Back to LastPass page
LastPass free download for Mac

LastPass Reviews

4.4.0
12 March 2019

Online password manager and form filler.

Melman-Flink
09 June 2011

Most helpful

Why would I ever want to store my password information with an online service? I have a safety deposit box, multiple computers, not all of which are online and many offsite options to store them. If we have not learned already how porous web security models can be, I don't know that we ever will. In short, even the idea of storing any of my data "in the cloud" is one this luddite finds incredibly naive. YMMV
Like (13)
Version 1.73.0

Read 51 LastPass User Reviews

Rate this app:

ecjb
01 August 2019
LastPass is the best thing since sliced bread. ;-) Having all of my passwords on all of my devices and the ability to generate SECURE and different passwords for everywhere I visit has been the best thing for my online security. Visiting haveibeenpwned.com shows where beaches have occorred with my information in the past and LP makes it a snap to fix the result of those breaches. I recommend it to all of my customers. Having the passwords sync to mobile devices as well means you're never without your passwords without resorting to a) using the same password for every site and b) resorting to a list on paper (or in a spreadsheet) that quickly gets outdated.
Like
Version 4.4.0
Big Johnson
30 July 2018
I haven’t used the app but I just tried out the username generator on the website and it failed miserably. https://goo.gl/i8xhjz

Does everyone here find these difficult to say and read, or is it just me?

"Easy-to-say" 10 character names:
VERotRaBLe
TIeNiUmiTO
rEYEbeRGiN
ApHysEnTIG
OgRaNzARYP

"Easy-to-read" 10 character names:
mCKfFbzGVF
dpVvUdkkjT
XjFCycznaG
rtrQtqbZxp
kRBbhmeykk


If the app functions as poorly as the website then I’d avoid it.
I would say you can’t ask much for free, but there are many free, outstanding apps available which prove otherwise.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.0
Stevey-G
04 June 2018
this is the app i recommend the most. i subscribed when £12 per year but they are getting greedy now and charging £24 (hence 4 stars) so i won't subscribe. still very usable without subscribing though so thats why i still recommend this. the duplicates remover is basic but needs imporvement so that similar entries could be merged and you could choose what to keep or not. (knocks it down to 3.5 stars)
Like
Version 3.30.1
hondacbrlover
21 July 2017
Free and according MacWorld the best password manager. http://www.macworld.com/article/3207185/software/best-password-managers-reviews-and-buying-advice.html
Like (3)
Version 3.21.0
Jimw
31 March 2017
For all the feature, including storing password for applications, it costs $12 a year.
Like (1)
Version 3.19.2
SmurfTurf
19 June 2015
Again, storing your passwords on a server outside of your own network is in general a very stupid idea. To all users: LastPass hacked. Congrats! http://arstechnica.com/security/2015/06/hack-of-cloud-based-lastpass-exposes-encrypted-master-passwords/
Like (5)
Version 3.12
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
24 November 2015
Quote from the article you posted:

"In an e-mail to reporters, Ars resident password expert Jeremi Gosney said the real-world risks the breach posed to end users was minimal. He based his assessment on the LastPass response to the breach and the system that was in place when it happened. He paid particular attention to the 100,000-round hashing routine, which he said was among the strongest he has ever seen."
Like (3)
Tschigg
Tschigg
30 July 2016
Hmmm.

https://bugs.chromium.org/p/project-zero/issues/detail?id=884
Like (1)
Fishboy
21 May 2015
Why would anyone want to store their valuable passwords and information on an unknown webserver? It seems Last Past Premium requires a yearly subscription fee. 1Password may have this category "locked up", judging by its' popularity.
Like (5)
Version 3.11
3 answer(s)
stewartcarrick69
stewartcarrick69
28 February 2016
parrrraBoy
Like
Metalsmith
Metalsmith
23 August 2016
TO SAY NOTHING OF IT WORKING FLAWLESSLY. And their tech support is fast and effective (there was a missing command in a brand new release. The fixes for that and other bugs was released that weekend!)
Like (3)
ben-marko
ben-marko
21 July 2018
I agree. I don't really care how strong their encryption is. It's the perception of vulnerability that matters. Why can't I just store my database on my own Mac?
Like (1)
miketrin
19 May 2015
easy to use, checks for weak and duplicate passwords and for sites that need updates. works on all mobile devices, tablets.
Like (2)
Version 3.10
miketrin
19 May 2015
easy to use, checks for weak and duplicate passwords and for sites that need updates. works on all mobile devices, tablets.
Like (1)
Version 3.10
RougeCheese12
29 April 2015
Storing all your passwords online and for free? What a great idea - not.
Like (10)
Version 3.10
5 answer(s)
matleh
matleh
16 July 2015
OK, if I understand you correctly, charging money makes a service more secure?
Like
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
16 July 2015
I think "from RougeCheese12" is saying putting passwords into an online site is shady to say the least - and I agree.

