Back to Mou page
Mou free download for Mac

Mou Reviews

0.8.7
19 October 2014

Markdown editor for Web developers (beta).

Moxiesozo
20 October 2011

Most helpful

How very sad the developer chose to remove support for Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. Instantly limits this app to a much smaller segment of the market.
Like (17)
Version 0.6.8

Read 30 Mou User Reviews

Rate this app:

Detlevski
24 November 2017
This basterd sold a lot of people a preorder for version 1 (http://25.io/mou/) and never delivered. Now this low life is selling version 1 on the MacStore. The guy is even too stupid to take the website http://25.io/mou/ offline.
Like
Version 0.8.7
4 answer(s)
Red-Herring
Red-Herring
02 January 2018
Since I also preordered v. 1.0, I wrote to him a couple of days ago. I will wait a couple of weeks before deciding what to do.

On AppleStore there are two applications of the same author (luo xiao): Mou v. 1.1.0 $6.99 and Markdown––Jane and Beautiful v. 1.1.2 $10.99. On the other hand, CEO of 24.io is Chen Luo. Not sure if it is the same person.
Like
Tekl
Tekl
08 January 2018
The App Store version is a rip-off.
Like
Red-Herring
Red-Herring
19 January 2018
I wrote to rosesummersky <rosesummersky@gmail.com> and received from them Apple Store redemption code, so I got Mou 1.1.1
However, I see no changes from "old" Mou, except that it works under High Sierra and two downgrades:
1) old Mou (in contrast to MacDown) understood not only ordered lists with numerical labels (html equivalent <ol>), but also with letter labels (<ol type="a">).
2) old Mou (in contrast to MacDown) understood -> .... <-
as centering
New Mou lost these features and it is no different from free MacDown

Disappointing!
Like
Dylan-Mc
Dylan-Mc
21 September 2018
It looks like the App store version is an unauthorized rip-off, and it also looks like his appeal to Apple was successful, because it's no longer there. I hope he releases his version sometime soon - it's been a long wait! (I donated $$ back in 2012!)
Like
anonymous-antlion-2835
12 November 2017
1.0 version in appstore, but nothing for preordered peoples Good Joob.

https://yadi.sk/i/XjSPFv6s3PdCWR
Like
Version 0.8.7
Red-Herring
22 September 2016
Bad news: does not work under Sierra. But may be it is a good news: the author will be forced to recompile it.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.7
1 answer(s)
Red-Herring
Red-Herring
25 September 2016
This is really unfortunate. Majority of Markdown applications either have serious shortcomings in comparison with Mou when handling mathematical snippets (MacDown) or cannot handle them at all. I sent email to the author of Mou asking him to update it
Like
Ptk3
25 July 2016
Mou was one of the first free markdown tool, promising to be good, with interesting features (as the double panel with markdown on a side and styled text on the other, both syncronised. But it doesn't evolve for months, and in the meantime lot of app come with the same features and more, some in a (beta and temporary) free mode (Typora, Macdown), some become paid (like Write, LightPaper…). There are too many markdown apps to stay quiet such a long time…
Like
Version 0.8.7
Reegor
12 March 2015
I'm very impressed! I spent $10 on Byword based on review, but this has live preview, lots of options about how it displays, and multiple tabs. BUT, does anyone know if it is still supported? The last update was October 2014, and the web site seems to be only half functioning.
Like
Version 0.8.7
1 answer(s)
anonymous-deer-2515
anonymous-deer-2515
29 April 2015
Mou's store link says: "We plan to ship Mou 1.0 in August 2015, sell at $30 each copy. Preorder now at 50% discount!"

Looks like an update/release is still planned. However, note that the release date moved from April 2015 to August 2015. ... and the planned release price has increased from $20 to $30.

Historic background.
... Mou was up for auction sale about a year ago.
... *No* suitable buyer was found.
... active Mou development resumed in July 2014.
... Indiegogo funds were successfully raised for Mou in Nov 2014.
... ... next to see what happens in August 2015.

