Back to RoadMovie page
RoadMovie free download for Mac

RoadMovie Reviews

2.7.4
09 May 2015

Subtitle, batch-encode, and upload your movies.

alex-haggins
25 October 2009

Most helpful

As usual I try almost evert available converter so RoadMovie was next. Didn't know of this one though. First, it didn't accept several video files I have (.mts, .ts, .flv, m2ts, .pgm, .qcp, .swf and some other). So I tried some .mpg and mp4 files to convert to iPod, PSP and X360. One mp4 didn't work although it works for QT and several other converters. Anyway, the converted files did not work on my iPod Video (iPod Video needs a moov header and this is not supported by RoadMovie). The PSP files also did not play on my PSP3000 and PSP slim. The X360 files did play but with black borders. Converting was slow in general and only used 1 CPU core of 4 available CPU cores on my Mac Pro. Asking $25 for this is just too much knowing there are other free, cheaper and better alternatives (Handbreak and the very powerfull iVideo Converter). If the asking price was a lot lower I would give it a 2 1/2 stars. But for being very expensive for something that doesn't cut it to today standards I give this a one star rating. Avoid.
Like (4)
Version 1.9

Read 45 RoadMovie User Reviews

Rate this app:

gryphonent
31 January 2017
Still is asking for Perian, which has become abandonware many years ago. Not updated since May 2015. Sadly, RoadMovie has gone the way of the Dodo.
Like
Version 2.7.4
GoldonyJohn
13 June 2016
Good but not always. It should be more stable.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.4
Mikael-B
23 November 2015
Unclear if this app can produce iOS-ready subtitles. Can it? Also unclear if it needs a pre-ripped source or not. Does it need this?
Like
Version 2.7.4
TCalhau
13 January 2015
Updated! ^^
Like (2)
Version 2.7.3.1
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
13 January 2015
Yep :-)
Like (3)
TCalhau
10 January 2015
Updated! But the application is with the wrong year!

See: https://cl.ly/ZFGn/RoadMovie_2.7.3_With_Wrong_Year.png
Like (2)
Version 2.7.3
TCalhau
29 October 2014
I love to use this app! He is full of features and functions of legend are great! I am pleased with the purchase! One thing however. I think this application needs to be migrated to 64-bit since he is still 32-bit. See: http://cl.ly/YI4w/Editing_the_movie_Pumping_Iron.png
Like (2)
Version 2.7.1
gryphonent
26 May 2014
Not sure whether this is still under active development. Version 2.62 crashes a lot and hasn’t been fixed since Nov-13. I also suggested many many months ago at version 1.x state the option to “stitch” files together, i.e. throw in a couple of smaller clips and have RoadMovie produce one file in the end. Alas, the feature is still missing. I’ve meanwhile moved on to iFFmpeg, which offer this functionality and much more.
Like
Version 2.6.2
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
10 July 2014
RoadMovie is still under development. Version 2.7 was just released. Also please send crash reports using the built-in feedback function under the help menu. It's impossible to fix crashes without proper crash logs.
Like (1)
MarkH7922
19 May 2014
I use After Effects 9hrs a day, everyday. I work in Video Automation primarily and RoadMovie is by far the best product out there I have found for my purposes. The Applescript functionality is simply spectacular for completing my workflow. As an After Effects power user, I should be using Adobe Media Encoder right? Wrong. At this time Media Encoder is not scriptable and Roadmovie is! This allows me to update websites with background web video as well as the content videos for desktop and mobile responsive players all at once - via SFTP. I would recommend this program to anyone who uses After Effects and a Mac. As we all know AE will include the moov atom in the file, but until you re-render in Media Encoder the atom remains at the end of the file in the mp4 that AE creates. Just use RoadMovie with a little applescript, the perfect recipe for a quick result. I have found all the file sizes and video quality to be comparative with Media Encoder etc and the side by side tests show roughly the same time in render. For $29 why wouldn’t you? Great product, Great customer support and great results.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.2
Revco
06 November 2013
Very strange behaviour with the 2.6 update. Upon launch the app displays the standard crash dialogue but the app hasn't crashed and is still running. I can cancel this dialogue and a short while later I get a kernel panic and need to reboot. Just tried v2.5.5 and that works fine. Anyone else seeing this? Will have to contact dev to see what's going on.
