Back to David's Backgammon page
David's Backgammon free download for Mac

David's Backgammon Reviews

6.4
25 May 2015

Engaging backgammon game.

RossK6171
29 September 2014

Most helpful

The most full featured and intuitive game of Backgammon on the market. Beats everything else by a country mile. Worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.1

Read 67 David's Backgammon User Reviews

Rate this app:

RossK6171
29 September 2014
The most full featured and intuitive game of Backgammon on the market. Beats everything else by a country mile. Worth the price.
Like (1)
Version 6.3.1
ScotC7846
03 January 2014
I bought this program to help me learn to play backgammon and it's been perfect. Different levels of difficulty, suggested best moves, lots of game analysis and recording tools and the capability to go up to the highest levels of play as I get better. Very satisfied; great value for what you get.
Like
Version 6.3
gtrsteve
10 October 2012
This is Supposed to be version 6.2.2 but it is 6.2.1. I had to go to the Developer's site to get 6.2.2.
Like
Version 6.2.2
Snapjack
10 September 2012
I use to play this game, years ago. Does it still have 1989 graphics? Looks like it. Game play was always excellent though.
Like
Version 6.1.9
Priosantos-Jan
09 September 2012
Why are all Backgammon games nonfree games? Strange. However, I downloaded every single one available and this is the best.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.9
Kryten602
02 July 2012
I obviously know of David's Backgammon as it's been around for quite a few years. But why would anybody pay for Backgammon when you can get CocoaFIBS for free and get to play people at all skill levels from any country online at any time?
Like
Version 6.1.3
1 answer(s)
Mpascal
Mpascal
03 November 2012
Thanks for the heads up on FIBS.
Like
drumogge
11 June 2012
I've been playing David's Backgammon on my Mac for more than a decade and no other computer backgammon even comes close. It is the best in its class -- online or offline. Of course, nothing beats playing a live opponent but the 5 levels of play match anyone's skill. Backgammon has been my favorite game since I learned to play at age 11 (over 40 years ago). David's Backgammon always revives my love for the game.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.2
reves
13 April 2012
Finally a new version 6.0 available, works perfectly with Lion. Still the best Backgammon game, way ahead of the others!
Like (2)
Version 5.9.5
Thyx
09 May 2011
It may be worthwhile to scroll down some comments, read Espiridon's, and check which ratings are not the only ones and written on the day of registration. 2 out of 4 or 5 in some years would still be cheating.
Like (2)
Version 5.9.2
Carolewalsh
19 November 2010
Great Backgammon game. Works perfectly in Mac OS 10.6, and I really like that it looks like a real backgammon set. Nothing flashy, just a good solid backgammon game.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.8
Kathill
10 April 2010
Have always liked this version of the game, which I first bought nine years ago. Finally upgraded and so glad I did as many of the newer features are awesome. My only negative would be that I beat the opponent more often than my skill level warrants - maybe it is too slow to offer the cube? Or maybe I have just been having hot dice. I have never had a problem with the opponent's cheating (doubt it is possible) or anything else. Thanks David for a great game with great support at an affordable price.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.8
Rachel-R-
05 February 2010
I did not expect to enjoy playing backgammon against a computer, but it sure is fun. It is also humbling. I thought that I was a pretty good player, but it turns out that at the "club champ" setting, the computer beats me quite often. I appreciate that the program allows you to replay a game, and also to switch roles. It is especially satisfying to win from both seats! And when I lose, it's fun to figure out what I could have done differently. I just got the game a couple of weeks ago, and so have only just begun to try the different settings-- not only are there different skill levels you can set for the the computer, but three different strategies to choose from as well-- "conservative", "normal", or "aggressive." I am grateful to David for developing such a well thought out game, and for his expertise in backgammon ability and computer programming to really make it fun and challenging to play against the computer. I also appreciate the sound effects-- from the rolling of the dice to the clinking of the backgammon pieces. This is my first computer game, so I have nothing to compare it to. All I know is that it's fun to play, and fun to be learning from the computer on how to improve my skill.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.6
1 answer(s)
Thyx
Thyx
09 May 2011
I forgot where I found the check list, but that review fulfills all criteria for ‚too good and precise to be true‘. Still, good copy. Keep up the good work.
