Back to Classic NotePad page
Classic NotePad free download for Mac

Classic NotePad Reviews

2.6
14 November 2011

Brings the OS 9 notepad back to OS X.

Joskiser1
06 July 2004

Most helpful

Great application! Its small and very fast! Thanks for the new Icon, (better for my eyes) Works great with OS X 10.3.1 The small donation 5$ is more than worth. All ratings more than 5 stars !! (7/6/2004, Version: 2.5b4)
Like (1)
Version 2.5b4

Read 27 Classic NotePad User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dominique
15 November 2011
A good App for a good Price
Like
Version 2.6
Dalahast
17 October 2007
Nice, would like to see more of the original look and feel. The same window style, à la original, would be nice (no title bar, good ol' page flip animation). I like how you can keep track of the pages you have going, but at the same time still miss the page flip and overall interface, and I'd be willing to sacrifice the nice new features like backgrounds and a separator control to keep track of how many pages there are. Still, this took a good while to make and is high quality. In terms of bugs, I found just one: the minimum amount of pages is 8. Press the button to delete a page and choose to go ahead with this, then make a new page. The new page will be numbered 8 because the page count supposedly decreases, but the control doesn't remove the eighth section from it. Nonetheless, keep working on it! If you work hard enough, I'm sure the day will come when it's an exact reproduction, which I'd love :-)
Like
Version 2.6b2
papericons
03 October 2007
Great to see an update on this app. A couple of issues. The scroll bar for an individual page only exists on page 3 (at least on my computer). A few times there were some strange effects while scrolling the notes on page three. I wish I had taken a screen shot when this happened. At first I would see lines underneath the words. Then the characters started bending back at the top of the page kind of like the marquee at the beginning of Star Wars No I don't take acid). If I switched a page then went back, the page would be normal. It happened about three times. It has not happened since I moved the app. to the applications folder. When this happened, I was running it from my download folder. I do not know if this would make any difference. I have a MacBook Pro running on 10.4.1. I have used this particular notepad for years any am very happy with it's simplicity. In fact I use it every day and want to thank the developer for updating it.
Like
Version 2.6b1
1 answer(s)
For-Nextsoft
For-Nextsoft
03 October 2007
please feel free to contact support at for next soft dot com with this information, these are the types of bugs I need to know about so I can fix them, and these are issues that certainly need addressing. Thanks FOR neXtSoft.
Like
Version 2.6b1
For-Nextsoft
03 October 2007
Sorry about those startup crashes. It was an error with the application trying to read the data file on a system that had never had the application run on it before. The issue has been corrected and itshould function correctly now
Like
Version 2.6b1
Flash1296
03 October 2007
Crashes every time upon launch.
Like (1)
Version 2.6b1
Joskiser1
06 July 2004
Great application! Its small and very fast! Thanks for the new Icon, (better for my eyes) Works great with OS X 10.3.1 The small donation 5$ is more than worth. All ratings more than 5 stars !! (7/6/2004, Version: 2.5b4)
Like (1)
Version 2.5b4
1 answer(s)
April
April
07 July 2004
Sometimes it just takes a little nudge to get me to knuckle down and do something I'd been considering for a while ;)
Like
Version 2.5b4
Anonymous
05 July 2004
What makes this better than TextEdit that is included in OSX?
Like
Version 2.5b4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
What makes you think that TextEdit is a notepad app?
Like
Version 2.5b4
April G.
April G.
05 July 2004
NotePad is not intended to in anyway compete with or replace TextEdit. The comparrison is moot because the intent of the applications is different.
Like
Version 2.5b4
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 September 2005
One thing that is different is that TextEdit cannot edit the source code of HTML files (apparently). I do some web development, and I need a barebones text editor for those quick HTML edits. Other than that... I don't know yet. I will have to wait for NotePad 2.5 to download on my painfully slow dial-up connection (
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
04 July 2004
Per me deve essere ancora molto perfezionato. Se si aggiungono troppe schede non è possibile utilizzarle. A che serve dunque il poterle aggiungere?
Like
Version 2.5b2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
Zkuste to ještě česky.
Like
Version 2.5b4
Anonymous
30 June 2004
Yes! This fix make's work! Fantastic. Happy to see this application again from OS 9. I will be tune up for this one. No question about it.
Like
Version 2.5b2
1 answer(s)
April G.
April G.
30 June 2004
Great! I'm glad to hear that it's working for you. Yeah, the OS 9 Note Pad was one of my most trusted apps. Which is why I made this one. It's also why I am always aprehensive about releasing beta's since many of it's users seem to rely on it as mush as I do, and I do understand how sensitive you all would be about your data.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
30 June 2004
improve the application icon, that purple is killing my eyes , other than that its fine.
Like
Version 2.5b2
4 answer(s)
April G.
April G.
30 June 2004
Well it is definately true that I am not a graphic artist, one only has to look at the apps I've release where some one else did the icon vs. when I have to do it. I love that shade of fuscia though. If you look at most of the screen shots of most my applications, you can catch glimpses of it. ;) But your not the only one that doesn't like it, and I'll admit its a touch out dated. I just haven't produced a good one that I like to replace it with.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 July 2004
Changing the icon is also an option, I guess, if it bothers you. I don't mind it.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 July 2004
Oops. I meant manually changing the icon yourself. (blushes :)
Like
Version 2.5b4
Anonymous
Anonymous
06 July 2004
i understand, that you're not very good at graphics. that's ok, i noticed the app icon was changed on macupdate (but not on your website). thanks, better.
Like
Version 2.5b4
Anonymous
30 June 2004
