Back to Optimism page
Optimism free download for Mac

Optimism Reviews

3.8.4
24 June 2012

Health diary software to monitor your mental health.

Dremwkr
22 January 2010

Most helpful

As a combat veteran I find Optimism helpful in dealing with my PTSD. It is simple, easy to use, and I can print out reports of how things went since my last Drs. visit that help us both in terms of my therapy, and adjustments made in it. In others words, it just works as it is supposed to. The price is reasonable, and its interface is mac-like. I have found it a valuable tool and recommend it.
Like (6)
Version 3.2.0

Read 15 Optimism User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jonathan-Lentz
13 February 2017
Yes, contains a Key logger, WTF?
Like
Version 3.8.4
SDream
22 July 2016
WARNING ! Optimism Helper App v3.8.2 seems to contain a OSX KEYLOGGER !!!
Like
Version 3.8.4
outer
25 June 2012
v3.8.4 (still) crashes upon launch under Lion 10.7.4. Developer, while very responsive, pleads me wait to for the next one. App still tries to install background monitors I really do not wish to have happening without my permission. What to say? A unique, well designed application hobbled by lack of ongoing support and continued subterfuge.
Like
Version 3.8.4
outer
30 October 2011
v3.8.2 crashes upon launch under OS X Lion 10.7.2. Developer has been notified, and has identified a point of failure. Too soon to see whether that will result in a version upgrade or a silent fix.
Like
Version 3.8.2
outer
30 March 2010
WARNING: this app tries its best to install a background startup application called "Optimism Agent" into your System. I suspect this enables its scheduling and web synching features. Call me paranoid, but I consider this an outrageous abuse of my licensing fee.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.0
2 answer(s)
Strider72
Strider72
18 August 2010
Respectfully, I think you are overreacting. Small "agent" apps are common, and easily turned off if you don't want them. If this were a rootkit or otherwise hidden or virus-like, I would agree with you, but helper apps and scheduler agents are common. Heck, even iTunes has a helper app like this.
Like (4)
Version 3.6.0
zo219
zo219
28 October 2011
Anyone similarly concerned can, in Lion, go into System Preference/Users & Groups (similar panel in Snow Leopard) and click on Login Items, and remove or add whatever you like. You can also poke around in Launch Agents ... but, wait, if you know to do that, you don't need me to tell you. These "agents" or "helpers" are sometimes annoying but only a part of the app in question.
Like (1)
Jrnyoflife
26 January 2010
Early Review, will add more later I am on disability for depression. I have only been using this software for a few days, and I can tell already that it will be invaluable for understanding the factors that can help treat my depression and lead to a healthier lifestyle. The program is very easy to use, yet is very powerful and flexible. There is also an area for daily notes and short and long term goals. The program produces impressive graphs. I haven't used it long enough to understand how they will be helpful but obviously it helps identify trends in a visual way. The program also has good reporting features. Two thumbs up and 5 stars! Kevin Fosler
Like (6)
Version 3.2.0
Dremwkr
22 January 2010
As a combat veteran I find Optimism helpful in dealing with my PTSD. It is simple, easy to use, and I can print out reports of how things went since my last Drs. visit that help us both in terms of my therapy, and adjustments made in it. In others words, it just works as it is supposed to. The price is reasonable, and its interface is mac-like. I have found it a valuable tool and recommend it.
Like (6)
Version 3.2.0
Hello-
22 January 2010
Have a nice day. Or else... you'll be diagnosed as ill. Gotta go kick somebody's a** now.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.0
Topgun
09 November 2009
Can't run with Intel, 10.5.8 :(
Like
Version 2.9.7
1 answer(s)
Topgun
Topgun
09 November 2009
I thought updating mac to Snow Leopard (10.6.1) would solve the issue, however, it didn't. Wrote an email to the publisher...hope they'll help =)
Like
Version 2.9.7
Frodo-life
25 October 2009
good app but would suggest two things: 1. iPhone app so you can track and enter data when not at home 2. Long term reports for more then 64 days 3. More options to customise and show stats you need i.e disable medication etc
Like (1)
Version 2.9.7
scottwild-co
24 March 2009
I had purchased the application in its very early days and have seen constant improvements, each one enhancing the experience of using the software and making it even more of a pleasure to use. You really have to try it for yourself too see if you can benefit from it. I use this application to track my ups and downs which it displays in a graphical view. As for Support well it is excellent. From general questions to lost license keys, james bishop has been quick to help & resolve on all the issues i have emailed about. *****Highly Recommended*****
Like (4)
Version 2.9
Janhar
04 January 2009
After 1 1/2 day still no serial received.
Like
Version 2.7
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
04 January 2009
Please contact nate AT macupdate DOT com or misha AT macupdate DOT com
Like
Version 2.7
zo219
01 December 2008
Damn, I wish this were a tad readier for prime time. Like asking $29.95 for an app with zero documentation? And it sure looks like something's a bit crippled until you do pay. All this needs to be made clear if you wanna play with the big boys. Pretty, though.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
2 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
13 December 2008
"All this needs to be made clear if you wanna play with the big boys. Pretty, though." - Thanks for laying it all out for us, I think you should contact the developers and tell them they should hire you if they ever want to be successful. Completely unnecessary comment. You must be a "big boy", please link me to your app? And no, I don't have anything to do w/ this program or dev.
Like (1)
Version 2.7
james-bishop
james-bishop
30 December 2008
Hello, I want to clarify these points. There is documentation throughout the software, but it is contained in different sections on the interface rather than in a single menu item. This is so that users can find information on what they are using quickly and easily. The small orange question marks denote the sections of documentation. There is nothing crippling the software during the trial period; it is fully functional. After the trial period finishes further entries cannot be saved to the database. Regards, James
Like (8)
Version 2.7
Serbian
30 May 2008
Great application for what its made for...Works great and helps to keep organized and track the possible unwanted triggers much easier than with tons of papers...no problems at all..
Like (3)
Version 1.4
Bumbleb
29 February 2008
Why is the app a folder instead of a real application? It seems weird. The app itself is good though. Though I think 29$ is a bit too much in these early stages of development. In the future it might be $29 worth. Keep up the good work developer;-)
Like
Version 1.0.4
5 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
29 February 2008
I just now downloaded the file to check it, it is a normal app that resides within a folder.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
29 February 2008
Can you launch it without uncompressing the file EWSMacCompress.tar.gz first? I find that messy, but it may just be me.
Like
Version 1.0.4
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
29 February 2008
I do not want to launch it, I have no use for the app and do not want any extra files on my Mac that I do not need.
Like
Version 1.0.4
Bumbleb
Bumbleb
29 February 2008
I fully understand, I'm the same way;-)
Like
Version 1.0.4
anonymous-dingo-729
anonymous-dingo-729
03 January 2009
Admin not heard of CleanApp/AppZapper?
Like
Version 2.7