Back to Squeeze page
Squeeze free download for Mac

Squeeze Reviews

11.0.0.185
27 April 2016

Extensive video-compression toolkit.

DelportF
23 May 2012

Most helpful

The price tag is a joke right?
Like (5)
Version 8.5

Read 13 Squeeze User Reviews

Rate this app:

Turquoise
18 October 2013
Great application that still looks ugly on retina display, in spite of recent updates.
Like
Version 9.0
DelportF
23 May 2012
The price tag is a joke right?
Like (5)
Version 8.5
5 answer(s)
Chealion
Chealion
23 May 2012
I suspect you feel the same way about Photoshop or other professional apps.
Like (5)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
23 May 2012
A 1-star review? Did it not work right for you? Or did you mean to use the comment field on the price complaint?
Like (7)
Ocd
Ocd
04 June 2012
Ditto - giving it a one star review just for the price tag is pretty unfair... That's why they have a "Comment" category!
Like (4)
sjk
sjk
09 April 2013
> What do you think the "Value" portion of the Review is for? Overall is not required to be an average of the individual criteria, otherwise it would be calculated automatically. How do you view specific ratings someone makes for each category? I only see DelportF's single 1-star rating, not ratings for Value, Features, etc., which appears to be an Overall Rating.
Like (3)
Turquoise
Turquoise
27 April 2016
Giving one star because of the price tag isn't very smart either.
Like
Ocd
23 May 2012
hmm... this sw is up to vers. 8.5 now.... why is this still showing vers. 7?
Like (1)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
23 May 2012
Thanks for the heads up Ocd, I've updated the listing.
Like
Bjorn-f
19 February 2010
Did not like Sorenson Squeeze 6.0.0.75. Try to find their email adress on their webpage. Good luck!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.0.75
Killer-Klown-Kar
11 November 2008
We used this extensively until ver 5. Absolute garbage. Episode is now the standard.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.4.6
2 answer(s)
Jackmacb
Jackmacb
03 November 2009
I second that! Absolute garbage compared to Episode.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.0.73
Bjorn-f
Bjorn-f
19 February 2010
So true!
Like (2)
Version 6.0.0.75
Jeff-H-
22 April 2007
Try Episode... http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12856/episode you won't be sorry. I switched over for the same reasons.
Like (2)
Version 4.5.3
Creainnovator
07 January 2007
I have this latest version and have been a user since version 4.3. I have had no problems running it on OS X 10.4.5. The programme has only become better, more codecs and a little bit faster. It is assuring to know that the developers continue to develop and upgrade the programme. I expect that if a new iPod comes out with different screensize (e.g. video iPod), the developers will add this to their compressors etc. A bit pricey, but the software is reliable.
Like
Version 4.5.3
Anonymous
03 June 2005
Squeeze 4.1 is crashing on me every time when I export now that I installed Tiger. When it finishes compressing and is saving the file...bam! Sorenson, please release an update that's 10.4 compatible! thanks
Like
Version 4.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 September 2005
NO problems for me - using also Tiger
Like
Version 4.1
Loganschmid
Loganschmid
28 April 2006
I continually have problems with Squeeze 4.1 - same issue: it crashes just before finishing a compression job, or in the middle of a batch job. Highly unstable. Additionally, when I tried to install version 4.3, I get error 1008, something about file permissions. I have no problem installing anything else on this machine, and permissions have been repaired on the startup volume. Sorenson: get it together. Beta testing much?
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
18 April 2005
-The interface is not user friendly. Presets change when you do not want them to change or get a different location. +The endresult(files) is very good.
Like
Version 4.1
Smokeonit
19 March 2005
SQ 4 is the only program right now that can encode in avc h.264... and the only program that plays that stuff is VLC, until osX 10.4 w/ QT7 comes to us non developers....
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
02 November 2004
Basically Sorenson Squeeze 4.0 is a step in the right direction, but also a step backwards. If you have filenames longer than 32 charaters Squeeze 4.0 ignores them. Squeeze 4.0 is a much more complex application than the 3.x version. It reminds me of Cleaner, but very rough on the UI.
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
02 November 2004
Intaller gives 'Access Denied Error code 1008:9 ,-5000' (privilege). )-;
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
21 January 2004
http://www.sorenson.com/downloads/Squeeze3_1MacTrial.hqx
Like
Version 3.1