Back to Absolute Backgammon page
Absolute Backgammon free download for Mac

Absolute Backgammon Reviews

8.9.9
15 January 2020

Backgammon board game.

johnbinford
04 November 2019

Most helpful

It's ok. but slow from perspective of forced moves, especially during bearing off. when game is impossible to win during bearing off, it should just finish the game and declare winner.
Like (1)
Version 8.9.8

Read 114 Absolute Backgammon User Reviews

Rate this app:

johnbinford
04 November 2019
It's ok. but slow from perspective of forced moves, especially during bearing off. when game is impossible to win during bearing off, it should just finish the game and declare winner.
Like (1)
Version 8.9.8
wackyracer666
04 October 2019
This game is as rigged and as genuine as a 3 dollar bill. The computer is waay too lucky with the dice. You win occasionaly but I would say, do not waste your time and money on this crap piece of software...
Like
Version 8.9.8
1 answer(s)
johnbinford
johnbinford
04 November 2019
I disagree. It's a tough game, and the computer plays well with not necessarily the strategies I've won lots of money with. Nevertheless, I don't think it's rigged. I've won too often, even. The computer doesn't seem to recognize a long or back game.
Like
Version 8.9.8
Maylbu
25 July 2011
I've been playing with David's Backgammon over ten years. now. Great experience, no complaints. Absolute BG (same developer) is even better and support 64 bit structure which DB is not. Customer service is great, although you don't need much. David the owner/developer is quick to answer and always on top of everything.
Like (1)
Version 7.2.4
2 answer(s)
Franklynn
Franklynn
30 December 2011
Ditto on Maylbu's comments on Absolute BG. I downloaded ver 7.5.2 and it screams on my Macbook Air. It's a great fun product and my skill ego gets pumped up at the "Club Champ" level.
Like (1)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
29 July 2012
Davids's Backgammon now works with Lion and and Mountain Lion.
Like (1)
Macclaus
28 April 2011
Great game.... love it!
Like (1)
Version 7.2
Alan-Davis
26 March 2011
I just don't understand all the rave reviews. I find the play absurdly uneven. The computer rolls about 5 times as many doubles; never, I mean never, misses a blot; always covers its blots on next roll; and just gets the perfect roll 95% of the time. Yawn.
Like (3)
Version 7.1.4
2 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
10 June 2011
The dice rolls are random. The game keeps track of doubles for each player so you can know his comments are not true. Also, there is a feature to have a set of dice rolls, for a game, to be created at the start of the game so you can know that the dice are not being created to fit the situation as he insists. You can view them to see that the game is using them. Still think the dice are better for the computer player then you can select to use its dice.Alan must not have found these features and statistics.
Like (3)
Ficheye
Ficheye
29 December 2011
He's been saying this for years. At least the developer is consistent!!
Like (1)
Lekica
23 March 2011
I love Absolute Backgammon, it is very straight forward, has different options for you to get suggested moves. I like the way the dice is rolled, different board styles. It is a great value for money!
Like (2)
Version 7.1.3
Chain-Saw
05 August 2010
Absolutely absorbing! Most enjoyable game, with excellent graphics, several boards each with matching men and dice, several languages, and several skill levels. What more could you ask for? Absolute Backgamon is very keenly priced and the reply service is one to which others aspire. Well done.
Like (2)
Version 6.7.6
1 answer(s)
johnbinford
johnbinford
04 November 2019
What I would like is the computer to recognize my forced moves (or lack thereof...) and accomplish them.
Like
Version 8.9.8
Ficheye
10 June 2010
I have never been happier since I started playing backgammon with real people again. That's the way to go. In fact, it's really the main attraction, the banter and human interaction, the click of the dice (real dice). Not a bad game if you can take the flames.
Like (2)
Version 6.7.5
1 answer(s)
johnbinford
johnbinford
04 November 2019
Money makes it interesting as they say....
