Back to Librarian Pro page
Librarian Pro free download for Mac

Librarian Pro Reviews

5.0.5
06 October 2019

Complete personal inventory system.

Spanishjohnnyit
14 March 2008

Most helpful

Well, I filed a bug yesterday and today I find an email with an answer and a new version with the bug solved (there's already a 1.2.4)...So kudos to koingo for customer support and quick and good developers! Now it would be great if they get my suggestion to move to something like sqlite from the format they actually use... First class support and very good app
Like (10)
Version 1.2.3

Read 33 Librarian Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

DaveKoch
17 July 2019
Great product - especially the best way to keep track of PDF manuals and 'How To's'
Like
Version 5.0.2
bevrlymcsm23
04 July 2019
First, let me tell you how invaluable Librarian Pro is to me! I have been a volunteer for an incredible organization called Bookshare for probably about seven years now. I was introduced to it way back in 2004 when my daughter, Cindy, who had cerebral palsy wanted to be able to read books independently. We had lots of books in our house, but no way for her to see a list. Later, the reading bug hit our younger daughter, Nichole, and by then my husband and I were full-fledged volunteers scanning an and proofreading books to make them digitally accessible for people with print disabilities. I have been even been known to take my service dog, Daisy, to the library to help me complete collections. Librarian Pro has been allowing us to catalog not only the thousands of books in our home, but our daughter's massive video collection. I highly recommend Librarian Pro all my friends who need to organize any of their media!
Like
Version 5.0.2
JorgeDz
26 June 2019
I can't believe how much this app doesn't even compare with its competition. It blows them all right out of the water, no questions asked. Even Delicious Library takes a backseat to Librarian Pro, and I've used Delicious forever. Looks like it's out with the old and in with the new and absolutely brilliant.
Like
Version 5.0.2
MattCombs
24 June 2019
You can use this app for anything, not just movies and books! I was very pleasantly surprised when I discovered the dynamics of this app and all the possibilities that came with it. I didn't know what I was getting myself into, but I'm glad I do now. I won't be using anything else for as long as I live.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Marie222
20 June 2019
Beautiful, incredibly user-friendly interface. Does everything that other home inventory apps do and then some. I don't feel any need at all to search for an alternative to compare to like I have before with other apps. I believe I've reached the end of the road here after finding this one and the view is breathtaking. Highly, highly recommended.
Like
Version 5.0.2
This isn't just an inventory system. It's an incredible one. Better than anything else I've ever used. Not only is it superior to Delicious Library in my opinion, it's also compatible with it - how can you argue with that? This app has saved me so much time and stress I feel the least I can do is write it a golden review. 10/10 and two thumbs up here for sure.
Like
Version 5.0.2
karen2378965
14 June 2019
A natural addition to my menu bar.
Like
Version 5.0.2
heather A B
12 June 2019
No limits. I was sold on this one the first time I ever used it. You can make your databases as simple or as complicated as you like - the limits here are entirely up to you. Another bonus is that it's compatible with both Mac and Windows. I'm just waiting for an iOS version to take with me on the go and my life will be complete. Keep at it, Koingo. You guys are wonderful.
Like
Version 5.0.2
husgelecse
03 June 2019
Librarian Pro has no limits whatsoever! Delicious Library really limits what you can do with it once you've actually put a collection into the database. I think I've officially been converted… so long, Delicious. It's been fun.
Like
Version 5.0.2
gaedwebmunha
01 June 2019
There's a comfort in knowing that all your possessions are categorized and logged neatly all in one place. My house got broken into a couple of years back and I only wish I'd had this app to look back on and figure out what was missing after the fact. So incredibly useful and easy to apply to your every day life. I swear I'll never live another day without it.
Like
Version 5.0.2
mimoweapi
30 May 2019
I love how you can just straight-up scan things in with the barcode scanner. So simple and friendly. Delicious Library is a thing of the past for me after using this one. I think I need to settle down 'cause I'm about to go and recommend this to everyone I know at this rate.
Like
Version 5.0.2
retocypa
29 May 2019
This app made having my own home library not only so much easier, but also a lot of fun. I can lend out movies or books to friends without needing to worry about remembering who has what. It's all right here in the app.
Like
Version 5.0.2
surapider
26 May 2019
Extremely user-friendly and compatible with third parties. Can seamlessly import all sorts of data from Address Book, Delicious Library, iTunes, and even Amazon! I honestly couldn't be more impressed.
Like
Version 5.0.2
tratolarja
17 October 2018
makes it super easy to remember who i lent my stuff to
Like
Version 4.0.6
sinpaychiking
15 October 2018
thank god for the amazon integration. best app! wish it had better web cam scanning though.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.6
glutliapronal
14 October 2018
Slick solution that helps me manage my movie collections. Love it!
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
1 answer(s)
Pjot
Pjot
13 February 2019
This glutliaprona plus the two above, sinpaychiking and tratolarja, are all fake reviews: Posts 2, Downloads 0, Visit Count 1, member registration between October 14 and October 16, 2018. The Overall rating for Librarian Pro was 3 stars, this version 5 stars thanks to these fake reviews. If a software company so badly needs these fake reviews you'd better stay away from their products.
