Back to DetectX page
DetectX free download for Mac

DetectX Reviews2.91

16 April 2019

Detect hidden files belonging to MacKeeper, keyloggers, and others.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
jjechfam
jjechfam
May 12 2020
2.91
5.0
May 12 2020
5.0
Version: 2.91
it was the only thing that worked on my IMac
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
May 26 2018
2.84
0.0
May 26 2018
0.0
Version: 2.84
Wow - someone really should tell Apple that this is "THE troubleshooting tool for your Mac."

Since TechTool is no longer included with AppleCare Protection Plans, they will surely want to include this software from now on.

And obviously this $10 masterpiece will now put DiskWarrior, Malwarebytes, TechTool, EtreCheck and many other inferior products right out of business. [sarcasm]
Aargl
Aargl
Jan 8 2018
2.82
0.5
Jan 8 2018
0.5
Version: 2.82
Crashes when I hit the search button. MacOS 10.9.5
Josart
Josart
Jan 7 2018
2.82
1.0
Jan 7 2018
1.0
Version: 2.82
Unable to run latest version using High Sierra (i.e. App not responding and End up force quitting after a long wait).
forfacebookonly73
forfacebookonly73
Aug 24 2017
2.75
5.0
Aug 24 2017
5.0
Version: 2.75
Phil is great. He's been nothing but AWESOME to me, we're still in the process of getting MacKeeper and other unwanted items off my machine. I recommend DetectX for the support and the dedication, which go hand in hand. For people like me, who aren't super knowledgeable about the inner workings of Mac OS but kind of (somewhere in between) , he's amazingly helpful.
railroader66
railroader66
Jun 9 2017
2.69
4.0
Jun 9 2017
4.0
Version: 2.69
I love DetectX , I use it a long time, the support is excellent . I miss just a white list. I have CleanMyMac 3 installed , and now I have a list off files in DetectX that I would like to hide. In my opinion there is nothing wrong with Cleanmymac.
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
Apr 18 2017
2.55
0.0
Apr 18 2017
0.0
Version: 2.55
From the version 2.53 Intego VirusBarrier establishes that contains a virus on the file App/contents/MacOS/.BC.T_ONeS33 of class OS X/BPK.A ... It is really a virus? It is safe? It will be that they do not want competition?
Ean
Ean
Nov 21 2016
2.37
5.0
Nov 21 2016
5.0
Version: 2.37
A great app. That it goes beyond adware and detects all the Mac Keeper/Cleaner/NameYourCrapware is a real plus.
carthage
carthage
Sep 10 2016
2.32
5.0
Sep 10 2016
5.0
Version: 2.32
I've been using this for a while now. Not as good as Malwarebytes for Mac at keeping up with the adware, but I like the tracking functions which help to spot new things added to my mac even if the software isn't already programmed to spot them. That's the main feature that makes this unique. Developer was also very responsive to a bug I reported. Got an email back within minutes acknowledging the problem, and the bug was fixed in the very next day.
RLW
RLW
Aug 29 2016
2.28
0.0
Aug 29 2016
0.0
Version: 2.28
DetectX now states that CleanMyMac now has a Keylogger !! Is it truly malware? It also picked up remnants of MacKeeper. I wanted to remove those; but at least I thought that CleanMyMac was OK..
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 26 2016
2.19
2.0
May 26 2016
2.0
Version: 2.19
DetectX is now shareware. After download, the user is provided with a 60 day trial period. After that, the user is required to pay: Home Use License – $15 USD Entitles the holder to use DetectX on any machines personally owned by the license holder for non-commercial use. Commercial Use License -$79.99 USD
Remi
Remi
Feb 23 2016
2.15
1.0
Feb 23 2016
1.0
Version: 2.15
This App has completely destroyed my safari. Settings, Bookmarks, Extensions. ALL IS GONE AFTER SCAN WITH THIS SHIT! Thank You NO MORE!!!!
hwsw-diver
hwsw-diver
Feb 14 2016
2.14
0.0
Feb 14 2016
0.0
Version: 2.14
1. DetectX is NOT Free. It is min. US$ 10. 2. Checked, who is creator of the Software? Impossible to find out. (Would not be surprised, if the guys running MacKeeper launched a second - commercial - tool, pretending to remove it...)
anonymous-dingo-1033
anonymous-dingo-1033
Jan 9 2016
2.11
3.0
Jan 9 2016
3.0
Version: 2.11
I wonder why CleanMyMac 3.0.3 is detected as a potential malware. I bought it like DetectX. No explanations maybe some would be welcome.
Jweisbin
Jweisbin
Dec 15 2015
2.10
1.0
Dec 15 2015
1.0
Version: 2.10
I downloaded and ran the free home version. It said that my system is infected by a key logger. It directed me to their web site for instructions. It actually advised me to call the police! That is ridiculous. On further examination (using the console to search for "DetectX" what it identified as a potential key logger is jetty-0.0.0.0-1696-AvidApplicationManagerHelper.war, which is installed by Avid's application manager (as part of the Protools suite of software). Although it might be phoning home, I'm extremely dubious that this is malicious software, and I'm fairly sure it's not a "key logger". While I appreciate the intent, the scare tactics are over the top.
hwgray
hwgray
Oct 28 2015
2.04
0.0
Oct 28 2015
0.0
Version: 2.04
Anyone really serious about finding anything needs to use Find File. It dates from '08 and, needless to say, has long since ceased to be supported, but it's free and still compatible with OS X up to v11.1.2 dev. prev., nevertheless. FF found MacKeeper infecting my iMac after both DetectX and Malwarebytes found no trace of it. Naturally, FF doesn't remove what it finds, but there's nothing keeping you from DIY. This is *not* to say that DetectX and Malwarebytes are not valuable apps. They are, since, in order to find anything using FF, you have to *specify* what it is that you're looking for. It will find "MacKeeper," but it won't find "malware" or "badware." It goes without saying that FF is good *only* for *double-checking*, after you've already used a more-general, anti-malware tool, such as DetectX or whatever.
Guest
Guest
Oct 26 2015
2.04
0.0
Oct 26 2015
0.0
Version: 2.04
As of version 2.04, DetectX now includes a license nag notice every time you launch the app. Though it will run without a license code, it solicits one for home use, even though it is promoted as free for home use. This is, at best, confusing. So I am downgrading my rating from five to four stars. Confusing license terms are a bad sign that the developer is himself confused, and nothing good can come from that.
Guest
Guest
Oct 21 2015
2.02
0.0
Oct 21 2015
0.0
Version: 2.02
The version now is 2.04. I do not know how this application works but it has found some bad stuff on my computer and you simply press a button to remove the bad stuff. Nice and simple. It comes FREE however you can contribute for future development.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Oct 11 2015
2.02
0.0
Oct 11 2015
0.0
Version: 2.02
@Applehelpwriter: Every single app that runs on the Mac is going to leave stuff behind unless you use an uninstaller like AppDelete, including DetectX's prefs files. And there are thousands of more apps that use a daemon that add extra features like menu bar icons, like calendar and reminder apps, Adobe Creative Cloud, etc. The daemon that CMM uses is just a reminder to run the program periodically, and can be completely disabled in CMM's prefs.
Harv
Harv
Oct 8 2015
2.02
0.0
Oct 8 2015
0.0
Version: 2.02
Really like the app, but enabling the show "See Hidden Files" seems just opposite from the way these things normally work. Is that just moi, or have others noticed such?
aljaruun
aljaruun
Sep 5 2015
2.01
4.0
Sep 5 2015
4.0
Version: 2.01
This is a useful app, though there’s a couple of niggles.