Like
Version 8.9.8
Chasbo1
22 May 2010
I have used this since 2008, just now updated. No frills to speak of, but it remains a good, clean, straightforward backgammon app and the customer service is absolutely excellent. It's good enough to beat me (a very average player) about half the time. If I had one request it would be for an additional, higher skill level.
Like (4)
Version 6.7.4
Nbranney
22 May 2010
This is a very clean, straightforward game that works very reliably.
Like (3)
Version 6.7.4
Billsinatl
06 April 2010
Absolute Backgammon has been a challenging and fun diversion for years. David keeps updating it, making it even more challenging and enjoyable. It also should be noted that David's customer support is second to none, responding almost immediately for questions and help. This awesome game is a must!!!
Like (3)
Version 6.7.3
Ubris
28 February 2010
Absolutely, the best ever backgammon for Mac. Excellent for training. You'll enjoy it..
Like (3)
Version 6.7
Tom-E-Gun
06 January 2010
I wont buy this app I just consider its unacceptable to still release powerpc only soft nowadays, almost 5 years after Macs went intel. And please no more "You can still run it under Rosetta", that's just a lazy excuse imo.
Like (4)
Version 6.6.8
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
06 January 2010
If you go to the game's website, you will see that there is a Universal version there. Give it a try.
Like (3)
Version 6.6.8
Patrick-Von-Buren
30 December 2009
Excellent game! Fast, smooth, easy to play, large graphics with well designed board.
Like (3)
Version 6.6.5
Mrglsmrc
04 December 2009
i have tried this software and i think it is nice. i used to play tournament backgammon in the seventies so i understand what a program should do here. i do not believe this is as strong as some pc programs which cost more but have good free trial versions, there will always be stupid reviews here and stupid reviewers, those who read regularly know who to believe and why. i am mortified to deal with a developer who flames reviews at an independent site for any reason because it shows poor judgement and suggests that any future potential problems may become the customer service nightmare from hell. i hope other developers don't make this mistake because macupdate is a sales opportunity and not an unselling opportunity.
Like (4)
Version 6.6.2
Espiridion
03 December 2009
I had an interesting experience with the upgrade policies. I originally purchased David's BackGammon. From what I recall, it turned out that I was entitled to free upgrades for only 6 months. This was in 2002. I decided NOT to upgrade. In 2003 I tried Absolute Backgammon. I don't recall purchasing it, though. For my needs I've used other Backgammon applications. I don't mind paying for upgrades, but I don't recall any other developer offering such a short time frame for free upgrades, even with the current 9-month policy. With a reasonable upgrade policy I would have probably paid for upgrades since 2002. This is definitely not for me.
Like (1)
Version 6.6.2
4 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 December 2009
It's interesting to notice that the positive reviews come from people who have not posted other reviews.
Like (2)
Version 6.6.2
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
03 December 2009
It is interesting that ESPERIDION shows so much interest in a game he gave up on 7 years ago and this one that he gave up on 6 years ago and never purchased. Must be more there than he wants you to believe.
Like (1)
Version 6.6.2
Espiridion
Espiridion
04 December 2009
Not much interest at all. I visit Macupdate daily, and today your software showed up with an update. I also visit VersionTracker and noticed the same positive reviews from people who have never reviewed anything else, or that have only reviewed your software. I don't get your comment regarding "Must be more there than he wants you to believe." If people want, they can read the reviews posted here and elsewhere, as well as look at my track record. I have no ulterior motive when posting my reviews and comments. I simply did not like your upgrade policy, and now -in addition- I don't like your attitude.
Like (4)
Version 6.6.2
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
04 December 2009
If people have given positive reviews then that is just that. Why are you trying to take that away from them? You are a strange person. Again I question what you are trying to do here.
