Back to FontXChange page
FontXChange free download for Mac

FontXChange Reviews

5.2
15 March 2019

Convert fonts to OpenType, PostScript or TrueType.

Doug-S-
24 April 2009

Most helpful

This is a great little app but a good example of pricing that doesn't reflect need. I'm not going to say this program isn't stable—it is—or that it isn't easy to use—it really is—or anything like that because I'd be lying. This app is brilliant. It does exactly what you'd like. What's more it does it fast. I can't confirm this but I'm relatively certain that it fixed a few fonts while it was converting them. Or, at least, made them stop causing problems. The problem lies with the price. To give people an example of other programs in that cost the same or less we have VMware's Fusion, Panic's Coda, Apple iWorks, Apple iLife, OS X... Starting to see a trend? You can get some extremely powerful programs with a hefty amount of features for less than you can this program. This program is great but far over-priced. After all if something is too expensive it doesn't matter how great it is it still won't sell. $15-35 would be a good price range for his app. Any more than that and people just won't buy it. Too bad, they'll be missing out on a great app. I myself am going to find an alternative because this one is just too expensive.
Like (7)
Version 1.7

Read 17 FontXChange User Reviews

Rate this app:

peterbreis
18 February 2018
FontXChange 5.1 running on Sierra 10.12.6 occasionally locks up or crashes when it gets a font or format it doesn't like* but overall it does a remarkable job. It even converts TrueType fonts to true PostScript otf files so you don't get all the multiple edit points that seem to be a hallmark of PC designer vector files. If a font does not convert in FontXChange I don't trust it anyway, and converted postscript otf run smoother in most Apps. It is not cheap but if you are a business and simply want less trouble with the basic commodity of design (fonts) or access to some old font formats it is worth the money. I'd love for it to do one more trick that would save us a stack of time, let us organise unorganised fonts into families so they open together in FontBook and Apps. * Can't see the "Repair Font" actually does anything.
Like
Version 5.1
Eric6
10 January 2018
Is Fontgear still operating? I have tried contacting them several times over the past few weeks but never got a reply.
Like
Version 5.1
476429
25 July 2016
I'm sure this app is feature rich for the task of converting fonts. However, if you only need to convert a couple of fonts, FontForge can do the job for free.
Like
Version 5.1
Epantaleon
08 October 2015
CAUTION! Version 4.0.0 does not work with OSX 10.11 El Capitan. Before that, it has been a great product.
Like
Version 4.0.0
4 answer(s)
Fontgear-Support
Fontgear-Support
17 November 2015
The update for version 5 is FREE for all FontXChange customers. Just use your current serial number.
Like (2)
Epantaleon
Epantaleon
18 November 2015
The update is ready. I tested it and, once again a great app.
Easy to use and always works.
Like (1)
Hermie
Hermie
23 November 2015
Sadly doesn't seem to work on 10.9.5, while I read system req. 10.7 Up. Opened a ticket but no solution yet.
Like
Hermie
Hermie
30 November 2015
Thank you John for the quick fixes on the 10.9.5 hang issue and the extension problem. All's fine again!
Like
Fced
23 July 2012
Very useful to Snow or upper system users which have old OS9 fonts to convert... It work perfectly... I put 4 stars in Value, but it's very relative, in comparison a font price, 99$ is nothing... I put 3.5 stars in Stability, because sometimes FF process is crashing, but it seem to don't cause problem to Fontxchange because the software is doing the job...
Like (1)
Version 4.0.0
Maclover1-1
31 May 2012
Seems unable to choose an export folder on Lion.. somehow incompatible with the Finder ?!? Have to Force Quit it to regain control of my computer.. Odd. Had not used this for ages.. and just noticed this.
Like
Version 3.1.1
macplytdy
18 April 2012
Not worked for me. In fact it corrupted my most basic font Times New Roman so it shows a decorative face when viewing documents using TNR.
Like
Version 3.1.1
1 answer(s)
FontGear Inc
FontGear Inc
22 May 2012
Not sure how it could have corrupted a font since FontXChange does nothing to the original font file (it creates a converted version in a new folder).
Like
Rubaiyat
09 February 2012
A long time user but hadn't upgraded due to not having any recent fonts to convert. Glad to see they have included the ability to import folders. It still needs some tools to turn off non-candidate fonts and duplicates. Also I still need to quit and restart just to clear off finished fonts. Faster than selecting and removing everything from the list. A "Clear" button should do the job. Otherwise it continues to do a good job of converting to otf and web fonts. It remains a very useful tool in my arsenal. Not sure I'd pay $99 for a new licence though.
Like
Version 3.1.1
macplytdy
25 September 2011
not as described/ will not perform but support is great. Can't say the same for the product. Too many glitches EVERYtime I go to give it one more try, after all I paid for it.
Like
Version 3.1.1
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
07 December 2010
I like FontXChange and use it regularly. But version 3 changes the window background from alternating light blue and white lines to a dark charcoal gray which I find disagreeable. There are some places where this kind of interface color works; in my opinion FontXChange is not one of them. It seems like they changed it just for the sake of change without regard to how useful or appealing it would be.
Like
Version 3.0.0
Rubaiyat
08 June 2010
Fast, clean application. Lets me convert all those odds and sods PC fonts particularly the ttf and PC type 1 with the cryptic names to otf which I mark as conversions, because there may be an issue with glyph sets. To those who ask why not run them as is, in OSX? 1. Can't use PC Type 1 2. PC type 1 fonts don't preview in Finder 3. Names are usually indecipherable in older PC fonts 4. It acts as a verification of the font. 5. Most modern software runs better with otf fonts 6. They are now completely cross-platform without needing to check and double check. 7. Can bypass the non-embed flag in PC fonts 8. Can now create web fonts!!!! Yay!!!! Only things I'd ask for is different file selection and grouping in same folder of font familes/collections. I'd like to be able to browse to a folder full of fonts and select the folder and tell it to convert with optionally a separate target folder for the converted fonts, with a log listing the results. If the interface stays as is, I'd like it to auto-deselect fonts already converted in the list, so I don't have to manually do it or delete them.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.0