Like (4)
Derekcurrie
15 May 2018
Version 4.0.1 is now available. "New Feature: Amazon Germany for Web Finder. "New Feature: Amazon France for Web Finder."
Like
Version 4.0
Derekcurrie
21 October 2017
v3.3 is now available.
Like
Version 3.2.9
tmo1138
20 May 2017
How many things can I say that are wrong with this program? Let's get started.. If you create a library, close Librarian Pro and then re-open it, it won't default to the last library opened... there's no setting to enable that.. Librarian Pro treats each library like a Word doc.. when you start.. you start with an empty Library and go from there. Bluetooth scanner support.. doesn't work.. at least not with the one I tried.. there were extra characters being added to the end of the code. I tried modifying the data stream settings for different parity and stop bits.. no luck. No iPhone camera support.. And holding items up to my camera on my computer is ridiculous. Speed? I have a Dual 6 core Mac Pro.. and it still clunks along once the library has about 300 items + image information. It's closest competitor is way beyond this in flexibility, speed and functionality. Just type "librarian pro vs " in Google and you'll find out which one that is..
Like (2)
Version 3.2.6
Macern
10 November 2013
Bought Librarian Pro when it was on promo here back in 2010. Now it will not registered any longer, and Koingo "claims" that MacUpdate have hacked their customer registration database?? So if you have bought any Koingo software through MacUpdate, don't expect the registration to work for long.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
27 November 2013
To state the obvious: MacUpdate has never hacked Koingo Software (or anyone else). This is another false claim Koingo has purported.
Like (4)
bowlerboy-jmb
04 November 2013
In general, I think it is cool that there are some database programs that one can use to obtain, to store, and to index information about media collections, like videos. I like the ability to download useful data on a video, or a book, fif it would make my life easier than tracking my media in the FileMaker databases I had created for such a purpose. So, I am in the process of assessing such database programs in order to settle on one that suits my needs. Below are notes to myself, as I ascertain the strengths and weaknesses of these programs. Right now, the flaws stand out in my mind, so use my opinions and my venting at your own convenience, or not. These notes concern Booxer as compared to Librarian Pro, which I am considering replacing by something more customer friendly for the reasons indicated below. Booxer design flaws and first impressions > No Serial Number field: Where is the field for entering a Serial Number? How is it possible that this designer does not include a Serial Number field by default? Does he think that people sort their video collections by Title? How dumb can you get? > Custom data field Is there even a way to add a custom field? I don't see any. Another oversight. When will designers think in terms of what a customer wants, instead of what the designer wants? > Font size is abyssmally small. This designer set 11 point as the default font size for displaying text. Does he think that his software should run only on ancient Macs with their tiny screens? Has he not heard that people use large displays? Does he not realize that people want the option to set the font size to suit themselves, rather than use a magnifying glass just to read the damn data? Another self-centered software designer who fails to think about design from the customer's viewpoint. How is it possible that such people can learn how to program a Mac but they cannot relate to the needs of the people to whom they are trying to sell their product? It's so frustrating to see such simple, self-destructive mistakes in design. After all, if you can bump up the font size in Apple Mail and in Safari and in online Help and in other applications, why can't programmers allow us the option to adjust the text size bigger or smaller within their applications, too? Or, if such a function is beyond their skills or the capability of the operating system, then I think it behooves them to present a layout that is acceptably legible and big enough to be read without discomfort, instead of presenting us with small window layouts stuffed with tiny fonts! Do they think it costs more to give us fonts in 14 point instead of 11 point? > Inadequate Search capability Koingo's Librarian Pro also suffers from that same inability to let customers adjust the font sizes to something more comfortable to their reading pleasure, and their developer adamantly refuses to deal with fixing the problem. When I suggested doing that, I got embroiled in a series of emails with tech supporter/owner that ended with him saying that Koingo no longer supported version 2, even though I had specified in the very first feature request that I was using version. Foolish, rude man. All he did was waste my time and sidestep the whole point of the feedback. Despite that poor attitude, at least Librarian Pro has a search feature in which you can type in a title and the software performs the search at Amazon.com. As far as I can tell, Booxer can't even do that. That's a deal breaker for me. Am I supposed to know the esoteric UPC number, or the ASIN number, apparently by consulting the packaging or by looking it up online? I find that a designer who tasks the customer to do the work that the software can is rather puniutive, while subjecting me to a time-wasting nusiance. Customers want software to do the work for us in order to save us time, not to make us work harder. So, again, Booxer is flawed with this additonal unfriendly feature. > Poor Use of Screen Real Estate (i.e, Wasted Screen Space) Librarian Pro's developers are horribly guilty on two counts: not only do they make their fonts too tiny, but they