Like
Judy-Gruhn
08 January 2010
I have been playing both David's Backgammon or Absolute Backgammon for as long as I can remember. I thoroughly enjoy playing a few games at the end of the day- or even during the day when I most certainly should be doing other things! My only complaint about either program is that the computer moves in David's Backgammon are VERY fast. I would like them a bit slower but can see no way to do this. Also now and then the game makes moves for me which is a bit startling to say the least. However, neither of these are major problems. The support from David is fantastic! Just about the best support I've ever seen! I recently had request my 3 letter id as I downloaded the current version and my old one wouldn't work. ( I had some major computer corruption and had to create a new user account, thus loosing a lot of passwords, etc.) He replied in less than 24 hours. I can't recommend either game enough! Enjoy either or both!
Like
Version 5.8.6
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
08 January 2010
Judy, you can slow down the piece movement by selecting the Board menu then select the 3rd menu item (Adjust Piece Movement Speed) then select a lower speed. In Absolute Backgammon you can do that in Preferences. The game is making moves for you because you must have some type of Automatic Moves selected. Again, in the board menu you will see Automatic Moves... You can select which type of automatic moves you would like the game to make, or none.
Like
Version 5.8.6
Espiridion
04 December 2009
I originally purchased David's BackGammon around 2002. From what I recall, it turned out that I was entitled to free upgrades for only 6 months. Because of this policy I decided NOT to upgrade. After all, most other companies gave me free upgrades for at least a year or until a major release came out. For my needs I've used other Backgammon applications. I don't mind paying for upgrades, but I don't recall any other developer offering such a short time frame for free upgrades. With a reasonable upgrade policy I would have probably paid for upgrades since 2002, although now based on the author's comments towards me when I posted yesterday about my experiences with his software (Absolute Backgammon), there's no way I will ever purchase any of his products regardless of the upgrade policy. It's interesting to notice that the positive reviews come from people who have not posted other reviews. Before the author attacks me again, I'm only saying it is "interesting." Is it possible that the reviews are sincere? Sure, anything is possible. I just find it interesting that for David's Backgammon and Absolute Backgammon, many of the positive reviews come from people who have not reviewed anything else, both here and at VersionTracker. In some cases reviewers have left negative comments about competing software, so maybe that counts as more than one review. I no longer play Backgammon on my computer that much. I got Big Bang Backgammon for free a while ago, and also found an old copy of BGBlitz which I updated last night. My advise is to try the demos and decide which works for your needs. This one is certainly not for me, but YMMV. I did like it when I originally purchased it years ago.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.6
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
02 January 2010
These are all honest reviews from honest people who are using the game. After 8 years, I wonder why you are writing a review like this, trying to discredit the users of the game that have taken their time to write a review.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.6
Saul-Laniado
21 June 2009
Had a personal, not program problem, in configuring my game. Received nothing but A1 support, information and help from David. I bought David's to get reacquainted with backgammon and it has fulfilled all my expectations. I highly recommend David's Backgammon.
Like (1)
Version 5.8.2
Marcdesweemer
09 June 2009
I have used this game for more then two decade and NEVER be worried about the dice points. It worked with ALL Apple Systems since 7 and if there was an error it was ALWAYS fixed in less then a day. I'm 62 and a Mac user since 1985 and I have fun with it, and that is what I want ! Thank you David for all this funny years. Marc De Sweemer Belgium
Like (2)
Version 5.8.2
Gammonsoft
23 July 2008
Glad to hear that the last 2 guys have been enjoying the game for so long. The dice rolls are selected at the time of the roll using a random number generator. That is true for all skill levels. No cheating going on. Years of programming and research, as well as playing backgammon, went into creating the skill of the computer opponent, not cheating.
Like (2)
Version 5.7.3
2 answer(s)
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
24 July 2008
David, Would you actually tell anyone if it DID in fact cheat constantly ? You are in BUSINESS. You make MONEY out of flogging this product. So your assurances that it doesn't cheat are worthless. When are you going to ever get the product properly (i.e. statistically) evaluated by a TOTALLY INDEPENDENT BACKGAMMON/STATISTICAL/SCIENTIFIC EXPERT WHO HAS ABSOLUTELY NO VESTED INTEREST IN THE OUTCOME ? Until such time as you do, the constant and long-time accusations (fully justified in my view) that the computer opponent has been cleverly programmed to cheat will keep coming. If you truly believed that your product did not cheat you would have no qualms whatsoever about having a truly independent expert test it. If he/she eventually confirmed that it does NOT cheat, you could sell it for twice the price and never have to put up with those irritating folk (such as me and heaps of others) that don't believe a word of your assertions about your product.
