Back to Tofu page
Tofu free download for Mac

Tofu Reviews

2.0.1
09 September 2008

Fast text reader.

mmac79
08 January 2010

Most helpful

Best Column Reader on the mac so far. would love to have an export function though.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1

Read 72 Tofu User Reviews

Rate this app:

der-verrueckte
31 March 2011
I really love Tofu, it greats and it does the job *almost* perfectly. Almost, because as I load .pdf Tofu does not break parragraphs correctly. Only major chapter divisions are divided, not really the parragraphs within. Is there a fix to this issue? has someone else encountered the same problem? Danke!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
mmac79
08 January 2010
Best Column Reader on the mac so far. would love to have an export function though.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.1
Gazman
14 March 2009
My only complaint, and its a big one, is that in full-screen mode the menubar is still present and I find it annoyingly distracting when trying to immerse myself in what I'm reading. Until this gets resolved I'm going to stick with Stanza which, although shareware and not as polished, does full screen much better.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
18 January 2011
I recomment the method described here: http://theswitchedonshow.com/community/showthread.php?t=3926
Like (1)
evilinstone
24 February 2009
Please add support .fb2 format. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.1
Tekl
20 November 2008
I'm missing a printing option.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Notefarm
20 October 2008
Amar is a genius and this program is a must have. Now reading on my computer is a joy.For another app that dose one thing very well I also would recommend Amars other App called Namely. Thank you for writing such perfect software.
Like
Version 2.0.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
08 September 2008
Very cool and easy to use. And it's free! :]
Like
Version 2.0
Crucial
30 March 2006
Absolute genius. Tofu does not get nearly the attention it deserves. Tofu makes reading long documents on screen totally painless, and in some ways is better than reading a paper based document as you can see both the page before and after so you can easily scan for things and adjust column width for reading comfort. If it has bugs, like sometimes spotty connection to services they are of so little consequence, compared to the simplicity and elegance of this app. My biggest gripe is that this is not built into the OS so that I can chose to read web pages without having to switch to it, or compose notes in TextEdit using the same concept. I just wish there was more software out there that re-though problems and came up with such elegantly simple solutions. Solutions that remove barriers and have interfaces so simple that they need no toolbars, or other extraneous icons. Interfaces that just get out of the way. A lot can be learned from the elegance of this application, when it comes to software, less is often more.
Like (2)
Version 2.0a2
1 answer(s)
Alanr
Alanr
09 December 2007
I love ToFu and use it ALL the time. It is, in a way built into the “System”. It introduces a Services menu option (Under File) “View in ToFu”. So all you need to do is highlight the required text and choose that menu selection. I do it all the time and have a keyboard shortcut defined for just that. This works in Cocoa apps (Safari, Camino etc.) but not in Firefox which does not support Services. I do find that text from a few websites requires some pre-formatting in an editor to replace one return with two to maintain paragraph formatting in ToFu. It's not a major problem though. Maybe that's a function which could be incorporated into ToFu itself for the times when it's needed.
Like (2)
Version 2.0a2
Imacbie
29 March 2006
This is a very neat app. Hopefully PDF support will be complete with ease o.O
Like
Version 2.0a2
Huevox
29 March 2006
This is a simple and effective app. Thank you so much for such a great tool! I would gladly pay a fee to use this.
Like
Version 2.0a2
1 answer(s)
Tloesch
Tloesch
29 March 2006
Dear Huevox, if you really feel like sending the developer some money you may donate :+) http://homepage.mac.com/asagoo/donate/index.html Ture
Like
Version 2.0a2
Anonymous
11 November 2005
Very nice for reading etexts from Project Gutenberg. For once reading a Gutenberg book is a pleasure---not as much pleasure as having a real paper book, but a thousand times better than reading an etext in a word processing program. Tofu does tend to quit unexpectedly when leaving full screen mode... a fixable issue I wish there was a way to automatically set the number of columns without tweaking the pixel width of the columns. I'd like to get to a two page layout like a book automatically. It would be nice if you could set the scrolling preferences. When I read a text I get to the lower right hand corner I want to 'turn the page' but Tofu just slides one column over to the 'next column'. this requires a two click motion to get a new screen of columns. It would give a book like feel if you could set it to move the columns so the screen is filled with all new columns. In reading these notes I see what I really want is a preference that is "Give Tofu screen a book like setting"--two columns per screen, scrolling actually is like turning a page. Given that, and I'd pay for this.
