Back to Hazel page
Hazel free download for Mac

Hazel Reviews

4.4.2
09 November 2019

Create rules for organizing and cleaning folders.

Andrewrodney
27 February 2019

Most helpful

invaluable utility I've been using for years and years. But I wanted to post today because I was having an issue with the log file ballooning to a huge size, emailed tech support and got a reply in like an hour. Amazing. And they did provide the support to fix the issue (seems it was an issue with spotlight indexing). The company really cares for its customers.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.4

Read 82 Hazel User Reviews

Rate this app:

Andrewrodney
27 February 2019
invaluable utility I've been using for years and years. But I wanted to post today because I was having an issue with the log file ballooning to a huge size, emailed tech support and got a reply in like an hour. Amazing. And they did provide the support to fix the issue (seems it was an issue with spotlight indexing). The company really cares for its customers.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.4
RogerKatz
06 September 2018
The current version is 4.2.9
Like
Version 4.2.8
1 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
06 September 2018
Hi.
Thank yo for letting us know. Our team will improve it soon
Like
JohnF1664
05 September 2018
Using it for a couple of years daily!
Like
Version 4.2.8
RogerKatz
20 July 2018
The current version is 4.2.8
Like
Version 4.2.7
theo-langstrumpf
13 February 2018
Great app. Easy to use. Extremely useful
Like
Version 4.2.2
1 answer(s)
Marlo-R
Marlo-R
11 May 2018
Do you have any tips for setting this up? I've looked at this, installed it once or twice because I like the idea of it. However, I have not wanted to take the time to figure out the settings and how best to incorporate it into my workflow.

Any suggestions?
Like (1)
monica-8
12 November 2017
I am sad. I've been using Hazel for a few years and I love it, but I only use it for a few select functions because the interface is a bit complicated. Anyway, I just got a new laptop and I signed in to my account intending to download Hazel onto my new machine, but it appears I have to re-purchsase it. At $32, I am definitely not going to do that. But I will miss Hazel for sure. :(
Like (1)
Version 4.2.2
1 answer(s)
qb
qb
17 November 2017
Can you not download the app from here - MU?
While I agree the interface is complicated the app can do complex tricks. I don't understand your reasoning behind not being able to download the app.
Did you lose the license file?
Did you contact the developer?
Or are you in need of a 2nd license for a 2nd computer?