Like (2)
Version 5.7.5
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
24 July 2008
How would I find a "TOTALLY INDEPENDENT BACKGAMMON/STATISTICAL/SCIENTIFIC EXPERT WHO HAS ABSOLUTELY NO VESTED INTEREST IN THE OUTCOME" Who might this be? I think the only way you would trust a person is if you chose them yourself. I suggest you find a person like that and have them examine the game. Since the game does produce random dice rolls, I would encourage it. Since you think the game picks the rolls it needs to take advantage of the situation it finds itself in, I suggest you try my other backgammon game - Absolute Backgammon. It has an option to have a series of random dice rolls generated just before the game start. During the game, these dice rolls are used (you can view them to see). That way you can know for sure that the dice rolls are NOT picked for the situation. If you still think the computer gives itself better rolls, it also gives you a chance to choose to use its dice instead. Your expert could also analyze a few of these series of dice rolls to determine the probability they are random or not. I have analyzed the dice rolls for many thousands of rolls looking for patterns and looking at the distribution of dice rolls. All is as it should be. There are no detectable patterns and the distribution of dice rolls is correct: each of the 36 possible rolls comes up equally over many thousands of rolls. Feel free to email me at macgammon@aol.com.
Like (3)
Version 5.7.5
Ficheye
08 July 2008
Well now. I enjoyed reading a comment that reflects, exactly, what I have felt about this game for some time. Thanks for the well worded vindication. The game is really good, but questions arise when the skill level seems to be defined by the dice rolls and not by actual game play.
Like
Version 5.7.3
Bgaddict
21 May 2008
I became a backgammon addict many years ago before the advent of computers. Because there weren't always humans around to play, I played the game less and less as the years went by. I discovered David's game and quickly became addicted (I work for myself at home and have too much non-work time on my hands :) ). David is very prompt and courteous in his responses to questions and makes the game easy to buy. It's easy to play and a challenge -- to a point -- even for someone who fancies himself a pretty good player, as I do. The problem is, as I played more and more (at the Club Champ level), it seemed to me more and more that the computer was using the dice rather than strategy to be competitive. I have no scientific basis for this observation, but after a lot of gameplay it just seems that the computer gets the great roll when it needs it. In particular, when the computer needs a particular number, it often seems not only to get that number very often, but also doubles of that number. I suspect that it's programmed to get a high occurrence of that particular number on one die with the other die being random which, of course, often results in doubles of that number. Also, whenever I'm on the bar I have a much more difficult time getting back in than does the computer, even if there are 3, 4 or even 5 open points. When on the bar I get an extraordinary number of double 6's, which serves 2 purposes: (1) it makes the computer a "better" player; and (2) if someone were to analyze dice rolls, they would find I get my share of double 6's although, unfortunately, almost always at the wrong time. And I can't tell you how many times I've set myself up very well for a prime, needing only to roll either, for example, a 2, 3 or 5, but will consistently fail to roll one of those numbers for several rolls, which is a mathematical improbability to say the least. I don't want to get overly critical because there is a paucity of backgammon games on the market and David's seems to be about the best. But when you play intensely and reasonably well, as I do, only to see the computer miraculously roll the perfect dice (or roll the worst for me), it gets very frustrating. At lower levels of expertise I suspect the game is more fun for those who haven't been playing backgammon for more than 30 years (as I have) or for those who are just learning or are novices. I'd love to play a game where the dice rolls are truly random and the AI sophisticated enough to play at my level without the help of the dice. But I've yet to find such a game. This game is quite a good effort by David but falls short from the AI perspective, at least at the highest level of play.
Like (1)
Version 5.7.3
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
15 June 2008
BDAddict has the game he is looking for since the dice roll are determined using a random number generator.
Like
Version 5.7.3
Ted-S
22 March 2008
I'm a former Vista user and needed backgammon for OS X. This is a great game; however, on my large monitor the dice appeared proportionately small. I emailed David and within a few hours he sent me an upgrade. The dice are right for me now. That's incredible customer service!
