Back to iMsafe page
iMsafe free download for Mac

iMsafe Reviews

2.0
27 August 2007

Backup and sync OS X volumes.

Anonymous
27 August 2002

Most helpful

Nice product, works as advertised
Like
Version 1.8

Read 20 iMsafe User Reviews

Rate this app:

Markalex
12 November 2007
Appplication works easy and ok. What i would like to have is the possibility to sort back-up-jobs alphabetically or group them anyway i want manually. Now they're sorted in order of creation which makes my backup-job list kind of a mess. Also i can't read the full names of some backup-jobs since it's not possible to enlarge the column which shows the names.
Like
Version 2.0
ivanovitch
03 September 2007
Useful, but now broken: Latest version (2.0) backs up to one level below where you expect, creating havoc if you used IMsafge prior to the non-beta period.
Like
Version 2.0
Arcarnat
02 September 2007
Very useful software. However, they have price dthemselves out of the market. $39 is way too high. $20 would be much more reasonable. I will look for an alternative.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Orbicule
Orbicule
02 September 2007
Hi, I understand your point about the price, but I would like to explain a bit our side of the story: - We are located in Europe and over the past years, the value of the USD has been reduced from more than 1.2 Euro to only 73 Eurocent. This means that for every USD we earn, we only get about half as much as just a couple of years ago. - The new licenses we sell on our webstore are licenses for life. No more upgrade fees. We would love to offer iMsafe for $20. In that case, we would pay $3 to Kagi, leaving us with $17. After conversion to Euro (incl. transaction fees), we would only have 12 Euros, which is ridiculously low, as the purchasing power of the Euro in Europe is very comparable to the purchasing power of the dollar in the US (you can easily see this by comparing Mac prices between the US and Europe: the prices in Euro are about the same as the prices in USD). It's not my intention to start a discussion about pricing or about the USD versus the Euro. I just wanted to share our philosophy when setting the price. We are probably not the cheapest product in the market, but we just think that iMsafe offers a reliable, elegant solution that is very Mac like and easy-to-use. We offer fast and reliable support and the license is valid for infinity, so all in all I think it's a pretty good deal. Especially when you look at the household license which covers 5 Macs for only $49.
Like
Version 2.0
Yourconsumeradvocate
01 September 2007
A great piece of software if you don't mind paying the money for it. Personally, I think they are a bit high on their price point and should have done some thorough price point testing before releasing this from its FREE BETA to this new paid version. I would have paid up to 20, but not 40 and I think that will end up echoed here in these comments soon (beta program killed on 09-01-07)
Like
Version 2.0
gcoghill
27 August 2007
Is there any particular reason why this software will only back up the Home folder, or items in the Home folder, and not others? I have a few essential work folders that live on another internal drive and need to back those up as well.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Orbicule
Orbicule
27 August 2007
George, iMsafe will backup any file / folder you have permissions for, so it should be able to copy files and folders on your internal HD, as long as you are the owner.
Like
Version 2.0
gcoghill
gcoghill
28 August 2007
Excellent, thanks for the clarification!
Like
Version 2.0
Gcarcass
16 May 2007
This a wonderful piece of software, it's intuitive and does exactly what it says. My only concern is, I'm trying to backup something that it is not in the "documents" folder, then a warning says that iMsafe is supposed to backup only the files in that folder. I tried a different folder, it was backed up but then... Is the Warning just that, a warning and does not have any other implication in the backup process?
Like
Version 2.0b12
Jonedwards
10 February 2007
Finally! A simple back-up app that does what it says it does without issue. There have been a couple of quirks, but nothing at all major. I've tried nearly all of the free and low-cost back-up solutions and was so relieved to come across one that just worked. Why don't the others work? It's pretty simple, isn't it? Anyway, thanks iMsafe people for doing it right.
Like
Version 2.0b12
Jst333
21 November 2006
I have been coming here to macupdate for years now. Lots of great freeware. This is my first review, This is a great piece of software. I want so say THANK YOU to the developer. Simple and flawless, keep up the GREAT work! This is just what I was looking for. Thanks again, this program will definately be a stable backbone in My little home mac network.