Like
Version 2.6
1 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
14 November 2013
Okay, 2.6.1 appears to have solved my problem.
Like (2)
tot
23 December 2012
metadata reformation does not work, tryn several times with diferent movies and videos, no luck!! ..also wanna say, when i want send feedback to dev's why i can't remove personal info and data from tab section 'console' and 'preferences' ? this app is not ONLY and unic app what can convert and encode video files! evribody can find other and better apps and even free apps what does his job better than this ..... , what cost's 30,- bucks and finally collects lots of personal information of you and sends to somewhere,( haha) ''developers''
Like (1)
Version 2.5.3
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
24 January 2013
Metadata fetching works great. If an entry can't be found cause of a weird filename just change the title and hit the reload metadata button. It's that simple. When sending feedback it's important for us developers to get information like your e-mail (how would we get back to you otherwise) and logs from the app. If you're not comfortable with that just send us an e-mail. Yes, there are a lot of apps that can convert and encode video, but I think you will have a hard time finding an app with the same feature set for that price. If you don't need metadata, subtitles, presets, uploads and the convenience to do it all in one app there are free alternatives... sure. Best regards / Bitfield
Like (1)
pedrotaquelim
09 November 2012
I like What I see here. But can Roadmovie "mux" MKV to M4V (without re-encoding)? I use iFlicks and it's so simple. A no brainer and fast at muxing, integrating soft subtitles and tag all my MKV to M4V HD films. At the moment I muxed some 200 HD films with only one or two failures.The only thing missing is Chaperts.
Like
Version 2.5.2
3 answer(s)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
09 November 2012
Oh well, I just try to convert a 1080 HD MKV to M4V (Apple TV) and RoadMovie started to re-enconde the damn thing. :-( Almost 4 hours to re-encode something that doesn't need to. Muxing only takes 2 to 15 minutes (depending on the audio and length of the film) and after that the film is ready to stream to Apple TV. Doesn't make any sense. Or did I miss some option to mux it?
Like
Jogga
Jogga
31 January 2014
No need to re-encode your mkv files with h264 video. Just use one of the "Copy to mp4" presets in the generic group. You can pass through both video and audio or pass through video and re-encode audio if you need. Really simple and very fast.
Like (3)
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
03 February 2014
Thanks, I'll give it a try. But since 2012 I've been using iFlicks.
Like
bykovina
23 June 2012
Hello, everyone! I need your help with RoadMovie app for Mac. I put a movie and add subtitle to it. After encoded no subtitles show in movie. Why? How can I solve this problem? Please help me. Thank you! :-)
Like (1)
Version 2.4.1
4 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
15 August 2012
Why don't you send me an email and we will sort it out. Contact info at http://www.bitfield.se/contact
Like (1)
gryphonent
gryphonent
17 September 2012
Same problem here. Tried different presets… none of them embeds the subtitles.
Like
JorgeB
JorgeB
07 October 2012
You need to go into Presets (upper left corner) and select the preset that you're using (Apple TV, iPad, etc) and check HARD CODED under subtitle selection. Then close the presets window and export to that preset on the main window.
Like
gryphonent
gryphonent
16 October 2012
Thanks Rascoe!
Like
Ahm
21 June 2012
I'm a teacher who primarily uses RoadMovie to encode videos with subtitles for my students. I realize there are all sorts of free alternatives to RoadMovie, but the convenience of RoadMovie is well worth the price as I don't have to use several different tools to sync subtitles, add subtitles to a movie, and encode a movie. More importantly, RoadMovie's encoding presets consistently provide better results than what I can get using other tools. Of course, I could probably get even better results if I took the time to learn FFmpeg commands, which can be used in RoadMovie, but, as I said, I use RoadMovie because it saves me time so I can focus on other teaching duties. When I do have issues or specific encoding questions, the support has been terrific; I usually hear back within a day or two and get help until my concerns are resolved.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
One of the few converters that creates well encoded results. No timestamps problems - playing smooth all the way. A bit expensive though.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
KRIS-SILON
11 October 2011
I have been long looking for one solution that does it all and that just works - Roadmovie is the one. As a non-english speaking person I very much appreciate the ability to include soft and hardcoded subtitles. And whenever there is a problem, the developer answers almost instantly. Definitely recommended !