Like
Version 6.6.2
gryphonent
28 November 2009
I've been a registered user since version 4. Paid upgrade fee after upgrade fee from version 4 to 5 and finally to version 6. I liked the game and wanted to support the developer, although it was plain obvious that only minimal improvements were made. The game still looks and feels like version 4. When I wanted to play another game recently I found that my version 6 was running in demo mode. Further research showed that the author had changed his license policy without notifying existing user that had duly paid their registration fee for version 6, assuming that all 6.x version would be free. Unfortunately, this is not the case anymore: LICENSES ARE ONLY VALID FOR 9 MONTHS!!! Not 12, no 9 months… because it will make it more difficult for users to know when their license has expired, forcing them to fork out yet another $25 for another 9 months. The game also, contrary to other applications with similar licensing policies such as PopChar, doesn't provide any indication as to when the license expires. Sorry, but I had enough. I will see, whether I can dig out an older version from a backup. Thank God for Time Machine!!!
Like (2)
Version 6.6.1
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
03 December 2009
First, the license never expires. If you purchase a license to use the game, you can use it for as long a you wish. You do not have to upgrade to keep your license going. Also, upgrades are not $25 as he claims. Yes, updates are free for 9 months after you first purchase the game. When you pay for an update after that, they are free for 2 years. Check the version history, there have been many major improvements and enhancements to the game since he purhchased it. Plus, just to keep it working on each new version of OS X is a challenge. Since I don't know who he is, I can't address his situation, but I can say that he has been treated as described above. Version 4 was introduced 5 years ago.
Like (2)
Version 6.6.1
Yogi123
13 August 2009
I've been using Absolute backgammon for about a year now and absolutely love it. The gameplay is intuitive, graphics are excellent and the developer has been very responsive to any inquiries I've had and has shown he is committed to improving the game. The new "tutor" mode with its many different evaluation criteria is great and will assist both beginners and more experienced players. If you are looking for quality Backgammon for the Mac - you've found it.
Like (3)
Version 6.5.1
Gammonsoft
28 July 2009
Too bad there are jerks around like Mario below The problems were on his side. The interface is not buggy. The game has been around for 6 years now. People love it.
Like (1)
Version 6.5
Marco-zunino
28 July 2009
Absolute Backgammon is the most painful experience I had with any application that I purchased. This is my first review on MacUpdate and albeit I usually do not like to write negative reviews, this time I am ANGRY! First of all, when you register it you do not get immediately the code. Instead you will need to send the author a mail with your name, address, and a 3 letter code that the program gives you. I did it, and I received an answer is a reasonable time. But when I tried to insert the code... SURPRISE! The 3 letters change and my password was not valid. I wrote to the author again, of course, and instead of sending me immediately a correct password, he started to ask me questions like if I installed the application of a different computer, which I did not. I found the whole experience frustrating and offensive. At the moment I still do not know if he will send me a correct code or not. So, essentially, even if you pay for it, you are not sure that you can play it. I guess this is the reason why you have also the option to purchase a pre-registered version, sent by email, at a more expensive price. The main reason for the one star is of course the one described above. Otherwise the program would be nice, albeit not perfect. The interface is a bit buggy. For instance, if you want to move two different pieces, sometimes you are forced to do it in a specific order. That is you will need to cancel the first move, do the second, and then do the first again. Also please notice that this is a PowerPC only application. It will work on Intel Macs, but why not to provide a universal version? I will have a try at BGBlitz instead.
Like (1)
Version 6.5
1 answer(s)
Marco-zunino
Marco-zunino
28 July 2009
UPDATE. After a couple of angry mails the author sent me the correct password. So overall I am happy now. Alas macupdate does not allow to change the rate of a post, otherwise I will increase it up to 3 or 4. I still think that the register system should be update to solve this very annoying problems. However I must admit that the author has solved the issue relatively quickly, after some initial misunderstanding. In the meantime I had a very fast look at BGBliz. I think one should check both before deciding. Graphically I find Absolute Backgammon superior through and more enjoyable for a casual user.
