Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Microsoft Office 2016 page
Microsoft Office 2016 free download for Mac

Microsoft Office 2016 Reviews16.16.27

16 July 2021

Popular productivity suite.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mp0wer
mp0wer
Jul 15 2021
16.16.27
0.0
Jul 15 2021
0.0
Version: 16.16.27
In my case I only get the installer for Word when downloading here.
peshaezwpuds
peshaezwpuds
Jul 4 2021
16.16.27
0.0
Jul 4 2021
0.0
Version: 16.16.27
Thanks so much for the download , I installed it perfectly , but I see the price is $69.99 on the right top of this page , it is too expensive , I found a cheaper one on getsoftwarekey.com, I use the product key to associate with my own MS account , so far so good , thanks again
Macsmurf
Macsmurf
Jun 16 2021
16.50
0.0
Jun 16 2021
0.0
Version: 16.50
I think you will find that this update, 21061301, is actually for Office 2019, not 2016; as detailed elsewhere on this page, "Support for Office 2016 for Mac ended on October 13, 2020".
britinokinawa
britinokinawa
Apr 30 2021
16.16.27
1.0
Apr 30 2021
1.0
Version: 16.16.27
Why is this titled "popular productivity suite?" That a lot of offices use it doesn't make it popular. The interface is basically flawed. The computer screen is wider than it is tall. So why is so much space at the top of the document taken by this ridiculous ribbon? Also it's unstable and unnecessarily complicated. Even some very simple operations need a visit to "help." Word particularly is far too complicated for a Word Processing app and lacks the features of a Desktop publishing programme. Word was good right up until version 5.1. Thereafter it lost it.
auiqbal
auiqbal
Apr 27 2021
16.16.27
0.0
Apr 27 2021
0.0
Version: 16.16.27
When I install, the documents cannot be saved as it asks for activation. Please help how to solve this issue
jeffchapmanjc
jeffchapmanjc
Feb 19 2021
16.16.27
2.0
Feb 19 2021
2.0
Version: 16.16.27
If you've used the Windows version of Office 365 (or any Office edition, really), you'll find the Mac version both usable and barely tolerable. It's lacking many features, the layout and functions are different, and your Mac will not be able to open Outlook MSG files at all.
britinokinawa
britinokinawa
Jul 15 2020
16.16.24
1.0
Jul 15 2020
1.0
Version: 16.16.24
Free???? Yeah???
sonimurib05
sonimurib05
Jul 3 2020
16.16.23
5.0
Jul 3 2020
5.0
Version: 16.16.23
good
bmerkovitsster
bmerkovitsster
Jun 8 2020
16.16.22
0.0
Jun 8 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.22
PLEASE NO MORE EMAIL MY MAIL BOX IS FULL OF TRASH
David-Kallman
David-Kallman
Jun 1 2020
16.16.20
1.0
Jun 1 2020
1.0
Version: 16.16.20
Excel came for free as part while downloading a new operating system. OK, if they're doing this, I'll go along. I figured out there had to be a "but." but I couldn't see it. Then I downloaded the "free" excel and ran it, I discovered the but. The free excel could not save files. Fortunately, I hadn't spent any time creating a file.
lokeshgupta91
lokeshgupta91
Apr 29 2020
16.16.20
0.0
Apr 29 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.20
I have installed the application but Office Excel is working perfactly but Word / Power point are not working because required activation of office. please help me to rectiy the issue without any cost.
lokeshgupta91
lokeshgupta91
Apr 29 2020
16.16.20
0.0
Apr 29 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.20
I have installed the application but Office Excel is working perfactly but Word / Power point are not working because required activation of office. please help me to rectiy the issue without any cost.
theovyzas
theovyzas
Mar 19 2020
16.16.20
0.0
Mar 19 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.20
Everything fine as I already had the licence.
dsptom95
dsptom95
Mar 8 2020
16.16.19
0.0
Mar 8 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.19
How does one go about purchasing the license from this site? I've downloaded the installer but can't figure out exactly how/who I'm supposed to pay the $69.99 to.
