Back to Plex Media Server page
Plex Media Server free download for Mac

Plex Media Server Reviews

1.16.5.1554
26 August 2019

Seamlessly connect your Plex clients with your local media.

Miner
11 October 2015

Most helpful

What I absolutely love about Plex, apart from the excellent functionality, is that it still runs under Snow Leopard, and that allows me to repurpose an old Mac Mini as a Media Centre. And free, too!
Like (7)
Version 0.9.12.13

Read 56 Plex Media Server User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lhutz
25 August 2019
After a wave of very negative responses by their users, they went back on their decision to no longer support TV mode setups for Macs and PCs. I'm very glad they listened.
Like
Version 1.16.5.1488
Lhutz
16 August 2019
They just announced they are killing off support for having your Mac directly connected to your TV, which is the most powerful and feature rich setup you can have. From January 2020 on, it will be streaming-only. :/
Like
Version 1.16.4.1469
RodgerW6021
09 May 2019
Version 1.15.4.994 New (DVR) Ability to give Home Users DVR access. (#8794) (Playback) Assume unknown audio to be foreign if the preferred audio language is not english (#6126) (Streaming Brain) Preference to allow automatically terminating playbacks which have been paused for an hour (#9700) (Subtitles) Auto select forced subtitles when not listening to foreign audio (#6126) (Web) Updated to 3.95.2 When transcoding for supported clients, automatically select media based on supported resolution and dynamic range (#9490) Fixes (Analysis) Chapters were not being imported for new media (#9843) (Dashboard) Respect user preferences for local / remote bandwidth (#9562) (Dashboard) Respect user preferences when showing streams as local / remote (#9562) (Metadata) Asking to refresh metadata still used cache for movies and TV shows (#1566) (Metadata) Related collections were not paginated (#9844)
Like
Version 1.15.4.994
RodgerW6021
24 April 2019
Version 1.15.4.993 New (DVR) Ability to give Home Users DVR access. (#8794) (Playback) Assume unknown audio to be foreign if the preferred audio language is not english (#6126) (Streaming Brain) Preference to allow automatically terminating playbacks which have been paused for an hour (#9700) (Subtitles) Auto select forced subtitles when not listening to foreign audio (#6126) (Web) Updated to 3.95.2 When transcoding for supported clients, automatically select media based on supported resolution and dynamic range (#9490) Fixes (Analysis) Chapters were not being imported for new media (#9843) (Dashboard) Respect user preferences for local / remote bandwidth (#9562) (Dashboard) Respect user preferences when showing streams as local / remote (#9562) (Metadata) Asking to refresh metadata still used cache for movies and TV shows (#1566) (Metadata) Related collections were not paginated (#9844)
Like (1)
Version 1.15.4.993
SimonAndrews5784
13 January 2019
not bad, but its too buggy I think.
Like
Version 1.14.1.5488
adamtheman17
04 October 2018
I been using plex for 2 years and yesterday my plex account got removed, so i contact support and they told me they can not tell me that type of information when i asked why i got removed, so i created a new account and not even 1 day i got removed again, what is funny the new account had only myself on it sharing the plex server and on facebook i still get no help, in the terms it says you can share it with the whole family but also plex can remove your account at any time for any reason. I was just sharing my desktop that had plex with family members and plex still today will not give me a answer........ I switch to emby and it does work better with playback then plex i would give emby a try forget about plex
Like
Version 1.13.8.5395
Macadanqc
02 September 2018
Excellente application pour visionner vos films et téléséries sur vos différents appareils connectés grâce au lecteur Plex Media Player qui y est associé. Configuration très aisée en explorant votre réseau et en sélectionnant les différents fichiers de vos vidéos.
Like
Version 1.13.5.5332
ashishcompuiting
20 July 2018
Streaming at its best
Like (1)
Version 1.13.4.5251
ashishcompuiting
20 July 2018
plex is best
Like (1)
Version 1.13.4.5251
Kobalt
11 June 2018
