Back to SoundConverter page
SoundConverter free download for Mac

SoundConverter Reviews

20120123.0
25 January 2012

Convert many sound file formats.

Shotgunweddings
26 June 2008

Most helpful

2 Things turned me off this software. 1 - Machine specific licensing sucks, I go through machines like some people go through shoes. I'm not paying for a new license for each machine upgrade I do. 2 - The software is too unpredictable. Works on some file types and does nothing with the other half. WTH is with the constant unknown updates and the crazy dates instead of some version number?
Like (17)
Version 20080625

Read 68 SoundConverter User Reviews

Rate this app:

Ry-ma
11 February 2013
No support. Not responding. Very few options. No file splitting.
Like (1)
Version 20120123.0
DonkeyKong
09 February 2012
Does not copy the cover artwork and other metadata. Therefore worthless.
Like (2)
Version 20120123.0
2 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
27 June 2012
It copies some of the metadata, but lyrics and artwork are lost. I still use my really old version since this new version won't run on my machine. I keep the old file and copy the art and lyrics.
Like
H3L0
H3L0
20 October 2012
After reading all the complaints I will stick with XLD! It's free and very well supported. It also does not delete metadata.
Like
Mredrup
21 June 2011
Where's the update for us that already paid? Obviously another developer that hopes to rake in the software fee twice... BUYER BEWARE!
Like (6)
Version 20110616.0
3 answer(s)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
07 July 2011
Definitely. I complained to the developer () but he didn't respond. I guess this is his way of turning his back on his existing users. He used to be very responsive about fixing bugs. I always seemed to find them just with simple MP3 conversions.
Like (6)
Gslusher
Gslusher
26 September 2012
I used this for several years. As I recall, he charged for EVERY update. He also charged to use SoundConverter on a different Mac, even if it were removed from the previous Mac, e.g., when I upgraded from the original flatscreen iMac to a 20" iMac G4.
Like (2)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
26 September 2012
The updates, when it was being supported by the developer directly, were frequent and often. And I didn't pay for them. But I did have to buy it again when I moved from a G4 to a MacPro. The older version still works on my MacPro so I still use it, even though other tools are faster using multiple cores. The latest version didn't run on my system so I asked for my money back.
Like (2)
ben-marko
21 June 2011
I've used this in the past, it works very well. Now I have switched to Amerisoft Video Converter, which does video as well. But SoundConverter will convert some pretty obscure file types.
Like (2)
Version 20110616.0
gulfcoaster
16 May 2011
Price is $19 not $14 as the MU site says. Tried to convert AIFF-C (from an iPhone recording -- the single most popular field recording device in the history of humanity) to an mp3 -- the most common portable audio format... you get the point. Doesn't work -- complains that it cannot complete. On may files, takes you to a troubleshooting site that is ineffective. When you purchase, the page they attempt to have paypal open after your transaction completes does not exist on their server. It's just a crappy product, stay away!
Like (4)
Version 20110105
larfran
27 February 2011
The copytag app is always crashing when I convert Flac to mp3... Mac OSX 10.5 Intel
Like (2)
Version 20110105
Funtimefreddie
29 December 2010
If you, developer, please fix the "Audio Alerts" Preference so it stays unchecked through relaunch; I contacted you about this numerous times and you have not fixed it. I'm getting tired of changing this preference everytime I launch SC. I would like it to stay unchecked. (Snow leopard)
Like (1)
Version 20101228
ChristopherPrice
20 November 2010
I am doing voice recordings to Garageband and need a way to convert the resulting AAC (m4a) files to 8000Hz, 16-bit, PCM (signed), mono. Simple stuff: Just recording voice for phone system greetings. So I downloaded every WAV converter I could find and gave each one the task of converting the file. Given GEOPROF's authoritative review, I almost didn't bother with SoundConverter, and I did try all of his suggested alternatives. Of all the apps I tried, SoundConverter was the easiest one to configure and use -- once I figured out that signed=PCM. Just drop the file on the window and it instantly spits out the cleanest sounding and SMALLEST file of any of the apps I tested. I can't speak to high-end recordings of music and such, but for my needs SoundConverter was the only tool that got the job done well.
