Back to iPoker page
iPoker free download for Mac

iPoker Reviews

4.3.1
24 September 2008

Play virtually all Poker card games.

Artwilson22
27 December 2007

Most helpful

This game is extremely frustrating in two senses: 1. it continually misevaluates poker hands, i.e. a Two Pair beats a Three-of-a-Kind 2. the no-limit AI plays like monkeys Other than that, its ok.
Like (1)
Version 4.2

Read 32 iPoker User Reviews

Rate this app:

ravepan
28 January 2012
So I bought v.2.2 in December of 2003, updated to v.3, update to v.4, etc. etc. Except for the fact that the AI didn't advance and soon you realized you could skin them all, I love this software. However, v.4.3.1 is a bit long i the tooth. I'd happily upgrade to say, v.5, if it didn't CRASH on Lion. I had only the slightest bumps in the road through 10.6.8, but now it's unuseable. I fear that OSX 10.7.x upgrades (now running 10.7.2) won't help. Mr. Todd Ouzts, are you out there? Or is this a deadend application now?
Like
Version 4.3.1
1 answer(s)
ravepan
ravepan
28 January 2012
Only way to edit here: If someone knows something stupid I'm doing, feel free to tell me if it will make this work again. Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS) Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000000
Like
Penguirl
06 May 2011
Still works with SL 10.6.7 except that it no longer shows how much each player is up/down next to their name. Also, downloading may be a problem as it seems to be hosted on the developers personal Comcast account and it gave an unavailable error. I was able to download it from macbrothersoft.com.
Like
Version 4.3.1
1 answer(s)
Penguirl
Penguirl
06 May 2011
OK you can download it from the developer's site, but not from the download link shown above.
Like
Corpsecorps
29 September 2008
I caught 1 procedural error and one just odd behavior. The first was at the showdown of a game of 5 Card Draw, 3 players were still in the hand, including myself but only 1 of the other 2 players' hands were revealed before i was awarded the pot. The 2nd sneered, but her cards were never shown. The second oddity comes when betting. If, for instance, the highlighted button says "Call 15", 15 will also show in the text box, though nothing has yet been bet. That would be okay if when the player clicked on chips, the 15 was increased and the 15+ addition was shown being moved to table, followed by the "Raise" button being highlighted with the raise amount. Instead, if the player wishes to raise by 5 with a $5 chip, the chip pile must in this case be clicked 4 times, with 1 chip moving to the table including sound effect each time, and the text box continuing to read '15' until the final chip is shifted. THEN the "Raise 5" button highlights. If clicking the chip pile is going to count the value of each chip leading up to the full bet, the 'bet' text box should also begin counting at zero. Confusing this way. .
Like
Version 4.3.1
Corpsecorps
29 September 2008
Pretty buggy for a late "minor bug fixes" release. I've seen some rendering problems and had overlapping voices. One set of "red" card backs is actually blue. Also had my 3 of a kind beaten by 2 pair! AI does seem a bit random.
Like
Version 4.3.1
Artwilson22
27 December 2007
This game is extremely frustrating in two senses: 1. it continually misevaluates poker hands, i.e. a Two Pair beats a Three-of-a-Kind 2. the no-limit AI plays like monkeys Other than that, its ok.
Like (1)
Version 4.2
Akshnfgyr
22 October 2007
5 STARS all the way!!!!! Best all-around computer generated poker game i've seen. And i've seen a lot in the past 20+ years on Mac. And .. BONUS .. support is nearly *instantaneous* if you have a question or a problem. I'm not related to, nor do i get 1 cent from this software author. But he and his software rocks! Wish there were a lot more great games with excellent support out there like this one. Thankyou! akshnfgyr
Like
Version 4.1
Ajoe
17 July 2007
I have used and been happy with iPoker for years but this no version even run. Just says something is corrupted and immediately quits.
Like
Version 4.1
Java-addict
23 March 2007
I don't believe it knows hands. I did discover that you can "push the other players around" with a big stack. Bet big pre-flop, on the flop and the turn--leaving them only a few dollars in their stack. DO NOT raise them all in. Then, on the river, raise them all in for their last few bucks... more often than not, they fold. Once I figured this out, it was cool for a day or so. But it totally ruined the gameplay for me. Now I play DD Poker instead. It may not have the eye candy, but it has far superior AI.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Joseph-mckenna1
26 February 2007
I bought & paid for the original version of IPoker & it worked well.I later downloaded the upgrade & have had all kinds of problems with it. Last week I emailed the developer & am still waiting for a reply. It would be ni ce to hear from him Joseph Mckenna
Like
Version 4.0.4
Corpsecorps
11 February 2007