Like (1)
Version 2.0a1
Anonymous
30 October 2005
A new release of this excellent application is always a very good news :-)
Like
Version 2.0a1
Anonymous
29 October 2005
ver. 2.0a4 requires Tiger (10.4). Its support for PDF requires a Tiger-only dynamic library.
Like
Version 2.0a1
Anonymous
27 October 2005
This is a great little program for anyone who spends a lot of time reading large text files. It is much more pleasant than scrolling through pages in Microsoft Word, and is quick, convenient, and easy to use. However, I have a few suggestions on how you could improve it. 1) Page numbers at the bottom of each column 2) A window below the scroll bar (or at the side of the viewer) that gives a summary of the file contents (i.e. word count, page count, enclosing folder/location) 3) The ability to open multiple files in the one viewer, and then move between them (each time that you add a file to the viewer, a new thumbnail could be added to the toolbar) Keep up the great work!
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
13 September 2005
Awesome application. Was hoping for an update but hey, everything works well. Have only noticed the text missing bog here and there.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
14 June 2005
I find this a really great little program with a lot of potential. I use it for reading the many books which I have saved as text files. It's a most handy application and most comfortable on my eyes so far. I'm using Tiger with Tofu 1.3.4 and it works great except that once or twice in a document there are letters missing at the end of some lines where I have to guess what the last 1 or 2 letters of the word are...just a small note to consider for the next version...
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
27 May 2005
why is this only a text reader? what am i going to do with a read only text app? it wouldn't be too hard to allow editing and make this a truly killer application
Like
Version 1.3.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
You have a text reader to read text! Why do apps have to be everything to everyone? Personally I think it's great that this app serves one purpose and does it well.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 October 2005
there are far too few good text readers. But i must agree with the first poster that there are even less good text Annotators. Combined with a display such as this, the ability to highlight, markup, and then have a dynamic list of markups for each document would be just awesome.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Anonymous
05 May 2005
I tried this version of Tofu on a Mac mini running OS X 10.4 Tiger. My screen resolution is 800x600 and I make the font quite large in Tofu. When the Tofu window appears, there is always a huge blank space--like a rectangle that has been erased, obscuring the text behind it. I always have to reduce the font size by one step and then enlarge it again in order for Tofu to draw the text readably. This problem only appeared after I upgraded to Tiger.
Like
Version 1.3.3
1 answer(s)
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
05 May 2005
Hi, I am working on a fix for this problem. It should be ready sometime this week. Thanks Amar
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
01 May 2005
I just love Tofu as it makes me feel like I'm reading a newspaper. The format is so easy on the eyes and brain. I find myself using it as follows: after surfing to a page I want to read the text, I find the 'print format' link on the page, follow it, then select all text via the keyboard, then under 'services' choose 'view in columns', then control-L to view full-screen in Tofu. I just wish there was a simple way to make Safari or some other web browser capable of automatically finding and loading the 'print format' link on a page, then follow the rest of the commands above to make it automated! (version 1.3.3)
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Is there a trick to getting the "remember scroll position" preference to work? I'm using Tofu to read a very long html document but it never remembers where I last was in the document.
Like
Version 1.3.3
2 answer(s)
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
26 April 2005
It may be that it only appears not to work, because it only scrolls to the right position once it has finished laying out your text, which can take a few seconds with very long documents. And if you scroll manually in the meantime, it will respect that and forget about the saved position. Please email me if it really doesn't work for you, because others have reported this but I haven't been able to reproduce it. Thanks Amar
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Thanks for your reply, that was indeed the case; I didn't realize that I had to wait for the document to load completely before Tofu would jump to the 'remembered position'. It seems to be working as it should if I just give it a few seconds to completely load the document. Great app, thanks for keeping it free!
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
25 April 2005