Like (2)
Version 20101024
Splot
23 October 2010
It's always worked for me without issues, though it's a pity to have to buy it for each computer. 14$ for main plus laptop would be much better.
Like
Version 20101022
Bezierboy
11 October 2010
Switch
Like (1)
Version 20101008
GeogProf
11 October 2010
I offer these bits of wisdom about SoundConverter to those considering it for their audio conversion needs. 1) Unless you're one of those super-happy PBS children's show characters, I guarantee that you will hate this craplication and its developer before you're even able to really use it. 2) Considering that XLD, Max and xACT are all free and vastly superior to SoundConverter in every way, at $14 it is terrifically OVERPRICED. And as you'll soon see, even as freeware it would still be overpriced. 3) SoundConverter RARELY WORKS, whether licensed or unlicensed. Thinking that it would be smart to have an application capable of converting FROM and TO so many different audio formats (because in my business, time really is money), nearly a year ago I bought a license for SoundConverter Pro, which all by itself was a miserable experience. The license is tied to only one machine's ethernet address, so if you buy a new Mac you'll also have to buy a new SoundConverter license! However, I doubt that anyone ever does - I mean who would fork out another $14 after it failed to convert almost everything they ever threw at it? Nevertheless, its developer has expended unbelievable time and effort making SoundConverter difficult to pirate. But the irony is that the pirates had a contest last year to "krack" it, and though several hackers broke his security, it's not offered on any of the "warez" sites because NOBODY WANTS IT - even for FREE!! 4) The developer, Steve Dekorte, magnanimously offers SoundConverter as his freeware gift to the world, just as long as the world doesn't try to use it on audio files larger than 500k. So, not only is SoundConverter ridiculously overpriced crapware that rarely works, that's outshined by at least three different freeware apps, and that will make you hate it, its developer and yourself for buying it, it's HOBBLED crapware to boot!
Like (4)
Version 20101008
Jack-Foster-Mancilla
01 September 2010
This is the only developer I have ever complained about. Never have I ever received such abominable support from any developer, company, or human. About the software. … It did work for my needs, until it did not. Then I cam across the developer, as I was needing support. It is my feeling, opinion, suggestion, that you spend your money on a real program, developer, piece of software, that will in the end, save you money, but most importantly, that you spend your money on someone that will help you when you need it. … I do not think this software is worth the heartache.
Like (9)
Version 20100831
Trailguy89
04 March 2010
Paid for the license and never received it. Multiple emails sent to developer and never heard back. Don't waste your money. Look elsewhere.
Like (11)
Version 20100105
1 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
31 July 2010
I am unsure of how you paid, but maybe you should bring this up w/ paypal or your credit card company or even appeal to the company accepting the payments if it's not paypal or your credit card company of course. I know you don't like this app and dev but maybe you should leave comments instead of multi reviews. I agree w/ you though, I would be very angry as well but rating the app with one star does no good. You obviously liked the app enough to buy a license before all this mayhem your having with the company occurred so it really doesn't reflect on the product, just the company. I'm giving you a +1 but think about the options above.
Like (3)
Version 20100728
Corpsecorps
24 February 2010
Pulled this out and downloaded the latest update after ages to attempt a simple conversion: AIF to AAC FAILED! Endless progress bar. I can't recall the last time i tried it and it actually correctly made a conversion of any kind.
Like (8)
Version 20100105
3 answer(s)
Darukaru
Darukaru
09 March 2010
Allow me to recommend sbooth.org's Max. Sure, it doesn't have a mile-long list of supported formats, but it *does* support the ones that matter, and converts them flawlessly.
