Back to CaminoKnight page
CaminoKnight free download for Mac

CaminoKnight Reviews

3.0
27 January 2006

Automagically updates Camino w/latest nightly build.

MacManX
01 August 2002

Most helpful

306 dowloads and no review? Come on, it either works or it doesn't. And it works just fine. I love things that make my life easier.
Like
Version 1.0

Read 70 CaminoKnight User Reviews

Rate this app:

ColemanH
13 July 2010
Out of curiosity, I just ran the function to revert to an older version of Camino. Now a half dozen or so of my applications are missing. Not good. A PhD student really needs his word processor. Not good at all . . .
Like
Version 3.0
Colin
03 May 2007
For Camino users, CaminoKnight is a godsend. It transparently updates Camino to the latest, and usually stable binary. While it is somewhat of a hassle to get started (the options are rather ambiguous at times), it does the job well and if you're a user willing to play with nightlies, then such problems are par for the course. Highly recommended!
Like
Version 3.0
Ray16
04 December 2005
which version works with Jaguar 10.2.8 ???
Like
Version 2.9.1
Jb4
28 November 2005
Hangs up while loading (10.3.9). I'd hold on to V 2.8 until this is fixed. JB
Like
Version 2.9
1 answer(s)
Jb4
Jb4
28 November 2005
Yup, the fix is in. 2.9.1 works like a charm. Thank you Reinhold. You da man! JB
Like
Version 2.9.1
Anonymous
13 November 2005
Currently CK won't allow me to tell it where my Camino is - all the apps are greyed out in the Select Application Path dialogue - will contact Reinhold about this...
Like
Version 2.8
Anonymous
21 September 2005
Oh, Reinhold, you've done it again. {swoon} All the problems are solved, with v. 2.8. I'm back to a one click, update papradise and it even loads my "custom theme" from "Caminicon." JB Ps. Without your efforts, I probably would be just be another; boring, dour, Safari user.
Like
Version 2.8
Anonymous
05 September 2005
For most people, CaminoKnight works fine. If for some reason CaminoKnight fails to dismiss the license panel and mount the disk image, please redownload CaminoKnight 2.7. It is conceivable that there might be a timing issue some users are experiencing. I have therefore replaced the 2.7 version with another one that will hopefully work for those few users. Do not bother to re-download v2.7 if you don't experience any problems, because the change is not fundamental and only handles the timing of the click.
Like
Version 2.7
Anonymous
05 September 2005
The developer was quick to track down the problem I was having with OS 10.3.9 and CK 2.7 He sent me a new version which works perfectly in Panther. Hopefully he will make it available to other Panther users.
Like
Version 2.7
Anonymous
04 September 2005
Despite a quick e-mail response from the developer, I cannot get CK 2.7 to work with OS 10.3.9 It hangs at that part of the program where the license agreement dialog box appears. I waited in excess of two minutes for it to automatically agree, but in the end I had to manually click on the agree button and was left with the mounted disk image on my desktop and the previous version of Camino.app removed from my application folder. Can anyone else corroborate my problem. Yes, I did enable "assistive devices" in the Universal preference pane.
Like
Version 2.7
Anonymous
26 August 2005
A quoate from Reinhold Penner: "click on the Default button next to the nightly URL in the preference panel of CK. That should do the trick." And it works great!
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
26 August 2005
I have not been able to upgrade Camino since Aug 18th, although the comments talk of many changes during the week.
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
25 August 2005
This is a great app... as are FireFix and NightShift. Thanks for all of them. Download link in 2.5 didn't work for me, either. ALSO, 2.6 still asks if I want to upgrade (to 2.6).
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
25 August 2005
2.6 is available according to 2.5, but it wouldn't download it. I came here, clicked the "Reinhold Penner" link, and downloaded 2.6 from the iDisk.
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Ahh! Even though the version is 2.6, when run, it still pops up a dialog saying a newer version is available (2.6). Now what?
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Sorry, I forgot to update the version number on my web site. I just did and you won't see the message any more.
Like
Version 2.6
Jeff-H-
12 August 2005
Just will not work. Says: curl: (7) Failed to connect to 130.239.18.142: Host is down The server may be down or the file may not be available. Try again later. It's been saying that for over a week now...
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 August 2005
The IP you posted works fine for me. My suggestion would be to seed if the default nightly URL you have in the preferences will download Camino via your browser. So copy the URL and paste it into your browser. If that works, I see no reason why CK shouldn't download the file.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
It works, but CK does not...
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
23 May 2005