New version 1.13.2.5154 available now: https://downloads.plex.tv/plex-media-server/1.13.2.5154-fd05be322/PlexMediaServer-1.13.2.5154-fd05be322-OSX.zip
Like
Version 1.13.0.5023
Mcr
23 April 2018
Don't know why I waited so long to try Plex, i've only been using less than a year. I have the server running on a Late 2009 MacMini (core 2 duo) and it works fine, you don't need latest hardware or fastest CPU. It can handle 1920x1080 H264 in original quality with no transcoding. And this is reading off an external drive connected via Firewire 800. I've tried 4K and H265 but that's just a little too much for the ol' gal, but hey what a great use for a 10 year old Mac. Stream to iPads, iPhones, other Macs, Roku Stick, Roku 2. The Lifetime pass might seem expensive, but I recommend it. It's one time. If only streaming to Macs or Roku, you don't even need the pass.
Like (2)
Version 1.12.3
RavenNevermore
23 April 2018
This is great software. Been using it for years to stream my vast video library from my Early 2009 iMac to my Roku 2 and iPhone 8 Plus.
Like
Version 1.12.3
yazombie-1
10 December 2017
Attention: Plex prentends their apps work on many smart TVs. This is a lie. A lot of their smart TV apps haven't been updated in a while. LG's Plex client is more than a year old now, and can't reach their Cloud service due to insecure connexion. I would recommend strongly you don't waste your time with Plex if you plan to use with a smart TV.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.0
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
23 April 2018
That's LG's problem, not Plex.
Like (2)
yazombie-1
yazombie-1
23 April 2018
RavenNevermore below is absolutely right.
For some reason I can't seem to be able to edit my previous post ?️
Like (1)
Mcr
14 June 2017
For the life of me I can NOT get Plex to work on my home network to my Roku boxes (plural). I am not a noob; I understand about firewalls and subnets and so on. I've searched the forums and tried all the suggestions, etc. I"ve tried Plex server on macOS, Windows and Linux, and can not get my Roku boxes to connect. Windows Media Server works FINE, instantly recognized by Roku, but I'd rather run my media server from a second-hand MacMini under either macOS or Linux. This is my personal experience, YMMV. Roku says no client license is needed, everything I need is built in to the roku box and it SHOULD work.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.6
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
23 April 2018
You must have something set up wrong with your firewalls, etc. My old Roku 2 connects instantly over my home Wifi network, and I just set up a friend's new Roku Streaming Stick, and installed Plex on her MacBook Pro, and that connected right away. You have something overly complicated on your network.
Like
Mcr
Mcr
23 April 2018
@RavenNevermore
When I had posted this last year, I had just purchased my first Roku device and had installed Plex server for the first time; previously no experience with either. There was a pre-installed app called 'Roku Media Player' (RMP) on the Roku box, written by Roku, not Plex. it was/is supposed to be DLNA compatible, and my research had indicated Plex server was DLNA compliant, meaning that RMP should have been aware of the Roku server running on my Mac. That app didn't work, completely worthless; and that is what my previous comment was based on. after phone calls with Roku one support guy finally admitted that RMP had problems with Plex despite supposedly being compatible, at least on paper. Later on after learning a bit more about Roku and Plex and realizing there was an actual Plex app for Roku, I ditched the RMP and installed the Plex app for Roku; no problems at all since. A few grips about the Plex Roku app and integration with iTunes as you probably have run into (no shuffle, limit of 500 songs in playlist, etc) but for movies, I LOVE IT, much better than iTunes Home Sharing.
Like (1)
Krabbe
28 June 2016
What I loved about Plex, was it running under 10.6 Snow Leopard - because home media server is a common job for senior computer hardware.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0.2261
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
28 June 2016
There is always Linux if you want to repurpose an old computer. Plex is the same app and service no matter which platform it's on.

