Back to iSubtitle page
iSubtitle free download for Mac

iSubtitle Reviews

3.3
10 October 2019

Soft subtitled movies for your Apple gear.

isasc
30 August 2011

Most helpful

Good, simple and easy to do it! The application doesn't let you created any subtitles on your own, what it does is that it let you put SOFT subtitles, meaning that it won't change or alter the original movie and it has a resolution-independent rendering, so your titles will look as good on a 50in plasma HDTV as they would on an iPod touch. The advantage of this subtitles are that you can turn it OFF/ON any time you want and you can see it on any apple device without any problem what so ever.  Some people complaint about this application, arguing they add a semi-transparent background to the subtitles, on my opinion this background won't bother you at all, it is really nothing, the videos will looks as perfect as it is not there. another plus is that you can add as many subtitles as you want. spanish, french, Italian and have them in a menu to choose from later on. If your movie is on a format that suits your needs there's no reason to re-encode it, just add the subtitles and you are good to go. If on the other hand, your movie is not suited for your device you can batch re-encode it straight from within the application. You can also tag your file with metadata that you can't find on iTunes, like the HD symbol, the directors, rating, etc...  The way it works is that you search for the subtitles using the webpages the apps recommend without even leaving the application, just look for the subtitle you want on the web and press download, as simple as that, or if you already have it on your computer you can add it too. Good Job !!!
Like (6)
Version 2.5.4

Read 20 iSubtitle User Reviews

Rate this app:

RogerKatz
30 May 2018
Although MacUpdate correctly says the current version is 3.1.1, its download gets version 3.1.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
30 May 2018
Thank you for letting us know of this! I have updated the listing and it now downloads version 3.1.1.
Like
sandkuyl
26 November 2014
Until today a very happy user of Subtitle over the past few years in following editions. However, since this morning in both subtitle 2.8.2 and 2.7.5 all subtitles all of a sudden appear at the top of the screen instead of the hitherto normal and logical place at the bottom of the screen. I have checked all resources, settings, defaults, goals etc., but have not been able to find how this occurred neither how to rectify it. Please help!
Like
Version 2.8.2
ArturoB2453
06 February 2014
Kudos for its applicability on all platforms of Apple products. Delivers quality subtitles [english & other foreign languages] and I deeply appreciate that, since I'm a movie-buff. It did crash twice but that is easy to forget when it delivers such high quality results!
Like (1)
Version 2.8
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
06 February 2014
Please send me some crash reports. Haven't seen any crashes for ages so it might be related to some old outdated QuickTime components lurking around in your system. Thx!
Like
Jolly-joker
06 September 2012
iSubtitle doesn't work with MKV files. It doesn't load subtitles: the wheel continue spinning without showing them. please fix it.
Like
Version 2.7.2
Masterminter
29 January 2012
Works as advertised. If you need subtitles support then use this.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Billybob152
Billybob152
11 October 2012
What if you want to put your own subtitles into a .mov file?
Like
isasc
30 August 2011
Good, simple and easy to do it! The application doesn't let you created any subtitles on your own, what it does is that it let you put SOFT subtitles, meaning that it won't change or alter the original movie and it has a resolution-independent rendering, so your titles will look as good on a 50in plasma HDTV as they would on an iPod touch. The advantage of this subtitles are that you can turn it OFF/ON any time you want and you can see it on any apple device without any problem what so ever.  Some people complaint about this application, arguing they add a semi-transparent background to the subtitles, on my opinion this background won't bother you at all, it is really nothing, the videos will looks as perfect as it is not there. another plus is that you can add as many subtitles as you want. spanish, french, Italian and have them in a menu to choose from later on. If your movie is on a format that suits your needs there's no reason to re-encode it, just add the subtitles and you are good to go. If on the other hand, your movie is not suited for your device you can batch re-encode it straight from within the application. You can also tag your file with metadata that you can't find on iTunes, like the HD symbol, the directors, rating, etc...  The way it works is that you search for the subtitles using the webpages the apps recommend without even leaving the application, just look for the subtitle you want on the web and press download, as simple as that, or if you already have it on your computer you can add it too. Good Job !!!
Like (6)
Version 2.5.4
Chipaz
10 November 2010
I love this program and now with my new Macbook Pro Core i7 2,66 GHz, SSD de 256GB and 8GB RAM DDR3 the convertion was pretty fast. On my other macbook with core 2Duo, 4GBRam, the epise series like House MD, or 24 Hours take about 33 to 28 minutes to convert I think, I am not sure about those times. But I am pretty sure about the new one and the convertion in 45 minutes video long take about 9 minutes to converto do iPhone4 or iPad, 1 hour long video, converts in 13 minutes. It is pretty fast. The only Cons that I have and I am not sure if this is a software feature or limitation by Apple, but the subtitle on iPad is to SMALL, like the same size of iPhone without scailing to iPad resolution screen. I think the convertion time is really short because the software use GPU and 64Bits informtion to go like in a "High Way Drive". Worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Morinasan
08 October 2010
The best application to add soft subtitles to M4V files. As easy as open the video file, drag and drop the subtitle file on it, select the language as a reference and save the file. Done. If the subs doesn't match because they are from other video source, then it's a little bit more tedious, but still easy. You have to adjust them with the controls, save the movie (.mov) and then rename it again to m4v. Works like a charm. I love it. Now only need an application to extract subtitles from the DVDs and I would be even happier. Unfortunately, I think there is only D-Subtitle, that doesn't work for my spanish subs.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Blau
05 October 2010
iSubtitle, great program for soft subtitles to movies. Very easy to adjust and attache the subs to the movie. Good service, fast and very helpfull.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
Applemac10
20 March 2010
I have to say ive been looking for a program to add subtitles to my films for a long time, although I have found many. Most have been complicated to use and need a lot of fiddling around with settings etc. I can say without doubt that isubtitle is a great tool, after using this for a while now, its easy and straightforward to use allows you to add metadata and artwork. With an easy interface to export your file to appletv, ipod etc. I can highly recommend this program if your looking to add subtitles to your film collection.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Tonymz
11 February 2010
A very easy and good software, which worked perfectly on my MacBook Pro!!! I have a doubt on how to resolve a matter that was to subtitle a movie which was downloaded in 3 parts, and their "customer service" dept. worked fast and very helpful to give me the answers and steps to follow. To make the movies & added subtitles work in iTunes and appleTV, after they are saved in "iSubtitle" I convert them to a ".dv" extension with Toast software.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Karagozgilh
27 October 2009
