Back to ClickRepair page
ClickRepair free download for Mac

ClickRepair Reviews

3.9.3
20 July 2015

Helps restore sound archived from vinyl records.

Lenw
13 December 2009

Most helpful

Certainly not the prettiest program, or the most straight-forward to use, but the results are absolutely incredible. The LP default settings yield consistently excellent results, eliminating just about every bit of pops and clicks from an album. My digitized vinyl from the '70s sounds much warmer and richer than just about every CD after processing with ClickRepair.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.2

Read 23 ClickRepair User Reviews

Rate this app:

Hilbo60
01 December 2017
This App and it's companion App suite: 'Denoise' & 'Denoise LF' are absolute gems!, they work like magic with very little effort. Just run your digitised file through them and listen to the CD-like quality of your recordings, with all the crackles & pops gone and the music perceptibly untouched. I bought them many years ago when digitising my own vinyl collection and have not found anything in this price range to equal them since. I have recently started using the Apps again to digitise some vinyl for others and would recommend them to anybody!
Like
Version 3.9.3
Hermie
12 September 2016
ClickRepair is now at version 3.9.6. I started digitizing some old vinyl again after a somewhat long pause and came back to ClickRepair which I bought ages ago. What an absolute GEM this is! Just leave it at Default LP and listen to and watch the magic, it gets just about all the junk out in a minute or so. BTW listening to the crackle that's being removed is fun, but after a while switch this option Off and see it speed up. Thank you Brian for keeping ClickRepair alive, I hope for a long time yet. Runs fine on the Captain.
Like
Version 3.9.3
Tlance
07 November 2014
Anyone have this running on Yosemite? Where to get legacy Java?
Like
Version 3.9.1
2 answer(s)
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
22 November 2014
Runs fine on Yosey.
Legacy Java can be downloaded directly through Apple:
http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572
Like
Tlance
Tlance
27 November 2014
Thanks. Got it running now.
Like
Aargl
21 March 2013
I'm kind of a sound engineer but occasionally declick some old recording of mine and I don't want to spend too much time on it. Until recently I hadn't found any automatic plugin or app and was unclicking manually in ProTools, only when I had one or two big clicks in a file, leaving the more damaged recordings as they were... I'm really impressed by ClickRepair! I've used the Default LP settings and it's quite perfect. I've tried Default Brass on a quiet recording of strings were the Default LP gave me the impression of "flanging" a bit but it sounded a bit more dull so I came back to Default LP as the original recording had already a bit of that "flanging". All this being very subjective, I'll recommend ClickRepair without a doubt! :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.8.4
Tlance
11 February 2013
Was just using CR after a few months of not. Sheesh! It is so very good at what it does. Still impressed after over 3 years. Great developer. Great manual that gets you as geeky as you're inclined. Or you can stick with the defaults and never look back.
Like (1)
Version 3.8.4
Bdkennedy1
04 February 2012
If you restore vinyl, this is a must have tool. I've been using it for 5 years and I can't live without it.
Like (4)
Version 3.7
Holypoly
14 November 2011
Version 3.6 (build 44a) released November 12, 2011: • Drag and Drop interface for single file processing (see new manual, p10). • More robust handling of unacceptable files. • Changes to File Dialog workaround introduced in version 3.4.2 (Mac only). • Requests users to print registration information. • Minor bug fixes.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.2
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
14 November 2011
Thanks for pointing out the update. I've added the newest version to our listing :)
Like
Julsa1
20 August 2011
I'm just a music lover and i'm using this software in the most simple way. It's great ! Love it and the results are awesome ! Not a dime waisted !
Like (1)
Version 3.5
Karloscka
11 June 2011
In more than ten years in vinyl restoration as a hobbyist I never got results such ones achieved with ClickRepair and DeNoise. Excellent pair. I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again. Thank you Mr. Davis
Like
Version 3.4.4
1 answer(s)
JD-1
JD-1
26 June 2011
I use it for professional work as well as for myself & I concur with Karloscka, I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again either!
Like
Harry-Macbeth
21 May 2011
ClickRepair is the ace and deuce of noise removal software for the home vinyl transfer enthusiast. Anyone wishing to digitize LP recordings that would otherwise have no hope of being issued on CD need look no further than this excellent app. Many thanks, Mr. Davies.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.3
Rondfranks
29 December 2010
Wanted to try this program. Lots of great reviews. Unfortunately, the very first mp3 I tried to open came up with errors about incorrect header. Strange, because it's worked on every program I've opened it in. Not sure if this will save me any time if I have to convert it with another program before I can open it with this one.
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
Markbailey747
Markbailey747
03 May 2011