That's how i started getting used to Plex was putting it on a Linux based server. Then I moved it to the mac because the older computer doesn't have a strong enough CPU to handle blu-ray quality transcoding . It can only handle direct play when it comes to that high of quality video. Either way I finally decided to pay for a Plex Pass this month and find it has some really nice additional features.
Like (2)
Miner
11 October 2015
What I absolutely love about Plex, apart from the excellent functionality, is that it still runs under Snow Leopard, and that allows me to repurpose an old Mac Mini as a Media Centre. And free, too!
Like (7)
Version 0.9.12.13
benjitek
13 September 2015
Robust, 'just-works', and does most of what anyone needs without an available subscription purchase.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.12.11
gvantass
13 September 2015
The server is free, but if you want to stream to any other devices, you gotta pay for each platform Windows? $5 for the full app. iOS? $5 for the full app. Android? I am guessing $5 for the full app, too. Or, you can get monthly access to the apps with a $5/mo subscription ($40 yearly or $150 lifetime) The server is an easy setup, easy to browse, and looks good, but the nickel and dime is a pain in the ass.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.12.8
8 answer(s)
benjitek
benjitek
13 September 2015
You should take a little time to learn the features of the software.

You can stream to other devices without a monthly Plex Pass subscription. Any Plex Media Server on the same WiFi network is readily available.

Buying just the apps to connect to your home media involves just the player app purchases as needed. Invaluable app for those that take the time to learn how it works ;-)
Like (5)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
13 September 2015
When I start streaming from my Mac to my FireTV the video stops after one minute and a splash screen pops up, saying: "Until activated, playback from a Plex Media Server to this app will be limited to a minute...", and activation means to pay either $5 monthly or $150 one-time.

benjitek, if you know a way how to stream with Plex Media Server full movies from a Mac to a FireTV, please enlighten me! I don't think this is possible.
Like (1)
benjitek
benjitek
13 September 2015
@Neartheredrocks...

I have Plex Media Server on both my MacBook Pro and Microsoft Surface Pro2. I stream to a Roku 3, iPhone, the native Plex app on my Samsung TV and from my MBP or Surface Pro2. All of this serving and streaming without any issues, and no paid Plex Pass.

Sorry, don't have a Fire TV. More likely something to do with issues relating to your home network hardware and/or configuration. Or maybe contact Amazon support.
Like (1)
gvantass
gvantass
13 September 2015
@benjintek That's what I'm saying. The server is free, but the player costs per platform, so I have to buy at least 3 different apps, if I'm looking at things right: One for Windows 10, one for iOS, one for Android. I'm not seeing a way to allow multiple users on my network have their own access to the web interface without a "Plex Home" which is only part of the subscription package.

Am I missing something? I'm more than willing to take another look, but the pay to play is not made entirely clear at the outset.
Like (2)
benjitek
benjitek
13 September 2015
@Neartheredrocks You should probably just move on and find something else that works better for you. Thanks though for stopping by ;-)
Like
Ssj152
Ssj152
20 March 2016
New readers, Plex sells a "Plex Pass" for $5 USD / month that removes the client fees. Download the clients, login to your Plex account - from the client - and you a good to go. Internet data fees may apply, see your ISP.

As before, no fees for local (your network) use.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
18 April 2016
@gvantass, I have a free Plex account, and stream to my Roku (which came with the app), my iMac (which is the server), my son's MacBook (which is on the same wi-fi network), and my iPhone. I only paid for the iPhone app.

So either you ay $5 for each device (one time fee of $15 for three devices) or $40 a year for as many as you need. Sounds like a good deal either way.
Like (1)
Stassi
Stassi
18 April 2016
I also run this without Plex Pass. While I did pay $5 for my iPhone app, not only am I able to stream to my Roku for free, but I can also stream to my iPhone (and iPad - one purchase covered both) when I'm on vacation and away from my computer. The setup is in the Remote Access settings.

Although - I must admit - some of it is "about" the device. For example, my old LGtv had the Plex app for free. My new LGtv doesn't even have the Plex app available, the Roku access to my Plex is free, my Vizio tv has the Plex app, but wants $5 (that's not PLEX, that's Vizio), and my iDevices all did want me to pay for the app (but again, one purchase from the Apple App Store allows use on both my phone and ipad.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
06 September 2015
To call this "free" is a big piece of crap, especially in regards to the claim that it "seamlessly connects your Plex clients with all of your local and online media."

