Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Keka page
Keka free download for Mac

Keka Reviews

20 July 2021

File archiver.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
Jul 20 2021
1.2.15
0.0
Jul 20 2021
0.0
Version: 1.2.15
Whenever I see the Keka icon, I can't help but think of a dangerous insect. That's why I will never use this app.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
1.2.4
3.0
Dec 7 2020
3.0
Version: 1.2.4
Generally pretty good but sometimes problems opening 7-ZIP files.
alejopendejo
alejopendejo
Jun 13 2020
1.1.30
5.0
Jun 13 2020
5.0
Version: 1.1.30
Customer centric software, they reply and hear for improvement suggestions. This approach will make this tool the best one ever!
Ok14me21
Ok14me21
Jun 11 2020
1.1.30
5.0
Jun 11 2020
5.0
Version: 1.1.30
The Best!
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Apr 14 2020
1.1.26
5.0
Apr 14 2020
5.0
Version: 1.1.26
How can you not love a utility whose mascot/icon is a little glowing lawn grub? Keka works as advertised and has help and support pages on GitHub. A far better alternative to "The Unarchiver," especially since the latter has been turned into corporate crapware by shady publisher MacPaw, purveyor of the disreputable CleanMyMac X. Keka retails for a mere $2.99 on the Mac App Store, but if you, like me, prefer to avoid the MAS whenever possible, you can direct download from the web site and easily make a donation. I sent 'em $5 via PayPal. Always happy to support quality vendors. -SB
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 5 2019
1.1.22
5.0
Dec 5 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.22
Although I've been having Keka on my Mac for a few years now, I've only recently started to use it extensively when I've discovered the xz (or txz) format. I've not found another free app that deals with that format. If you don't know xz, try it and you might be amazed: I've been using 7z for nearly ten years and I thought it was the best option out there but xz can achieve half the size, and sometimes a tenth of the size of 7z (on pdfs in particular)! The only thing is that it's not predictable on disk images: sometimes you'll gain only 100 Mb out of a 2 Gb dmg, sometimes 1 Gb depending on its content! Well, I'm supposed to make a review about Keka, but I only use it for xz, I can't say much more, it works perfectly! I'm in the process of converting all my old zip and 7s archives to xz, thanks to Keka. :-)
bsmit
bsmit
Oct 30 2019
1.1.21
2.0
Oct 30 2019
2.0
Version: 1.1.21
This crashed on opening a 7z. Please fix!
Max-G
Max-G
Jul 19 2019
1.1.17
5.0
Jul 19 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.17
Has become my standard compression/expansion app. Excellent software that I also use to secure files that I backup in the cloud.

Question to the developer: Would it be possible to mark files that are not yet completely compressed with '.part'? Whe I compress a lot of files (splitted) at once, it is hard to see which ones can already be uploaded and which ones I still need so time.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Mar 28 2019
1.1.13
5.0
Mar 28 2019
5.0
Version: 1.1.13
Keka is my personal favorite compression/expansion app. It works with even more archive formats than are listed here, such as .ZAD archives. It's being constantly updated. It's easy to use and reliable. I use it more often than The Unarchiver. StuffIt is a distant memory.
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
Scotty-Beam-Me-Up-Again
Nov 30 2018
1.1.7
5.0
Nov 30 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.7
Awesome app. A must have tool. To support the dev, I bought it at the AppStore, although you can get it for free too.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jun 14 2018
1.1.0
5.0
Jun 14 2018
5.0
Version: 1.1.0
Version 1.1.1 is now available on the developer’s website. It fixes the problem with v. 1.1.0 in which files could not be dragged to the Keka dock icon (and perhaps other issues).
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Apr 28 2018
1.0.16
5.0
Apr 28 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.16
I've switched over to this app. I recommend downloading the beta version. The icons on the non-beta version are very bad especially on a retina display.
Maxter
Maxter
Apr 27 2018
1.0.16
0.0
Apr 27 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.16
1.1.0 RC is available on their website.
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Mar 24 2018
1.0.14
5.0
Mar 24 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.14
I switched to this from the Unarchiver. I actually prefer it. Download the beta version though because they've modernized the icons on the beta version. I couldn't take these icons. Just go to their website and download the beta version. It's been totally stable.
scorpionpredator14
scorpionpredator14
Feb 13 2018
1.0.13
4.5
Feb 13 2018
4.5
Version: 1.0.13
Good and simple alternate of archive utility
rob-robinzon
rob-robinzon
Feb 12 2018
1.0.13
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.13
Gate app. Loved it from the first try. Easy and multifunctional.
warez90
warez90
Oct 5 2017
1.0.12
5.0
Oct 5 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.12
Really great UI. Also it can set a password for the archive or even split one archive into parts. Like a good old winrar in a PC.
