Back to Subtitle Studio page
Subtitle Studio free download for Mac

Subtitle Studio Reviews

1.5
07 June 2019

A complete subtitle solution.

asimo
17 May 2014

Most helpful

I hit "Fix" instead of "Play" few times. However in view of the fact that this is the first release, it is really nice piece of software. Naturally there is a room for improvements.
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 19 Subtitle Studio User Reviews

Rate this app:

Raven-
11 June 2019
Love this program and the person behind it, again this major update runs good and smooth. And when you have a problem... the developer reacts fast and helpful. Thank you C.
Like
Version 1.5
Raven-
28 February 2019
Subtitle Studio is very user-friendly and very easy and understandable in use, is worth its money! I am using the app. for a long time now. I got a few days ago a little problem... And the developer answer was fast en helpful, like always. Afterwards it turned out that it was no problem that the app. caused, but rather a connection problem from another app. Thank you...
Like
Version 1.2.6
Raven-
30 June 2018
Still the best option for me! And the developer is super and answers fast back.... Thank you!
Like
Version 1.2.5
june8
19 May 2018
Since the first release, it still can't display Turkish characters properly.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.5
1 answer(s)
Raven-
Raven-
30 June 2018
Did you tried some different 'ISO' for the Turkish characters?
Like
TCalhau
07 February 2018
I like this app. It works and the developer is helpful. However, he is in need of some good updates.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.5
Jamesehale
17 October 2017
I agree this has to be one of, if not, the best apps to add and adjust subtitles for video. Slick interface, super easy to use. Indeed it is one of the only approachable subtitle adjusting apps around. Only downside is that it is limited to Apple's AV library and so cannot play h265 files nor "hear" anything other than AAC audio. If the developer could leverage ffmpeg or the VLC engine then this would really be the go to app for subtitle adjust. I am aware of other subtitle editing apps that utilise these libraries and can basically play (and hear) anything you thow at them. Unfortunately none have the easy to use interface that Subtitle Studio has.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.5
Raven-
27 March 2017
The best app. for subtitles or editing etc. Super easy adjusting them or synchronise... And the developer is super, always quick to help! A big thank you!
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
elmacci
25 February 2017
Wonderful App, very friendly Developer - rapid Response. I am using this app to add Subtitles to different Videos and Movies. Recommended! Cheers
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
Morlo
13 May 2016
not bad at all. slickest app for sub sync on the mac.. you can tell the developers were careful and actually tried to solve common problems. The sub search is pretty fast and useful, with a lot of options for finding the sub. Subtitle Studio could also play audio in mkvs I could not get to play on Subtitles the Editor. Would strongly suggest an audio waveform for visual help. And I also, would like an Export srt option. The "format conversion" message is useless and confusing.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.2
1 answer(s)
Morlo
Morlo
13 May 2016
i mean export and import from and to other options. Export to srt is not necessary, just hitting save modifies the sub.
Like
Turquoise
14 February 2016
The price is right, but the app is missing "Export" or "Save As" a different file name. The right panel shows only the first line of an imported subtitle.
Like
Version 1.2.2
2 answer(s)
Wts
Wts
17 March 2016
Thanks for the heads up info.

What i need is the ability for the app to " color " the text ( on screen dialogue ) from the traditional white to the color yellow because my brother has some vision problems.

Are you aware if this app can do that ?
Like
Turquoise
Turquoise
20 April 2016
Wts, I don't see any option to colour the text. Send you question directly to the developper.
Like
illouz-maurice
02 May 2015
Two questions: 1) Just purchased the product and for some obscure reason, when I load an MKV movie file, there is NO SOUND whatsoever!? Checked whether everything is ON and couldn't find a reason !? Can someone help? Running Yosemite 10.10.3 on an iMAC 27. Subtitle Studio V1.2.2. 2) When I load the movie, I am told that the format being used is not good and that I should convert it to enable the full functionality !? When I select the option to do it, I have no clue as to what is the status of the conversion and where is the converted file going to reside !? I just get a "converting statement" and it runs forever, can't see the actual progress or whether this is working at all? 3) Why can't we simply see the software version when you use the About option !? Please advise.
Like
Version 1.2.2
TCalhau
20 December 2014
The current version is 1.2 ^^
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
TCalhau
04 November 2014
Good subtitles editor. Enjoying the usability! Furthermore when I needed the support they were super helpful and solved my problem! I Recommend buying!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Lucasv
04 August 2014
Unfortunately my experience with this application has been negative as well. Seems to be extremely buggy. Application doesn't show video/audio of most of the video files I have tried. Saved srt files for four different video files and tried to play on home theatre and it came out as gobbledy-gook. I note the developer is very "active" on this forum. My experience has not been one of zero bugs. Humiston and I together make two, Herr Vogelbusch. And no, I won't submit any bug reports because the ones I encountered were so glaring they did not require any testing. If you fix it I will come back and revise my rating. (I am a normal user and not one of your competition... :))
Like
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
20 February 2015
Sadly no application can support fast editing of MKV as the format is not meant for this. After the final conversion watchable m4v the app works perfectly.