_ No time at the moment for a serious review. Been the best poker software around for some time. I've seen zero evidence for claims of it's AI knowing your cards.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Anonymous
18 August 2005
it's a joke!!! it plays as if it knows your cards. never calls if computer's got losing hand. never calls if computer has got a losing hand at the end. just folded pocket aces on 5-2 hand and 2-J-5 flop... So from my point of view it is not playable and therefore complete waste of money... Don't buy it, it is a joke!!!
Like
Version 3.4.2
3 answer(s)
Scenario
Scenario
13 June 2006
Interesting feedback. I can assure you iPoker doesn't "peek" at your cards. Just like in real poker, players often call with losing hands-- and sometimes they wind up folding the winning hand because someone makes a skilled bet. That's the beauty of poker. If it were predictable, it wouldn't be engaging at all.
Like
Version 4.0b3
Alexiusca
Alexiusca
05 October 2006
Nevertheless, even in my experience with holdem, compared to Poker Academy, for example, it does not appear to be a challenging, adaptive AI.
Like
Version 4.0b5
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
11 February 2007
I find no such problems. Perhaps you aren't the player you think.
Like
Version 4.0.4
Anonymous
14 June 2005
Other than the nice graphics and sound this demo, once you've played awhile, begins to show it's limitations. The AI tends to favor one player above the rest and folds hands for no apparent reason. It's like you playing five hands of 7 card and trying not to know what's in the other hands... it clearly does... like when one of the AI players folds two pair (showing) when the other players have nothing showing that could beat it (but ends up they have in the hole cards). Anyway, it's entertaining briefly, but beyond that it really becomes evident just how poorly the AI functions as four other players and a 'random' deck of cards...
Like
Version 3.4.1
1 answer(s)
Scenario
Scenario
13 June 2006
Another flawed analysis of the AI. Just like on real poker tables, people tend to see what they want to see. iPoker does not "peek" at other hands, nor does it favor one player over another. I'm the first to admit the AI is not perfect (what game is?), but the point is to have fun and learn a little about the poker and over 100 variations. iPoker is a game, after all.
Like
Version 4.0b3
Anonymous
30 January 2005
Great program; however, computer players call way too often (even with only a Jack high). Seem that call-to-pot odds need to be adjusted by the programmers because the supplied sliders don't do the trick. In games where position matters a lot (ie., Hold 'em), computer will play bad hands "under the gun" and call just about anything to see the flop (even raise sometimes). This occurs too often to be a random bluff. Also, I haven't figured how to change the limits.
Like
Version 3.4.1
A5t3k
26 January 2005
Great! Four stars, five if it networked. Hopefully they're working on it
Like
Version 3.4.1
Luke-Carbis
01 January 2005
Absolutely no doubt about it - the best poker game available for mac or PC. This software is great, especially with the iSight compatibility. Absolutely unbelievable. 5 stars.
Like
Version 3.4
Anonymous
28 December 2004
This game is absolutely incredible. I had to learn Poker (Hold Em) fast and thought $30 was a reasonable investment. As a learning tool, I was very satisfied with this game. As for playing for fun, I am also very satisfied. Easily the best way to learn the game.
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
25 December 2004
This is a great game, but the 3.3 installer won't authenticate if you're not logged in as an administrator, which doesn't make any sense!
Like
Version 3.3
3 answer(s)
Scenario Software
Scenario Software
26 December 2004
You are correct. This is Apple's installer, and I have it set to not require authentication. But it seems to anyway. It actually does make sense if you consider it prudent for only administrators of a computer to decide what apps get installed on it. The workaround is pretty simple: Ask the computer's owner to install iPoker for you. I have reported this as a bug to Apple. Thank you for the feedback.
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 December 2004
I am the computer's owner. I just don't run day to day logged in as an administrator, for obvious reasons. Just about every other application installer in existence allows authentication to install; that's why the feature is there, after all, and it requires an admin username and password to accomplish, so, where's the problem? I was able to work around it by editing the package's Info.plist to make it authenticate, as it should have been set up in the first place. Setting up an installer to not authenticate is VERY BAD, also, because you end up with the installed files in /Applications owned by the user you were logged in as when you installed them. This is a huge no-no.
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 December 2004