Like (1)
Version 2.3
CatherineB
25 February 2011
The program claims to export to "popular devices", but exporting to MPEG-2 DVD (which is a very popular device) is UNsupported. The program claims "SSA/ASS subtitles support", but font styles and text positions (specified inside SSA/ASS subtitles) are UNsupported.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
26 May 2011
CatherineB, you're absolutely right, at $29 RoadMovie is pretty halfassed comparatively. I inherited it at work, and it's been on my computer for two years, during which I have not used it even once because it's just so weak. Thanks for stimulating me to nuke it from my Mac to make room for something of value, like iFFmpeg — which has become the best video encoder/transcoder/re-/muxer/etc. app available in probably the shortest development time in the history of electricity — and for only $10 !!! Finally we have an even more capable replacement for VisualHub. iFFmpeg can do almost anything and is easy peasy to use. However, if you're shooting for professional quality encoding it's not quite as much a no-brainer as VH was, but it can achieve video quality that VH could only dream of — if you know what you're doing. And if it doesn't have a feature you need, just email the developer and he'll usually add it for you within a few weeks. I always try to remux a vid into a more appropriate container for my needs before going down the transcoding route, and for that there are a couple of easier apps (primarily remux, ps3muxer, Vidconvert, Permute, or for Matroska files there's MKVTools, among others). Finally the Mac has some options for dealing with Matroskas.
Like (1)
myschizobuddy-1
myschizobuddy-1
12 September 2011
agree this definitely needs MPEG-2 DVD support. has a really awesome ui though
Like
Michael-Sebrecht
09 February 2011
It does what it suppose to do. Subtitling movies. And does a good job at it too. Recommended.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Revco
04 February 2011
Should also mention that soft subtitled movies when viewed on my Touch (4th Gen) have weird line spacing. On a two line subtitle the top line is where you would expect it but the bottom line is right at the bottom edge of the screen.
Like
Version 2.1
Revco
04 February 2011
I'm using RoadMovie 2.1 and soft subtitled movies just show up as black screens in Front Row. Audio works though. But I can't understand what they're saying.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
05 February 2011
Unfortunately this is an old bug in Front Row. It has been reported to Apple several times over the years but they seem to have stopped the development of Front Row.
Like
Sgt-Bob-IE
10 January 2011
This is a great update to RoadMovie. The ability to use ffmpeg and to create your own presets witht the ffmpeg command line is a real plus. Overall a great update to an already excellent application.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
Rmara
12 August 2010
I recently bought Roadmovie for mac. not only the app integrates really great in mac environment, but it's also great at what it is supposed to do : translate movie for macintosh devices like ipod, appletv, adding subs etc ... It really works like magic. And if like me you unfortunately have a problem with the app due to the configuration of your mac, the developer really does an amazing job at correcting the bugs, in a very short time, so you can keep going with the app with fun and ease... So in the end the bug correction is really personalized ... Frankly I didn't expect so much. Greta app ! great developer ! Great reactivity ! A must have !
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
RasmusJ
31 July 2010
Wow... Already from the start and first versions of RoadMovie I have been using it with great pleasure. And now with iPad export it's just amazing. Grab your copy today, you won't regret it. 5 stars from here. - RasmusJ, Denmark
Like (1)
Version 1.9.3
Sgt-Bob-IE
09 December 2009
I really like roadmovie as it has everything all in one and support for the turbo.264. I love the auto tagging, awesome. But I can't seem to export to mp4 only mov, that seems a bit weird to me. If you could export to mp4, I would have given 5 stars.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Diegutus
13 November 2009
For non-english speaking countries subtitles are essential. It's the only way to watch shows that will not ever be released here, so RoadMovie is great for me. I love the easy way to convert videos for my iPhone and the support for Elgato Turbo, which makes this process really fast!