Edit: there certainly is a Download button on their main page. And this url has a "Lost License" retrieval button.
https://www.noodlesoft.com/support/
Like (2)
Potatoes
01 July 2017
This is a powerhouse for automating file handling. An absolute fantastic app. The design of the app is excellent: it is simple yet useful for newcomers. In the beginning, you can just let it do a few simpler things such as: (1) auto-emptying the trash, (2) helping you clean up system files after uninstalling an app, and (3) put all your mp3 files into a specific folder. Then as time goes, you can start (4) experimenting with letting it auto-file your downloaded bank statements into a specific folder. Later, you can try to (5) let Hazel put a date in the file name so your bank statements are auto-sorted and auto-named. I have been using Hazel for many years, and it now does a lot a the heavy tedious work for me in the background. This include extracting dates from inside PDF files. Auto-uploading files in the background to web servers. Run applescripts at specific times of the date on specific folders. Prepare files for uploading to servers by compiling them, renaming them, and associate meta-date, and then upload the files. Handling all of my financial statements and receipts from banks, utilities, and so forth. Send messages to my loved one by the end of work day. Sort my photos into sub-folders based on metadata. That was a small selection of what one can do with Hazel. Totally awesome app. If you file management is a mess, or you are tired of doing repetitive work, get it and start enjoying Hazel doing all the boring work for you.
Like (3)
Version 4.1.4
Sam0
08 June 2017
Great app. Clean and easy to use. My Mac would mess up quickly without Hazel! :)
Like
Version 4.1.3
dwp-1
04 August 2016
Hazel is one of the first utilities I install on my computers. It saves me the user from doing the daily repetitive tasks and makes the changes I set it up to do, to all the files, folders and sub folders. It is simple for the beginner, yet extremely powerful for the expert user. I have gone paperless and I love it, no more searching through stacks of paper to find the document I need. I scan & OCR every document and receipt into one folder. I then have Hazel examine each file, rename it, give it some tags and then move it into the appropriate folder were it is imported by EagleFiler.. All I have to do is scan the document and Hazel does the rest behind the scenes. This is **Amazing** Software folks. Alessandro82, if you are experiencing problems with Hazel, please talk to Paul the developer, I guarantee he will help you resolve your problem to the best of his abilities. It is inappropriate to lash out at the developers app when you haven't discussed the problem with him,
Like (3)
Version 4.0.5
Alessandro82
21 July 2016
no words could ever epress how disgustess i m from hazel tonbight i ve just updated to version 4.0.4 and surprise your crappy application tells me could not loasds one or more rules because are coorrupted or whatever it s month since i ve done abloluytely nothing to my rules so i downgraded to version 4.0.2 and everything works as expected
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
04 August 2016
Did you contact Paul about this? I recall there was a bug about this but it was resolved/fixed. Always contact the Dev first? Especially this one. Paul's a good, responsive Dev.
Like (8)
RogerKatz
07 June 2016
Hazel 4.0.2 is available
Like
Version 4.0
RebeccaA
23 May 2016
This is one of my favorite apps. Greatly designed with simple interface. It comprises all the necessary functions in order to maintain Mac clean and saves free space. I like the way it manages my Trash, there's no need to do this routine work putting the unneeded files or programs to the Trash and then emptying the Trash and then uninstall the leftovers of the program. Now Hazel does all this stuff for me. Appreciate its help, just saves my time. Recommend it!
Like (2)
Version 4.0
F451
05 May 2016
I've owned a license to Hazel since it first appeared. A perpetual mainstay in my Mac utility arsenal. Hazel just makes my life much easier regarding file organization. The new features and changes just add to an already excellent app.
Like (3)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Fariborz
Fariborz
05 May 2016
I do agree. It's excellent to put it mildly.
Like
Caput-Draconis
23 December 2015
Downloaded it a while ago and can say, that it is a really useful app. It is sparing me a lot of mindless organising. I can definitely say, that it is a must have.