Like
Version 5.6.2
Cerulean
20 March 2008
I have been playing this game in an older version for about ten years and have alway enjoyed it. But now that I have purchased the latest version I enjoy it even more. It is well thought out. The graphics are good. It gives lots of choice for personal preferences and it gives hints if you want to have them. I can highly recommend it.
Like
Version 5.6.2
Kcg
26 February 2008
David's Backgammon is a very strong product... well thought out, and dependable. With slight polish in some UI areas, it would be perfect. Well worth the money as it is.
Like
Version 5.6.2
Vraireal
13 February 2008
I used to feel the same way as ficheye until I just garbaged the game. Best move I made since I bought the game a few years ago. I can only say to prospective buyers to go ahead and try the demo and find out by yourselves. No use to argue with Gammonsoft, since he cannot be neutral about the game, he is trying to make some money with it. What do you expect his comments will be. Make your own opinion and try it before buying.
Like
Version 5.6.1
Gammonsoft
09 January 2008
Please go past FICHEYEs rantings to get to the honest reviews. Or you can read all of his posts by clicking on FICHEYE in his posts. I think you will get the picture.
Like
Version 5.6.1
Ficheye
08 January 2008
Nice try. I stopped playing the game eventually. And the best way to get me to stop making comments is to stop digging in your heels about the perfection of your software. Also, disclosing my real name is an incredibly immature move by someone so intelligent and businesslike. Best to have a few positive reviews so that mine just goes down the list. I will report you to the management here since you are supposed to take it like a man when someone has a problem with your software. But I guess that may be the real issue here. By the way, where are all the positive reviews if I am so wrong about the game having some flaws? There should be a cascade, even an avalanche of supporting reviews, then I'd be pushed farther down the list and I'd forget about this game. But....
Like
Version 5.6.1
Gammonsoft
07 January 2008
I hope you go beyond FICHEYEs ranting's and read the many other reviews by more sane people. By the way, FICHEYE (Dennis Hastings ) has been enjoying the game for many years now. Here is a direct quote from him 8 years ago in March 2008: " I love your game." As of November 2000, he reported to me that he had played over 10,000 games with David's Backgammon. Go figure!
Like
Version 5.6.1
Ficheye
29 December 2007
Boy, am I chagrined! I have received the dreaded 'five exclamation point' response. One thing is clear... everyone owns a rubber duck. And as long as this game has been around (both forms) there are negative reviewers who feel somewhat like I do. Never fear, because we are 'out of our element'... we can't possibly know anything... even noticing some slight problems in gameplay, or saying that the game isn't quite perfect gets a response meant to 'hush you up'. So... This is a beautiful game. Perfect in every way. You will find the computer opponent to be fiercely intelligent. You will never notice any gameplay inequities because there aren't any. Buy this game. You won't be sorry. And if there are odd 'occurrences'of chance during a game, it's all in your imagination which you don't have very much of or YOU would have developed a game as fantastic as this one. Get on board! And remember... don't think you know anything, because it's all an illusion... knowing requires thinking, and that is just too difficult for us mere mortals. And remember... don't make any comments that might seem knowledgeable because you are 'out of your element' and you don't have the right swimmin' suit!!!!! In conclusion ( and in all seriousness), I have to say this: Most people who make negative comments really do appreciate the skill required to create a game such as this. And the game(s) is/are very good for the most part. There are just times when there are weird things that happen (I'd better not say what they are), and, therefore, people will always make comments about these things that we can't possibly understand. You'll just have to forgive us. In the long run it is much better to have a nice beverage and play lots of games with a real person, using a real board and real dice. I now bow out of this 'discussion' most completely.
Like
Version 5.6.1
Ficheye
19 December 2007
There are a lot of pro's and cons about any backgammon game. I have played this game a lot, and have found the dice rolls to be strangely in favor of the computer in many situations. The developer says NO. And there are defenders of this software as well. But here is the true story. Until the development of true artificial intelligence for computers, the only way for the programmer to make it seem like there is a 'human' playing against you is for it to go into a mode where it favors itself for a series of rolls. Upon very close examination of the game play responses of the computer opponent it can be clearly seen that there is no 'intelligence' as to where the pieces are moved to... nor can any be possible without an artificial intelligence much more highly advanced than we could ever afford. Thusly, the only way for the computer to seem like it is responding in a more experienced way is for it to get the perfect roll to take your player off the board, or to get doubles many more times than you do during the game. Of course, the developer (And not just David Byrum) could never admit to this flaw in the application or else no one would ever buy it. And to those that defend it... well, all I can say is that, yes, some of us DO have a lot of extra time on our hands, so we play many games in a row, at which point we experience the inequities of gameplay inherent in this type of software. But for you to criticize us for complaining about something you like... it's a human trait, but rather small minded. The real solution is to play another human. Or play the game using an 'online' mode to play... another human. You can defend this software type until the cows come home, but the computer will never play fair. It's not possible. No way. Uh uh. No. Not ever. I will anxiously await the firestorm of negative rebuttal. But in the end... no way. Go play with your rubber duckie.
