Back to Pinegrow page
Pinegrow free download for Mac

Pinegrow Reviews

5.7
01 August 2019

Mockup and design web pages faster.

Tim27
11 May 2014

Most helpful

This interface can be a little daunting, but that's because of all the options available. This app is overall way better than Macaw and for much less money.
Like (5)
Version 1.108

Read 17 Pinegrow User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eviandem
27 July 2018
I switched from Flux to Pinegrow and got along well with Pinegrow from the beginning. The user interface is clear and concise, everything is where you need it. As of 4.9 there is also CSS Grid support, which even allows me as a beginner for my occasional HTML adjustments to achieve the desired results. And I hadn't found any bugs yet.
Like (3)
Version 4.8
Sandro-Bilbeisi
07 March 2018
I am using "PineGrow 4.5 PRO + WP" with e few extra goodies installed such as "WordPress Starter Theme for Pinegrow" and "BootStrap Blocks for Wordpress" ... it's saving me a lot of time and frustration ... it's an excellent tool for professionals but may have a slightly steep learning curve for beginners ...
Like (2)
Version 4.3
Scott-C-H-
04 September 2017
I've been keeping an eye on the development of Pinegrow as I remain curious about its progress. After all, Pinegrow's premise sounds rather appealing. Unfortunately, after many hours of testing the latest version (3.07 as of this writing), I became entirely convinced that it was NOT a good solution at this point.

Overall, it is extremely buggy. None of the bugs I noticed are major, but all kinds of cosmetic errors are everywhere, and they all slow you down. I've had so many "...huh?" moments that the user experience has become annoying and irritating. The learning curve is very steep when you try to figure out where all the GUI controls are. There are just so many options that even a simple CSS change sometimes causes quite a bit of scroll-and-hunt-down workflow frictions even when you already know where it is. I know HTML/CSS well enough that it's so much easier and faster just to spell out what I want using Emmet and snippets in other code editors.

Wordpress theme generator is very confusing to figure out as well. At this level of the learning curve, I can't help thinking that I would be better off just learning straight Wordpress coding and skip learning how to do it through Pinegrow altogether. It kind of works ok if you are inserting some basic stuff, but it quickly gets lost if you need to do a lot of custom if-then type loops.

It still can't fully render dynamic code inside Pinegrow. You have to resort back to a code editor if you need to handle PHP partials, existing Wordpress themes, and any other types of templates.

If you want a visual way of navigating code, I suggest you try Brackets.io. It's free, it's open source, and it works far better than Pinegrow. For example, if you are working with a straight HTML/CSS file for designing, you can open a Live Preview window, click where you want to edit, and the corresponding code gets highlighted in the main code window. The code is right there, unlike Pinegrow in which it hides the code under a very complicated and convoluted UI. You have to click around to get to it. So much for boasting how it is "code-friendly." Press Command-E and all the CSS styles affecting the element is exposed right on the spot for quick editing. Autocomplete is much smarter as well, so you can just "spell out your UI" faster than hunting down an element and dragging. There is a large extension community for Brackets.io, and you can find just about any niche functionalities you might want for your workflow.

I don't see how any serious developers with coding knowledge would consider using it. And I don't see how Pinegrow can help coding novices with such a convoluted UI and workflow with full of cosmetic bugs.
Like (3)
Version 3.07
Scott-C-H-
06 July 2017
v.3.0 gained visual CSS editing that is similar to that of Webflow's, except that Pinegrow is a desktop app and therefore it lets you work the same way with any HTML files.

Pinegrow is not an "all-or-nothing" tool. You can use it as a front-end IDE, you can use it as a rapid prototyping tool, or you can use it as "Chrome Dev Tools on steroid." You can use it alongside your favorite IDE/text editor of your choice. It is a great learning tool as well because you can manipulate a website both visually and via code, and you can see how each change affects the site real-time without having to save to file. You are NOT limited by what GUI gives you, either. Any obscure things that Pinegrow's visual editor doesn't cover, you can open the code right on the spot and edit directly in code. It's an editor for coders who want to turbocharge their workflow while retaining the total control of their code.

I used to be very skeptical of this type of tool, but I have to say that it's so much faster to whip up a prototype that I can convert to a production site later without a lot of double-work. It's a useful tool worth keeping in my toolbox.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
18 July 2017
Revised review: ★★✩✩✩

Update: I felt compelled to come back and say to my original v.3 review, "Not so fast." I tested it thoroughly during my 7-day trial period. The more I used it, the more it reminded me of my past review for v.2.

