Back to ScamZapper page
ScamZapper free download for Mac

ScamZapper Reviews

2.1.2
14 May 2018

Stops bogus technical support pop-ups from locking up Safari.

Kenm22
12 September 2015

Most helpful

I have an idea for BigJohnson. Why don't you just get your money back and move on.
Like (12)
Version 1.3.6

Read 25 ScamZapper User Reviews

Rate this app:

Sgilbert
14 May 2018
Have tried everything to update to 2.1.2, but to no avail. I don't care how good or necessary an app is; If I have to jump through hoops too much to get it, It's 'outta here'! Pretty lousy way to distribute software!
Like
Version 2.1.2
2 answer(s)
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
15 May 2018
Finally got it, but it took Firefox to do it. Had to go through dev's site, though.
Like
BryanatMU
BryanatMU
15 May 2018
Hey there, it should be working now. Let us know if you find any more issues with this.
Like
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
Not asingle Scam has made its way into my Mac since I got it! Nuff said!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Franko
25 October 2017
Version 2.1 mistakenly thinks I have Safari Tech Preview installed and won't update the extension. Instead it coughs up: :ls: /Users/Frank/Library/SafariTechnologyPreview/Extensions: No such file or directory:" Dev has been notified. Mac Pro running El Cap, Safari Version 11.0 (11604.1.38.1.7)
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Jbmelby
Jbmelby
16 November 2017
I go the same result trying to install it with High Sierra.
Like
lemonb3519
29 August 2016
Loaded flawlessly in El Captain 10.11.6. I have had no issues with the app and no issues with pop-ups.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Stronachab
09 January 2016
I downloaded ScamZapper using MacUpdate Desktop but got an error message after download saying that permission to install had been denied. I tried downloading a zip file from MacUpdate. I got the same message. I did this a couple times more each. Same result. Eventually, I looked deeper into the underlying code of the message and found a warning that MacUpdate had bundled adware with ScamZapper downloads from the MacUpdate site and that safe downloads came only directly from the developer's website. I downloaded ScamZapper directly from the developer's site, as advised, and it has installed and seems to be working fine. I have never had an issue with MacUpdate downloads. Indeed, I think the facility is tremendous in keeping me up to speed and my Mac up to date. However, I mention this issue just in case anyone else has a similar problem.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5
Harv
08 January 2016
Things had been well until v1.4.5. Now, when I click the app, I get a caution noting three saved states and the Safari Extension remains at v1.4.4. What am I doing wrong?
Like (1)
Version 1.4.5
2 answer(s)
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
08 January 2016
Same here.
Like
Harv
Harv
10 January 2016
Finally, I figured it out. At least this is what worked for me:
1. Delete the ScamZapper app. Using AppDelete or such will help.
2. Delete (trash) all the Saved State applications that had been appearing when trying to launch ScamZapper. It may help to print out the Alert dialog so that you may better find the “conflicting/interfering” files.
3. Your Admin PW will be required to delete the miscreant files.
4. Empty trash & restart.
5. Download a fresh copy ScamZapper and (re)install.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
13 September 2015
The developer says he responds to user feedback, but I don't feel like joining yet another blog. So I'll post my issue here. When I unzip the ScamZapper download and launch the app, I get an error message saying the app is broken and offering to move it to the trash. To get a functional copy I have to unpack it using Pacifist. I wonder why the developer cannot, like most others, compress his file so that it can be opened with OS X's own Archive Utility?
Like
Version 1.3.6
3 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
13 September 2015
We've never had any issues whatsoever unpacking using Archive Utility, nor have any other issues of that been reported. Furthermore, there is no such error message that ScamZapper might display that suggests moving it to the trash. Please take a screenshot of what you see, and send it by email to appleclubissues@gmail.com.
Like
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
21 November 2015
@ Apple Club (Developer): I discovered through some related research what causes the problem I reported. I normally have security set to Allow apps downloaded from the Mac App Store and identified developers. If I change it to Allow apps download from Anywhere, ScamZapper runs as it should. This tells me that ScamZapper is not from an Apple identified developer. It's not a problem if we have reason to trust the developer, but it seems to me you should know how this security setting affects your app. After running ScamZapper I then re-set security back to where I had it.
Like
mdl00
mdl00
24 November 2015
Thank you for following up, and glad you got to the bottom of it. We are aware of this and include it in the instructions on the download page for ScamZapper on our website. You don't even need to adjust your security settings, you can just right click on the app icon and choose "Open."

