spell Catcher can do is "hidden." Take a little time to get familiar and find out all that it can do. I guarantee it blows away any old version you used years ago.
Like (3)
Raven-
23 December 2010
SpellCatchers works for me great... in this world of mass internet and non speaking English it is a must!!!! A great tool that WORKS for me.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.7
Grandpa-John
22 December 2010
I am with Espiridion. Spell Catcher has been around since around Mac OS 8 and has been indispensable for me. It is always working in the background and has built in dictionaries and Thesauri to draw on. It can also scan the Internet for other resources. The version for Snow Leopard now works with 64bit applications and is fast and accurate. Great work Evan!
Like (5)
Version 10.3.7
Espiridion
22 December 2010
I completely agree with Cenocre when he writes "Hard to comprehend these bad reviews" I've used Spell Catcher for about a decade, and it is an essential application for me. It has a wide range of features so initial setup may take a bit of work. For those having trouble, it has a thorough Help, a tutorial, a forum, and Evan is very responsive. If it still is complicated, Macupdate allows people to rate Ease of Use. Rating the software itself I give it 5 stars. I use it for spell checking in different languages, shorthand expansion, statistics, manipulating text, etc. Ironically, he best endorsement may come from Stevebaron not using it and typing "bad!" as a review, fitting multiple errors in only 4 characters. ;)
Like (6)
Version 10.3.7
seba-szwarc
13 December 2010
I will not give my rating to this because for now when I get this from MacUpdate Bundle is for me totally useless...why or why there is no support for Polish language . Is Poland less important or have less mac users than Portugal ? or Russia?
Like
Version 10.3.6
Gfm1958
04 December 2010
If one is using a couple of languages in a single document, does Spell Catcher recognize the different languages and flag misspellings as one moves through the document? Or.....does one set Spell Catcher for one language and then set it again for another language in the same document? Thks for helping me to understand this nuance.
Like
Version 10.3.6
Cenocre
06 June 2010
Wow. Hard to comprehend these bad reviews. I have been using Spell Catcher for over 20 years (since it's earliest days when named Thunder), and consider it to be one of the most essential pieces of software on my Macs. It is one of the few pieces of software that I recommend it to my clients. It seems that some of the bad reviews are by people who don't understand the program. It is not just a spell checker!! It also allows you to type in shorthand with auto expansion, records keystrokes (which has saved my butt numerous times), and has easy to access references. The spell check is much better than Apple's as it has MANY more features. However, it is the shorthand is in constant use by me and I fly though writing emails, writing code, CSS, and HTML as all I have to do is type a few characters and Spell Catcher finishes it for me. As for CPU usage, most of the time it shows up as 0.0% in Activity Monitor. It will jump momentarily to something like 1.5% very briefly when doing a check. That is fine performance.
Like (8)
Version 10.3.5
Werfblau
01 June 2010
It‘s working great for me, I'm using this nice application since a lon time. It's really easy to switch between languages (I'm writing in Englisch, French and German) - and the biggest advantage for me is: it's one spell checker for all applications, I had to learn it once and it's working for all programs I use in the same way.
Like (8)
Version 10.3.5
1 answer(s)
TomEck
TomEck
02 June 2010
I agree. I don't understand the bad reviews recently. My experience with this software is a great one and the developer offers outstanding support. It seems to me some people don't take enough time to evaluate SC properly. I mean, is it fair to give a 2-star review after just 20 min. evaluation? Or even to give a 1-star review because you haven't found use for this software? SC works, doesn't it? And what I certainly don't understand is why people give a bad 1-star review for the same reasons twice.
Like (8)
Version 10.3.5
Max-G
27 May 2010
I am looking for a good multi-functional, multi-language textcorrector and expander etc. Spell Catcher seemed to be the first choice, also due to the positive comments here... Downloaded it and played around with it a bit. After 20 minutes or so I gave up. Horrible interface, unintuitive, messy preference-pane, could not get several fuctions to work... And I'm not entirely a newbee to say the least... Took a look on the developers' site for more info etc.. Same messy interface... Looks like from 10 years ago or so... While more limited in their functions, TextExpander and Typinator are both much better, and spelling, well, I have to stick with Apple built-in stuff...