Get a real password management solution like 1Password.

Don
Like (2)
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
13 November 2015
@matleh
you really think those thousands of hours many programmers where spending on a software like LastPass are just given away free?
Nothing is free!
Like (1)
bryan-dobson
bryan-dobson
04 May 2016
Yes, 1Password and then like most people sync all your passwords through Dropbox... Not much better.
Like (1)
Stevey-G
Stevey-G
04 June 2018
doesn't apple do this with keychain passwords in icloud!? hello!?
Like (1)
Chaloots
09 February 2015
Stellar app, one I've had installed and rely on on a daily basis. One minor annoyance though: despite the browser used in OS X Mavericks, each and every attempt to update via its built-in Tools/Advanced Tools/Check for Updates has been unsuccessful. I just tried it in Safari 7, with no luck. According to LastPass' "About" I've got Version 3.1.89 currently running. Anybody else having a similar issue and if so, how have you resolved it?
Like
Version 3.7
Xenos
09 February 2015
the link to the extension download is dead as of feb 9th
Like
Version 3.7
Nontroppo
22 January 2015
The native app is quite buggy (downloaded from MAS), I'd wait a couple of builds before trying it. I still think Lastpass is the best solution IMO overall...
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Dmitriusa
21 January 2015
link is dead
Like
Version 3.2
tfigs
30 November 2014
The best password manager. I have been using it for the past 4 years with no problems. The Safari extension is there when you need it. The Premium version syncs seamlessly with iOS 8 and is well worth the $12. It has made me change my habits of using the same password for all accounts and now I use complex secure passwords and LastPass remembers them for me. I did try 1Password for a month. It is a better looking app and that I why I gave it a try. But the price simply too much and it is not web based so it is not always there when I need it.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.69
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
30 November 2014
One must be out of his mind, storing his password on a webserver of a company you don't know. There are free open source alternatives like keepassx or paid software that doesn't store your passwords online.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.69
2 answer(s)
jbslemmer
jbslemmer
19 January 2015
Your comment is inappropriate and should be disregarded or removed by the admin, since it is a commentary on this entire class of app, not specific to this app.
Like
Blodwyn
Blodwyn
22 January 2015
>jbslemmer

Not true. 1Password stores its encrypted database on your system, NOT on a server. Of course, if you elect to store it in a Dropbox folder, and/or sync it with a mobile device other than by a wifi connection then it's going through a server somewhere, with all the risks associated with that. But you can choose to run it with its database held only on your system if you want.
Like (1)
Namadany
29 November 2014
I have been using this for years and I find this and Xmarks (for bookmarks) great applications
Like (2)
Version 3.1.69
Greglux
23 November 2014
I initially wanted to buy 1password because I like good-looking app. But then I realized that 1password is - in my opinion - way too expensive. You have to buy it multiple times if you use different hardware (mac, pc, android, iOS etc) and upgrades to new versions seem pricey too. So I decided to give Lastpass a try. And I have too say that I'm very pleased. It works great. It's extremely cheap, it works on all devices, etc. Also like the multiple ways to add extra security (e.g. grid authentification). Go download it, you won't regret it!
Like (3)
Version 3.1.51
Mikael-B
13 November 2014
Lastpass works well if you turn off Keychain for the web. I use both however, so sometimes they get in the way of each other. On iOS you have to use the Lastpass browser, which is basically a wrapper for Safari/Webkit. That works fine for me. Lastpass really simplified my life, but I'd like to see some improvements with - Auto-login that should be able to notice I just logged out. I certainly don't want to log in again. - Lastpass should pick up the user name from the form when generating passwords. Usually I have to go to add this. That's not right. - It should make a better job when your password isn't accepted and you have to make a new one. 2 star off for those important functions.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.51
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
13 November 2014
I meant "I have to go the the vault to add the user name" far too often.