Alternates to consider (with live Markup preview) would include "MacDown" and "Atom".
Like (1)
Akanico
02 January 2015
great little app with all the basics needed. note that while it's great this beta is free, the v1.0 is planned to be released in april 2015 and sold at $20. on the dev site, it can be preordered now at $10.
Like
Version 0.8.7
centzon
24 September 2014
Loads in a heatbeat, small and fast, and FREE. Four things would make it perfect--that's six stars :-) # internal file browser # "post to" offering arbitrary blogs defined in preferences/config file # export to LaTeX # export to audio THANK YOU, DEVELOPER(S)!!
Like
Version 0.8.5
Big-Mac-XXL
07 August 2014
WOW! What a great piece of software! Just discovered and already in love! That's how all software should be! Thanks a lot for Mou!
Like
Version 0.8.5
Filp
17 June 2014
It works, it's easy to use, it's free. What more can you want?
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5
Uncoy
13 April 2014
Absolutely brilliant and beautiful app. I use Mou for planning almost all my projects. Great for prepping notes for TeamworkPM, our project management tool. You can trust Mou not to crash (very important in a note taker/planner). Mou makes my life better. I too am using the Snow Leopard version.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5
rcrooks1969
21 September 2013
I've tried every markdown editor for Mac I can find, and Mou is simply the best -- supports the widest variety of markdown flavors (Github Flavored, Multimarkdown) and offers you some options like use spaces instead of tabs to indent that I couldn't find anywhere else. Superbly easy and pleasant to use.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5
Red-Herring
08 April 2013
This is an excellent piece of software and I use it to edit webpages and web lecture notes for classes I teach. For those who uses heavily mathematical formulae (using MathJax) I suggest to disable mathematics in Mou and instead load MathJax with their own custom options directly. I believe that synchronization (in the same manner as modern TeX front views implement; but I am not aware of any markdown editors with this capacity) would transform Mou from "excellent" into "great" application: command-clicking on some place in the text window would automatically bring into focus the corresponding place in the preview window and command-clicking on some place in the preview window would automatically bring into focus the corresponding place in the text window.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.3
bbw7
12 February 2013
Though it's not evident from the developer's site, the Snow-Leopard -supported version is still available at: http://mouapp.com/download/Mou_0.6.6.zip I wish developers would make their older versions' downloads evident on their web page, so one doesn't have to go on a circuitous google search to find it.
Like (4)
Version 0.8.2
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
31 October 2015
Thanks for pointing that out. I have such a version but it's great others can find it now.
Like
gatovadio
14 December 2012
I can't believe that now I launch it just to stare at it... standing there. What kind of sorcery is this??
Like (6)
Version 0.8.1
ecdltf
25 October 2012
Actually my prefered MMD editor. Thank You.
Like
Version 0.8.1
anonymous-gecko-4267
19 August 2012
Tumblr support, thank you!
Like
Version 0.7.3
gatovadio
16 May 2012
i'm no developer or writer but just recently learned the markdown basics to post on a forum. out of curiosity, i tried writing markdown in bbedit, nvalt, byword, ia writer and mou and they all fulfill my really basic editing needs. strangely, mou is the only app that gives me a warm feeling and puts a stupid smile on my face, while using it. it's like it's made of drugs or candy or something. i can't explain the lure. since i already use nvalt, i really don't need an extra app but... i just can't uninstall mou... the lure... too strong... must resist... before... it's too late...
Like (9)
Version 0.7.1
hushaohan
25 April 2012
the ability to float image would be awesome :)
Like (2)
Version 0.7.1
rinopo
16 April 2012
This app convinced me to learn Markdown. An option to show the HTML source instead of (or in addition to) the rendered preview would be nice for a Markdown beginner like me!
Like (2)
Version 0.7.1
1 answer(s)
rinopo
rinopo
04 May 2014
I've found that right clicking the preview pane and selecting "Inspect Element" will do the trick, or sort of.
Like
Ionos
07 April 2012
Great piece of software. Kudos to the author.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.1
Cgc
09 March 2012
Lion only kind of sucks but the icon is reminiscent of the original Starbucks logo (e.g. lady with legs agape).
Like (1)
Version 0.7.1
ImCr
29 December 2011
The option to send HTML to clipboard would be great.
Like
Version 0.7.0
2 answer(s)
Chenluo
Chenluo
30 December 2011
It's already possible. Use the menu "Actions" - "Copy HTML". In this way it will copy the HTML code to clipboard.
Like (3)
ImCr
ImCr
11 February 2012
Thanks. Good developer feedback as always.
Like (1)
hced
02 December 2011
Does anyone know how to permanently disable "Check Spelling While Typing"? I have turned off "spelling auto-correction" in System Preferences, but apparently this doesn't change anything in Mou.
Like
Version 0.7.0
1 answer(s)
Chenluo
Chenluo
07 December 2011
There'll be an option in preferences of Mou 0.7.1 to disable "Check Spelling While Typing".
Like (1)
Moxiesozo
20 October 2011
How very sad the developer chose to remove support for Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard. Instantly limits this app to a much smaller segment of the market.
Like (17)
Version 0.6.8
7 answer(s)
Flashmech
Flashmech
03 November 2011
Yup agreed. I would have love to use this on SL. :(
Like (3)
Ryde
Ryde
21 November 2011
Me three!
Like (1)
kpublik
kpublik
03 December 2011
Agreed. I'm not compelled to upgrade from SL to Lion anytime soon.
Like (2)
Iaian7
Iaian7
05 December 2011
Same here, would love to try it out but I'm not upgrading to Lion!
Like (1)
Chenluo
Chenluo
07 December 2011
Here's the old version that works on Snow Leopard: http://mouapp.com/download/Mou_0.6.6.zip For new version, some features are implemented using Lion API, so it requires Lion to run.
Like (14)
Ryde
Ryde
07 December 2011
Thank you, Chen!
Like (1)
Iaian7
Iaian7
09 December 2011
Thanks!
Like
myschizobuddy-1
11 October 2011
Can you add the ability of adding javascript file to the rendered html file. I would like to use Mathjax in it to render Math along with markdown.
Like (1)
Version 0.6.5
2 answer(s)
Chenluo
Chenluo
12 October 2011
Thanks for your suggestion!
Like (1)
Ralphbln
Ralphbln
03 August 2012
It's been a while, but +1. Or maybe you could make the HTML preview for the preview user editable, so that anyone who uses formulas can integrate MathJax by him/herself. Otherwise a very fine app :)
Like
Johane-senrik
03 October 2011
i recommend Mou. a quick markup tool, for brainstorming, and of course for serious developing. I love the app's balance of style and simplicity. it's just right. clean-cut, can't wait for the updates.
Like (5)
Version 0.6.2
Ythara
02 October 2011
Just to make it clear for everyone: it's free only because it's in beta. Once it reaches 1.0 it will become shareware.
Like (6)
Version 0.6.2
Drfrank
01 October 2011
I like Mou, a lot. It's a modern 64 bit Markdown app with a single window design, featuring very impressive syntax highlighting and live preview. Keyboard actions make easy Markdown writing even easier. Responsive author.
Like (2)
Version 0.6.0
1 answer(s)
Filp
Filp
17 June 2014
But it's worth only three and a half stars? I'd give it five and a half, if that were possible. (The extra half for the price.)
Like
Zlicka
01 October 2011
really cool, best one so far
Like (2)
Version 0.6.0
poobard
30 September 2011
Off to a great start.
Like (1)
Version 0.6.0