Back to Find Any File page
Find Any File free download for Mac

Find Any File Reviews

2.1.1
14 November 2019

Search your disks for files using various criteria.

itasarah
23 October 2019

Most helpful

I like this app a lot. I see it is 64 bit. I haven't gotten Catalina yet but if I do eventually, I hope this and my other favorite apps will work.
Like (1)
Version 2.0

Read 165 Find Any File User Reviews

Rate this app:

Filou53
19 December 2019
Really fast and efficient for ANY file on the internal disk and also on the externals. Very cheap for a good job. Thanks to the developper
Like
Version 2.1.1
Andrewrodney
10 November 2019
This is a great little application, I find it vastly superior to the OS searches and happy it's 64-bit for the time when I do go Catalina. Well worth the $6.
Like
Version 2.1
jeffliddiard
05 November 2019
What is the purpose of Find Any File when Finder is already installed on my iMac? Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
jeffliddiard
jeffliddiard
05 November 2019
I meant too say Spotlight not Finder.
Like
Version 2.0
Sergesouszero
Sergesouszero
10 November 2019
FAF goes way beyond Spotlight. It can search and find files deeply hidden in macOS.
Like
Version 2.1
itasarah
23 October 2019
I like this app a lot. I see it is 64 bit. I haven't gotten Catalina yet but if I do eventually, I hope this and my other favorite apps will work.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
BrilorSoftware
14 October 2019
Totally indispensable and my goto finding app. Congrats on the 64-bit update! No small accomplishment.
Like
Version 2.0
Amcarter3
08 October 2019
Great app. And, I'm confused now... the developer says "Version 2.0 is a 64 bit application, ready for macOS 10.15 Catalina. However, my System Report (from OS 10.14.6) shows this app as a NON-64 Bit App that will not work with Catalina. Has anyone upgraded yet and determined IF this app actually does or does NOT work with Catalina?
Like (1)
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
14 October 2019
In the System Report, look for the "Software" section and then click on "Applications". It should bring up a list of applications after thinking for a little bit. There should be a column in the table of apps labeled "64-bit". Sort this column and Find Any File shows as "YES".
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Andrewrodney
07 October 2019
Great, fast little application and now 64-bit, excellent.
Like
Version 2.0
Jamesehale
07 October 2019
download link is for V1.93, a 32 bit version.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
07 October 2019
Thanks for pointing it out. Fixed now.
Like
Version 2.0
Dellu
16 April 2019
Good for APFS drives; not so great for HFS(+) drives. I end up using both EAsyFind and Find Any File because the latter is slower on HFS drives.
Like
Version 1.9.3
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
14 March 2019
…Addendum: A request to the developer. When copying and pasting the size data in bytes from the Info pane in Finder (to look for files of byte-for-byte identical size, for instance), the dot(s) (as, in, "1.832.745.521 bytes", for instance) don't automatically get parsed (if that's the right term), into a format that Find Any File recognises (i.e., don't get translated into a dot-less format), thus necessitating a manual deletion of the dot(s) on the user's part. When working with large quantities of files, deleting every dot in the search bar becomes a bit of a chore. Another suggestion would be to expand the scope of search options with more criteria, such as "file type" (i.e., a document, an image, an audio or a video file, an email, a PDF, etc.), rather than only "Is / Isn't a Folder" alone. Other than these two shortcomings (that I can think of out of My head), the app is very useful and well implemented!
Like
Version 1.9.3
2 answer(s)
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
06 October 2019
Please try the new version 2.0 - it should handle the dots now by ignoring them.
Like
Version 1.9.3
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
06 October 2019
Version 2 also has a new rule for "Kind" (image, audio, video) - I'm adding more types on request. PDF can simply be searched with "ends in .pdf", though, and would be fast that way.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
12 March 2019
A very useful utility that works to expectation. One thing I needed it for in particular (I'm sure, this app's utility is vastly greater than the purpose I availed of yesterday, and I believe, I'll utilise its other features soon, as well) - is listing all the invisible files across a number of subfolders (a few hundreds) in a certain folder. I tried free alternatives - iFileX would crash even before the Ui would pop up. Relaunched the app a few times - same story. Uninstalled. Tried EasyFind: the app does not allow to choose to include or to exclude extensions or even specify that the files I'm looking for, should have names starting with a ".". I wonder how they got to version 4.9.3 without incorporating such basic features. Tried HoudahSpot in demo mode, as I had bought a license (which turns out to be long expired) in a bundle a few years ago: this one has the function, but it doesn't work! Shows no results. Tembo - same story as the EasyFind, just in a slightly better interface and it isn't free: the property is missing altogether. Went back and bought a Find Any File license - the best utility of the kind for macOS bar none! Much more reasonably priced than the ridiculously overpriced HoudahSpot, as well. Highly recommended! The search results window may, at first sight, look a bit basic, but it does have drag-and-drop support (plays well with the Finder and 3rd party apps!), Quick Look, various View Options, item count, an option to include or exclude hidden files, etc. 5 stars out of 5! No reservations in recommending it!
Like
Version 1.9.3
neartheredrocks
15 December 2018
The one star in this review is just to counter the hyped-up anti-EasyFind reviews here. No doubt that Find Any File finds (almost) everything on a hard drive.