Like (8)
Version 10.3.4
ososX
04 April 2010
I got this shareware as a part of a “macupdate” bundle for $50 (with a bunch of other useless utilities). I installed it since I do make a lot of spelling mistakes, and I hopped that it will provide a support which is better than Apple's. After a few weeks of having this shareware installed, I still don't have a clue as for what it is good for aside for adding long useless menus all over the place (for example it added huge number of redundant “services”). The preferences menu is a M$ like menu - unclear and unintuitive as the rest of this shareware. The worst part is that it introduce to new language menus that APPEAR IN THE LANGUAGE MENU EACH AND EVRY TIME THAT S-C IS RESTARTED IN SPITE OF BEING DEACTIVATED IN THE LANGUAGE CONTROL PANNEL. This is a serious annoying bug. And it cost $40 (the entire bundle cost $50 and it includes Parallel 5). My conclusion is ABSOLUTELY USELESS !
Like (9)
Version 10.3.4
8 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
18 April 2010
That's a pretty fail review. I'm not even sure what you're talking about half the time, but the point of Spell Catcher is to provide on the fly spelling corrections. You know the little window or menu that pops up when you make a spelling mistake? Besides that it can perform all sorts of useful modifications to text selections as well as provide text expansion and auto replacement features like smart quotes and em dashes. You can configure it to behave differently in every application if you want to. In Snow Leopard you can also easily deactivate the services you don't find useful. I realize that Spell Catcher isn't for everyone, but to say it's completely useless is a rather uninformed comment. I can understand that someone who doesn't write a lot wouldn't find the effort of configuring Spell Catcher worthwhile, but in that case, it's not useful to that particular user, which is not the same as its being completely useless in general. I wouldn't go post a one-star review of PhotoShop because I don't do photo editing and so find that it's not useful to me. BTW, you always have the option to demo the apps in a bundle before you purchase them.
Like (10)
Version 10.3.4
ososX
ososX
18 April 2010
Robotank - your response is odd ! If the point of spell catcher is to provide the "little window that pops up when you make a spelling mistake" then WHO NEEDS S-C SINCE THIS FEATURE IS (WELL) IMPLEMENTED IN APPLE'S OS. This of course render this shareware, as I pointed out in my review, as ABSOLUTELY USELESS (at best). This is of course on top of the menus that "switch themselves back on" after you quit and relaunch S-C, and the rest of the "goodies" I mentioned in my review. Moreover, my work is to write, I do write a lot, all day long, and for that I am exactly the one to write what I wrote about this shareware.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.4
Espiridion
Espiridion
07 May 2010
"After a few weeks of having this shareware installed, I still don't have a clue as for what it is good for aside for adding long useless menus all over the place" Why would you install something if you don't know what it is for? If you were really curious, why not visit their website? On the fist page they mention: "...Spell Catcher can watch for errors as you type, and automatically fix common typos. Shorthand Glossaries let you define your own abbreviations for repetitive phrases-even thousands of characters long! Use the dictionary or thesaurus to look up a word you've just typed to check its meaning or search for a more precise alternative..." They also have videos and tutorials, along with detailed help. If Apple's spell-checking feature is sufficiently good for you, use it. I often use it myself, but prefer Spell Catcher by far. Spell Catcher adds more advanced features (e.g., definitions from a variety of dictionaries, including synonyms and antonyms), and some of them will be accessible via a menu. BTW, you can use many features without opening the menu, since it includes plenty of shortcuts. You could also use the free Nisus Thesaurus in addition to Apple's spell-checker. For other Spell Catcher features such as text expansion, text manipulation, text recording, statistics, etc., you'll need additional shareware applications and, depending on your needs, perhaps additional dictionaries. Rating it with 1-star just because you don't understand the software's capabilities and how to take advantage of them is ridiculous.