lboyette71
lboyette71
Feb 9 2020
16.16.18
0.0
Feb 9 2020
0.0
Version: 16.16.18
Mcr.... I cannot thank you enough for the links to download Microsoft Office Suite. You saved my soul. I recently update my wife's Mac and it removed her 2011 Microsoft office suite which lost all her saved files. I was fortunate enough to not get out on the couch. She was able to find her files but I was still stuck on trying to update her Suite or get it back. Anyway I found your post and it worked. Thank you!!! P.S. Where can I get Publisher the same way my friend.
Albabe
Albabe
Dec 20 2019
16.16.17
1.0
Dec 20 2019
1.0
Version: 16.16.17
Be wary of Updating Word. I've done it 3 times. The MS Updater says Word is updated but it keeps wanting to update it again with the exact same patch. And MU has been a real pain lately. Every time I wanna Comment I have to sign-in.
Ari-Tj
Ari-Tj
Dec 9 2019
16.16.13
0.0
Dec 9 2019
0.0
Version: 16.16.13
Latest version is 16.16.19111100.
timbot99
timbot99
Nov 18 2019
16.16.13
0.0
Nov 18 2019
0.0
Version: 16.16.13
With Microsoft Office 2016 Mac OS it is impossible to create bookmarks and hyperlinks. I am not a fool, as I have done this many times with previous generations of Word on earlier computers. (I will have to crank up an old computer to do this job). To be precise, the hyperlink box won't accept the hyperlink address when I click "This Document". The OK box disappears. On a separate issue, I am having trouble copying and pasting into earlier versions of Word. It won't accept mathematical formulae. Version 16 I have found to be a heap of trouble.
sharon-33
sharon-33
Jun 21 2019
16.16.11
0.5
Jun 21 2019
0.5
Version: 16.16.11
Outlook for Mac update 16.16.11 is awful..... since it;s updated nothing works properly - thinngs keep changing - font's and spacing and it's also changed all my headed paper templates, where have page breaks gone, excel spreadsheets are more unstable than ever and more - how could they do this.... am thinking about just changing to mac software instead of Word.
christianenoza
christianenoza
Mar 6 2019
16.22
3.0
Mar 6 2019
3.0
Version: 16.22
i would like to ask anyone encountered hang up while using powerpoint 2016 please help me with this. thank you very much.
Aargl
Aargl
Jan 12 2019
16.16.5
3.0
Jan 12 2019
3.0
Version: 16.16.5
One of the things that decided me to update my OS from 10.9 to 10.11 was Office 2016...
Well, I can't say it's not working great, globally, but I'm pretty much disappointed because of the disappearance of a few things that I find important in former versions such as:
- no more custom toolbars — I had one for Excel and two for Word...
- Word: no more blue background
- Excel: graphical bug for complex graphs with lots of non-adjacent cells — it's obviously designed for adjacent cells and doesn't accept too many arguments...
- Outlook: can't move profiles to a different drive using a symlink as before (I found some tutorial to achieve that by modifying the app but it didn't work for me)
- Powerpoint: I haven't worked with PP 2016 yet but I expect some disappointment too as I still had to go to PP 2004 in some cases (PP 2011 doesn't accept too many slides!)
So, one might argue that it's just a question of "learning curve", but tell me why I should spend so much time learning how to do what I was easily doing before, and why I should accept the loss of my preferred features when, in the end, it doesn't run faster than Office 2011 and I even had crashes...
Luckily, and to my surprise, Office 2011 still works great on El Capitan! :-)
Jbucholtz
Jbucholtz
Jan 5 2019
16.16.5
0.0
Jan 5 2019
0.0
Version: 16.16.5
Today's listing above shows Office 2016 being updated to version 16.16.5. (18120901) My installed copy shows version 16.20 (181208) and no updates available or needed.
johnstarkssucks
johnstarkssucks
Oct 31 2018
16.16.3
0.0
Oct 31 2018
0.0
Version: 16.16.3
everyone,