does not work crashes every time i click on it if the developer wan't the crash log i got it Running Tiger 10.4.1
Like
Version 2.5
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
I am also running Tiger 10.4.1 and I am having the excat same problem. Just wanted to support the validity of this problem.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 June 2005
FYI - Reverted to 2.4 version and it started up fine (running Tiger 10.4.1)
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 June 2005
The crashes the two of you see are not the standard behavior. I don't know what the reason is behind them, but in such a case it's always a good idea to start fresh. Redownload the app, delete the CaminoKnight folder in Application Support and the CaminoKnight.plist file in Preferences. If the problem persists, don't post it in a forum (I don't check them that often). Email me with the problem and I'll try to help. I have now added a feedback button, so it's easy to drop me an email.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
27 April 2005
At first, I could not believe the problems some people reported about errors. But I have now found out that the tar.gz files downloaded from .Mac are in fact corrupt. The sympton of this corruption is that there is a stray Readme file and the app generates the ominous 1708 error. I could not reproduce that, because the .tar.gz file I put on my local iDisk is just fine, only the version transferred to .Mac is broken (and it affects only files in the Public folder). This is a nightmare. Anyway, I just archived the files to .zip and changed the link on MU.
Like
Version 2.4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Thanks it works perfectly now :)
Like
Version 2.4
Ray
Ray
16 May 2005
It does not uncompress the gz file. I believe because it is not a dmg.gz file, but maybe just a .dmg file.
Like
Version 2.4
raynehem
raynehem
17 May 2005
Well using 2.5 failed until I went to the preferences and eliminated .gz. It works Great Now!
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
27 April 2005
The same Applescript Error -1708 here on OS 10.3.9
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
27 April 2005
Same here. I'm getting an Applescript Error window that says "-1708" in it. I'm on 10.3.8 by the way.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
27 April 2005
It came up with applescript errors when i tried to run it and didnt work at all.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
24 March 2005
Unable to get it to work since the windows are off the screen.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
30 November 2004
Apparently, Camino has quietly released version 0.8.2 on their nightly build website. For those of us who still use this (very gnarly) browser, copy: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/camino/nightly/latest-0.8.2/Camino.dmg.gz into the "Nightly Build" section of the Preferences tab. It's still a great browser in my opinion that's been upstaged by Safari as of late. Maybe someday, when we have flying cars, Camino 1.0 will be released. Wouldn't that be grand?
Like
Version 2.3.2
tactus
31 August 2004
It seems to not work. No window or anything else…
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
15 June 2004
v2.3.2 seems to be actually v2.3.1 and does not launch anything on MacOS 10.3.4. is there a fix?
Like
Version 2.3.2
4 answer(s)
Reinhold-Penner
Reinhold-Penner
16 June 2004
No, the version is indeed 2.3.2 (the expanded folder has typo and reads 2.3.1 (I'll fix that so people don't get confused). As to launching of Camino when CaminoKnight quits, that will obviously only occur if you enable the option.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2004
No window, I can't change preferences or anything, it's just blank. No longer works. uhmm........ Is there anyone idea?
Like
Version 2.3.2
Reinhold-Penner
Reinhold-Penner
17 June 2004
This is most likely due to the QXP scripting addition that Quark installs. Remove that scripting addition and the window should reappear.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2004
Thanks!!! It's worked, keep good job ;-)
Like
Version 2.3.2
Anonymous
30 May 2004
I just received this from Reinhold via email, the fix to update this to download 0.8 builds is simple: I just returned from a trip to Europe and people report that nightlies of 0.8 are no longer downloaded correctly by CK. The reason for this is that the latest builds are now in a different directory. CaminoKnight can access this directory, but you need to tell it the new URL. So go to the Preferences Tab in CK and set the new path: http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/camino/nightly/latest-0.8/Camino.dmg.gz
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
21 May 2004
the "mount Camino image" process hangs (app doesn't crash tho), and caminoknight prefs/reinstalling doesn't help...
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
10 March 2004
Yep. Curl error here. (Running 10.3.2) CaminoKnight is useless until this bug is fixed.
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 March 2004
