Back to Cyberduck page
Cyberduck free download for Mac

Cyberduck Reviews

31 March 2021

FTP and SFTP browser.

How would you rate Cyberduck?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
oscarPol
oscarPol
Jan 15 2021
7.8.1
5.0
Jan 15 2021
5.0
Version: 7.8.1
I think this is the best option that I have found.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
7.7.2
5.0
Dec 7 2020
5.0
Version: 7.7.2
Longtime user. Great little app and supports more protocols than I need.
Plotzenhots
Plotzenhots
Sep 25 2020
7.6.1
5.0
Sep 25 2020
5.0
Version: 7.6.1
..with Cyberduck we fly high, fast and secure and it floats!
Weaztek
Weaztek
Sep 10 2020
7.6.0
5.0
Sep 10 2020
5.0
Version: 7.6.0
I don't need to use FTP as much as I used to since I've moved to a WordPress platform. However, CyberDuck is a solid, low cost FTP client that works well for me!
Mac3blade
Mac3blade
Nov 27 2019
7.2.1
5.0
Nov 27 2019
5.0
Version: 7.2.1
Fast and easy way to maintain a Raspberry Pi based NAS/RAID remotely.
derekstormnyc
derekstormnyc
Oct 18 2019
7.1.1
1.0
Oct 18 2019
1.0
Version: 7.1.1
I paid full price for this; not the free version; and it doesn't work properly. This company had no phones to call for help and their email is bot generated without helping to solve the issue. Had to dispute the purchase with my credit card as I paid full price for software that doesn't work.
Ptk3
Ptk3
Jan 11 2019
6.8.3
5.0
Jan 11 2019
5.0
Version: 6.8.3
Use it for a long, long time; best free ftp app of the mac, with no doubt. Since its Windows version, I also use it on PC and choose it for teaching on both mac and PC better than FileZilla, because of its simplicity and neat interface and simple fonctionnality. Trustfull app, as several web hosters (in France) give a configuration file for it to set up your ftp account.
Was a little slow in the past (though functional), but not now: never have a problem to put sites online with it… My best ftp app, and for free: I give regular contributions directly to the dev, but don't want 30% of it in the Apple pocket (which I contribute in many others occasions!).
cig0
cig0
Jan 7 2019
6.8.3
2.0
Jan 7 2019
2.0
Version: 6.8.3
I appreciate the developers allows the usage of the app for free but I, personally, run away from it like the plague it is: slow, bloated and heavy on system resources and storage consumption, weights about ~250mb when installed -- NUTS!!!