If you want to use this as a server from which you for example want to stream video files from your Mac to your (non-Apple TV) streaming box, you need to buy a $5 per month or $150 one-time subscription. For $150 I can also buy the new Apple TV and have this feature and much more included.

I guess this could be a four of five star application if Plex Inc. would be straight and forthcoming about the pricing but at it is it does not deserve more than one star.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.12.8
3 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
13 September 2015
That's was't a good reason to give one star I think.

It's the app's functionality that should be reviewed, not the pricing policy. Even if you don't like the pricing policy I don't see why that warrants a one star review.

I'd also like to add that I've been using Plex server for free for some time and have had good use for it. For example the iOS app Infuse can browse and stream (and even download videos to the device) from the free version of Plex. It's true that there are some features that costs (including their official apps) but I still think the free version is quite capable.

I'm considering getting the lifetime subscription by the way – I think it's that good.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
13 September 2015
It says in bold "Free" on top of the page and then in the first sentence of the description that it "seamlessly connects your Plex clients with all of your local and online media". Exactly that is not free, and for this deceptive attitude I think one star is quite favorable.
Like (4)
star-affinity
star-affinity
14 September 2015
I agree it could be mor clear that some parts of Plex costs money, but the server itself is still free and I'm able to connect and stream to my local devices without paying (although not using the official Plex apps). I still don't think that ”one start is quite favorabel” since the stars are supposed to represent the quality of the software.
Like
Libertyforall1776
16 October 2014
0.9.11.1 is out and required for Plex for Vizio HDTVs which is finally out! https://blog.plex.tv/2014/10/15/plex-vizio/
Like
Version 0.9.9.14
Jeff-H-
11 August 2014
After a couple year battle (mostly with myself BTW lol), Plex has won out over XBMC (for now anyway). The look of Plex and its functions like the Channels (plugins) work, unlike XBMC's plugins being largely non-functioning. The only problem is Plex' meta data keeps filling my small SSD drive pretty quickly. After installing Plex it's data quickly ate up a few GB's of space right away...normally not a big deal but I'm quickly running out of space. Other than that I'm very pleased with Plex. Does it also play DVD's as XBMC will?
Like
Version 0.9.9.14
2 answer(s)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
11 August 2014
I've got a dinky 60GB SSD BTW. Going to look into a larger one I guess. :)
Like
Macinman
Macinman
16 April 2015
I use Plex and for me, I've solved the space issue by putting together a dedicated media server which runs linux with 2 7200 rpm Drives 640 GB and 1TB dedicated to media. Depending on what you want to do you won't notice a speed difference if you're simply streaming to a TV or other form of streaming box..
Like
Paul-Jones
04 August 2014
love.
Like
Version 0.9.9.14
KWESTboogieNYC
01 August 2014
great app next to XBMC ....
Like
Version 0.9.9.13
cjred
19 June 2014
SUperb media software! i can watch my videos anywhere! add in plexpass and you are good to go!
Like
Version 0.9.9.12
Jazzyguy
18 March 2014
GREAT SOFTWARE!
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9.7
Jazzyguy
14 March 2014
SOMEONE doesn't like my rating of Plex Media Server. I'll just put it back!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.7
Jazzyguy
04 March 2014
UNBEATABLE in every way to watch Movies and Music on Mavericks.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.9.5
Badgerone
04 March 2014
The best way to watch lectures, documentaries, movies or anything else from online sources. Using with Roku. A bit of learning curve for getting some of preference settings correct. The best source of information is the Plex forums. Now, if only there was an easy solution for for controlling that highly variable loudness in movies...
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9.5
Jazzyguy
10 December 2013
This is the Best Music andMovie as well as multi-Entertainment player on OSX
Like (5)
Version 0.9.8.14
Philosopherdog
10 December 2013
Using it with nPlayer on iOS to stream from my Mac. This allows me to have ultimate control over video, audio, etc. streaming to iOS, such as variable playback speed! Simple to setup. I did get a kernel panic from this server. Hopefully this update fixes whatever caused that issue.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8.14