I noticed some of you have 15.37 version of office 2016 for Mac. I have a file that runs specifically on 15.37. I have 15.41 but this version has a bug and macro doesn't run on it. Does any of you know how to get 15.37 or even better, if anyone has a dmg file to share?

Appreciate your help in advance!
Mcr
Mcr
Oct 17 2018
16.16.3
5.0
Oct 17 2018
5.0
Version: 16.16.3
MU Editors: Thank you for splitting out 2016 and 2019 onto separate pages. One thing still needs to be fixed however, as of today (Oct 17, 2018) I received a MU update email because I am signed up to receive notices about Office 2016. The email advised me that update 16.18.0 Build (18101400) was available for Office 2016; I repeat the email says an update for '2016'. This is incorrect. Update 16.18 is an update for Office 2019 not 2016. Anyone who applies this update to a retail/volume copy of 2016 will get updated and their license converted to 365 subscription, in other words they will be prompted to start paying subscription, when before they had one time purchase license. Now that the two product lines are separated and tracked separately, what needs to happen is that users who previously signed up for notices about 2016, need to separately sign up for notices on 2019 (IF, and only if they are interested in 2019). Notices should not be sent to the 2016 group unless it is an actual update SPECIFICALLY FOR 2016. which as of today is stuck on 16.16.18101500. Any future updates to 2016 will never exceed version number 16.18. 16.18 and beyond is exclusively for 2019 and 365 and even those will eventual split as well, when ever support for 2019 retail ends (2023?). BOTTOM LINE TO USERS: IF YOU PURCHASED A COPY OF OFFICE 2016, EITHER ONE TIME PURCHASE (RETAIL) OR VOLUME, DO NOT INSTALL ANY UPDATES OF VERSION 16.18.X OR HIGHER, YOUR LICENSE WILL GET CONVERTED. If you have 365 or a retail copy of 2019, go over to the 2019/365 MU page at https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/60908/microsoft-office-365-2019 to get latest updates, and if you want to be notified, sign up to receive notices for that product line.
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
Oct 17 2018
16.18.0 Build (18101400)
0.0
Oct 17 2018
0.0
Version: 16.18.0 Build (18101400)
When I updated Office yesterday the version number was and still is 181015, not 181014
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
Oct 5 2018
16.16.2 (Build 18091001)
0.0
Oct 5 2018
0.0
Version: 16.16.2 (Build 18091001)
for months now, I can not use Outlook for my mails. Many times have I asked help from Microsoft, (France or Belgium) but NEVER had any answer !!
delga_tommie
delga_tommie
Sep 29 2018
16.17.0
5.0
Sep 29 2018
5.0
Version: 16.17.0
Excellent software!
Mcr
Mcr
Sep 27 2018
16.17.0
5.0
Sep 27 2018
5.0
Version: 16.17.0
MU Editors: You can help clarify much of the confusion regarding 365 vs retail/On the Premises versions of Office. This current MU page is a mash up of both and just confusing the heck out of a lot of people. Here is a link to MS that clarifies much of the situation.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4133312/office-2019-commercial-for-windows-and-mac-frequently-asked-questions

For starters, this current page needs to be renamed "Office 2019 365". This page needs to be more obvious in warning users who do not have 365 to AVOID downloading any of the updates from links on this page.

Second, you may consider a separate MU page for what Microsoft is now calling the 'on the premises' version, or aka what we normally call 'retail/boxed' version, which as of today will now also be available as a 2019.

Lastly for those people who are not upgrading (365 OR on the premises), and remain on Office 2016, you probably want to maintain a 2016 page with the most recent updates, which probably will remain at version 16.16.
kolkataroy
kolkataroy
Sep 22 2018
14.0.0
5.0
Sep 22 2018
5.0
Version: 14.0.0
nice
kolkataroy
kolkataroy
Sep 22 2018
14.0.0
5.0
Sep 22 2018
5.0
Version: 14.0.0
nice
kolkataroy
kolkataroy
Sep 22 2018
14.0.0
5.0
Sep 22 2018
5.0
Version: 14.0.0
nice
Lowrider
Lowrider
Sep 18 2018
16.17.0
3.0
Sep 18 2018
3.0
Version: 16.17.0
Regarding Office 16.17. I also couldn't install the update. It indicated I needed to activate it, and when I tried, it indicated I didn't have a license. When I finally reached Tech Support, a Level 2 person, I was told that it was a bug, and would be fixed in 7 to 10 days. The Level 1 person I spoke to a couple days earlier, wasted almost 2 hours of my time and accomplished absolutely nothing.

