Back to Visual Studio Code page
Visual Studio Code free download for Mac

Visual Studio Code Reviews

1.39.2
17 October 2019

Cross-platform code editor and debugger for web apps.

asux
06 April 2017

Most helpful

Fast, flexible and feature-rich editor! Moved from Atom because faster.
Like (4)
Version 1.10.1

Read 11 Visual Studio Code User Reviews

Rate this app:

jlee5201
19 July 2019
The best code editor available. Lightweight and fast, but extend it as much as you want with plugins. Better than Sublime and Atom by miles.
Like
Version 1.36.1
Iliketrash
05 July 2019
Bad first impression. This app apparently conforms to the trendy UI design of putting _everything_ into one window. This was trendy on Microsoft products in the 1980s and unfortunately is once again popular and the bleed-over into Mac programs is just an awful regression. And lightweight? I opened a 13-line C program and the editor takes up 664 MB. Not cool. What if I actually did something? I won't leave a rating because I've spent only a few minutes with this apparent turd. Lots of luck, trend followers.
Like
Version 1.36.0
Detlevski
13 April 2019
Microsofts business strategy in action. Sell the product for under the price to crush competition. Take over GitHub, make sure there is hardly any resistance by making private repos free. There will be less and less editors and IDE's in a couple of years. Do tou think there will be al lot of JS developers who are going to buy Sublime Text or BBEdit ?
That's the way M$ and other tech corps take control of your and my live. By giving everything away for free. You will be unpleasantly surprised when you receive the bill for all these "free" goodies.
Like (4)
Version 1.33.1
AlainLéglise4728
19 October 2018
Now using Visual Studio
Like
Version 1.27.2
Nontroppo
28 August 2018
Oh my. I just ignored this as I blindly assumed it was going to be a bloated mess (I'd had a very bad experience with Atom, which was so slow as to be unusable with files > 1MB). How wrong I was! I don't know what MS have done but they have created the most beautiful text editor. First off, the performance on highlighted large files is equivalent to Sublime text or TextMate. Perhaps Atom is improved too but I assume MS have done something specific here. In addition the GUI is heavily inspired by Sublime in all the right places, with command and search panels, split editors and more. An IDE like this is as good as its extensions these days, and here I actually think VSCode is a good head above Sublime, at least for Python and ruby code, where the extensions are far more powerful than the Sublime equivalents. Ruby which is my preferred scripting language has a really nice integrated debugger (debugging has been broken since forever in Sublime), and really good intellisense. Python support comes direct from MS, and they seem to be heavily tooling up here, so even though Sublime is written in Python, I'd say MS has the upper hand (though I only dabble in Python, so a real expert in the language may have a different opinion). Extensions for Markdown and LaTeX are broadly equivalent IMO. It cold starts a tad more slowly than sublime (about 1.x secs longer), which is my biggest annoyance with it. It has wonderful detailed changelogs and regular monthly updates, and the extension market built in in better integrated than sublime's 3rd party "package control" (though that has an awesome website for it). For free, this is just amazing, highly recommended to at least test for a while.
Like (1)
Version 1.26.1
Sheppy
10 July 2018
VS Code is an excellent editor in the vein of modern cross-platform editors that don't entirely blend in with the Mac. It actually isn't quite fair to say that, as it does a much better job than many of them, but definitely still has its quirks. Having to configure the editor by editing JSON files is crazy, but is basically de regeur for cross-platform code editors like this. Generally, though, VS Code fits in nicely with my workflow. I like that each workspace can have a terminal right inside its window, which is convenient for dealing with version control, test tools, and package managers. I also really like its integration with MDN for documentation and validation of CSS (though I hope to see HTML, JS, and eventually API docs and validation through this too), and it does a decent job with JSON editing, allowing you to specify schemas for validation. Would be even better if it could offer a form-based JSON editor, but hopefully there will be an extension for that eventually. I recommend giving VSC a try for a couple of weeks. A couple of days isn't enough time to really get a feel for how good it is.
Like (1)
Version 1.25.0
joost-dalen
29 June 2018
In the configuring creen after new project, I am unable to click the Target Platform. The checkboxes (Android and iOS) are gray and not checkable. Somebody please help. Thanks in advance. Joost
Like
Version 1.24.1
1 answer(s)
Aw21
Aw21
28 August 2018
VS Code has no "New Project" command or wizard by itself. You seem to use an extension. I suggest to ask questions about that extension on stackoverflow or you file an issue against the extension's repository.
Like
Madmacmad
07 April 2017
it's a good editor.... but Sublime Text is so much better...
Like
Version 1.11.0
2 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
27 April 2017
Pro Tip: You don't have to leave a star review. You can just comment. It is very clear to many of us that you do know either product well enough to discuss the differences in depth. Sublime Text is indeed a great text editor but what people want to know is how VSC stacks up in specific areas.
Like (5)
cig0
cig0
07 October 2017
Your statement is based on facts or just your own preferences?
Like (1)
asux
06 April 2017
Fast, flexible and feature-rich editor! Moved from Atom because faster.
Like (4)
Version 1.10.1
1 answer(s)
cig0
cig0
07 October 2017
And less bloated: a base install of Atom can weight up to 600mb while a base install of VS Code (which paradoxically packs a lot more punch with it's integrated IDE-like features) weights in the line of ~150mb.

Indeed VS Code has better performance than Atom but the reason I choose the former over the later is that VS Code already provides functionality built-in that would requite a lot of time and effort to make it work properly in Atom.

In the end it's all about what's more important to you: Atom's aim is to provide total customization of every little part of the editor while VS Code purpose is to resemble a light-weight IDE for your favorite language(s).

I'm not a fan of Microsoft in any way, if anything just the other way, but they are doing a great job here.
Since VS Code is built upon Atom's core functionality, we can say that the Atom project is a big success as it is delivering what it promises: full customization.
Like
Virtualruffy
18 November 2016
The link does not work. Tries to download "1.7.1" instead use the developer's link and click the button there to download.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Madmacmad
30 April 2015
Thx to M$... was waiting long time for this! Well done works fine so far.
Like
Version 0.1.0