Like
Version 5.6
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
29 December 2007
Fisheye, you are obviously out of your element here. Artificial intelligence has been around, in games, for a long time. It is in David's Backgammon as are random rolls of the dice. The reason you thing it is lucky is because it is using exactly what you think it can't. Go play with your rubber ducky.
Like
Version 5.6.1
Gammonsoft
15 May 2007
For those that might be tempted to try GNUbg, it requires special skills to install requiring additional software to be installed on your computer to use it. It is not true mac software and does not use the mac interface. Since it was not written for the mac, it uses X11 software as its interface, not OS X.
Like
Version 5.4.6
Sonorensis
11 February 2007
I have played the demo version way too much and finally signed up for the full version. The Author responded with a password within an hour and responded several times to my inept attempts to put it in the right place. Great support!
Like
Version 5.4.2
Apgiuliano
27 December 2006
Who cares what anyone thinks especially NOTAFOOL whom obviously has either too much free time on his or her hands to play the program thousands of times JUST to glean some fodder of their own fabrication, or the game has been superior enough to anything else on the market that they indeed have enjoyed giving it the workout (thousands of times? Sheesh!) Keep on marketing and building your program as you see fit... 18 years cannot be wrong!
Like
Version 5.4
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
31 January 2007
Not-a-fool, but certainly nuts 8=D)))
Like
Version 5.4.2
Gammonsoft
26 December 2006
NOTAFOOL from the previous review is truely not a fool. That is why he has played the game thousands of time. Even though he is not a fool he is mistaken about the game cheating. It doesn't. The computer opponent has been continually improved over the last 18 years. It plays a pretty good game so it might seem like it cheats. Happy Holidays!
Like
Version 5.3.7
Legal-Eagle
20 December 2006
Come on, Mr. Byrum. I challenge you. I have played your dopey "Absolute Backgammon" against the computer literally thousands of times now and it CHEATS, CHEATS, CHEATS, CHEATS AND CONSTANTLY CHEATS. Your absurd claims that the dice rolls are utterly random are the claims of a deceptive fool. My challenges to you are these:- (1) Agree to have your ludicrous claims TESTED over a 12 month period by a person who is each of the following:- 1. Totally and 100% independent of yourself, your products, and any business or company in which you have an interest; 2. An expert statistician; 3. Thoroughly experienced in backgammon. (2) Agree to PUBLISH on all relevant backgammon websites the FULL, UNEDITED RESULTS, whether they support your claims or not. Until you agree to the above, I will continue to utterly reject your childish and deceptive claims that the computer plays an honest game against a human opponent.
Like
Version 5.3.7
6 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
23 December 2006
Read the FAQ that comes with the game. Then email me at absolutegammon@aol.com and explain to me how the game could be cheating. Logic, not statistics, shows that the game couldn't be cheating. But if you want statistics, the game keeps enough statistics to also show you that the dice rolls are random for both players. Just look at them and do some basic tests to see that they are. Since you have played so many games now, you must have accumulated enough data to see. Please attach the file "Absolute Backgammon Preferences" to an email to me. I will take the time to examine them and give you an analysis. One thing I have learned is that the better the game plays, the more it gets accused of cheating.
Like
Version 5.3.7
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
23 December 2006
David - I am not remotely interested in YOUR ridiculous assertions that the program does not cheat. Only when someone TRULY TOTALLY INDEPENDENT OF YOURSELF verifies that it doesn't cheat, after having TESTED IT EXTENSIVELY OVER A LENGTHY PERIOD will I ever believe that it does not cheat. Why are you frightened uf accepting my challenge ? What have you possibly got to lose ? If you weren't so totally pig-headed,stupid and stubborn, you could put an immediate end to the YEARS of accusations that numerous people have been making that your program cheats.I repeat - what the hell are you frightened of ??? Being exposed ???
