Back to Preferential Treatment page
Preferential Treatment free download for Mac

Preferential Treatment Reviews

1.1.8
06 November 2007

Scans for corrupt preference files.

Roro01
01 March 2009

Most helpful

What we really need is an application which detect preference files which are not associated with any application, i.e files of applications where we have deleted the applications but forgot to delete their preference files.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.8

Read 22 Preferential Treatment User Reviews

Rate this app:

Anguka
12 August 2010
Has worked well for years, simple, straightforward and useful. Now under OS x 10.6.4 it will not accept me as administrator so I cannot access System prefs. Developer has been informed - I hope it can be fixed as there is nothing else similar in the field.
Like
Version 1.1.8
3 answer(s)
artie505
artie505
20 August 2011
The first step of Disk Warrior's "Check All Files & Folders" functionality duplicates PT's functionality.
Like (1)
Rsmacupdate
Rsmacupdate
02 June 2013
I believe Intech's SpeedTools Utilities PRO also does this.
Like (2)
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
09 May 2016
I had no problem being accepted as an Administrator and accessing System Prefs. It ran fine for me (MacOS 10.11.4)
Like
Roro01
01 March 2009
What we really need is an application which detect preference files which are not associated with any application, i.e files of applications where we have deleted the applications but forgot to delete their preference files.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.8
François-Pellerin
07 November 2007
Grat product! Thanks. The developper could write a ReadMeFirst file to tell the dummies like myself exactly what to do with the files included in the upgrade...
Like (1)
Version 1.1.8
Doc-Renaud
30 October 2006
And you think you could live without stuffit expander installed ? Good luck :-)
Like
Version 1.1.7
Sidetracked
20 August 2006
Works just fine for me in Tiger. A very simple, straightforward way to check for problems in preference files. Already was able to head off a couple of problems before they became real problems. I sent a donation.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
24 August 2005
Nice utility, but the developer should allow download of the application in .zip or .dmg archive instead of .sit, so that Tiger users aren't forced to download Stuffit.
Like
Version 1.1.4
5 answer(s)
Jonathan Nathan
Jonathan Nathan
20 October 2005
This file is available in a compressed dmg format:
Like
Version 1.1.4
Jonathan Nathan
Jonathan Nathan
20 October 2005
http://homepage.mac.com/jonn8/as/dist/pt.dmg (Not sure why this wasn't included in the previous comment.)
Like
Version 1.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 November 2005
Tiger users will need Stuffit Exp. anyway. There are far too much archives in sit-format around. And if Apple would have adopted the zip-format a long time ago we wouldn't have the sit-format now.
Like
Version 1.1.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 November 2005
A file compressed in .sit format becomes smaller than the same file compressed as .zip. Especially if the format is .sitx
Like
Version 1.1.6
Swordfish
Swordfish
11 May 2006
yes but .sit gets corrupted easier and Stuffit is bad software :P
Like (1)
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
02 May 2005
PT doesn't work with OS X 10.4 Tiger. Authentication to check System prefs is broken. A workaround is to run the program as root either in the terminal or get the freeware program Pseudo. Just drop PT onto the Pseudo window and it runs as root, problem solved.
Like
Version 1.1.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 May 2005
Version 1.1.4 is compatible with Tiger...
Like
Version 1.1.4
Richard104
Richard104
03 November 2005
Pseudo is shareware $15. I suspect that the latest version of PT is, in fact, Tiger-compatible. Check it out.
Like
Version 1.1.6
Anonymous
07 October 2004
Great!!Thank you so much John!
Like
Version 1.1.1
Joe Weaver
27 September 2004
Jonathan is a great developer and a good man. I released a program similar to his (I didn't know his existed), he downloaded it, and e-mailed me with some suggestions to improve it! I couldn't believe it, the "competition" is helping me! Truly a good man. I'm in the Navy and and programming is totally new to me. I have only been scripting and programming for 4 days so he is helping me along. I can't believe it! Thanks again Jonathan.
Like
Version 1.0.2.1
Thezee
10 August 2004
I click to open app. Window appears asking for a donation. Click to later or donate. Nothing happens. App disappears. Does anyone know what gives? Have downloaded app 3 times from here and Johnathan's website with same result. Is there a preference file that I need to trash?
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
25 May 2004
Note to the developer: this is a great app, that does what it says well, runs smoothly, and is obviously a great price! Thanks for developing something like this for those of us (and others I suppose), who know a little, but not enough to do some digging inside to find any potential problems. Again, my thanks to the developer!
Like
Version 1.0.1
Anonymous
06 April 2004
Have you ever noticed how great support is from I am assuming relatively small developers. I basically do not have a standard setup. I run as a regular user, but I am in the sudoers file. All this means is that I can run AppleScript Studio products that require me to be there, but I have to authenticate for just about everything. The author and I emailed back and forth for about a half a day before he enhanced the product so that I could use it without being an administrator. All of this while getting paid the huge $0 for his time. Does what it says, and seems to work great and has great support. Is there a downside somewhere, because I can not see it.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
27 March 2004
