WALTR
WALTR
1.7.3

4.1

WALTR free download for Mac

WALTR

1.7.3
11 February 2017

Convert video and music directly into iPhone and iPad without iTunes.

Overview

WALTR is designed to make it easy to convert and transfer any music or video file to an iPad or iPhone format for native playback. It supports a huge variety of media file types, including MP3, MP4, AVI, CUE, WMA, M4R, AAC, M4V, M4A, FLAC, ALAC, MKV, and more. It even supports file types that are not normally compatible with iOS, including MKV, AVI, FLAC, and CUE, allowing them to be played in the native Music and Movie apps on iOS. Using WALTR is simple. After closing iTunes, a user just needs to plug an iPhone or iPad into a Mac and open the WALTR app. The iOS device and its available storage space is listed at the top of the app, and files can be dragged to the blank space in the app for immediate transfer to the iOS device. Uploads begin as soon as a file is dragged into the WALTR app, and most uploads are very quick, taking a few seconds. Once a file has been transferred to the iPhone or iPad, it is accessible in either the native Movies or Music app on the iOS device, and overall, the WALTR process is simpler than converting via a separate app and then uploading through iTunes.

What's new in WALTR

Version 1.7.3:
  • Tons of bug fixes
  • Improved MKV, AVI format support
  • Added WALTR 2 engagement notice

Join over 500,000 subscribers.

Subscribe for our newsletter with best Mac offers from MacUpdate.

98 WALTR Reviews

See all

Rate this app:

TilemanDothias
31 December 2014

Most helpful

Despite it is overpriced, at first glance this app has something to go for. It has a simple elegant user interface. Perfect when you want something to be playable on your Apple devices. Looking more closely reveals this app has no consistent experience and therefore questionable for daily needs. My experience shows good results are only guaranteed when using a file that has x264 avc video and aac audio. But those files already play fine natively on all Apple devices. No need for waltr. iTunes can transfer those safe as well. If the file includes other video or audio, lots of things are going wrong at random. Audio gets out of sync after a while, distorted or heavily gained audio or worse, no audio at all. Uploading to an iPad Air2 sometimes stopped promptly without any warning or indication something went wrong. Retrying did work, sometimes it did not. Avi files are badly transcoded. Not one avi file I uploaded performed well. Less than satisfactory video quality and it struggles with strange jumps in both audio and video. Skipping/searching while playing an uploaded movie is at times terrible. In some cases it even locked the movie completely and I was left staring at a nice black screen. I had no choice other than to completely reset the iPad. Chapter indexes are also lost when transcoding took place. When no transcoding is needed, it does copy chapters. Odd. Looking at the transcoded file size after uploading to an iPad, I noticed they were kinda huge. The same quality was achieved with permute with almost 40% of the file size. My iPad only has 16GB so file size does matter   I always use a tool called "permute" for doing my transcoding to my iPad and with very good results. Though waltr does occasionally work, it sadly does not qualify for my needs, namely "A tool that always works".
Like (11)
Version 1.0.7
67begemot
13 November 2019
Ребята просто супер, сделали всё возможное, чтобы программа WALTR заработала,рекомендую всем и программу и тех поддержку.
Like
Version 1.7.3
chant40
06 July 2019
Need help: My softorino converter stop working (not knowing it needs an upgrade), with little time at hand I rushed into buying softorino 2. Questions: 1. I have both installed on the same MacBook, can I transfer one to an iPad after upgrading the softorino converter?
Like
Version 1.7.3
zenklusen-a
17 November 2018
Great tool and fantastically fast and helpful support. Top Marks! Thank you Waltr.
Like
Version 1.7.3
taylanpince
11 November 2018
Been using WALTR for over 3 years and it's still the easiest way to transfer movies to your iPad. I just had an issue with my license and Softorino fixed the issue and responded within 5 minutes on a Sunday morning. Even though they have a new version of the app (WALTR2), they still support this first version and provide stellar support. Awesome company and great software.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Uncoy
05 March 2018
I own the Softorino YouTube Converter. Softorino just expired my license for no reason (still v1). Same thing happened with Waltr. Really pack of thieves. Clearly don't understand the concept of a lifetime license. Never ending spam if you get mixed up with Softorino. Avoid like the plague.
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Softorino Ltd.
Softorino Ltd.
14 May 2018
Hi there, first off – we apologize for this inconvenience.

It looks like a mistake from our end. Please email our support team and we'll fix your license key (and set it to LIFETIME).
Like
SiteCR2
25 February 2018
From WALTR 1 to 2 all have provided the additional functionality I needed for getting some video files over to iPad for my grandson.
Like
Version 1.7.3
uggen-jigmey
20 April 2017
I stopped using itunes since I got WALTR. The customer service and technical support is 5 start from Waltr team. The best experience i have had in my life.
Like
Version 1.7.3
Hilbo60
11 February 2017
All I can say is that I purchased WALTR 1 with the promise of a free update to WALTR 2, and got exactly what was promised! As for the complaints below as to problems with either items, again, I have to say that both Apps performed as described. I do think that for WALTR 1 to be still on sale is a bit odd, as WALTR 2 out-performs the first program by a mile, but, I'm happy with what I've got. In closing, I must iterate that I have absolutely no connection with this company, indeed, my one complaint with them would be that, yes their Ads are very tiresome!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
11 February 2017
Hello. I do agree with you that selling WALTR 1 is odd. I also got WALTR 2 that is undoubtedly superior to WALTR 1. I advise users to pass directly to WALTR 2.
Like
1ness
01 November 2016
Terrible experience with Waltr and Softorino Inc.

First of all the software never worked for me as I have expected. The idea was to quickly send audio files to the iPhone. After trying this for several times the results of conversion during the file transfer was terrible. Lossless files sounded like trash. I stopped using the app and hoped that some day things will be fixed.