Macmedix
Macmedix
Aug 31 2017
1.0.11
4.5
Aug 31 2017
4.5
Version: 1.0.11
Great. SO easy & it can even add a password to a zip file. Keka lets you zip, unzip, encrypt with a password, and choose from several compression formats. I really like it. Keka does not let you view the insides of a zip file. I give it 4 1/2 stars reserving a half star so I have something left to give if the developer adds viewing a zip file so I could add more, replace, or extract just a single file from the archive. But that is being greedy. Kaka worked great for me and was easily able to do what I wanted to be done. Recommended.
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Jul 27 2017
1.0.11
5.0
Jul 27 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.11
The go-to tool for (un)compressing everything.
Bytes
Bytes
Jul 10 2017
1.0.11
4.0
Jul 10 2017
4.0
Version: 1.0.11
Simple, efficient, and well maintained compression app. Donation sent today in appreciation for freely providing a useful MacOS utility that I personally use often.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jul 10 2017
1.0.11
5.0
Jul 10 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.11
The best, and FREE!
cubanpete
cubanpete
Feb 13 2017
1.0.8
5.0
Feb 13 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.8
Love it. I also love the app's icon, which is quite fitting.
Steinarh
Steinarh
Jan 16 2017
1.0.7
5.0
Jan 16 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0.7
Keka does what it promises, and it does it in a fast and reliable way. A very good piece of software
Orlando-a
Orlando-a
Jan 16 2017
1.0.7
4.5
Jan 16 2017
4.5
Version: 1.0.7
Nice software as opposed to its title) It's much beneficial supporting many useful formats. The app has no extra features, simple and user-friendly. One of the best in the line.
Aargl
Aargl
Dec 22 2016
1.0.6
5.0
Dec 22 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.6
Nice software but it has issues uncompressing aliases inside packages (in 7z archives at least): they turn into empty files! I don't know how much frequently this happens, but I uncompressed the same archive with BetterZip and it was perfect. I wanted to use Keka, but I'm sorry, if I can't be 100% sure of the result, I'll stick to BetterZip.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Nov 4 2016
1.0.5
5.0
Nov 4 2016
5.0
Version: 1.0.5
Keka is DONATIONWARE. It has no cost. The only place they ask you to donate is on their website. If you donate, they don't have a fixed asking price. Therefore, I had no idea why it says $1.99 on this page at MU. It should be removed. The software itself is very good and has a small, simple interface for doing what you want to do with both compression and decompression. It's a favorite little program.
Haliomaster
Haliomaster
May 25 2016
1.0.4
4.5
May 25 2016
4.5
Version: 1.0.4
Simple but effective compression tool. Runs rock solid in OS X 10.11.x which isn't the case The Unarchiver. It was free in the past though but the small asking price is worth every little cent. Recommended
ghostbiker69
ghostbiker69
May 4 2016
1.0.4
4.0
May 4 2016
4.0
Version: 1.0.4
Like it! Useful and must have app for every happy mac owner. =)
2coolbaby
2coolbaby
Mar 31 2016
1.0.4
1.0
Mar 31 2016
1.0
Version: 1.0.4
I am having an issue where files that were 3 - 6 MB are zipping to over 19 - 30 MB now! I used Keka just last night to compress about 25 individual folders. I realized I need to change the wording in one pdf in them and redid it. It didn't grow in size at all, yet today when I zip, all files are over 19 - 30 MB. The 20 MB folder compresses to 19 and the 33 MB folders compress to 30! That's no compression at all. I have tried Normal and Best Compression and it's the same. It doesn't appear to be compressing at all. I have tried to contact the makers, but you cannot post a ticket without login and they are not accepting anymore registrations. THAT is another issue with this program. I donated $20 when I first downloaded it, because it was so great. I haven't used it in over a year, so downloaded newest version and it's bad. I have quit the program and restarted, but that didn't do anything either.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 5 2015
1.0.4
0.0
Oct 5 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
Word on AES256: http://trac.kekaosx.com/wiki/AES256
cubanpete
cubanpete
Jun 23 2015
1.0.4
5.0
Jun 23 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Keka is great, the best of them all. I love it and I love the Keka icon too.Very very easy to use. Can also create dmg and iso. The results of maximum/slow 7z compression compared to zip or rar is just mind-blowing! I just compressed 1,2 GB to just 595 MB using 7z. Using ZIP: --> 1,1 GB. Using RAR: --> 1 GB If we would all use 7z we would save 50% of bandwith!