If you'd ever think about buying this app, do yourself a favor and check ForkLift and Commander One PRO first - yw =)
zhara
zhara
Jul 2 2018
6.6.2
5.0
Jul 2 2018
5.0
Version: 6.6.2
nice
Marlo-R
Marlo-R
May 11 2018
6.5.0
5.0
May 11 2018
5.0
Version: 6.5.0
I use this one whenever I need to swap files on my Raspberry Pi. Easy to connect and navigate/move files. Will be donating next time I use it!
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Apr 5 2018
6.4.6
0.0
Apr 5 2018
0.0
Version: 6.4.6
This is update v6.4.6 and NOT v6.4.4 as shown in 'what's new'.
DennyWatsons
DennyWatsons
Feb 23 2018
6.4.0
5.0
Feb 23 2018
5.0
Version: 6.4.0
5 stars without any doubt. I use English version from the very beginning and have never faced any problems with this application. And the main advantage of this FTP browser is that it is FREE.
dori-dumrong
dori-dumrong
Jul 30 2017
6.2.0
0.0
Jul 30 2017
0.0
Version: 6.2.0
I just upgraded to version 6.2.0 on Mac Os Sierra v. 10.12.6. And the program won't close. A dialogue box popup to request donation and it won't respond to any click. I can't close it. Help.
Blizz-:)
Blizz-:)
Jul 16 2017
6.1.0
2.5
Jul 16 2017
2.5
Version: 6.1.0
Removing / not fixing the not faulty queue makes Cyberduck much more of a 'dumb' tool that continuously needs your attention as it cannot remember future tasks.
Abramurkwian
Abramurkwian
Jun 28 2017
6.1.0
4.5
Jun 28 2017
4.5
Version: 6.1.0
This a very nice app, which I have used it since many years. Unfortunately, version 6.1.0 has the same bug as 6.0.0 - it creates a "fake" icon in the dock (contrary to the dock preferences: "minimise windows into application icon") and crashes after quit. This bug was corrected in 6.0.4, but reappeared in 6.1.0.
Hermie
Hermie
Jun 28 2017
6.1.0
0.0
Jun 28 2017
0.0
Version: 6.1.0
Version 6.1.0 runs but won't let me open a new connection on El Capitano. Nothing happens, the app just sits there. Can't report a bug cuz that requires me to open yet another account on what looks like a dev page. Previous version 6.0.4 worked without a hitch.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 2 2017
6.0.4
4.0
Jun 2 2017
4.0
Version: 6.0.4
Despite the version number listed on this page today, what downloads really is v6.0.4.
Timta2
Timta2
May 13 2017
6.0.0
1.0
May 13 2017
1.0
Version: 6.0.0
Did they really remove transfer queuing in 6.0? How is that not an absolutely essential feature? I've really liked this client in the past, but with the number of bizarre and infuriating problems that I've had with it in the last couple of years, with bugs, features not working, etc, and now features being removed, I'm walking away.
PeteCW
PeteCW
May 12 2017
6.0.0
5.0
May 12 2017
5.0
Version: 6.0.0
Been my go to FTP app for years. Never had a reason to look elsewhere.
jerry-turi
jerry-turi
Feb 16 2017
5.3.7
5.0
Feb 16 2017
5.0
Version: 5.3.7
I have used it for many websites and company projects, it never fails. So good, if there is a paid edition, I would buy it.
MacParc
MacParc
Jan 18 2017
5.3.0
0.0
Jan 18 2017
0.0
Version: 5.3.0
Today (January 18, 2017), three versions of Cyberduck have been released: 5.3, 5.3.1 & 5.3.2 q.v. https://cyberduck.io/changelog/
Stephen (OfficeTime Support)
Stephen (OfficeTime Support)
Dec 14 2016
5.2.2
5.0
Dec 14 2016
5.0
Version: 5.2.2
Has worked perfectly for years!
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Nov 6 2016
5.2.2
5.0
Nov 6 2016
5.0
Version: 5.2.2
Best free FTP client. Works as expected.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Oct 22 2016
5.2.0
5.0
Oct 22 2016
5.0
Version: 5.2.0
Good free FTP client.
Apeman
Apeman
Oct 20 2016
5.2.0
0.0
Oct 20 2016
0.0
Version: 5.2.0
Last week I paid $30 for Cyberduck, now it is free. Ouch!
BenjaminW
BenjaminW
Jul 12 2016
5.0.3
4.5
Jul 12 2016
4.5
Version: 5.0.3
Best FTP client for free. Still, ForkLift is imo better and always has fast transfer rates.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 10 2016
5.0.1
4.0
Jun 10 2016
4.0
Version: 5.0.1
Version 5.0 (20277) is now available at the developer's website. Version '5.0.2' is available at the Apple Mac App Store.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
May 30 2016
5.0
0.0
May 30 2016
0.0
Version: 5.0
"new monochrome toolbar icons" -- how is this an improvement? Why remove colored icons? How about giving the user the OPTION to remove color from the interface -- if dull, drab, and indistinguishable grey is what they really want?
Gary-box
Gary-box
Feb 27 2016
4.8.1
5.0
Feb 27 2016
5.0
Version: 4.8.1
Best free ftp client.
emac-man
emac-man
Feb 26 2016
4.8.1
1.5
Feb 26 2016
1.5
Version: 4.8.1
Version 4.8.1 and 10.7.5 - crash
macup-2
macup-2
Feb 25 2016
4.8
4.0
Feb 25 2016
4.0
Version: 4.8
I have been using Cyberduck for many years without problems, but the 4.8 release is crashing immediately on startup in Mavericks. I tried deleting the directory ~/Library/Application Support/Cyberduck, but this did not fix the problem. I had to revert to 4.7.x. Please advise. 5 star program, minus one star for this issue that I'm sure you will resolve.
rtheone
rtheone
Nov 7 2015
4.7.3
2.0
Nov 7 2015
2.0
Version: 4.7.3
Severe bug: Cyberduck 4.7.3 doesn't work with WebDAV servers at all anymore. We have to roll back to version 4.4.3 to get this feature back. @Mr Kocher, please fix this.