P.S. At first I thought it is complicated, but after 3 minutes i could easily make new rules from scratch. If you need some help with understanding create the premade rules and read how they are built.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.6
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
08 August 2016
I still think it's complicated. And I'm a developer. I suppose I just want it to be dead fast for doing stuff with passing variables and so on without having to drop into Applescript. I'd like to recommend this to clients that do not develop. I don't see that happening, except if I or someone else do the development of what is needed. When I attempt to explain to clients the concepts they are lost at the practical stuff. Hazel is great, but is not for everyone.
Like (3)
Grug
21 November 2015
indispensable.
Like
Version 3.3.6
jdidun
26 August 2015
Too complicated for me, but probably the app is not bad.
Like (4)
Version 3.3.5
Shallowp
08 August 2015
Hazel is still the top level managing files tool. A must to own/use.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.5
jack2001
08 July 2015
veramente è un'ottima app. PROVATELA
Like (1)
Version 3.3.5
Bloomsday
09 December 2014
Hazel is alive and well. Although I may not know it. It peacefully lives in the background tidying up for me. I have used this software for many years. It is among my must-have Mac applications.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.3
Stevey-G
21 November 2014
I've tried this app and, although it is a good app, $29 is a stupidly overpriced asking price. $10-15 is more sensible I think. Hopefully they will do a sale and i will manage to find out about it :)
Like (6)
Version 3.3.2
Ali-Egypt
29 October 2014
Pretty cool and useful app.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Luca-Zorzi
28 October 2014
I absolutely CAN'T live without Hazel. At first you don't know how to use it, but after a few days it just clicks and you start relying on it to do all the dirty work you shouldn't worry about. With my purchase i did not only buy Hazel, I bought myself a bunch of free time.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.1
MacMec
28 October 2014
Best tool of that kind, scriptable and unobstrusive.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Potatoes
21 October 2014
Superb app. Hazel 3.x has become a really powerful app. Here are some of my usages of Hazel: (1) I monitor a folder on my laptop. Whenever a file is dropped into that folder, it is automatically uploaded to a web server by sftp and automatically updates a website. (2) automatically deletes old files in the Trash folder. (3) Automatically removes old Mail downloads. (4) Automatically files scanned PDF documents such as bank statements and energy bills. (5) Automatically adds dates to file names. (6) Automatically put photos into sorted folders and uploads folders tagged with (say) "family" to shared Dropbox Family folder. (7) Cleans up Safari download folder regularly. I can't express how much this app has helped me over the years. One of my most treasured apps.
Like (2)
Version 3.3
MaxWilders
23 February 2014
Plain simple to use and highly recommended for everyone. Brilliant app worth the steep asking price. Buy it now. :-)
Like (3)
Version 3.2.5
JamesHarrisPhoto
06 February 2014
Absolutely one of the best workflow utilities I've ever used. Once set up, and there's a myriad of possibilities for how you use it, it just sits in the background waiting, and when triggered, Hazel performs flawlessly. One of the first utilities I install (along with Default Folder and Keyboard Maestro) when setting up a new Mac.
Like (3)
Version 3.2.4
F451
29 October 2013
I believe I've owned a licensed copy of Hazel since its inception. Hazel makes downloads easy, especially when saving updates by a particular developer. Keeping your desktop free of files is much easier with Hazel too. Hazel is in my top-five of must-have utility apps. An out-of-sight, out-of-mind app they discretely does major file housekeeping.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
3 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
13 January 2014
@F451: hopefully you can help me understand just what's so special about this app. I'm a retired geek and web developer...most things I "get"...but as much as I try to figure out why Hazel is worth $28, I'm failing. I can understand the part for keeping my desktop clean, which is why I looked into it to begin with, but there are several apps for less than $5 that do this just fine. Anything I download I know where it goes...so there goes that reason. I've installed the trial, but simply underwhelmed with what it does. Of course, I used to say the same thing about Alfred...but now I couldn't live without it. Perhaps you can help me out since you've been using it so long. Thanks.
Like (2)
Xenophile
Xenophile
31 May 2014
It's a great utility, but at $28 it's not a value for most users. Many download utilities can be configured to download files into different folders by file type, while also offering features like scheduling and multi-threaded download acceleration. My two favorite are iGetter ($25) and Folx ($20), both cheaper than Hazel. That said, I can imagine some LAN file transfers for which Hazel MIGHT be useful, for example if someone dumped a big mess of unsorted files on your drive. But how often does that happen? And why not just sort by file type in the Finder?
Like
iNyar
iNyar
24 November 2014
To answer larrymcj's question: At first, as some have said, you don't see what's so impressive about Hazel. I tried it in 2008 and didn't get it, so I didn't buy it. Now, 6 years later, I finally understood!