After testing thoroughly, I found it was still faster just to use a good code editor and work with HTML/CSS code directly even with its new CSS visual editor interface. Emmet makes HTML/CSS coding lightning-fast, and Chrome Dev Tools is more than enough to cover all the "visual manipulation" of HTML/CSS code. Sure, Pinegrow can build a WordPress theme from a static HTML page, but not without learning very convoluted steps in Pinegrow's GUI. Honestly, it was just as time-consuming as learning to code. It doesn't save time at all. I feel like I wasted time learning to use a proprietary tool to do something I should learn to code in a code editor in the first place.

And, the biggest irony I find whenever I try this type of tool is that you need to have a pretty good grasp of HTML/CSS coding process to get the most out of a tool such as this. And those who do have a good grasp of HTML/CSS coding will find this type of software rather convoluted and unnecessary. Macaw and Dreamweaver CC have both failed for this reason. I don't see why Pinegrow is different from them, at least so far.
Like (2)
Phaleron
01 July 2017
Wouldn't it be better to say that the WordPress version is $120, rather than $49?
Like (1)
Version 3.0
pcampbell2010
24 March 2017
My favorite tool. Great product. I have been working in the web design business since the 1990s, progressing from simple HTML through responsive design. If my client ever asks for a tool that they can use to update and make small changes, this is the product I recommend.
Like
Version 2.95
Scott-C-H-
07 February 2017
The concept sounds good on surface, but in practice, it doesn’t render even a simple PHP page with <?php include(‘partial.php’); ?> correctly. I then have to run it on a dev server (MAMP, etc.) and resort to opening such page in Pinegrow via URL. But THEN, I can’t save anything I do in that mode. At that point, why bother? Chrome Dev Tools, Firebug, and even Safari’s Inspector can do most of what Pinegrow does, only with a more intuitive UI. Pinegrow can’t render anything other than straight HTML without dynamic codes, and I will have to do a lot of copying and pasting if I force it to work with such pages. How is that better than temporarily changing codes in Chrome Dev Tools, copy a block of changes or even the entire page of code right in the interface and paste it into the text editor of your choice to confirm the change? Besides that, you ought to be working directly with HTML/CSS code if you call yourself a web developer. No serious employers looking for a real developer would consider anyone who relies on a tool like this. You will be faster and more efficient in a long run if you learn to code. Get used to using the other kind of helper tools such as autocomplete and snippets. Find and know a couple of CSS frameworks intimately, and you will be a lot faster than searching for an element, dragging and dropping it all the time.
Like (4)
Version 2.95
4 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
03 July 2017
Is there any html editor that renders a PHP page without running MAMP or something like that? If you know of one please post here.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 July 2017
@scott-c-h, Codekit https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/46349/codekit
Like
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
18 July 2017
@Mikael-B, I use Atom + CodeKit + MAMP + Chrome Dev Tools for all web site design. I tried Macaw, Dreamweaver CC 2017 and Pinegrow in the past few months, and all of them utterly failed to meet my expectations. All of them sound good in theory and marketing, but none of them save time, and none of them work well without knowing HTML/CSS/Responsive design well. I find it much quicker and easier to just code and skip learning how to use a GUI abstraction layer such as Pinegrow. It is true especially when you need to work with dynamic codes.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 July 2017
@scott-c-h-, Been there, done that (except for Atom) and came to the same conclusions as you.
Like (2)
acuriousmind
06 December 2016
If you're in the market for a professional web-tool, I highly recommend that you check Pinegrow out. One of the highlights is the excellent support for "hand-coded" HTML as it integrates very nicely with the Atom-editor. This integration means that you can navigate you web-layout visually and have the editor continuously jump to the selected element. There is a 30-days trial version and I can personally attest to the fact that should you decide to buy, the 30 days money back guarantee (in place at the time of this writing) is very real and can be utilized. (I used it to switch to a different "campaign"-offer) Check this tool out, if you're in the market for a tool in the category!
Like
Version 2.95
ash-f
05 December 2016
This is a professional tool. Please don't expect easiness to this. Comparing this with popular web builders on this site is like Oranges and Apples. Other tools can build web easily but it's too simple if you are a pro. i.e. Compiling css(sass/less)? Need Bootstrap/Foundation support? Need to hand codes html/css/javascript? This is the one. DreamWeaver is obsolete, but text editors are too awkward to design modern Web UI.
Like (1)
Version 2.95
Ollie1972
29 July 2016
This webbuilder isn't bad but Blocs2 surpassed it by miles now. Whatever you buy, TRY both first.
Like
Version 2.92
Shooters
27 January 2016
This and Blocs are two best web design tools available for OS X. Bootstrap and Foundation can create incredible nice looking and complex websites without writing one single code line. The new wordpress builder is powerful and easy. Great addition. Everyone website builder should get this a try for sure! Great value
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
mfgv89!
mfgv89!
10 February 2016
@shooters From your experience in using both, which is better?