Like
Version 5.3.7
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
23 December 2006
You really ought to calm down and be less insulting.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.7
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
23 December 2006
The suggestion to calm down was from MacUpdate, not me. You are welcome to do as you suggest in your review. I would be happy to have it done. Please email me with your plan. I will do what I can do to help.
Like
Version 5.3.7
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
23 December 2006
I have neither the time, the money nor the inclination to organise the testing of that which is your product. YOU are the one marketing it. So YOU organise the testing of it. In YOUR time and at YOUR expense. But make sure that the tester is truly and manifestly independent.
Like
Version 5.3.7
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
28 December 2006
Wow - such anger. Say, I understand this. I am pretty sure that my phone cheats when it sees it cannot beat me. Of course, I still win most of the time because the game has a logic error (note: this is on my Nokia, not David's BG) that makes it refuse a double if both players are taking pieces off, no matter who has the advantage. I am downloading this one now and I will give it a bash. Stay tuned...
Like
Version 5.4
Konstantin-Stassinakis
01 December 2006
David's Backgammon is the ultimate backgammon game for everyone!!! David's Backgammon is the blue pill! I tested many similar programs - even the online ones - but non of them can compete with David's.
Like
Version 5.3.7
Rryan
29 September 2006
I had been playing with another Backgammon game and the game was not a smart player and it was very frustrating - no challenge. When I did a search and came upon Davids and Absolute Backgammon I was hopeful. Even though with the download I couldn't finish a game I was hooked. I kept playing and playing. I wasn't even bothered that it was only part of a game. It was fun and challenging. There are no wasted motions and fancy graphics just good backgammon.I highly recommend Absolute Backgammon and David's Bckgammon.
Like
Version 5.3.5
Thomas-Kraus
02 July 2006
Used the unregistered version and then got addicted. Now with the registered version I can play tournaments that are almost like having a human sitting across from me at a very colorful board. I recommend this game for all. The best available! The graphics are excellent and I hope to find some more board options (colors and metal etc.) in the future.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Vivien
26 May 2006
Good version of Backgammon with lots of interesting features and nice layout. Only one slight niggle. When doubling the computer's dice rolls do sometimes seem to be too fortuitous to be true.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Gammonsoft
25 May 2006
Contrary, to what the previous reviewer said, the dice rolls are random in all circumstances. Also, I do respond promptly to all emails and do give solutions to problems like crashed machines. In this case, once they had fixed their machine, I would give the person a new password/activation code for their game. If they registered the game a long time ago and don't have a backup copy, they might have to pay an upgrade fee to use the current version of the game. David's Backgammon has been available and improved for 10 years now.
Like
Version 5.3.4
6 answer(s)
Vraireal
Vraireal
26 May 2006
Sorry M. Byrum but it does not suffice to say the dices are random. I have played with your game too many times to believe that statement. My experience is all to the contrary and other reviewers have mentionned this before. I know it is not to your advantage to admit this, but it seems quite obvious that David's Backgammon is programmed this way in an effort to conceal an inaptitude to beat a good player with a decent programming algorythm. And yes you did reply to me a couple of years ago giving me the same argument about the random rolls, but at the same time you never offered me a new password for my crashed copy, and that is the truth. Go ahead and deny it if you want, but I'm sure other players have had a similar experience as mine and I hope others will shy away from this dishonest product.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
26 May 2006
if you identify yourself, I can check to see what happened. You can email me at macgammon@aol.com. Most of the time when players think the game cheats it is because they don't do a well as they think they should. Their first thought is to think the game is cheating. Makes them feel better. The game keeps statistics that show that the computer opponent does not have any advantage in the dice rolls.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Vraireal
Vraireal
05 June 2006
With all due respect M. Byrum, I disagree with you on both counts. Firstly the dices rolls are NOT always random regardless of your pretentions and secondly you did NOT offer me any solution to my crashed computer two years ago. By the way my name is Real Leblanc and I live in Montreal, Canada
Like
Version 5.3.4
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
05 June 2006