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Pleids
13 November 2009
First time I took a shot at this. Always ignored this because of the not so nice screenshot. Roadmovie seems to use QT for doing all the hard work. Snow Leopard can do all this converting as a standard. So to be a useful extra converter tool it should offer some extras like functionality and above all support for extra codecs without the need to install optional codec libraries. Started to drag some vid files. Bugger, it doesn't recognize .flv (flash video) and .mkv (Matroska)?!? Really, this is not acceptable these days. Both are used a lot by many! If you want to be taken seriously as a converter tool both are a must have feature. At this point it already receives the tag 'Not for me'. Did some more tests with plain standard video files (mpg, mp4, divx and xvid). It could not play the xvid files. It just displays a black screen. Strange, because it accepts it nonetheless. Didn't try to convert these files but I am guessing it will not work either. Come to think of it: A handy real preview of the final movie quality would be very helpful. This makes so more sense then just adding a fancy video player. A stitching feature would be nice too. I convert a lot of video file to my PS3 so the next thing I tried was the PS3 presets. In short, the PS3 480p preset seems to work. the PS3 720p didn't play on my PS3 slim. I also noticed some graphics glitches here and there in the user interface and why the developer shows the progress in fps is a mystery to me. Speaking of the user interface. It was a bit confusing at times. Some windows are not user friendly to say the least. Though I like the way it displays the files dragged into the screen. Nuffsaid, this converter has some nice ideas but because it falls short on many aspects I cannot recommend Roadmovie all. A nice idea only isn't worth a whopping $25. Let alone its absence of some very important video formats (Again, FLV and MKV are must have these days !!!). In the end it doesn't do a lot more compared to QuickTimeX which is standard in Snow Leopard. Suggestion: Handbreak is free and supports most video formats and does the job nicely. If you really want to fork out $10 I can highly recommend iVideo Converter. Both are way better and above all .. useable.
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
Percusso
12 November 2009
I've been using RoadMovie for a few months now and am loving it. I use it to convert to AppleTV format and it works well. I love the way it automatically finds and adds metadata for videos. It's replaced the veneral VisualHub (RIP) in my workflow.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
Nathancollings
11 November 2009
A converting for $25 has to be something special. Most converters are free or have a low price tag. Tried this but in fact it lacks in many aspects. The iPod preset certainly is not working on my iPod. This is for sure something todo with the moov being written to the end of the file and not at the start. OK, not all iPod needs this moov at the beginning but make sure before popping up a whopping $25. A hugh disappointment is the absence of settings. I mean, for $25 you would except some control. The user interface is not my likening but this is offcourse a personal touch. Some people would like this I guess. Conclusion: No, this converter does not convince me in any way and looking at the very (read: V E R Y) high price tag this is a waste of money. Avoid at all costs - well for about $5 it may well be suited for some.
Like (4)
Version 1.9.1
4 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
11 November 2009
It would be nice and fair if you reviewers actually had a proper look at the application before writing a review. You say "A hugh disappointment is the absence of settings. I mean, for $25 you would except some control." This is so totally wrong! Take a look under Window in the main menu and you will find Presets and Destinations. These are fully customizable. You can install several components (like the x264 component mentioned below) and control every aspect available to that component. I can't understand at all how you can call this "absence of settings"??? Maybe I should put Presets and Destination buttons in the main toolbar so you "one-minute-reviewers" will find them ;-) When it comes to the default iPod exporter it's just using Apple's own built-in settings. If these settings aren't suitable for you just go ahead and create a new Preset. It makes me sad to see people try an application for a couple of minutes and write a one star review :-(
Like
Version 1.9.1
Nathancollings
Nathancollings
11 November 2009
Are you serious? Common, when someone is asking a lot of money (and yes, $25 is a lot of money compared to the competition) one could expect a very complete package. For me Roadmovie isn't complete to say the least. It doesn't work 100% and lacks advanced options and features. I just took some time to check out all known competition. Going from free to ... yes $25 (Roadmovie that is). RoadMovie is the most expensive. Go figure. Most are rated at about $5-$15 which is very reasonable. A one star rating is very accurate imo. I would give it 2 or even 3 stars when it was free (or a low price tag). Instead of moaning of low rating reviews you should listen to the users. Especially if the asking price is high. Users aren't stupid you know!
Like
Version 1.9.1
Jogga
Jogga
11 November 2009
You say: "For me Roadmovie isn't complete to say the least. It doesn't work 100% and lacks advanced options and features." And as I said before, a lot of people like RoadMovie for it's simplicity. The advanced features are there, but for most users there is no point in tweaking exporter presets. It can be done easily, but it's not in your face when you start the application. So, please specify what "advanced options and features" you are looking for?