I also want to add that Lass pass should be better at handling popup login forms. Sometimes it just won't show up and stay in view for those.
Like
RogerKatz
07 October 2014
LastPass is simply well-featured and an absolute pleasure to use.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.51
Robio
02 October 2014
Tried really had to make LastPass work for me, but it's entirely too complicated, and often wouldn't remember my passwords. Got lots of help from their helpdesk, but even they don't seem to know where to find various settings. Was hoping for a simple password manager to share with the family, but I work in QA and even I couldn't get my head around it.
Like
Version 3.1.51
RoodAwakening
13 August 2014
I've tried most of the ones listed as alternatives and none of them approach the "goodness" of Lastpass. 1Password, in particular, is grossly overrated, with none of the multi-authentication options that have been available to Lastpass users for years. I integrate Lastpass with two different authentications--YubiKey and the (awesome) Duo Security--and they work flawlessly. 1Password? Nope. It offers neither. In addition, Lastpass' security check provides a wealth of information, including checks against databases known to have been hacked. 1Password? It offers a cute login screen with a vault that opens. If Disney-like animation is your thing, fine, but Lastpass is THE solution for expert users, not just mom and dad worrying about their Apple ID. Note: I am NOT an employee, representative nor do I have any connection--public or private--to Lastpass. I'm simply a user.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.51
Jimw
11 August 2014
The developer should note that the free version has a reduced feature set and that the full version costs $12.00 a year for the 'premium version and more for the enterprise edition.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.50
Tomeg
23 July 2014
Unfortunately, I use Mac Chrome Browser mostly, Safari only occasionally. When LastPass comes out for Chrome (if ever) I will try. What is the point of having a password management software that only supports one browser, when most users, like myself, use multiple browsers depending on need?
Like
Version 3.1.45
4 answer(s)
Jacques-971
Jacques-971
23 July 2014
LastPass exists for Google Chrome, and for Chromium too. Simply search for it in the Chrome Web Store : https://chrome.google.com/webstore/category/apps
Like (1)
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
14 August 2014
As far as I know, there is a version for all the main browsers and some not so well known browsers.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
13 November 2014
I've been using Lastpass in Safari, Chrome and other supported browsers on Mac since more than a year.
Like (1)
Tomeg
Tomeg
13 November 2014
Thanks, all! I have since investigated and followed up on your suggestions. I'm satisfied now, as far as availability is concerned.