Unfortunately, Apple makes you pay them to be an "identified" developer, which is why this workaround is currently necessary. We do plan on taking care of this in the future.
Like
Kenm22
12 September 2015
I have an idea for BigJohnson. Why don't you just get your money back and move on.
Like (12)
Version 1.3.6
2 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
04 January 2016
i agree.
Like
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
29 August 2016
BigJohnson is obviously not the type that can be pleased. The developer has more than gone the extra mile with this guy and it's a free app to boot so I am ignoring any feedback from BigJohnson. Credos to the developer for a great app and also fro providing it for free.
Like
Web-Jive
10 September 2015
For the dev. :) Here's a site that seems to get by Scamzapper.. dodster.com Easy typo to get to dotster.com
Like
Version 1.3.5
3 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
11 September 2015
Thanks for letting us know!

To ensure that we see reports like this, please use the "Report a New Scam" button from ScamZapper's main menu.
Like (2)
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
11 September 2015
Will do! Thx :)
Like
mdl00
mdl00
11 September 2015
No problem!
Like
Web-Jive
27 August 2015
Just an FYI, the Safari extension won't install on my 10.10.5 system. Even if I Show Contents of the app and double click the extension directly.
Like
Version 1.3.5
3 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
27 August 2015
If the extension doesn't even work by a manual install, then this sounds more like an OS X issue. We'll still look into it; thanks for reporting this.
Like (2)
Harv
Harv
27 August 2015
I too am running 10.10.5 and had no issues with the install. Perhaps it is because I ensured SZ was quit before trying the install. Or, maybe it's a bug unique to certain configurations or other apps/processes running in the background.

I mention this as a data point, not to be confrontational.

Sorry my help is not much-
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
09 September 2015
Nothing wrong with the extension, installed fine on my 10.10.4 and still works after updating to 10.10.5.

However, I keep it disabled because I think it sucks and just haven't removed it yet - keep thinking maybe I'll try it again someday if it's improved.
Like
Big Johnson
11 August 2015
Now I'll rate it because it failed on the first rogue script I encountered.
Well, it successfully killed the popup, but it also killed my browsing session.

I downloaded this app primarily because one site always opens up a new tab containing a "virus alert" script that freezes Safari. When I open this site (http://is.gd/g2NGU6) and click in the gray search box on the right for the first time, it happens.

This is a screenshot of the script: http://is.gd/AphYFU

When it happened yesterday, I opened ScamZapper and it closed that tab alright...also closed every other window and tab in Safari, leaving me with just one open tab where there had been over 50 in two windows.
Fortunately for me I have the Sessions extension installed and was able to quickly reopen my session. Of course it also opened the bad tab which I could have easily closed before it loaded, but I decided to see if ScamZapper would stop it this time.
It didn't. ScamZapper again closed both windows, leaving me with one open tab.

ScamZapper didn't do any better than I could have done by force-quitting Safari. Even though it's free, I think I'VE been scammed.
Like
Version 1.3.4
7 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
12 August 2015
I don't feel that this is justified and here's why:
1) Before troubleshooting a pop-up, the following text is displayed in a dialog window: "Note that you may lose the other tabs you have open. You can re-open them from the History tab in the menu bar after Safari re-opens and the pop-up is gone." You must click OK to acknowledge this before ScamZapper will do anything.

2) ScamZapper has a database of pop-up websites, and if the site you visited is new, then it's probably not in the database. ScamZapper is designed to prevent those sites from loading in the first place. The "Troubleshoot Pop-up" option in ScamZapper is the **backup** for getting rid of the pop-up.

3) Most people are just happy to have the pop-up gone; having to re-open windows is no big deal for most people, from what we've found, and that sounds like your main concern.

4) I think calling this a scam is awfully strong wording. There's quite a gap between the application not working how you expected (and it did get rid of the pop-up) and being a scam. You say, "ScamZapper didn't do any better than I could have done by force-quitting Safari" ... well, yes, that's exactly what ScamZapper does... it simulates force-quitting Safari and restarting with the "shift" key held down. Then if that doesn't work, it will automatically disable Wi-Fi/Ethernet (temporarily, of course), and ask you to try closing the tab. Failing that, it will delete the com.apple.Safari.savedState file, because that contains data about which tabs were open, including the malicious one. Could you do any of that yourself? Of course. You could probably say that for most applications. But this is designed to make it easier. Not many people know about the shift key trick, for instance.