We use the official Apple engine for Movie playing, thus we have the same features and limitations as Quicktime doe, BUT we support both old Quicktime and Quicktime X. Including the auto-conversion.

I am sorry we could not help you, but anything to do with playback is on Apples' side , that's why I recommended a bug report.

There are slightly different engines ported from linux, mostly VLC based, not sure there is any real Mac app with on of them, maybe they react differently, but from my experience are less precise.

If you find a better app please let us know, maybe we can learn something, we have not considered yet.
Like (2)
Humiston
02 June 2014
One of the worst pieces of software I've used (or tried to use). It is a long way from beta. Buggy, non-intuitive, drops sound from videos, auto-loads more than one subtitle, no customization, extremely scant, useless tutorial, etc., etc., etc. If you try to rate it within the program, it opens the Mac App Store, which tells you it is not in their store (pulled?). They need to go back to the drawing board and test it out with a user group before trying to publish again.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
30 June 2014
I hope after our communication all of your first confusions are solved. Just wanted to publicly write here so users have a lovely start into Subtitle Studio: • The automatic search on OpenSubtile.com normally has multiple responses and this is necessary as subtitle have different quality and are made for different movie versions • The App Store version took longer to review, but it is out there, still since it needed to be limited to fit into Apple's rule we recommend the version from MacUpdate or our Website • Subtitle Studio is built to do things most automatic and there for be easy to use. Most customers don't even need our tutorial, still we will add a documentation to the app in future version • Also we love to hear from our customers, no matter if it's an eMail via web forms, twitter or Facebook :-) write us, if you have wishes, questions, ideas • Also send us your bug reports if you have any, currently there are ZERO known bugs :-)
Like (1)
RiBaHa
18 May 2014
Does everything it promises. I have to agree with the previous reviewer the first time I instinctively pressed Fix when I wanted to press play :-) hope the fix that. However they promised on twitter more is to come, I am curious to see what that could be ... I am already happy.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
asimo
17 May 2014
I hit "Fix" instead of "Play" few times. However in view of the fact that this is the first release, it is really nice piece of software. Naturally there is a room for improvements.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Lookky
12 May 2014
Why OS +10.9 there's a lot of people still in 10.8.5 an upgrade just for one app is ridiculous...
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
Tazintosh
Tazintosh
12 May 2014
So you just rate an app half a star, just because you're not running 10.9? Did you rate the same OS one star because it's free or you don't want/can't update too?
Like (2)
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
12 May 2014
Actually it should run under 10.7 so basically you gave halt a star for a typo!
Like (2)
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
12 May 2014
Actually I was wrong: Only Mavericks supports embedding and conversion by Apple. Support for 10.7 and 10.8 was planned but this meant using external libraries that do not deliver the quality we get from Apples AVFoundation. The company decided against delivering a product that is limited on old OS but instead only use high quality Apple Libraries, because Mavericks is a free upgrade. I am sorry for the miss-information, this was a late decision I did not know, but sadly I think it was a good one. Thank you Apple for free Mavericks.
Like (3)
MetroMrX
11 May 2014
The link is for another app called Good Times. Is there a link for a trial version? Looks an interesting subtitles app.
Like
Version 1.0
3 answer(s)
asimo
asimo
11 May 2014
Try Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheKeptPromise/status/464120481554370561
Like
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
11 May 2014
Hi, I am one developer of Subtitle Studio. Truth is the web site is not ready, but we decided we wanted to get SubtitleStudio out as early as possible. So people have chance to give us feedback. The app does everything we use it for every day, but that might not be true for you. So if something is missing let us know :-) All the best Christoph
Like (1)
Christoph-Vogelbusch
Christoph-Vogelbusch
12 May 2014
Hi, I forgot to say: This is a trial version. YOu can use EVERYTHING for 7 Days :-) Enjoy!
Like (3)