But, when it comes down to ease of use, 1Password works well if not perfectly in all my browsers, save for iCab- in which case I lookup in the 1Password main app or the mini app. It's not perfect but I find it easier and less confusing than LastPass. But, then, I've been a 1Password user since mid-2007, so I guess there is a kind of mismatch betw. the two concepts. I can give LastPass a good but tentative rating for those who are interested in giving LP a trial.
Like
Palmharbor
21 May 2014
One day it works on a site, the next day it doesn't...your "vault" of passwords is big one day and small the next. This application is just what you pay for it...zero
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
gtrsteve
gtrsteve
14 August 2014
You must have something set up incorrectly. Check your settings and see what they do.
Like
Nontroppo
18 February 2014
After having trialled several password managers (1Password, Locko, Dashlane, KeepassX and Lastpass), Lastpass provides by far the best experience and the most features across multiple OSes (I use OS X, iOS, Android and occasionally Windows and Linux) and devices in my opinion. Dashlane got excluded early on for its poor browser support. Nicely designed website though! Keepass(X) was incredibly clunky across different OSes. Not for me. Locko was still too new to have a robust featureset and cross-device support, but had a great UI for OS X and good pricing. 1Password (1P) is obviously popular among OS X users, and I think Agilebits seem responsive and helpful developers. The problems for 1P for me were the very poor authentication options compared to Lastpass (which has extensive multifactor, one-time use, grid and other authenication options), very basic browser integration and an IMO really excessive pricing scheme (across devices and updates). Lastpass is obviously less polished UI-wise than the native mamagers like Locko and 1P on OS X. but its browser integration is far superior and that is really where I use 98% of my passwords (as I suspect many others). I love options like grid authentication, one-time passwords and other great lastpass features. And the pricing is *much* more reasonable than most of the other options (especially 1P) considering the better functionality for my needs. As a premium user, I've always had prompt responses to my service requests. Lastpass are starting to build (in beta) a cloud storage option outside the US to alleviate some of the US cloud-based concerns, although do remember that all data is a heavily encrypted blob, and data privacy is a global not local issue. Also read http://blog.lastpass.com/2013/09/lastpass-and-nsa-controversy.html
Like (5)
Version 3.0.23
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1301
anonymous-heron-1301
09 April 2015
It's a pleasure to read such a well-thought-out review. Thanks.
Like
Nontroppo
18 February 2014
The chrome version is at 3.1.1 by the way: https://lastpass.com/upgrade.php?fromwebsite=1&releasenotes=1
Like
Version 3.0.3
Nontroppo
18 February 2014
After having trialled several password managers (1Password, Locko, Dashlane, KeepassX and Lastpass), Lastpass provides by far the best experience and the most features across multiple OSes (I use OS X, iOS, Android and occasionally Windows and Linux) and devices in my opinion. Dashlane got excluded early on for its poor browser support. Nicely designed website though! Keepass(X) was incredibly clunky across different OSes. Not for me. Locko was still too new to have a robust featureset and cross-device support, but had a great UI for OS X and good pricing. 1Password (1P) is obviously popular among OS X users, and I think Agilebits seem responsive and helpful developers. The problems for 1P for me were the very poor authentication options compared to Lastpass (which has extensive multifactor, one-time use, grid and other authenication options), very basic browser integration and an IMO really excessive pricing scheme (across devices and updates). Lastpass is obviously less polished UI-wise than the native mamagers like Locko and 1P on OS X. but its browser integration is far superior and that is really where I use 98% of my passwords (as I suspect many others). I love options like grid authentication, one-time passwords and other great lastpass features. And the pricing is *much* more reasonable than most of the other options (especially 1P) considering the better functionality for my needs. As a premium user, I've always had prompt responses to my service requests. Lastpass are starting to build (in beta) a cloud storage option outside the US to alleviate some of the US cloud-based concerns, although do remember that all data is a heavily encrypted blob, and data privacy is a global not local issue. Also read http://blog.lastpass.com/2013/09/lastpass-and-nsa-controversy.html
Like
Version 3.0.3
Nontroppo
18 February 2014