As an aside, following the steps you described, I found the website you were talking about (apple-secured[dot]info - don't visit), and we'll make sure to add that to ScamZapper's database in the next update. The Safari extension for ScamZapper is the star of the show, after all. Anyway, thank you for reporting that site, and for what it's worth, I did not have to click on anything at all on that site to trigger the pop-up. ScamZapper's main menu has a "Report" button, and by clicking that, you can ensure that you won't have to go through the "Troubleshooting" in ScamZapper to get rid of that site in the future.
Like (8)
Web-Jive
Web-Jive
27 August 2015
How did you get scammed with a free product?
Like (5)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 August 2015
Developer, I wasn't notified by MU that you had responded.
I only saw your reply today because I WAS notified that Web-Jive had responded and I came to the page to reply.

Yes, the pop-up DOES say that you MAY lose your other tabs. Makes it sound like it's only a possibility, not a certainty.

After reading your message I went back to that site and got a pop-up from a different site that froze the tab (macprotection.info). I invoked SZ and tried to report the site. After entering the site's address into your form and hitting the OK button, I thought it had been sent. But a short time later I saw the Mail.app icon in my Dock which is very unusual, so I checked it out. There was indeed a message there waiting to be sent, but since I don't use Mail and have never configured it, the message wasn't going anywhere. Please show me where in the app SZ says that Mail must be configured to send reports (there's no help file).
And this time, not only did SZ close my tabs, but it quit Safari too! I had to reopen Safari before I could restore the session.

THIS statement is false-advertising on your website:
"Should you happen to come across such a pop-up (hopefully you won't), ScamZapper will take care of it automatically."

While that may be true for site's you've previously added to SZ's blocklist, as I've already shown it does NOT take care of all pop-ups AUTOMATICALLY.
It could actually be a very painfull process to use SZ if it closes your session and you lose all your windows and tabs.

The video on your site only shows what occurs when SZ blocks a site in its blocklist, it does NOT show the NON-automatic process you have to go through to get rid of a site that hasn't been blocked, including restoring your entire browsing session.

You said"Most people are just happy to have the pop-up gone; having to re-open windows is no big deal for most people, from what we've found."
REALLY? Have you taken a poll? I've seen many forum posts in which people get quite angry when they've lost their tabs (I know I do).
Perhaps you should do some actual research into that matter because I think your assertion is unfounded.

You said "I think calling this a scam is awfully strong wording."
Would you prefer hoodwinked, duped or just plain fooled?
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 August 2015
Web-Jive,
Pehaps you should take a class in comprehension.

There's more than one way to be scammed, and not all of them are financial.
If you painted your house with paint that someone had given you and told you it would make your house invisible, then I'd say you were scammed (and an idiot).

I feel I was duped (like that word better, Developer?) into installing this with the expectation that it would close all those freeze-pop-ups AUTOMATICALLY as it says on their website. And it says nothing in the description above or anywhere else about the fact that it will kill your browsing session when activated, or that it's no better than using force-quit when a tab is frozen.

In the description above it SHOULD say
"If you encounter a pop-up that won't go away and is not currently in ScamZapper's database, you can just run the application, select "Troubleshoot Pop-up," and ScamZapper will CLOSE ALL YOUR WINDOWS AND TABS to get rid of it.

Like
mdl00
mdl00
28 August 2015
"Makes it sound like a possibility, not a certainty."
That's because it IS a possibility- it depends on which steps you invoke during the troubleshooting.

"Please show me where in the app SZ says that Mail must be configured to send reports."
From the main menu: Report a New Scam > Pop-up Scam. The last bullet item reads: "Your submission will be sent via email."

"THIS statement is false-advertising on your website:
'Should you happen to come across such a pop-up (hopefully you won't), ScamZapper will take care of it automatically.'"
This was taken out of context. The last sentence in the previous paragraph reads: "Then, it will block pop-ups from sites that are in its database." When the sentence you quoted says "such a pop-up," that's what it is referring to. However, we added additional text on the webpage to clarify that. Also note that the paragraph after that one contained this information as well: "The application also has other functions, such as [...] troubleshooting 'virus' scam pop-ups that the extension didn't catch."