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
10 December 2013
Have you tried the Plex iOS app? It works great.
Like (1)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
11 December 2013
I have tried Plex for iOS. It's pretty nice. The reason I use nPlayer is because I love the swipe control and the ability to play videos at variable speed. Plex Server can be used with a lot of different player apps on iOS, which is what makes it so useful for my purposes.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
30 October 2013
A great app that needs no further acclimation. It is definitely a 5 star app.
Like (4)
Version 0.9.8.10
OSX-FTW!
30 October 2013
I use this about every day with my Roku. A match made in heaven. Thanks! It's a got a bit of a learning curve , especially if you want to get deeper into the thing and use non-listed channels and such. Channels break sometimes. But, they're community made and that's to be expected. Overall it's amazing.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8.10
RavenNevermore
30 October 2013
This is great software. Between Plex and my Roku/Netflix, I got rid of my monthly cable bill! :) This seamlessly streams video content from my Mac to my Roku, and also allows me to watch on my iPhone sitting on my deck, or to my Mac. The Media Manager is very handy. Every now and then it gets mixed up, but that has to do more with how the files were named and it's not hard to fix.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8.10
Surfpunk
07 September 2013
This is a nice server, easy to get running for my needs - streaming content from my mac to my PS3. Only annoying bug I've come across so far is when you pause a movie and resume it will stop completely. It seems the transcoding task (I was playing an mkv file to my PS3) will stop completely after a certain (short) time and the PS3 can't resume a now dead stream.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8.6
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
30 October 2013
Interesting. I haven't had that problem. Does that happen with every file that gets transcoded?
Like
Djefis
23 August 2013
Subscriptions are billed in advance on a monthly or yearly basis, depending on the plan you choose. Subscriptions are renewed automatically. The charges are non-refundable. If you cancel your subscription, you will not be charged again, and your subscription will last until the end of the billing period.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.8.4
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
07 September 2013
PlexPass, if that's what you mean by "subscription", is an optional service.
Like (2)
Djefis
23 August 2013
But is it really free?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8.4
1 answer(s)
Xanteen
Xanteen
09 September 2013
Yes. It's free. The subscription just gives you the ability to download and view content offline, access to some beta builds and support. The server isn't crippled in any way without a Plexpass. I have been using Plex for a couple of years and have only considered buying a Plexpass to show my support for the developers.
Like
Uniquepito
14 August 2013
Great media DLNA server for my LG Smart TV and it's free! The only one thing I couldn't figure out, is automatic subtitle download from opensubtitles.org. For some reason it's not working.
Like
Version 0.9.7.28
Graftonreed
16 April 2013
Plex is a beautiful thing! And now with myplex, I can even watch movies on my home media server while on the road. Myplex configures and updates my dynamic host IP, and finds the media server automatically. Coming across Plex is like discovering Plutonium by accident. Awesome!
Like (2)
Version 0.9.7.22
Holypoly
02 April 2013
Correct download link for 0.9.7.21 is here: http://plex.r.worldssl.net/PlexMediaServer/0.9.7.21.505-b453cbb/PlexMediaServer-0.9.7.21.505-b453cbb-OSX.dmg
Like
Version 0.9.7.21
10 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
08 September 2013
@Lee_Xiao So what you are pointing out in a most CRUDE way is that I am not allowed to complement an exceptional application.They are both exceptional. I use them both and pardon me aren't you being a little crude?
Like (1)
Lee-Xiao
Lee-Xiao
31 October 2013
@Jazzyguy I'm just saying you behave like an emo astrotufing spam bot. you don't like a dev you spam this site. You like and app you spam the site with 5 stars. How can we trust someone that behaves like that?
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
31 October 2013
@Lee_Xiao You need to see a Doctor and soon too!!
Like (1)
Lee-Xiao
Lee-Xiao
01 November 2013
@Jazzyguy Just saying. Truth hurts, huh? :-)
