Back to Mac Product Key Finder page
Mac Product Key Finder free download for Mac

Mac Product Key Finder Reviews

1.1.0.12
16 May 2019

Recover your lost product keys for Mac applications.

Most helpful

An optimist says the glass is half full, A pessimist says the glass is half empty, An Engineer says the glass is twice as big as it needed to be. The problem with this application isn't what it does, it's the large expectations that it can't fill. Getting license keys for applications isn't always a trivial task. Vendors typically don't publish where they are kept or how they are stored. And sometimes they even try to hide them for anti-piracy or other perceived threats. The writeup suggests that it will find license keys for 64 for of the zillions of Mac applications. The small percentage of applications that this program works on, it seems to work quite well. But because it is named "Mac Product Key Finder" we all expect it to find product key of most, or even all, programs. Maybe what is needed is a way to lower our expectations, so that the product nicely fills them.
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 18 Mac Product Key Finder User Reviews

Rate this app:

Maddogiam66
17 May 2019
Does what it is advertised to do. Did a scan and discovered some long lost licenses. Happy camper.
Like
Version 1.1.0.12
Derekcurrie
16 May 2019
Problematic Testing Results:
1) The developer says the demo version can find 69 serial numbers. So why does MU say "64"?
2) The app found only 7 serial numbers on my MacBook Pro. That's all. And...
3) Two of the serial numbers are NOT for the correct applications, but instead these two serial numbers are listed as being for an application I've never installed, never had a serial number.
4) One serial number is ancient and non-functional, for iWork 2009.
5) The only reason it got one application's serial number right is because I had typed it into a file name stored with that application.
6) It did find the correct serial numbers for my Mac and commonly attached iOS gear.

For finding my hardware serial numbers, it gets one star. Otherwise, I see no point in this software. It provided no useful software serial numbers. Not-a-one.
Like
Version 1.1.0.12
tswaty
24 October 2017
How do you get Mac Product Key Finder Pro into the apps on the iMac. Normally the option to drag the program into the apps is presented. Do I have to run the program from its install file?
Like
Version 1.1.0.9
willbaker13
28 July 2016
So, from reading this site the free version is supposed to provide a limited number of SN's, including Adobe. However, all it does is say the SN cannot be displayed in "demo" mode. Well, if I cannot even get what I am supposed to get with the free version why would I purchase anything else? VERY MISLEADING. Was hoping for better from this site.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.0.9
1 answer(s)
One Up Ltd.
One Up Ltd.
07 October 2016
Hello, please accept our apologies for so late response.
Anyway, we would like to explain, that Free and Professional versions of MPKF available.
Free version able to recover license keys from 69 installed and registered apps. Mac Product Key Finder Pro version supports more software titles and more useful features.
Free version still will retrieve full program license keys which are supported by Mac Product Key Finder.
Detailed description and comparison table available at our official website: https://mac-product-key-finder.com/

