Back to BusyContacts page
BusyContacts free download for Mac

BusyContacts Reviews

18 April 2021

Fast, efficient contact manager.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
SiteCR2
SiteCR2
Apr 6 2021
1.5.2
0.0
Apr 6 2021
0.0
Version: 1.5.2
I was with BusyCal and BusyContacts for years. Last time I purchased I failed to recognize it had change to a subscription model. I'm done sorry, on a few pieces of software work for me as a subscription. Moving on sadly after a long time customer with little change that warrants that kind of price increase.
JoyWise
JoyWise
Feb 25 2021
1.5.1
3.0
Feb 25 2021
3.0
Version: 1.5.1
I really want to like your app, but please please please add a menu bar icon.
ivryernest
ivryernest
Jan 12 2021
1.5.1
1.0
Jan 12 2021
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
Why "Busy" ? My contacts are never busy !
Rnetter
Rnetter
Jan 6 2021
1.5.1
1.0
Jan 6 2021
1.0
Version: 1.5.1
Use to like BusyContact and BusyCal but didn't realize that they want $30 for EACH of their program every 18 Month which I am not prepared to pay. Looking for alternatives now. Also, I assume they'll go out of business soon which is another reason to start looking for something new but they were good while it lasted :(
Pirx
Pirx
Jul 24 2020
1.4.8
2.0
Jul 24 2020
2.0
Version: 1.4.8
Busy contacts having lost access to e-mails in Mail.app is a major, major setback. This function is mission-critical for me, and without it BusyContacts is almost the same as the MacOS in-built Contacts app. If the e-mail functionality was restored, it would be a 4-star plus app.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jan 29 2020
1.4.3
5.0
Jan 29 2020
5.0
Version: 1.4.3
I love BusyContacts since years and really couldn't work without it any more. Together with BusyCal it's a true killer combo in my daily work with the Mac. The only thing I would wish: BusyContacts' user interface design is a bit outdated and needs some work by a professional designer (like it happened with BusyCal some years ago). Nevertheless: Worth every penny…
AnKo
AnKo
Nov 22 2019
1.4.2
0.0
Nov 22 2019
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
Has anyone been having issues printing address labels out of BusyContacts? For some reason, it is always selecting one (and the wrong) card to print. Also, the fact that cards cannot be exported into a spreadsheet without using workarounds/other apps is a real bummer. This should be a norm.
theolddesigner
theolddesigner
Oct 29 2019
1.4.2
0.0
Oct 29 2019
0.0
Version: 1.4.2
It's broken with apple mail, as is Houdahspot as mail has moved its indexing to core.spotlight which has no public API however it functions perfectly using mailmate for email plus contacts and messages app both work fine.
vailskibowls
vailskibowls
Oct 17 2019
1.4.1
1.0
Oct 17 2019
1.0
Version: 1.4.1
Catalina has made this software nothing more than a roledex. Most of functionality is gone .
Pirx
Pirx
Oct 17 2019
1.4.1
2.0
Oct 17 2019
2.0
Version: 1.4.1
October 17, 2019: Catalina breaks core functionality of BusyContacts. If you need BusyContacts, especially for work, stay away from Mac OS X 10.15! The developer must have known this for quite a while and chose not to inform his customers well ahead. For details look here: https://support.busymac.com/help/112805
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Mar 18 2018
1.2.8
5.0
Mar 18 2018
5.0
Version: 1.2.8
For me as a Senior Web Pro working with several Macs BusyContacts is just a Must-have like BusyCal – couldn't work without both any more.
Kitmos
Kitmos
Dec 11 2017
1.2.7
3.0
Dec 11 2017
3.0
Version: 1.2.7
I like BusyContacts but it really needs a menu option like Cardhop
dwp-1
dwp-1
Oct 27 2017
1.2.4
0.0
Oct 27 2017
0.0
Version: 1.2.4
For those who need users who need powerful contact management tools for business purposes, there are many far superior applications than BusyContacts for $50. For those of us who prefer more control and easier access to our contacts than Alfred or Launchbar provide. I would suggest trying Cardhop from Flexbits the makers of Fantastical the award calendar app.
Spank-Me-Baby
Spank-Me-Baby
Oct 2 2017
1.2.3
3.0
Oct 2 2017
3.0
Version: 1.2.3
Okay. Not sure about the blurb on the developer's site of BusyContacts being "The most powerful contact manager for macOS". I know there are more powerful CRMs such as SalesForce, and check out some of the CRMs at https://www.capterra.com/customer-relationship-management-software/. Even SUNRISE Contacts 2017 at http://www.sunrisepage.com/contacts/ (not mentioned here at MacUpdate) is a particularly attractive looking and effective CRM (works on macOS) and can do more than BusyContacts, and it just so happens to be free (you only pay about the same price to unlock lookup databases if you ever need to access them). But I guess each to their own. You will always find some people who will swear by some CRMs as the best (and most powerful as the case may be with this one), and others might think they are pretty mediocre. It all depends on what they want to do with a CRM.

