Back to Vellum page
Vellum free download for Mac

Vellum Reviews

2.6.1
12 September 2019

Create beautiful eBooks for iBooks, Kindle, and Nook.

gryphonent
11 December 2013

Most helpful

Licensed on a per book basis? What are you thinking? Ever heard of iBooks and calibre, both of which are free? Sorry, it's nice looking… but I prefer writing in Scrivener, and then creating the book in iBook or calibre or an ePub engine.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0

Read 11 Vellum User Reviews

Rate this app:

Raddle
23 January 2018
There's a lot of bilious ire directed at this software in the comments, which is misplaced. Yes, it's expensive. Yes, you can use other software or hand-code the things yourself if you want — and I've done both of those in the past. But if you need to semi-regularly produce attractive it-just-works ebooks in a variety of formats, then Vellum is exceptionally good and a massive time-saver.

I can produce a perfectly-functioning ebook in multiple formats from a Word file in about twenty minutes using this software, depending on how many import glitches arise from the original doc. There is no other piece of software that comes remotely close to that speed or ease of use. When muttering about the cost, factor in your own billable time. When you do that, Vellum very rapidly pays for itself even at an admittedly high price.

The developers are responsive, and constantly adding improvements. It's also rock solid as a piece of software — a professional tool that's FAR easier to use than any of the alternatives. I'm giving it 4 stars because, sure, I would have loved to have paid $99 instead. But for fast, reliable and WYSIWYG creation of ebooks, there's nothing like it.

If the price isn't worth t to you, fine — don't buy it. Hand-tool your books, and deal with the problems caused by multiple formats and idiosyncratic HTML. But don't trash Vellum until you've spent a while working with it.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Dolphinboy2u
02 June 2017
MacUpdate currently lists this new version 2.0 as $29.99, but now there are only two purchase levels: $199.99 and $249.99.

There's apparently no way to create an ebook for test purposes,...unless you've got $200 lying around you don't need.

Looks like 180g is only targeting the high volume publishers, not the occasional user.. They lost this potential customer.

I'm upvoting the similar software listed above. Forget it, Vellum.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
gryphonent
01 June 2017
Prohibitively expensive for its targeted audience and users. Especially when compared to iBooks Author and Scrivener. Maybe I'd give this a shot for USD 29.99... but please not only ONE book.
Like (2)
Version 2.0
Mr-Mike
19 December 2014
Nice app. Good to middling interface. Just one thing: Creatives are NOT walking ATMs for app developers to (ab)use. There's lots of competition and I end up hand-coding some stuff anyway. Now if this app makes me coffee in the morning and serves up a brandy at night, maybe it'll be worth it. As it is, it's deleted off my HD and I'm moving on to other apps that actually have a much fairer, reasonable and logical pricing scheme.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
aaffonso
06 August 2014
It seems a more than decent software but when I was ready to buy it I found out its indecent pricing structure. A way Adobe would charge, although it doesn't look a good choice when you don't have a monopoly like Adobe has and there are some few great free alternatives in the market.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
Dolphinboy2u
07 February 2014
Yes, it's elegant and capable software. I would love to use it. But,... Apparently it does not accept graphics or images. (Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.) Lacking these, it's a show-stopper for me under any price plan.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
19 November 2014
Ah, I see Vellum has just added image support. Now you've got my attention!
Like
Jean-Poole
07 February 2014
If you are creative enough to write a book, you should be smart enough to use the app iBooksAuthor, which gives you all the tools to publish an attractive book.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
21 June 2014
Never used it but doesn't iBooksAuthor only make books for iBooks? This tool creates books for iBooks, Kindle, and Nook.
Like (2)
cl-lagache
cl-lagache
28 January 2016
Bravo, bien dit
Like
bowlerboy-jmb
07 February 2014
While I would tend to agree with the criticisms being laid at the developer regarding its business model, none of the critics are completely honest and accurate in their critiques, hence their comments are misleading. A quick visit to the developer's home page explains the pricing structure in better detail: Unlimited $299.99 10 Books $149.99 ($15 / book) 1 Book $49.99 So, you can either view this as a $300 application that creates an unlimited amount eBooks without a per book price; or you can view this as a $50 per book application; but neither of those interpretations would be correct and complete, because the developer gives you to choice of choosing one or the other, which means both. Hence, to only state that the software is offered for sale on a per book basis is false and misleading. I think reviewers should be more responsible about what they say, because some people actually believe incorrect information, rather than investigating the facts for themselves, like I did, since I was so intrigued by such a business model.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.5
2 answer(s)
chopomatic
chopomatic
01 February 2015
Agreed. I'd also point out that this app is far, far removed from the freebies out there, which by and large do nothing but convert a file to the various ebook formats. I just discovered Vellum and it's not the conversion you're paying for; it's the fact that it generates a gorgeous ebook. Since finding it a couple days ago, I bet I've spent four hours trying to find anything else that comes close. Nothing does.

After spending a huge portion of a year writing a book, hundreds of dollars for a cover, thousands for a real editor, and all the other expenses that come with putting a quality product on the market, the cost of Vellum is trivial IMHO.
Like
peterbreis
peterbreis
21 February 2015
I agree. It is an unusual business model which may be creating the concern.

If it is what it appears to be, polished and very functional software that does an excellent job of creating an eBook, and saves you considerable time and money, US$49.99 should be balanced against the obvious benefits.

The thing that does get my concern is that any software involves an investment in time to learn and use, also usually commits your project to the product's file format. That makes me hesitate to commit when the price is not insignificant.

Where does this put me with Vellum? Tempted but wary.
Like
Cartelclover1983
17 January 2014
As an update for one of my previous comments... The new prices are pills thats much easier to swallow although still a bit pricey but you've taken your customers number one tip and made it possible to create unlimited books as should have been there from the beginning. Better late than never. Now people can take this beautiful app seriously. Keep it going
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4
Krampz
12 December 2013
I cannot believe that this app is proposed on a per book basis!!! Follow a free suggestion: place a fixed, simple and honest price to buy this app, otherwise nobody, let me repeat: NO-BO-DY will buy it! Please note that with this price strategy many people even will not evaluate the app.
Like
Version 1.0.0
gryphonent
11 December 2013
Licensed on a per book basis? What are you thinking? Ever heard of iBooks and calibre, both of which are free? Sorry, it's nice looking… but I prefer writing in Scrivener, and then creating the book in iBook or calibre or an ePub engine.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.0
1 answer(s)
Cartelclover1983
Cartelclover1983
12 December 2013
Agreed... I got sooooo excited about this application and immediately downloaded the app only to be completely disappointed after discovering that its on a per book basis which the worst model I've ever seen for an app of this nature. Its baffling. I'm not sure if this is a consumer app. Maybe more like a pro app meant for big companies with budgets to endlessly invest in the same app repeatedly. Great app but good luck getting ordinary people to flock to it with this greedy business model.
Like