Back to BetterZip page
BetterZip free download for Mac

BetterZip Reviews

19 March 2021

Archiving tool.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
Mar 19 2021
5.1
1.0
Mar 19 2021
1.0
Version: 5.1
I never use any app with "Better" in his name !
dabcca
dabcca
Jun 14 2019
4.2.3
2.0
Jun 14 2019
2.0
Version: 4.2.3
Betterzip freezes when opening a folder using 100% CPU resources. Had to force quit and resorted to Keka. Much simpler, more compression options, and doesn't freeze. A shame as I just spent $10 to upgrade to a newer version of Betterzip. WOM (waste of money).
Ralphbln
Ralphbln
Jun 8 2019
4.2.3
5.0
Jun 8 2019
5.0
Version: 4.2.3
Have been using this app since version 2. Never let me down. A must have if you deal with Windows/Linux users on a regular basis (BetterZip filters out all the pesky .DS_store files and other Mac specific cr*p that nobody cares for). Creating compressed files in whatever format is a breeze. Also extracting only selected files from large archives. Developer is very responsive (contacted him twice).
Hugheba
Hugheba
Apr 8 2019
4.2.3
2.5
Apr 8 2019
2.5
Version: 4.2.3
Does the job when it works, freezes/hangs more often than it works. I try to avoid using it. Been waiting 5 minutes on "Extracting items temporiarily 0B of 224B"...it can't extract 244B???
drwebmail
drwebmail
Mar 13 2019
4.2.2
5.0
Mar 13 2019
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
By far the best out of what exists. Great supportive developer. Updated regularly. Quicklook Preview. Supports nearly all compressed formats. Setup Presets to handle deleting extra file remnants like Hazel. Generous demo policy. Support good developers. Worth the money.
ahmedhatata-ah
ahmedhatata-ah
Feb 5 2019
4.2.2
5.0
Feb 5 2019
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
The best ever archiver utility app I have ever come across in the market , this software is simply works and pleasantly fast and powerful . It really take the archive to the next level . Great company and supportive updates . It's price deserves every piny.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 15 2018
4.2.1
2.0
Nov 15 2018
2.0
Version: 4.2.1
Hi! In version 2 it was possible to double-click an app inside an archive and the app was launched, a file and the file opened, a folder and the folder opened... Doesn't seem to be possible any more or am I missing something ? When I double-click on an item, its name is being displayed under the tool bar (like "name_of_the_archive > name_of_the_file") and nothing else happens... :-o If this is true, it loses what made Betterzip interesting to me...
Jianni
Jianni
Oct 18 2018
4.2
2.0
Oct 18 2018
2.0
Version: 4.2
As promised by the dev, today I got warned by the app that version 4.2.1 was ready :) https://macitbetter.com/BetterZip.zip Thanks again for the quick fix for elCap users. Works great and even faster than before !
Jianni
Jianni
Oct 16 2018
4.2
2.0
Oct 16 2018
2.0
Version: 4.2
Updated from 4.1.3 to 4.2 (elCapitan 10.11.6):

Double clicking as usual on archives, nothing happens.
Only way to make the BZ's window open and show the archive content is through "Open" from the menubar or from QuickLook + click in one of the shown archive elements.
Tried the usual actions: trash preferences and caches, but nothing change.

The same issue, in the same OS, is reported by other users as well in some mac forum...
Going back to v.4.1.3, everything works properly
tx517
tx517
Jun 20 2018
4.1.3
2.0
Jun 20 2018
2.0
Version: 4.1.3
I have tried BetterZip 4.1.3 (using mainly Stuffit then The Unarchiver for decompressing files).

One very bad surprise has unfortunately appeared: BetterZip has, without my knowledge let alone my consent, totally changed the Finder QuickLook. When QuickLooking an dmg file, a very big QuickLook window appears, which is confusing and unnecessary. It seems there is no option in BetterZip to deactivate this (if anyone knows otherwise, please let me know.).

While some people may enjoy this, forcing it on the user is a behaviour that is for me not acceptable.