1. Hazel is capable of filtering files not only by type, but by name (still easy) and CONTENT (that's great). So I programmed some filter-action workflows for each type of regular downloads to be filed. Example:
- Each time I buy a train ticket (2x a week in my case), it detects the Date from inside the document, renames it something like 2014.11.24 Train.pdf and files it into a specific folder.
- Each utilities bill, each bank account statement is automatically dated, renamed and filed to an appropriate folder.
- I often download pictures from social websites (from friends): they are dated, renamed and imported into iPhoto.
- When I download SRT subtitles for movies or TV shows, they are automatically moved to the folder where the video is, allowing it to be launched immediately.
- Same process with scanned bills: it detects the content to rename and move them accordingly...
Etc.
Like
neartheredrocks
23 August 2013
As of August 22, the download for Hazel 3.1.5 link here on MacUpdate still links to (and downloads) Hazel 3.1.4. However, Hazel 3.1.5 can be downloaded directly from the developer's website.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
23 August 2013
Thanks for letting us know. The listing's DL link has been fixed and now points to version 3.1.5.
Like
RunTime
02 July 2013
Extremely useful (if you do not like to dwell in complicated Apple Scripts). But, 10.7 is a show stopper for us to... for years to come.
Like (3)
Version 3.1.2
4 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
28 July 2013
same here.
Like (2)
star-affinity
star-affinity
15 August 2013
Why not move to 10.8? I fully understand on skipping 10.7, but 10.8 is a nice OS I think.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 August 2013
Hardware expensive and hard to replace.
Like (5)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
20 December 2013
Now, I upgraded the external hardware and went to Mavericks. It's great! Prior to that I found a previous version of Hazel that worked already on SL, so I'm a big fan now!
Like
isntzen
20 June 2013
I adore Hazel. It provides automation in ways that should be commonplace in modern computing. Folder actions (present in OSX for years) could have been extended to provide similar functionality, but Apple chose not to cater to power users. Hazel emerged to scratch this itch. Bummer for those (like me) who are in love with SN–Hazel now requires Lion, eh, or Mounting Lion–a position I forever hope to avoid. I hope Noodlesoft is still around in 2018, when failing hardware will force me to abandon my beloved white kitty.
Like (5)
Version 3.1
Damian Weiss
19 June 2013
When I first discovered Hazel I couldn't imagine all the possible ways of using it! My favorite purposes are: - Automatically copying new images from my inserted flash card, labelling the imported images so that they are not reimported, opening a slideshow of the imported images in GraphicConverter to scan through them and deleting the ones I don't need and let Hazel organize the remaining ones by date in folders that are named by date. - After downloading my account statements from my online bank as zip file, Hazel unpacks the zip file, renames all credit and debit files by date and type (credit/debit), labels them by year, sorts them in the corresponding folder and opens the account statements in Preview for sighting. - I use ExactScan Pro to scan my papers to a certain folder. Then, Hazel opens the scans in Adobe Acrobat Pro to do OCR and save the files as ClearScan which reduces pdf file size enormously. I'm very happy with Hazel although one needs some knowledge of AppleScript to use it gainfully. If you are not a regular AppleScript programmer you will spend some hours until everything works as expected. That's why it's important that Hazel gains new features that are not bound to a programming language. Hazel introduced the possibility of uploading files to a FTP server in version 3.1. As much as I like this new feature, it's a pity that I can't use it because I can't and don't want update to Lion. Is there any chance to get a version of Hazel 3.1 that works with Snow Leopard? It's quite exceptional that Hazel changes system requirements while not upgrading to the next full version (i. e. version 4.0). I'm rather disappointed about this behaviour.
Like (10)
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
21 June 2013
@Morannon: Your first bullet point above has piqued my interest. One question: Does your workflow allow for changing the names as they are imported to, say, this format: yyyy_mmdd__.jpg, where "00x" is an auto incrementing number? Or can Hazel even do this? Any chance of a detailed step-by-step of how you accomplish this? If not here, I could get a throwaway yahoo email address for correspondence. Please let me know.
Like (2)
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
22 June 2013
Sorry, the format as I entered it contained angle brackets. What I mean is: yyyy_mmdd_[topic]_[my name]-[00x].jpg
Like
Leoofborg
08 April 2013
MacUpdate and their DUMB 1/2 stars. This is a 5-star App that has changed how I use my Mac. And I've been a Mac user for a LONG time. What is it? Think about Mail Rules & filtering. This is FINDER Rules & filtering, including de-installation of Apps. I have AppZapper, and use it from time to time, I have to say that Hazel does a better job of catching & trashing Apps that I de-install. I also use it to rename files & folders via token. In fact, if you're learning scripting & are having difficulty wrapping your head around tokenizing things... Hazel may be your entré. Highly recommended.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.17
