Back to QQ page
QQ free download for Mac

QQ Reviews

6.5.5
15 October 2019

Connect to the Chinese social network.

gravitime
24 April 2012

Most helpful

why you guys want to use qq so badly? qq is a product from a chinese company, the entire conversation on qq is being RECORDED, that means, every word you say on qq is under surveillance by crappy chinese government. DO NOT TRUST ANYTHING FROM CHINA!
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2

Read 22 QQ User Reviews

Rate this app:

tjzv
15 October 2019
Great surveillance technology out of the chinese government. Anybody using this should consider switching to xmpp apps like Monal or Beagle. Or use Signal or other encrypted chat solutions.
Like
Version 6.5.5
Nicke.Martin
28 November 2018
Not good shan_zhai_huo
Like
Version 6.5.1
1 answer(s)
tjzv
tjzv
15 October 2019
What does that mean? Why five stars? Can you share?
Like
Version 6.5.5
Calvin8931
25 August 2016
Most often used social software in China. But remains security issue for many years.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.1
1 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
01 November 2016
I'd say that QQ has overwhelmingly been supplanted by WeChat. Virtually all of my Chinese friends (and there are many) have completely transitioned to WeChat. This is true of Chinese people in China and those here in the USA.
Like
FengW2189
28 December 2013
A bloatware with so many useless fucktions. It starts several threads and keeps them running.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
darkwing52
16 May 2013
I have been a frequent QQ user for several years. I taught at a university in central China for a while, and have made many extended trips to China. I have QQ on my home and office computers, and my iPhone and iPad. The problem from a non-Chinese speaker point of view is that since version 2.2 they have not done the English language localization, so it is essentially impossible to use if you cannot read Chinese. It irritates me that the iOS version keeps pestering me to upgrade. I give it some stars for being feature-rich, and improving, but the language issue is a deal breaker for the rest of the world.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.0
2 answer(s)
gravitime
gravitime
28 December 2013
yeah I believe that would be an issue, but since you get used to the app, you don't need to read chinese to use it.
Like
anonymous-pig-3650
anonymous-pig-3650
28 January 2015
Hi there,