"You said 'Most people are just happy to have the pop-up gone; having to re-open windows is no big deal for most people, from what we've found.'
[...] Perhaps you should do some actual research into that matter because I think your assertion is unfounded."
I don't think you know what research we do or don't do. However, I can tell you that no one else has expressed that losing their tabs (which can be easily re-opened from the History menu in Safari) is an issue for them.
Like (1)
mdl00
mdl00
28 August 2015
Also, in regards to your response to Web-Jive:
"It's no better than using force-quit when a tab is frozen."
I disagree because if you force quit, then the next time you re-open Safari, the pop-up will return along with your other tabs. And again, this only applies to pop-ups that aren't in the database yet.

As for the edits you suggested for our website, that is good feedback, and we'll probably add those soon. Just keep in mind that you are told that you may lose your tabs (and this does NOT always happen), with the option to cancel, when you run the application.
Like (2)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 August 2015
Also, despite your assertion on June 7th, nearly 3 months ago, that "starting with version 1.2.4, the download is now named "ScamZapper" and not "ScamZapper Helper," the download is STILL named "ScamZapper Helper.zip."
Like
Big Johnson
08 August 2015
Before downloading I read all the posts below and about not being able to quit the running app/script. After installing and opening I was presented with a box saying "ScamZapper has determined that its Safari extension has not been installed. If you are opening it for the first time, this is normal. Click OK to install it." After clicking OK another box appeared asking "Are you sure you want to install the extension "ScamZapper"? Install extensions only from sources you trust. Extensions can modify the appearance and behavior of Safari, and access your private information at websites." At that prompt I clicked "Don't Install," but then Ntification Center displayed a message saying "ScamZapper's Safari extension has been successfully installed." That turned out to be false though, because no extension appeared and there was no process running in Activity Monitor for ScamZapper. So I tried it again. Upon opening the same message appeared saying "ScamZapper has determined that its Safari extension has not been installed. If you are opening it for the first time, this is normal. Click OK to install it." So even though N.C. told me it had been installed, it had not. The third time I went through with the install and the extension did appear in Safari prefs. A screenshot of all the messages I saw can be seen here: http://is.gd/nObjAg Haven't used it long enough to encounter a rogue script yet, so I'm leaving a comment instead of a rating.
Like
Version 1.3.4
1 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
08 August 2015
The second prompt you see comes from Safari, not ScamZapper. As soon as Safari opens the file (before that prompt appears), it's installed as far as ScamZapper is concerned. If you abort it by clicking the "Don't Install" button in Safari, it's impossible for ScamZapper to know that.
Like (1)
Danco
28 July 2015
I found a tiny bug, easily cleared. ScamZapper resided (for historical reasons) in a folder named "Mountain Lion Installers". It did not like the space between "Mountain" and "Lion" and threw up an error message. All I needed to do was move it to my Desktop folder. But you should ensure that that it works fine when in a folder whose name contains a space.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
28 July 2015
ScamZapper should call up a "Report Crash" dialog when this happens. Please fill that out if you get a chance. If the dialog doesn't show up, please copy the error message and send it to appleclubissues@gmail.com.

There was an issue with folders containing spaces, but this was fixed in 1.2.4. It's working fine for me now; I just tested again after seeing your post here.
Like
mdl00
16 July 2015
All, we received multiple emails about users who updated to 1.3.1 not being able to open the extension. Version 1.3.2 (which should appear here momentarily and is on our website now) should fix this issue, but please note that this is usually caused by either renaming the extension, or trying to install multiple copies (which appends a number to the end of the file name). For best results, please avoid that.
Like
Version 1.3
Prince-Isaac
16 July 2015
I just encountered one of those "virus alert" popups in Safari, one where you have to quit Safari to get rid of it, and then searched for popup alert blockers, and came across this. i downloaded the app, which then installed a safari extension, and I thought everything was copacetic.

An hour later I needed to reboot in another partition but it turned out that ScamZapper was still open and wouldn't close for a restart. i tried to Force Quit and that didn't help. I had to open Activity Monitor to force quit it, and that still didn't help. Finally I opened iTrash and dragged it to that app, which listed a whole bunch of associated files, which I then trashed. After all that I was able to restart my Mac.