To my supporters, thank you. Sincerely, To E5o: How do you give something that is free such a low value rating? For the record, this app does a lot more than just running that little bit of code. It parses the results, doesn't bother with valid files, and allows you do something constructive with the flagged files (trash them, view them, etc.)--and the code it does run is more robust in the first place, I'm tired of being bashed for making something for free. If you don't want to use it, fine, but why bash it when, for many people, it so obviously has value? I'm also tired of being bashed for releasing new versions of this software so quickly. If you don't want to upgrade, then don't. This is an incredibly popular piece of software with tens of thousands of downloads (not just from this site) and I feel an obligation to get it right. I really don't see the problem with that. To the bashers, thanks for proving the adage, "no good deed goes unpunished." JN
Like
Version 1.6.9
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 March 2004
I'm someone who prefers to use the command line, who came to MacOSX from Linux, Irix and Solaris. And you know what? I'd rather check my prefs files with your app, simply because it follows the Unix way of doing stuff: one small app to do one small task, very very efficiently. It may not be as small as a ksh script in ~/bin, but hey... thanks!
Like
Version 1.6.9
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 April 2004
I for one am happy with the frequent releases since you took care of the issue that I had with the software. Sure, I would have liked to have a fix in 2 hours, but if the best you can do is 4, I think I will live with it.
Like
Version 1.0
Chris-Reed
Chris-Reed
20 August 2004
THE SIX PHASES Enthusiasm. Disillusionment. Panic. Search for the guilty. Punishment of the innocent. Praise for the non-participants.
Like
Version 1.0.2
Anonymous
26 March 2004
I'd like to add my voice of thanks to developers who make our lives easier when dealing with technical issues. I don't have the time or guts to deal with command line entry, so the previous comments to me are petty and misguided. Less "ha ha i can enter this in the terminal why can't you", arrogance and more helpfulness as displayed by this developer (free of charge) make this a better world. Why don't you find something positive to contribute to humanity instead of making shallow negative comments.
Like
Version 1.6.9
Anonymous
26 March 2004
Yeah, or you could just pop open your Terminal and type [code] plutil -lint Library/Preferences/*.plist [/code]
Like
Version 1.6.9
Leo of BORG
26 March 2004
To the previous anon poster: shaddup. Finally we get an author who has TIME to release and fix bugs and someone like you has to complain. Engineers with clue are hard to come by, don't scare this one off! To the author: Keep up the GREAT work, and keep the features coming. Between this and the (newly released) Panth Cache Cleaner, the (pref) deadwood is GONE. Thanks for making this program.
Like
Version 1.6.9
1 answer(s)
Michael Puskas
Michael Puskas
26 March 2004
Yikes, son... where's your manners? It's never polite or socially acceptable to tell people to shut up just because they have a different opinion than you. I'm not saying you're not allowed to voice your opinion either [yes, it is refreshing that this developer actually takes the time to work on this program]. I'm just saying that, just because there's no face-to-face interaction on these boards, that's no reason to be rude to someone else.
Like
Version 1.6.9
Anonymous
20 March 2004
A release every day sofar..man are we your guinea pigs..how bout releasing this software once its actually ready.....
Like
Version 1.6.7
5 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Sie sind ein CHUCKLEHEAD...
Like
Version 1.6.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Many folks enjoy seeing apps evolve (and appreciate the effort)! (-:
Like
Version 1.6.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt. -- Mark Twain
Like
Version 1.6.8
robmorton
robmorton
25 March 2004
How about you wait for the product to hit a level for your comfort while others use it and offer suggestions for improvement>
Like
Version 1.6.8
Michael Puskas
Michael Puskas
25 March 2004
"Better to type your name and email address when leaving a sassy, 'clever' reply to someone's point of view than to hide behind the veil of anonymity like a common coward." --Me Come on, people... Grow up, and treat people with respect. Criticize if you must, but offer CONSTRUCTIVE criticism instead of childish name-calling. Anyways... Don't let these people bother you, dude. I know how you feel about the daily upgrades [and I'll never, EVER download Limewire version 34234.324.4364.9b or however high it is now for that very reason]. It's kind of annoying to update everything you have on your computer every single day. What might help is to maybe only look for updates once a month. That way, on the first of every month [for example], you can go through & download the updates you want while totally bypassing 417 older versions.
Like
Version 1.6.8
Horatio
19 March 2004
the reminder blocks the application on quit. Nevertheless a smart little app ;-)
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
17 March 2004
Excellent little App., something I have been looking for a long time. Have just downloaded it and on its first run it picked up a corrupt preference. I then tried to open this preference in both TextEdit and PropertyListEditor, which confirms that it was corrupted. Although it is really donationware rather then freeware.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
16 March 2004
'Zooks, that was *FAST*! Closing the Check Preference Files window properly quits the application now in version 1.4.2. WTG, Jon!! ::::applause::::
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
16 March 2004
The app works fine here (on a 1 GHz G4 w/Panther 10.3.2), but when you're done, don't simply close the window to quit it - select Quit Check Preference Files from the app's menu, or hit command+q.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
15 March 2004
Check Preference Files 1.3.1 runs fine on both my Panther 3.2 machines (one is a G5), but it generates on finishing an Applescript error, Stack overflow (-2706) that comes up twice. Have no clues.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 March 2004
The same error occurred here when I closed the Check Preference Files window to quit the app, but using the command+q keyboard combo or selecting Quit Check Preference Files from the app's menu works A-OK.
Like
Version 1.3.1