EstebanC5491
EstebanC5491
May 12 2015
1.0.4
0.0
May 12 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
I love it but my big issue is that I can't see the content of the compressed files before uncompress, that is for me a really important feature!
anonymous-chameleon-5381
anonymous-chameleon-5381
Apr 3 2015
1.0.4
5.0
Apr 3 2015
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Best of his class
artie505
artie505
Jan 31 2015
1.0.4
0.0
Jan 31 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
I can't get the "delete" (after compressing) pref to stick when I quit Keka; I can only get "move to trash" to stick. Anybody got any suggestions? (OS X 10.6.8)
artie505
artie505
Jan 31 2015
1.0.4
0.0
Jan 31 2015
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
I can't get the "delete" (after compressing) pref to stick when I quit Keka; I can only get "move to trash" to stick. Anybody got any ideas? (OS X 10.6.8)
Matthewk
Matthewk
Jan 15 2015
1.0.4
4.5
Jan 15 2015
4.5
Version: 1.0.4
Nice app! Especially useful for people who want to avoid the command line. (Special thanks to the developer of rarlabs for his contribution of unrar.) On the Keka website is a direct donation link too.
iPhonePhobia
iPhonePhobia
Dec 21 2014
1.0.4
5.0
Dec 21 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
"Must Have" Utility application, It can compress many format .zip .7z also include .DMG and .iso I Love these app , and I purchase on Mac app store to support this app. Thank You Keka
Veldheer
Veldheer
Nov 14 2014
1.0.4
4.5
Nov 14 2014
4.5
Version: 1.0.4
Snel, betrouwbaar en werkt prima met bijna alle formaten.
polocanada
polocanada
Jul 27 2014
1.0.4
0.0
Jul 27 2014
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
Bigger issue is Keka creates hidden sub-folders in the folder where it extracts the archives. If there are multiple archives to extract, Keka would create multiple subfolders. The folders are in format such as .Keka-B6ED7BEE-E249-4A01-111E-C709A5A1129A. As it's hidden you don't see the folder unless you change finder to show hidden files. The issue is not only are these folder like "garbage", but some of them would contain partial files where extraction failed. I was wondering why an empty folder still shows size in several MBs. Well it's because Keka created number of these hidden folders and it doesn't delete them after it finishes or after it closes down. I don't think I can continue using the app at this time.
polocanada
polocanada
Jul 14 2014
1.0.4
0.0
Jul 14 2014
0.0
Version: 1.0.4
I'm not crazy for the bug icon :) There is small issue with Keka when dealing with partially corrupted archives (or archives where part of the archive is missing.. The issue is if part of the archive is corrupt, Keka will offer no remedy on its own, it will show error message and completely stops without attempting to extract the rest of the archive packages (which don't have any issues). In such a situation I would end up using The Archiver.
Greedyfranky
Greedyfranky
Jun 12 2014
1.0.4
5.0
Jun 12 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Wasn't this free some weeks ago?
JuanG9637
JuanG9637
May 20 2014
1.0.4
5.0
May 20 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
I hate to tell this but because I bought it on the app store it gets updated regularly and I haven't had any problems. I can archive and extract 7zip files on the fly. It seems faster than the regular mac archiver.
aglessi
aglessi
Feb 8 2014
1.0.4
5.0
Feb 8 2014
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Simply a "must have" utility.
Michel-Tribet
Michel-Tribet
Feb 8 2014
1.04
5.0
Feb 8 2014
5.0
Version: 1.04
Keka version is 1.0.4 not 1.04 !
gcoghill
gcoghill
Dec 5 2013
1.0.4
5.0
Dec 5 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Nice little app, just what I wanted — a way to ZIP files without those DS_Store files cluttering things up for Windows users. Growl support was a nice little bonus. Thanks!
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
Nov 1 2013
1.0.4
5.0
Nov 1 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.4
Thank you for this great update. imo the best. Kudos for keeping this free.
Old-guy
Old-guy
Oct 2 2013
1.0.3
5.0
Oct 2 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Still a big fav for me. Although Unarchiever isn't bad too.
Old-guy
Old-guy
Apr 6 2013
1.0.3
5.0
Apr 6 2013
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
For me the best of the bunch. Some users mentioned the latest has problem but on my iMac it works perfect. Must have utility.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Oct 10 2012
1.0.3
5.0
Oct 10 2012
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Suddenly Keka 1.0.3 is behaving weirdly on my OS 10.8.2 2.9 GHz Core i7 13” Mid-2012 MacBook Pro. Even though I have the preference set to “Close Keka when no window visible,” which has worked fine for me until now, whenever I drag something onto the Keka icon in the Dock, first the regular Keka window opens (not the Preferences window, but the regular window, which is also new behavior), and then Keka does not automatically close after the compression is complete as it used to. Anyone else having this problem?
Priosantos Jan
Priosantos Jan
Sep 9 2012
1.0.3
5.0
Sep 9 2012
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Top notch essential!