It does a couple of different things. The start up screen lets you do a ‘search & destroy’ on a bunch of common ‘criminals’ (mackeeper, of course, and a few others, though it’s not clear exactly what all of them are).

Secondly, it’ll let you easily see in one view some of the diverse places where other crapware hide and execute their bile from. If you know your way around a mac already this function isn’t terribly useful, and if you don’t you probably shouldn’t be messing around in such places, but I do like the fact I can navigate places like LaunchAgents in both ~/Library and /Library in one location and not have to go digging through the Finder.

The most important function of this app, and the reason why I’ll keep using it, is the ‘recorder’ - basically, every time you run this app it’ll compare your system set up at that time with how it was the last time it ran and tell you what’s changed.

That's the good stuff, but I have a couple of niggles with DetectX.

The main one for me is the developer has a history of releasing updates that really haven’t been tested thoroughly enough. If you’re doing security software like this you really can’t be relying on “dialogue” with your users to figure out if you’ve made a major mistake. My advice is when you see a ‘update available’ alert, cancel out, and zip or copy the version you have to a safe place before doing the update.

The second niggle is the licensing thing. It’s perfectly fine to ask people to either donate or buy a license, but this developer seems to be confusing the two. It should be made clearer what is the nature of this s/w: freeware? shareware? donation ware? or just commercial ware? The way I read that licensing window, it would fit a definition of any one and all of them.