It'd be nice to have EVEN rudemantary support for PDFs, even if the text shows up garbled, as long as text shows up and its in the order it is supposed to be read, it would be MUCH better than the current situation: useless code. :-) A highlighter mode would also be FANTASTIC, so that one can highlight text and save that to the resource fork as well. :-)
Like
Version 1.3.3
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 April 2005
I have TextLightning coming up then I start Tofu from a pdf, takes some time corresponding to the file size but does it. I wondered why it does it but it does.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 April 2005
Another option is to use Trapeze to convert from PDF to RTF and then view that in Tofu.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Adobe Reader 7 also has a "save as text" feature.. the layout is usually horribly garbled when you do it this way, but it's possible to save a PDF as text and then open it up in Tofu.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
25 April 2005
There is a VERY weird bug with the horizontal scrolling in this program when using the keyboard's arrow keys to scroll. It scrolls normally until about an inch from where the scrollbar runs out of space, and than it slows down exponentially and NEVER reaches the REAL end--I assume because it would take infinite time to do so. Check it out.
Like
Version 1.3.3
Anonymous
19 April 2005
Good idea, well implemented and dead useful! Thanks for keeping it free :-)
Like
Version 1.3.2
arvid
17 April 2005
This is an awesome little piece of software. I have only a few little suggestions that would make it better: 1. The ability to save if i want to even when ask to save is not checked in the prefs (cause i dont want to save most stuff, but rarely I do. 2. Some other method of adding text - a service with a global key command? Or dragging text to the icon in the dock could drop it into Tofu. I will try to maybe write an applescript to do this with a global key command... 3. speech recognition and the ability to Cmd-tab to other apps/invoke expose in full screen mode. otherwise excellent! thanks!
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 April 2005
ooh ooh - and one more thing - I know this would be another app entirely or a big endeavor (but i, for one, would pay some $ for a good one of these) - if highlighting and markup were included - so you could highlight and add dynamic notes/cross references to text (like for PDFs in Acrobat Pro [but that app is way too bloated] or corrections in MS word.) Man, that (combined with the ease of reading of tofu) would be one kickin' app.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
03 April 2005
i am reading my text at twice the speed since i started to use tofu!
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
29 March 2005
This little app is a real gem; it's earned a spot in my dock.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
27 March 2005
It's a pleasure to see this brilliant software is still alive and well! Hervé S.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
27 March 2005
What a great document reader. It totally changed the way I read articles. Btw, is it possible to support PDF document? Thanks for the developer's efforts.
Like
Version 1.3.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2005
PDF's have their own layout, so reformatting them in columns isn't possible. The best the dev. could do is layout pages side by side, which would make for some really small text.
Like
Version 1.3.2
Anonymous
17 February 2005
Wonderful I copy all sorts of text into a plain text file and it is easily readable with this. Look at Project Gutenberg and expand your horizons
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
13 February 2005
What a great app. Easy to adjust the columns to preference, then copy difficult full-screen text, open Tofu, paste, and aaah!, what a treat for the eyes. So simple and quick! 5stars.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Labor-days-ar
05 February 2005
a pdf option would be nice
Like
Version 1.3.1
jpjrv
04 February 2005
Great utility, but I still get version 1.2 when I download.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 February 2005
clear your browser cache, or something... for sure, the download link here at MU yields version 1.3.1
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
04 February 2005
great tool and easy to use. tofu makes reading at ease. i've recommended this tool to several friends, and they all found it great and useful. thanks!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
01 February 2005
Not only this software is excellent, but you get so rapidly used to it, you pretty soon just cannot deal without!
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
01 February 2005
That is a very useful application. I also require ability PDF reading! Thanks. Bansuri.
Like
Version 1.3.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 February 2005
Wait for PDFKit in Tiger. There'll be tons of PDF readers within a week.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Anonymous
31 January 2005
Very nice app. Please please add PDF so we'll have a decent multi-page PDF reader. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