P.S. Better also states that many dmg files cannot be viewed being encrypted, while they can be mounted without any password...
p6xu-8kwh
p6xu-8kwh
Mar 22 2018
4.1
5.0
Mar 22 2018
5.0
Version: 4.1
Very nice and works much more smoothly than WinZip or Apple's built in app.
EmilGH
EmilGH
Feb 22 2018
4.0.3
1.0
Feb 22 2018
1.0
Version: 4.0.3
I'm not sure how this is better than the macOS built-in archive utility... I mean, it costs more, so it's got that going for it.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Oct 7 2017
4.0.1
4.5
Oct 7 2017
4.5
Version: 4.0.1
BetterZip is the __best__ of all the archiving tools available for my archiving/unarchiving needs. From being able to add preconfigured preset archiving to any file or folder in the Finder from a toolbar in the Finder window to adding presets to the Finder service menu. I've tried most of the archiving utilities on the market. None of of these have the feature set that is available in BetterZip. I do have one feature that the BetterZip developer could add to BetterZip that would please me. I would like to be able to create preconfigured/preset droplets for dragging a file, files or folder onto that would tell BetterZip how to configure the archive as it does with the Finder toolbar and services menu. I currently use the BetterZips Finder toolbar feature for performing preconfigured/preset archiving. However, I would prefer drag and drop, instead of select a file and choose from a menu. This missing feature/preference is a very minor shortcoming for me and is the reason this is a 4.5 star review and not a 5 star review. I have to give the developer some incentive to get a 5 star review from me ;)
jozpy1
jozpy1
Jun 8 2017
4.0
1.0
Jun 8 2017
1.0
Version: 4.0
The author of BetterZip is going to ignore your mail when you approach him about something related to the tool he has been selling. He is terribly unresponsive. How can I purchase his app when he behaves this way?
F451
F451
May 24 2017
4.0
5.0
May 24 2017
5.0
Version: 4.0
Fast, configurable, plays well with others, and the best at what it does. Once you’ve paid the initial price of admission the upgrades are more than reasonably priced (in this case $9.99 for version 4). A must-have for serious Mac users.
jcastilla
jcastilla
Mar 2 2017
3.2.1
4.0
Mar 2 2017
4.0
Version: 3.2.1
It's very convenient to open a zip file without extracting it. As I deal with such files very often, BetterZip became strongly helpful for me. So, I even agree to pay for it.
Drdul
Drdul
Feb 1 2017
3.2
5.0
Feb 1 2017
5.0
Version: 3.2
This is the best archive utility around, and unlike others is actively supported. I used to use another app that hasn't been updated in a couple of years, and is missing some features that BetterZip has, so I made the switch, and am glad I did. I encountered a couple of bugs and reported them to the dev, who responded immediately and released an update within a couple of weeks. He also incorporated a feature request as a hidden setting (see the last section of the help file for a bunch of useful "hidden" settings). If you frequently work with zip files and other archives, or want more control over creating archives and extracting files than the default archive app, then you should give BetterZip a try.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Jul 15 2016
3.1.2
4.5
Jul 15 2016
4.5
Version: 3.1.2
Good compresssion tool. But I do prefer the much cheaper Keka.
jreffner
jreffner
Feb 8 2016
3.0.4
5.0
Feb 8 2016
5.0
Version: 3.0.4
Well, when Apple integrated zip into the OS, I gave up on 3rd party compression apps, but with newer types of compression such as RAR and 7-zip I decided that I again needed a 3rd party app. After much research I settled on BetterZip, and I have to say that it was a very good choice. The biggest problem with most third party apps is that you need two of them. One for RAR and another for everything else. BetterZip allows you to buy WinRAR and add it to BetterZip's interface thereby allowing you to use one app for it all. I also love the fact that I can set any type of compression (RAR or 7-Zip) to occur through the services via a right click. You can also check the integrity of your files which is handy when your pal tells you he is having a problem with the file you sent or vice versa. Probably the best feature is the tech support. I've sent several of them for three different issues and they were all immediately responded to and solved (it was my mistake in every case). So, if you are looking for a great all-in-one compression app, buy this and WinRAR. It is well worth it.
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
Nov 12 2015
3.0.3
5.0
Nov 12 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0.3
The one and only good compression/decompression app. biggest plus : Quicklook plugin for archives
droscar
droscar
Aug 26 2015
3.0.3
0.0
Aug 26 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0.3
The link here is downloading version 3.0.2. 3.0.3 is available at the developer's site.
Mcr
Mcr
Aug 24 2015
3.0.2
0.0
Aug 24 2015
0.0
Version: 3.0.2
For those using El Cap, there is a bug in El Cap (still there as of dev preview 7), in which the built in Archiver has trouble unarchiving some zip files, either failing outright, or the hash values don't match of some items after unarchiving. I reported to Apple and provided a test zip file, created using Yosemite built-in archiver. Came across totally by accident, had a Yosemite created zip file, which unzips fine on Yosemite and Mavericks, and unzips fine under BetterZip, Entropy and Unarchiver, but El Cap failed in trying to unzip it. Was able to duplicate intermittently with other zip files created in other programs, ie. El Cap couldn't unzip them, or appeared to, but files were corrupted.