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 August 2013
I use Path Finder and keep Finder unloaded. Hazel is not a Finder-related app. It's filesystem app, period.
Like
Grouty
10 March 2013
Unbelievably useful by itself. Download a PDF containing text (such as a utility bill) and Hazel can search the text of the file for words like "Power Bill" before renaming it, adding a date and filing it for you. All automagically. Almost limitless possibilities when combined with other utilities like DropBox and KeyBoard Maestro. Terrific support for newbies too. Not sure how I kept things in line without it. Highly recommended
Like (4)
Version 3.0.16
Carlos-Sz
10 January 2013
It is great so far. I was able to make the app watch a folder, then analyze its subfolders (depth 0), then for each subfolder move their subfolders (they always change in name but the app can handle it) to an external drive keeping the initial folder structure (Main folder A, subfolders B and C will be analyzed, any subfolders in B will be moved to an external drive to a folder B there and any subfolder in C will be moved to an external drive to a folder C there too, always skipping a subfolder I don’t want to move at all). The Trash feature is also interesting and it seems to work properly: move an app there and the app prompts if we want to delete the related files too. If so all related files are moved to the trash in a way we can easily restore if needed. Nice addition. My suggestions considering I like to run the rules on demand: - an option to see a progress (even if only an animated menu bar icon like DropBox does: sometimes I don’t know if it is ready, e.g. if I miss the notification or not ) - set a folder to be displayed in the root of the menu bar icon (like a Favorites part of the menu: useful to run rules with less clicks as possible)
Like (2)
Version 3.0.16
Rochade
13 November 2012
One of those apps I don't want to miss. Keeps my daily work organized.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.14
Noivad
06 November 2012
Hazel is one of the few apps on my OS X Recommended Apps List, with good reason. It saves me time by organizing and marking files after I tok the time to set up a few easy filters on a per folder basis. But even more importantly, it also automatically removes old .plist files and other trash that accumulates in your ~/Library (and other places) from apps that are deleted. Ultimately, you have a cleaner and tidier system with Hazel than not. It is the only automation software worth its price.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.13
Johnnyr
11 August 2012
I can't thank the developer enough for creating this brilliant software. It has made my paperless life a joy and all the other things Hazel automates for me. It is simply an amazing software ones you find things it can help you automate. If you haven't tried Hazel go do it now - you will really benefit from it after that. Then go read David Sparks book on how to go paperless (see link down under) - Hazel helps you with that and it is awesome! http://www.macsparky.com/paperless
Like (3)
Version 3.0.11
I can go into great depth (ha!) about how many mindless chores Hazel has saved me from — but all those tales o' automated file-shuffling will have to wait while I give my enthusiastic PRAISE for what is an excellent product supported long-term. This is something I don't see called attention to often enough in MU reviews, but after you buy the product, you expect support. I've been happily using Hazel for almost 4 years now, and one thing that strikes me as astonishingly rare (it shouldn't be) is the fantastic personal support that Paul Kim, Chief Noodler @ Noodlesoft has delivered throughout the years. Consistent and quick, and specific to my concerns (not some inapplicable auto-response babble). I understand people's bandwidth and boundaries, but with an exceptional product should come the support structure that encourages loyalty because IT IS EXCEEDING ITS EXPECTATIONS. Needless to say, I reckon a lot of Mac users could be a lot more productive if they understood that a lot of the functionality in various one-off tools can be flexibly accomplished in Hazel. Saves time, money, and other worthwhile resources. For example, after being let down by the revisioning system in ForeverSave 2, I came up with Hazel rules in a few minutes that did the same basic auto-saving thing — AND archiving, which FS doesn't do! Again, to reemphasize what some previous reviews have sounded off on, Hazel has prospered from active development and support during the long-term. How lovely. Since buying software is a sign of personal expression about what we deem good — we vote with our dollars (or other currency) — I decided the upgrade to v3 was worth it based on the clearly-stated changelog and transparency about Mountain Lion compatibility, and happily paid.
Like (8)
Version 3.0.11
Mdognrdog
05 July 2012
I've had Hazel for a while, and had generally favorable impressions of the software. The shift to 3.0 was just not even a little bit deserving of a major release number. The developer just decided he needed some more money from those of us who had already bought his software, bumped the version number, and stopped supporting 2.x. Not cool.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.9
