Back to GanttProject page
GanttProject free download for Mac

GanttProject Reviews

2.8.10
12 April 2019

Plan projects using Gantt charts.

Prlab
06 July 2012

Most helpful

For a FREE gantt chart program, this works well. Good for students learning project management. Always appreciate free stuff.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.3

Read 17 GanttProject User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dmitry-Novikov
12 October 2016
To compare with 300USD applications, this application is great!
Like (2)
Version 2.6.6
cristmarb
14 February 2015
I am trying to use it!!!! I download it, but show me a box that says... "Unable to load Java Environment". I have the last version of Java... So I can`t use it!
Like (1)
Version 2.6.6
1 answer(s)
Dmitry-Novikov
Dmitry-Novikov
12 October 2016
Works on Sierra, there is a newer version on developers site than on macupdate
Like
Frankof
11 February 2014
the program looks good, but there should be an option to direct the "ganttproject.log" and" java0.log" files into some folder of choice. Right now they are automatically saved in top level of the user folder - where they should definitely NOT be.
Like
Version 2.6.3
Bill-601
21 April 2013
Just downloaded version 2.6.1 from the developer's web site. Doing an info on the file says it's 32-bit Universal. Hope that helps anyone that has had problems with older versions.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Max-G
06 October 2012
Says it imports .xml files but it just freezes on MacOSX 10.6.8 Not usable.
Like
Version 2.5.3
sisterAnnie
14 July 2012
I really like Gantt Charts. I have struggled with Microsoft Project on the PC, it is buggy and the interface is difficult. This, in contrast, was a breeze! There are a few minor UI issues, missing floating text on icons etc, but the icons chosen for those are clear as to what they are. Well done.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.3
Prlab
06 July 2012
For a FREE gantt chart program, this works well. Good for students learning project management. Always appreciate free stuff.
Like (3)
Version 2.5.3
Bentley
29 November 2011
Impossible for me to rate at this point since it is not compatible with Lion. This is a PPC program and will no longer work above 10.6.x
Like
Version 2.0.10
4 answer(s)
Pedro-Fardilha
Pedro-Fardilha
29 May 2012
Hi. If you go to their website you can download the real latest version, 2.5.x
Like (3)
Bentley
Bentley
31 May 2012
4 clicks to get to the actual download... Really? What's the point there? At least it looks like an update finally.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
27 February 2014
Not impossible to rate. You rated it a 1/2 star.
Like
Bentley
Bentley
28 February 2014
Troll much? 1/2 star for what? Having a program? Perhaps I should have said, "evaluate" instead of rate. Feel better now? Freakin' language Nazi. Turning off notices now - my comment was back a few, so really not interested anymore. Movin' on...
Like
ben-marko
01 August 2010
Has it's good side, but the GUI could use some polish. Has a very Windows-like interface, otherwise it works as described. I didn't encounter any bugs at all.
Like
Version 2.0.10
Catb1rd
27 February 2005
My appology! I found out by playing around with it some more that the default save format doesn't work at all. You have to save using the “.gan” format, but you won't be able to double click the saved file. First open the application then use the open menu command. I'll reserve my rating until after I've had a chance to use it for a while.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Catb1rd
25 February 2005
Althought the application allowed me to create a chart, I could not get it to save in any way that was usable. I was looking for a simple Gantt application. This program looked like what I needed if only I could save and reopen a file.
Like
Version 1.10.3
1 answer(s)
Catb1rd
Catb1rd
27 February 2005
My appology! I found out by playing around with it some more that the default save format doesn't work at all. You have to save using the “.gan” format, but you won't be able to double click the saved file. First open the application then use the open menu command.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
24 January 2005
This is exactly what I have been looking for, a simple, gantt chart creator to figure out when I can schedule in new projects.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
13 December 2004
Well, spoke too soon. The hacks worked (except for the about menu) but this thing won't save in any editable format (it won't even save in a format it can reopen itself). I'd say it has a long way to go before it's usable on Mac.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
12 December 2004
Thank, outer - the hacks you suggested worked for me. BTW, .2 is still at the website but the Mac front end is gone from all the .2 downloads - strange.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
11 December 2004
I0.3 does not include the Mac front-end that 10.2 was packaged with... and 10.2 no longer seems to be available. BUT if you still have a copy of 10.2 on hand you can hack it to install 10.3, like so: Open the 10.2 package. Open the Resources folder. Open the Java folder. Replace 1.10.2.jar with 1.10.3.jar. Next, go back to the Resources folder and copy in the lib, manual and themes folders. For good measure, copy in the .bmp and .png files. Finally, go back up to the Contents folder and edit the Info.plist file, replacing the one instance of "1.10.2" with "1.10.3". Close. So far this seems to work (for me). YMMV. I have no idea why the Mac front end was dropped, (and the release notes make no mention of it's passing) except, perhaps, that it's a little hard to run it from the command line when it's buried deep in the front-end package.
Like
Version 1.10.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 December 2004
Thanks, outer - I had a backup copy of .2 and did the hacking you suggested- all seems fine. BTW, .2 is still at the website but the Mac front end isn't in any of the files anymore - quite strange.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
10 December 2004
Maybe I'm being dense but I can't find an application in any of the downloads for this version - I'm sorry now I deleted the previous version.
Like
Version 1.10.3
Anonymous
08 December 2004
This is not ready for prime time but very very promising. I was amazed by how easy it was to edit with a few mouse clicks. I was able to change a start date and the completion percentage with a simple click and drag... yet when I tried to change the order of two events they both disappeared! The events I'd made also started to disappear. It has a great goal, but I would not use this in prime time business. Great tool for TEACHING yourself (or others) how to use gantt charts.
Like
Version 1.10.2