also waste 75% of the screen showing nothing but white space. Booxer's developer uses small font in a small window, so he is equally guilty in not using the entire display which is at his disposal. Mac designers like these have a 200-mph Lamboughini car in the driveway, but all they use it for is to drive around a circle hoping not to bump in the curb. > Interface and Layout Design While I like the record layout in Booxer better than Librarian Pro, for at least the Booxer developer shows enough common sense to lay out all the pertinent fields in one screen load. Librarian Pro's developers has taken the approach that screen real estate is meant to be wasted, because all they do is list the fields of data in rows one under the other at the left side of their layout, leaving the remaining 75% absoulutely blank. Either they did that because Koingo's developers take long vacations, or they are just too busy to take the time to actually layout a screen in which the data is cleanly presented in one screen load, or they have no graphic designers on board who passed Graphic Design 101. > Multiple clicks approach is like digging for coal in a mine To make things worse, Librarian Pro presents the data in a record in stages: if you click on an individual record in a list of videos, you get an "in-depth" layout consisting of six separate side-window "tabs" that you have to click on to get specific information, like Basics, Details, Reviews, Ownership, Borrowing, and Additonal. Why the serial number field has to be buried on the "Additional" screen is a mystery to me, for I find it really irritating to have to go through so many mouse-clicks to get to the field where I want to enter a serial number that I use for physically filing and retrieving the disc, when desired. > Good news for obsessives and pack rats Obsessive collectors leaning towards the anal rententive end of the scale may reallly like having 68 different fields into which they can stuff data, but all I really want is to able to index a video by title and by serial number so that I can find it when I want it. Having story summaries and credits is nice, too, but I want a simple database that serves me, not one in which I have to serve it. > Export feature flawed In preparation for moving my data from Librarian Pro to another program, I tried for hours to get a clean tabbed delimited file from Librarian Pro. I could not. Librarian Pro was able to export some fields into discrete, tab-delimited columns that would line up nicely in an Excel spreadsheet, but I could find no way to cleanly export the story Summary field so that its data would be contained within one single cell. Other fields also suffered from this same problem of having data spill over into adjoining cells, thus destroying any possibility of being able to quickly, easily, and accurately import that data into another database, like FileMaker Pro, or any other competitive product. Bad form, Koingo. Addtionally, although Librarian Pro's allows you to export its record in HTML form so that you can view records in a browser, you can neither select the fields that you want to export, nor can you search for the records once the HTML pages are created, a flaw which, to me, makes exporting to HTML entirely useless. If I can't search for the data, what good are those records? Interestingly, Koingo's developers didn't even the common sense to include the Serial Number field in a very small subset of fields that could be exported via a restricted, pre-determined template. Someone needs to be hired in Quality Control at software companies like Koingo and Booxer to act in the role of a Customer Ombudsman, because the software engineers who are coding the programs certainly aren't fulfilling that role! Wise developers will take heed and fix these inadequacies. Others will rationalize why they need not bother. I choose not to support them.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.4
4 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
04 November 2013
Oopos, I meant Booxter, not Booxer. Sorry, about that typo. See, I told you I needed bigger fonts!
Like (3)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
13 November 2013
Update. I have replaced Librarian Pro with dvd pedia, a far superior product in every imaginable way. Better interface design. Cleaner more intelligent layout options and use of screen space. Access to a whole slew of online databases from which to draw data. In fact, I like the design so much that I bought all four of the ...pedia applications. As I write this update, I've just become informed of the brouhaha Koingo Software's CEO has been happening with MacUpdate and his customer base, a self destructive tantrum that has pushed MacUpdate to run a red-letter warning on Koingo Software listings on this site in which MacUpdate recommends its customer to buy any other products but Koingo's. How amusing! How appropriate! Also, in reading over some of the scathing comments by customers, it is obvious that I am not alone in perceiving arrogance and rudeness emanating from this developer, like a foul stench that makes you want to wretch. Character precedes action, and it defines behavior in a variety of forms. I, for one, have no pity in seeing a callous, rude, and customer-insensitive developer and CEO get his overdue comeuppance. He's been cruising for a bruising for a long time in a variety of ways, so he got justifiably slapped around. Don't expect an apology or any character growth in such a person, although that would be the wisest direction he should take now. Arrogant people tend to rationalize their behavior by projecting all their negativity and hostility onto others, thus steeling their own sense of righteousness. He sowed his own fate; now let him suffer it.
Like (3)
-M-S-
-M-S-
27 November 2013
That's for contributing a very comprehensive and thorough review!
Like
Xenophile
Xenophile
07 January 2015
I'm confused, what is Booxer and why are you reviewing it here?