Thanks for giving your name. I have located your last email to me. In it, because you don't think the dice rolls are random, you said you were sorry you purchased the game , that I deceived you and that you were going to let your fiends hear about it. I did respond to you, but, from all that you said, I must have concluded that you weren't interested in the game anymore. if I had known that you were still interested, I would have sent the activation code then. Now that I know that you are still interested in the game, I have sent you an email (to the address you had then) offering to give you the activation code to your game. Since you think the game picks the dice rolls to fit the situation, I recommended that you try my other backgammon game - Absolute Backgammon. With it, there is a feature where you can be 100% sure that the dice rolls are not chosen to fit the situation. Better luck. David
Like
Version 5.3.4
Vraireal
Vraireal
06 June 2006
M. Byrum wrote : "You are a pretty nasty person. But since I don't determine my obligations by how courteous someone is, here is the password." Thanks for the passwordM. Byrum, but no need to insult anybody. M. Byrum wrote : "In my world, when someone calls you a liar, deceiving, a cheat, and insults your hard work(that I take pride in),then tells the world, that is nasty." I am considered a well manered person by my entourage with no nastiness whatsoever. May I remind you that I am entitled to disagree with you and that you were the first to reply "Contrary, to what the previous reviewer said". If thats not calling me a liar well it sure sounds like it to me. I did not call you names because of that, I just pointed out my disagreement. If you were hurt by my comments to the effect I dont believe you, well its just too bad and I am sorry, but I still believe the rolls are not always random and I have many screen shots of the statistics in support of my point of view. Oh well, thanks anyway for the password and try not to insult your customers M. Byrum. It is not a very good commercial practice. Réal Leblanc
Like
Version 5.3.4
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
10 October 2006
Don't believe a word of David Byrum's rantings about the dice rolls being random. They are utter rubbish. Both David's Backgammon AND Absolute Backgammon cheat unmercifully. They simply consistently give the computer "miracle" rolls over and over again, while ensuring that the human opponent gets bad rolls. The computer also regularly gives you an unjustifiable double and then immediately follows up with a series of "miracle" rolls to retrospectively rescue itself from a bad double. If Mr Byrum were honest, he would have his product tested over a lengthy period by a TRULY INDEPENDENT expert in statistics and a TRULY INDEPENDENT WORLD EXPERT IN BACKGAMMON. He would then publish the results - whether favourable or unfavourable. He doesn't do so - for patently obvious reasons. As far as I am concerned, this and Absolute Backgammon are utterly dishonest products, which should be avoided like the plague.
Like
Version 5.3.5
Vraireal
24 May 2006
May I offer another point of view. Its quite obvious this game is programmed to be adictive and what better way than roll the dices in a manner to get the player in a mood where he wants to get even with its opponent, the computer. I would describe the ramdomness of the dice rolls as being convenient, to say the least, in favor of the computer. But I must say that after a while, the pattern does change in favor of the player and all I can say is that its very addictive indeed. :-) This said, I only wish the dice rolls where really random. Unfortunatly, I have purchased this game a couple of years ago and my computer crahed. My password became obsolete. I have writen M. Byrum about that, but he has never offered me a solution to this problem. Will never purchase anything else from him.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Phobos54
10 January 2006
This has proved to be all too addictive...no problems after months of use, very appealing gameboard and sufficient complexity that I am tied with the computer after about 1000 games.
Like
Version 5.2.3
Mponemon
03 December 2005
GREAT GAME!!! Bought for my wife and she thoroughly enjoys it... David you're the man... Thanks for all of your help
Like
Version 5.2
Alex Ljubimov
04 October 2005
I am playing this game for 2 years and I love it. It has a nice realistic interface, the learning curve is fast and it provides the needed level of complexity, koy and frustration associated with real-life chance games. Version 5.0.2 fixes a few glitches and it is very good now. Can recommend to anybody who likes real-life backgammon. Real fun to play.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Anonymous
28 September 2005
This is a great game. The computer is a tough competitor, and forces intelligent play on my part. Grat way toi take a break in the middle of the day! Thanks. The graphics are very good, but the computer voice could be improved a little. I still love the game.
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
27 September 2005
donrob: Can't say enough how much we've enjoyed David's Backgammon. It works without a hitch and the few questions we had were promptly responded to by David. Excellent product and well worth the $. Thanks, David...nice job!!
Like
Version 5.0
Peter-Melchior
08 January 2005
Best Backgammon game I have ever had! I thoroughly enjoy the whole presentation, and the only dark spot is that I play it too much every day. Peter Melchior
Like
Version 4.9.7
Reddog1
25 December 2004
Cool game. great graphics. Wish it could rate my play against the computer; telling me if I am getting better or worse. Also, would like to keep track of record.