great program and great support !!!
Like
Version 1.5.1
Ritsuka
23 October 2009
Where the source code? You used part of Subler code, and that's gpl. My objective-C MP42 mp4v2 wrapper is under gpl. And your app is full of string from that, stripping out the debug symbol doesn't help.
Like (4)
Version 1.5
3 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
24 October 2009
You can download the source for the iSubtitleHelperApp (that's where the MP4v2 wrapper is used) from this page. http://www.bitfield.se/freestuff/index.html.
Like (2)
Version 1.5
Ritsuka
Ritsuka
24 October 2009
But you are using that inside the iSubtitle binary too. If the gpl code is statically linked you need to open source every line of the other code that is linked to. Or remove them and write your own.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
Jogga
Jogga
24 October 2009
As I said, the source using gpl'ed code is available for download from the page specified above. All according to the license. There is no intention whatsoever to violate that. If you want to discuss this further you can contact me by mail via jogga at bitfield dot se.
Like (1)
Version 1.5
Monkeyjunkey
25 September 2009
I also though that this is just what I'm looking for: soft-subs in my ripped movies. BUT: This is not really working well. It crashes quite a lot. And some of the subs I extracted with SubRip couldn't somehow even be recognized. Maybe I didn't find the perfect settings yet, but the help-file is very short and there's no troubleshooting...
Like
Version 1.4
2 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
01 October 2009
Yes, unfortunately iSubtitle can crash when adding more than a couple of subtitle languages at the same time. The bug is actually in QuickTime (surprise) and it has been reported to Apple engineers. Hopefully they will fix it ASAP. Look out for version 1.5 of iSubtitle. It will have a unique online subtitle finder. Stay tuned!
Like
Version 1.4
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
07 October 2009
Thanks for your response. Well online subtitle database sounds great. Just depends on how good the database actually is, I guess ;) Besides that, let's hope for Apple to fix that bug.
Like
Version 1.4
Miniron
27 April 2009
I was waiting for a long time for something like this. The movies play great on my iphone and xbox 360. It's just what i needed. Maybe will see a .avi option soon!!! keep up the good work!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Patrick-Bensamou
04 April 2009
I basically use my Mac Mini as a media center through iTunes/Frontrow plugged into my TV. I tried to export a movie with the test version. Result is a black screen in Frontrow with only the sound, while the video works great with subtitles in iTunes or QT. I'd love to buy that app as I think it's a great and simple way to add .srt to your content especially if going through the iTunes integration. When the Frontrow issue will be addressed? The thing I don't understand though is why a .srt will automatically be recognized in QT or Frontrow with a simple .avi file while it isn't with a .m4v and have to go through this software? Also why that black bezel on top of the screen to show the subtitles? It is a bit annoying. Again with a simple .avi the subtitles just appear normally without bezel. Is there any option to have it disappear?
Like (3)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 April 2009
Why don't you take a minute or two before writing a review? All the answers to your post is already answered here? Front Row black screen is a bug reported to Apple more than one year ago. Nothing I can do about that as a third party developer until Apple makes a bugfix. General questions like, "Why don't iTunes do this automagically", is not really what I call a proper review! Maybe you should send those feature requests to Apple instead ;-)
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Don-B-
02 April 2009
I bought iSubtitle so I could add soft subtitles in multiple languages to a movie that I want to embed in an iPhone app. I was a complete newbie to the problem space, but the operation went very smoothly. Step 1: I used the free Miyu app (http://www.fluffalopefactory.com/miyu/) to compose my initial English subtitles for my movie, and exported them to a *.en.srt file (SubRip format). This was most of the work. Step 2: I used iSubtitle to encode the English subtitles (*.en.srt, above) and my original movie into a new *.mov file. I just dragged my original movie onto iSubtitle, which automatically recognized the *.en.srt file in the same directory. Then, I checked the result. Well, I iterated a bit, getting the subtitles to look nice in the iPhone QuickTime format and view. Fixing text is easy; just edit the text entries in the *.srt file, directly. But, finally I just saved to iPhone/iPod Touch format, and iSubtitle "did the right thing." Step 3: I compiled the resulting movie into my iPhone app, and tested it, successfully, first time. The whole operation was really pretty quick. My review gives 5 stars for stability, value!, and ease of use. I backed off to 4 on Features, just because I didn't know about Miyu, and as a newbie, I expected Miyu's features to be built into iSubtitle. Now, when the movie plays in the iPhone app, the user has the option of turning on the subtitles. Of course, the next step for me is to get the English subtitles translated into other languages supported by the iPhone, and to iterate over steps 2 and 3. iSubtitle works very well. The customer support is excellent.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
1 answer(s)
Morissss
Morissss
27 April 2009
Informative, thanks. video converter mkv mkv avi converter
Like
Version 1.2.1
anthonysigalas
01 April 2009
Excellent, easy to use app, makes subtitling of videos a fun task.
Like (2)
Version 1.1
Lemming
29 March 2009
Doesn't work with Front Row. Screen goes black. WTF? Is this a Front Row bug?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
30 March 2009
Yes, it's a known Front Row bug. Reported to Apple several times without being fixed :-(
Like
Version 1.0.1
Doug-S-
25 March 2009
What kind of file does this output? MOV, MP4 or M4V? It doesn't say on the website.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
25 March 2009
It outputs standard .m4v files
Like
Version 1.0