Back to Crossword Forge page
Crossword Forge free download for Mac

Crossword Forge Reviews

7.4.1
26 November 2014

Create crossword and word search puzzles.

Anonymous
07 May 2005

Most helpful

Pros: Easy to use for both crossword and crossnumber puzzles. Responsive developer and frequent updates. Cons: No undo; no genuine page preview; setting page margins is not intuitive; no dynamic links among clues.
Like (2)
Version 3.9

Read 21 Crossword Forge User Reviews

Rate this app:

gotoheck1960
16 August 2017
Is there any way that I can obtain a copy of Crossword Forge 7.4.1 yet? Are there any copies left out there? I have loads of Crossword Forge puzzle files but can no longer access them to edit them and print them due to a brand new and updated hard drive making my Mac now a 10.11.6 version. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Like
Version 7.4.1
mark-dakers
19 December 2016
I have made a collection of puzzles to use for teaching. They work fine on my macbook but the puzzles will not work on my windows laptop or my macbook air. I copy the whole folder across, but get the Error: can't find puzzle.xml message. Very frustrated - the software works so well, but if I can't share the puzzles then it is a waste.
Like
Version 7.4.1
Frankp
20 September 2016
Been using this for years and never had a problem. When I've asked for help to customize it I've gotten good responses from Sol Roberts.
Like
Version 7.4.1
aholler46
06 March 2015
I liked a earlier version of Crossword Forge very much. However, I am unable to unlock a download of the most recent version. Attempts to request help from Sol Robots by email have been unsuccessful. Their phone number is out of service. Some of their suggested websites containing reviews cannot be found, or the home page is blank, or adware immediately pops up. These results are suspicious. Five stars for Crossword Forge, although I'm sorry to read that it crashes on Mavericks. One star for Sol Robots.
Like
Version 7.4.1
Brighton-Pete
29 October 2013
Crashes immediately on startup. Just a non-stop bouncing icon. This is on Mavericks.
Like
Version 7.3
4 answer(s)
Selene-C
Selene-C
24 October 2014
Are you still having this problem? If so, please send your details to help@solrobots.com where we can help with your specific problem. Crossword Forge behaves correctly on Mavericks and Yosemite in our testing and for most users. But we want to address any issues you may be having.
Like
Brighton-Pete
Brighton-Pete
24 October 2014
After a year, I had forgotten about this app!