Like
Version 6.5
Kevinwparker
25 April 2009
I haven't played Backgammon on my Mac since the very old days when there was a black-and-white program that filled the 9-inch screen of my Fat Mac. So I was pleased to see MacUpdate offering a discount on this one. I've only played it for two days but am fairly pleased so far. It took some getting used to as some of the details on how to pick up and put down pieces differed from the old MacGammon (or whatever it was called). Once I got settled in to that, I was satisfied. Appearance is good, game play is good. I'm running with the default settings right now for the opponent, who seems remarkably aggressive to me, leaving pips exposed that I would never leave exposed, even to send one back. It seems to be at a competitive level for me, neither too stupid nor totally beyond me. I have some sympathy for the "cheating" accusations as it seems to be very good at getting doubles right after the stakes are raised. But I thought that about the old game, too, so I'm assuming it's just some quirk of human psychology. I don't know what sort of alternatives there are out there, but I'm pretty happy with this one.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.4
Paulthepiper
12 April 2009
I have played this game hundreds of times (am I sad?) and I am now convinced the dice rolls are contrived. I do not have a clue how it is done especially as I have checked the rolls against the random list that ends up on my desktop at the beginning of the game. You get this list by going to Preferences then misc. Check the box entitled Save dice rolls to "Random Dice Rolls" file. Most of the doubles are in favour of the computer towards the end of the game which removes the computer pieces very quickly and you loose. Also the rolls favour the computer in setting up "blots" in it's home board near the beginning of the game which makes it difficult for you to get back in. Now, there is a sure fire way to overcome these problems albeit that it slows the game right down. Use a manual dice (real or electronic) and select Enter Manual Dice Rolls from the actions menu. This way the game is played very differently none of the above mentioned problems occur and it is also guaranteed to be fair. On the plus side Absolute Backgammon scores very high for graphics and movements of the pieces. Just don't let it cheat on you!
Like (3)
Version 6.1.4
Studiopelletier
24 December 2008
I have to agree with WANGCHUNG. This game makes me mad with rage. I laugh (not because it's funny), i cry, i want to throw my computer up against the wall. I'm a fairly good player on the board but the way the computer consistently gets the best possible roll WHEN it needs it (and how i get the worse possible rolls) is out of this world. I have tried different settings but no luck. I do win from time to time, but after about 300 games the overall experience is just not fun. I so wanted to like this game. I refuse to play it anymore. Wish i could get my money back. An online version could be fun though, as in NOT playing against the computer.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.9
1 answer(s)
Peter-Black
Peter-Black
02 April 2009
I hear ya brother. I've played this game for a long time - it is the best or one of the best, but the roll thing is uncanny. Not consistent, but uncanny when it does happen. This has been discussed ad nauseum and by all appearances the developer has addressed this. There would be no logical reason to this intentionally, for sure.
Like (2)
Version 6.1.4
Perfectlycool
06 September 2008
I have played many different types of online backgammon. AB 6.0.6 is by FAR the best I have ever played! The board/s and graphics are superb. Shame about the talking voices (yes, I have turned them off). For $25. you can't go wrong. Buy and enjoy!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.6
17soft
07 July 2008
David Byrum's Backgammon game was everything I was hoping for and more. As commented on before, there is no lack of Backgammon games out there, but this one provides sophisticated options that allow for various rules, skill levels, and even the 'manner' in which your computer opponant approaches the game. The graphics are beautiful and many alternative styles are available for free downloads. Fun, challenging, and nice to look at. I'd call that a win.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
Leftnotracks
07 July 2008
Bugs in current version: A legal gammon was recorded as a single game win with all pieces in inner table, but none borne off. Perhaps the game's rules for what constitutes a gammon are incorrect. Still can't double beyond 64. There's no excuse for that short-sighted omission. Despite these, it still plays the most challenging game for any computer opponent. Thumbs still way up there.
Like
Version 6.0.5
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
26 July 2008
Do you have the Jacoby rule selected? If you have it selected, and the cube was never passed/doubled during the game, a gammon or a backgammon is only a single game win.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
Greyowl54
24 June 2008
Backgammon games aren't hard to find .. but none looks as good as this one. Quite simply the look and feel alone are enough to make you want to keep playing. Me? I'm ready to go again, right now ..