In the meantime, if using El Cap, don't rely on the built in Archiver to create or unzip. Use another compression product, which ever you like. this isn't a plug per se for BetterZip, nor am I against it, just a heads up to use a 3rd party product until Apple resolves.
joe-exp
joe-exp
Aug 21 2015
3.0.2
5.0
Aug 21 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0.2
Best of the bunch and the only one that still being updated on a regular basis. Developer is super responsive in ironing out bugs. Don't be discouraged by the trolls below who give negative ratings based personal taste.
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Aug 10 2015
3.0.1
1.0
Aug 10 2015
1.0
Version: 3.0.1
Version 2.x is easily a 5-star app. The ability to pre-define different queue tasks based on what type of archive you are working with really helps with automation. Unfortunately I have no choice but to rate the new 3.0.1 version a bust. As per a comment posted previously months ago, this version completely corrupts cbz files, which literally are just zip files containing jpg images, while version 2.x continues to handle them like a champ. The developer acknowledged this by email and promised that it would be fixed in the next update, but that was over 2 months ago. I don't know what other archive formats it may be corrupting and since I can't trust it for one of those I dabble with, I can't trust it. AT ALL!
Aargl
Aargl
May 25 2015
3.0
2.0
May 25 2015
2.0
Version: 3.0
I absolutely don't like the new interface (those damned unreadable grey icons!), the quicklook plugin doesn't work on my system (10.9.5), I'm reverting to v2.3.4! Note that the plugin was not displaying properly in v2.3.4 since OS 10.9, but it's still better than v3. I'm sorry to give only 2 stars, because the functionality is quite perfect and v2 deserved 4 or 5 stars easily.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
May 20 2015
3.0
5.0
May 20 2015
5.0
Version: 3.0
This is an excellent update to what is the most feature rich, fast and compatible archive utility on any OS. The update offers improved format support (including chrome extensions and EPUB files), a password generator, a solid applescript integration and a great update to the already awesome QuickLook generator. Along with the existing powerful extract/save presets, the archive password manager, the wonderful preview pane and the many small helpful touches of the UI, this is really worth the price for those who regularly work with archives.
Dhark01
Dhark01
Mar 27 2015
2.3.4
0.0
Mar 27 2015
0.0
Version: 2.3.4
This came out beginning of December 2014, but still no sign of it in the Mac App Store...
Norz
Norz
Aug 6 2014
2.3.3
5.0
Aug 6 2014
5.0
Version: 2.3.3
Great app!
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Mar 30 2014
2.3.3
0.0
Mar 30 2014
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
Opens ".ipa" files easily so you can see how they are constructed. Once you use BetterZip to extract the .app contents of the ipa file, you can then look at how the app is constructed if you are learning how to develop iOS apps for iPad/iPod/iPhone. Who knew, handy development tool as well as productivity tool. Gotta love BetterZip!
MacJollyRoger
MacJollyRoger
Mar 25 2014
2.3.3
0.0
Mar 25 2014
0.0
Version: 2.3.3
10.7.5 - the password manager dont work. i try to set a masterpassword, close the app and start new, its all gone. i cant use the passwordlist.. all presets of me are gone after a quit.
Voreball
Voreball
Feb 28 2014
2.3.2
0.0
Feb 28 2014
0.0
Version: 2.3.2
Lots of great features, mostly the preview abilities and open with context menu. Lots of crashes too. Especially when trying to extract one or a group of selected files from an archive (drag-drop). Also when something goes wrong, say a missing rar segment for instance, there's no other way out from endless beachball than force quit. Should be some time out process and/or error message allowing to stop it or exit the app. No rar .rev files support. No way to keep partially or broken extracted files.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 19 2014