there is a QQ international Version
http://imqq.com/about-us/
Cheers
Like
bxc
06 July 2012
as a Chinese guy from mainland China,It's really funny to see u guys taiking about that IM software.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0
using-Mac
06 July 2012
I like QQ
Like (1)
Version 2.1.0
I-love-Apple
06 July 2012
Though as same as MSN, Skype. But QQ got more functions and more emoticons to express what you want to say, or what you are thinking about.right? So QQ is more attractive for me. Especially its logo penguin is very cute.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.0
1 answer(s)
Martin-J
Martin-J
08 July 2012
candies and toys. what about the user experience etc ? Skype as an excellent sound and video.
Like (1)
EudoraBryant
06 July 2012
QQ is very popular in china, and it works well in Windows. We can use MSN, Skype …rather than QQ for Mac.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.0
1 answer(s)
Jesuguru
Jesuguru
06 July 2012
Except when a ton of your new Chinese friends only use QQ and keep begging you to use it. When will it support audio/video like the Windows version?
Like (3)
gravitime
24 April 2012
why you guys want to use qq so badly? qq is a product from a chinese company, the entire conversation on qq is being RECORDED, that means, every word you say on qq is under surveillance by crappy chinese government. DO NOT TRUST ANYTHING FROM CHINA!
Like (4)
Version 2.0.2
6 answer(s)
Valdimar-Thor-H
Valdimar-Thor-H
24 April 2012
But dear Oasis. Same statment holds truth in the case of the US. CIA works round the clock on what you are doing on the internet. No secret.
Like (8)
Shidong
Shidong
24 April 2012
just look around, how many things around you are made in China? do not trust china? then throw your macs away. they are all made in China. qq makes contact easy. maybe all conversations are recorded, but i do not see any harm if you use it in a right way. for example, contact with your friends or family.
Like (4)
Yazarim
Yazarim
23 May 2012
I would add also my Adidas shoes, regularly made in China and working perfectly. But, Oasis, plz explain us: what harm came to you from this "crappy government"? Do you really think it is crappier than yours?
Like (2)
Elegraphy
Elegraphy
15 July 2012
SI.NO.PHOBIC: a common mental disorder of Westerners, most of them lives in United States of America, who also bought and enjoy Chinese made products everyday unknowningly, at the same time have uncontrollable hatred towards China, Chinese government, and the word "Made In China".
Like (1)
hwgray
hwgray
18 December 2012
@Elegraphy Americans are upset and angry because what is now "Made In China" used to be "Made In USA." But the Chinese are not to blame.
Like (1)
von-UK
von-UK
28 February 2014
Oasis, I would estimate the Chinese government are way behind the NSA on INVASION OF PRIVACY. Simple fact is that pretty much everything on the Internet is hackable or recordable, unless you are up to no good, then why worry. I have friends in China and QQ works much better than Skype for IM, Video calls & file sharing.
Like
Robby-is-on
08 February 2012
Some might be interested in the QQ plugin for Adium: http://www.adiumxtras.com/index.php?a=x ... ra_id=8226. It requires Adium 1.5 (http://beta.adium.im).
Like (1)
Version 1.4.0
8 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
08 February 2012
Oops, broken link. http://www.adiumxtras.com/index.php?a=xtras&xtra_id=8226 is the correct URL.
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
22 February 2012
the problem with qq is that it uses a very strict authentication method, which also involves the use of captcha. even with this plugin (or with other non-official ways like zoho online messenger) it will eventually make you change your password because there's a security issue, after so many logins. you can then resort to the page below but it's too much of an hassle. https://account.qq.com/cgi-bin/en/index
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
22 February 2012
there's also the official qq online client but it's a bit slow: http://web.qq.com/
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
22 February 2012
As far as I know, the author of the Adium plugin is working on a way to handle the captchas. :)
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
22 February 2012
well, that's good to know but the built-in qq protocol in adium already supported captchas until qq changed something in its protocol. now, that's the second problem, like apps such as jdownloader, devs have to keep with updating with every protocol change or eventually give up.
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
23 February 2012
Yes, it's a cat and mouse game with closed protocols. Adium 1.5 drops bundled QQ support. Instead we would suggest using the plugin which is being actively developed.
Like
gatovadio
gatovadio
23 February 2012
thanks robby, that's good news - as a plugin it can be updated independently from adium (i realized just now you must be robby from cocoaforge so kudos to you).
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
23 February 2012
Exactly! Wow, thanks a lot. :)
Like
dyxlesic
13 January 2012
I have been trying to use the English version of QQ for ages. Even with this update, I still cannot log into my THIRD new QQ account. Why so many QQ accounts? Because every time I try to log in with the latest id number and password, it says 'Incorrect Password.' I am certain of the password, but it does that every time with even old archived versions of QQ on my Mac. It also makes you enter a captcha image as an insult to injury too. The only recourse is to try to retrieve the password which has not been lost. Next, trying to retrieve the password proves futile, as the site now poses questions such as 'Name of Spouse' when I have never had a spouse, nor entered any security questions before. Clicking 'try another question', gives a combination of the same questions with 'Name of Spouse' in the mix. As such, I have to re-register. Anyone else have the same issues? N.B. Stars rating needless to say should be less than 0.
Like
Version 1.4.0
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
22 February 2012
i had the same hair-pulling issues until i set id protection: https://account.qq.com/cgi-bin/en/index if you try to login using a non-official client, it will eventually make you change your password again and get you back to those issues. even so, i eventually stopped using qq altogether.
Like
darkwing52
12 January 2012
I am quite pleased with this version. It is stable, and functional. I don't think I should mark it down because the Win version is better. I feel fortunate that there is a Mac version at all. This version has an English interface, which, as far as I can tell, is not possible on the current iOS version.
Like
Version 1.4.0
Zeitkind
23 December 2011
QQ 1.4 is out, with cross platform video. Beware, a Windows version on the other side must be also recent, otherwise video chats don't work.
Like
Version 1.3.0
William-Woo
08 October 2011
In PC version and Ipad version can draw on the image. Can we do it on the mac version ?
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Olc
Olc
03 March 2012
No.
Like
Thruth
20 September 2011
It functions like from 1990s. The win version is much better.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Olc
08 August 2011
Just installed 1.1.1 on SL 10.6.8. The interface is still as simple as previous version but it gets the job done. I haven't encountered any stability issues with this release, nor have I with previous version. It just works. Note that there is one important new feature in this release : webcam. This version can be downloaded from dev' website as well.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
14 September 2011
it's also the only way to connect to qq on a mac since adium qq support is broken for some time now.
Like
corallibra
02 March 2011
It always crash.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Ralph-Martin
21 February 2011
Fails to log in when I give the correct username and password.
Like
Version 1.0
xc8
20 January 2009
Can't use this client with local QQ server... It is only for China server...
Like
Version 1.0b1
Proposal
20 January 2009
terrible introduction
Like (1)
Version 1.0b1
Nstanosheck
01 January 2009
Not on par with the Linux or Windows versions yet, but there have been a LOT of improvements from the official TenCent QQ for Mac 1.0pre1 and this newest build. Finally we have access to more profile information changing and access to QQ mail and account features from the application.
Like (1)
Version 1.0pre3