Seems to be working fine on Yosemite now though.
Like
ScottUpdate
ScottUpdate
10 November 2014
Sol Robots' MacUpdate developer profile says "I actively respond to user feedback." But it took a YEAR for Sol Robots to respond to Brighton-Pete's feedback. So I'm hesitant to spend $50 on an app that receives such slow responses to feedback.
Like
Selene-C
Selene-C
11 November 2014
Sorry. That is my bad. Questions on MacUpdate were being sent to a little used email and I completely missed that comment last year. Most of our tech support questions go through our help email (help (at) solrobots.com). But I promise, we answer!
Like (1)
MadMikey
20 September 2012
Trying the demo but it locks up and I have to do a force quit when ever I click on chose a picture for the background. HELP??
Like (1)
Version 7.2.1
4 answer(s)
Selene-C
Selene-C
20 September 2012
What type of picture are you trying to select? Crossword Forge supports a lot of image types (BMP,GIF, JPEG, MacPaint, PDF, PICT, PNG, Quicktime Image Format, RGB Planar, SGI, Targa, Tiff). Can you try a different image type? What version of Mac OS X are you using?
Like (2)
MadMikey
MadMikey
20 September 2012
I never get that far. When I click to browse a browser never comes up and all i get is the spinning beach ball. Running Mountain Lion 10.8.2
Like (1)
Selene-C
Selene-C
20 September 2012
Can you drag a picture from the Finder to the Picture Backdrop box? I would be interested to hear if that is a workaround for the hang when you click Choose Picture. We haven't tested Crossword Forge on that version of the OS. We are looking into that right now.
Like (2)
MadMikey
MadMikey
20 September 2012
I think I fixed it. I had just installed Mt. Loin 10.8.2. I went and did a disk repair, permission repair and reset the PRAM. I now works. Hopefully this was the problem. Thanks for your prompt responses.
Like (1)
Mtcobra
17 December 2011
After downloading this version (7.0.5), a check on “About Crossword Forge” reveals that you have version 7.0.6. I'll post this on the developer's site if I can.
Like
Version 7.0.5
1 answer(s)
Mtcobra
Mtcobra
17 December 2011
Done and done. Apparently I hopped on board at mid-version change. So.... Never mind. :-)
Like
Stephen-Fry
10 November 2011
We use this for our monthly non-commercial basketball club paper. It's fairly simple to create a crossword puzzle within minutes. Does what it advertises and the price as about right too.
Like
Version 7.0.2
User799
10 November 2011
Version 7.0. Excellent software. I love it. The only thing I miss is the ability to have a forced blank space between words in the puzzle. Say, you want to put "Alexander the Great" as an answer; the puzzle will not allow the spaces, so the student must write in "AlexandertheGreat". Otherwise, fantastic.
Like
Version 7.0.2
1 answer(s)
Cortis
Cortis
10 November 2011
Hi User799, We extract the spaces by default, but you can turn this feature off in the preferences. Look in the Languages tab under the language you are using and uncheck "Extract Spaces".
Like (3)
eric-pye
18 August 2011
So let me get this straight... If I purchased Version 5 and never upgraded to Version 6, I get $15 off an update to Version 7. If I had Version 5 and paid to upgrade to Version 6 prior to May 2011, I have to pay full price for Version 7. Is that correct? Does that seem fair? As I loyal Crossword Forge customer I feel like I just took one up the proverbial you-know-what!
Like
Version 7.0
7 answer(s)
Pcbogert
Pcbogert
18 August 2011
Looks from their website that if you bought a copy in the last three years you qualify for a free upgrade.
Like
Sol Robots
Sol Robots
18 August 2011
Hi Hakushodaimao. If you bought before May 2011 but less than three years ago you get this update for free. Up until May we had a policy of 3 years of free upgrades and we continue to honor that. Frankly I'm sad that we had to abandon that policy for new customers, but two things have pushed us to move to a more traditional versioning scheme (e.g. under the new scheme customers will get all the updates from 7.0 to 7.9 but 8.0 is a reduced cost paid upgrade ). Why we abandoned our 3 years policy? #1 People mostly get confused by the 3 years of free upgrades. So it's a headache for the customer and been challenging for us to manage as well. #2 The Mac App Store provides no way for us to know when a customer bought, let alone not charge them until 3 years later. Hence the new policy. I believe though we've structured the upgrade so that its very fair (although confusing, even for us). if you, or anyone feels that they aren't getting a fair deal, send an email to help@solrobots.com explaining your situation. We will do our best to do right by you.
Like
eric-pye
eric-pye
19 August 2011
Yes... my bad... Didn't remember the three year thing, so obviously was confused, too. Perhaps Sol Robots can make this a bit clearer on the purchase page. I do see the "Eligible for a free upgrade?" link, but assumed it didn't apply to me.
Like
Sol Robots
Sol Robots
20 August 2011
Hi Hakushodaimao. Ok, we've tried making it less confusing (it's hard with the dates) and we've updated our store. Let us know what you think.
Like
MisterE
MisterE
17 September 2011
I love this application but the Mac App Store is Evil. I do not want the company that makes my hardware and the OS that runs the hardware to be the sole outlet for apps that run on that hardware / OS. It's too much power and as you can see it results in developers changing policies and "selling out" because the MAS is easier to market their apps today. I get that but it's short-term thinking. Look at the App sore for iOS. How long before Apple decides it knows what's best for you to have on your Mac and starts a screening process for MAS apps? No doubt it will all be in the name of security and keeping people safe, every major power grab today is done for this reason but, do not think for a second Apple isn't greedy for as much control and power as possible. So, once developers' only outlet is the MAS you lose any leverage to guarantee yourself a fair deal. When (not if) Apple establishes this distribution monopoly and then changes the rules of the game developers will be the ones taking it up the proverbial you-know-what and consumers will get shafted too. I'd also rather pay $35 or $40 for an app such as this direct to the developer rather than $50 because prices have been raised to cover Apple's cut. Apple is doing just fine selling hardware last time I checked and do not need to be putting their hands in Mac developers' pockets. iOS is different, it started that way so I can't complain but this is BAD for the Mac platform.