Like (6)
Version 20100309
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
15 March 2010
Thanks. Max is slick! Doesn't gripe about the path having punctuation marks when it doesn't anyway.
Like (1)
Version 20100309
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
13 May 2010
I use XLD but this, Max, and XLD don't really serve the same purpose.
Like (1)
Version 20100423
Stephancorley
25 July 2009
Tried to convert simple wav files to mp3 and aac. And ... .. well ... it doesn't work correct. Very low bitrates and the AAC files have strange hearable artifacts. I do not like the interface but that's more of a personal thing but it should be user friendly and its not. This needs a 100% overhaul to be any good.
Like (10)
Version 20090723
Foulger
24 July 2009
Sorry to disagree but I have had this product for years and it has always worked. I have always had prompt reply from the developer. Respectfully suggest you bring all your OS up to date, repair permissions & run diskwarrior and then install afresh. It may be that it will then work.
Like (1)
Version 20090723
Rippedoff
28 March 2009
GOT RIPPED OFF!!! The product does not work and the developer refuses to respond. His website (dekorte.com) states that he will help if you send him the file log of the failed conversion. He simply ignores people. THIS PRODUCT IS A SCAM.
Like (16)
Version 20090325
Greenalien
08 January 2009
Looks like a handy app to have but completely put off by the restrictive licensing. If you plan to upgrade your Mac you have to buy this app again. Meanwhile others who steal the app don't suffer this inconvenience. Some software developers need to get a clue about piracy and how to offer incentives to buy their apps. Browny points for licensing to the individual rather than machine (so can be installed on multiple machines).
Like (15)
Version 20080802
Mac-Mail
21 September 2008
Money hungry crap!
Like (10)
Version 20080802
Shotgunweddings
26 June 2008
2 Things turned me off this software. 1 - Machine specific licensing sucks, I go through machines like some people go through shoes. I'm not paying for a new license for each machine upgrade I do. 2 - The software is too unpredictable. Works on some file types and does nothing with the other half. WTH is with the constant unknown updates and the crazy dates instead of some version number?
Like (17)
Version 20080625
Peterpan23
19 December 2007
Bought SC due of his easy to use drag&convert GUI. xAct and Max have much more fine-tuning possibilities but for a quick job SC is great - so I thought. Unfortunately I did tested only some mp3 files befor paying. After more accurate tests with conversions my I have a clear recommendation: DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE!!!!! Most of the option are completly useless. ANY Format => OGG files with 112 Kbps no matter which conversion rate is chosen. Apple Lossless => AAC default 110 kbps VBR. With any other sampling rate SC stops immediatly without error message AIFF or FLAC or WAV or WavPack => ACC default gets 131 Kbps VBR - lower sampling rates works, higher than 147 Kbps not. 320 Kbps gets also 131 AIFF => MP4 default 125 VBR - higher no possible AIFF or FLAC or WAV or => M4A ACC default makes files with 137, with other sampling rates e.g. 112 or 192 no files at all Apple Lossles to MP3 VBR no works, CBR only with defaul bit rate of 128 Conclusion: If you like to lose money then throw it out of the window. That brings more fun. I promise!
Like (11)
Version 20071211
kadoish
30 November 2007
My previous comment about this application has been deleted. Why is that and who did it? This app. is one of the jokes of the internet. I download every supposed new version just for the laugh it gives me to open it up and give it a simple aifc or aiff file to convert to wave or mp3. Of course, it doesn't work. I get my laugh and trash the app. That's the way you've got to view SoundConverter.....it's a joke!
Like (10)
Version 20071129
Corpsecorps
29 November 2007
I might get this if 3 things changed: 1. It actually did something correctly once. 2. There wasn't a mysterious undocumented update every 5 minutes. 3. If it used a real version number instead of dates that keeps changing format. .