Like
Version 1.9.1
Pleids
Pleids
13 November 2009
I agree with Nathan. A whopping $25 is way too much at this stage. I got some spare time and did some testing. A wrote a small review. Hopes it helps improving Roadmovie.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Rhaps
26 October 2009
Great software. Work perfectly and ofter updated to support new iTunes version. Would love to see Automator actions added to automate encoding.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
alex-haggins
25 October 2009
As usual I try almost evert available converter so RoadMovie was next. Didn't know of this one though. First, it didn't accept several video files I have (.mts, .ts, .flv, m2ts, .pgm, .qcp, .swf and some other). So I tried some .mpg and mp4 files to convert to iPod, PSP and X360. One mp4 didn't work although it works for QT and several other converters. Anyway, the converted files did not work on my iPod Video (iPod Video needs a moov header and this is not supported by RoadMovie). The PSP files also did not play on my PSP3000 and PSP slim. The X360 files did play but with black borders. Converting was slow in general and only used 1 CPU core of 4 available CPU cores on my Mac Pro. Asking $25 for this is just too much knowing there are other free, cheaper and better alternatives (Handbreak and the very powerfull iVideo Converter). If the asking price was a lot lower I would give it a 2 1/2 stars. But for being very expensive for something that doesn't cut it to today standards I give this a one star rating. Avoid.
Like (4)
Version 1.9
2 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
28 October 2009
If you want hundreds of knobs to turn and support for every imaginable format I guess you're right. But RoadMovie is all about getting things done in a easy, stylish and painless way. The average user has probably never heard of the formats you mention above. People just want the job done and that is what my application does, and it does it well. You also say that the files converted for iPod Video doesn't play because it "needs a moov header and this is not supported by RoadMovie". Every QuickTime movie has a moov atom and it's obviously supported. What you are saying is just plain wrong! I have a PSP myself (the slim & lite 3004). The converted files works just fine. Make sure your memory stick is formatted in the PSP and put the converted videos in the VIDEO folder. Regarding speed I can say that in RoadMovie (at least under 10.6 Snow Leopard) is well up there with those FFMPEG based encoders. Since QuickTime is component based you can download and use several encoders based on the FFMPEG or x264 projects, if speed is an issue for you. Download the x264Encoder from http://korta.nu/5cc6 and make a custom preset. Voila, you have all those knobs to turn in RoadMovie as well ;-) 25 bucks is in my oppinion very reasonable. You get a lot more automation than in those apps you mention above and you also get unique features like automatic upload and subtitle support.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Nathancollings
Nathancollings
11 November 2009
I use iVC for some time now and it is fully automated. For me, RoadMovie has a very long road to travel until it can compete with most converters. It just comes short in several areas. Not mature enough imo
Like
Version 1.9.1
Exy
22 October 2009
converted videos still don't work on PSP (Unsupported data), my firmware is 5.50 definitively good to play videos, file is in the VIDEO folder on the memory stick, and the same video file converted using Visual Hub works flawlessly on the same PSP.
Like (2)
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
22 October 2009
Sorry to hear that you can't get the PSP encoding to work. I don't really know why, but if you send me a mail we can try to find a solution. Please mail to jogga at bitfield dot se and we will sort this out. Thx!
Like
Version 1.9
Tekl
18 October 2009
Does it support soft subtitles?
Like
Version 1.9
zx
12 October 2009
I want to love it but it's soooo slow...500mb .mkv to AppleTv took 51min! *Using: MacPro + Elgato Turbo.264 HD!
Like (3)
Version 1.9
4 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
12 October 2009
That is a pretty standard conversion speed. Btw, your Mac Pro can probably encode things much faster than the Turbo.264 can... Turbo.264 really only provides a speed boost on systems with 1 or 2 cores. If you have 4 or 8 cores and are using an app that can take advantage of them, your Mac Pro will do the encoding MUCH faster (applies to any app, not just iVC).
Like (1)
Version 1.9
-M-S-
-M-S-
12 October 2009
Er-- I meant RoadMovie. Although you might want to try iVideo Converter. :)
Like
Version 1.9
zx
zx
12 October 2009
You are correct regarding the Turbo.264. My tests showed that in both cases speeds where pretty much the same. But "the late" VisualHub is still much faster. I would love to know how to duplicate the converssion setting from VisualHub to RoadMovie so i can do a fair compression.