Like
MisterE
MisterE
17 September 2011
Oh and websites like this one will be the first casualty of the MAS and then Apple will control and moderate what people have to say about applications on the MAS.
Like
Bernak
Bernak
26 October 2011
Thanks for the information. Still got a surprise with the text: "Eligible for a Free Upgrade? (...) Note: Items purchased from the Mac App Store are not eligible." I did buy the MAS version, just because of the usually simple update process, but well, actually was not buying everything as I though. Please add a comment on the AppStore that those versions are not eligible for everyone to know. We assume wrong that the MAS products have the same policy :S . Thanks
Like
RoyPDX
29 April 2011
Love the program, I have no complaints at all...five stars in every category. What I object to is the update/upgrade policy. The form requires that I remember the date I purchased the software. Maybe I should have saved that information but didn't. Does that mean I'm locked out? Why not just base it on the current serial number and email. I really hate upgrades that make us go through hoops.
Like
Version 6.3
1 answer(s)
Sol Robots
Sol Robots
13 May 2011
Thanks for the kind review. You don't have to remember the date. All information on the upgrade form is optional, we just would like to collect as much information as we can on the form so that it is easier for us to verify that you have previously purchased. A human handles the rebate process, so even imprecise information is better than none. If for some reason we can't find your information on the first attempt, we will ask you for more information. If all of this fails, and we can't validate your purchase, we will offer to downgrade your license and refund your new purchase. We are working on a new upgrade process that should be easier. Sorry for any confusion the current forms have caused you.
Like (1)
Nighthawk090
26 February 2008
Downloaded to try out, but version listed with new features as 5.3, site download and linked macupdate download still says 5.2.8........
Like (1)
Version 5.3
1 answer(s)
Cortis Clark
Cortis Clark
26 February 2008
Sorry, forgot to change the version number on the build we sent out. We have since fixed the problem and uploaded the new version. The only change being the version number.
Like (1)
Version 5.3
Franco
24 May 2007
The application works well and does what it is said to do. However, as an Italian user, I feel the lack of an important feature, which is very common in latin languages countries which use many, many polisyllabic words, as at least in mine: the capability to "block" the "black" cells in the desired positions prior to start building the puzzle, so obliging its construction around them. Many puzzles in my country are developed with a symmetrical placement of black cells which are in quantity much less than the open (letters) ones. If the developer is interested, I could e-mail them pictures of some of those typical puzzles. I hope this can be implemented in some future version. Because of that I've dropped down one star.
Like (2)
Version 5.1.7
1 answer(s)
Cortis Clark
Cortis Clark
25 May 2007
The crossword puzzles "Crossword Forge" makes are "free-form" (sometimes also called "criss-cross" or "framework" puzzles). I would be happy to see an italian style crossword. To send us comments, use the contact link which appear at the bottom of our web page. Disclaimer: Keep in mind that we can't promise when or if a particular feature will get added.
Like
Version 5.1.7
Satyrica
25 January 2007
Awesome app! True Mac style: easy to use, lots of great features!
Like (1)
Version 5.1
Anonymous
07 May 2005
Pros: Easy to use for both crossword and crossnumber puzzles. Responsive developer and frequent updates. Cons: No undo; no genuine page preview; setting page margins is not intuitive; no dynamic links among clues.
Like (2)
Version 3.9
1 answer(s)
Cortis Clark
Cortis Clark
06 September 2005
Version 4.0 now has unlimited Undo and Redo.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Gawow
11 April 2005
EXCELLENT! Kudos to Crossword Forge! It is about time someone gave us the ability to create print/press quality files for the crossword puzzles we make! YEA!!! The PDF export is PERFECT! Gives us nice clean text and squares! THANK YOU!!!
Like (1)
Version 3.7
Alberto Sabbadini
04 March 2005
very useful, simple, my slittle students love to create crossword with it (from Italy)
Like
Version 3.6.2
Anonymous
07 January 2005
What I am hoping for is a possibility to create javascript based puzzles for my website. But anyway, this is a great application, my students love it.
Like
Version 3.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 January 2005
If you want crossword puzzles on your website, then try HotPotatoes; it's easy and free
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 January 2005
HotPotatoes is great, but it has a disadvantage: It only works with Internet Explorer. I tried Safari, and it's not able to display anything. But thanks anyway.
Like
Version 3.5
Cortis Clark
Cortis Clark
31 January 2006
You can now develop web based interactive puzzles right from Crossword Forge. Just download the latest version, load your puzzle and export for web. The generated puzzles are Flash based and will work in any browser that supports Flash 7 or higher.
Like
Version 4.5.2
Anonymous
28 November 2004
CF has been very well accepted by my graduate students in medicine as a learning tool. It helps to stimulate discussion, develop focus in thought, and enhance medical vocabulary. It does what it was written to do WELL. It helps to make Learning fun. Great job and thank you.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
09 May 2004
Works nice and fairly easy to use. Seems a bit high priced but still worth it if this is useful to you. Great tool for teaching. Not just grade school.
Like
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
08 May 2004
Easy and straightforward crossword-generating program. Developer informs user of each upgrade, a considerate service.
Like
Version 3.0.5