Overall, I like this app. I take security seriously but I’m not going to get into all the anti-virus s/w bullshit. I find apps like this cut a nice compromise. DetectX lacks commercial polish, but it certainly fills a gap in the security wall that nothing else does.
Baannongdong-Kap
Baannongdong-Kap
Sep 5 2015
2.01
0.0
Sep 5 2015
0.0
Version: 2.01
DetectX is posted as Free but requires you buy a license by donation. That is not Free. I tried it and liked it, but the change to required license fee has given me reason not to trust the developer.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 30 2015
2.0
2.0
Aug 30 2015
2.0
Version: 2.0
FALSE POSITIVES! - - I'm going to refrain from reviewing v2 until the developer gets the bugs out. Or at least I consider these to be bugs: Here are the false positives I discovered, detected under the 'Adware' popup menu selection: 1) Intego Netupdate files, specifically: - /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.intego.netupdate.daemon.plist - /Library/LaunchAgents/com.intego.netupdate.agent.plist Intego has NEVER been adware NOR shoved adware at anyone. Instead, Intego VirusBarrier will FIND adware and quarantine it. Therefore, flagging the Intego NetUpdate launch files is the opposite of sane. STOP flagging them! 2) Ambrosia WireTap Studio, specifically: - /Library/LaunchAgents/com/ambrosia.wiretapscheduler.agent.plist Ambrosia has NEVER offered adware NOR shoved adware at anyone. Again, this is an utterly nonsensical flag. The user is 100% in control of the WireTap Studio scheduler for making audio recordings. It cannot be abused to record the user unless the user creates that schedule. How did this bizarro flag get created? 3) Glims, the Safari plugin. Specifically: - /Library/LaunchAgents/com.machangout.glims.agent.plist I entirely understand how this was mistakenly flagged. By default, Glims serves new users ads. The point is to provide developer, MacHangOut, with some deserved revenue. HOWEVER, the developer, very kindly, allows all users to turn OFF all advertisements, if they choose. (Go into Safari Preferences/Glims/'Ads/Shopping', and choose 'Off'). That's the end of their ads. Again, this is 100% under the control of the user. There isn't any crucial need to flag this as adware. - - In any case, Glims is now abandonware, no longer being developed or updated. That's sad. :-( I'm not going to dig again into the software's package for other potential false positives. It really is the developer's responsibility to weed out the FALSE POSITIVES for themselves and make this application sane for human use. Right now, it is NOT. If you want THE top notch adware detection and removal tool, you want Malwarebytes Anti-Malware. It too is FREE. It incorporates the excellent AdwareMedic application by my colleague Thomas Reed, who now heads up the Mac software division of Malwarebytes. No false positives. No compromises. AdwareRats hate it. Good!
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Aug 30 2015
2.0
0.0
Aug 30 2015
0.0
Version: 2.0
App says its free for home use but if I click on the home use button I'm redirected to a webpage asking for my cash (almost 10 Euro), and I can't get past it. What's going on?
Bidule
Bidule
Jul 15 2015
1.26
0.0
Jul 15 2015
0.0
Version: 1.26
V. 1.26 crashes on 10.6.8, v.1 didn't.
EDIT: From dev "*Bug — v1.26 doesn’t run on Snow Leopard; this will be resolved in v1.27"
A1D
A1D
Jul 14 2015
1.26
2.0
Jul 14 2015
2.0
Version: 1.26
Hide/unhide doesn't work properly. It unhide files but doesn't hide them back. I think it is too recklessly to put CleanMyMac in that sort of list.
Steved
Steved
Jul 11 2015
1.24
0.5
Jul 11 2015
0.5
Version: 1.24
No problem with the newest version (124) but downloaded prior version a couple of days ago and it said my wife's computer was infected with a keylogger and we should immediately quit using the computer, call the police, hire a professional debugger etc. That was a real freak-out and my wife uses her computer heavily every day. Called Apple because computer is still under Applecare and they take all security issues seriously. The tech suggested I remove some files I didn't want to and instead loaded DetectX onto my computer which was also supposedly infected with a keylogger which seemed suspicious to me. I used my computer to try out 2 different antivirus programa and they found nothing- so I thought maybe the software is just a bad joke. Long and short I wasted a day and a half trying to debug a nonexistent problem before I figured the software was just plain wrong. So buyer beware, if your time has any value you may not want to delve into security software with an unproven developer. I do not know if Apple intervened and told the developer to clean up his act or not, but I am glad the newest version did not find the alleged keylogger- and now I am going to delete this software from both computers I installed it on.
Ishanb
Ishanb
Jul 10 2015
1.24
3.5
Jul 10 2015
3.5
Version: 1.24
Does what it says, but there's one problem. If you check the box to "show hidden files" those files remain visible after quitting the app. If you don't know the terminal commands to rehide all the files that OS X keeps normally hidden, you're out of luck and will see all the hidden files on your desktop and every folder. The app should have the terminal command built in to hide the hidden files after it finishes running.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jul 10 2015
1.23
5.0
Jul 10 2015
5.0
Version: 1.23
I just donated the requested $5 to support development of DetectX. They continue to develop and improve this app and I think it fills a real need checking for and removing crapware from my Mac.
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
Jan 30 2015
1
0.0
Jan 30 2015
0.0
Version: 1
**
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
Jan 30 2015
1
0.0
Jan 30 2015
0.0
Version: 1
**duplicate
applehelpwriter
applehelpwriter
Jan 30 2015
1
0.0
Jan 30 2015
0.0
Version: 1
The support page now contains information outlining what is searched for and why. See http://sqwarq.com/detectx/
A380
A380
Jan 26 2015
1
5.0
Jan 26 2015
5.0
Version: 1
Excellent joke lol