Cons and pros? I've been using blocs, but am looking into Pinegrow because i'm looking to have a little more control, but still keep things simple for a non-code designer.
Like
Tim27
Tim27
28 May 2016
@mfgv89 - Blocs is simpler. Pinegrow has FAR more options and also lets you develop WordPress themes, if you get that version of it. Because of that it is more complex and takes more time to learn. I do find the styling options in Blocs to be more difficult to use than Pinegrow because there aren't as many of them. I have not used the latest version of Blocs, though.
Like (2)
mattjob314
17 September 2015
I previously used Artisteer - I am new to web design and it seemed the closest to microsoft programs that I was used to. It was WYSIWYG, It did the job, but in the end I found it seriously restrictive and limiting - not to mention highly frustrating that I couldn't really get the result I wanted. Pinegrow was what I was looking for. It combines the WYSIWYG with the awesome multi-screen view (so helpful!) and it takes all the shakles off! And the price! I mean, compared to the Adobe I was looking at - it's SO reasonable! Bravo guys! Bravo!
Like
Version 2.21
Diarbyrag
07 June 2015
Pinegrow is fine except for the fact that after twelve months you have to pay the upgrade fee so you actually rent the software every twelve months. By the time it gets to version 3 you will have paid quite a lot for version 2. Not falling for it thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
28 July 2015
Since I wrote the above ( which I cannot amend ) I have tried it further and it is a learning curve but it does what it says, the 1/2 price upgrade path for 12 months only runs from the original purchase date. This is an update model I have never experienced before in the past 15 years, apart from Adobe who just rent you the stuff and my Mac is now Adobe free thanks to Affinity. I know it is not an expensive way to do it but I wonder what would happen if you decide not to upgrade for 13 months from purchase date ? Anyway despite that I desided to upgrade to version 2.2 which now has a Bootstrap blocks section which works ok so far. The videos on their website are very useful. will see what happens...
Like
Tim27
04 April 2015
Just downloaded the update and after playing with it a bit I purchased the upgrade. The WordPress integration is going to change how people build WP themes. The app keeps getting better. I'm going to still take away a half star because the interface is still pretty daunting.
Like
Version 2.00
dmu
25 June 2014
I really wanted to love this software. I've been looking for something like this for so many years it's ridiculous. I've been coding by hand because nothing cuts it in the WYSIWYG space... especially with mobile responsiveness. But this UI is so daunting and awkward that it makes me feel like an idiot. I spent an hour trying to change the background of the page to an image, and still could only get it in a div, not page-wide. I could have coded a solution by hand in less than 20 seconds. So much for efficiency and control. With this UI, they are going to need a lot more instructional videos than the ONE that they have.
Like (1)
Version 1.15
1 answer(s)
Roblgs
Roblgs
26 June 2014
You might want to try looking further down the main page where there are links to EIGHT videos... If you head over to the documentation then many of the articles are either illustrated, or come with a video attached, and there are NINE video tutorials on specific tasks. There is absolutely no shortage of video support material, and the developer is courteous, responsive to support requests and very active in moving the application forward. The interface is daunting, but so is what it is trying to do. The ability to display different renderings of a page side-by-side and have them synchronously refresh to reflect coding changes is brilliant. Had I waited a couple of weeks I could have paid US$20 less than I did, but I don't regret having paid the full price either.
Like
Revco
23 June 2014
On sale until June 30. $20 off. http://pinegrow.com/#buy
Like
Version 1.13
Tim27
11 May 2014
This interface can be a little daunting, but that's because of all the options available. This app is overall way better than Macaw and for much less money.
Like (5)
Version 1.108