Read the manual. This program is great at what it does. What it doesn't do is process MP3s or other compressed file formats. From the manual; "The files must be uncompressed, mono or stereo, in 16, 24, or 32-bit “AIFF” or “WAVE” format."
Like (3)
Poikkeus
14 December 2010
While some purists insist that ClickRepair somehow alters the audio, it actually significantly improves the sound - especially with older, scratchy recordings. They end up sounding closer to a CD; given that fact that most users set up their audio to 320kbs - which works just fine with an iPod or audio player - ClickRepair is an important tool.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.1
Bdkennedy1
09 August 2010
I've been using this program for several years. It is the Mercedes of click and pop removal. I imagine it must be difficult to add new features to something that's practically perfect. Vinyl purists will have a stroke over applications such as this because it alters the original audio. That's basically hypocritical. In order to define "original audio", you have to take into consideration, the quality of the turntable, needle, audio card, cables and even the original pressing of the vinyl which in many instances was done in a rush with a poor quality master tape and materials. The bottom line is that I don't want to hear clicks and pops in my music. It's distracting and there's no place for it in the digital age.
Like (3)
Version 3.4
Tlance
09 August 2010
I have resisted this app too long. I prided myself on my abilities with Audition and now Soundbooth CS4. But my last project was so difficult I thought it'd really put CR through it's paces. I am shamed. Even at the default it produced better than my best. Thank goodness my work provides me with SB CS4 or I'd be quite perturbed as CR is easily worth more (i.e. if I'd have paid all that $$ when I could have just spent the $40 ...). It *does* require reading the manual (and yes, you CAN preview) however the manual could be improved with more screenshots and circles and arrows, more examples, & more explicit guidelines for various issues on various genres (and issues with each). It's not easy but I still give it 5 starts for "ease of use" because it is so powerful compared to input demanded by the user. And having said that, should one just blissfully use the presets and just accept the results, it might be considered to be incredibly easy to use.
Like (2)
Version 3.4
Gbbob
26 April 2010
If you are really into converting vinyl to CD's and are new to it, you might want to go to atmp.com, select archives from the top of the screen and then go down the left side of the screen till you hit "What's Under the Hood". There you will find a three part article called Got Vinyl, that will take you though the steps very clearly on how to move and digitize your vinyl (or audio tapes) collection over to CD's. Although ClickRepair did not exist when I wrote the article, it too would make a fine tool to use for eliminating noise, pops, and all else that goes bump in the night. One word of warning, whatever you do, do not use the mike input on your Mac to record through especially on older Macs. It is not properly shielded against the internal sounds produced by the Mac and will be encoded with your music. If you have optical inputs use them or buy a sound card. Although the article was written a while back things like this really do not change. The process is still the same. One funny thing that did happen while I was writing article, was by the time I got to part to part two, all the print magazines were suddenly putting out their own How-To on the subject but, not as in depth and I caught a few mistakes as if it was a rush job. I really got a kick out of it. The icing on the cake for me were the comments I got from all different countries making this the best article I ever wrote. Please do not take these comments as an ego trip, I just wanted to help those who are stumbling around on how to do this procedure because it is not as simple as you may think. End of Line
Like (1)
Version 3.3.1
3 answer(s)
Gbbob
Gbbob
26 April 2010
I made a mistake as I was writing the URL. The correction should be: is atpm.com. Sorry about that
Like (1)
Version 3.3.1
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
09 August 2010
Most Macs do not have that problem. I had a PowerMac G5 that did, but my aluminum iMac does not. As a matter of fact, the iMac has outstanding built in audio. One thing I will recommend against is using a USB turntable. USB was not meant to carry audio signals and emits the same low level humming.
Like
Version 3.4
Gbbob
Gbbob
10 August 2010
If you have a chance go to atpm.com and select archives at the top. Then go down the left side of the page to What's Under the Hood. There you will see the articles I wrote for ATPM. Look for Got Vinyl? There you will find my 3 part article on transferring LPs to CDs. I conferred with many musicians and recording artists as I wrote the article and all of them said not to use the audio input jack on the back of the Mac due to EMF noise. that is not shielded by this jack. Now, using an optical input jack is a whole different story and is safe. But when I wrote the article I did much research as I wrote it. and it still holds up today although the software may has changed. The response to these articles were outrageous and we got comments from all over the Earth. The biggest irony was by the time I got to part 2 of the set, all of a sudden all the major print mags (ie: MacWorld, MacUser, etc) were putting out very abridged versions of what I was writing and I could tell they were rush jobs due to the errors made in the different articles and the clarity in how to do it like my article had. So if you want step by step how to do it, take some time and read it. Robert Lewis is a Free Lance Writer for over 20 years and is in the market for a job. you can find a copy of my resume on yearbook.com under Robert Lewis although when I posted it the formatting did not hold up in some areas. I was also a teacher for 23 years and know how to present an article that anyone will be able to follow. End of Line...
