Back to BusyContacts page
BusyContacts free download for Mac

BusyContacts Reviews

1.4.2
22 October 2019

Fast, efficient contact manager.

bumper314
14 February 2015

Most helpful

Looks great, but is it not available in the Mac App Store? I'm a little leery of purchasing this from the vendor directly after their BusyCal 2.0 fiasco. The short version: BusyCal 2.0 was released as Mac App Store only, so BusyCal 1.0 owners (such as myself), didn't have an upgrade path and had to purchase the app again at full price (if you missed the initial discount period, like myself). I see that now you can buy BusyCal 2.x directly from the vendor again, but my confidence has been rocked by several other vendors doing switcharoos like this.
Like (4)
Version 1.0

Read 30 BusyContacts User Reviews

Rate this app:

AnKo
22 November 2019
Has anyone been having issues printing address labels out of BusyContacts? For some reason, it is always selecting one (and the wrong) card to print. Also, the fact that cards cannot be exported into a spreadsheet without using workarounds/other apps is a real bummer. This should be a norm.
Like
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
AnKo
AnKo
22 November 2019
I figured out the issue with the card selection - the address fields have to be either „Primary“, „Home“ or „Work“ and I had them labeled as „Address“.
Like
Version 1.4.2
theolddesigner
29 October 2019
It's broken with apple mail, as is Houdahspot as mail has moved its indexing to core.spotlight which has no public API however it functions perfectly using mailmate for email plus contacts and messages app both work fine.
Like
Version 1.4.2
vailskibowls
17 October 2019
Catalina has made this software nothing more than a roledex. Most of functionality is gone .
Like
Version 1.4.1
Pirx
17 October 2019
October 17, 2019: Catalina breaks core functionality of BusyContacts. If you need BusyContacts, especially for work, stay away from Mac OS X 10.15! The developer must have known this for quite a while and chose not to inform his customers well ahead. For details look here: https://support.busymac.com/help/112805
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1
1 answer(s)
vailskibowls
vailskibowls
17 October 2019
Yeah I asked them why we were not informed.
Like
Version 1.4.1
LeMerlot
18 March 2018
For me as a Senior Web Pro working with several Macs BusyContacts is just a Must-have like BusyCal – couldn't work without both any more.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.8
3 answer(s)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
15 May 2018
Can you easily important contact information from the Apple Contacts app into BusyContacts or is it hard to do so?
Like
Winco
Winco
16 May 2018
LeroyMorrison - BusyContacts uses Apple Contacts database by syncing with it in the background. You don't need to import. But BusyContacts works with BusyCal and offers more functionality than Apple Contacts.
Like (1)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
16 May 2018
Winco - That makes it sound like the transition would be quite easy. I will have to download it and check it out! Thank you for getting back to me and for answering my question!
Like
Kitmos
11 December 2017
I like BusyContacts but it really needs a menu option like Cardhop
Like
Version 1.2.7
1 answer(s)
Winco
Winco
18 March 2018
I second this wish.
Like (1)
dwp-1
27 October 2017
For those who need users who need powerful contact management tools for business purposes, there are many far superior applications than BusyContacts for $50. For those of us who prefer more control and easier access to our contacts than Alfred or Launchbar provide. I would suggest trying Cardhop from Flexbits the makers of Fantastical the award calendar app.
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Cookie08
Cookie08
28 October 2017
you do realise it also shows all the emails and your replies related to the selected contact and launches replies or emails direct from the BusyContacts plus more this alone is worth it.
Yes my onion as a long time user have tried all other ones and always come back to this it syncs with apple contacts so is almost instantaneous to the other devices wish they would make a iPhone version.
Like (2)
Spank-Me-Baby
02 October 2017
Okay. Not sure about the blurb on the developer's site of BusyContacts being "The most powerful contact manager for macOS". I know there are more powerful CRMs such as SalesForce, and check out some of the CRMs at https://www.capterra.com/customer-relationship-management-software/. Even SUNRISE Contacts 2017 at http://www.sunrisepage.com/contacts/ (not mentioned here at MacUpdate) is a particularly attractive looking and effective CRM (works on macOS) and can do more than BusyContacts, and it just so happens to be free (you only pay about the same price to unlock lookup databases if you ever need to access them). But I guess each to their own. You will always find some people who will swear by some CRMs as the best (and most powerful as the case may be with this one), and others might think they are pretty mediocre. It all depends on what they want to do with a CRM.