1 answer(s)
Fontgear-Support
Fontgear-Support
09 June 2010
Thanks for the comments - glad you found it useful. Agree with you on the PC font questions. Also, I'll pass along your helpful suggestions.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.0
Knucklesh
30 October 2009
This appears to be just a front end, albeit a relatively nice one, to the open source fontforge ( http://fontforge.sourceforge.net ) library. If you don't mind working under x-windows, download the mac binaries, which includes a gui, and save yourself $100.
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Fontgear-Support
Fontgear-Support
08 September 2010
nope - ff is included as a lib, just like freetype is (and others).
Like
Version 2.5.0
Béla
29 October 2009
This is an attractive, intuitive application. Works quickly and superficially appears to work well. Be very careful using postscript type1 -> otf conversions. In my experience (~50 fonts across many different foundries and designers) essentially no valid kerning pair data is transferred to the otf. Hence, the conversions cannot be used in text layouts or anywhere else the fonts' original kerning data are needed. It might be fine for display fonts where manual kerning is appropriate anyway. This is a particularly egregious bug for a purported professional typographic application. Caveat emptor! As an aside, Font Gear, Inc. has been contacted about this problem and was sent comprehensive examples. Their only reply so far was a suggestion to turn OFF the preference item and see what happens. (perhap unsurprisingly, that resulted in no kerning data at all). Since, I have received no acknowledgment of the problem, much less an explanation or anticipated time frame for a fix.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Fontgear-Support
Fontgear-Support
05 November 2009
This is just not accurate. We've reviewed the concerns mentioned here and as it turns out the converted fonts in question included all the kerning pairs stored in several kerning tables with sub-tables for different script and languages (Greek, Latin, et al). This is how kerning pairs are to be stored in OpenType fonts per the Adobe OpenType file spec (http://partners.adobe.com/public/developer/opentype/index_table_formats.html) and others. Hope that helps!
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
Donnrichards
17 August 2009
Great Product, Rescued my older fonts. Fixed broken fonts that FontDoctor was unable to fix. Converted Windows TrueType fonts to OpenType for my Mac as well. (I am a commercial printer) )Very simple to use. I am very pleased with the application. Poor Customer Support & Service. eMails not replied to. Answering Machine when calling toll free number, leave a message. (Apparently the company has no employees)?
Like (3)
Version 2.0
Tim27
16 August 2009
I am kind of confused as to why one would need such an app if you're using Mac OS X? Since it can handle any type of font, what is the point? I suppose if you wanted to trade with Windows counterparts? But if you wanted that then you are probably already a font developer and have a font creation program, otherwise you could find the same font someone on the internet. I suppose it could be useful under certain constrained circumstances, but not for 100 bucks.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Libcrypt
Libcrypt
16 August 2009
Mac OS X cannot handle just any type of font, e.g., PC-style type 1 postscript fonts are unusable.
Like (3)
Version 2.0
Tim27
Tim27
16 August 2009
I have never once in my 15 year career as a graphic designer come across a Windows postscript font working on a Mac. They have always been truetype or opentype. And if it is a postscript font, that means that someone paid for it and it has licensing restrictions and should not be converted and redistributed to anyone else.
Like (4)
Version 2.0
Sunhill2227
26 April 2009
As previously mentioned, this looks to be a good application. I've had a couple of runs with it, and it certainly does work very well. It would be useful if it were possible to combine fonts in a single "suitcase" rather than creating a folder. Perhaps this can be done with the full version rather than the demo version. As previously mentioned, the cost is prohibitive. I would certainly like to use the full version of this software, but it's a luxury which I would probably only use a dozen times in a year. So it's a shame, but I'll give this a miss. If anyone could suggest an alternative (preferably cheaper if not better), I'd be keen to know.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Doug-S-
24 April 2009
This is a great little app but a good example of pricing that doesn't reflect need. I'm not going to say this program isn't stable—it is—or that it isn't easy to use—it really is—or anything like that because I'd be lying. This app is brilliant. It does exactly what you'd like. What's more it does it fast. I can't confirm this but I'm relatively certain that it fixed a few fonts while it was converting them. Or, at least, made them stop causing problems. The problem lies with the price. To give people an example of other programs in that cost the same or less we have VMware's Fusion, Panic's Coda, Apple iWorks, Apple iLife, OS X... Starting to see a trend? You can get some extremely powerful programs with a hefty amount of features for less than you can this program. This program is great but far over-priced. After all if something is too expensive it doesn't matter how great it is it still won't sell. $15-35 would be a good price range for his app. Any more than that and people just won't buy it. Too bad, they'll be missing out on a great app. I myself am going to find an alternative because this one is just too expensive.
Like (7)
Version 1.7