I don't see where an app that remains open despite all attempts to close it is going to be something that anyone would want on their computer.

Incidentally, to even launch this app you have to go to System Prefs > Security and Privacy and give OS X permission to launch it. That's always a bad sign.

I'd sure like to see a legitimate app or extension that will trap and disallow such invasive activity as those warning popups. Fortunately this is the only time in recent memory that I've encountered one.
Like
Version 1.3
5 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
16 July 2015
I am sorry that it wouldn't close for you, but that it not by design and does not happen for anyone else that I've heard of.

Also, please understand that just because a developer does not want to pay Apple $99/year (especially when offering a free application) for a Developer ID and to "identify" their apps, does not mean that the app is not legitimate. However, we plan on biting the bullet and getting one in the coming months.

Additionally, understand that the ScamZapper is an AppleScript, which cannot be quit from the menu bar. You can quit right from ScamZapper by clicking More Actions > Quit in the dialog in ScamZapper's main menu. However, force quitting by using Command + option + esc or the Activity Monitor utility should have worked, and again, this is a unique instance where it didn't work.

Lastly, a few things don't seem right about this: you say you tried to reboot in another partition, so how could ScamZapper be running unless you ran it from that partition? Also, I don't know what "bunch of associated files" you are referring to and would appreciate it if you would list them, but it sounds like erroneous reporting from the third-party app you used. ScamZapper's package only contains an icon file, a property list file (which maintains information like the version number, etc.), the Safari extension file, and the AppleScript document.
Like
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
17 July 2015
@ Apple Club Dev: Let me respond to the last item first: Perhaps I didn't word that right. What I needed to do was reboot into a 10.10.4 partition to take care of a different job that can't be done using El Cap. It was while trying to close apps during the restart process, while still in 10.11, that the restart was canceled by an instance of ScamZapper that wouldn't quit. Apps that don't quit tend to hang the restart or shut down processes. This in no way was because SZ was running on a different boot partition.

As for SZ being an a/s, I didn't realize that. I guess it was dumb of me to think that because an app has the "quit" option in the menu bar that this operation doesn't actually work. My method of force-quitting is to go to the Apple menu and select "Force Quit" then select the app in the window that displays open apps.

As for getting apps signed by Apple, I think that is de rigeur for today's developers, especially if the app is of the nature of SZ that needs to ask permission to add something to the OS (having the user type in the admin password). This is one fairly robust way of keeping the OS and security options from getting compromised.

If I had the time and patience, I'd redownload it and run a screen video capture to show what I experienced. I suspect that there's an issue between SZ and El Cap.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.
Like
mdl00
mdl00
17 July 2015
No problem, and thanks for mentioning that you were running El Capitan - you never know what to expect from a beta :)
Like
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
17 July 2015
Consider charging $1 or something for the app to help pay the $99 charge. Or else ask for donations (I'd gladly throw in $10).
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
08 August 2015
I just installed SZ and it's a simple install - I was asked (twice) if I wanted to install the extension and only had to click an Install button. System Prefs was not involved at all.

Perhaps your system has permission issues that caused you to have to grant access in the Privacy pane?

As for "a whole bunch of associated files," that sounds like malarkey. Check my screenshot of AppDelete removing this app - there's only 4 items. http://is.gd/kLslgq
Like
Jim-Leff
12 July 2015
It works. It's super easy to install. It's free. It solves a very annoying problem. Why is this not rated 5 stars?
Like
Version 1.3
Derekcurrie
08 June 2015
I'm looking at ScamZapper Safari extension version 1.2.1 in my Safari preferences and it's not updating. It's not showing up in 'Updates'. It's broken. I'm going to download and install v1.2.4 hoping they've fixed this problem.
Like
Version 1.2.4
3 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
11 June 2015
Hi Derekcurrie,
Launch the ScamZapper application and click "Yes" for "Check for Updates." Currently, you need to update the application to get the updated extension. I know many Safari extensions can auto-update, but I could tell you a long story involving servers and MIME types to explain why ScamZapper doesn't if you wanted to hear it. :) We are avidly working on a workaround, but do not have an ETA.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
15 June 2015
Thank you Apple Club. I didn't understand the difference between your extension & app combination and a simple extension. It's a bit clunky getting everything to work, but ScamZapper comes in handy.