Howevver, in all of my about 10 tests in which I ran EasyFind and Find Any File next to each other both applications finished almost simultaneously, being not even a second apart.

And, guess what - Easyfind found in ALL searches exactly one file more than Find Any File. Why? Because Find Any File does not include the little "faf" files that it creates for each search in its results. I don't know about anybody else but in my book that clearly and indisputably means that it does not find "any" file, just "almost any" file.

One other thing: Although I had in my searches defined that I do NOT want to have package contents included in the results Find Any File showed them initially in its results, making me initially belief that it had indeed found more files than EasyFind. I actually would not rule out that the Find Any File maker wants this to happen so that his (not free) applications looks better than the (free) EasyFind.

Here some of my search terms: teamviewer, indesign, carbon, splashtop, lazy, solar, nzb, xls. All searches were done on a "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" hard drive; I can not say how the applications compare on APFS drives.

Conclusion: The free utility EasyFind finds as many files as as the not so free utility Find Any File; both utilities search with the same speed.
Like
Version 1.9.3
7 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
29 December 2018
Those .faf files are specifically excluded from FAF's search results, because they're the search itself, and there's no need for them to be "found".

My FAF/EF tests were made in Mojave, and if I remember correctly, High Sierra, and I went looking for an EF alternative only after I got tired of waiting for it to complete its interminable searches.

EF hasn't been updated since Mavericks (July 2014), doesn't promise 64 bit support as does FAF, and is like lightening on my APFS volume despite the dev's statement that " it is only fast on HFS(+) volumes".

In addition, I believe there has been a recent change in the OS that enables FAF to be faster than EF, and EF reviews other than mine mention the same slowness I've seen.

In which versions of macOS have you tested FAF?

Your one star review is out of order, because FAF is a 5 star app under any circumstances; a comment would have been appropriate.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
30 December 2018
I admit that I am a strange person. For me "any file" means ANY file and not ALMOST ANY file.

On the other hand - who are you to decide for me for which files on my (!) hard drive "there's no need" to find them? And why do you think you can trash EasyFind (with your words and from your hard drive) while I should not give a one-star review for this application?

I don't question that Find Any File is faster than EasyFind on APFS drives but for me completeness is many times more important than speed, and in that category EasyFind is better than Find Any File.
Like (1)
artie505
artie505
30 December 2018
Sorry for not being specific.

My response to your comment about .faf files is a paraphrase of the developer's response when I questioned him about FAF not finding them while EF does; it's he who sees no need for FAF to find them.

If you've got a problem with that, I suggest that you email him and explain that it compromises the credibility of his app.

Oh, and you've overlooked telling us in which version of OS X/macOS you found FAF and EF to be equally fast. (If it was in the same versions in which I"ve found EF to be considerably slower than FAF I'd like to rerun my tests with your search terms.)

My trashing EF was in conjunction with giving it its own 2 star review, which it's new slowness and having fallen so far behind the times warrant.

On the other hand, though, while you're certainly entitled to hang your hat on your complaint, it's not a "1 star" deal breaker; 4 stars - i.e. "1 star off for not finding itself" - would have made your point.
Like
artie505
artie505
31 December 2018
As a matter of fact, Devontechnologies, EasyFind's developer, thinks highly enough of Find Any File to recommend it on their own website. <https://www.devontechnologies.com/products/freeware.html>