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
01 November 2013
Hey Comrade!! You better watch out I know your commissar comrade!
Like (1)
Lee-Xiao
Lee-Xiao
02 November 2013
@Jazzyguy < ~ There you go. You see how you behave? I point out a trait you have and it's ok for you to get personal and aggressive. It's good to disagree but you try to stifle others. I am just pointing out how worthless your "reviews" are. But I wonder if you don't work or do anything at all since I seem to catch you here during my breaks? Unemployed? Yougin? Troll the site all day? hmmm...
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
02 November 2013
I think you want -5.Shal lwe try for -5 Lee? What do you think COMRADE?
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
02 November 2013
Do you know what a MORON is in Commie China Lee? That is what you are. Please desist as your -signs on my on my comments and reviews are an exercise in futility. The head of Macupdate has a program that removes them. He knows about your endeavors..
Like (2)
G-money
G-money
02 November 2013
@Jazzyguy By all means let them remove it! It show what sleaze you folk all are and what total bunk this "smiles" and negatives are that show no bearing on the app being reviewed. You behavior is atrocious to the MU forum. Want a snapshot as it is now? I'l keep it and post it on BB's Cnt review site to show what a total fake all of this is. Want to push it? I'm ready COMRADE!
Like
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
02 November 2013
First of all you can't REMOVE a comment or review you have posted.You should be aware of that. As for the rest of the post this Lee has been religiously been giving me minus smiles on my posts continually and as I said religiously. He lives in Communist China which is neither here nor there cogent to the review or comments. I agree with you that the smiles have no bearing on the APPS and should be no longer used. But what is standing for reviews you can not change. I agree that my remarks have been steeped in anger out of rage because Lee has said him up as a decider and judge of what I reviewed.
Like (1)
craigkabis
01 April 2013
The skip 30 seconds/skip 10 minutes buttons working on iOS yet? They've been broken for months. You're killin' me!
Like
Version 0.9.7.19
Jazzyguy
13 March 2013
It works real good and it works consistently to bring my media together.It deserves 5 Stars!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7.17
1 answer(s)
Lee-Xiao
Lee-Xiao
08 September 2013
"The indisputable best for movies,media,music . There is nothing better than XBMC on 10.8.3" < ~ Your quote. . .just saying.^^
Like (4)
R33c3
23 February 2013
Nice program, the interface is lovely. Have tried 'Playback', but this is free and more features.
Like
Version 0.9.7.12
Libertyforall1776
31 January 2013
So which version of XBMC is this based-on?
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7.12
n9yty
15 January 2013
It would be awesome if they could implement some kind of option or filter to take 3D SBS content and stream it to 2D devices. ;) I understand you used to be able to do this with 3D SBS video files using VLC and a comb filter (?), but that would allow me to rip and store my 3D content for the TV (which can play it in either 3D or 2D) and use that same content on an iPad or other connected 2D device. Oh well, don't know how it would work, but here is hoping.
Like
Version 0.9.7.11
1 answer(s)
n9yty
n9yty
15 January 2013
Ooops. That would be a wall filter, not a comb filter. :)
Like
Stassi
14 January 2013
Easy to use. Lots of plugins (But, I NEED a good one for Ustream, somebody... please!). Works perfectly with my LG Smart TV! And the Price is right!!!!
Like
Version 0.9.7.10
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
15 January 2013
Hasn't been updated in ages, and I'm not sure that it works, but I stumbled across this while on the Plex forums http://forums.plexapp.com/index.php/topic/27968-new-plugin-ustreamtv/
Like (1)
Stassi
Stassi
13 March 2013
Thanks for that link (just saw your reply today). This is the one I'd been using, which does........ better than nothing. Biggest problem is that it won't list titles (and it's pretty unstable). I wish someone'd address this one, actively!
Like
OSX-FTW!
13 January 2013
Plex Media Server along with the Plex client on my Roku makes me a very happy boy! It works so well, I can hardly believe it.
Like (2)
Version 0.9.7.10
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
13 January 2013
Me too!
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
13 January 2013
0.9.7.10 is out...
Like (2)
Version 0.9.7.9
Jazzyguy
04 January 2013
THIS IS THE NEW VERSION AND IT IS GREAT!
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7.9