After having trialled several password managers (1Password, Locko, Dashlane, KeepassX and Lastpass), Lastpass provides by far the best experience and the most features across multiple OSes (I use OS X, iOS, Android and occasionally Windows and Linux) and devices in my opinion. Dashlane got excluded early on for its poor browser support. Nicely designed website though! Keepass(X) was incredibly clunky across different OSes. Not for me. Locko was still too new to have a robust featureset and cross-device support, but had a great UI for OS X and good pricing. 1Password (1P) is obviously popular among OS X users, and I think Agilebits seem responsive and helpful developers. The problems for 1P for me were the very poor authentication options compared to Lastpass (which has extensive multifactor, one-time use, grid and other authenication options), very basic browser integration and an IMO really excessive pricing scheme (across devices and updates). Lastpass is obviously less polished UI-wise than the native mamagers like Locko and 1P on OS X. but its browser integration is far superior and that is really where I use 98% of my passwords (as I suspect many others). I love options like grid authentication, one-time passwords and other great lastpass features. And the pricing is *much* more reasonable than most of the other options (especially 1P) considering the better functionality for my needs. As a premium user, I've always had prompt responses to my service requests. Lastpass are starting to build (in beta) a cloud storage option outside the US to alleviate some of the US cloud-based concerns, although do remember that all data is a heavily encrypted blob, and data privacy is a global not local issue. Also read http://blog.lastpass.com/2013/09/lastpass-and-nsa-controversy.html
Like
Version 3.0.23
SegN3rd
07 November 2013
I don't really like that it says "Free everywhere with no catches," but then it says you have to upgrade to the paid service if you want to use it with mobile devices. It does say free "on all your COMPUTERS," so it's not false advertising. My point is just that syncing with mobile devices is the only type of syncing most users want. Although I appreciate their decision to be honest and upfront about it, saying "Free for everything (except the one thing you want)" means this has no obvious advantages over Dashlane.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.3
Mrtomato
07 November 2013
This is more of a review of Lastpass generally, not just the Firefox plugin. Palmharbor's review is immensely unfair. Lastpass works as it should almost all of the time and if a bug does arise, the developers are quick to respond. As a password locker, Lastpass is as good as, if not a bit better than, 1Password. It saves site login information, generates secure passwords etc. This information, however, is stored on a remote server (encrypted) rather than in Dropbox or the like. Theoretically, this is more secure because if someone were to access your computer, the actual database would be inaccessible. Of course, there are plenty of counter-arguments to this. Lastpass does have some drawbacks, however. The interface, wallet (for storing serial numbers for example), and desktop client are all quite poor, seemingly designed by engineers and not designers. The new interface for Lastpass plugins and mobile apps is a bit of an improvement, especially the plugin for Firefox. It annoyed me no end that I couldn't search for a site with the old Firefox plugin. If I needed to search, I had to open the Vault. Not so anymore. Still, the plugin is quite busy. The Safari plugin, however, is good. They've moved a lot of the menu items you see in the Firefox version to unobtrusive icons. They could certainly stand to learn something from the Safari plugin! The Chrome plugin, by the way, is similar to the Firefox plugin. I have had problems with the Chrome plugin for ages though. Sometimes it will not open, for example. I decided to blame Chrome for this though. It's a browser that just can't get its act together! I mentioned that the wallet is poor. This is actually due to the horrible design of the desktop app. The desktop app, Pocket, looks like it was designed for Windows 95, with hideous and small little icons for navigation and little yellow folders to signal various categories. Unlike 1Password, you won't find individual icons for each app and you can't easily preview information about each app. For some, I'm sure this isn't a big deal, but for me I decided not to renew my Lastpass subscription because of it. I've been waiting instead for 1Password to update their Android app. Which reminds me: Lastpass is $12 a year for a subscription. Pretty reasonable if you ask me. Also, Lastpass works well on Android. Extremely well in fact. The Android app includes a keyboard that will allow you to input login information etc directly into the app, no messing about going back and forth between apps. This is the big draw of Lastpass for me. 1Password's Android app is pathetic, but to be fair, most password lockers' Android apps are pathetic. Not so for Lastpass...
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
07 November 2013
My first thought was that storing all my passwords online was a security risk. After thinking about it, though, most of my passwords are already stored online - though not in one location. But some of them are also in one location in my web browser. The question then is whether cloud storage is more or less secure than local storage. If you use a laptop anywhere but in your home the answer is probably that it's a crap shoot either way. The real difference is that if a thief gets access to your computer he will be able to steal personal information for one person. If a their gets access to an online service - as recently happened to Adobe - they can scoop up personal information on thousands and even millions of people. My biggest concern about FastPass for Safari is how can they offer the service for free? If you accept the premise that you get what you pay for, how much can LastPass really be worth? If the service is free, how long will the company be around? If they have a way to make money and thus stay in business, they should disclose that up front.