Best,
MPKFP Customer Assistance
Like (1)
superpsy06
03 May 2016
hello, i buy the spring bundle and i have a problem with the serial number. it is not recognized by the mac product key finder appli. i need help... thanks
Like
Version 1.1.0.9
1 answer(s)
One Up Ltd.
One Up Ltd.
07 October 2016
Hi, I'm sorry for such delay. I hope that this issue is resolved. If no, please contact our support team: https://mac-product-key-finder.com/contactus.html
Best regards,
One Up Ltd.
Like
Steinar-Helgesen
28 August 2015
The free version finds 3 codes, the Pro finds almost all codes, is this a play from the developer to pay for the Pro instead?
Like
Version 1.1.0.9
protagonistic
26 September 2013
I purchased the program on a recent promo as the price was right. When I installed it and ran it for the first time it crashed partway through the scan. I found out it was a happening only when doing a deep scan, which is the default, and emailed the developer. His response was very quick. Over the course of a few emails he sent me debug versions and I sent back the reports. The problem only occurred when scanning the plist file for my weather program, Seasonality. Seems that I was a member of a select group of 5 people having this problem. And not all people running the program had the problem. Today I received a new version to download which fixed the problem. I have to say it is rare these days to find this level of support. I know the dev put in a lot of time fixing a problem that was effecting a handful of users. I would rate support 5 stars. The program itself does the job it claims to do. It found 20 confirmed licenses and 92 possibles. I looked at the list and it appears that a number of the possibles are the correct codes. While that may not seem like a large number you have to realize that there is no real standard for how a program stores and checks the serial. The program is simple to use and is now completely stable. For this early a version, version 1, the program shows real promise and I hope to see the dev continue to improve on the list of found serial numbers.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
BrendaW5720
09 September 2013
This product works wonderfully in my Windows domain environment, and now bought Mac version. Works fast and well for all my apps it finds. Grate gob!
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
BrendaW5720
BrendaW5720
09 September 2013
sorry I meant different program)
Like
Observator19074
09 September 2013
Looks like it's the one and only free product key finder for Mac. I will agree with a comment below which says "Thank you for existing!" Pros. It works very well for Adobe softwares, including old versions of Photoshop. It also found product keys for Office 2008, Things and 1Password. I have only 2 more programs which it didn't recover product key for, but program specification never claimed it will. Cons. I wish it would support more programs (total number at the moment is 69 lol). This would probably require hell of a lot of work, as each software most likely is added manually by developer.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
MarkD7628
17 August 2013
Does not work on Office 2011, and they buried that fact. Kept my money, claimed I should have known. What a bunch of crooks! Don't waste your money since they can't be trusted to do the right thing. To top it off, in running the test version, it looked like it was looking at my Office 2011 (as far as an average user like me can see), so I think they are playing folks as suckers in promising what they do.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
MarkD7628
MarkD7628
19 August 2013
Update: So, after quite a bit of back an forth, they have agreed to refund the amount. It was clear that there was a way to have purchased the app and never having been pointed to the clearly stated issue on their home page. I hope they will fix this hole in the system. Now, I can only say that my rating would certainly be a 4-star just for their willingness to address the issue. As for how the app works, I really have no opinion since it did not get the one key I needed, but they do try to warn you it won't work with Office 2011.
Like (1)
BradMacPro
BradMacPro
27 August 2015
Do you trust this software, that after it collects all your serial numbers, that it doesn't forward them all to the developer to share with software pirates?
Like
ThankYouForExisting
29 January 2013
This product works GREAT. I read the reviews and was skeptical, but figured I'd give it a try, it took milliseconds and found my Adobe CS3 design studio serial number (WITH the final 4 digits that the in-product script withholds) -- so photoshop, indesign, flash, illustrator, they all work on my new computer and this free quick program saved me oodles of time and hassle with the Adobe people. Woot!
Like (2)
Version 1.0
An optimist says the glass is half full, A pessimist says the glass is half empty, An Engineer says the glass is twice as big as it needed to be. The problem with this application isn't what it does, it's the large expectations that it can't fill. Getting license keys for applications isn't always a trivial task. Vendors typically don't publish where they are kept or how they are stored. And sometimes they even try to hide them for anti-piracy or other perceived threats. The writeup suggests that it will find license keys for 64 for of the zillions of Mac applications. The small percentage of applications that this program works on, it seems to work quite well. But because it is named "Mac Product Key Finder" we all expect it to find product key of most, or even all, programs. Maybe what is needed is a way to lower our expectations, so that the product nicely fills them.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
07 June 2012
(A different spin on my prior post) The developer's web site asks us to suggest new applications and he will try to add them. But maybe a better solution would be giving the community of users the ability to add them. All of us together are likely to figure out more, than is just the developer. A good example of what I'm thinking of is the program "Secrets" (The Mac customization program, not the password storage program.) http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/27025/secrets Users can add new capabilities to this program via a web site. The Secrets preference pane then gets those updates. So if one of us figures out some formerly unknown option, once entered on the web site, we all can use it.
Like (1)
Robert-Thomson
03 November 2011
Excellent, works a treat. Retrieved my Adobe Creative Suite serial number :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
alex930492012
alex930492012
10 October 2017
One of the Best Product Key Finder Tools which I know are
1. ProduKey
2. SterJo Key Finder
3. Belarc Advisor
4. Free PC Audit 2.1
5. Magical Jelly Bean Keyfinder
source:- http://merabheja.com/free-product-key-finder-tools/
Like
Shoping
23 September 2011
Mac Product Key Finder 1.0 was awesome. I lost the key for Acrobat Professional 8 and Adobe was no help at all after spending 45 minutes chatting with customer service. I downloaded the free program, opened it and it automatically gave me the key to not only Acrobat but also MS Office, an iphone and a local server. It saved my life. Thanks!!
Like
Version 1.0
elyod72
05 July 2011
Don't waste your time. This app gave me only the serial for my Mac. It did not find ANY of the other apps that I have installed. I agree with an earlier comment that this app has a lot of possibility but for now it does not deliver.
Like
Version 1.0
Pneshati
16 December 2010
I saw the bad rating for Mac Product Key Finder, and thought, heck, I'll give it a try. Now, to let you know, I use a Mac with over a hundred licensed applications. Of all my shareware, it found half a dozen licenses. I believe that this program has lots of potential, but it also leaves a lot to be desired. The programs it found licenses for were Microsoft Office 2008, MacFamilyTree, CleanMyMac, Delicious Library, Parallels Desktop, and TextMate. I would really love to see the developer improve on this, and launch time is a bit slow. Also, perhaps a feature to export licenses to LicenseKeeper and 1Password would be nice.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Pneshati
Pneshati
25 December 2010
Since the last week, I've written an application in AppleScript which gets the serial numbers for lots of programs, ones which are much more popular and better known. I've inspected the source for this application, and they're working on a registration system for it. Also, upon inspection of the code, I learned that the developer's name is Chester. My open-source AppleScript alternative, which I may upload here, is and will be available on SourceForge at http://serialexcavator.sourceforge.net
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
15 December 2010
Works fine on my Mac Pro with OS X 10.6.5. Results are a bit limited and sometimes ambiguous, but it's a good start.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Freedman
15 December 2010
Crashes every time I try to open the file (running latest SNow Leopard on an Intel iMac).
Like (1)
Version 1.0