3 answer(s)
ChristopherPrice
ChristopherPrice
06 July 2012
I haven't upgraded to v3 yet, but I will. I am, perhaps, overly cautious when messing with software tools I rely on heavily. Wikipedia states that major version numbers indicate "significant jumps in functionality" or "incompatible" releases. From the announcement of the v3beta on the developer's site on 9/12/2011 The following core changes were specified in addition to at least 15 new features and a new UI: New engine. Uses newer file events mechanism. What does this mean? Hazel will catch more file events. It will do so in a much more timely manner. Uses a new prediction engine so that it only wakes up when it needs to. No longer polls the disk (except for a couple exception cases). As a result, much less resource utilization. For laptop users, this will result in longer battery life and Hazel will be less likely to prevent the disk from spinning down. Allows for rule scheduling. AppSweep now cleans up Lion's saved state and container folders. Tons of fixes and tweaks. Having followed the beta discussions and observed the minor releases since the v3 introduction, I can tell you *much* more than those early features have been rolled in. Also, Hazel v2 was released in 1999, best I can tell. So, I disagree with your assessment that the developer is issuing a new version number just to shake-down his v2 customers. This *is* a major update and the developer is long passed due getting paid for all the continuous work and refinements he has put into Hazel in the 13 YEARS since it's last major release. Now, THAT is cool.
Like (6)
Mdognrdog
Mdognrdog
06 July 2012
Hmm. I must have seen release notes for 3.0.1 and mistaken them for 3.0 when Hazel notified me of update availability. My apologies to the developer: 3.0 does, in fact, have real new features. Not worth the upgrade charge, considering the simplicity of my rules, but that's not at all the same thing.
Like (3)
LeoLipp#u@u
LeoLipp#u@u
11 July 2012
I Agree....bought Hazel 2 a year ago won't upgrade to Hazel 3
Like (3)
MTW000
09 June 2012
I've been using Hazel for about a year, and it works exactly as advertised: simple, effortless, works in background, loads of customization if you want it. Recently, I upgraded to version 3 and ran into a conflict with OS X Lion. My question to tech support was answered promptly and the solution worked perfectly. Top rating!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.8
Holypoly
30 April 2012
BTW - try and double-click on the broom in the system preferences window...
Like
Version 3.0.5
1 answer(s)
Jmsuijkerbuijk
Jmsuijkerbuijk
30 April 2012
Single click is enough.
Like (1)
neartheredrocks
22 March 2012
So far I am very impressed and happy with Hazel 3.0.3. I'm downloading and trying many things, and I'm deleting many things - and now Hazel is constantly reminding me of related files of applications that I delete. Very nice.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.3
Fraganiol
17 March 2012
I had to uninstall Hazel2 to install 3, that trashes all rules!! No matter what some say on this thread; the uninstall wipes out your rules!! Noodlesoft needs to fess up, fix this and apologize! They can't even have their software update directly, you have to go to their site, download the demo and then direct it to that license file. It's gonna take forever to remember/set up the rules again. To me Hazel was a set it and forget it type thing, i didn't even need any bug fixes/"new features"! No more "updates" for this bozo!! It'll go to teach me not to update just because they decide to cash in again! Why the extra half star? Just because it did work up until this fiasco/update/ripoff. Aaargh!!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
gcoghill
01 March 2012
I've been participating in the 3.0 beta, so I have some experience with the new version. I was a long-time user of the app prior to 3.0 and this update brings much of the functionality that I was looking for in earlier versions along with lots of great new stuff. The developer was very responsive to the feedback of us beta testers, so I feel the 3.0 release is a very solid release, worthy of both the upgrade for existing users as well as a full license for new users. Any hangups I had with pre-3.0 versions are gone. This is still a bit of an advanced app for the novice Mac user, but with a little bit of time and trial and error, any Mac user could start using this even just for some of the basic functions. Once you get more advanced, Hazel will keep up with you. Having "current time" criteria as well as the new nested rules is a huge improvement and will streamline your rule setups immensely. Rule creation, preview and testing is much improved in this release. One of my top must-have Mac apps just got better. Can't recommend this highly enough for automating stuff on your Mac.
Like (8)
Version 3.0
4 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
15 March 2012
I am a novice Mac user. I have no doubt the new update is fantastic. I just feel like the update is not for me. I use Hazel for very basic tasks. I only have one rule that has two "do the following". That said, I am worried abot Hazel 2's future compatibility. I guess I will have to eventually udate. I hope I can stretch Hazel 2 for a bit longer. Thanks for the review!
Like (1)
gcoghill
gcoghill