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
18 February 2014
Lastpass is a very well established company, they offer a paid premium service which is $12 per year which is how they pay their staff. Regarding the lastpass cloud, I'd rather trust Lastpass which uses best-in-class encryption on the whole binary blob than a shared password for lots of websites who often don't even store passwords and other data encrypted in their own servers... See https://www.grc.com/sn/sn-256.htm for a more in-depth security evaluation from Steve gibson.
Like
Eric-Caldwell
07 November 2013
Well, after the 3.0 release, its time to say goodbye to lastpass. Lastpass thinks the pop out from the userid or password field is a good thing. It's totally intrusive and there is no way to turn that off! How crazy of them to think that everyone would want that feature and provide no way of turning that off.
Like
Version 2.0.21
Big Johnson
07 November 2013
Great screenshot! Nice to see one that's large enough to actually make the text legible. The video links above should be removed or fixed - the videos are "unavailable."
Like
Version 2.0.21
dalesorel
02 November 2013
This is a really awesome password manager for Safari. It remembers every single password I enter, and then automatically fills them in when needed. What a great program, especially as it's free!
Like
Version 2.0.21
Palmharbor
26 February 2013
unreliable at best. YOu must keep a second record of all your usernames and passwords. If you have to re-install Firefox it will delete your passwords. This app is worth just what you pay...ZERO When it works it is not consistent ...some days it works other days it does not. You manually write in a site with UN and Pass and it doesn't work...its supposed to ask at each URL where U must create a user and pass but often it doesn't bother
Like
Version 2.0.0
zaydon
09 February 2013
been using this for three years. i saw 1password was on sale and i gave it a try. amazing that people are willing to store their passwords on dropbox for syncing. anyways, this is dead simple product with two different two factor security options. when you go to a remote machine you won't be locked out of your accounts.
Like
Version 2.0.21
2 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
07 November 2013
And what does an encrypted file in DropBox mean? Just because it uses DropBox for syncing doesn't mean it's not secure! 1Password is a whole lot more than LastPass.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
07 November 2013
And you can access all of the contents of your 1Password database from any computer, even without 1Password installed. It's in the instructions on how to do this.
Like
MisterE
20 November 2012
Best in it's class!
Like
Version 2.0.7
frankmrod
09 July 2012
I try to download LastPass plugin for Chrome but you send LastPass for Safari - Screw what browser I'm using - If I went to the Chrome browser page would you detect that I'm using Safari and send me the latest version of Safari instead --- I'm on the Chrome page so I want the Chrome plugin
Like
Version 2.0.7
THEE:LEE
02 May 2012
LOVE this, please make a Roccat version and you'll get 5 stars :)
Like
Version 1.90.5
Eric-Pangilinan
23 April 2012
LastPass is so easy to use. Been using for 2 years now.
Like
Version 1.90.5
Web-Jive
22 October 2011
After migrating from 1Password, I have to say thanks for this great password product. 1Password is always late supporting beta browsers and made BIG changes with the software to be listed on the Apple App Store. 1Password actually had to remove some long time features to get the listing so, I decided it was time to move on after 2 plus years of using 1Password. One feature I have been requesting for over 12 months is for 1Password to auto-fill the form but not submit it. @Fail even today on that request whereas LastPass has it now. Where LastPass shines is it works with every version of every browser I have tested. Since we develop websites, we're always testing the new releases to see what might break. 1Password in my experience is late to the beta game and it's inconsistent across browsers. Where LastPass needs to improve is with the browser and online interfaces. It needs more polish like 1Password. Once they get that licked, I think 1Password will need to continue to look over their shoulders. As far as the security questions some have with LastPass being a cloud app? Please, you already store you passwords on way less websites so your no more likely to have your passwords compromised than with LastPass.
Like (4)
Version 1.74.0
4 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
09 July 2012
Um, under LOGIN SETTINGS in 1Password, you can turn off the auto-submit of entries, so all it does it fill in the info and you need to manually submit the entry.
Like (10)
Wanderer
Wanderer
09 February 2013
Web-Jive you're an idiot comparing 1Password with any password manager out there let alone this one. A feature you've been requesting for twelve months? "For 1Password to auto-fill the form but not submit it"??? That feature has been there since day one my friend. Nothing out there comes close to 1Password, especially if you have multiple devices. MacUpdate should impose an intelligence test before people are allowed to comment here.
Like (1)
Eric-Caldwell
Eric-Caldwell
09 February 2013