Example: Today I ran into an scam website, one of Ron Paul's FUD message pages, that uses a popup to force victims to a sales page. It was a pleasure to turn it in to ScamZapper. Sad that Ron Paul victimizes web users, as bad as MacKeeper!
Like
mdl00
mdl00
15 June 2015
You're welcome. Of course, if you don't have the latest extension and/or a pop-up that isn't in our database still gets through, you can always launch the application and click "Troubleshoot Pop-up."
Like
mdl00
07 June 2015
[Sorry for the duplicate comment]
Like
Version 1.2.4
mdl00
07 June 2015
Just a note as this is confusing for some users - starting with version 1.2.4, the download is now named "ScamZapper" and not "ScamZapper Helper." We removed the "Helper" suffix because over the past several updates, the application has received added functionality, and is more than just a "helper" application for ScamZapper's Safari extension.
Like
Version 1.2.4
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
08 August 2015
I just downloaded this and the download is still called ScamZapper Helper. It's v1.3.4, so you just need to change the download filename.
Like
cn880
01 April 2015
Installed this a short while back. I've been keeping up with the updates, but never encountered any pop-ups... until today. I got "pcjunctions.com." Scam Zapper blocked it. I then disabled the extension temporarily, and loaded the page, just to satisfy my curiosity. Sure enough, it said "your computer may be infected with spyware virus," and clicking OK just brought it back over and over. I had to force quit Safari. I then re-enabled the extension, of course.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
3 answer(s)
keel131
keel131
30 May 2015
I downloaded this app and I have questions. Does it install into Safari or just as the app in my applications folder or do I leave it on the desktop? If a pop-up locks my browser up, how do I access ScamZapper if the keyboard and mouse are locked up?
Like
mdl00
mdl00
30 May 2015
Hi keel131,
It is both an app and a Safari extension. When you run the app for the first time, it will prompt you to install its companion extension. The purpose of the extension is to prevent the pop-ups from loading in the first place. However, if you encounter one that is not in ScamZapper's database and it gets through, it only affects Safari. There is no way for it to lock up your keyboard or mouse. If you do encounter a pop-up, you can launch the ScamZapper app, and choose Troubleshoot Pop-up. The app does not need to be in the Applications folder, though it's a good idea to keep all apps you have in that folder.
Like
keel131
keel131
31 May 2015
Cn, I downloaded the free app. It didn't ask for a companion extension. What is the extension called? Maybe I missed it. I put Scamzapper helper on the desktop. If I have no pop-up, and open Scamzapper, it asks if I want to update the app (No) and then asks 'what would i like to do?' I can select 'more actions', 'report a new pop-up' or 'troubleshoot a pop-up'. Is this the actual Scamzapper at work? Of the many previous pop-ups I encounter, many allow me to force-quit and use the cursor. Many other pop-ups freeze the entire screen, mouse cursor, keyboard, everything. I can still force-quit but can't type, move the cursor, close a window. I just need to know if I got the full app or what.....
Like
artie505
30 March 2015
Nothing happens when I click on "Download" in Safari! (Had to launch Firefox to get the job done.)
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
30 March 2015
Yeah, our download button seems kind of hit-or-miss for a while now. We are working on fixing that, but in the meantime, we included a "click here if the download does not start" link.
Like (1)
DemandExcellence
29 March 2015
Installed the 1.1.2 upgrade and it devastated my system. Kept recycling the "auto log on" sequence. Over and Over and Over again. Could not stop the recycling. Used by backup system to remove Safari and all scam zapper files but the recycling continued when I rebooted the primary system. Eventually, I had to reload 10.5.9 to make sure all SuperZapper stuff was gone (my backup clone had a previous version of SuperZapper that I did not want on my system at all).
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
3 answer(s)
Ean
Ean
29 March 2015
Specs clearly state 10.6 +, so...
Like (1)
DemandExcellence
DemandExcellence
30 March 2015
Fingers went too fast, I meant to type 10.9.5 as my OS version. Thanks for catching my dyslexia as I normally double check my numbers but not this time.
Like (1)
mdl00
mdl00
30 March 2015
We always appreciate it when you reach out to us for support and clearly describe the problem before leaving feedback. If you decide to do either of these, we can look for problems with the app so we can fix them for other users who may run into that issue.
Like (1)
bfrancis68
18 February 2015
Just terrible. I have tried several times to launch it and get it to install the extension. It offers to check for updates and gives other choices but never one to install the safari extension. Total waste of time.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
18 February 2015
Strange that you are the only one reporting this. I double-checked and the current build positively asks to install the Safari extension on first launch. Try re-downloading the app. If it's really a problem, right click on the app, click Show Package Contents, navigate to Contents --> Resources, and double click on ScamZapper.safariextz.
Like
Rickzeman
05 February 2015
I have been using a Mac since the days of MacTCP and Netscape 1 and I've never had this happen to me. Who knew this was such a problem to have a dedicated app?
Like (2)
Version 1.0.3
5 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
05 February 2015
Hi Rickzeman,