(My rating applies for version 4.7.3 only. Since I mostly use it for WebDAV connections, my ratings will unfortunately be very poor this time.)
morton-d
morton-d
Nov 3 2015
4.7.3
4.0
Nov 3 2015
4.0
Version: 4.7.3
Yes it's slow, yes it's java, yes it's full of bugs. But It's free and full of features! Nice app anyway
oladavidgomez
oladavidgomez
Oct 29 2015
4.7.3
2.5
Oct 29 2015
2.5
Version: 4.7.3
Oh, how it gleeches! I used it's ftp-functionaloty often for a couple of years, and since the last year the number of bugs broke all the limits. Pity, it became so laggy
Guest
Guest
Oct 26 2015
4.7.3
0.0
Oct 26 2015
0.0
Version: 4.7.3
I really like CyberDuck overall, but in my experience, each version is FULL of bugs. In each release, there are often multiple cosmetic issues like disclosure triangles that don't work and windows that open in duplicate (triplicate, etc), as well as occasional usability issues, like my downloads window which, as I write this, is currently frozen and not updating the status of my file transfers. I would love to give CyberDuck 5 stars, but it seems to suffer from some QA issues.
claire-4
claire-4
Jul 14 2015
4.7.1
1.0
Jul 14 2015
1.0
Version: 4.7.1
Can anyone get the new version 4.7.1 to stay open in Mac 10.10? It open it and it immediately crashes and asks to send a report. Restarted computer, redownloaded the app to no avail. Sadly had to download another FTP app to upload my client files. What is going on?
mfolder
mfolder
Jun 27 2015
4.7
4.0
Jun 27 2015
4.0
Version: 4.7
Nice app, but I wish it wasn't so huge in size (70MB!) and would be native (not damn Java).
AsSpants
AsSpants
Feb 26 2015
4.6.5
0.0
Feb 26 2015
0.0
Version: 4.6.5
HORRIBLE. I have no idea what is wrong with this download file, and extracted app. I downloaded in Safari, double-clicked to extract, and then it takes forever to wait for whatever the F is going on. Then a "verifying" window pops up and takes forever to run, JUST TO EXTRACT??? I drag install the app, double click to open, and wait FOREVER while my machine becomes UNUSABLE again. It flashes in the dock, but NEVER OPENS. My other apps won't work. I can't abort the open. I can't change apps. I can't open apps. I can't force quit the app via dock. I can't open the Activity Monitor app. I can't even open a force-quit window. I had to hard-#$%^&*( restart my entire machine. I'm not a jack#$%%. I download, install, and run apps every day. I have NEVER seen one behave like this. Before and after this, I can do the exact same thing with other files smaller and bigger and I do not have any issues. My internet is not down. I have plenty of RAM and hard drive. My other apps are not all running. I am not kidding. I've wasted 2 hours trying to get this to run. Run for your life. F%^& the Duck.