Meanwhile what happened was that my inbox started to flood with junk promotional messages of the forthcoming release of v2 of the app. The promotional presentation is... well, like every other promotional video by Softorino - judge for yourself.

Now, after half a year or thereabout of promotional emails about v2 I have received an update link just to find out that I have to pay again! And this is after the lifetime license was purchased with the promise of having all future updates free!

Please do yourself a favour and use a quality free audio/video converter (such as HandBrake) or buy iFFmpeg or similar and just upload the files via iTunes (or iMazing - a great paid alternative with many functions). Feel like an idiot after paying more then 3 times the amount for "lifetime" family licence of this junk than I paid for iFFmpeg.

Short conclusion: WALTR is an OVERPRICED GARBAGE. Softorino will try to get every last cent out of you, while utilising the most annoying tactics and promotions, selling you a lifetime licence, just to charge again in no time. IMO - this company is a SCAM. Avoid at all costs.
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
4 answer(s)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
08 November 2016
Thank you for your honest review.

First and foremost – we turn FLAC into ALAC with ZERO quality loss. Everything stays the same. If you think the quality sounds like trash, then please contact the Apple team who's in charge of audio in iOS devices.

Though if you didn't like the product or if it didn't work for you – you could've requested a refund to get your money back. WALTR is not a scam. You purchased a lifetime license for WALTR 1. Please understand that WALTR 1 is still sold. It's still being updated. And it's still supported. You will get all updates for WALTR 1 free.

And the tech world reviewed it explaining why it's unique and what it's used for. There's no way for this feature to be fixed because it doesn't require any fixing from our end. We made it work as promised.

If you find using 3 separate apps to be a better and at a lower price – that's completely your choice. We're 100% confident that our solution is worth the investment. You'll save a lot of time using WALTR in the long run.

In regards to the second version –
WALTR 2 is sold as a separate product. It has new features including Wi-Fi sync that not everyone may need. It's a huge step forward for us and therefore, the price is also higher. If you don't want to use WALTR 2, then don't upgrade and if you don't like our email newsletters or promo materials, you may unsubscribe from them.

In any case, there's a free trial in both WALTR 1 and WALTR 2. Before you make any conclusions – please try it and see for yourself whether or not this review is valid ;)
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 November 2016
"Lifetime" purchase is one of the most abused concepts in sales. It should automatically trigger: BUYER BEWARE. What it is supposed to mean is that you get ALL (A L L) versions of that product on into the future until the product is killed.

To say that 'Lifetime' was only applied to WALTR v1.x is RIDICULOUS and does IMHO equate to a scam, unless of course the Dev buried verbiage in the License that said otherwise. If they didn't, it's time for lawsuit as well as mass revelation of the scam on the Internet.

I recall as a kid buying a 'Lifetime' subscription to a mail newsletter. I got one issue, then the publisher stopped and went out of business. That's how lousy a 'Lifetime' can be.

I own three 'Lifetime' licenses I dared purchase. All three are for real. They are for Koingo, Limit Point Utilities and ProXPN. There is no version number trickery. Those 'Lifetime' purchases have been terrific. So they're not all misleading scams. Just be wary of anything 'Lifetime'.
Like (1)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
10 November 2016
Derekcurrie you make complete sense.

You should know – WALTR 1 is not being killed off. It's still sold, updated and supported. And it will stay this way for a lifetime. It simply has less features and a small price for those that don't need the features in WALTR 2.

Simply put – WALTR 2 is sold as a separate product and WALTR 1 updates are coming soon.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
10 November 2016
I stand by exactly what I stated. I find your attempt to justify your wrong and misleading concept of 'Lifetime' to be user abuse and self-destructive marketing. Of course you were going to get burned for using the term 'Lifetime' and not living up to its actual, real meaning. (But again folks, read your software license for details that may allow the Dev to get away with this abusive marketing).
Like (1)
RoXXXy
08 October 2016
Purchased this from MacUpDate Supposed to be a Free UpDate to Waltr 2!!! Entered my registration code... They say My Free Trial is Over.. Trying to sell me other Packages.. .. What a Scam.. Personal & Family..WTF.. I already Purchased & it still says Need to Pay More.. BOGUS BULL!!
) Stars does not work at all!! Phising for more Money !! 0<>ZERO<>0 Stars!!
I Have Never Used the Program.. Was a Fail on 1st try.!! They have Issues..
Have no Idea what this Program can do.. Beings it doesn't work at all! I have a Brand new iMac & Just Barely loaded it on the Machine!! They're totally Nutz!
Like (2)
Version 1.7.2
3 answer(s)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
28 October 2016
WALTR 2 is not released yet so that's why your code did not work. Please wait until will be officially launched and you will get an email from MacUpdate about your upgrade :)

And after you try it. Please com back to this page and edit your review so it corresponds and doesn't confuse others. Thanks!!
Like (1)
1ness
1ness
01 November 2016
This company is a SCAM. Avoid at all costs.

I have exactly the same issue. Have paid tons of money for the buggy product, that would kill audio quality of files during the transfer... And now, when v2 is released they ask to pay again.

I am sure that most (all?) l the 5 star reviews here are made by faked profiles related to the company.
Like (1)
Softorino, Inc.
Softorino, Inc.
01 November 2016
Guys, first off – the company is NOT a scam.

All reviews are real. They are not fake and I'm sure everyone of these reviewers will prove it.

In regards to WALTR 1 not working for you – get in touch and we will provide the update to WALTR 2 free of charge (if that fixes your issue).

Also, WALTR 1 is STILL sold, updated and supported. The 2nd version is sold as a separate product for those who want more features.

Please come back to this review and edit it if you everything works out in the end.
Like