2.3.2
5.0
Feb 19 2014
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
BetterZip is the best zipper!
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
Nov 4 2012
2.3
2.5
Nov 4 2012
2.5
Version: 2.3
There doesn't seem to be a .dmg option. So not for me.
Heathen
Heathen
Jun 17 2012
2.3
2.5
Jun 17 2012
2.5
Version: 2.3
You might wonder why I would give an overall Rating of 2.5 stars when most of the other stars lists as 5. Unfortunately, there isn't a category for performance and this is where the program GREATLY fails. The performance in question is its affect on system performance. By itself, for small files, it is OK, but if you are attempting to extract a LARGE file and and you have multiple things going on (downloading a file via Transmission or Firefox for instance), it will hang your system more than likely to the point of having to forcibly turn off your machine and reboot it. This has been going on since v2.0 of the program, and affects 10.6.x and 10.7.x systems in this manner. Transmission and Firefox are not the only programs that could be doing something simple in the background, but just for clarity's sake, I have been using the latest at that time whenever I ran across this issue since the 2.0 release of BetterZip. You have an elegant and well designed program...just make it so that you can use it when you are operating your system and being able to put it in the background while you complete other tasks. Other similar programs do not have this issue.
Freddy-Moncada
Freddy-Moncada
Mar 11 2012
2.2
0.0
Mar 11 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
Can someone tell the pros and cons of BetterZip 2.2 Vs Entropy 1.4.1? If someone have testing the two softwares.
Phoenix⚡⚡
Phoenix⚡⚡
Mar 8 2012
2.2
3.5
Mar 8 2012
3.5
Version: 2.2
V.2.2 The Betterzip Passwords Manager fail to save any password!
thadon
thadon
Mar 2 2012
2.2
5.0
Mar 2 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2
I tried to extract a pack of mp3 files and one of them was broken. Betterzip could not successfully extract all the other mp3 files and skipping the broken one, only a fraction of the mp3 files was unpacked successfully. "the unarchiver" was able to do the job perfectly instead. And a thousand times faster. it's a shame. and the small icons are terrible, i would like too be able to see instantly where the zip files and so on are. something colorful or at least a bigger icon than a micro box in the middle. Other than that, a great tool
guido-damore
guido-damore
Oct 9 2011
2.1.1
3.5
Oct 9 2011
3.5
Version: 2.1.1
A little bug that needs to be correct. If I go to Preferences/File Associations and deselect "Java ZIP Archive" thans BetterZip isn't the default app to open simple ZIP archives while if I select "Java ZIP Archive" BetterZip is the default app to open either JAR archive than ZIP archive. You should separate JAR to ZIP. Thanks.
robfol
robfol
Sep 25 2011
2.1
0.0
Sep 25 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1
Nice app When does V2.1 come to the Apple Store version? Mine is stuck on V2.0.2
r-owen
r-owen
Sep 21 2011
2.1
5.0
Sep 21 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
I mostly use Springy to create cross-platform archives stripping Mac-specific data, and it makes that very easy by offering a service (and as of 1.2 you can hold down the option key if you don't want the default settings!. Most of the competition makes this simple task much too difficult (DropStuff and Spring, the two I used to use, are exceptions). Being able to look inside archives is also very useful, of course, but I do that much less often. I've never had any problems with the software and the developer was very kind about a few suggestions I made, and added them to version 1.2. Easy to use, powerful, stable and well supported. Well worth the price.
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
Sep 20 2011
2.1
0.0
Sep 20 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1