Savvy users like you probably will not visit shady websites that may redirect to pop-ups like this, but it is most definitely quite a problem. For example, search Apple's official forums: https://discussions.apple.com/search.jspa?type=discussion&q=suspicious+activity+alert+pop+up, or see the comments on our article here: https://sites.google.com/site/appleclubfhs/support/advice-and-articles/browser-popup-hijack-safari.
Like (2)
hwgray
hwgray
09 February 2015
"Who knew this was such a problem to have a dedicated app?"

*I* knew. It's a gigantic pain in the ass, because the only way to get out of the trap is to relaunch your browser or, sometimes, to restart. And that's if you're smart enough to recognize that you're being scammed. Don't be so self-centered. I'm *happy* to see that someone is working on this, *especially at no cost to me*! Bitching about an app - a *free* one, at that! - because *you* have no use for it... That's nonsense, IMO, Rickzeman. There are probably hundreds of thousands of apps that you have no use for. Do you complain about them *all*?
Like (4)
Imarc845
Imarc845
19 March 2015
Hey Rickzeman, I've been using a Mac since Mac OS 6.0.3 and I'm a programmer by trade. And I got caught by one of these un-cancelable pop-up sites just the other day. Just because it hasn't happened to you YET doesn't mean it won't!

I appreciate that Mac Club is providing this helper. If I never see another of those $@#! incessant pop-ups, it will be too soon!
Like (2)
hwgray
hwgray
23 March 2015
Check out this site, Rickzeman:

http://remotecomputertechhelp.info/

No, DON'T check it out!
Unless you want to find out the hard way why this is such a problem as to have a dedicated app. And the app is *extremely* useful.
How did I find the site? Easy. I simply launched Safari and, as MacUpdate, my homepage, was loading, Remote Computer Tech Help hijacked Safari and my only choices were to click on the RCTH page's buttons or to quit Safari. Well, there's also an 800 number that you can call, if you're a simple fool and want to give them your Social Security number and your mother's maiden name over the phone, I guess.
To be clear, that trapsite is now the *only* site that I can access, if I use Safari. Usually, only a re-launch is needed to get out of a trapsite, but they really know their coding at RCTH. I've had to switch to Chromium in order to access any other site than RCTH. That's a white mark against Safari and Apple.
Like (1)
Rickzeman
Rickzeman
29 March 2015
AOL called; they're looking for their users back.
Like
Springheelmac
31 January 2015
Opened the zip file and placed the only thing in it, "Scamzapper Helper", into Applications. (After scanning it for viruses of course, can't be too sure these days.) Opened the file. Safari opened, directed itself to 'file:///Applications/ScamZapper%20Helper.app/Contents/Resources/ScamZapper.safariextz' and stated it could not find the file. What am I doing wrong?
Like
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
mdl00
mdl00
31 January 2015
Hi,
We just checked, and the current version available to download on our website does indeed include the extension in the proper location. There shouldn't be any discrepancies between the download on our website and the download on MacUpdate. We will look into it further. What version of OS X do you have?
Like
mdl00
mdl00
31 January 2015
Upon further investigation, it seems that the download on this site differs from the one on our own site. Please visit: https://sites.google.com/site/appleclubfhs/downloads/scamzapper-download. We'll also see to it that the download on MacUpdate gets fixed.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
31 January 2015
Springheelmac, I have just uploaded a new version of the file to the MacUpdate servers. Once you have downloaded it, please open Terminal and type:

md5

type a space, and then drag the downloaded ZIP archive into the Terminal window. Press the Return key. Compare your result with the following MD5 hash:

a16e0615ba625a7c96ab32b88b5b72f5
Like (1)