15 March 2012
@Sigil - contact the developer, he'll be sure to get back to you. That said, the new version will continue to do what you need, but you may find yourself using more of Hazel's features as I feel the rules are a bit easier to construct now. And you can always just hold off on the upgrade until compatibility forces you :)
Like (1)
Sigil
Sigil
18 March 2012
@Gcoghill I'd feel bad asking him how long will he support Hazel or even expecting him too.I'll just waait and see;it's performing well so far. Thanks!
Like
gcoghill
gcoghill
18 March 2012
You could try his forums, it might already be there. Dev would be glad to answer I'd think.
Like
BlackMacX
01 March 2012
Updated this morning, and no issues whatsoever. I have used Hazel since 2007 and can't imagine life with out it. The only advice I would give to upgraders, as I commented below on Quorm's experience, it to stop Hazel before you upgrade. Then perform the upgrade, and then restart Hazel. It worked perfectly for me and none of my rules were affected.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
01 March 2012
Just as a note, I have over 40 rules setup in Hazel; some calling embedded Applescripts or Bash scripts, no issues what so ever. That's not to say you shouldn't backup your rules. To do this, go to the Folder tab, then in the left column pane ("Folders") go to the cog wheel at the bottom and select Export All. This will explore all your rules into nice and neat groups based on how you have yours setup. I do it whenever I have upgraded or made a change to my rules.
Like (3)
Quorm
01 March 2012
BEWARE Installing Hazel 3 will destroy all of your Hazel 2 settings. Restoring from Time Machine does not work. You will need to start over from scratch to reconfigure Hazel, if you can remember what you had in place under Hazel 2.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
5 answer(s)
BlackMacX
BlackMacX
01 March 2012
I upgraded; following the advice in the description on MU and also stopped Hazel 2.38.x before doing the update. It worked without issue for me. So I hope your issue is isolated.
Like (2)
Sasasushi
Sasasushi
01 March 2012
I didn't stop Hazel before running the update and I was seeing some scheduler and metrics errors in the log file. However, after rebooting everything is working perfectly and all of my rules are intact. I DO love Hazel and I thank the developers for going out of their way to contact me to let me know that since I recently purchased Hazel, I qualified for the free 3.0 update! Awesome app!
Like (3)
packdude230
packdude230
09 March 2012
I installed the upgrade with no real issues. As others mentioned, I did stop Hazel before the upgrade and then rebooted after. Worked fine for me. Sorry that you had trouble.
Like (1)
Quorm
Quorm
10 March 2012
The latest update today is working, finally. I like this product and had a lot invested in rules.
Like
Sigil
Sigil
15 March 2012
@Sasasushi Yeah, Hazel is an app you can easily take for granted!
Like
patrickwelker
14 February 2011
I just re-disovered Hazel a week ago and I must say I ♥ it. The features and rules letz you organize your stuff automatically. Of course Hazel can only assist you, but as a data maniac I take all the help I can. You often have to tinker a bit to get certain workflows done by the limited rules, but since it's open to AppleScripts I guess there could be done a lot more (if I'd only finally look into it). The rules are easy to setup once you got the hang of it which should be pretty fast since there are some basic rules already there and the help file is also well… helpful.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.8
Dsp
02 February 2011
Awesome! Automator should be this good. I wish it had decisions (ie if then) and built-in dialogs (applescript works ok). Interface could be designed better. It would be better if rules were not tied to folders. A little hard to get started, but once you do it can save a lot of time moving and renaming files. Can't wait to see what version 3 has.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.8
neimen
19 January 2011
naggy demo. half an hour and one restart after installation, presents dialogue box on startup reminding me that my hazel demo is due to expire in 2 days. can't say how well the app works, as i immediately uninstalled it. star ratings are as they are because i couldn't post this comment without starring.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.8
2 answer(s)
PorkPieHat
PorkPieHat
30 January 2011
nelmen, that's simply not true. Above your review, to the right of "Hazel User Discussion" and to the left of the row of stars, click on "(Write a Review)." At the top of the resulting page there's a drop-down menu saying "[Your User Name], write a Review of Hazel 2.3.8" which you can change from a 'Review' to either a 'Comment' or 'Troubleshooting' — neither of which display or allow star ratings.
Like (5)
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
23 May 2011
Yeah - That would irritate me too.
Like (1)
Kerby74
03 January 2011
Really handy for keeping things clean... but in short the fact that when I delete an application or something, it will ask me if I want to delete related files. It then shows me a list of them to choose from. This should just be standard Mac functionality it is so awesome. I'm glad Hazel has it though since Apple seems to have overlooked this.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.8