"Alternative: Feel free to have a look at Thomas Tempelmann's Find Any File. In contrast to EasyFind you'll get a hierarchical result list, you can search as "root" user, search after date ranges and file sizes, and save searches and re-run them later."
Like
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
12 March 2019
Try finding files with filenames starting with a dot exclusively with EasyFind. EasyFind, as far as I know, can't even distinguish between a dot in a filename and an extension dot. Missing this function dispels the utility of EasyFind. EasyFind might be of limited utility pre-SpotLight, but now it's fairly useless.
Like
Dellu
Dellu
16 April 2019
I also find EasyFind much faster on sHFS(+) drives.
Like
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
06 October 2019
Version 2 solves this, BTW, by not using .faf files any more for remembering the recent searches any more. Instead, it now remembers them through the preferences, so there's no need for FAF to skip its own .faf files inside its data folder any more.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
artie505
29 September 2018
I've used and loved EasyFind for years, but Find Any File leaves it in the dust! It's more than10 (Yep, ten!) times faster and offers multiple GUIs as opposed to EasyFind's one, its results are dynamically configurable, and it even shows trashed items in real time. I asked EasyFind about an update e few months ago and was told that it was coming but was very low priority; I just trashed it. Goodbye, old friend.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
DragonMaster
19 September 2018
Absolutely nothing better! If you need to find something, anything on your drive there is no better tool, period! Also, the developer actually will respond to you directly and quickly for any issue, concern or suggestion. If you don't have this app...why not?
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
KernelG
19 September 2018
I ran into a bizarre situation where the (High Sierra) Finder's own search would not find the word "sales" in downloaded "report-US-sales-xxxx" file names. That made it a chore to separate music sales reports from subscription and preview reports (those words work fine). The old EasyFind app works, but with no updates since 2014, I worried that it was abandoned. So I came back here looking for something new. It's amazing how many utilities also fail, or are obtuse in some other way like not being able to limit your search to the current Finder selection. Find Any File works nicely in all regards with a clean UI. Launch it with a hotkey, set range, find files, drag files out, done. It's well worth the six bucks. If I had one wish beyond the 64-bit version already in progress, it's that the "Find Items" range pop-up would remember its selection or default to a preference setting, so e.g. I wouldn't have to select "in Finder selection" every launch. Recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
1 answer(s)
KernelG
KernelG
19 September 2018
And I just found the "Save as Default Search" function in the File menu, so never mind that last wish. Heh.
Like (1)
rolandberger-1
02 July 2018
Je ne veux plus de cette application. I don't want this application anymore.
Like
Version 1.9.3
june8
24 May 2018
Excellent!
Like
Version 1.9.3
jack2001
17 April 2018
ma come si fa a dare 5 stelle quando c'è easyfind che non costa niente ed è migliore
Like
Version 1.9.2
1 answer(s)
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
24 May 2018
You may like EasyFind better, but is that a reason to tell others that this program is bad? Is it really doing a bad job? You could at least acknowledge that this program is _different_ from EasyFind, as it has different (more) options and more display features, which some people actually prefer. Or do you seriously complain that not all software is free?
Like (5)
Dellu
25 March 2018
Faster than EasyFind. I have been using EasyFind for ages. Recently, it has slowed down. FAF is a saver: effectively replaced it.
Like (2)
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
24 May 2018
EasyFind does not support "fast search" on High Sierra with APFS volumes. On older HFS volumes, it's still as fast as Find Any File.
Like (2)
HansMueller4641
11 March 2018
way better than spotlight!
Like (3)
Version 1.9
DragonMaster
24 February 2018
An old favorite! Can be slow...but it is a great app to have!
Like (1)
Version 1.9.2
peterbreis
04 February 2018
Am frustrated with how bad Search is in Finder and when in Save dialog. macOS often finds NOTHING! Does this search inside Save dialogs because I need to locate directories in which to save samples when and where I find them?
Like
Version 1.9
Hendricx
01 February 2018