Like (10)
Version 10.3.4
ososX
ososX
09 May 2010
Espiridion - I worte that I installed it since "I hopped that it will provide a support which is better than Apple's" (which it didn't). I suppose that it answers most of your long comment. Regarding purchasing this shareware, I wrote that "I got this shareware as a part of a “macupdate” bundle for $50". I would NEVER spend $40 on that. I rated it 1 star not because I don't understand what this shareware does - but because I do understand that it does practically nothing. Espiridion, I suppose reading is not your strong side, according to the length of your response you probably type faster than you ... read. Finally, if I purchase Nisus + Nisus thesaurus, why I would want to use it in other programs and not use it with the program I purchased.
Like (4)
Version 10.3.4
Espiridion
Espiridion
09 May 2010
"Projection is a defense mechanism that involves taking our own unacceptable qualities or feelings and ascribing them to other people." Your original post already stated that you "got this shareware as a part of a “macupdate” bundle for $50 (with a bunch of other useless utilities)" I NEVER suggested that you "purchase Nisus + Nisus thesaurus." Nisus Thesaurus is FREE. You wrote: ""I hopped that it will provide a support which is better than Apple's" (which it didn't)" "I do understand that it does practically nothing" Spell Catcher includes spell checking in multiple languages -just like Apple's spell checker- and it adds other writing styles, statistics, text expansion, text modification, auto-corrections, Address Book integration, and more. Reading the Help is useful, but it's longer than my “long” post. If Apple is better by offering less, and having a variety of useful features in Spell Catcher means that the software ”does practically nothing," then there's not much left to say so feel free to have the final word. I do hope you find a good solution for your needs. I'll keep on using this “useless” software that I fist used over 10 years ago.
Like (7)
Version 10.3.4
ososX
ososX
10 May 2010
Espiridion - I had S-C running for about a month on my computer, with a lot of menus popping all over the place - severe bug that keeps bringing back unwanted language menus. For me, it turned out that S-C is more burden than help. Accordingly, I gave it 1 star as I didn't find anything helpful about it. This is my opinion and my grading of this software, and I don't like you giving me instructions how to grade a software. If you are happy with S-C, that's fine with me, you are free to review it and give it 10 stars. Finally, I am not sure what the psychological wikipedia-sentence regarding projection mechanism has to do with our discussion. Maybe it is related to the fact that you wrote your comment without reading mine first and you are trying to project it on me? Regarding your comment about Nisus - Nisus express costs LESS than S-C, and I was wondering why purchase S-C and use it with free Nisus thesaurus (as you offered) if I can, for less money, buy the original item and use it with its own thesaurus (it works very nicely in Nisus, I know).
Like (5)
Version 10.3.4
Espiridion
Espiridion
10 May 2010
First, let me clarify the comment about projection. You wrote: “Espiridion, I suppose reading is not your strong side” To anyone reading this conversation, it should be obvious that my reading skills are fine. Yet you keep bringing issues that have little to do with what I have posted. Second, you give 1-star ratings to a lot of software that works fine for other users (e.g., iBackup, OS X, Parallels). Perhaps the problem is not with the software. It could be something with your system -as has been suggested to you in a couple of your reviews for 2 other applications-, or it could be user error. Third, I suggested Nisus Thesaurus as a THESAURUS since you don't like Spell Catcher and prefer Apple's Spell Checker. With Nisus THESAURUS you can have spelling features (via Apple) and a THESAURUS (via Nisus). I have no idea why you insist on bringing other Nisus products into the conversation. I have Nisus Writer Pro, and that has nothing to do with Spell Catcher. Nisus Thesaurus can be used on its own. I also mentioned that even with that software you will NOT get all of the functionality that Spell Catcher offers. Of course you are entitled to your opinion. I am entitled to disagree and to substantiate my disagreement with facts and logic. You get “a lot of menus popping all over the place” and I don't get a single pop-up unless I want one. Simple. You can keep on rating software however you want, but obviously many people disagree with you. I just took the time to offer alternatives. My mistake. It won't happen again.
