Back to Mariner Calc page
Mariner Calc free download for Mac

Mariner Calc Reviews

5.6
22 January 2008

Powerful, streamlined spreadsheet.

victorbishop
16 April 2009

Most helpful

Great product from a great company. Do you really need all that comes with Excel? Not I.
Like (1)
Version 5.6

Read 17 Mariner Calc User Reviews

Rate this app:

exmexgringo
10 July 2019
I have used Mariner for awhile for doing mortgages and found that the date is limited to 2/6/40 or as a number 49710. It means it can't be used for long mortgage loans over about 20 years. Is there a software update or solution for this ?
Like
Version 5.6
Sampler
13 March 2016
I left a positive review seven years ago.. On OS X 10.9.5, my tax prep spreadsheet is still working well.
Like
Version 5.6
rayj
20 July 2014
The OS X version of Calc is no longer listed on the developer's website.
Like
Version 5.6
Cgc
25 April 2013
Won't open any of my .xlsx or .xlsm files so into the Trashcan you go. Plus it looks like an OS 9 app.
Like
Version 5.6
Uncoy
21 November 2010
Won't open xlsx documents. If you want a simple attractive spreadsheet for Mac, Tables is the answer. If you want a sophisticated one, LibreOffice has you covered. Mariner Calc is out of date and not very attractive.
Like
Version 5.6
River-Valley
04 June 2009
The only reason the score is not 1 or zero is because in the OS9 days it was quite a great spreadsheet, i'd say even more powerful than it is now However it is infuriatingly disobedient, especially when it comes to calculations involving time variables. Frankly i'm just disappointed through and through. However its not as cumbersome as NeoOffice or OpenOffice, but as a commercial paid-for application i would have offered my customers a bit more - view zoom at the very minimum One of its saving graces however is that it will load in any Excel file without error whereas the two opensurce and even Excel itself does all sorts of print errors on older version files. Its causing me a lot of time lost and as much as i'd like to continue with it until its justified its purchase, i think the equation is running backwards. Its a piece of *klonk* man. Going back to 3D calc on my Atari !
Like
Version 5.6
victorbishop
16 April 2009
Great product from a great company. Do you really need all that comes with Excel? Not I.
Like (1)
Version 5.6
Sampler
07 January 2009
I own Excel and I have on occasion used the NeoOffice spreadsheet because it works well with tables in the Writer documents. Both have a more polished look than Mariner Calc. However I hate working in Excel. Most sheets open up in a two-page look that separates columns. NeoOffice is not snappy and has all those controls to manage. I reach for Calc when I need to get something done. For the last course I taught, I created layers to grade homework and exams and linked them to create the final grading sheet. I too miss the ability to zoom. For looking at spreadsheets created by others, Calc is not my first choice. But for actual work, it's just about perfect.
Like
Version 5.6
Georgedonnelly
03 April 2007
Mariner Calc is decent software with some minor bugs. However, I'd like to note how very difficult they make it for paying customers to upgrade their Mariner Calc installs. I own a current, valid license for Mariner Calc. To upgrade I had to fill out a form on their website with my name and email address and opt-out of their mailing list. Then I had to confirm my email address "to reduce spam". That makes no sense, I am not emailing them I trying to upgrade my licensed copy of their app. Anyway I do this and it takes me to the download page. I click on the download link and lo behold and I must AGAIN fill out this form and opt-out of their mailing list before they will give me the latest version of the app I paid $50 for. Mariner, take a page from Panic, Adium, iBank and the likes and do NOT make your customers jump through irritating hoops to upgrade!!
Like
Version 5.5.1
Anonymous
04 July 2005
It is such a relief not to have to rely on Excel which on my machine (400 MHz G4 upgraded to 1GHz, running 10.4.1) took about 15 minutes to start and often failed, claiming that there were corrupt fonts. Mariner Calc imported all the Excel spreadsheets I tried it with, although one formula didn't convert properly.
Like
Version 5.4
Anonymous
29 April 2005
Progam has hardly changed in years, and updates are tiny. This thing is still Carbon and word has it Mariner is coming out with a Windows veresion, which means they arent really committed to the Mac platform. They are committed to trying to drive away the competition by squatting on their domains - look what they did to Mellel. Does the Mac community need a publisher like this?