Like
Version 4.9.7
Anonymous
04 December 2004
There's just no way that the rolls made by the 'computer' opponent are random, regardless of what the author claims ("all dice rolls are random, etc., etc.") Whenever it offers doubles it then lands on my piece, almost without fail. It gets off the bar most times on the first roll, even with 5 spaces blocked! When I try to get off the bar, with only the #2, #4, and #6 spaces blocked, I roll 4&6 three times in a row! Granted, I do roll many double 6's, but it's almost always when I'm trying to get off the bar and the #6 space is blocked. Count how many times the computer gets doubles on the 1st or 2nd roll of the game, compared to how many times the human player does. Count how many times the computer successfully gets off the bar by rolling doubles, compared to how many times the human player does. And, it's fairly obvious that the more games you play the more that end prematurely, way more than the "half the games" that the author claims. If you're going to program this little feature into your game then please at least let people know. Don't try to deceive them about it. And please, once and for all, just write it to give random rolls. Also, and I'm not saying this to be mean-spirited, but the graphics seem very amateur. On the plus side, it's only crashed a few times.
Like
Version 4.9.6
1 answer(s)
Vraireal
Vraireal
24 May 2006
I agree with the gentleman who says that this game does not always rolls dices in a random manner. I have played thousands of games with this product and found out that it does favor the computer opponent most of the time. I have writen to M. Byrum about this and I do not believe that he is saying the whole truth when he says the rolls are random. Very often I get blocked from the bar with one or two spaces, blocked while the computer gets off the bar almost everytime, even with five spaces blocked. Its amazing how badly I roll the dices with David's Backgammon. :-) Secondly, I bought the game a couple of years ago and my computer crashed. My password was not good anymore. I wrote M. Byrum about that and he answered about the randomness of the rolls but never gave me a new password. I have been playing the demo version since then and will continue to do so because the game is not worth the money. Version 4,9,5
Like
Version 5.3.4
Anonymous
31 December 2003
This is ok. The menu organization is not very good, so it doesn't really feel like a Mac app. Plus I can consistently easily beat it on its best level so it isn't very challenging. Hopefully 5.0 will address those issues! ;-)
Like
Version 4.9
Anonymous
30 December 2003
This is a great game for the whole family. With the different levels of play and the learning mode we are all playing better!
Like
Version 4.8.1
David Byrum
20 December 2003
The dice rolls are random in all circumstances and do not favor either player in any circumstance. Statistics are saved and can be displayed that prove this is not the case. I suspect the previous player was beat more than he felt he should. Kind of a childish reaction to publicly accuse the game of cheating. To me, it is a compliment of its playing ability!
Like
Version 4.8.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 December 2003
Nay, I am 50% ahead of the comp since I begun to play this game in pre OS X days and I am also conviced it cheats. Makes beating him more fun.
Like
Version 4.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 February 2005
"The dice rolls are random in all circumstances and do not favor either player in any circumstance. Statistics are saved and can be displayed that prove this is not the case. I suspect the previous player was beat more than he felt he should. Kind of a childish reaction to publicly accuse the game of cheating. " I truely hope that you are saying this with a straight face!!! I have played the demo version of this game 1000's of times and agree completly with the post ... "There's just no way that the rolls made by the 'computer' opponent are random, regardless of what the author claims ("all dice rolls are random, etc., etc.")" I can easily beat the computer but I simply hate it when a game has to cheat in order for it!!! to win. I like this game alot but playing against the computer, to me, does not warrant the price of shareware. As with the post mentioned as reference I have experienced exactly the same results numerous times. Far too many of them to make this game enjoyable.
Like
Version 4.9.7
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
15 January 2006
There is absolutely NO way known that the dice rolls generated by the computer are random, despite David Byrum's insistence to the contrary. After literally thousands of games against the computer I have noted that the frequency with which it throws absolute "miracle rolls" for itself, (never for its human opponent), is so totally contrary to the odds as to be a rather poor joke. Come on Mr Byrum - it is high time you stopped trying to kid people and admitted that which is patently obvious. The computer's dice rolls for itself are plainly and obviously NOT random, nor anything like such !!!
Like
Version 5.2.3