Like (5)
Version 20071123
Madmacmad
01 October 2007
Well & again ! I use this App now about 3 Years on 3 Different Computers. First put the APP in the Application Folder. Not in a other Folder or Location because it won't work. Well i do always Conversation from AIFF to AC3. I can do it also with Compressor but it takes to much time to make the Settings for 1000 Files. That's why i bought this App. There is no App on the Market with can do simple via Drag&Drop Batch conversation from AIFF or WAV to AC3 for DVD Authoring. Also if you use the Compressor from Apple you have to make your own Settings with Dialog Normalisation set @ -31 and not -27 Like Appe did. Well i have never had some Issues with this Software...but well i only use a few of the supported Conversation Methodes and all are working fine for me. P.S. MP3 is CRAP !!!!!!!!! 5 Stars for a really cheap App that works !!!!
Like (1)
Version 071001
Quiiick
16 September 2007
Why can't the developer of this app use normal a version numbering scheme like everybody else, and not the date ??? This is beyond me ...
Like (1)
Version 070913
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
21 September 2007
And he does not even bother to post the 'version number' to his website, nor does he make release notes available...
Like (1)
Version 070913
Aikousha
13 September 2007
"Stealing kiddies," huh? Most of the people that "bought" this complained outright about how poor it is. If you can't steal it, then how can they complain about functions that don't work properly? If there was ever a review that looked like the developer in disguise, it's the review two below mine. Baka! Now I'll add my comments, because though I didn't "steal" this, somebody at the University paid for it to use on their iBook, and asked what they were doing wrong. (I tried this over 2 years ago and avoided it like the plague, it was so bad). I quickly found that the program was still "flaky" like another poster said. Heck, for a large amount of it's conversions, it doesn't even have bitrate selections for those that REQUIRE it. One test I tried in the few things while "bug-testing" this, was to convert a 48K 160kbs MP3 (bgm music for a DVD project) to AC3. It converted it, but it was awful, sounding worse than a 16kbps mp3. Many things it couldn't even accomplish, that it should have. And for the "steal" audience, it never once came up with the "full version" comment, like I remember the trial version doing, all those years ago. Needless to say, I told him to use the DVD Studio Pro package in the Media Lab, where one of the programs will do all the conversions he needed -- and he didn't have to "steal" that package either, since it was on a school license! As for the other reviewer that wrote about temporary files, I believe those are there as scratchpad files, as a mid-point format from one type to another, or the data-stream before a header or set of tags is attached... and someone pointed out before, that this was an artifact of the console commands that were used in the construction of this program. Were those "STOLEN" by the developer?
Like
Version 070823
1 answer(s)
Aikousha
Aikousha
18 November 2007
That's really odd, 3 years ago, SoundJam and iTunes (old prog, new prog) did that flawlessly. Itunes was totally free. Don't know why you purchased this piece of crap, or even find the need to defend it. If it worked for you, that's a miracle, and good luck for you. However, I do cross platform professional work, testing for such work, and used to do assembly level programming. In fact, and in my opinion, as well, this program is poorly implemented and programmed, and if the programmer wishes to rebuild it from the ground up, and give credit where credit is due, I will gladly re-review it, and maybe if it does those odd and hard to do conversions (WMA9, WV, APE, etc) I will give it a good review and possibly even buy it for my own use... But at the moment, HELL NO! IT DOESN'T WARRANT IT.
Like
Version 20071112
hced
08 March 2007
Well, I don't know if I should belong with the "steaking kiddies", as the speaker below stated. But I'm turning to another tool. There has to be one that is actually working out there. This is starting to bug me off, as SoundConverter is just too flaky. I hate to say that, but it's true. I don't know how many times I've got error messages popping up when trying to make simple aiff/aif/wav to mp3 conversions and such... And today, it managed to convert my aif files to mp3 allright... except for one, very time consuming and annoying thing; it converted the files to about 4/5 of the total length of the originals... These things and many more glitches makes this app seriously disappointing. Which is a real pity, since I think SoundConverter's interface is nice and simple to use. And why does it toss in a lot of funny temp files next to my original files, while converting? For what I remember, temp files with the extensions of .sf/.ogg/.au, etc. use to pop up when converting (although they disappear after completion, so I guess that's no problem). I hate to complain, and I even apologize for that, if it feels unfair. But I believe that straight criticism can sometimes helps pushing things further.