Like
Version 1.9
Jogga
Jogga
12 October 2009
Hi MISHA and ZX. This is what I have found out. It seems like there is a performance problem with the Turbo.264, HD resolution movies and subtitle tracks! In my tests there is a huge difference. Exporting a 720p mkv without subtitles run a approximately 20 fps, which is pretty darn good. Exporting the exact same 720p mkv with subtitles run at 1 fps??? For some reason the Turbo framework has a hard time encoding the subtitle track with the video track. I will try to figure out why. Please email me if you want to help me test this further... For all you other RoadMovie users out there I'm glad to annonce that the QuickTime exporters in software (iPhone, iPod and Apple TV) is at least twice as fast in 10.6 Snow Leopard as they where before in 10.5 Leopard!!!
Like
Version 1.9
Stephentgv20
08 October 2009
A must have application for movie collectors, iPod owners. This application is very fast simple to use I have been using it mainly for adding chapters, and embellisching English subtitles for many of my favorite Indian movies. I was terribly dissapointed when version 1.8.5 did not work with Leopard snow, as I was addicted to its use. Within 30 minutes, I got a reply from the company with the beta update upload, apparently still being fine tuned, that seems to work even faster than 1.8.5. This software company is very proud of its software, and takes very good care of its customers. I have received replies to previous inquiries within an hour in the past. Need I say more? I strongly recommend it. Buy it. S.P.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.5
Troybolo
23 June 2009
I stumbled on to Road Movie because Subler, essentially a great little free program was creating unreable video files. I got tired of troubleshooting it. Then found Road Movie. I've been very happy with it. Before Road Movie I was using 3 different applications in my workflow to convert, add meta data and add chapters. Now I'm down to one app and can do it in batches. I use it with and without the Turb.264 HD depending on what I need to do and it works well. Speed, even on my previous generation Core Duo 2.0ghz Mac Mini with 2GB ram is very good. The site/company is also very supportive, responding to questions quickly and with helpful answers. For a novice it seems very easy to use. For someone with more experience it has enough flexibility to be a very useful part of the video workflow toolkit. $25 is extremely reasonable for everything you get.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.4
Marc1970
25 May 2009
Simple but works ok. Although presets for psp and Wii doesn't work. They do not play at all. CPU usage peaks in such a way my Macbook Pro totally hogs the system. In the end there are other better, free and cheaper solutions for this.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.2
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
26 May 2009
Presets for Wii and PSP works just fine. Follow the instructions on http://www.bitfield.se/support. QuickTime is also going to have a major update in 10.6 Snow Leopard. Hopefully we will see some major speed improvements and better handling of multi-core processors. All applications based on QuickTime will benefit from this, including RoadMovie ;-) And if you think the speed is too slow, get an Elgato Turbo.264 HD. Use the Turbo with RoadMovie and leave everything else behind in the dust. It's way, way faster than anything else, including all FFMPEG-based applications.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.2
Existenz-78
05 May 2009
This is a great app, but what about multi core, multi processor support? old Visualhub vas a way faster. Also files created from roadmovie has audio track Before the video, also when the source had the video before. And the psp software don't recognize such made files. Someone kows a tip for this?
Like
Version 1.8.1
1 answer(s)
Jogga
Jogga
26 May 2009
Make sure you have the latest PSP firmware. Mount your PSP memory stick using USB or a memory stick reader. Make sure you have a folder named VIDEO at the root level of the memory stick. If not, you need to format your memory stick. Export your movie using the PSP preset and save it to the VIDEO folder on the memory stick. Done! You can also create a Destination that points directly to the VIDEO folder on the PSP so you don't even have to move them in there manually ;-)
Like
Version 1.8.2
Miniron
27 April 2009
The batch option is great. If you dont want a .mov file leave out the "add metadata" option. Great graphic and really user friendly!