I love the speed of BetterZip 2. I love the new features. But there is one feature that is missing! I really want to to abandon using BetterZip 1.8.3 but there is one giant problem with BetterZip 2 and it has no option to calculate file sizes in Base 10. For the love of God please add a preference setting to change from Base 10 to Base 2 or vice versa. When I segment a file into 200 MB chunks I want the file to be 200 MBs in Base 10 which is the normal way for most file host services. With BetterZip 2 my file host reports the BetterZip 2's 200 MB chunk as 195.31 MB. Seriously this alone has stopped me from upgrading. I have better things to do than pull out a calculator to find a optimum MB range if I need to split up a backup before I upload to my MediaFire folder.
Moofing
Moofing
Aug 16 2011
2.0.2
5.0
Aug 16 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Just dang handy to be able to peek inside a zip. A little annoyed they overwrote the app in the manner of an "update", with payable upgrade over the older version without clear warning. It basically left me back in demo mode, with the choice of pay-up, or waste time hunting for a backup to re-install.
guido-damore
guido-damore
Aug 7 2011
2.0.2
3.5
Aug 7 2011
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
After some initial problems with BetterZIP due to the absence by default of RAR compressor, I can say that actually this is the best archive utility for OS X. I would like to thanks the developer to his patience about explaining me how to add the RAR compress. 5 Star.
Yuriy-Georgiev
Yuriy-Georgiev
Aug 4 2011
2.0.2
5.0
Aug 4 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
Hello, I'm the developer of sArchiver. What can I say... that's the best competitor of sArchiver. MacItBetter does some great work. I wish you luck and success with your project. Greets form Bulgaria. P.S.: there is only one lack by my opinion, I see no art involved. please don't misunderstand me.
guido-damore
guido-damore
Jul 18 2011
2.0.2
3.5
Jul 18 2011
3.5
Version: 2.0.2
I would like to buy it but I see that it is missing support to create .RAR archives (and splitted .RAR volumes). Is it correct or I am wrong? Do you think it could be possible to implement support for RAR creation? Thanks.
jocatra
jocatra
Jul 8 2011
2.0.2
0.0
Jul 8 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
I bought this app through Apple AppStore, but up to this date the version 2.0.2 NOT is available to download... Please,fix it. Thanks.
Balzercomp
Balzercomp
Jul 6 2011
2.0.2
0.0
Jul 6 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
Which version is current? 2.0.2 as listed above, or 2.0.1 as available on the Mac App Store?
Backpacker
Backpacker
Jul 6 2011
2.0.2
0.0
Jul 6 2011
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
v1.8.3 let me zip files/folders with a default setting (Best compression, unencrypted). v2.x.x makes me set that option each time, even after having set the Prefs-Presets-Save to my preferred default setting.
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
Jul 4 2011
2.0.2
5.0
Jul 4 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.2
I've been waiting a long time for this update. I've now trashed all my other archiving apps to make way for this one. Thank you!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Jun 24 2011
2.0.1
5.0
Jun 24 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.1
Lovely update to the user interface, but it is the new features which shine. The extraction and save presets are just *wonderful*, nice balance of functionality while streamlining workflow. The queue is nice to see visualised (and being able to choose the threading for parallel extractions), and password management is very welcome. I went to pay for my update willingly, but found I was eligible for a free upgrade, so I went and bought a copy on the MAS (which I normally dislike) as a way to pay some sort of upgrade fee and be able to comment positively over there too. Thanks Robert for a great update!