Wanderer, I think you misplaced that explicative. You should save that for you! 1Password has NOT had that since day one because we had been using 1Password since the software started. We tried to put up with the move from a Safari plugin to their JS version they have now. The client embedded in Safari had much richer features but, they wanted to move to a JS based client to keep parity across browsers. That hurt their ability to have a rich Mac experience as a tradeoff for multi-browser compatibility. So, please get your facts straight before calling people idiots. Doesn't make you look good.
Like (3)
Uncoy
Uncoy
29 November 2013
I hate the new 1password as well. 1password has been going downhill since they removed support from Camino (good have kept it going passively) and Fluid. I have to run all kinds of weird versions just to keep it running. LastPass has been less of a pain in the backside.
Like
Melman-Flink
09 June 2011
Why would I ever want to store my password information with an online service? I have a safety deposit box, multiple computers, not all of which are online and many offsite options to store them. If we have not learned already how porous web security models can be, I don't know that we ever will. In short, even the idea of storing any of my data "in the cloud" is one this luddite finds incredibly naive. YMMV
Like (13)
Version 1.73.0
3 answer(s)
alas!
alas!
06 August 2011
"...the idea of storing any of my data "in the cloud" is one this luddite finds incredibly naive". ++++++ I don't feel at all comfortable storing any of my privileged data "in the cloud" either. However, I don't think that you can accurately characterize yourself as a Luddite since you ARE using computers and the internet. A true Luddite would give computers and the internet a wide berth, no?
Like (1)
Wanderer
Wanderer
09 February 2013
I'm tired of people saying how unsafe the cloud is. I bet you I can break into your house much easier than hacking the cloud. Even if I did manage to crack the cloud, what are the chances of me finding your specific details among the millions out there? And even if I did stumble upon it, what are my chances of cracking the encryption? Nonsense.
Like (2)
Uncoy
Uncoy
29 November 2013
LastPass is an American company and therefore after the latest Snowden revelations one has to conclude that the data is vulnerable and the NSA at least has a backdoor into your account (or that the keys are vulnerable to brute force in a clean room environment). LastPass can claim reasonable doubt if they only pass on encrypted data to the NSA which the NSA has to crack themselves without the constraints of limited tries per minute.
Like (1)
Whitebuck
09 June 2011
Not Safe!!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.73.0
5 answer(s)
Robk
Robk
14 June 2011
@Whitebuck - Well your statement is NOT really TRUE. LastPass is as safe as your Master Password. The LastPass database of passwords is encrypted on your Mac / PC BEFORE it is sent to LastPass. Not even LastPass can read your passwords. But of course, if LastPass gets hacked and someone steals this encrypted database, the hackers could get decrypt it and steal your passwords if you used a WEAK Master Password. LastPass is constantly trying to improve its product from hackers. But if you only want to log on to websites etc using Macs or PCs that you own and control (ie NOT using Macs / PCs in public libraries etc), then I would recommend KeePassX or 1Password. Both KeePassX and 1Password store your database of passwords in an encrypted form on your Mac or PC. (No need to worry about your database of passwords being stolen from a central website (unless your use Dropbox for syncing). If you want to be able to log into websites using ANY Mac / PC (even the Macs/PCs in public places like public libraries), LastPass is a great solution but I prefer SuperGenPass. Nothing is EVER sent to a central website. SuperGenPass is easy to use and is free. See http://supergenpass.com/
Like (5)
MisterE
MisterE
19 July 2011
Thanks Robk. SuperGenPass is exactly what I was looking for.
Like
Cgc
Cgc
06 August 2011
A couple months ago LastPass reported suspected data exfiltration. Never heard what came of it but they acted very quickly. I used LastPass to store non critical passwords (e.g. everything except financial, billing, banking, investing, etc.) but have since moved to 1Password which stores everything locally. LastPass's response to the potential data breach was exceptional though online data is never as safe as offline data.
Like (3)
Whitebuck
Whitebuck
06 August 2011
1Password all the way. 5 star Password Manager and support. Fact! Only a fool would trust the "cloud" for any reason of use, period....... Stop consuming their profit driven propaganda! Wake up sheeple.
Like (2)
Robackja
Robackja
06 August 2011
Why would you store your important passwords anywhere but your brain? Storing them anywhere else has at least some amount of risk. I use LastPass (with Firefox) for forums passwords or dumb websites that require you to login to download updates, etc. I don't care what happens to those sites or that password.
Like (3)
Jeff-H-
06 May 2011
LastPass was a pretty cool thing until a few days ago when it started to act very sketchy. It constantly was asking for my password saying that it encountered an error logging in. I think my database may have gotten corrupted. I will continue to use it on iPad/iPhone, but 1Password on my Macs!
Like (2)
Version 1.70.0
2 answer(s)
Wanderer
Wanderer
09 February 2013
"I will continue to use LastPass on iPad/iPhone, but 1Password on my Macs! " The beauty of 1Password is that it can sync among all of your devices, why use two utilities? That defeats the purpose.
