Back to Hazel page
Hazel free download for Mac

Hazel Reviews

19 May 2021

Create rules for organizing and cleaning folders.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
wrk24wheel-2
wrk24wheel-2
Mar 10 2021
5.0.6
2.0
Mar 10 2021
2.0
Version: 5.0.6
Stick with v4.4.5 if you have not upgraded to Catalina, which I have no intention of ever doing. I will move to a PC before upgrading to Catalina. Tried v5 before paying the rip off $20 for an upgrade. Glad I didn't as this version stinks. 4.4.5 is a much better reliable version that just works. If you are considering the upgrade, I don't even think I would do it if it were free.
mherndz-1
mherndz-1
Feb 27 2021
5.0.5
0.0
Feb 27 2021
0.0
Version: 5.0.5
This has to be the dumbest "tagging" app I've ever tried. Even the MacOS tagging (which sucks) is better. Set up Hazel rules, it does and monitors nothing. Useless, LOL!
Sw-tester
Sw-tester
Feb 13 2021
5.0.5
5.0
Feb 13 2021
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Excellent software and support! Usually I am posting negative reviews about some bad software. But Hazel really is great. Been using Hazel for a long time. Upgraded to 5 and has been smooth.
Ward
Ward
Jan 25 2021
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 25 2021
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
When I recently upgraded to Hazel 5, I discovered its "App Sweep" feature that seems to be a replacement for AppDelete. Since AppDelete appears to have no future, I've removed it from my Login Items, and enabled Hazel's App Sweep. I'm curious what differences I may encounter the next time I update or delete an application.
F451
F451
Jan 22 2021
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 22 2021
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Version 5 really upped its game. I like it much better as an app verses the previous versions being a Preference Pane. I've been a longtime user of Hazel, and it's because it does so much in the background without me having to do anything but initial setups of what actions I want performed. Now it does even more.
MattSD
MattSD
Dec 7 2020
5.0.3
5.0
Dec 7 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
Version 5 made a huge step forward by moving to a stand alone app instead of a system preference pane. This change created a much smoother user experience on both Catalina and Big Sur. Hazel is the first app I install on any new Mac and it sits quietly in the background running tasks I've created with Hazel's powerful rule editor. For me it's sorting documents and running them through OCR, managing media files, keeping exported photos organized by date and location, and other repetitive tasks.
mckmck
mckmck
Nov 22 2020
5.0.1
1.0
Nov 22 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.1
It does not work at all on macOS Catalina does not start and does not show the icon in the preferences panel, in short, it does not work at all
RC62
RC62
Nov 21 2020
5.0.1
5.0
Nov 21 2020
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Great utility. I have been using Hazel for some years now and depend on it to keep my downloads folder cleaned up. Hazel zips and sorts my application downloads and then moves them to my network repository.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Nov 20 2020
5.0.1
1.0
Nov 20 2020
1.0
Version: 5.0.1
If you are still using 10.13.6 i strongly suggest to Stick with 4.x.x, even if they claim its supported, the application has plenty of bugs and UI glitches, 5.0.1 is worst then 5.0 actually, its now obvious that many new softwares releases made to work under Big S will have hard life on previous systems. And today is 10.13 Abandonware DAY. Another farewell
Kozzy49
Kozzy49
Jun 12 2020
4.4.5
5.0
Jun 12 2020
5.0
Version: 4.4.5
Excellent private eye keeping, everything in order
F451
F451
May 28 2020
4.4.5
5.0
May 28 2020
5.0
Version: 4.4.5
A staple in my System Preferences that does file housekeeping effortlessly and without fail.
nrombaldi
nrombaldi
Apr 16 2020
4.4.4
0.0
Apr 16 2020
0.0
Version: 4.4.4
Hi Alex, Need Help...So far so good... but I am trying to get rid of all "duplicates"... the programme is running now 2 days straight... any way I can speed it up? or what should I do... I am afraid to stop running the program as I am not sure if it will start all over again... Is the program running while my lap top screen is off? Not sure if the program was working overnight!
gcoghill
gcoghill
Mar 24 2020
4.4.4
5.0
Mar 24 2020
5.0
Version: 4.4.4
It's too difficult to really express how powerful this app is, but if you like to automate stuff on your Mac, Hazel will allow you to do an amazingly deep array of actions. It goes far beyond merely cleaning up files on your desktop and downloads folder. The develop is also very helpful and responsive, and the user community over the app's forum is also helpful.