Like
Version 1.8.1
Leppe
26 April 2009
Ignore my previous comment please. I've solved the problem. Here is some feedback (if someone else should have the same issues) -First of all, I had the latest version for the Elgato Turbo.264. Version 1.3 is the most recent one (today)! -Since I own this stick for some time I updated the Elgate software via the build in software update function. I was always up to date this way. -But it seems there is a "small" problem when you used the build in auto update function from Elgato's software regarding RoadMovie. -The solution is to manual download the most recent version (today version 1.3) from the Elgato Web site. -Quit & Trash your current version from the Elgato software, even when it's up to date and version 1.3! -Install the latest version (today version 1.3). That's simply drag & drop from the image into the Programs folder. -Launch the new downloaded version from the Elgato software (make sure your Elgato USB stick is attach to your Mac). -Depending your hardware the Elgato software will launch as before. Or you will guided to the process. -You can Quit the Elgato software now and you will see that the Elgato Turbo.264 will work again with RoadMovie. It seems that RoadMovie was the only program that did not worked (on my hardware) with the Elgato software (version 1.3) which was updated with Elgato's build in software update! The solution is plain simple ;). Dowload the most recent version from the Elgato Web site for your hardware (Turbo.264 & Turbo.264 HD)! Trash the Elgato software you use & install the version you just downloaded. That's it ;). Many thanks to the 'Support Team" from RoadMovie! They are, as written before, great & very helpful! I give 5 stars "+" now :-D.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.1
Leppe
26 April 2009
Great program! But... When they updated to version 1.8.x I lost support for my Elgato Turbo.264!!! The Turbo.264 works fine in all other programs so there is nothing wrong with the stick. It seems that the new Elgato Turbo.264 HD works fine with the latest RoadMovie Releases. It just to bad this issue is not solved yet. This software is so much better then the one from Elgato but now I'm forced to use older RoadMovie releases :(. I hope this issue will be solved soon. And my Turbo.264 is recogniced again like in Quicktime, Toast, EyeTV,etc. Never the less my issue, this is a 5 star program! With regards.
Like
Version 1.8.1
Jordi-Llonch
08 November 2008
This is a big application, simple with a great "mac" style. Also, support from developer it's a must!
Like
Version 1.4.5
Soulslave
14 July 2008
subtitles wont appear on my ipod after rendering on roadmovie. they do on itunes though. and everytime i set on keep current format it comes out .mov other than that, works great
Like
Version 1.4.2
Ridmaur
18 April 2008
Fabulous tool. I had downloaded all seasons of Boston Legal, found subtitles for it and RoadMovie just easily converted all the AVI's to my AppleTV. Elgato's Turbo.264 is definitely a must with this tool but that is valid for any conversion to Apple's video format.
Like
Version 1.2
Doug-S-
14 April 2008
I can't find this on the website. Does anyone know if the subs are hard encoded and the video is re-encoded with the subs on top or if it exports a video that can enable and disable subtitles?
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Ridmaur
Ridmaur
18 April 2008
Subtitles are re-encoded as far as I understand. So they become an intrinsic part of the video.
Like
Version 1.2
Fardilha
11 April 2008
RoadMovie is SubMerge big brother. I don't care that much about the ftp/remote send of the processed movies, but the batch ability is really useful. That alone made me buy RoadMovie instead of SubMerge. So far I'm quite happy with it. It does what its supposed to do without any kind of complications. For me it's the best tool for this kind of job on a Mac. Thank you Bitfield for making this great tool. If I could make a suggestion: The addition of meta tags editing is good, but a direct connection to MetaX would be even better. Pedro Fardilha
Like
Version 1.1
Gideon-De-Kok
24 March 2008
Wow... Every now and then an application appears which makes you wonder how you could do without. RoadMovie is one of those programs. Before RoadMovie my typical workflow for encoding movies (for my AppleTV) consisted of a complex combination of VisualHub and custom subbing scripts. With of course no way of automatization in case of multiple encodes. Another problem was that I couldn't explain my workflow to for instance my gf. RoadMovie simplifies the same workflow with a drop-dead gorgeous interface and simplicity. Batch-encoding multiple movies works like a charm (and works for my girlfriend! ;) ). One negative point though; Without a fast processor or the Elgato Turbo.264 stick, encoding is dog-slow using Quicktime in comparison with FFMPEG. But maybe we will see FFMPEG integration in a future version? ;) Nevertheless, I can't recommend this application more to everyone who has problems with their current encode & subbing workflow.
Like
Version 1.0.1
1 answer(s)
Longjohn8
Longjohn8
28 December 2008
how to the file sizes compare to those produced in Turbo.264 and what does Roadmovie do that VisualHub does not?
Like
Version 1.4.5