Like
Version 070307
2 answer(s)
Bruce-y
Bruce-y
21 June 2007
you might give a try to EasyWMA, which I have been using for a while without any significant problem (see below for conversions provided). Also $10. Batch or single file processing. Although the name says WMA (which it was originally limited to) it currently does conversion of: - input: asf, ogg vorbis, wav, wma, wmv - output: aiff, m4a, mp3, wav.
Like
Version 070608
hced
hced
21 June 2007
Or, you can try this: Switch Audio Converter http://www.nch.com.au/switch/
Like
Version 070608
Madmacmad
02 February 2007
i use Soundconverter now 2 Years and i change'd my Computer Too but the first thing i did was buy a license for this great Tool. Ey 10 $ is really nothing compared to a new Mac and to that what this great tool can do. I often use it to batch convert more than 1000 Files and i didn't find a Tool for a price like this witch could do the Job !!!! Well i need .wav or. aiff to .ac3 conversation with fixed frames !!!! Can someone tell me a App that can handle more than 1000 files and convert than without a glitch ???? also on Intel Mac ??? NOW So you damn kiddies shut up ... and whats great : you can not steal this software !!!! you can only buy it... thats why there here this strange comments !!! ...all steaking kiddies :-(
Like
Version 070131
Rg2
02 February 2007
I bought this a year ago. It was very buggy and often quit during use. I upgraded my motherboard and it no longer worked, said i had to register. When i emailed the guy for help he said you can only install it on one computer, so that if you replace your motherbaord (which is the same to him as buying a new computer) you have to purchase a new version.
Like
Version 070131
hced
25 October 2006
The application takes 56.4 MB of harddrive space. Which is quite a bit.
Like
Version 061025
hced
17 October 2006
The update function doesn't work at all. In the 'About SoundConverter' window, it says it is the 2006 09 17 Release, whereas in fact, it is the 061017 release... And when I choose to 'Check for updates...', it says that this release is from 20060917 and that there is a new version released on 20061017... I just downloaded that version and installed it. This problem have been existent for a long while now, and It's not the first time that I report about it.
Like
Version 061017
Larry2
18 August 2006
Have program unresponsive since purchase. Most cases won't even start on intel mac. Have completely given up on it but I have found MAX more suitable for my taste, less troublesome. Still, at least give the app. a try...maybe it's just me.
Like
Version 060817
lrowan
18 August 2006
No doubt, the worst piece of software I have buy ever. The only conversion I have made succesfully has been from .mp3 to .aiff, conversion that iTunes does faster and better. $10 to the trash.
Like
Version 060817
Maclover1-1
08 August 2006
I will not go for software that needs to be licenced separetely for each computer (and paid for... obviously.. no matter whether it's $10 or $1000.. I own it, I do as I please with it !!!!!!!!). I paid once and wanted to use it on my laptop now and need to re-purchase it !! I THINK NOT ! ONE WORD: MAX (WORKS FINE, IS LESS CUTE... SO WHAT). On top of that this does not recognize AIFF files generated from Ableton Live ! I inquired, never got a response. You want me to pay each licence, you answer quickly, simple as that LOL
Like
Version 060713
Aname
08 July 2006
I updated to the latest version (060707), but when I did a check for update in that updated app version, it said: "Application release 20060627 is up to date." and in the About menu, it says: "RELEASE 2006 06 27" Shouldn't it say 2006 07 07? Is it updated or is it not?
Like
Version 060707
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
08 July 2006
Same here. Most recent version is 20060627 (ver. 1.04).
Like
Version 060707
Yakuzah
28 June 2006
It's pants don't touch it! And the developer is rude an arrogant!