Cerniagigante
Cerniagigante
Feb 27 2020
4.4.4
1.0
Feb 27 2020
1.0
Version: 4.4.4
I love automation, but Hazel is just too rough for my tastes. It lasted about an hour on my mac. After 4 system preferences hangs and an infinite loop while trying to import piccies into Photos I gave up on it and uninstalled it. Sorry, life is too short to learn how to use something that I can do with some perl/python scripts.
gbpmi
gbpmi
Dec 14 2019
4.4.2
0.0
Dec 14 2019
0.0
Version: 4.4.2
I need to redownload Hazel 3 and can't find it anywhere. I'm running a late 2011 Mini and Sierra 10.12.6 Any pointers appreciated.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Feb 27 2019
4.3.4
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
invaluable utility I've been using for years and years. But I wanted to post today because I was having an issue with the log file ballooning to a huge size, emailed tech support and got a reply in like an hour. Amazing. And they did provide the support to fix the issue (seems it was an issue with spotlight indexing). The company really cares for its customers.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Sep 6 2018
4.2.8
0.0
Sep 6 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2.8
The current version is 4.2.9
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Sep 5 2018
4.2.8
5.0
Sep 5 2018
5.0
Version: 4.2.8
Using it for a couple of years daily!
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jul 20 2018
4.2.7
0.0
Jul 20 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2.7
The current version is 4.2.8
theo-langstrumpf
theo-langstrumpf
Feb 13 2018
4.2.2
4.0
Feb 13 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.2
Great app. Easy to use. Extremely useful
monica-8
monica-8
Nov 12 2017
4.2.2
1.0
Nov 12 2017
1.0
Version: 4.2.2
I am sad. I've been using Hazel for a few years and I love it, but I only use it for a few select functions because the interface is a bit complicated. Anyway, I just got a new laptop and I signed in to my account intending to download Hazel onto my new machine, but it appears I have to re-purchsase it. At $32, I am definitely not going to do that. But I will miss Hazel for sure. :(
Potatoes
Potatoes
Jul 1 2017
4.1.4
5.0
Jul 1 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.4
This is a powerhouse for automating file handling. An absolute fantastic app. The design of the app is excellent: it is simple yet useful for newcomers. In the beginning, you can just let it do a few simpler things such as: (1) auto-emptying the trash, (2) helping you clean up system files after uninstalling an app, and (3) put all your mp3 files into a specific folder. Then as time goes, you can start (4) experimenting with letting it auto-file your downloaded bank statements into a specific folder. Later, you can try to (5) let Hazel put a date in the file name so your bank statements are auto-sorted and auto-named. I have been using Hazel for many years, and it now does a lot a the heavy tedious work for me in the background. This include extracting dates from inside PDF files. Auto-uploading files in the background to web servers. Run applescripts at specific times of the date on specific folders. Prepare files for uploading to servers by compiling them, renaming them, and associate meta-date, and then upload the files. Handling all of my financial statements and receipts from banks, utilities, and so forth. Send messages to my loved one by the end of work day. Sort my photos into sub-folders based on metadata. That was a small selection of what one can do with Hazel. Totally awesome app. If you file management is a mess, or you are tired of doing repetitive work, get it and start enjoying Hazel doing all the boring work for you.
Sam0
Sam0
Jun 8 2017
4.1.3
5.0
Jun 8 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
Great app. Clean and easy to use. My Mac would mess up quickly without Hazel! :)
dwp-1
dwp-1
Aug 4 2016
4.0.5
5.0
Aug 4 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.5
Hazel is one of the first utilities I install on my computers. It saves me the user from doing the daily repetitive tasks and makes the changes I set it up to do, to all the files, folders and sub folders. It is simple for the beginner, yet extremely powerful for the expert user. I have gone paperless and I love it, no more searching through stacks of paper to find the document I need. I scan & OCR every document and receipt into one folder. I then have Hazel examine each file, rename it, give it some tags and then move it into the appropriate folder were it is imported by EagleFiler.. All I have to do is scan the document and Hazel does the rest behind the scenes. This is **Amazing** Software folks. Alessandro82, if you are experiencing problems with Hazel, please talk to Paul the developer, I guarantee he will help you resolve your problem to the best of his abilities. It is inappropriate to lash out at the developers app when you haven't discussed the problem with him,
Alessandro82
Alessandro82
Jul 21 2016
4.0
0.5
Jul 21 2016
0.5
Version: 4.0
no words could ever epress how disgustess i m from hazel tonbight i ve just updated to version 4.0.4 and surprise your crappy application tells me could not loasds one or more rules because are coorrupted or whatever it s month since i ve done abloluytely nothing to my rules so i downgraded to version 4.0.2 and everything works as expected
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
Jun 7 2016
4.0
0.0
Jun 7 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0
Hazel 4.0.2 is available
RebeccaA
RebeccaA
May 23 2016
4.0
5.0
May 23 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0
This is one of my favorite apps. Greatly designed with simple interface. It comprises all the necessary functions in order to maintain Mac clean and saves free space. I like the way it manages my Trash, there's no need to do this routine work putting the unneeded files or programs to the Trash and then emptying the Trash and then uninstall the leftovers of the program. Now Hazel does all this stuff for me. Appreciate its help, just saves my time. Recommend it!