If all you ever want to do is store some contacts and sync calendar events with Apple's own calendar.app (Yay! BusyContacts can do it), this one is fine. Not the prettiest of the bunch, but reasonable.
Like
Version 1.2.3
Michael-Moore
31 August 2017
I would be interested in the app but for one thing--no local wifi syncing with the Contacts app. Like most apps that need to be synced, BusyContacts requires syncing over the web, which is a big no-no for me. I don't understand what the deal is--it should be a relatively straightforward task; if you can write code to sync over the cloud, surely you can write it to sync with a file that sits on the same computer. Puzzling.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
Herbert-Hoover
Herbert-Hoover
31 March 2018
I absolutely agree
Like
woglesby
21 August 2017
I like the integration of Contacts and Calendar. Tags is very useful, as is also the “expertise” field. I was hoping to print out a Phone Book, but find the apps are limited to Labels and Envelopes, and will only export vCards. May we please have more printing and exporting options? Thanks.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.9
Pirx
24 December 2016
It is a great idea to link exiting contacts to the e-mail exchange with these contacts and contact relevant calendar events, to dos and reminders. It saves the most tedious, error-prone part of deploying an SME CRM: Painful transfer of data to the CRM. Having said that, BusyContacts is not a full scale CRM solution, but it does exactly what I need. BusyContacts and BusyCal won't win a beauty contest like - say - Fantastical, but it makes me so much more efficient. For calendar integration in BusyContacts you need to buy BusyCalendar, too, however, at their webstore I just paid US$ 24 for each, BusyCal and BusyContacts bundle.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.5
Mhoutman
20 June 2016
Sure Apple Contacts just works but I love this app, with lots of options and great support. I hope to see an update for BusyCal soon too.
Like
Version 1.1
Geoduck
24 March 2016
1. A small improvement over Apple contacts and address book
2. Way overpriced, even for an owner of BusyCal which is a good, though aging application
3. Interface is circa 1998; making a distribution list is not intuitive and quick.
4. Making a new contact is awkward. You cannot just drag and drop an email address into the quick contact data entry box from an email. Stupid lazy design.
5. I may just purchase this because the other choices in this market are lousy as well.
6. In El Cap, with a new iMac, it crashes a lot after simple editing of cards.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
rolfsteinecke
16 February 2016
I downloaded the app but it's after (successful) installation I dont find it in /Applications. Where can I find and start the application?
Like
Version 1.0.8
1 answer(s)
Majraddoc
Majraddoc
12 December 2016
try "downloads"
Like
Dowsmith
16 February 2016
A significant improvement over Apple Address Book. Lots of helpful elements, for example: 1. Each entry lists the groups it is a member of, and that list can be simply edited to remove it from any of those groups. 2. Birthdays/anniversaries: there is an option in each contact to specify whether these show up on my calendar or not - very useful for comparative strangers whose birthdays I happen to have. Further, the developer is very responsive to tech support queries or feature requests, and regular minor updates keep coming. One or two minor irritations, eg: The main list of contact-names insists in displaying both photos and a second arbitrary line, which means only half as many names can show vertically as displays in Address Book - with no user control on what that second line displays (sometimes an email address, sometimes one line of the address)
Like
Version 1.0.8
Dixie44
06 February 2016
Simply great! Especially when integrated with BusyCal. love.
Like
Version 1.0.8
I can not buy this program at a promotional price of $ 25. When you try to pay by paypal or credit card, get the message "Error 12 ERROR"
Like
Version 1.0.8
steveoliver360
20 October 2015
I love this app. It's clear and concise and does everything advertised and does it well.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
SMade
14 October 2015
I'm interested in this application, especially the Activity List -- The Activity List displays activities associated with the selected contact including calendar events, emails, messages, and recent social network posts.

Does this work with a contact group or company? If I'd like to see all emails, calendar events, messages etc. with all contacts from a specified company or group, that would help tremendously as a mini CRM app.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.7
1 answer(s)
griphon
griphon
28 October 2015
TELL THE DEVELOPER! WHAT'S THE POINT POSTING HERE? DEVELOPER WILL NOT SEE IT! GOOD FEATURE REQUEST - I WOULD AS WELL!!!
Like
Donmontalvo
13 August 2015
Nothing in App Store, still shows 1.03. Dare I risk pulling down the 1.05 update that was just released?
Like
Version 1.0.5
missing
06 June 2015
I spent hours editing contacts and saved them and half of them are missing. I must have done something wrong, did it again. Nope for some reason it only saved less than half. 658 contacts, saved 235, that doesn't work for me. happy it works for others.
Like
Version 1.0.3
Mhoutman
24 February 2015
I did not notice this before but I just discovered another great feature in BusyContacts: Auto fill. In the address part of BusyContacts just type an character and voila you get a complet list of words starting with that character. This is a feature once made Now Up-to-Dae/Contact great.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
higherterrain-com
higherterrain-com
21 April 2015
still isn't worth 50 bucks
Like (1)
Arne-schaper
18 February 2015
tested the demo, nice idea and nice GUI. As mentioned in one review it only works with BusyCal which I use but as another downside it only works one way. You have to arrange an appointment from within BusyContacts to get it in BusyCal and activities. The other does not work. Second downside with activities it only works with Apple Mail but not Postbox or Unibox. Due to the potential of the idea 4 stars
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Rikyman
15 February 2015
This app is good, I am testing the demo and like it, It does not have address format for portuguese addresses, and It could have push for iCloud, I Will buy it soon, It's a little expensive for a contacts app, but is good to deserve a buy.
The only downside is that to have calendar integration you have to buy the busycal app, this is why for me not a 5 star app, it could work with the default Apple calendar and not force me to buy busycal to have that type of integration. So the investiment in the app to fully work is a lot more than the app itself. I like more the visual of Apple calendar than the busycal calendar that seems old when used in yosemite.