Like (9)
Version 10.3.4
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
19 June 2010
The Input menu issue has been resolved in Spell Catcher X 10.3.5 and later.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.6
Aladnam
27 March 2010
OK, I tried this app, looked like it was "free" but only trial, My bad. I am a neophyte; but fool me once shame on me.... Now I upgraded to 10.62 and the "uninstalled" spell catcher program that had previously not been an issue now causes a pop up to apppear refering to the spelling program that does not exist except for a remaining icon on the toolbar. It seems to happen randomly. Very annoying. I want to completely remove Spell Catcher, icon also. How do? The icon is on what I call the Mac toolbar in between the volume and battery indicator. Any help appreciated. I am sure this app is handy to some but I tire of businesses in general that make it easy to get in but hard to get out. The overpromising and underdelivering seems to be prevalent everywhere these days, but when it rears its head I am gone. This is a test. No response necessary; just fix it!
Like (5)
Version 10.3.4
2 answer(s)
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
27 March 2010
Use the uninstaller. It's on the installation disk image, or available as a separate download from our website.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.4
Uncoy
Uncoy
08 July 2010
Unfortunately the uninstaller is not enough. You have to purge all your cache files and then do some other voodoo. Look for my review further down to realise just how much pain you are in and just how difficult the final cure is.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.6
Tfj222
23 March 2010
I bought this with the latest MacUpdate promo and I was very annoyed after installing this to find out that for getting support for my mother languageNorwegian, I have to pay an additional fee to get it. I'ts a scam. I will uninstall it immediately and ban it from my computer. (If I manage to uninstall it. Based on other commenters here it can be difficult)
Like (7)
Version 10.3.4
1 answer(s)
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
24 March 2010
It's just business. We license our linguistics, and have to pay our supplier for their products. There's certainly no scam here. Whether a specific language is included or costs extra is clearly documented on our website.
Like (4)
Version 10.3.4
meenno
19 March 2010
This is one of the ugliest apps I've ever seen on Mac OS X. The functions it provides are not as rich as I expected. The setting/preferences panel is a pure mess. The UI in general is like a mediocre Windows app. It's simply a thorn in the eye. A headache for new users like me.
Like (7)
Version 10.3.4
mcrisci-1
20 January 2010
I used to love Spell Catcher. I've owned it from the beginning. Now I just find it an annoyance. My biggest complaint is Spell Catcher opens up when I don't want it to! Every time I open some sort of word processor or even FireFox or Safari, it gets invoked. It's unnecessary for me. And it's frustrating that I have no control over it. When I posted to the forum looking for help to stop that, the reply I got was that it's a "feature." Sound like a "bug" to me. I don't want that as a feature. I want Spell Catcher to open up when I want it to. I looked all over for the manual override, but cannot find any. I'm ready to trash it off my system. Any suggestions???
Like (8)
Version 10.3.4
2 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
20 January 2010
You can disable Spell Catcher's interactive features (or set any kind of preference) on a per-application as well as universal basis. Open Spell Catcher's preferences, click on the Application tab, select the application you want to add, then set its preferences as you wish (the universal settings are at the top of this list). Simply unchecking the Box "Interactive features enabled" will essentially turn off Spell Catcher.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.4
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
23 January 2010
Can you please "bump" this topic in our forums by adding a new reply? Many things have likely changed since your original post - especially if it preceded Snow Leopard. I'll take another look, but without knowing your user name on our forums I'll never be able to find it.
Like (2)
Version 10.3.4
No-One
15 January 2010
I love this application! very useful as well as functional. I especially like the speech command setting. One thing I would like to see added to this wonderful application is the ability to see wikipedia articles when "looking up" words. Overall, beautiful application, expect me to buy it soon.
Like (4)
Version 10.3.3
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
15 January 2010
I have to agree with the positive reviewers. Keeping up compatibility as OS X has evolved hasn't been easy, I'm sure. But I've been using Spell Catcher since the days of OS 7 and I appreciate the developer's efforts to keep the app up to date. It's great to have it working in 64 bit apps (like Safari) now. Even though many programs and the OS itself have their own dictionaries, Spell Catcher works across the board (again) and it is where I keep my most complete custom dictionary.