4 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
14 January 2013
Originally posted as a reply to a iPhoto Library Manager "review" on 13 Dec 2012: The current posting methods seem to easily encourage leaving ratings with little or no supportive value. I'd prefer if the posting default was changed from "Write a Review" (with rating) to "Write a Comment" (without rating), more accurately reflecting what most of the product feedback here actually is. Or, maybe better, merge the separate choices of Review or Comment posting into simply "Write a Comment/Review" with rating being optional. Another idea: To help reduce inflated ratings, multiple ratings for a product from the same user could be (and hopefully already are) averaged into a single rating used to calculate overall averages. That way, for example, repeating a dozen five-star ratings (for different versions) would only have the same influence as a single one instead of unfairly (IMO) skewing overall averages. Without knowing more about how overall ratings are calculated from individual ones we don't know the influence of repetitive ones (like Jazzyguy's). And Jazzyguy's rated reviews don't seem deceptive to me, only often redundantly simple and comment-like without more detailed review-like reasons for (re)ratings. Why a post like "… IT IS GREAT!" has to be a rated review instead of an unrated comment remains a mystery. :)
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
14 January 2013
@sjk I understand your comment but if I can find no bugs (that I can see INHO) and I find the app to be a great one (for me) why should I hesitate and just put in a comment and not a review expressing my opinion of the app. The rules are not that strict to hamper and frustrate a user's opinion. It is beneficial for a user to opine on an app instead of staving his opinion off. Just my feeling about it. Mac users are not used to stringent rules about their opinions. People like Mike-A are used to stringent rules as they live in a country that has them i.e.Communist China....um The peoples Republic Of China.
Like (1)
sjk
sjk
15 January 2013
Likely we disagree about review/comment/rating usage here. Maybe I'm wrong thinking a review usually implies including some explanation that helps clarify the corresponding (and currently non-optional) rating. Otherwise, there's the choice of leaving a comment (of any variety) without ratings or an uncommented rating (under the Ratings tab). It's sad seeing sites like Macworld increasingly posting product articles labeled as reviews (with or without ratings) that are nothing more than a few shallow, obvious comments. Comments with depth are sometimes worthy to be considered as reviews but reviews lacking depth are always merely comments. Seems Mike-A. has been banished.
Like (4)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
16 January 2013
@sjk I agree with you and I will try to expand my review as much as possible.If I like an app sometimes I do not wish to suppress my desire to give it 5 stars.In addition I usually have nothing germain to say but still want to give it 5 stars.As to Mike-A the less said the better.You are a very verbal and intelligent individual and somewhat very articulate and you can see that it is difficult for me to expand a review but I will try.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
04 December 2012
Excellent Software and Free. This software is convenient to use and very reliable. I use it every day and love it.
Like (3)
Version 0.9.7.7
Shock-J
20 November 2012
I really like this software. It's got the best interface of all the "media server" software out there. I use media server software primarily to stream movies to my PS3, which means this software has one glaring drawback for me... no 5.1 audio. I know that by "default" the PS3 only accepts 5.1 audio from disc media, so the fact that this software converts the stream to 2 channel stereo makes sense. BUT, and this is a big BUT, "PS3 Media Server" software has found away around this and streams MKVs with full 5.1/7.1 audio to my PS3 beautifully. Knowing this is now possible, all other media servers (who claim compatibility with the PS3) need to immediately jump on the bandwagon here. This is obviously a well crafted piece of software, but I simply can't use it because of this one failure. I'm not that keen on running 2 media servers at the same time, and since I primarily use it for streaming movies, PS3 Media Server currently serves my needs better. I will be keeping a close eye on this software hoping they get up to speed on streaming digital audio to the PS3, because as soon as they do, this will become my preferred software.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.7.3