FaF is a good useful tool. Except, there are several concerns. I see a lot of custom stuff instead of native. For example the list displaying the files has funky scrolling. No standard OSX bouncy scrolling. This makes browsing the file terrible. The file icon view is very slow. Why doesn’t it use standard OSX views for this? Sadly it is 32bit too and no news about a 64bit version from the developer. This means FaF will stop working with the next MACOS version soon. It would be great if the developers can put everything in a modern UI, with modern views and behavior. Of course with 64bit support too.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
jputting
20 January 2018
This is an excellent App for finding files left behind after uninstalling an App. It is speedy and quite accurate in its detection of files no matter how deeply they are buried in your mac. It also has quite good search parameters to further refine your searchs.
Like
Version 1.9
Ervins Strauhmanis
08 November 2017
FAF is truly a classic tool both in the sense it having a long development history—it was first released in 2008, and also in the sense that the functionality it provides is timeless, and is as relevant today as it was a way back then. I am very happy that it now was updated to support the APFS file system. If you need to find files—buy FAF! Really!
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Aeschylus
05 November 2017
I've been using this for forever. It has always been the fastest and best utility for finding files, and it really shines when looking for files that Spotlight doesn't index. This, and the fact that the author is very dedicated and wants this to be a great utility. Incredibly useful and designed with integrity. What's not to love? You should pay for this at least once.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Rjmorita
04 November 2017
This is my go-to app when I'm looking for files on my drives.
Like
Version 1.9
AshBP
07 October 2017
Was the BEST ever. High Sierra finally broke it. Was so fast and easy, and nothing else is as fast/easy. Rats.
Like
Version 1.8.9
1 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
04 November 2017
Version 1.9 released 3 November includes macOS 10.13 (High Sierra) support for fast search on APFS formatted disks.
Like (1)
Portman
06 July 2017
Does this still work with APFS?
Like
Version 1.8.9
2 answer(s)
Idontknow84
Idontknow84
25 July 2017
From the developer's blog: "Current versions of FAF and EasyFind can't fast search on APFS. They need to be rewritten using the searchfs API."
Like
Irradiated-Thomas
Irradiated-Thomas
03 October 2017
There is now a beta version available that can fast search on APFS. See the website.
Like
jan_de_smet
02 June 2017
Very fast tool to find obscure files. :) Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9
Blamanche
13 March 2017
I have been using this app for quite a while (perhaps 4 years). It has been Solid, extremely Reliable and has never caused any system conflicts or problems. It has been a major bacon saver!! I have some sort of OSX corruption problem that Apple Support has not solved in 3 calls. Spotlight and Apple Crashy Mess Mail search are useless but Find Any File Works!!
Like
Version 1.8.9
Ervins Strauhmanis
28 October 2016
This is simply an invaluable app when you need to find a file. Nothing can hide from a highest quality magnifying lens of the Find Any File!
Like (4)
Version 1.8.9
Baccaroeja
09 May 2016
Amazing simple and awesome tool to find about anything on your system ! Cheap it is, huge it is.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9
bdberney
15 February 2016
I have this on my iMac and love it, use it all the time. But I am unable to install it on my Macbook Pro, and it's making me nuts. I get a message that Find Any File.app can't be opened because the identity of the developer cannot be verified. Help!
Like
Version 1.8.9
1 answer(s)
bdberney
bdberney
15 February 2016
Nevermind. I found a solution. Too impatient!
Like
I Love Techno
17 October 2015
Really will find any file, quickly and easily! Especially good for plist, bom and all kinds of hidden files.
Like
Version 1.8.9
cubanpete
26 June 2015
Fantastic app. Thank you. Go to the developer's homepage http://www.macupdate.com/developer_site/30079/Thomas+Tempelmann and check out what it can do. Maybe also click the 'Manual' link to read the manual. This is one of the most usefull must-have apps! So I give it 6 stars ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪
Like (2)
Version 1.8.9
Bento de Espinosa
28 April 2015
It seems Find Any File cannot be used in conjunction with services or Automator. It would be nice to be able to select a word in any application and then search for a file with that name in Find Any File.
Like
Version 1.8.9
2 answer(s)
Tempel
Tempel
21 October 2015
Good idea.