I do not believe this to be Office 2019, because the templates, ribbons, commands and etc are exactly the same as Office 2016. Office 2019 would, IMO, be an overhaul, and use a different numbering system for the program releases. The releases would start with 19.01 and so on.
Starman535
Starman535
Sep 17 2018
16.17.0
3.0
Sep 17 2018
3.0
Version: 16.17.0
I don't think this is correct. I have 16.16.2, and the software does not indicate an update is needed.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Sep 12 2018
16.17.0
3.0
Sep 12 2018
3.0
Version: 16.17.0
Version 16.17.0 seems to be Microsoft Office 2019, not 2016.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Aug 29 2018
16.16.0
0.5
Aug 29 2018
0.5
Version: 16.16.0
Just installed 16.16 and the Security options have changed. Only one option to send diagnostic = full diagnostic data. Other option has been removed and full option is unchecked. Seems MS was listening to the barrage of complaints or is this to ensure compliance with EU privacy legislation? Either way, a win for users. [Still only worth 0.5 stars]
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
johnny-decrawhezgmail-com6558
Jul 3 2018
16.14.1
0.0
Jul 3 2018
0.0
Version: 16.14.1
since last auto update, Excel is dead and does not respond or open !!!!
casey-9
casey-9
Jun 14 2018
16.14.0
0.0
Jun 14 2018
0.0
Version: 16.14.0
Just updated to PPTX 16.14.1 today and something very odd is happening to lines. They are going from .75 to really fat, ugly lines. Word and character spacing seems off too. Went back and opened recent file w/ PPTX 2011 and everything was fine. Any thoughts?
Mcr
Mcr
May 24 2018
16.13.1
5.0
May 24 2018
5.0
Version: 16.13.1
The latest version 16.x releases are SLOWLY getting better (compared to the 15.x releases) in terms of glaring issues. To refresh everyones memory; version 16 of Office Mac was a huge leap because it was the first step in merging the code base with Windows and other Office platforms (iOS, web, Android). It was a necessary step to get all platforms on a common code base (if you are developer you understand why), and in the LONG RUN will mean higher quality, shorter time to market for new features, and faster bug fixing. Short term, inevitable that there are growing pains and speed bumps. For now, Im still staying with version 15.41 (the last v15 release), but continue to keep an eye on each v16 update. When you start to see IT people and biz users feeling comfortable and the amount of complaints dropping with v16, it will be the time then to update. The volume and intensity of complaints from business users has definitely gone down since 16.0 (from my personal experience working in enterprise, and from reading the trade articles and user blogs)
scott-m29
scott-m29
May 16 2018
16.13.0
0.0
May 16 2018
0.0
Version: 16.13.0
$9.99 looks like a decent price. But not every month..
Macmanux
Macmanux
Apr 13 2018
16.12.0
3.5
Apr 13 2018
3.5
Version: 16.12.0
I see positives and negatives: First: Excel is still the best spreadsheet out there unless your needs are really basic. For PowerPoint, I think keynote is ahead of the game though it is not cross-platform so when you have to share presentations in mixed environments, it will have to be PowerPoint. Outlook has come a good way though in no way yet is it comparable to Outlook for Windows. It can only play its strenghts if you use it in a company running a Microsoft Exchange server. It otherwise neither supports CalDAV not CardDAV, so with non-Exchange providers, you are limited to using it as a mail client rather than an integrated collaboration client. What I don't like about the overall suite: the slowness - especially when starting up the applications. It's factors slower that Office 2011 - even on a fast SSD. What I do like overall: the permanent feature updates. Rather that releasing major and then often incompatible versions, Microsoft releases new features as soon as they are available - many of which are very useful. So a mixed bag, giving 3.5 stars, willing to increase to 4 if the performance gets better.
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Apr 13 2018
16.12.0
0.5
Apr 13 2018
0.5
Version: 16.12.0
Poor performance following "upgrade" from Office 2011.

My technical dictionaries for my work reports etc were not imported, nor can I add them to Word 2016. There is no option to create a '.dic' file as there was previously.

Excel 2016 prevents my use of the free StatPlus add-on. have followed StatPlus instructions to load add-on but Excel refuses.

Didn't install Outlook or OneNote and don't use PowerPoint.