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
Richskin
18 May 2008
Fantastic software - just what I was looking for. David Byrum was extremely prompt and helpful. Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.2
Wangchung
11 February 2008
A very good game for beginners and intermediate players ONLY. Set the appropriate prefs and have fun. BUT.... I've played board Backgammon for thirty years, and Absolute Backgammon in its many iterations for as long as its been out. I refuse to play it anymore. I don't know if it's poorly written algorithms, the "random" dice rolls, the against-all-rational-odds moves, the "aggressive club champ" setting or just bad computer karma, but something is definitely rotten in Denmark. It should be IMPOSSIBLE for the computer opponent to consistently - and fairly - get the kind of rolls it gets at the exact moment it needs them. Period. Debate it all you like, but perhaps the human element just can't be replicated in coded Backgammon.
Like
Version 5.3.7
4 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
16 February 2008
Your criticism of the game seems to be that you think the game picks the rolls it needs when it needs them (cheats). Since there is an option to have the dice rolls, to be used in the entire game, generated at at the start of the game, there would be no way it could be getting the rolls it needs to fit the situation. I suggest you select the option. You can find it in Preferences/Misc tab. You can view the dice rolls to see that the game is actually using them. You can also read about it in the FAQ included in the game folder. A good player moves its pieces to increase the odds that he/she will get a good roll. This may appear like cheating but is just good strategy. So select the option and continue to enjoy the game!
Like
Version 5.3.7
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
24 February 2008
It sounds like that "human element" you're referring to is the quality of making mistakes in not always going with the statistically most advantageous move. The setup doesn't allow for anything else.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.7
Leftnotracks
Leftnotracks
27 June 2008
Perhaps some of the commenters are overlooking something I think is obvious. IF the game can pre-load the dice, thus preventing the computer from dialling its own roll, then there's still an opportunity to cheat. Peek at the roll list. The computer can do this, the player cannot. Does it?
Like
Version 6.0.4
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
27 June 2008
It is true that the computer could look ahead at the list of rolls (it doesn't however) but the complaint is that the computer gets the rolls it needs at the exact time it needs them. In other words, the game is picking the rolls it needs at the time. Creating the rolls before the game starts makes this impossible. That is why I added the option. My first backgammon game (David's Backgammon) was created when 8 mhz was a fast processor. Another very popular backgammon game on Windows took up to 5 minutes (on a 20 mhz processor) to analyze how to move double 1s. Looking ahead at a list, trying to see how to make the current move so that a future roll could be best used would take forever, even on todays fast processors. With an 8 mhz processors you could have gone to a long lunch between each move. David's Backgammon was just about as "smart" then as Absolute Backgammon is now. The longest you ever had to wait was 5 seconds. Not enough time for doing anything extra (like cheat as the reviewer suggests). Even just picking the best roll for the situation could cause a noticeable delay before the dice were rolled (with the dice sound off, there is no delay) The bottom line is that the game doesn't cheat but some people will always think it cheats (because it could). There is no way to prove that it doesn't. The best that can be done is to provide statistics to show that the dice rolls are statistically correct (random), the ability to enter your own dice rolls and to create the rolls before the game starts. I have done all of these. Most people accept that the dice rolls are random and enjoy a good game of backgammon, or 2. Just one more thing, a good backgammon player makes his moves so that more of the possible rolls of the dice will be good on his next move. To some, this might seem like cheating.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
Corpsecorps
29 December 2007
What the hell are you talking about? A "proving scheme"? Nothing more is needed. If all rolls are randomized before the game begins, stored to a file which can be examined, the player can choose either of the prerolled sets, and the predetermined rolls can be matched while playing to make sure they're the ones the game actually uses, what method can you propose which would still allow the computer to have an advantage based on rolls? Even if rolls were precalculated instead of randomized, the player can switch sets and the rolls cannot possibly favor both players unless they differ significantly in the way they play. The only other possibility would be that the pseudo-random number generator isn't truly random because it's incorrectly written. That would give one player or the other an advantage in some games, but a disadvantage in others. I've played many games and kept track of the numbers of all possible rolls that came up, and statistically they neither favor either player, nor are skewed in any particular way! End of story. Any particular anecdote about the computer making some unbelievable come-back or whatever can only be due to it's making the statistically most advantageous moves with each roll in a particular circumstance where the random numbers happen to come together in a way that allows that anecdotal tale to take place.