Like (5)
Version 10.3.3
Robotank
14 January 2010
Great update overall.. It's nice to see this finally working across the board in Snow Leopard. I'm having some minor issues with Spell Catcher not activating when I open an application, though once it's been activated manually one time in each app, it seems to come on automatically subsequent times. Anyone else seeing this?
Like (2)
Version 10.3.3
3 answer(s)
Robotank
Robotank
14 January 2010
Nevermind. I figured out what the problem was. For some reason, the keyboard shortcut to select the next input method in the list was set to Command+Space (no idea how this happened, since that's normally the Spotlight shortcut), which is the same as my shortcut for LaunchBar. Every time I activated LaunchBar it would switch the input method, and that's why I thought it wasn't activating. Sorry!
Like
Version 10.3.3
mcrisci-1
mcrisci-1
20 January 2010
My biggest complaint is when Spell Catcher opens up EVEN when I don't want it to! I posted to the forums and the reply I got was that it's a "feature." I don't want that as a feature. I want Spell Catcher to open up when I want it to. Any suggestions???
Like (3)
Version 10.3.4
mcrisci-1
mcrisci-1
20 January 2010
My biggest complaint is when Spell Catcher opens up EVEN when I don't want it to! I posted to the forums and the reply I got was that it's a "feature." I don't want that as a feature. I want Spell Catcher to open up when I want it to. Any suggestions???
Like (2)
Version 10.3.4
TomEck
13 January 2010
A wonderful application is getting better and better. SC is a fantastic spell checker and offers a lot more functions than just spell checking (Shorthands, Ghostwriter...). It is a great time-saver for all writers, especially if you need to write in different languages. The developer is very responsive with long-time experience with spell checking software.
Like (8)
Version 10.3.3
Cortig
13 January 2010
Considering the amount of work and the number of improvements that went into v10.3.3, I'm surprised it was only a point-point update! Great application and it now works just fine in 64 bit applications :-)
Like (5)
Version 10.3.3
alas!
06 March 2009
Purchased Spell catcher after trying it out. Worked well for a while. But found that Spell Catcher's alerts functions do not work most of the time on my machine. The developer has no explanation nor a fix. So Spell Catcher is essentially useless to me. OS 10.5 on a MacBook Pro Intel core 2 duo. If Spell Catcher works for you, go for it. It's really very good.
Like (1)
Version 10.3.2
Semioticmonkey
15 February 2009
Ok. Here there is a Trial that doesn't let me try anything. All the Features on the Dock menu are restricted. The same popup keeps repeating that 'feature not available when Spell Catcher is unlicensed'. This is not a trial. It is a crippled version. So i'm supposed to buy a product to see if it fits my needs. Bah!
Like (1)
Version 10.3.2
1 answer(s)
danieljomphe
danieljomphe
11 May 2009
If your demo doesn't allow you to really try the software, it's because, when you first installed it, you selected "run unlicensed" instead of "try for 14 days".
Like (3)
Version 10.3.2
Dr-Sparks
02 February 2009
Languages available include Danish and Swedish. If my native Norwegian (the third major language of Scandinavia) had been there, too, I would have grabbed this program several years ago. I once mailed the developer about this; unfortunately he could not promise there would ever be any Norwegian language support. Please, "Look to Norway" (Franklin Delano Roosevelt, 1942). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Look_to_Norway
Like (1)
Version 10.3.2
2 answer(s)
Evan-Gross
Evan-Gross
04 February 2009
We're in the process of licensing Norwegian Bokmål. Check our website for news about 3-4 weeks from now.
Like (3)
Version 10.3.2
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
11 May 2009
Thank you very much! I just purchased the application on MacZot (50% off today) and will shortly buy the Norwegian add-on dictionary and start working. Thanks again.
Like (1)
Version 10.3.2
Macsailor
15 December 2008
A great application has become even better with this new version. I can not recommend it enough. It's absolutly one of my favourites among the applications on my MacBook Pro.
Like (4)
Version 10.3.1