Like
Version 3.4
Lenw
13 December 2009
Certainly not the prettiest program, or the most straight-forward to use, but the results are absolutely incredible. The LP default settings yield consistently excellent results, eliminating just about every bit of pops and clicks from an album. My digitized vinyl from the '70s sounds much warmer and richer than just about every CD after processing with ClickRepair.
Like (4)
Version 3.1.2
Mtpalms
12 August 2008
I can't get it to open. I drag it from disk image to the Applications folder, dbl click on it, and "Click Repair" appears in the menu bar, but there are no drop downs, no startup window, etc. I have to manually Force Quit it from the Finder. I'm running the latest java (1.4 and 1.5) versions with OS X 10.4.11 on a MacBook Pro. I tried dropping the application icon onto the SwitchJava icon as well, to no effect. I would appreciate some help! This sounds like just the program I'm looking for to remove pops from old classical Vox label recordings. Audacity and SoundSoap can only do so much.
Like
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Agordona
Agordona
16 December 2008
I really think that Brian should jump on this one ASAP, I assume they paid for it.
Like
Version 3.0
loukash
03 June 2008
An excellent tool for restoring damaged vinyl recordings. If you are used to work with standard audio editors and plugins, ClickRepair may need some time to get used to it; the interface might need some improvement, too. Also, it takes TIME to repair recordings without having too many "false positives". But once you have figured it all out, the results are amazing. It can make rare recordings enjoyable again, which you would have likely trashed in their original vinyl state. It's also important to point out Brian Davies' excellent and almost instant support.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Jonthes
21 July 2007
This works very well. I rarely buy software but this was worth it. Toast has this option in Spin Doctor but does virtually nothing. You can calibrate this - on rock tracks it can take off the drum beat tops if set too high, for instance. The effect on some 78 files is absolutely amazing. There is also a Batch option in the purchased version (if you email the developer he'll send you a test version of it with the batch option). Only glitch I found is it may freeze after finishing a large file, but just quit the program, doesn't affect the repaired file.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Interstitial
19 April 2006
This is excellent stuff! I've registered and used it for about 20 vinyl LP's or singles so far. You can set it to process with just the noise that is being removed being outputted to your speakers. You will hear no music, but lots of LP noise. That's what it's getting rid of! I have now abandoned other products that simply made everything in the file sound weird no matter what settings I used. My LP recordings aren't perfect, but they are pretty good. The faults still audible are caused by aging and original manufacturing quality. (80's LP's made in Australia were of much crappier quality than UK imports!) They seem to be distortion and oversaturation issues rather than mechanical noise.
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
13 November 2006
Sorry in advance to those expecting a review comment. INTERSTITIAL: I have some questions about the music you are digitizing (80's stuff from Oz). Can you please drop me a line at mick.mueck@comcast.net
Like
Version 2.0.5
Xenon129
16 March 2006
Outstanding. Unlike all other software for cleaning up noisy vinyl records it merely looks for "unexpected", spiky signals in the flow of music and removes them without affecting the rest of the music. It works not only on LP or 78 rpm records but even on (good) cassette recordings made from a record player or off-the air. It has cleaned up more than 50 hrs of music for me.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
09 November 2005
I am a swither user and I want only to say that this software is the better you can find for mac for restore vynil discs Thanks very much to a Australian creator Registered User with satisfaction
Like
Version 1.2.3
MacEric
22 August 2005
I have an old Nitty Gritty Dirt Band record from 1968 that I really crapped up as a kid (excuse my French). I've been trying everything to clean up a digital copy of it, including Amadeus on the Mac and DartPro on the PC. Everything either partially killed good audio, or had too high a learning curve for a little hobby like this. ClickRepair, on its default settings, cleaned up my first song with great results. What's more, it did it fast. I am thoroughly impressed with this shareware, and the price is very fair. If Roxio was smart, they would bundle ClickRepair (not SpinDoctor) with Toast for the audio enthusiast.
Like
Version 1.1.1