Like
Version 5.3.4
1 answer(s)
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
31 October 2008
Looking back at my own post, i left out two possibilities. The app could pic which random roll was most advantageous at the moment and use that instead of using them in sequence. This could be checked for while playing, of course, and i've not done that. The other possibility would be if it randomized two sets of numbers and then altered their sequence before displaying or saving them at the beginning the game to give one or the other an advantage. However, it doesn't seem likely this could be done in such a way as to give the computer an advantage whichever set was used, so this would not work if the player switched sets. There's a bigger question: what reason would the author have to make the computer "cheat"?
Like
Version 6.0.8
Espiridion
24 December 2007
NOTAFOOL, if I recall correctly after six months of purchasing an older version of David's Backgammon I was asked to pay for an upgrade fee if I wanted to use the newest version. I contacted David and he helped me re-register my version which for some reason became unregistered, but needles to say I never upgraded to the new Absolute Backgammon. I don't know whether the current licenses are also good for about 6 months of free updates or so.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Gammonsoft
22 December 2007
Since I don't know who you are, I can't answer your question for your situation. Please email me at: absolutegammon@aol.com I think you have answered your own question though, since you have not had to pay in the past for updates. My upgrade policy has not changed for this version. I think it would be much more productive if you would email me directly to find out what your situation is.
Like
Version 5.3.3
1 answer(s)
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
23 December 2007
What more can I tell you by email that I have not already told you ? Ronald S Huttner Armadale 3143 Victoria Australia
Like
Version 5.3.3
Gammonsoft
21 December 2007
Response to NOTAFOOL's post: This is a demo version of the game. The game has always ended a random half of the games prematurely. There is nothing new here. This allows you to evaluate the game to see if it is worth purchasing. David
Like
Version 5.3.3
1 answer(s)
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
22 December 2007
I am a fully paid-up registered user of "Absolute Backgammon" and have been for a long time. Is version 5.3.3 not a free upgrade ? Does one have to pay again for every minor upgrade you issue ? I have never done so in the past and all upgrades have always worked just fine. It is only with version 5.3.3 that I have ever had problems. Please clarify the situation.
Like
Version 5.3.3
Legal-Eagle
21 December 2007
This version 5.3.3, released on 19 Dec is a lemon. It keeps quitting unexpectedly in the middle of a game. Previous versions never did that. Note - all reviews currently appearing on MacUpdate are of EARLIER versions of this software - NOT of version 5.3.3
Like
Version 5.3.3
Justies
01 December 2007
Nice designed game. What about using the game field as window,it looks better without frames.
Like (7)
Version 5.3
Tarras
30 August 2007
Great service from the developer Best recomendations
Like
Version 5.2.1
Kerrala
18 August 2007
How dare you. Firstly sort out your software. Secondly, I have reviewed based on value for money and compared it to a game where there they have got their software right regardless of the overlaying complexity. I am not attached to any competitor at all. Make such a claim again and I will initially report you to the site management.
Like
Version 5.2
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
20 August 2007
Do as you wish but you have not done a review. You have just tried to steer people elsewhere. I wish you would report my comment, they want honest reviews not what you did.
Like
Version 5.2
Gammonsoft
18 August 2007
Get Real! KERRALA is obviously helping out a competitor. There is not really any competition there. They have some funny animation but no real backgammon opponent.