If all you ever want to do is store some contacts and sync calendar events with Apple's own calendar.app (Yay! BusyContacts can do it), this one is fine. Not the prettiest of the bunch, but reasonable.
Michael-Moore
Michael-Moore
Aug 31 2017
1.2.1
0.0
Aug 31 2017
0.0
Version: 1.2.1
I would be interested in the app but for one thing--no local wifi syncing with the Contacts app. Like most apps that need to be synced, BusyContacts requires syncing over the web, which is a big no-no for me. I don't understand what the deal is--it should be a relatively straightforward task; if you can write code to sync over the cloud, surely you can write it to sync with a file that sits on the same computer. Puzzling.
woglesby
woglesby
Aug 21 2017
1.1.9
4.0
Aug 21 2017
4.0
Version: 1.1.9
I like the integration of Contacts and Calendar. Tags is very useful, as is also the “expertise” field. I was hoping to print out a Phone Book, but find the apps are limited to Labels and Envelopes, and will only export vCards. May we please have more printing and exporting options? Thanks.
Pirx
Pirx
Dec 24 2016
1.1.5
2.0
Dec 24 2016
2.0
Version: 1.1.5
It is a great idea to link exiting contacts to the e-mail exchange with these contacts and contact relevant calendar events, to dos and reminders. It saves the most tedious, error-prone part of deploying an SME CRM: Painful transfer of data to the CRM. Having said that, BusyContacts is not a full scale CRM solution, but it does exactly what I need. BusyContacts and BusyCal won't win a beauty contest like - say - Fantastical, but it makes me so much more efficient. For calendar integration in BusyContacts you need to buy BusyCalendar, too, however, at their webstore I just paid US$ 24 for each, BusyCal and BusyContacts bundle.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Jun 20 2016
1.1
5.0
Jun 20 2016
5.0
Version: 1.1
Sure Apple Contacts just works but I love this app, with lots of options and great support. I hope to see an update for BusyCal soon too.
Geoduck
Geoduck
Mar 24 2016
1.0.8
2.0
Mar 24 2016
2.0
Version: 1.0.8
1. A small improvement over Apple contacts and address book
2. Way overpriced, even for an owner of BusyCal which is a good, though aging application
3. Interface is circa 1998; making a distribution list is not intuitive and quick.
4. Making a new contact is awkward. You cannot just drag and drop an email address into the quick contact data entry box from an email. Stupid lazy design.
5. I may just purchase this because the other choices in this market are lousy as well.
6. In El Cap, with a new iMac, it crashes a lot after simple editing of cards.
rolfsteinecke
rolfsteinecke
Feb 16 2016
1.0.8
0.0
Feb 16 2016
0.0
Version: 1.0.8
I downloaded the app but it's after (successful) installation I dont find it in /Applications. Where can I find and start the application?
Dowsmith
Dowsmith
Feb 16 2016
1.0.8
4.5
Feb 16 2016
4.5
Version: 1.0.8
A significant improvement over Apple Address Book. Lots of helpful elements, for example: 1. Each entry lists the groups it is a member of, and that list can be simply edited to remove it from any of those groups. 2. Birthdays/anniversaries: there is an option in each contact to specify whether these show up on my calendar or not - very useful for comparative strangers whose birthdays I happen to have. Further, the developer is very responsive to tech support queries or feature requests, and regular minor updates keep coming. One or two minor irritations, eg: The main list of contact-names insists in displaying both photos and a second arbitrary line, which means only half as many names can show vertically as displays in Address Book - with no user control on what that second line displays (sometimes an email address, sometimes one line of the address)
Dixie44
Dixie44
Feb 6 2016
1.0.8
4.0
Feb 6 2016
4.0
Version: 1.0.8
Simply great! Especially when integrated with BusyCal. love.
zenon-leksgmail-com8171
zenon-leksgmail-com8171
Oct 28 2015
1.0.8
0.0
Oct 28 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.8
I can not buy this program at a promotional price of $ 25. When you try to pay by paypal or credit card, get the message "Error 12 ERROR"
Guest
Guest
Oct 20 2015
1.0.8
0.0
Oct 20 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.8
I love this app. It's clear and concise and does everything advertised and does it well.
SMade
SMade
Oct 14 2015
1.0.7
4.0
Oct 14 2015
4.0
Version: 1.0.7
I'm interested in this application, especially the Activity List -- The Activity List displays activities associated with the selected contact including calendar events, emails, messages, and recent social network posts.