F451
F451
May 5 2016
4.0
5.0
May 5 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0
I've owned a license to Hazel since it first appeared. A perpetual mainstay in my Mac utility arsenal. Hazel just makes my life much easier regarding file organization. The new features and changes just add to an already excellent app.
Caput-Draconis
Caput-Draconis
Dec 23 2015
3.3.6
5.0
Dec 23 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.6
Downloaded it a while ago and can say, that it is a really useful app. It is sparing me a lot of mindless organising. I can definitely say, that it is a must have.

P.S. At first I thought it is complicated, but after 3 minutes i could easily make new rules from scratch. If you need some help with understanding create the premade rules and read how they are built.
Grug
Grug
Nov 21 2015
3.3.6
5.0
Nov 21 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.6
indispensable.
jdidun
jdidun
Aug 26 2015
3.3.5
3.5
Aug 26 2015
3.5
Version: 3.3.5
Too complicated for me, but probably the app is not bad.
Shallowp
Shallowp
Aug 8 2015
3.3.5
5.0
Aug 8 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.5
Hazel is still the top level managing files tool. A must to own/use.
jack2001
jack2001
Jul 8 2015
3.3.5
5.0
Jul 8 2015
5.0
Version: 3.3.5
veramente è un'ottima app. PROVATELA
Bloomsday
Bloomsday
Dec 9 2014
3.3.3
5.0
Dec 9 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3.3
Hazel is alive and well. Although I may not know it. It peacefully lives in the background tidying up for me. I have used this software for many years. It is among my must-have Mac applications.
Stevey-G
Stevey-G
Nov 21 2014
3.3.2
3.0
Nov 21 2014
3.0
Version: 3.3.2
I've tried this app and, although it is a good app, $29 is a stupidly overpriced asking price. $10-15 is more sensible I think. Hopefully they will do a sale and i will manage to find out about it :)
Ali-Egypt
Ali-Egypt
Oct 29 2014
3.3.1
4.5
Oct 29 2014
4.5
Version: 3.3.1
Pretty cool and useful app.
Luca-Zorzi
Luca-Zorzi
Oct 28 2014
3.3.1
5.0
Oct 28 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
I absolutely CAN'T live without Hazel. At first you don't know how to use it, but after a few days it just clicks and you start relying on it to do all the dirty work you shouldn't worry about. With my purchase i did not only buy Hazel, I bought myself a bunch of free time.
MacMec
MacMec
Oct 28 2014
3.3.1
4.5
Oct 28 2014
4.5
Version: 3.3.1
Best tool of that kind, scriptable and unobstrusive.
Potatoes
Potatoes
Oct 21 2014
3.3
5.0
Oct 21 2014
5.0
Version: 3.3
Superb app. Hazel 3.x has become a really powerful app. Here are some of my usages of Hazel: (1) I monitor a folder on my laptop. Whenever a file is dropped into that folder, it is automatically uploaded to a web server by sftp and automatically updates a website. (2) automatically deletes old files in the Trash folder. (3) Automatically removes old Mail downloads. (4) Automatically files scanned PDF documents such as bank statements and energy bills. (5) Automatically adds dates to file names. (6) Automatically put photos into sorted folders and uploads folders tagged with (say) "family" to shared Dropbox Family folder. (7) Cleans up Safari download folder regularly. I can't express how much this app has helped me over the years. One of my most treasured apps.
MaxWilders
MaxWilders
Feb 23 2014
3.2.5
5.0
Feb 23 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2.5
Plain simple to use and highly recommended for everyone. Brilliant app worth the steep asking price. Buy it now. :-)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Feb 6 2014
3.2.4
5.0
Feb 6 2014
5.0
Version: 3.2.4
Absolutely one of the best workflow utilities I've ever used. Once set up, and there's a myriad of possibilities for how you use it, it just sits in the background waiting, and when triggered, Hazel performs flawlessly. One of the first utilities I install (along with Default Folder and Keyboard Maestro) when setting up a new Mac.
F451
F451
Oct 29 2013
3.2.1
5.0
Oct 29 2013
5.0
Version: 3.2.1
I believe I've owned a licensed copy of Hazel since its inception. Hazel makes downloads easy, especially when saving updates by a particular developer. Keeping your desktop free of files is much easier with Hazel too. Hazel is in my top-five of must-have utility apps. An out-of-sight, out-of-mind app they discretely does major file housekeeping.
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Aug 23 2013
3.1.5
5.0
Aug 23 2013
5.0
Version: 3.1.5
As of August 22, the download for Hazel 3.1.5 link here on MacUpdate still links to (and downloads) Hazel 3.1.4. However, Hazel 3.1.5 can be downloaded directly from the developer's website.