Mavericks 10.9.5
Safari 7.1.3
Elmewe
Elmewe
Dec 2 2014
4.6
0.0
Dec 2 2014
0.0
Version: 4.6
Also ExpanDrive is some of the popular Apps I think that's great
Upright-Bassist
Upright-Bassist
Nov 24 2014
4.6
0.0
Nov 24 2014
0.0
Version: 4.6
Liked the App while it worked, very much. It was a 3.5 IIRC. Then after a long time not using it, I started the App, and an update nag screen appeared, and unluckily I did try to update, failed miserably, though. A mere ≈500k was all left of the old, formerly working App. So I tried to at least install the latest copy from here @MacUpdate—BTW, MU Desktop 6 App does not even run on Snow Leopard! Amongst other probs...—which only finished after I trashed the running copy, due to a running Spotlight importer... Trouble is, the drag'n'drop “installed” App does not start at all! And I even tried to run it on my old trusty 2010 Mac mini, also Snow Leopard, no success, too. Besides, the ZIP archive tries to expand the App DIRECTLY into the /Applications folder—of course, Mac OS/Finder does not tolerate that. So without an alternative Unpacker it could not even unextract the App! I had ALZip at hand, yes, from the Mac AppStore, with the standard setting to unpack right in the archive's folder, so that worked like a charm. But with the standard system's archive utility, it does not work at all. Got to tell the developer all that! And I will... In the mean time, I'll try to find an older version that works.
Jason-Milles-76
Jason-Milles-76
Nov 22 2014
4.6
4.5
Nov 22 2014
4.5
Version: 4.6
Best free FTP client. Though Forklift (commercial app) is a bit faster with transfer rates, Cyberduck is pretty much the winner when it comes to value for money. :-)
pnn314
pnn314
Oct 24 2014
4.5.2
5.0
Oct 24 2014
5.0
Version: 4.5.2
ExpanDrive is the best app!
THEE:LEE
THEE:LEE
Sep 25 2014
4.5.2
3.5
Sep 25 2014
3.5
Version: 4.5.2
Great FTP application in the fact it’s more secure then FileZilla, but FileZilla’s UI is must easier to use. Please work on the UI!
Spike Jones
Spike Jones
Sep 14 2014
4.5.2
4.0
Sep 14 2014
4.0
Version: 4.5.2
Terrific free FTP client. Shame the UI is old looking. If you have some spare cash on the pockets you should consider Forklift which has a better streamlined UI.
mikomeryl
mikomeryl
Aug 8 2014
4.5.1
3.0
Aug 8 2014
3.0
Version: 4.5.1
Version 4.5.1 doesn't work with Mac OS X 10.9.4. It bounces in the Dock and then dies. I dropped back to my 4.4..5 version and that works.
Muzikdudeness
Muzikdudeness
Jul 28 2014
4.5.1
0.0
Jul 28 2014
0.0
Version: 4.5.1
Instead of the link that MU points to, go to https://update.cyberduck.io/Cyberduck-4.5.1.zip This will give you a version of 4.5.1 that does not crash on startup.
Bolt1963
Bolt1963
Jul 27 2014
4.5.1
4.0
Jul 27 2014
4.0
Version: 4.5.1
For some reason 4.5.1.u requires Java 6 to start. Version 4.4 runs with only Java 7 installed. Does this make any sense? (on OSX 10.9.4)
BillHicks
BillHicks
Jul 27 2014
4.5.1
0.0
Jul 27 2014
0.0
Version: 4.5.1
4.5.1 crashes on start-up, went back to 4.5, no issues in 4.5.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Jul 27 2014
4.5.1
0.0
Jul 27 2014
0.0
Version: 4.5.1
Version 4.5.1 crashes at launch! 4.5 starts like it should.
Hendricx
Hendricx
Apr 30 2014
4.4.4
3.0
Apr 30 2014
3.0
Version: 4.4.4
This version crashes all over the place. Never had this with previous versions.