Does this work with a contact group or company? If I'd like to see all emails, calendar events, messages etc. with all contacts from a specified company or group, that would help tremendously as a mini CRM app.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Aug 13 2015
1.0.5
0.0
Aug 13 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
Nothing in App Store, still shows 1.03. Dare I risk pulling down the 1.05 update that was just released?
missing
missing
Jun 6 2015
1.0.3
1.0
Jun 6 2015
1.0
Version: 1.0.3
I spent hours editing contacts and saved them and half of them are missing. I must have done something wrong, did it again. Nope for some reason it only saved less than half. 658 contacts, saved 235, that doesn't work for me. happy it works for others.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Feb 24 2015
1.0
5.0
Feb 24 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0
I did not notice this before but I just discovered another great feature in BusyContacts: Auto fill. In the address part of BusyContacts just type an character and voila you get a complet list of words starting with that character. This is a feature once made Now Up-to-Dae/Contact great.
Arne-schaper
Arne-schaper
Feb 18 2015
1.0
4.0
Feb 18 2015
4.0
Version: 1.0
tested the demo, nice idea and nice GUI. As mentioned in one review it only works with BusyCal which I use but as another downside it only works one way. You have to arrange an appointment from within BusyContacts to get it in BusyCal and activities. The other does not work. Second downside with activities it only works with Apple Mail but not Postbox or Unibox. Due to the potential of the idea 4 stars
Rikyman
Rikyman
Feb 15 2015
1.0
3.0
Feb 15 2015
3.0
Version: 1.0
This app is good, I am testing the demo and like it, It does not have address format for portuguese addresses, and It could have push for iCloud, I Will buy it soon, It's a little expensive for a contacts app, but is good to deserve a buy.
The only downside is that to have calendar integration you have to buy the busycal app, this is why for me not a 5 star app, it could work with the default Apple calendar and not force me to buy busycal to have that type of integration. So the investiment in the app to fully work is a lot more than the app itself. I like more the visual of Apple calendar than the busycal calendar that seems old when used in yosemite.

Good app and recommended.
Dana-Sutton
Dana-Sutton
Feb 14 2015
1.0
5.0
Feb 14 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0
If you only use Apple Contacts and only have a limited number of contacts you don't need this (unless you just want it for its more attractive interface). If you have to ride herd on contacts from multiple sources (such as Google) or if you have enough contacts that tagging is a useful way of riding herd on them, then you do. The only rival is Cobook, but their latest versions are turning into crapware. Note that BusyContacts' publicity doesn't mention that you can dial phone nrs. from within the application.

If you buy this and BusyCal together they cost $80, and if you already own BusyCal you can get this for $29.

Now if only Busymac would release an e-mail client...
Kitmos
Kitmos
Feb 14 2015
1.0
3.0
Feb 14 2015
3.0
Version: 1.0
Shows promise but my biggest complaints are no menu bar access and no mobile version.
bumper314
bumper314
Feb 14 2015
1.0
0.0
Feb 14 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0
Looks great, but is it not available in the Mac App Store? I'm a little leery of purchasing this from the vendor directly after their BusyCal 2.0 fiasco. The short version: BusyCal 2.0 was released as Mac App Store only, so BusyCal 1.0 owners (such as myself), didn't have an upgrade path and had to purchase the app again at full price (if you missed the initial discount period, like myself). I see that now you can buy BusyCal 2.x directly from the vendor again, but my confidence has been rocked by several other vendors doing switcharoos like this.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Feb 14 2015
1.0
4.5
Feb 14 2015
4.5
Version: 1.0
Very nice, no issues with the beta's. I like the email linking I see. Love BusyCal so this is a great addition.
tatami
tatami
Feb 13 2015
1.0
4.0
Feb 13 2015
4.0
Version: 1.0
I too remember Now Up To Date and Now Contact and it's great to have them back, updated and working on Mac OS X. I've been using the public beta for a few months and it hasn't crashed once during that time. The guys at BusyMac have added some features and squashed a few bugs. For me it's been great timing. Apple Contacts is very limited. I had switched to CoBook but recently that seems to have been moving in the wrong direction so I was looking for a better contact manager. I'm really happy with BusyContacts, particularly for its integration with BusyCal and Apple Mail, which means that I can see events from my calendar and email messages right alongside each of my contacts. And I can even use Dialectic/PhoneValet to dial numbers on my landline.
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
Feb 13 2015
1.0
5.0
Feb 13 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0
Remember Now Up-to-Date/Contact, the apps I used for years before the release of the iPhone ? As Now Software went bankrupt we had to swith to iCal and Address Book to get our data in the iPhone (and later iPad)

BusyMac have first released BusySync and later BusyCal and now BusyContacts.

The BusyCal/BusyContacts suite is a great CRM solution for all people who appreciate quality software, consistent updates and great support too.. BusyContact shines with tight integration to OS X and all social media which you can link to. I personally use BusyContact with iCloud, Facebook and Twitter only but discover new features every minute.

I love to see some small additions or changes but for a 1.0 version I am perfectly happy. Also glad to see great pricing for BusyCal users too :)

Highly recommended