I've added support for Services now in the upcoming version 1.9. A beta will be available soon and I'll announce it here on macupdate.
Like
Thomas Tempelmann
Thomas Tempelmann
14 October 2017
The beta has finally made it public, and it has the Service option you requested. See my website for the download.
Like
Bento de Espinosa
25 April 2015
Very good!!! When deleting protected files, the program asks for the admin password. Could you please make the text field for the password be focused, so I don't have to click on it first in order to enter the password?
Like
Version 1.8.9
1 answer(s)
Tempel
Tempel
22 July 2015
I've tried making that work but OSX doesn't make this easy. I've tried bringing the Finder to the front for it, but that doesn't help, either. I'd like to do this, but it seems Apple doesn't want an app to mess with the password dialog presentation.
Like
Philosopherdog
29 March 2015
Simply a brilliant app. I use it often especially to dig around for files I've lost track of or to search through unix directories for hidden things. It's fast, powerful and, though not the prettiest app I've laid hands on, its interface is thoughtful. Buy it.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9
Helmo-Hass
07 March 2015
8 Dollars for something EasyFind does hundred times better for free?
You must be kidding.

Edit:
I just went to http://apps.tempel.org/FindAnyFile/ to have a better idea
and was amazed by his honesty.
I still prefer EasyFind but i must admit this is the first dev ever to be so frank
and clever.
I wish you all the best.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9b11
Curmudgeon51
25 February 2015
A great app at a good price - much better than OSX's search tool.
Like
Version 1.8.9b9
pat-nayubo
25 February 2015
This version crashes on launch. I am on OSX10.10.2
Like
Version 1.8.9b9
1 answer(s)
Tempel
Tempel
13 March 2015
Should be fixed in b11. Please test and confirm or send me an e-mail (b11 has a new "Contact Support via E-Mail" menu entry under "Help".
Like
Jude22
03 December 2014
People may not realize what a wonderful tool FindAnyFile is for removing most all traces of an app you don't want on your Mac any more. Uninstaller's boast that they remove every last trace of an app but this is not the case. There are some files left in hidden places but the algorithm for a given uninstaller can't deal with these "orphans". FindAnyFile can. First, I use an uninstaller and search for all the files it can delete. i study the names of those files in the uninstaller's list before deleting them. Usually, within the file name is a unique and predictable naming sequence like com.JohnSmith.Goldmaker.plist. The developer's name is unique and the name of the app is unique. So, after uninstalling what the uninstaller can delete from my iMac, I use FindAnyFile in the simplest mode "Name contains_________" I scan using FindAnyFile on the developer's name "JohnSmith" and/or "Goldmaker" and get more hits, usually in the Private (hidden) folder and its sub-folders. Lots of hits like .bom files, receipts, etc. i carefully delete these files with FindAnyFile if I am SURE that the file has both developer.appname or the developer or the appname is truly so unique that i know without doubt that I am able to delete the file(s) without mistakenly deleting another app's file(s) or a shared file for an app by the same developer. This is advanced stuff and you have to know how to use Time Machine or be willing to reinstall an app or the whole operating system if you goof. But this is no different than using iTrash uninstaller which in advanced mode gives false hits plus that developer pushes iFileX which is just the same as FindAnyFile for this purpose. So, I have, in the end, a cleaner mac. Five Stars.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.9b4
1 answer(s)
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
24 January 2015
I have used this for years. It is still the best. I am unable to say more because it is fast, performs great, and has never failed me. This is a true gem. Get it.
Like (2)
nikolalek
11 October 2014
Super!
Like
Version 1.8.9b4
Sergesouszero
18 July 2014
I’ve tried a lot of search applications, including Tembo, EasyFind and HoudahSpot, but FAF is definitely the best.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.9b4
wickedsp1d3r
07 July 2014
If you think this is better than iFileX, please tell why. I would like to hear some opinions.
Like
Version 1.8.9b4
1 answer(s)
Gary30
Gary30
07 July 2014
You might want to go to the developer's page where it is discussed and see for yourself.
Like
Gary30
05 July 2014
I have been an EasyFind user for years. However, I recently had the need to search on dates. HoudaSpot, which is a great front end for Spotlight, will do that but Spotlight does not index (or report on) certain folders reliably. Find Any File offers two of the four file date search criteria. I hope they consider adding Date Added and Date Last Opened but those are niggles. The results window is spectacular. Seeing the folder tree is very useful. I could see this replacing EasyFind, although I am so comfortable with that app from years of use that I imagine I will use the two side by side until I get comfortable.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.9b4
Drdul
05 May 2014
It's been a while since I rated FAF, so it's time for another five stars. FAF is an indispensable app. I use it for all sorts of stuff, from finding mis-filed files to completely removing software. It's fast, quite configurable and a fantastic deal at $6. The support is excellent, too. I have contacted the dev a few times with questions that it turned out I should have been able to figure out on my own or find the answer to in the help file, but despite the dev answered my questions fully and quickly. Highly recommended!
Like (3)
Version 1.8.8
bumper314
29 December 2013
Spotlight is nice, when it works, but there's always a need for very specific, scoped searching like Find Any File (FAF) provides. FAF is necessarily slow as it looks at files as-need, instead of looking at an index like Spotlight. I prefer this as FAF isn't always running in the background taking up resources like Spotlight's mds process. And since I have an SSD, searching is pretty darn fast with FAF anyways. I mostly use FAF for stuff that Spotlight won't do, like searching inside bundles (applications, frameworks, plugins, etc) to find icons and sounds that Spotlight won't find. Also, FAF has QuickLook, so I can easily see files right in these search results. I usually start by casting a wide net with my FAF searches, then I further filter the results that come up by file extension. Very handy. Overall, I find myself using FAF twice a week or so. It's just nice to know I have it when Spotlight isn't behaving.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.8
Unblocktheplanet
19 December 2013
Well, I still don't get it. Yes, Spotlight sucks. But any search utility SHOULD work like Google. Search function should be at least as intuitive as Mac.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.8