Word and Excel both bloated 1GB+ apps with all fonts DUPLICATED in each app (255 fonts, 488MB) x2 - essentially 1GB of wasted space. Apple's Font Book has no control over these fonts, so every time I want to select a font, 255 options are shown.

Overall very disappointed with Office 2016 (require it for work purposes). Being VERY polite here!

Overall, 0.5 star for garbage product. Remember Office started on Mac in the mid-1980s (!) and I still have my Word 6 install discs. Office apps have been going downhill ever since.
Andy49
Andy49
Mar 23 2018
16.11
0.5
Mar 23 2018
0.5
Version: 16.11
PROBLEMS! PROBLEMS! This new update breaks the search feature. No way to search folders. Fix immediately. I'm stuck with this version because the database is not compatible with previous versions - even the last update. STAY AWAY.
screen_name
screen_name
Mar 12 2018
16.10
3.0
Mar 12 2018
3.0
Version: 16.10
Microsoft PP works OK on macOS but is far inferior to the keynote application provided by Apple.
Gérard-Cousin
Gérard-Cousin
Mar 9 2018
16.10
1.0
Mar 9 2018
1.0
Version: 16.10
The last versions crash all the time, I have to revert back to previous 16 versions with Timemachine.
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
16.10
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 16.10
No one can beat the Microsoft Excel app, it’s a very mature app with years of evolution.
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 4 2018
16.10
5.0
Mar 4 2018
5.0
Version: 16.10
Microsoft on word and excel are a necessity, and I don’t think there is something better than these.
GatorGrowl
GatorGrowl
Mar 1 2018
16.10
3.0
Mar 1 2018
3.0
Version: 16.10
Improving, but still not integrated with iCloud calendar. I prefer Airmail but my workflow app only works with Apple Mail or Outlook.
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 23 2018
16.9
5.0
Jan 23 2018
5.0
Version: 16.9
Very curious, since the initial release of Office 2016, it has been version 15.xxx all the way up to 15.41 in December 2017, and now suddenly a jump to version 16.9 (not even 16.0 but .9). I noticed immediately after installing 16.9 that it ran MUCH slower than 15.41. SLower to launch, slower even just scrolling through long document, slower search. Did a search for a word I knew existed in the doc, it found 0 matches. Reverted back to 15.37, immediate and obvious speed up back to 'normal', and the search for the word found the match, no problem. This version 16 feels like 'fast track' release, not a stable. Strongly recommend you stay on version 15 until this gets worked out. If you upgrade to 16 and then decide to revert to 15, downgrading is fairly straightforward, but you will get an error after restarting version 15, that the app cache is corrupted. DONT restart 15 (after the delete of 16) by attempting to load a working document, just launch app, because program will try to reload previous open doc and attempt to 'recover' because it thinks it is corrupted. In hindsight, before restarting 15, I should have used Onyx to clear the application cache.

UPDATE: confirmed after doing some googling, this 16.9 was Insider Preview 'slow' release on Jan 8, and then released to 'stable' general release on Jan 18. 10 days between release to the 'slow insider' group to general release is very fast. Definite screw up here by Microsoft. Many of the Online comments by insider reviewers noted the slow down in speed and BLASTED Microsoft for releasing 16.x to the general public just 10 days after release to the insider group, even though insider users had complained about numerous issues since 16.0 (point zero) going back to early December. Apparently a 16.10 came out Jan 22, but apparently still has major issues, particularly 'slowness'.
msingh783
msingh783
Jan 4 2018
15.41
4.0
Jan 4 2018
4.0
Version: 15.41
Download Microsoft Office 2016 Mac full version for free.
Visit : http://www.downloadfreeios.com/2017/03/download-microsoft-office-2016-for-mac.html

Also Download All full version softwares directly for free.
pajant
pajant
Dec 28 2017
15.41
0.0
Dec 28 2017
0.0
Version: 15.41
Okay. My Microsoft applications are HUGE, and my Mac mini - with 8 GB memory, does not want to open Excel. Here are the app sizes:
Excel: 1.58 GB
OneNote: 918.31 GB
Outlook: 1.69 GB
Powerpoint: 1.45 GB
Word: 2.02 GB
CRAZY!
Photoshop is 530 MB, Word needs almost 4 times the processing power than PS, really?