RunTime
RunTime
Jul 2 2013
3.1.2
0.0
Jul 2 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.2
Extremely useful (if you do not like to dwell in complicated Apple Scripts). But, 10.7 is a show stopper for us to... for years to come.
isntzen
isntzen
Jun 20 2013
3.1
4.0
Jun 20 2013
4.0
Version: 3.1
I adore Hazel. It provides automation in ways that should be commonplace in modern computing. Folder actions (present in OSX for years) could have been extended to provide similar functionality, but Apple chose not to cater to power users. Hazel emerged to scratch this itch. Bummer for those (like me) who are in love with SN–Hazel now requires Lion, eh, or Mounting Lion–a position I forever hope to avoid. I hope Noodlesoft is still around in 2018, when failing hardware will force me to abandon my beloved white kitty.
Damian Weiss
Damian Weiss
Jun 19 2013
3.1
4.5
Jun 19 2013
4.5
Version: 3.1
When I first discovered Hazel I couldn't imagine all the possible ways of using it! My favorite purposes are: - Automatically copying new images from my inserted flash card, labelling the imported images so that they are not reimported, opening a slideshow of the imported images in GraphicConverter to scan through them and deleting the ones I don't need and let Hazel organize the remaining ones by date in folders that are named by date. - After downloading my account statements from my online bank as zip file, Hazel unpacks the zip file, renames all credit and debit files by date and type (credit/debit), labels them by year, sorts them in the corresponding folder and opens the account statements in Preview for sighting. - I use ExactScan Pro to scan my papers to a certain folder. Then, Hazel opens the scans in Adobe Acrobat Pro to do OCR and save the files as ClearScan which reduces pdf file size enormously. I'm very happy with Hazel although one needs some knowledge of AppleScript to use it gainfully. If you are not a regular AppleScript programmer you will spend some hours until everything works as expected. That's why it's important that Hazel gains new features that are not bound to a programming language. Hazel introduced the possibility of uploading files to a FTP server in version 3.1. As much as I like this new feature, it's a pity that I can't use it because I can't and don't want update to Lion. Is there any chance to get a version of Hazel 3.1 that works with Snow Leopard? It's quite exceptional that Hazel changes system requirements while not upgrading to the next full version (i. e. version 4.0). I'm rather disappointed about this behaviour.
leoofborg
leoofborg
Apr 8 2013
3.0.17
4.5
Apr 8 2013
4.5
Version: 3.0.17
MacUpdate and their DUMB 1/2 stars. This is a 5-star App that has changed how I use my Mac. And I've been a Mac user for a LONG time. What is it? Think about Mail Rules & filtering. This is FINDER Rules & filtering, including de-installation of Apps. I have AppZapper, and use it from time to time, I have to say that Hazel does a better job of catching & trashing Apps that I de-install. I also use it to rename files & folders via token. In fact, if you're learning scripting & are having difficulty wrapping your head around tokenizing things... Hazel may be your entré. Highly recommended.
Grouty
Grouty
Mar 10 2013
3.0.16
5.0
Mar 10 2013
5.0
Version: 3.0.16
Unbelievably useful by itself. Download a PDF containing text (such as a utility bill) and Hazel can search the text of the file for words like "Power Bill" before renaming it, adding a date and filing it for you. All automagically. Almost limitless possibilities when combined with other utilities like DropBox and KeyBoard Maestro. Terrific support for newbies too. Not sure how I kept things in line without it. Highly recommended
Carlos-Sz
Carlos-Sz
Jan 10 2013
3.0.16
4.5
Jan 10 2013
4.5
Version: 3.0.16
It is great so far. I was able to make the app watch a folder, then analyze its subfolders (depth 0), then for each subfolder move their subfolders (they always change in name but the app can handle it) to an external drive keeping the initial folder structure (Main folder A, subfolders B and C will be analyzed, any subfolders in B will be moved to an external drive to a folder B there and any subfolder in C will be moved to an external drive to a folder C there too, always skipping a subfolder I don’t want to move at all). The Trash feature is also interesting and it seems to work properly: move an app there and the app prompts if we want to delete the related files too. If so all related files are moved to the trash in a way we can easily restore if needed. Nice addition. My suggestions considering I like to run the rules on demand: - an option to see a progress (even if only an animated menu bar icon like DropBox does: sometimes I don’t know if it is ready, e.g. if I miss the notification or not ) - set a folder to be displayed in the root of the menu bar icon (like a Favorites part of the menu: useful to run rules with less clicks as possible)
Rochade
Rochade
Nov 13 2012
3.0.14
5.0
Nov 13 2012
5.0
Version: 3.0.14
One of those apps I don't want to miss. Keeps my daily work organized.