31 January 2005
New version is great. The new scrolling makes it so easy to follow where you are. The reverse scrolling is also welcome. And the one thing I didn't like from 1.2 was that it asked me to save what I was reading - and now that's a preference. Any time I come across long articles to read they go straight into Tofu.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
11 December 2004
It's worth it save any document. Never open again saved as .rtfd. Great full screen.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
10 October 2004
Yup I like it....just what I needed. its still a bit buggy, it likes to crash when trying to enter full screen mode, but what the heck I try a few times and there it goes. I too would appreciate if bookmarks were possible, but this is *just* 1.2 as I understand, its free, its great. It will make my reading a lot more enjoyable, so much I know already. I will crave for updates and be happy. Thank you so much for this. two stars less because of aforementioned issues, but hey thumbs up.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
10 October 2004
Ok, this is neat and all but why can't you WRITE TO FILES?? A viewer is mostly useless. An editor with these features would be worth something. I just don't see the point, honestly.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
09 October 2004
One problem: saving scroll position doesn't really work! I like reading Gutenberg texts but they are usually very long so I need to bookmark my last read position. I was rather hoping that the "Remember Scroll position within documents" would do the trick - but I found that every time I reopened a previously read document, it would always start at the beginning. I am not sure why saving positions doesn't work (my fs is HFS+, so resource forks are supported). I've written to the developer about this but did not receive a reply, so I am not sure if perhaps I am the only one who has this problem?
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
09 October 2004
I've been using Tofu for quite a while now, and loving it. I just downloaded this new update (1.2), full of enthusiasm about the new features. However, I was very disappointed by one detail: the "Do you want to save the changes you made in the document x?” dialog. For me, Tofu is still a read-only app, and I had gotten quite good at using shortcuts to get text from Safari to Tofu in 2 seconds. This dialogue just makes the whole thing slower, heavier and annoying. I am probably never going to save any document. Peronally, what I expect from Tofu-updates is speed. Getting rid of the empty window and automatically bringing Tofu to the front is a big step forward. But now I have this pesky dialogue harassing me every time I want to close a window :-( This may seem like a silly detail, but I am sure some people will understand me. Still, I insist on how useful this application is, and encourage the developer do keep updating it :-)
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
09 October 2004
An excellent program — keep it as it is! The whole point is that it is a simple program that does the job. Edit, print and save in TextEdit — open & read in Tofu.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
09 October 2004
Great! Thanks! Please add the possibility to Print, Edit and Save.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
28 July 2004
Why is this only a text viewer, not an editor? I can see this style of editing being useful for many purposes - writing a narrative or technical documentation where you often needed to refer back & forth through the document while composing. It would be worthwhile for the developer to flip the switch required for this to allow editing and test it out.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
20 June 2004
it's excellent to see Tofu is still moving :-) personaly it's my default application for rtf for quite a while...
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
20 June 2004
Please, please, please ! Ad the possibility to save Tufu's documents and it will be absolutely perfect.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
20 June 2004
This is a fabulous idea almost perfectly executed. And free too. I'm not sure if this is the same "footnotes" feature other's are talking about but I too would love the program to utilise inter-document links (such as used for endnotes in html.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Anonymous
20 June 2004
Amazing that it took such a simple little application to make me realize that maybe I don't have a really bad case of Attention Deficit Disorder. I would like to see the footnotes issue resolved.
Like
Version 1.1.1
Eric
19 June 2004
This is invaluable for reading long articles or documents. Set your reader to a slightly off white and a easy to read font, turn off justification and the space bar turns the "pages." This speeds up your reading and removed the distractions of inline ads from web pages. The experience is as close to reading from a book as you can get on a computer. Also, there is an incompatibility with 1.1 and 10.2.x which I emailed the developer about and he mailed me back and today *and* upgraded to 1.1.1 - which I'm sure will be available here shortly.
Like
Version 1.1