Mackeeper IS malware but you just need to move it to the Trash
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 25 2015
1
2.0
Jan 25 2015
2.0
Version: 1
Analysis: I've done some superficial digging around in 'DetectX' to find out what it does. Below are my results:

You can 'Search' for the following:

1) MacKeeper - Fine, good riddance to worst-in-class rubbish.
2) Wirelurker - This is MALWARE. The theory goes that this malware was only ever used in China by the Chinese communist government in order to spy on their own citizens. I know Apple has blocked its installation via its XProtect system built into OS X. Use anti-malware to remove it! Manual removal may not get all of it.
3) MacCleanse - This is an ordinary Mac clean up utility. There's nothing great or awful about it. Why is it detected?
4) iAntiVirus - WHY? This is indeed possibly the worst of the available free anti-malware applications, long ago abandoned by awful Symantec. I suppose it's good to know if you have it because it's utterly out-of-date and useless.
5) CleanMyMac - Again, an ordinary Mac cleanup utility of no bad reputation or good. Why is it detected?
6) Genieo - Nefarious ADWARE.

7) Lastly, DetectX searches for 'Misc Badware'. There is no explanation as to what this is, including at the developer's website. But my digging around in the code did reveal the following searches:

A) DivX - This is a cruddy old video codex with related player and encoder software, basically just useless junk. It did once infect victims with adware, earning it a bad reputation.
B) Savekeep - Nefarious ADWARE.
C) GoPhoto.it - Nefarious ADWARE.
D) Trovi - Web browser hijacking malware.
E) SafariOmnibar - This is some old extension for Safari some people didn't like. Nothing bad.
F) Yontoo/YontooLayers - Nefarious ADWARE.
G) ChatZum/zako - Nefarious ADWARE.
H) Firefox MyBrowserBar extensions - ADWARE.

That may be all DetectX detects, but don't consider this a complete list.

You can "Show" the items DetectX finds, therefore, you can manually remove these items. But I would NOT use DetectX for that purpose except for innocuous stuff. For ADWARE and MALWARE, use appropriate and reputable removal tools. For adware, get Thomas Reed's free AdwareMedic, which is excellent. For malware, try both ClamXAV and Sophos Anti-Virus, which are free. The best commercial anti-malware for client computer is, IMHO, Intego's VirusBarrier. I personally recommend staying away from the Symantec stuff.

Overall, this is just a detection program, not a removal program. I'd suggest getting better programs to find AND remove both the malware and adware. AdwareMedic finds ALL Mac malware AND removes it. Any of the reputable anti-malware applications can find Wirelurker malware. There is no important reason to bother finding the other items on the search list of DetectX. I don't see the point. I wanted to give this three stars as maybe useful, middling sort of freeware. Overall, it doesn't hurt anything or do any phoning home. But I don't actually see the point of its existence when there are much more focused and useful utilities. So, I can only give it two stars. Look elsewhere for much better tools that do its job.
Vancurren
Vancurren
Jan 25 2015
1
0.5
Jan 25 2015
0.5
Version: 1
DetectX helps you find and remove files belonging to MacKeeper and a few other apps. What few other apps are being removed?