Like
Version 5.2
Kerrala
18 August 2007
I can only agree with veggiedude that you get a far better experience (for $24.95) and value (4 games) with the freeverse backgammon. Sort out your algorythm dude
Like
Version 5.2
Gammonsoft
19 June 2007
Ancient_Eagle_Spirit obviously has not read the description of the game above or read the manual or checked-out the features of the game that make it certain that his accusations are not true. Better luck Ancient_Eagle_Spirit
Like
Version 5.1.6
Anyone who knows anything about probability, and has played this game enough times, knows that the author obviously did not have the skills required to generate an algorithm that could actually present a challenge to an experienced player if the rolls were truly random. Instead, he biased the odds in favor of the computer in order to give it chance of actually winning once in awhile. It is likely that when faced with an upcoming critical roll, the program determines the optimal roll, and the random roll, and then applies a probability roll (biased to the computer . . . say 60% chance), and therefore the computer will get the roll that it needs in a critical situation 60% of the time (percentage is estimated for illustration purposes). The other 40% of the time it will get the random roll. This presents the appearance that it is always random, but the computer's "luck" is better than yours! Watch the rolls for example whenever the computer has a man open, and needs to bring a man on when you have an open man in your home area. How often does the computer get exactly the roll (the ONLY roll) that it needs to not only knock your man off, but at the same time cover it's own open man? You will find that this happens FAR more often than random chance would allow. This game is a lie. Save your money.
Like
Version 5.1.4
2 answer(s)
gryphonent
gryphonent
10 June 2007
I thought exactly the same... until David, the developer, told me that I could print out the dice rolls in advance. I.e. before even making a move the rolls are generated. As the computer cannot know in advance which move I make it is impossible to bias the game in favor of the computer. The rolls are already generated before the game starts!
Like
Version 5.1.4
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
28 June 2007
_ After all these years, this same silly argument is still being harped on. The developer has done everything humanly possible to demonstrate to people that there's no truth to the bias claims. Maybe you aren't as good as you think.
Like
Version 5.1.6
Gammonsoft
15 May 2007
VEGGIEDUDE, in this case, you get what you pay for.
Like
Version 5.1.1
Veggiedude
01 February 2007
The best Backgammon game I have found is by Freeverse, and it is one of numerous games in a single package for about the price of this one game. It won the Apple Design Award, so check it out: http://www.freeverse.com/bbbg/
Like
Version 5.0.2
Cheffychef
10 January 2007
Would anyone recommend this for someone that's a beginner? My father has recently gotten the backgammon bug, and I wanted to surprise him. I've heard of this program, but don't know much about it outside of the great reviews.
Like
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
11 January 2007
This program is good for a beginner for several reasons: 1 - with the click of a button, it will suggest the 3 "best" moves. He can think what he might do then have the game give its suggestions to compare. 2 - it has 5 skill levels 3 - it has a learning mode where a smiley face will appear for bad or good moves. Yellow and smiling for a good choice or red and frowning for a bad choice. 4 - can take back moves and turns, so can experiment 5 - it is very easy and intuitive to use. 6 - can select from several different ways to move the pieces, so can pick which is easier or more intuitive to use. 7 - plus more.
Like
Version 5.0.2
Cheffychef
Cheffychef
11 January 2007
Thanks! I downloaded the demo for him, and he was asking about the 'learning' mode. I set that up for him and he's lovin it. Great program, I am definitely going to support you guys by purchasing it. Thanks for answering!
Like
Version 5.0.2
Corpsecorps
08 January 2007
_ I cannot believe that after 3 years, people are *still* debating the random die roll issue. Too funny. I think ill repeat what i said ages ago: -------------- A great game. It looks good, plays well, and has a slick interface. Don't buy any of the nonsense about play somehow favoring the computer with timely die rolls. Done some checking myself, and never found any such claims to stand up. If you're like me and it seems you only roll doubles when you're unable to use them because you have a blot which cannot escape the bar, or your !@$&^@# opponent always gets the right roll to send you there, i'm affraid it's time to face the fact that you just aren't that great a player! This thing HAS, however, improved my play significantly.