Like
Version 060628
I rather liked this until my Machines HD died and I Apple replaced it under warranty, but this software would not reinstall with the serial number. ... I exchanged some emails with the developer, but he would not re-issue the serial. I know $10 is not much, but I do expect better communication between a developer and this customer.
Like
Version 060628
Mattly
18 June 2006
Crashy, slow and prone to the SBOD; once when converting SDII files to something else it actually converted them to about eight different formats first. WTF? The licesnse is inflexible. That $10 is good to run it on one PARTICULAR machine and no other machine, ever. Where, oh where, is SoundApp X? In the meantime, I'd shell out for SoundGrinder instead.
Like
Version 060617
AlanFraser
31 May 2006
v060529 has the same problem as the previous version. When I try to convert an AIFF to WAV from the Desktop, I get 'Launch path inaccessible' and I can't get out of it and "OK" just results in re-display of the error message. The only way to escape is to force quit it. I don't know when this started and I had no trouble with the app in previous releases. I'm running 10.4.6 on a G4.
Like
Version 060529
Jeff-H-
26 May 2006
Just keeps crashing...seems to try to convert, but crashes before it does anything... Useless...
Like
Version 060414
Mattconnolly
17 May 2006
version 060414 crashes my intel mac - locks up the entire machine.
Like
Version 060414
Saraswati
24 March 2006
I used an older version of this about a year ago to convert some old System 7 files to use with Eudora. I downloaded this updater to convert w4a files to mp3. I had no problem at all converting these files. One m4a file had a problem with encoding. A window popped up to alert me that the file, as it was, could not be converted. I clicked on the "Trouble Shooting" button, followed the suggestion on the webpage, and the file was converted without a hitch. This is a very useful application for a great price. I haven't used SoX Wrap, but perhaps both would be useful utilities. OS X 10.4.2; G5 1.6 GHz
Like
Version 051029
Bucksatan->:)
13 March 2006
Oh yeah and thanks to the Anonymous poster that suggested SoX Wrap. It works great for sound conversion. Much appreciated!
Like
Version 051029
Bucksatan->:)
13 March 2006
I buy this thing off the guy, get a new G5 a month or two later and the app is rendered useless. Brilliant work.
Like
Version 051029
Frankp
20 December 2005
I tried it and can't get it to work. It tells me there are "path errors" in finding the file, even when the sound file and the app are in the same folder. Maybe the paid version works, but the author only accepts PayPal which I won't use because of all the horror stories about hacked accounts.
Like
Version 051029
SwordMaster62
08 November 2005
I've had this 'app' two years runnin', & I can state unequivocally that the $10 I paid got me a ten-dollar icon. The ONLY things that it converts are as follows: my valuable time into a WASTE of time, a good mood into a cussing session, and my $10 into thin air. Market this product for what it is; a practical Mac Joke. Shame on you. Swordmaster62
Like
Version 051029
Anonymous
30 October 2005
I haven't actually used it, but from looking at the description, it sounds like it's a front end to sox, a free CLI based sounds conversion utility. You can get SoX Wrap for free and do most, if not all, of the same things, and if you're not afraid of the terminal, you can do even more.
Like
Version 051029
Anonymous
29 October 2005
This was a useful utility, until I upgraded my machine. Tying the license to one computer, without the ability to transfer it, is very frustrating. Why should I have to pay twice for the same application? I regret my purchase.
Like
Version 051029
Anonymous
29 October 2005
That's my experiece too with this app. It doesn't convert anything. Use Ffmpeg instead, or Audio Hijack Pro. Besides, this app has the most stupid licence.
Like
Version 051029
Anonymous
10 October 2005
A disaster. After paying the 10 USD fee, I could not do anything. This piece of ... does not convert anything to anything. No flac to mp3, non aiff to mp3, nothing to nothing. It gives a lot of message errors and then it crashes. What a stupid waste of money. If you write to the developer, do you think he answers? No way. Stay away from this thing.
Like
Version 050911