Like
Version 2.0b12
Nonsolomac
08 November 2006
Awesome! Easy, Fast, Effective. Keep up the GREAT work :-)
Like
Version 2.0b12
Eric-Caldwell
21 September 2006
Unlike the reviewer below, I used this nice (free) utility to backup my iTunes directory and it did it without a hitch. This program allows you to create backup sets with source and target directories and schedule them if you want for regularity. About the only things I would add to this nice little utility is the ability to do a dry run (test a backup before actually doing it) and FTP connectivity. I could use this to backup several web sites if it had FTP. Great job and thanks for the free app!!!!
Like
Version 2.0b12
Ishan3
31 August 2006
The preceding four reviews are a bit suspicious in terms of authenticity. The wording, flow, etc. are very similar. Having said that, I've tried the software. It works well, but alternatives like SuperDuper 2.0 and the freeware Carbon Copy Cloner work at least as well and allow you to back up all or part of your drive selectively, not just your home folder. This is nothing special. It's cheaper than SuperDuper 2.0 but that's about it.
Like
Version 2.0b12
3 answer(s)
obergsson
obergsson
31 August 2006
Well ... I wrote one of those reviews and I can tell you I have nothing to do with any of the other ones. Also ... your review is misleading ... Super duper and Carbon Copy are generally used to make fully bootable back up drive copies. iMsafe does not do this ... but it's great for what it does In my case ... I don't have an external back up drive ... but I do have an iMac and an iBook. The iMac has a much larger drive ... so I back up the information I want to protect on the iBook onto the iMac with iMsafe. You can choose any info within your account .... not just the whole folder. And you can have any number of these backups conveniently listed on your backup list. I have found the interfaces for the other backup programs quite confusing ... not so with iMsafe. For me its been effortless and easy ...
Like
Version 2.0b12
Orbicule
Orbicule
31 August 2006
Hi, I'm the iMsafe developer and I can assure you that the comments on this page are not posted by us, or by people I know personally. Thanks for posting your comments!
Like
Version 2.0b12
Causes
Causes
02 September 2006
Yes, this is cheaper than SD. It's free. Great for what it does. For free. Keep that in mind please before posting such comments. Cheers
Like
Version 2.0b12
Anonymous
28 September 2005
Simple but very effective. I've tried almost every other piece of backup software and this is the best.
Like
Version 2.0b11
Anonymous
26 August 2005
Works great! And it's so easy to use. Give it a try; you'll be glad you did! I highly recommend iMsafe for backups.
Like
Version 2.0b10
Anonymous
24 July 2004
I've tried a number of backup programs, often with frustrating and/or disatrous results, and iMsafe (2.0b6) is definitely the best. The interface is simple, the (minimal) documentation is good, and it works flawlessly. Their response to questions is fabulous — literally within minutes and straight to the point.
Like
Version 2.0b6
Anonymous
20 March 2004
Beautifully done! Effortless, clear, informative, and fun. Real nice interface. After trying numerous backup demos, I settled on this one ... All backup routines displayed clearly and logically on the main page. Just set up a routine, and with incremental backup its a breeze. I love it .. no problems at all.
Like
Version 2.0b4
rsyncxdev
23 February 2004
This program is just a repackaged version of RsyncX. You can download the original here: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/9066
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 February 2004
iMsafe 2 is NOT RsyncX iMsafe 1.X used to be a front-end for rsync. No more: iMsafe 2 uses its own backup engine, which is much faster and more reliable.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
24 October 2003
I just tried imsafe while running 10.2.8 and it will not launch. Too bad... it sounds like a great program.
Like
Version 1.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 February 2004
Anonymous and Jaleel: this is a Panther-only app, not gonna launch on 10.2.8.
Like
Version 2.0b2
Jaleel
21 October 2003
I'm running OSX 10.2.8. For some reason, the application won't launch, no matter how many times I double-click it. I get a zoom zindow upon double-clicking, but nothing else.
Like
Version 1.8
Martin-Levins
14 May 2003
Has problems with long filenames: From Log: mkstemp Acrobat User Data/Legal/.License Agreement for Acrobat.BZfYkg failed: File name too long If entourage is used and Home/Documents is backed up, this will fail
Like
Version 1.8
Anonymous
27 August 2002
Nice product, works as advertised
Like
Version 1.8