Like (1)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
12 February 2013
Yes Wanderer, I have long since ditched LastPass...1 Pass all the way!
Like (1)
Jolly-joker
09 December 2010
Great plug-in for a browser! Check also the application "LastPass Pocket" (http://helpdesk.lastpass.com/lastpass-pocket/) It's an application that allow you to carry your LastPass data around with you. Pocket essentially provides backup capability and offline access for your Vault. "LastPass plug-in" + "LastPass Pocket" = all that you need (no other applications, like 1Password, and it's more efficient). The only thing that I hope for the future is a better interface with favicon for "LastPass Pocket" and the possibility to edit the database directly from the application.
Like (4)
Version 1.70.0
Limestone
29 September 2010
I've come to like this software a lot after using it for a while. At first I was skeptical of storing my passwords online. But after listening to the Security Now podcast episode about Lastpass ( www.grc.com/securitynow #256 ) I now understand much better how it works. The passwords are stored in an encrypted file on Lastpass' servers, but your password isn't known to them. To authenticate you, they use a hash of your username and password combined, which can't be used by them or anyone breaking into their system to decrypt your passwords. They are very open about the way they handle security, and after listening to the aforementioned podcast I now very much trust their product. Lastpass supports almost any browser and can import passwords from many different sources. For me, having my passwords available cross-browser, cross-system and cross-platform is why I like this product a lot. They have a solid implementation of security and there are many different options to customize it to your liking. They also support multifactor authentication. I only have to remember one password, and can use long convoluted and (most importantly) different passwords on websites, which I didn't always do in the past. Lastpass does a good job of remembering and managing them. The free version is very complete, but I upgraded to premium anyway so I can use my yubikey to provide multifactor authentication and to protect against keyloggers. The premium version is a reasonable $12 for one year.
Like (5)
Version 1.70.0
1 answer(s)
EvolutionTech
EvolutionTech
19 September 2011
Wow, Thanks Limestone! This is one of the few factual and non-biased reviews of this product. You also note your sources which I really appreciate. I wish other users here would use your approach and professionalism in their future reviews. Thanks!
Like
Shmk
13 September 2010
I love the fact that the screenshot is of a windows system...
Like (1)
Version 1.69.13
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
13 September 2010
Good eye. Just changed it to a Mac screenshot. Thanks!
Like (2)
Version 1.69.13
Shadymac
12 September 2010
I am worried with the way this little app although really handy causes some worries. In this day and age where facebook and the like seem to get people's information so easily... I want to know why we have to create an account and why lastpass needs all our login info on various sites throughout the web for it work to be sent to them? Some people are naive to the point they don't question these minor things, which really has major implications. As far as i am concerned lastpass doesn't really add anything new that safari autofill doesn't do already. I also find it very stupid that you need to create an account first just to uninstall it. I wanted to get rid of it soon as it asked to create accounts and will send information to their servers. This is the best way to keep tabs on people, especially since we don't know who these companies really are or work for.
Like (3)
Version 1.69.13
2 answer(s)
Jimw
Jimw
12 September 2010
I agree. Frankly I do not wish my passwords - i.e. privacy for my personal computer to be kept in the cloud and accessible to hackers. While I am almost sure the company would deny this, any on-line system is subject to hacker infiltration as even some of the most "secure" sites have been hacked. Furthermore, judging from the website, the free version strikes me as being more of a limited feature 'demo' version as an introduction to a subscription based system if you wish to avail itself of all of its features.
Like (2)
Version 1.69.13
Lookin2it
Lookin2it
08 March 2011
As a self confessed "privacy freak", my first response was to completely agree with you. However, after following the suggestion of "Limestone" in the post of 23 Sept 2010 and reviewing the transcripts of computer guru Leo Laporte's show "Security Now"; I have a changed opinion. Bear in mind that I am one who actually reads the privacy policy of websites before signing up and consequently don't sign up for sites that I otherwise might; and I am going to use this program. I never thought I would say this, but I can see now how it can be secure to store such data on a server. I am not sophisticated enough to explain what I've just read, heck I barely understand it myself. Don't let security or privacy issues keep you from trying this program. I'd like to hear from others who read the transcript or download the podcast or audio.
Like (4)
Timmyb
12 July 2010
In addition to the SIMBL based Safari add-on , they now do offer a Safari 5 extension. It can be found in the Windows section of their download area, but it works fine on Safari 5 Mac!
Like (3)
Version 1.68.4