Well thats the problem with beta, sometimes the app does not work as expected. But the bug you expereinced should be fixed now.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
30 June 2004
This application will NOT Start! I have not sean this before! I am on OS 10.3.4
Like
Version 2.5b1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2004
This was a bug in the 2.5b1 beta, it should be fixed now.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
30 June 2004
At first I thought "What's the difference between this and TextEdit?" So I downloaded the app to test it out. Tried launching 3 times and got: "The application NotePad has unexpectedly quit" etc, etc. The difference I discovered is that TextEdit works and subsequently deleted NotePad.
Like
Version 2.5b1
1 answer(s)
April G.
April G.
30 June 2004
Your comparring Apples and Roto Tillers. The bug that caused your distress however should be fixed. If you need the features TextEdit offers though, then NotePad is not intended to or able to meet your needs. TextEdit is a word processor, NotePad is a scrapbook type utility.
Like
Version 2.5b2
Anonymous
29 June 2004
Amazing, acts exactly as the OS 9 notepad, never crashes, one can start to use it an eyeblink. Thank you a lot. (I'm running version 2.0)
Like
Version 2.5b1
david
29 June 2004
crashes everytime i try to launch it.. does it happen only to me?
Like
Version 2.5b1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2004
Crashes immediately at launch, here too. Running Panther on a dual monitor setup. Dual 450, 1 gig ram. I'm not running the problematic apps mentioned in the read me.
Like
Version 2.5b1
April G.
April G.
29 June 2004
You made a backup of yuour data file correct? But did not leave a copy in the ~/Library/Preferences folder? Or is this the first install? Also, please use the bug report form from the website so I can get more information on this. Thanks. The Author, April G.
Like
Version 2.5b1
Anonymous
18 March 2004
More kudos for your glorious lil sanity saver, April. Thanks!!! Had no trouble downloading 2.0.1 just now with Safari 1.2.1. (My only problem is hating to quit 2.0 long enough to install 2.0.1! *LOL*)
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 March 2004
I'm glad you were able to get it downloaded :).
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
02 March 2004
File (.tgz) downloaded instantaneously, but only 140 KB not the full 400+ KB, and I found Expander having problem expanding it into .dmg file. After force-quit it, the expanded .dmg file inside a folder could not be mounted. I'd really love to try this app if only I could somehow download the file.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Try another browser. I've tried this download with IE and Safari and I have no trouble with it. I started trying to reproduce the problem when you posted this message elsewhere and to date cannot.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 May 2004
I have experienced similar problems while using Safari. Safari is still my favorite browser, but to perform most downloads: I right-click (control-click) on the link and copy the link, then paste the link into the freeware app Deep Vacuum. Then the file can be downloaded using Deep Vacuum's 'single file resumable' function. On large files I have seen download connections sometimes break multiple times. Safari apparently sometimes senses the break as the end of the file and treats the download as complete. With Deep Vacuum if the connection breaks it compares the downloaded portion with the expected size, if the size doesn't match it automatically reconnects and resumes the download at the point the disconnection occured.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
26 February 2004
This proves it. There is a god and she is good.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 February 2004
You all don't know how much it means to me that this app is well received. I loved the classic app, and missed it dearly when I moved to X. I just didn't realize how many other people REALLY missed it.
Like
Version 2.0
Dominique
26 February 2004
The best in that category!
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 February 2004
Wow, thank you :)
Like
Version 2.0
Michael-Welsh
21 September 2003
An excellent deja-vu plus product by a talented and responsive developer. I agree that donations are in order.
Like
Version 1.5fc3
Anonymous
21 September 2003
This is a wonderful app. Although it's not the "classic" notepad in some ways I like it better. It's free, but I'd pay for it none the less. It's that damn good.
Like
Version 1.5fc3
Anonymous
16 September 2003
As a follow-up to my anonymous review directly below, I would like to add that 1.5fc2 mends the one thing that, even though I was extremely satisfied with NotePad before, I had wished for: In the previous version, I had been unable to quit by clicking the red bubble; I had to go to the menu. Now, I have the red bubble, what more is there to wish for? Besides the creation of a browser by someone that would actually make being on the web as fun as it used to be, I don't think there's anything (in regard to software, that is).
Like
Version 1.5fc2
Anonymous
14 September 2003
People, did you notice that this is free--as in FREE? What do you want/expect? Apple shoves World Book NotePad down our throats and along comes someone who creates a note pad like the one we all miss. I say thanks, thanks, thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.2.44
MikeWelsh
14 August 2003
I put it through its paces. This is a work in progress, but it is better than most betas I have seen. Developer is responsive and pleasant. It is likely to be a hit with those of us who want the ease of use and sure-footedness of the Classic Apple pad.
Like
Version 1.0fc1
Anonymous
13 August 2003
Sorry. This is an okay first project. Needs to have the ability to add pages, and resizing shouldn't cause buttons, and page number to loose their relative positions. I know you'll have an update in a few days. ;)
Like
Version 1.0a
Masterkew
12 August 2003
Very good, works basically the same as the Classic note pad. Some additions (that I always though would be good, or were already in the Classic note pad) I suggest are a 'new note' menu selection, basic rich text functionality [style & color) and an 'Export note' File menu selection that takes a note, saves the contents as an rtf, then clears the note. Just so long as the interface stays simple. Though no changes would not reduce the app's usefulness.
Like
Version 1.0a
Ahelg
12 August 2003
This is actually quite good.
Like
Version 1.0a