Unless you're a video store owner (do those even exist anymore?) there is little reason to sort by serial number. It's an option, so turn it on if you need it. Easy, isn't it? Not really worth calling the developer "dumb" over it, is it?

Like
Vandulus
24 October 2013
I didn't want to upgrade to Delicious Library 3 and tried this out having previously used the 1.x version. It took me two days to figure out how to import my DL2 library (can't import from a backup or DL2 it turns out, need DL3 and collection files installed!) With 900 books/movies performance was horrid on a 2011 mini with 8 GB of RAM! Redraws of the thumbnails took forever and the screen constantly flickered during any type of redraw. Same problems when I tried the Windows version on my 4 core gaming PC with 16 GB. Asked for a refund as they state they have a 30 day guarantee. Their support site has had an On Vacation message for a month now. They closed my ticket without resolving the issue or issuing a refund and now I'm having to go through PayPal for a refund. I will not be buying any Koingo products in the future as this company has terrible support!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
Koloraro
06 September 2013
I was sincerely interested in testing this new version, as v.2 wasn't useful to me because the poor cpu performance, but still the same issues than v.2 on v.3 and no real improvements on this software far away than the icon redesign and some minor changes. There are a lot of cosmetic improvements that would be "delicious" to the graphic wh**es, but people looking for a good computer performance with huge databases must avoid again Librarian Pro. Of course, test the application first and take your own conclusions. v.3 is easy to use, really easy, and I would recommend it to people with few items in their collections, but if you have more than a hundred of DVDs, books and other stuff think twice. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.4
RRbob
28 August 2013
I have to say that I have been using Koingo's apps since 2004 and have necer had any issues with their software or service. I paid for one of their package deals direct and have always had "no issue" upgrades and instant registration. Data Guardian, or Password Retiever" as it used to be called was the first of Koingo's apps that I used and Librarion Pro looks after my extensive library. Contrary to some revies, I have no problem with continuing to use their products. That is not to say that companies do not make mistakes or lose their way occasionally, but I'm always happy to give them a another chance.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Arcarnat
15 August 2013
See the fiasco with Koingo’s Data Guardian to understand why no one in their right mind would recommend this company's software.
Like
Version 3.0.1
givemebreak
03 April 2011
I love this program for one simple reason. The program imports information on kindle ebooks. I have been using Delicious Library for 2 years. The program cannot locate ebooks which is most of my book collection. Now if I could just find a program that would import software from itunes, I would be so happy.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.4
1 answer(s)
givemebreak
givemebreak
05 December 2011
Update- DL can now import info from kindle books.
Like (1)
Koloraro
06 May 2010
I've been testing this software as I need an app that includes more collections (I'm user of dvdpedia and need to store books and video games too so don't want to pay for different pedia apps). Librarian is a clean software, beautiful, easy to use, but from my point of view, it lacks on more options to grab info from the web (it only uses Amazon as search) an is painful when your database is higher than ridiculous 50 mb. I import my dvdpedia database to Librarian. It was successful including pictures, and was about 1,200 films. When trying to open it Librarian excuses its bad memory performance on a database bigger than 50 MB and opening and working with that database is painful as hell. My iMac is intel, two years old with 3 Gb of Ram and Leopard. I think it's a needed improvement from Koingosoft because Librarian is great, really , but only if you have a small database is worth paying. thanks.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Jfm