Like
Version 5.0.1
4 answer(s)
Ficheye
Ficheye
25 December 2007
You have no idea what you are talking about. And furthermore, after all this time BOTH of Mr. Byrums games are gathering complaints because a larger audience noted the inequities in gameplay as well. Why don't you actually document how many times the computer opponent gets the opening roll just for starters? I started taking notes on this software because of the fact that... out of all the game software out there, this developers board games have generated some of the most consistent complaints about the same thing. Of course, and I'll say it again and again... Artificial intelligence is financially out of our reach as of yet. Beyond having a fairly straightforward ability to stack pieces and take standard moves, the only way to program a 'level' of play is for the computer to get rolls which counter yours. If anyone starts to document the math behind some of the action there is a post by someone who says "Wow, you've got so much time on your hands". The debate and denials are incredibly interesting in their unerring repetition.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
28 December 2007
I know exactly what i'm talking about. I took notes while i played many games. Doubles and all other rolls evened out for the players. Please explain how the computer player can get rolls to counter yours when all are prerolled before the game begins, and you can not only look at the list, but trade positions with the computer.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Ficheye
Ficheye
28 December 2007
Sure. Have fun.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Ficheye
Ficheye
28 December 2007
Here's a suggestion... read my latest post. I think if we go in the suggested direction the debate will end once and for all. I know it's a lot of fun defending an indefensible position, but let's just use numbers. I will concede to a mathematical position that proves or disproves the randomness issue. Then I'll take up chess.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Gimmee
24 December 2006
I have been looking for a decent backgammon game after playing one on my Palm Tungsten. I have been using David's backgammon in demo mode for a while and then finally decided to upgrade to the full program. The after sales service is also very good Great Game.
Like
Version 4.9.4
Slor
21 August 2006
I have played a lot of backgammon over the years. I am seen many cutesy variations that make me sick. I just wanted an attractive well-behaved game. Absolute Backgammon is that game! I used Absolute Backgammon 3.x for several years. I loved it. I downloaded VersionTracker Pro and it told me I was out of date on many pieces of software. Amongst other things it told me I was behind on Absolute Backgammon. I downloaded version 4.8.5 and it is great. It plays faster than the previous version I used. It works with all the extra game boards I have downloaded. It was well worth the $15 upgrade field.
Like
Version 4.8.5
Joseph-Stinson
15 August 2006
excellent backgammon play - aggressive mode is tough to beat and challenging program is recommended, customer support is excellent
Like
Version 4.8.3
Mktrashy
06 August 2006
There is NO way that this game is not cheating somehow. All rolls may very well be random, but that does preclude not the possibility of cheating, e.g. if the computer generates the random number file then the computer knows all rolls in advance. The only sure way to eliminate this possibility is to include an option where values from actual, physical dice rolls could be entered during the entire game and then compare the outcomes of these "manual" games to those where all rolls are computer generated. Often the computer will land on my piece 4-5 times in a row. It takes me 5 rolls to get off the bar with only one space open, while the computer will roll the number it needs after 1-2 rolls, repeatedly. It crashes with something like "555" and "array out of bounds" errors. Also, if the doubling cube can, according to backgammon rules, be doubled by either player "AT ANY TIME" then why not include this as a feature?
Like
Version 4.8.3
1 answer(s)
Gammonsoft
Gammonsoft
07 August 2006
If you set the option to have the dice rolls saved to a file before the game starts, there is no way it can pick the dice to fit the situaiton, as you suggest. I will most likely add a feature to input dice rolls later this year. I do have it in David's Backgammon. www.bestbackgammon.com In my Acey Deucey game (includes backgammon), I have included the ability to get random numbers from random.org, then use them in the game. Perhaps I will add that feature also. www.bestbackgammon.com/aceydeucey If you would email me with the complete message and circumstances surrounding the crash, I can fix it. An email with the exact message would be greatly appreciated.
Like
Version 4.8.3
Gammonsoft
03 August 2006
LeftNoTracks you can finish a random half of the games in the demo version. Since you have been playing it for a long time now (years by your own admission in a previous post), I think you have had plenty of time to evaluate the game. Don't you think it is time to register it? Thousands of people are enjoying the game without it crashing. It must be something with your machine. If you would email me, perhaps I can help determine what the problem is. The cube works fine the way it is. I have tried to make the game as realistic as possible. I have no plans to change it to go beyond the 64 on real cubes.
Like
Version 4.8.3