Like
Version 5.4
4 answer(s)
Marinermtg
Marinermtg
20 May 2005
Replying to the previous poster... -Progam has hardly changed in years, and updates are tiny. Actually the product has changed significantly since it was released in the mid 90's. We are now in major development for version 6.0 which brings to the table significant UI and feature improvements. The updates are tiny compared to whom? Microsoft? I can assure you that if we had 100 developers working on one product our updates wouldn't be so "tiny." -This thing is still Carbon and word has it Mariner is coming out with a Windows veresion, which means they arent really committed to the Mac platform. Since when is developing on both platforms not supporting the Macintosh? We have been a Macintosh developer for 15 years! Not many companies can say that. You also might want to let Apple in on your theory as they develop for both platforms as well (can you say iTunes?). -They are committed to trying to drive away the competition by squatting on their domains - look what they did to Mellel. Remember, there are two sides to every story. -Does the Mac community need a publisher like this? Our daily testimonials tell me they don't mind, but thanks for your support anyway.
Like
Version 5.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 May 2005
-They are committed to trying to drive away the competition by squatting on their domains - look what they did to Mellel. -Remember, there are two sides to every story. Very true. And it's very telling that Mariner has chosen to never tell its side. So what's your point?
Like
Version 5.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Yeah the product may have changed since it was first released years and years ago but not much in the last several years. You guys are too busy making sure your product is listed in the same searches as Mellel and Nisus here at MacUpdate and over at Version Tracker. Youd rather do that than fix your software. You cant even write your own software anymore. Your biggest seller is something you bought, and your last two releases were programs you purchased. Nothing ever stops Mariner. From being unable to fix their programs and being shady marketers. Boycott them.
Like
Version 5.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 June 2005
To the anonymous Mellel poster - feel free to call me direct at 612-529-3770. I would really like to talk to you over the phone, or better yet, in person. Logan Ryan Mariner Software
Like (2)
Version 5.4
Anthony Harmon
15 April 2005
One more step 'til the ultimate and final deletion of Microsoft software from my life... Mariner Calc is not perfect (as in the toolbar widgets are tiny - I'm not getting any younger!), but it will do what I want and not make me feel I should be grateful for all the errors, bugs and problems caused by Microsoft software... example: Before the Office 11.1 update, I could not enter a "/" symbol to perform division operations.... ridiculous A special word of thanks to Mariner Software for cutting loose the shackles of 12 years of being tied to Microsoft... precious
Like
Version 5.4
Anonymous
07 February 2005
Great application. I converted a bunch of Appleworks spreadsheets (saving them as ASCII text first) with no problems. Documentation is very weak, but support is great. Bye-bye Appleworks!
Like
Version 5.3.1
Anonymous
24 October 2004
Couldn't import or convert my Excel spreadsheet or OpenOffice sheets, so goodbye.
Like
Version 5.3.1
Anonymous
29 January 2004
Be aware that the program has no zoom feature. I imported an Excel spreadsheet with small fonts and it was unreadable in Mariner Calc 5.2.2. Using a magnifier utility to magnify the screen doesn't work. I've been waiting several months for a promised update adding zoom, but nothing as yet.
Like
Version 5.2.2
Anonymous
22 April 2003
Excellent choice for your average user and more than acceptable for crunching large numbers on big spreadsheets. Not greedy with disk space or memory either. Only missing a couple of features and more than makes up for that. The price can't be beat.
Like
Version 5.2.2
Watson
27 March 2003
Long ago I used Excel 3 a lot. As it grew bigger and bulkier, I came to think of it as a Sumo wrestler in a ballet. As my spreadsheet needs grew simpler, I used Appleworks. It always reminded me of playing softball on a donkey. Possible, but only fun for the spectators. And it imports Excel documents, though not without some slight quirks. (It sometimes sets both cell backrounds and text to black! Startling, but manageable.) Mariner calc 5.2.2 has power and elegance in a sleek X compatible package. YES!
Like
Version 5.2.2