Jfm
14 April 2011
Thank you for sharing this useful information, since this is exactly my concern: how does Librarian Pro handle a library of 10'000 to 20'000 titles? If Koingo support could kindly clarify this question, it would be much appreciated.
Like (3)
Wyman13
04 April 2010
The REQUIREMENTS above say "Mac OS X 10.4 or later" but the developer's (Koingo) page says Universal Binary and "Mac OS X 10.5 or later." So which is it? I've got a PowerPC w/Tiger. Please update the requirements to Mac OS X 10.5 if that is indeed the case as the developer's page states. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.5.2
2 answer(s)
Wyman13
Wyman13
04 April 2010
Just downloaded it and opened it and it does in fact work on my 1.5GHz PowerBook w/ Tiger (OS X 10.4) despite the Koingo page saying that it requires Leopard (OS 10.5). Don't know why Koingo wouldn't have that correct info on their page. Ah well, just glad it works for me on Tiger. FYI to all of you using Tiger, too.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Koingo-Software
Koingo-Software
10 April 2010
Most of our products will run on 10.4, but we only officially support 10.5 newer now.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Spanishjohnnyit
14 March 2008
Well, I filed a bug yesterday and today I find an email with an answer and a new version with the bug solved (there's already a 1.2.4)...So kudos to koingo for customer support and quick and good developers! Now it would be great if they get my suggestion to move to something like sqlite from the format they actually use... First class support and very good app
Like (10)
Version 1.2.3
Chilp82
02 September 2007
Overall: A good start (v1) to the already crowded 'collection apps' market. It is a step up from Delicious Library but a step down from Bruji's pedia apps (which I'm currently using). Details: Features: A few features here that you would really appreciate if you had been using DL (which is sorely missing some of these) like smart collections, multiple ISBN entries and additional entry fields. However there are many missing features here that are present in the pedias and/or DL: iSight scanning, Full screen mode, wishlist, multiple collections, iTunes integration, statistics, multiple download sites (rather than depending on just Amazon) among others. There is the inclusion of a few additional categories not seen in others (Hardware and Software) which may be of interest to some (but for me it didn't make sense to have a listing of what was in my apps folder). Interface: Looks OK. But, the blue/white lines on the left panel annoy me a bit (I think mainly because they clash and don't line up with the ones on the right). It was less intuitive than the competition (it was even hard to find out how to add an entry from amazon without the help files) Price ($29.95): Competitive compared to DL ($40) and Pedias ($18 for 1, $39 for 3) but it also depends what features you are after. Stability: Didn't crash at all. But did have some trouble doing the imports from Bruji Summary / Outcome: I'm sticking with Bruji's apps. Easier to use and more features. If you were considering Librarian Pro against Delicious Library, I'd probably go with this just for the price and the smart collections, but you'd miss out on the iSight scanning. Coming from Koingo Software, I'm sure this will improve with time and as such will definitely be one to keep an eye on.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.2
Leoncahun
01 September 2007
The app's icon makes me shiver, each time -- you know, in that particular kind a way (do you feel the same?).
Like (2)
Version 1.0.1
Joshp
31 August 2007
The default sort is alphabetical by title, which makes no sense. Sorting by author sorts by first name unless you inputed last name first. Delicious Library import produced errors that scrolled off screen, so I could not see what the choices were (because there was no scroll bar). Hitting enter (which I assume was OK) gets rid of this message, but the import seems to stay in progress forever until canceled. Undo cannot undo a delete action.
Like (4)
Version 1.0
Saszka
31 August 2007
This is long awaited thing and I have to say it's just outstanding app! Keep up the good work with it.
Like
Version 1.0