Good app and recommended.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Rikyman
Rikyman
21 February 2015
Updating my review, after using in a day basis, there are some limitations, but contacted the developer, and they are adding a lot more funcionality soon, if they do it right, this app could become a reference for business users.
Like
Dana-Sutton
14 February 2015
If you only use Apple Contacts and only have a limited number of contacts you don't need this (unless you just want it for its more attractive interface). If you have to ride herd on contacts from multiple sources (such as Google) or if you have enough contacts that tagging is a useful way of riding herd on them, then you do. The only rival is Cobook, but their latest versions are turning into crapware. Note that BusyContacts' publicity doesn't mention that you can dial phone nrs. from within the application.

If you buy this and BusyCal together they cost $80, and if you already own BusyCal you can get this for $29.

Now if only Busymac would release an e-mail client...
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Kitmos
14 February 2015
Shows promise but my biggest complaints are no menu bar access and no mobile version.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
14 February 2015
On the menu bar acces: I have asked them to implement this in a future version. (or at least make it optional)

On a missing iOS app: come on are kidding ? There are numerous apps which combine all your social contacts !
Like
bumper314
14 February 2015
Looks great, but is it not available in the Mac App Store? I'm a little leery of purchasing this from the vendor directly after their BusyCal 2.0 fiasco. The short version: BusyCal 2.0 was released as Mac App Store only, so BusyCal 1.0 owners (such as myself), didn't have an upgrade path and had to purchase the app again at full price (if you missed the initial discount period, like myself). I see that now you can buy BusyCal 2.x directly from the vendor again, but my confidence has been rocked by several other vendors doing switcharoos like this.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Planetary-Paul
Planetary-Paul
14 February 2015
I asked them about App Store availability and they said it would not be in the App Store for some time.
Like
RC62
RC62
14 February 2015
I bought the app store version 2 of BusyCal. Yesterday I emailed the vendor about a sideupgrade for BusyContacts and also for a direct version serial number for BusyCal. I got a response to both messages in only a few hours and bought BusyContacts at the upgrade price. It appears they are trying hard to satisfy their customer base. Don't know if my experience helps you decide or not but I'm happy with them.
Like
Andrewrodney
14 February 2015
Very nice, no issues with the beta's. I like the email linking I see. Love BusyCal so this is a great addition.
Like
Version 1.0
tatami
13 February 2015
I too remember Now Up To Date and Now Contact and it's great to have them back, updated and working on Mac OS X. I've been using the public beta for a few months and it hasn't crashed once during that time. The guys at BusyMac have added some features and squashed a few bugs. For me it's been great timing. Apple Contacts is very limited. I had switched to CoBook but recently that seems to have been moving in the wrong direction so I was looking for a better contact manager. I'm really happy with BusyContacts, particularly for its integration with BusyCal and Apple Mail, which means that I can see events from my calendar and email messages right alongside each of my contacts. And I can even use Dialectic/PhoneValet to dial numbers on my landline.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Mhoutman
13 February 2015
Remember Now Up-to-Date/Contact, the apps I used for years before the release of the iPhone ? As Now Software went bankrupt we had to swith to iCal and Address Book to get our data in the iPhone (and later iPad)

BusyMac have first released BusySync and later BusyCal and now BusyContacts.

The BusyCal/BusyContacts suite is a great CRM solution for all people who appreciate quality software, consistent updates and great support too.. BusyContact shines with tight integration to OS X and all social media which you can link to. I personally use BusyContact with iCloud, Facebook and Twitter only but discover new features every minute.

I love to see some small additions or changes but for a 1.0 version I am perfectly happy. Also glad to see great pricing for BusyCal users too :)

Highly recommended
Like
Version 1.0