I figured out the curl error. Try opening up CaminoKnight prefs and hitting the "Default" button next to Nightly Build to reset the path to the build. That worked for me.
Like
Version 2.3
bob_weiner
09 February 2004
received a 'curl error' after launching the app. I'll hold off on using CaminoKnight until this bug is addressed.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
08 February 2004
Automagically eh? :-D
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
08 February 2004
I'd like to see something like this, but for Firebird. I imagine it wouldn't be too hard to do that, so how 'bout it?
Like
Version 2.3
Changwei
20 December 2003
Wonderful Wonderful.. I like to try out every newly updated Camino (IMHO, is still the best browser period!) and this application make it much easier to download the nightly update. Thanks!!
Like
Version 2.2
Bob_weiner
27 October 2003
CaminoKnight does not seem to recognize the location of Camino on my hard drive (the Camino app is greyed out). I've never had problems with CK before (on my G4), but it's not working on my Dual G5.
Like
Version 2.1
Heig Gregorian
01 August 2003
Apparently Camino Knight has issues with certain scripts that reside in the Scripting Additions folder. Move this folder out of the Library and relaunch Camino Knight. Worked for me.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 July 2003
works well for me... have you tried deleting its prefs file? the author of the software is *very* responsive, ask him if all else fails
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 July 2003
nada. caminoknight takes up no cpu and 2.1% memory for 30 mins. hmm well i never actually tried to use it before - not compat w/ camino 0.7.0?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 July 2003
yes it works under 10.2.6, you need to be more patient, run it again and wait for it to work
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
03 July 2003
does this app still work as of 10.2.6? ran it and it hangs, no dialog, and requires force quit. wtf?
Like
Version 2.0
Ron-West
08 June 2003
Does just as said! Use it!
Like
Version 2.0
changwei
08 March 2003
Thanks for this great program which I uses on a regular basis :) Thank you thank you thank you thank you!!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 March 2003
Thanks for getting the new app out so quickly. I suppose now much changed but the name. Now we just need Camino splashscreens in Chimericon, which I suppose will be renamed Caminocon, or Caminoicon. I dig the new 'Chilled' theme.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
04 March 2003
Great app. But I guess now they'll have to rename it CaminoKnight...
Like
Version 1.9.4
Anonymous
22 February 2003
It seems that, for the past week or so, ChimeraKnight no longer works... and, I suspect that it is NOT the fault of the developer of ChimeraKnight but rather the fault of the Chimera developers. I note that there were some announced changes as to the direction of the further development of Chimera, I think this must be the reason why ChimeraKnight no longer works.
Like
Version 1.9.4
Jeff7
26 January 2003
I just wanted to commend you on a very helpful piece of software! It really makes life easier. I use Chimera almost exclusively and it's fantastic that I don't have to manually do the updates of the nightly build. A great utility for a great browser. Thanks,
Like
Version 1.9.4
Anonymous
13 January 2003
Depuis que le test BSD a changé (par rapport à la version 1.9.2) cette version 1.9.3 ne reconnait plus BSD subsystem et refuse de fonctionner. Au lancement, elle demande d'installer BSD et quitte systématiquement.
Like
Version 1.9.3
Rafael Fischmann
10 January 2003
Can't use it anymore because of this BSD subsystem thing.
Like
Version 1.9.3
PatGmac
03 January 2003
Works as advertised.
Like
Version 1.9.2
David
02 January 2003
I ran it (1.9.1) for the second time (didn't work first time), in full-auto mode. Well, everything came fine (it d/l'ed the 1.9.2 by itself) BUT I lost my localization file (French) from Chimera localization 0.6. I tried reinstall it with no success. I do not know whether it comes from the localization installer, ChimeraKnight or Chimera nightly build itself… Did somebody experienced that problem?
Like
Version 1.9.2
Anonymous
31 December 2002
This is nice demonstration of ASS. Who cares if it may never make it onto a default Mac OS X installation CD? The project itself is worth 5 stars, the icon kicks ass, and the tool doesn't suck.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Gordon5
30 December 2002
Works just fine as promised;and it's free. Why anyone would complain is beyond comprehension. Thank you to the developer.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
30 December 2002
I'm the Anonymous that wrote about the BSD subsystem problem. There's absolutely no problem with this version, works perfectly. The rearrangement of the interface was a bit confusing at first though.
Like
Version 1.9.1
Anonymous
18 December 2002
Well as a matter of fact I do have the BSD subsystem installed. I installed it when I upgraded to 10.2 from 10.1.5. I even have the BSD installer package in the "receipts" folder. I'll stick with 1.7.2 for the time being and see how I go in the next update.
Like
Version 1.8