This is a bug in Apple's PackageMaker (one of several). My original posting of iPoker 3.3 was explicitly set to NOT require authentication as I didn't want people to have to enter usernames and passwords just to install it. I have changed it to require Admin Authentication. Next time I'd appreciate getting reports like this directly so I can fix them-- not on a review site. I didn't write Apple's Installer after all. Thanks, Todd
Like
Version 3.3
Anonymous
19 November 2004
The only thing I wished this had was network support. Like internet/rendezvous support would make this really amazing. Maybe even a central server to meet up and play somehow, that would be fun. As a poker simulation though there's nothing quite like it.
Like
Version 3.2.6
1 answer(s)
Scenario Software
Scenario Software
26 December 2004
Working on it for iPoker 4...
Like
Version 3.3
Amory
29 July 2004
What a fun little game. Not only does it have over one hundred different games you can play, but you can also configure your own games, or just tweak existing ones to your liking. The sounds and quicktime players were cool, but even on my G4 tower it seemed to slow things up. Definitely worth the $30 though for what you can learn from it. Also, has anyone else experienced a delay when you hold on your cards to reveal the colored box over your chips that gives your current best hand? Not a huge deal, just wondering if it was a bug or if it was just my computer... I'm looking forward to being able to customize the players, with pictures hopefully, but maybe quicktime players such as already on there.
Like
Version 3.2.3
I've been using iPoker since the Mac OS 9 days. The developer has been incredible, improving and refining the product over and over without ever asking for more money from his registered users. Regardless of whether you want to learn how to play poker, improve your play, discover new game variations, or just have fun, nothing else comes close to iPoker. The program and its developer are a class act in every respect.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Anonymous
02 July 2004
Very cool! No troubles so far (except machine limitations).
Like
Version 3.1.4
Anonymous
12 June 2004
The best Poker game for the Mac. Developer is also quick to respond to questions and bug reports. Well worth the fee.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Anonymous
08 May 2004
Really great game! But has anybody noticed that after upgrading to Panther the Dealer's voice slows way down? Setting the speed in System Preferences doesn't help. Now the Dealer sounds a bit retarded and the game's not as much fun as before. Anybody know a work around?
Like
Version 3.0.9
Anonymous
21 March 2004
The betting AI issues mentioned below were addressed in iPoker 3.0.6.
Like
Version 3.0.7
Anonymous
19 February 2004
Hahahaaa, I JUST came across this game for the first time, and it looks EXACTLY like an OS X-ified version of the venerable PowerPOKER! Complete with the same AI bug! (bet high and everyone will fold, so you can wait till the pot is big and then buy the pot)
Like
Version 3.0.4
Mudflap
16 January 2004
It looks great. It feels great. It sounds fantastic. And up unti I figured out how to beat the other players every single time, it played great. I jacked up the other player's abilities to 11, and chose the tightest play, but I win every single time. Turns out the computer can't handle large betting. If you bet the max and raise alot, or if you raise big the last round, everyone else will fold... almost EVERY time! I was down $2500, then I began betting big, and I'm now up to $8100. Just in a couple hours of fiddling around! All in all, it's a great game with TONS of variety, and I hate to say anything bad about it because you can tell the authors probably had fun making it, but until they fix the aforementioned problem, I can't see spending money on it. Once they do, look out cus it will be badass.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Anonymous
23 December 2003
Not enough for me to upgrade from 2.2. It is a great game though. Add 45s http://www.the45scardgame.com and I'll buy it at twice the price.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
26 November 2003
A fun game with great graphics and intuitivness.
Like
Version 2.2
drdale
11 August 2003
The game is fun, however everyone needs to click on windows xp version. These guys are great. I laughed for 20 min straight. Check it out.
Like
Version 2.1.7
Anonymous
08 June 2002
Wow, wow, wow -- what a cool game. I can't stop playing it. The animation, the mixed media, and the AI are amazing for a card game. iPoker is a rich, elegant and sophisticated program. $25 is a bargain compared to what I've learned about poker so far. I can't wait to play for real now!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
14 May 2002
One of the best card games out there right now! graphics are GREAT! Good for learning how to wheel and deal, or try to beat the experts!!
Like
Version 2.0b5
Anonymous
03 April 2002
Very nice Poker-Game!!!
Like
Version 2.0b2